View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season
placid casual
07/11/2017, 3:49 PM
With our indiscipline, I'd say McAllister & Bolger will be tag-teaming every few weeks!!
Unless Rovers get a keeper & a striker, this signing won't ultimately mean Rovers finishing higher than 3rd again next year,IMO.
KBurke
07/11/2017, 3:50 PM
The 104 week contract perhaps?
Fixed that for you;)
Philosophizer
07/11/2017, 3:51 PM
Bolger a strange signing for Rovers having McAllister, they will have same situation that Corks having him with McCormack
From what i've seen of both players, Bolger is comfortably a superior player to McAllister. especially on the ball, he's far more proactive in getting the ball of the defenders and dictating play.
ccfcman
07/11/2017, 4:01 PM
Sad to see Bolger go, easily one of the best players on the ball in the league. Unfortunate to lose his spot and virtually impossible to regain it. Having him on the bench was a ridiculous luxury and a shame given his ability. Will add serious guile and passing to that Rovers side, plus a winning mentality. He shone brightest in Europe for us.
07/11/2017, 4:12 PM
Sheppard signs 2 year deal at Cork. The whole thing was one glorious wind up on Dundalk by the look of it. :)
I’m pretty sure Dundalk fans will confirm that he was never that good and they didn’t really want him anyway.
Asterix
07/11/2017, 4:19 PM
Will probably mention something about ridiculous wages as well.
sbgawa
07/11/2017, 4:23 PM
Nah its only Rovers that pay the ridiculous wages :)
The 52 week contract perhaps?
Players have known about that since mid season so I don't think so.
It sounds like he genuinely changed his mind in the last few days. Delighted.
Yossarian
07/11/2017, 5:29 PM
Given all the talk I'm surprised he isn't signing for us. While he would have been a good signing it was always strange with the wingers we have. A striker is what we need.
Oh and he is useless and we never wanted him anyway and he used us to get a massive pay rise and a million week contract at Cork.
Crosshead
07/11/2017, 6:43 PM
Rumour round here is he was majorly unimpressed that the media , obviously informed by someone at Dundalk, were saying it was a done deal while he was still at City, and Kenny's decision to say what he said last week instead of "no comment" made his mind up.
07/11/2017, 6:50 PM
He had signed a pre contract with dundalk (which wasn't worth the paper it was written on)
Went to cork with it after the cup final. cork matched it and stuck him on a two year so he signed. Bolger did something similar to waterford.
Anyone who thinks any league of Ireland player cares about the meeja, or indeed their club, I have an end of dalymount park to sell you.
total hoofball
07/11/2017, 7:24 PM
Fair play to Sheppard for playing the silly season game to perfection to extract the best possible wages to go into his bank account. Cork fans better hope he's not going to become the 2018 Christy Fagan
mcgonigle
07/11/2017, 7:30 PM
He had signed a pre contract with dundalk (which wasn't worth the paper it was written on)
Went to cork with it after the cup final. cork matched it and stuck him on a two year so he signed. Bolger did something similar to waterford.
Anyone who thinks any league of Ireland player cares about the meeja, or indeed their club, I have an end of dalymount park to sell you.
He played both clubs, poor form really but that's his prerogative. Makes a bit of a mockery out of his "question my professionalism now" comments, there'll be plenty outside of Cork and Rovers that'll be doing that now.
Has he an agent or someone representing him?
Great signing for Rovers, Bolger is a super player.
Was sure Sheppard was off to Dundalk , but at the same time couldn't figure him and Connolly.
Yeah Bolger is the best centre midfielder in the league I think. Shame we couldn't hold on to him.
He played both clubs, poor form really but that's his prerogative. Makes a bit of a mockery out of his "question my professionalism now" comments, there'll be plenty outside of Cork and Rovers that'll be doing that now.
Has he an agent or someone representing him?
What utter nonsense. He kept his head down, didn't say a word to the media, and negotiated with both clubs presumably. He has been absolutely nothing but professional. Unlike Kenny comments regarding the same. There was only one person unprofessional in this saga (unless the pre contract thing is true, which I very much doubt) and that's the person who made it something to play mind games about in the media the week of the cup final.
Yeah Bolger is the best centre midfielder in the league I think. Shame we couldn't hold on to him.
He's fantastic, but he rightfully lost his spot to McCormack and no one could argue otherwise. Shame because he's a great player, and ideally you could accommodate both but it doesn't work
mcgonigle
07/11/2017, 7:42 PM
What utter nonsense. He kept his head down, didn't say a word to the media, and negotiated with both clubs presumably. He has been absolutely nothing but professional. Unlike Kenny comments regarding the same. There was only one person unprofessional in this saga (unless the pre contract thing is true, which I very much doubt) and that's the person who made it something to play mind games about in the media the week of the cup final.
If you say so....
I voiced my doubts about the leaking of the story last week and recent developments are reinforcing my doubts. Does he have an agent?
07/11/2017, 7:43 PM
I wouldn't have thought they were hugely similar players. Both deep-lying midfielders but McCormack is all-action and Bolger isn't, and that's probably why he was never a sure starter for Cork.
They play the same position but very very differently. McCormack is a terrier, Joe gamble style. Positioning is excellent, reading of the game is fantastic, cuts out everything and can mark a dangerous player out of the game easily. We were a different team when we didn't have him this year. Everything was based around him as a Base. Our most important player after Seani.
Bolger plays in the same area, but is more of a ball player. Doesn't control the game in the same way though. He started in the position at the start of the year but once McCormack got his chance you couldn't justify dropping him, even for Bolger. Bolger was great in some games, but very poor in others. When he's on form, his distribution is excellent, the games he wasn't we lost a lot of ball through him.
I think McCormack is the only one I'd have ahead of hi..
bluemovie
07/11/2017, 8:02 PM
Bolger didn't get as far as that with us. We tried to sign him in the summer because he wanted out of Cork (wasn't playing and hates Caulfield). We would've had to pay a hefty fee so instead we got Keegan and were planning on picking Bolger up for free at the end of the season. I think Greg was pretty set on joining Waterford, but Rovers came in for him and he chose them (including European football) which is fair enough. There's no ill feeling about it here. Himself and Reynolds are god buddies anyway and I wouldn't be surprised if he played for us at some future point since he's from Wexford.
08/11/2017, 8:58 AM
I’m surprised. Reynolds never struck me as the religious type.
There were rumours that he was leaving for months because he wanted to go back to Dublin. It was later that rumours appeared that he was going to sign for Dundalk. Dundalk Sport was the first media outlet to announce that he definitely was going to sign, again citing that he wanted to move closer to home. When asked about it Kenny said that he didn't want to make it awkward for Sheppard before proceeding to make it awkward for him.
I really don't think you can discount the media speculation so easily. Players want to win trophies yet the lead up to the final was all about whether he would be picked and if so how he'd perform. On the RTE coverage Alan Cawley said that he was amazed that Caulfield picked him. Stuart Byrne said that Kenny threw him under a bus and Sadlier said that Kenny had thrown a hand grenade into the Cork dressing room. All eyes were on how he'd manage the awkward situation that he was placed in.
I don't think he was playing the clubs against each other. He had reasons to go home. His partner lives in Bettystown and attends DCU afaik. After resigning he thanked her on twitter for agreeing to relocate. So there were two people that needed to be convinced. All in all it would have been easier for him to move north. You say he talked to City after the final and that ties in with others who saw Caulfield talking earnestly to Sheppard and his girlfriend after the match. I really think that Kenny helped make up his mind.
If Kenny was to blame then Dundalk have a bit of a problem. Every player will have put himself in Sheppard's shoes and asked what would I have done?
08/11/2017, 10:18 AM
With regards to pre-contracts, I think that he could have signed one with Dundalk, but that Cork (as his current employers) still had the right to offer him another one?
08/11/2017, 10:24 AM
All any club have to do is offer a letter of retention in the final year of a players contract on the same money and any pre contracts the player signs with anyone else are worthless.
Ion Limerick signed a child from cobh. Cian Coleman. Any good cobh fan??
An outstanding player LTID, big step up for him though.
Bolger didn't get as far as that with us. We tried to sign him in the summer because he wanted out of Cork (wasn't playing and hates Caulfield). We would've had to pay a hefty fee so instead we got Keegan and were planning on picking Bolger up for free at the end of the season. I think Greg was pretty set on joining Waterford, but Rovers came in for him and he chose them (including European football) which is fair enough. There's no ill feeling about it here. Himself and Reynolds are god buddies anyway and I wouldn't be surprised if he played for us at some future point since he's from Wexford.
Have Comerford and O'Connor resigned for you lot yet?
08/11/2017, 5:40 PM
Aaron Barry away to Cork as well, we hear.
Wouldn't be expecting him to stay with us (he's from Wicklow), but Cork would seem a strange move. I don't think he'd get on.
Of course, if they're offering (allegedly) double what we are, why wouldn't he go?
colonelwest
08/11/2017, 6:49 PM
All any club have to do is offer a letter of retention in the final year of a players contract on the same money and any pre contracts the player signs with anyone else are worthless.
As far as I'm aware that only applies to players under the age of 23 so if they do leave the previous club are entitled to development compensation. Anyone above that age is covered by the Bosman rule, any retention letter may as well be written in crayon.
With regard to Shep, more power to him, got an extra few bob out of Cork to stay, of course within their budget either way. If he had of came to us we're well stocked already on the wing, as good as he is there, and he wouldn't be the answer up front if McMillan is off to Scotland.
The close season as mad as usual anyway so far for all clubs, not just ourselves and Cork, the shadow of a potential asterisk beside Bray as well yet to be confirmed and sure the off seasons only started!
08/11/2017, 8:09 PM
As far as I'm aware that only applies to players under the age of 23 so if they do leave the previous club are entitled to development compensation. Anyone above that age is covered by the Bosman rule, any retention letter may as well be written in crayon.
With regard to Shep, more power to him, got an extra few bob out of Cork to stay, of course within their budget either way. If he had of came to us we're well stocked already on the wing, as good as he is there, and he wouldn't be the answer up front if McMillan is off to Scotland.
The close season as mad as usual anyway so far for all clubs, not just ourselves and Cork, the shadow of a potential asterisk beside Bray as well yet to be confirmed and sure the off seasons only started!
You are correct fairplay. My league of Ireland law is getting rusty :)
redarmyfaction
08/11/2017, 9:42 PM
John Caulfield expects to complete a deal for the main stand at the Sligo Showgrounds to replace the one that blew down in Turner's Cross.
bluemovie
08/11/2017, 9:43 PM
Have Comerford and O'Connor resigned for you lot yet?
Not yet. I'd expect Comerford to be back. O'Connor won our player of the year but I've a suspicion he might move to a Dublin club.
patrickccfc
08/11/2017, 10:38 PM
John Caulfield expects to complete a deal for the main stand at the Sligo Showgrounds to replace the one that blew down in Turner's Cross.
https://twitter.com/dubderbyfacts/status/928023337833517056
Got that from here yeah? :cool:
sulywaterfordfc
09/11/2017, 10:33 AM
Waterford after Izzy Akinade and Derry’s Rory Patterson as the front two next season. http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/waterford-hoping-pair-rory-patterson-11489808
Philosophizer
09/11/2017, 10:44 AM
Waterford after Izzy Akinade and Derry’s Rory Patterson as the front two next season. http://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/waterford-hoping-pair-rory-patterson-11489808
Two excellent strikers there. Interesting to see if they'd be at their best in a partnership though.
09/11/2017, 10:46 AM
How much money do Waterford have?
09/11/2017, 11:12 AM
Patterson is doing some coaching in around Derry and Strabane far as I know. Unless Waterford throw stupid money at him I don't think he'll go too far from home.
WoodquayBoy
09/11/2017, 11:59 AM
Local paper today had Colm Horgan going to Cork City (since confirmed), Ronan Murray going to Sligo Rovers, and Rory Hale going to Derry (which would make sense with McNamee gone to Cork City). Stephen Folan and Gavan Holohan on trial at Grimsby, though Waterford United mentioned as a possibility for Holohan (he’s from Kilkenny)
Philosophizer
09/11/2017, 12:30 PM
I'd like to see some more foreign talent come into the league for next year what with some clubs offering 52 week contracts now.
There have been plenty of duds over the years of course but lads like Vemmelund, Low, Twigg, Puri, Hunt, Rutherford, Ndo, etc definitely help raise the standard of the league. Sometimes clubs are too focused on the irish players who are constantly on the LOI merry-go-round.
09/11/2017, 1:04 PM
Contracts will be longer this year anyway won’t they? Season starting two weeks earlier so most clubs probably back in pre-season two weeks earlier meaning contracts are two weeks longer.
Kiki Balboa
09/11/2017, 2:11 PM
I'd like to see some more foreign talent come into the league for next year what with some clubs offering 52 week contracts now.
There have been plenty of duds over the years of course but lads like Vemmelund, Low, Twigg, Puri, Hunt, Rutherford, Ndo, etc definitely help raise the standard of the league. Sometimes clubs are too focused on the irish players who are constantly on the LOI merry-go-round.
Its very important to bring in outsiders with fresh ideas to the league, as a player or as a manager, once you are not bringing in foreign players for the sake of it. Leagues can very stale very quickly without it, where everybody knows everybody and knows how to defend against them.
WoodquayBoy
09/11/2017, 2:32 PM
Local paper today had Colm Horgan going to Cork City (since confirmed), Ronan Murray going to Sligo Rovers, and Rory Hale going to Derry (which would make sense with McNamee gone to Cork City). Stephen Folan and Gavan Holohan on trial at Grimsby, though Waterford United mentioned as a possibility for Holohan (he’s from Kilkenny)
Hale to Derry City now confirmed as well
Aaron Barry away to Cork as well, we hear.
Wouldn't be expecting him to stay with us (he's from Wicklow), but Cork would seem a strange move. I don't think he'd get on.
Of course, if they're offering (allegedly) double what we are, why wouldn't he go?
Apparently we had the fourth largest budget this season. We are allocating more money to the budget (AFAIK) but I'd doubt that we'd be doubling anyone's wages. Then again, if you factor in a modest increase, the 52 weeks and the decline in sterling it might come close I suppose?
bluewhitearmy
09/11/2017, 3:00 PM
Apparently we had the fourth largest budget this season. We are allocating more money to the budget (AFAIK) but I'd doubt that we'd be doubling anyone's wages. Then again, if you factor in a modest increase, the 52 weeks and the decline in sterling it might come close I suppose?
Who was supposed to have bigger budgets than ye Dundalk fine but who else?
09/11/2017, 3:03 PM
Who was supposed to have bigger budgets than ye Dundalk fine but who else?
Bray.
I assume the sterling factor is really hurting us.
El-Pietro
09/11/2017, 3:15 PM
I assume Rovers are the other side.
09/11/2017, 3:22 PM
A decent rule of thumb is that if a club says they have the fourth biggest budget in the league, they probably have the first biggest.
Ezeikial
09/11/2017, 3:23 PM
Apparently we had the fourth largest budget this season.
Careful now. There's already a trademark on that claim
bluewhitearmy
09/11/2017, 3:24 PM
I can't see Cork having a smaller budget than Bray at all I'd doubt Rovers even but that's more plausible.
09/11/2017, 3:35 PM
Announced there that Patterson re-signed for Derry for next year.
El-Pietro
09/11/2017, 3:38 PM
I was surprised when I heard that as well to be honest. I have no idea if its true, but JC has mentioned a lot in the last few weeks that when we are bringing players in that he has to sell the club to them because we can't compete at the very top end financially. That seems strange, but we don't have any outside investment, and the amount put in by FORAS members is 120 euro per year, while I think Rovers fans put in ~400?
It could just be that hes saying that so he can negotiate better with players hes bringing in.
Asterix
09/11/2017, 4:30 PM
Rovers membership is €600 per year.
Clubs don't know what any other clubs budget is. Would''t imagine theres much of a difference between rovers and corks.