View Full Version : New Irish manager

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51

Noelys Guitar
22/01/2008, 9:03 PM
The expense account must be marvellous for this gig. Uh yeah, John, we got a great tip about a brilliant manager working down in the Bahamas...

Watch for this bloke creeping up in the betting. Interested and amigos are on there way.
http://www.soccerhall.org/BIG%203%20Hall%20of%20Famers/Jack_Sullivan_AYSO.htm

Interview will involve "joining in conga" to be led by Don Howe.

22/01/2008, 9:09 PM
As an aside:
As a regular Irish fan I would love to see Brady as manager ahead of Houllier. Management capabilities aside for a moment: one is Irish and one is French. I am in two minds about this campaign - to go or not. I plan to go to the some of the away games at least and I would love to go supporting something Irish. The thought of going with Houllier as manager is a alright but with Brady I'd really want to see us do well and him especially to do well as manager. Never been to an away game so maybe I'm getting all nationalistic. But in a choice between Liam Brady and Gerard Houllier - give me Chippy for any game of a campaign. I hope the FAI do. Do any of you have this feeling too?
My heart does, my head doesn't, though I think Brady would be decent. I rate his coaching success at Celtic better than many here but I never saw Brighton play under him.

22/01/2008, 9:49 PM
The last time a selection process dragged on so long the successful candidate died in his sleep a month later*, allowing the Polish candidate to get the gig. Maybe we'll get Beenhakker after all.

* or did he?

22/01/2008, 10:15 PM
I can't see Houllier changing his mind about the job just because he will be in Ireland on Friday.
Did Houllier ever actually rule himself out of the job? The only quote I can find from him about the job is "yesterday it was Deschamps, today it is me and tomorrow it will be Venables". Didn't exactly rule himself out. Could have been just a move to deflect attention away from himself.

Anyway chatsoccer (http://www.chatsoccer.eu/news/content/view/86/1/) says that he's still in the race, and also mentions that he won't be able to make the coaching seminar this weekend.

biscuit
22/01/2008, 10:20 PM
got a text there from a relieble enough source regarding new manager...now dont shoot me down....Jean Tigana :ball:

biscuit
22/01/2008, 10:24 PM
also read elsewhere just now he was spotted in dublin airport this morning.

onceahoop
22/01/2008, 10:42 PM
Houllier has apparently pulled out of next weeks gig at the IL/EL coaches forum.

Could be nothing, could be significant.

Damian Richardson was seen in deep discussion with Don Givens today. ;)

Bondvillain
22/01/2008, 10:53 PM
Houllier has apparently pulled out of next weeks gig at the IL/EL coaches forum.

Could be nothing, could be significant.

Damian Ric

Aw man, You should have left it at that.

Tomorrow's Star Back page would have been :

"Damian Rice "Cannonballs" into contention for Ireland Job"

or

"O ! LOOK WHO'S IN CHARGE!" (Doubtful though. That's a bit subtle for the star)

A Tenner says he woulda been 8/1 on betfair before lunch.

SuperDub
22/01/2008, 11:30 PM
got a text there from a relieble enough source regarding new manager...now dont shoot me down....Jean Tigana :ball:

I was at the Dubs O'Byrne Cup game last night and the rumour going round was that Jean Tigana will be the next irish Manager. I don't know what to think any more. ;)

Flawless
22/01/2008, 11:32 PM
I voted for other

Wouldnt mind seeing mickey Mouse on the touchline. At least he'll bring some animation to the game!!!!!!

Flawless
22/01/2008, 11:35 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2787&Itemid=9

The Board of Management of the Football Association of Ireland tonight met with Don Givens, chairman of the selection panel set up to recruit the next manager of the Republic of Ireland senior team.

Speaking on behalf of his colleagues, Don Howe and Ray Houghton, Don Givens gave the 10 Board members an outline of the process to date. This was the first report to the Board since the selection panel was appointed and mandated.

The Board is satisfied that significant progress has been made but understands that more time is required before the panel return with a recommendation. The Board accepted that there had been positive engagement with a significant number of candidates.

The Board is confident that the search for a new manager for the Republic of Ireland senior team will be concluded in the near future.

I apologise in advance, for my outburst. But they are a bunch of ******* who dont know a football from a Testicle!!
When are people gona realise Delaney is nothing but a fcuking bluffer and get rid of him and the shower of FAI **** artists!

billybunter
23/01/2008, 12:19 AM
we are officially the laughing stock of europe. Fulham and Newcastle appoint a manager within a week or two of firing one - but our '3 wise men" need 4 fookin months?

boovidge
23/01/2008, 12:24 AM
to be fair Fulham and Newcastle play games week in week out. And in the case of Newcastle their choice was hardly awe inspiring.

..But i agree that it's ridiculous. The 'big announcement' announced nothing :mad:

irishfan86
23/01/2008, 1:03 AM
we are officially the laughing stock of europe. Fulham and Newcastle appoint a manager within a week or two of firing one - but our '3 wise men" need 4 fookin months?

We don't play competitively for months.

Last time we were hasty in appointing a manager, and look how that turned out.

This 3 wise men route is measured, perhaps too measured, but I'd rather a thorough approach rather than a rush job to quickly appease the masses.

It is important that the new manager has time to prepare for the qualifiers, I understand that; however, it is important that we find the right man, and if that means delaying the appointment for half a year so be it.

eekers
23/01/2008, 2:53 AM
Brian Kerr appointment - 12 weeks
Steve Staunton appointment - 12 weeks 3 days
Time since Stan was sacked - 13 weeks

So we're pretty much right on schedule, considering this is a more complicated and thorough process than we gone through before. Stop whinging that Newcastle took a week to appoint a manager and the "will they just appoint venables and get it over with" bull****.

irishfan86
23/01/2008, 4:33 AM
Well said.

23/01/2008, 5:36 AM
I can see your argument, but it's got nothing to do with time frames or schedules.

England acted quickly and got Capello, and nobody accused them of "rushing it" (and I know they have more money, and it is a valid point). If Ireland take 6 months to hire a manager, and it is Venables, then all the care and the measured approach will have meant nothing.

The important thing is to get the best person available.

There is a difference between being careful and procrastinating. I think the FAI, as a result of the Staunton shambles, have over-reacted and created a system that appears to be painstaking in its detail, a system which will leave no stone unturned.

But at some point a decision needs to be made. And if the extra-careful approach means that some managers who might otherwise have been interested are no longer interested, then the approach has hindered, rather than helped, the search for the manager.

gufcfan
23/01/2008, 6:07 AM
I can see your argument, but it's got nothing to do with time frames or schedules.

England acted quickly and got Capello, and nobody accused them of "rushing it" (and I know they have more money, and it is a valid point). If Ireland take 6 months to hire a manager, and it is Venables, then all the care and the measured approach will have meant nothing.

The important thing is to get the best person available.

There is a difference between being careful and procrastinating. I think the FAI, as a result of the Staunton shambles, have over-reacted and created a system that appears to be painstaking in its detail, a system which will leave no stone unturned.

But at some point a decision needs to be made. And if the extra-careful approach means that some managers who might otherwise have been interested are no longer interested, then the approach has hindered, rather than helped, the search for the manager.

I agree 100% with that comment. They are feigning intelligence. They feel the longer the amount of time they take for the appointment, the better they will look, whatever happens in the end. This 3 man commitee is also a joke. Passing the buck of responsibilty. Theve made a shyte of it all allong, now they just want to deflect the blame elsewhere...

23/01/2008, 6:35 AM
Irishfan is right. In fact, possibly better wait to get the right man. While I'd prefer someone there to get to know the players during the friendlies, who knows who might be available if we wait until the Summer, or even after the Europeans! Better to wait and get the right man than to go now and take Roddy Collins.

23/01/2008, 6:48 AM
TodayFM this morning had a report that Liam Brady was offered a position
in the FAI and turned it down so that has thrown a spanner in the works.
Whether ir was the managers job or Tech Director etc., they couldn't say.

onceahoop
23/01/2008, 7:02 AM
Irishfan is right. In fact, possibly better wait to get the right man. While I'd prefer someone there to get to know the players during the friendlies, who knows who might be available if we wait until the Summer, or even after the Europeans! Better to wait and get the right man than to go now and take Roddy Collins.

We can't wait until after the Europeans. We kick off our world cup campaign on September 6th. We've a friendly in Oslo in August, not to mention other friendlies before that which are there to help a manager formulate his plans.

They've complicated the thing so much that they've tied themselves up in knots.

Noelys Guitar
23/01/2008, 7:51 AM
The first thing that will be thrown at the new manager and the FAI if things go wrong in any of our first four games will be this farce of a process. We only have a few games before the real stuff starts in September for the new manager to get his ideas across to the squad. Instead the new manager at best will be watching the Brazil game from the stands. His new team will be playing on fixture dates set by somebody else (and as Bernard O'Byrne has already stated a ready made excuse if things go wrong). And we have 2 real minefields for our first 2 games. Toppmoller the type of manager we should have been looking for must be rubbing his hands at our dithering. He will have Georgia primed for that first game.

23/01/2008, 7:55 AM
I'm not so sure that the selection committee is stalling or procrastinating. there is a very real possibility that nobody wants the bleedin' Job

23/01/2008, 7:58 AM
It's frustrating and the process has holes in it but the difference between having a manager in place 4 weeks ago and appointing him next week is marginal.

23/01/2008, 8:14 AM
Toppmoller the type of manager we should have been looking for must be rubbing his hands at our dithering. He will have Georgia primed for that first game.

Another example of a poor footballing nation, with little heritage of their own, with a poor economy, acquiring the services of a decent continental manager. Why we can't look beyond the Premiership is a joke to me.

Noelys Guitar
23/01/2008, 8:28 AM
I'm not so sure that the selection committee is stalling or procrastinating. there is a very real possibility that nobody wants the bleedin' Job

You might not be far wrong. Something has happened between Monday when Delaney made his comment of a significant announcement and last night when a bland statement was released by the FAI. The reports of Brady turning down the managers job are complete ****** as he himself has said he wants the job. The reports that say hs turned down a role other than manager might be correct but why would that prevent the naming of a new manager unless Houllier and Venables have turned us down.

23/01/2008, 8:30 AM
Houllier and Venables have turned us down.

Thats my gut feeling at the moment

Wolfie
23/01/2008, 8:42 AM
From the Indo -

"Gerard Houllier is still favourite to be handed the role with speculation last Sunday in the UK that he was ruling himself out proving to be premature.

But the Frenchman will not be making his intended engagement in Dundalk this weekend at the joint coaching conference being staged by the FAI and the IFA. Due to personal reasons not connected to the managerial situation, the ex-Liverpool supremo will be unable to make the journey.

There has been persistent speculation that Houllier might form a managerial team with Liam Brady as his back-up as the solution to the FAI's problems.

Brady was punted heavily yesterday and a number of seperate sources intimated that he had been offered some sort of the role within the new set-up although not, perhaps, the number one role".

biscuit
23/01/2008, 9:37 AM
the rumour mill is churning big time this morning...alot of people down here backing brady big time this morning due to some tip off!its a joke!:confused:

ainsie
23/01/2008, 9:55 AM
Honestly. If you were looking for a job and saw how badly your new bosses were running the company you were applying for ,would you want to work there knowing that you will be the scapegoat eventually for their inability to run their business.

Its the same here. How long can say 10 interviews take? Bad management.

Conspiracy theory: Total amount per year for manager and all backroom staff. € 2m. = 166,666 a month x 4 months 666,666.00 saved by end of Feb.

I know its a load of Sh1t but would not put it past them.

I see my conspiracy theory is already in the selection team thread.Oh well.

Billsthoughts
23/01/2008, 10:47 AM
Conspiracy theory: Total amount per year for manager and all backroom staff. € 2m. = 166,666 a month x 4 months 666,666.00 saved by end of Feb.

I know its a load of Sh1t but would not put it past them.

I see my conspiracy theory is already in the selection team thread.Oh well.

Conspiracy Debunk - Surely whoever gets the job will be given a two year contract? so therefore there will be no money saved?

citizenerased
23/01/2008, 10:47 AM
they were always goin to wait as long as possible to save money..its the fai ffs..esp after paying stanley off!

Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 11:05 AM
Folks, just wondering whether the announcement tonight is to do with the Director of International Performance and not the Manager position and that in fact Liam Brady will be announced as the DOIP.

In the light of what has happened ( That is nothing) sand the rumours doing the rounds you seemed to have got it spot on colster

23/01/2008, 11:29 AM
TOD on 6.01 news yesterday intimated that someone was offered a position, which was expected by the FAI to be accepted, and were to announce it, but was rejected. He suggested it was Brady.
Now if that is correct (in that it was Brady), it asks two questions.

1) Was Brady expecting to be offered the Managers job, and bauked at the idea of technical director?

2) Did Brady agree to Technical Director but refused when informed who the manager would be?

Either way, why would Brady take up a position similar to the one he holds at Arsenal.
One thing is for sure, the FAI don't make things easy for themselves/

Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 11:32 AM
TOD on 6.01 news yesterday intimated that someone was offered a position, which was expected by the FAI to be accepted, and were to announce it, but was rejected. He suggested it was Brady.
Now if that is correct (in that it was Brady), it asks two questions.

1) Was Brady expecting to be offered the Managers job, and bauked at the idea of technical director?

2) Did Brady agree to Technical Director but refused when informed who the manager would be?

Either way, why would Brady take up a position similar to the one he holds at Arsenal.
One thing is for sure, the FAI don't make things easy for themselves/

My thoughts exactly......particularly point 2..was the manager to be TV or Hoddle who Brady mightn't be to enamoured with

Newryrep
23/01/2008, 11:36 AM
Another example of a poor footballing nation, with little heritage of their own, with a poor economy, acquiring the services of a decent continental manager. Why we can't look beyond the Premiership is a joke to me.

Because even though the job is quite attractive with a surperb salary and realistic expectations (ie be competative) the FAI have done the equivalent of placing an advertisement in 'The Sun' instead of Le Figaro, Liberation,, Der Stern, Corrierre della Serra etc.

Of course we all know how successfull the leading british style international team has been, despite having one of the top five richest domestic leagues. Failed to qualify on several occassions and not made a final in nealy 20 attempts over 40 years. (their only success being on home soil)

Noelys Guitar
23/01/2008, 11:53 AM
A journo on Radio 5 is suggesting that Venables turned down the job because the contract being offered was from first match to last match only. Not a calendar 2 year contract.

23/01/2008, 11:57 AM
What a dumb way to structure a contract? Surely he should be on the payroll asap to go and watch players etc. Anyway, if appointed next week, the first match is 6th February anyway so it's splitting hairs.

If true, that probably is penny pinching, though it doesn't say how much was offered.

23/01/2008, 12:13 PM
What a dumb way to structure a contract? Surely he should be on the payroll asap to go and watch players etc. Anyway, if appointed next week, the first match is 6th February anyway so it's splitting hairs.

If true, that probably is penny pinching, though it doesn't say how much was offered.

Ths possible they are structuring the contract so that they don't get fcuked over, in relation to Venners, and if this isn't acceptable to him then bye-bye. A kind of testing the waters if you will.

Sonic
23/01/2008, 12:34 PM
Yeah we do because we are supporter of the Irish team, if you dont care, well then you are not a supporter.

Your right. Longford Town for me any day of the week!!!!

TheBoss
23/01/2008, 12:58 PM
If Brady is chosen than the FAI are contradicting themselves in terms of wanting an experienced manager. I know he has managed Celtic and Brighton, but that is hardly enough experience for the Ireland Job.

Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 12:58 PM
Ths possible they are structuring the contract so that they don't get fcuked over, in relation to Venners, and if this isn't acceptable to him then bye-bye. A kind of testing the waters if you will.

What i am amazed at is given the amount of people against TV getting the job both in the media and Joe Public that the FAI would even consider this appointment in light of what went before with Stan. It really sets out the stall where in relation to what we rhink and perceive of the FAI that he is still a viable candidate....Or Maybe I am not giving them enough credit and that they are using him as a smokescreen as almost any one else would be looked on more favourably than him if appointed........

cant believe I am accusing the FAI of lateral thinking....jaysus I better ly down

23/01/2008, 1:16 PM
A journo on Radio 5 is suggesting that Venables turned down the job because the contract being offered was from first match to last match only. Not a calendar 2 year contract.
Wasn't Hodgson's contract with Finland, from June before qualifiers to Nov immediat afterwards.
With us Venables would be getting Feb 2008 to Nov 2009. Venables want 2 months more.
It doesn't look to me to be an unsurmountable obstacle to signing a contract.

Verdict .... Venables spin? FAI have another option?

23/01/2008, 1:18 PM
Yeah I agree geysir. Houllier is going to get this job if he wants it and Venables is already lining up the excuses via the British media.i

23/01/2008, 1:26 PM
what has venables said in the british media?

23/01/2008, 1:30 PM
=Noelys Guitar;860723]A journo on Radio 5 is suggesting that Venables turned down the job because the contract being offered was from first match to last match only. Not a calendar 2 year contract.

Ozymandias
23/01/2008, 1:30 PM

there ya go paul

Bondvillain
23/01/2008, 1:35 PM
I personally think that Givens' Dual presence as U21 manager AND as a man responsible for hiring the Future BOSS of the U21 manager is causing an element of conflict.

If, when interviewed, a potential manager believes that Givens is the right man to nurture underage talent in Ireland, then I don't want him in charge of the Senior squad, because he knows nowt about Givens ability.

And if, when interviewed, a potential manager believes that Givens is NOT necessarily the right man to nurture underage talent in Ireland, but is willing to let it ride so he can take the gig, then I dont want him in charge of the senior squad, as he's a money grabbing git with no interest in the game here.

The FAI are so out of touch with popular opinion that they stuck him in because they thought he commanded respect amongst the fans. (Possibly after the initial unwillingness of Giles to become the public face of the committee)
When (after a groundswell of discontent about the appointment of Givens due to his tactical shortcomings and media history) they realised they were wrong about his ability to swing the fans, they went on a hunt for someone else to bolster the (already active) interview team. What other reason would there be to add a third man to a seemingly "world class" "headhunting" team?
Having been allegedly rebuffed by several ex-players who know a poison chalice when it's handed to them, they settled on the introduction of Houghton, who , if interpretations of certain media reports are to be believed (big "if", granted), disagrees with Givens and Howe over the structure of the interview procedure.

Any FAI procedure is almost certainly guaranteed to be farcical, but I personally strongly believe that the presence of Givens appears to have been a stumbling block for at least some of the would-be appointees in this circus, and has made this one something special. What if Houllier wants his own U21 team? Will he be entertained? Or would that be a deal breaker?

An ill-concieved appointment which may yet cost us dearly.

23/01/2008, 1:37 PM
I personally think that Givens' Dual presence as U21 manager AND as a man responsible for hiring the Future BOSS of the U21 manager is causing an element of conflict.

If, when interviewed, a potential manager believes that Givens is the right man to nurture underage talent in Ireland, then I don't want him in charge of the Senior squad, because he knows nowt about Givens ability.
I thought the senior manager has no say in who are the underage managers.

23/01/2008, 2:03 PM
Carsley and Kilbane want a resolution to this soon: http://www.football365.com/story/0,17033,8652_3073171,00.html

Can't really decide if the fact the players are being kept out of the loop is a good thing or a bad thing