19/12/2016, 3:41 PM
Dean Clarke returns to Limerick.
bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 7:50 PM
Dean Clarke returns to Limerick.
And now we 're-sign Shaun Kelly.
Comic Book Guy
19/12/2016, 8:47 PM
Ramblers signed Dean Swords from Ringmahon, good player, one of the better players in youth leagues in Cork. Looking forward to seeing him in Cobh.
Ezeikial
19/12/2016, 9:28 PM
Reports that Finn could be on his way to Rovers
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/327847/dundalk-midfielder-ronan-finn-set-for-shock-move-to-former-club-shamrock-rovers/
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/sport/228271/kenny-more-players-will-leave.html
19/12/2016, 9:41 PM
I always said I liked him. Even when I was calling him every name under the sun, I always said I liked him.
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 9:47 PM
Reports that Finn could be on his way to Rovers
https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/327847/dundalk-midfielder-ronan-finn-set-for-shock-move-to-former-club-shamrock-rovers/
http://www.dundalkdemocrat.ie/news/sport/228271/kenny-more-players-will-leave.html
That would be awesome if true, hard to believe dundalk would let him go
White Horse
19/12/2016, 9:57 PM
Dundalk wanted to keep him and made a good offer. From what I hear Rovers are doubling his wages and offering him a non football part time job.
If we start giving out contracts like that, we'll be bust in no time.
Ezeikial
19/12/2016, 9:57 PM
He is a free agent and can sign for anyone who pays the money he is asking
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 10:11 PM
Dundalk wanted to keep him and made a good offer. From what I hear Rovers are doubling his wages and offering him a non football part time job.
Not a chance rovers have doubled his money, budget is same as last year and we've already signed a bunch of players
White Horse
19/12/2016, 10:12 PM
Not a chance rovers have doubled his money, budget is same as last year and we've already signed a bunch of players
He is only moving for one thing.
bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 10:15 PM
Ah the old double the wages rumour now its proper LOI off season.
Yossarian
19/12/2016, 10:23 PM
All things being equal, why would he move? He may not have doubled his money at Rovers but he's certainly getting more than he was offered at Dundalk.
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 10:28 PM
All things being equal, why would he move? He may not have doubled his money at Rovers but he's certainly getting more than he was offered at Dundalk.
Rovers couldn't outbid dundalk for Rogers and finn is in a different league. ...
19/12/2016, 10:35 PM
Lol you're so naive if you believe that. We're tripling his wages and giving him a company helicopter.
bluewhitearmy
19/12/2016, 10:37 PM
So we are agreed he is either going to Rovers on no more money than Dundalk or ridiculous amounts more and we have ruled out any sort of middle ground yes?
19/12/2016, 10:47 PM
So we are agreed he is either going to Rovers on no more money than Dundalk or ridiculous amounts more and we have ruled out any sort of middle ground yes?
He's on less money but is guaranteed first pick every morning from Stephen Bradley's big tin of Werther's Original. It's the little things.
ger121
19/12/2016, 10:50 PM
He's getting a car too. In fairness to Rovers, that bit is probably costing nothing as there are literally thousands of 'available' cars in the local vicinity.
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 10:50 PM
Considering he doubled his money when he went to dundalk and he is t rippling it now , I think he should pay for his own helicopter : ) if this is true it's fantastic if not I guess he stayed for quadruple the wages........or maybe it is in the middle : ) still can't believe dundalk would go to the max for Rogers but let Finn go .
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 10:52 PM
He's getting a car too. In fairness to Rovers, that bit is probably costing nothing as there are literally thousands of 'available' cars in the local vicinity.
It doesn't work like that this side of Dublin you have to pay for the car before you take it : ))
19/12/2016, 10:56 PM
What does Finn do outside of football? Seen one of the journos saying rovers have given him the chance to further his career outside of football. Massive blow for Dundalk and for once it shows money isn't everything as he clearly wants whatever this new job is.
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 10:59 PM
What does Finn do outside of football? Seen one of the journos saying rovers have given him the chance to further his career outside of football. Massive blow for Dundalk and for once it shows money isn't everything as he clearly wants whatever this new job is.
Probably nearest to the truth on here tonight...
ger121
19/12/2016, 11:15 PM
It doesn't work like that this side of Dublin you have to pay for the car before you take it : ))
I grew up on Cill Cais in Old Bawn when that whole area was fields. I well know the car 'trade' in that neck of the woods ;)
sbgawa
19/12/2016, 11:19 PM
I grew up on Cill Cais in Old Bawn when that whole area was fields. I well know the car 'trade' in that neck of the woods ;)
: ))))
Ezeikial
20/12/2016, 11:48 AM
Fair play to Rovers for pulling this off - Make no mistake about it re-signing Ronan Finn will give a big boost to Rovers fans and the club and has the potential to establish them as more credible contenders than they have been in recent years.
It also diminishes Dundalk's strength further and therefore has the potential to narrow the gap between Dundalk and others. Horgan, Boyle and Finn are big losses - there is also the possibility that more may depart.
Rovers have chosen to splash the cash, Dundalk have chosen not to meet what they consider to be excessive demands. Time will tell....
Do not underestimate Stephen Kenny and his ability to replace these players
Northsider
20/12/2016, 12:06 PM
You'd wonder where Rovers are getting the money to fund all of this, I'd hate to see history repeat itself.
http://www.irishtimes.com/business/cantillon/shamrock-rovers-living-hand-to-mouth-1.2909156
Ezeikial
20/12/2016, 12:18 PM
Confirmed
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/1220/840227-ronan-finn-returns-to-shamrock-rovers/
GCdfc
20/12/2016, 12:51 PM
Don't know if it's been said but Gannon and O'Donnell apparently signing for Shamrock Rovers too. Rovers new owners appear to have turned back the clock to the LOI of the 2000's and are going all out to attempt to make money in Europe. Will the gamble pay off?
Wow, amazing stuff really. A quality player who suited Dundalk's style. I'd love to know the full story, I wonder how much of it is a case of Kenny and Dundalk demanding professional commitment on semi-pro wages?
One player going from the champions to a midtable side is strange enough, if others were to follow alarm bells should be going off all over the shop! Hard to see O'Donnell moving back when he's managing at DKIT and right back is hardly a priority for Rovers when they have Madden?
We Dundalk fans have great faith in Kenny.... wouldn't mind if he started signing a few players though.
Duggie
20/12/2016, 2:04 PM
Wow, amazing stuff really. A quality player who suited Dundalk's style. I'd love to know the full story, I wonder how much of it is a case of Kenny and Dundalk demanding professional commitment on semi-pro wages?
One player going from the champions to a midtable side is strange enough, if others were to follow alarm bells should be going off all over the shop! Hard to see O'Donnell moving back when he's managing at DKIT and right back is hardly a priority for Rovers when they have Madden?
We Dundalk fans have great faith in Kenny.... wouldn't mind if he started signing a few players though.
could finn have been demanding that much money? generally you pay your best players a bit more than the others. Finn was one of Dundalk's best players now horgan is gone and towell before him. strange. i would have thought they could build a new side around him and even make him captain. great signing now shams have him back again.
sbgawa
20/12/2016, 2:05 PM
Complete rubbish about rovers splashing the cash.
Dundalks budget will be way higher next year..
mcgonigle
20/12/2016, 2:18 PM
Complete rubbish about rovers splashing the cash.
Dundalks budget will be way higher next year..
Sure buddy, sure he's taking a big paycut for the love of SRFC and we didn't want one of our best players anyway. And of course you know all about Dundalk's budget seeing as we "went to the max" to keep Rogers!
sbgawa
20/12/2016, 2:22 PM
Apparantly so
Bawnville Hoop
20/12/2016, 2:33 PM
Dundalk are doing their best to replicate Rovers Europa League off season hangover.
Duggie
20/12/2016, 2:37 PM
maybe they are going to blow their salary cap on robbie keane...
Calcio Jack
20/12/2016, 2:51 PM
Sure buddy, sure he's taking a big paycut for the love of SRFC and we didn't want one of our best players anyway. And of course you know all about Dundalk's budget seeing as we "went to the max" to keep Rogers!
Shssssss..... if you listen closely you can hear the sound of a pendulum swinging
Dundalk are doing their best to replicate Rovers Europa League off season hangover.
Rovers hangover after what? You lost all 6 games, there was no high!
However, this is a real coup by Rovers getting Finn, he was a top player with us and contributed greatly to two league titles. Big loss.
I have total faith in SK to get quality replacements in though, however like the earlier post from Seand, it would be nice to see some new players actually arriving and soon !
20/12/2016, 3:13 PM
I take it that Dundalk will have to look abroad if they are to lose so many players. Not much quality left LOI players wise.
CityRebel
20/12/2016, 3:17 PM
When is Stephen Kenny leaving?
White Horse
20/12/2016, 3:23 PM
I wonder how much of it is a case of Kenny and Dundalk demanding professional commitment on semi-pro wages?
I think you've hit the nail on the head.
That is what Dundalk's success was built on and a number of the players do not appear to be prepared to do it again. Players with the ambition to go on to English football may be prepared to make the sacrifice but others like Finn look at other clubs where they can get more money for less commitment.
20/12/2016, 3:24 PM
When is Stephen Kenny leaving?
Finn Harps new assistant manager. He's getting 13 houses, 6 cars, 2 minibuses and a salary of 50,000 Swiss Francs a month. It's reportedly double what Dundalk have offered.
It's apparently the 7 and a half houses that Dundalk only offered was the deal-breaker.
Duggie
20/12/2016, 3:25 PM
When is Stephen Kenny leaving? have dunfermline rang yet?
CityRebel
20/12/2016, 3:28 PM
Finn Harps new assistant manager. He's getting 13 houses, 6 cars, 2 minibuses and a salary of 50,000 Swiss Francs a month. It's reportedly double what Dundalk have offered.
It's apparently the 7 and a half houses that Dundalk only offered was the deal-breaker.
Heard ye have competition for him from the Borris in Ossory Junior B hurlers.
CityRebel
20/12/2016, 3:37 PM
Marky Sullivan has left City, linked with a move to Waterford. He would be an excellent signing for them.
Pablo Escobar
20/12/2016, 3:47 PM
Marky Sullivan has left City, linked with a move to Waterford. He would be an excellent signing for them.
It's sad to see him go. He's been superb for us. You'd have to think Waterford would be favourites, but Cobh for convenience might tempt him too.
Always liked O'Sullivan, good worker up front and always caused us problems when he played.
20/12/2016, 4:11 PM
Don't know if it's been said but Gannon and O'Donnell apparently signing for Shamrock Rovers too. Rovers new owners appear to have turned back the clock to the LOI of the 2000's and are going all out to attempt to make money in Europe. Will the gamble pay off?
O'Donnell is staying at Dundalk. If Gannon became available I'm sure Rovers could make a move but more likely Bradser will save the money for a striker as we're very short up front. Gannon seemingly wants to go to England anyway.
White Horse
20/12/2016, 4:17 PM
It's sad to see him go. He's been superb for us. You'd have to think Waterford would be favourites, but Cobh for convenience might tempt him too.
A player who gave his all. How many times did he play carrying injuries? It seemed to be nearly all the time.
El-Pietro
20/12/2016, 4:21 PM
A player who gave his all. How many times did he play carrying injuries? It seemed to be nearly all the time.
In his first season he was playing with a broken toe for months on end.
dundalkfc10
20/12/2016, 4:25 PM
We can't sign players from UK till Jan 1st so I'd imagine you will be waiting
sbgawa
20/12/2016, 4:26 PM
No truth in that bradley said today he was done with the exception of 1 more striker. Hard to see anyone left in loi so I'd say that will be it.