View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 [35] 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

sbgawa
07/06/2018, 10:33 AM
Hopefully there are good add ons.....youd have to think so... but 300k (if that's the number) for a guy we signed for free 18 months ago is a decent result when you look at the going rate for players from here and the fact that in many cases clubs get no fee at all.
This could set a new bar for all clubs , if someone offers Cork money for Sadlier or Dundalk money for McGrath they can refer to this as a benchmark.
Its good news for the league.
It should encourage clubs to offer their best prospects longer contracts and that has to be good also.
Might even make a few barstoolers think we have a league that's worth taking a look at.

Eminence Grise
07/06/2018, 10:42 AM
I'm inclined to agree with Nigel. It might also depress prices if this becomes the benchmark for capped internationals with experience. I often think clubs are too quick to snatch the first offer that comes along because it stands in the young lad's way of giving it a real go. It might be the closeness of boards to players, and a good reason for clubs to have stronger corporate structures off the pitch.

Edit
I'm with Sbgawa on the benefits of long-term contracts.

Ezeikial
07/06/2018, 11:09 AM
The length remaining in a contract is obviously a huge issue in determining a fee where a UK club is interested. But it is a difficult one for clubs - they may offer longer term deals, but it is not automatic that a player will accept it.

Jamie McGrath had just agreed a 1 year extension, following a similar pattern from Towell, Boyle and Horgan who were all able to negotiate sweeter deals for themselves because they were out of contract.

Maybe the era of offering promising 20 year olds four year deals is on the horizon, but it is fraught with all sorts of risks

07/06/2018, 11:57 AM
The flip side I suppose is that it's 300k for a guy who flopped at Notts County (5 goals in 52 games, mostly in League Two)

The goal v USA wasn't really his as such, and the call up in the first place said as much about our lack of forwards than Burke's ability.

I could understand Preston looking at this as a bit of a risk.

For Rovers to turn zero into 300000 in 18 months is decent business.

And obviously best of luck to the guy if he does move.

07/06/2018, 1:17 PM
With international caps behind him now, and an international goal to his name, is €300k selling themselves short? If the rumoured interest in him does stretch to four or five clubs, and he has 18 months left on his contact, is it too much to suggest that they should be demanding a minimum of €500k?

By all accounts Rovers could do with the money and sooner rather than later as general running costs have them in need of another directors loan if other income isnt attained. European money this season with the transfer income will plug the hole in the finances. Even with larger average gates the club was running at a loss year on year so this year has been damaging. One of the reason for not giving Bradley the shove is the liklihood of it costing them added to the cost of signing a new man who will probably want to have a budget to bring in his own players too. With the possibility of no Europe next season, and unless a couple of transfers materialised to bolster the books then the supporters owned model was going to finish as a condition to additional director loans. This is from the horses mouth too, an actively involved member that I work with who is pretty worried about things. 300k + add ons and accepting that the full amount isnt being paid up front in one lump would back up the claims of an urgent need for money in. Time maybe to make the player budget the 6th highest in the league or lower!!

Asterix
07/06/2018, 1:37 PM
By all accounts Rovers could do with the money and sooner rather than later as general running costs have them in need of another directors loan if other income isnt attained. European money this season with the transfer income will plug the hole in the finances. Even with larger average gates the club was running at a loss year on year so this year has been damaging. One of the reason for not giving Bradley the shove is the liklihood of it costing them added to the cost of signing a new man who will probably want to have a budget to bring in his own players too. With the possibility of no Europe next season, and unless a couple of transfers materialised to bolster the books then the supporters owned model was going to finish as a condition to additional director loans. This is from the horses mouth too, an actively involved member that I work with who is pretty worried about things. 300k + add ons and accepting that the full amount isnt being paid up front in one lump would back up the claims of an urgent need for money in. Time maybe to make the player budget the 6th highest in the league or lower!!

Have to laugh reading this, so much made up sh*t!

mcgonigle
07/06/2018, 1:50 PM

Which parts?

Director's loan?
Gates down on last season?
Having to pay Bradley off if sacked, then paying a new manager?
Possibility of no Europe next season?

Buller
07/06/2018, 2:01 PM
Which parts?

Director's loan?
Gates down on last season?
Having to pay Bradley off if sacked, then paying a new manager?
Possibility of no Europe next season?

You're a bully.

Directors loan was for the new youth Academy and training facility - not day to day running of the club.
http://www.intallaght.ie/rovers-academy-officially-opens-giving-local-children-a-chance-to-become-professional-footballers/

We're really proud of it!

Possibility of no Europe next season? Possibly, we'll adjust budget accordingly.

07/06/2018, 2:13 PM
Schlingermann is leaving Sligo.
Waterford will be in need of a keeper come the transfer window, aye?

07/06/2018, 2:36 PM

You would know all about made up sh!t Asterix!! I am repeating what was said to me but lets break it down for you and answer yes or know to keep it simple for you.

If the directors loan for the academy isnt paid back within an agreed time frame then the loan becomes shares in the club, yes or no?
Registered accounts have shown that year on year debts are being accrued, yes or no?
Part of the loan for the academy also paid accrued general expenses?
Budgeted income is down this season and this will be compounded by a lack of European football next season?
The budget shortfall is growing as season progresses and there is a split board on what to do about Bradley due to the cost of removing him and appointing a new manager as this will compound the growing 2018 debt.
Another directors loan was considered and this will increase the control over the club by the diretor if taken up essentially removing the 800 club's majority ownership?
The transfer fee for Burke is not required to be paid in one lump up front as cash flow is tight and that this is a timely development?
Additional transfers are hoped for for next season to cover the financial hole left by the absence of European income?

Dan Cleary had no release clause demand in his contract proposal with Rovers and Bradley just didnt rate him?
The Rover's project is going backwards right now and it is a worry especially as Bradley will be a costly dismissal?

Simple yes or no answers will suffice Asterix, it wont be too taxing on you!

sbgawa
07/06/2018, 2:36 PM
You're a bully.

Directors loan was for the new youth Academy and training facility - not day to day running of the club.
http://www.intallaght.ie/rovers-academy-officially-opens-giving-local-children-a-chance-to-become-professional-footballers/

We're really proud of it!

Possibility of no Europe next season? Possibly, we'll adjust budget accordingly.

I think id probably add according to Nigel our gates this year per last update are 2914 and last year was 2809....attendances are up which isn't bad considering results/mid week games....
This is the same old rabbit hole though .....

Ezeikial
07/06/2018, 3:00 PM

I suspect this is the single most pressing issue.

Not qualifying for Europe and any resultant budget cut would be a big backward step. The current squad plus Mannus is well fit to get 4th place and hope its good enough.

The results over the last 2 months however point in the opposite direction.

sundance kid
07/06/2018, 3:14 PM
No directors loan for additional stake in the club can be considered without the majority of the members club voting to approve it at an AGM/EGM and personally I seriously doubt this will happen.

07/06/2018, 3:25 PM
No directors loan for additional stake in the club can be considered without the majority of the members club voting to approve it at an AGM/EGM and personally I seriously doubt this will happen.

As i have said "Another directors loan was considered (by the board) and this will increase the control over the club by the diretor if taken up essentially removing the 800 club's majority ownership?" If the previous loan isnt paid back - when is that due to be recalled, then its a formality to increase shareholding as 50% will go out of the supporters hands so .1% of the supporters vote is all that is needed for a basic majority on any decision!? Unless there is a clause that requires a 2/3 majority to make certain structural or ownership changes?

sundance kid
07/06/2018, 3:51 PM
The initial loan had to be, and was approved by the members before the board could do anything. Same goes for any additional loan that would involve extra stake in the club. The board simply can't accept it without our approval and I can't see anything being approved as the members club would lose control of the club. Your pal who knows everything about rovers obviously isn't a member or else doesn't understand how things work.

White Horse
07/06/2018, 3:58 PM
As I recall, Ray Wilson gave Rovers a loan of €1.5m and it is repayable by 2026. If not, he takes a 50% stake in the club.

That is my recollection from a couple of years ago.

placid casual
07/06/2018, 3:59 PM
Dundalk fans on here have a real penchant for talking our of their ar$e.
If this was USA they'd be trump supporters I'd wager.
Fair play to Burke in getting a chance across the water, and fair play to the manager/board in tying him down to a deal that would reap some financial benefits.

Ezeikial
07/06/2018, 5:20 PM
Dundalk fans on here have a real penchant for talking our of their ar$e.
If this was USA they'd be trump supporters I'd wager.
Fair play to Burke in getting a chance across the water, and fair play to the manager/board in tying him down to a deal that would reap some financial benefits.

The first part is as precise as a Pico Lopes tackle. If there is something to refute then say so specifically.

I agree with the second part. Fair dues to both player and club.

sullanefc
07/06/2018, 6:59 PM
then its a formality to increase shareholding as 50% will go out of the supporters hands so .1% of the supporters vote is all that is needed for a basic majority on any decision!?

Dundalk fans really clutching at straws in order to put the boot in on Shamrock. Wouldn't it be the case that the 51% of the club that is owned by members is a single block in terms of voting. The idea that one member going against the rest of the membership and swaying a decision is laughable.

White Horse
07/06/2018, 7:29 PM
Dundalk fans really clutching at straws in order to put the boot in on Shamrock. Wouldn't it be the case that the 51% of the club that is owned by members is a single block in terms of voting. The idea that one member going against the rest of the membership and swaying a decision is laughable.

Nesta has a better understanding as to the significance of a single owner owning 50% as opposed to 299 owning the other 50%.

sbgawa
07/06/2018, 8:22 PM
What a load of waffle masked as intelligent comment.
Members are 1 block vote and Ray Wilson is hardly an American vulture fund trying to take over the club...his family have been around the club for 50 years. Honestly the BS on here is hilarious. I said it earlier rabbit hole for I'll informed rovers bashing......

bluemovie
07/06/2018, 9:29 PM
Cork supposed to have chanced their arm with a 50,000 bid to Oldham for Courtney Duffus, but were turned down. It looks likely that he'll extend his loan with Waterford.

07/06/2018, 9:41 PM
The initial loan had to be, and was approved by the members before the board could do anything. Same goes for any additional loan that would involve extra stake in the club. The board simply can't accept it without our approval and I can't see anything being approved as the members club would lose control of the club. Your pal who knows everything about rovers obviously isn't a member or else doesn't understand how things work.

They understand quite well how things work and could go. Nobody is claiming that a directors loan with attached conditions can happen without approval. What has been claimed is that the board have considered the possibility of additional directors loan with conditions attached as per the previous one that was accepted. If it comes to pass that the director in question gets 50% ownership I cant see how he can be prevented in real terms having a majority 'vote' that could agree to allow complete ownership. Whats to stop his associates being members and and voting in his favour. He has 50% and the 800 club need 100% of their 50% to counter any of his proposals. There is little stopping him loading the 800 club with a good few people that will would back him and then it isnt 100% of the 50%.

On the current situation, if things are financially bleak enough and the 800 club has access to equity via a director then a proposed cash injection isnt dead in the water before it goes to the members. The chance to change manager, secure the clubs future as competative in the league but at a cost, maybe under a similar term of repaying hypothetically €1mil in 3-5 years or its a conversion to shares also. These things are a real possibility as the board needs financial room to manouvre. The Burke transfer has changed the landscape for now but its acknowledged that without additional income from Europe next season the same circumstances will happen again without further transfers out and the money generated by those. A financial restructuring is otherwise on the cards and that is cutting costs (player budget), or take additional investment from a director which, as per previous examples, will have strings attached.

I dont think even the most ardent of Rovers fans will claim that their board's performance has been up to standard over the last 5 or 6 years or so. Wilson has got on board with some of his own trusted people and he has his own end game plans if Rovers are not sufficiantly well run to pay back what is owed - €150k per year over 10 years currently and maybe more if additional loans are needed.

My 'pal' knows exactly how things works, he is pretty skeptical on members of the current board and their motives. He feels that the board have been backing themselves in to a corner. He believes that the likes of Wilson are quite happy for this to happen, for his position and influence to grow, that he is in a win win position - it the money is paid back he is happy and it would mean the club he supports is doing well; if the club isnt doing well then he is manouvering to be in a position to take control and he can expidite this if he is required to offer additioanl loans. Whether they are accepted at an EGM or not is anotther thing but as said, if things are bleak enough then members might take a pragmatic approach even if it risks the supporters owned model. Its members of the 800 club that cannot or will not see that this is a quite real possibility are the ones that dont grasp how things work, as with a loan already accepted then the 800 club control of the club is on the clock. If Rovers had never had a dip in form, if they had or do win the league in the next few years then the situation changes. The problem is though it will only get tougher to get back to top of the heap as other clubs get European income year on year and consolidte at the top. For Rovers to break in to that they will have to spend money they dont currently have and real consideration of additional cash injection from Wilson gets closer. Not to consider this possibility is naive. If Wilson was to get a 40% stake in the club if loans get exchanged for shares then it would have shown a greater understanding to the risk to 800 club control not a lack of understanding.

Nobody is suggesting that Wilson doesnt want whats good for Rovers as a fan, he is simply waiting in the wings to take things on if the club doesnt perform sufficiently well to repay loans. He can then run things in the way he sees fit to be a success.

07/06/2018, 9:52 PM
I think id probably add according to Nigel our gates this year per last update are 2914 and last year was 2809....attendances are up which isn't bad considering results/mid week games....
This is the same old rabbit hole though .....

The number of home games left have to be taken in to consideration too with the weighting of fixtures so front heavy.

07/06/2018, 10:01 PM

It wouldnt be 51% owned by members it would be 50% and the other 50% in one director's hands. At best that would cause a deadlock in a vote with the chairman I presume then casting their vote to break the deadlock. It is not inconcievable that the single largest shareholder would be the chairman by then as it is not inconcievable that the current chairman is casting the balance of power vote either. But in all likihood with the way thing have been going at borad level will JP be in the chair for another x number of years!?

sbgawa
07/06/2018, 10:05 PM
Lol . So attendances are no longer down but forecast to be down....about as much sense as all the other stuff "A fella told you and you are repeating" I know lots of members who look around the entire club and think we are on track but then I'm sure your lad knows it all.
Does it strike you as ironic that you are so worried about rovers fan ownership model allowing Ray Wilson to take over from your position as dundalk dynamos or whatever the rebrand is ;) keep worrying about us we love the attention.

El-Pietro
07/06/2018, 10:09 PM
Cork supposed to have chanced their arm with a 50,000 bid to Oldham for Courtney Duffus, but were turned down. It looks likely that he'll extend his loan with Waterford.

That doesn't surprise me. I haven't heard anything to back that up but he's a very good player and a JC style player installed position we lack depth.

They understand quite well how things work and could go......If it comes to pass that the director in question gets 50% ownership I cant see how he can be prevented in real terms having a majority 'vote' that could agree to allow complete ownership. Whats to stop his associates being members and and voting in his favour. He has 50% and the 800 club need 100% of their 50% to counter any of his proposals.
to shares

My 'pal' knows exactly how things works, he is pretty skeptical on members of the current board and their motives. He feels that the board have been backing themselves in to a corner.....
I'm usually the first to slag Rovers off and I'm massively skeptical of this whole deal but if what you are saying is out of your buddy's mouth and he's a member then he's an idiot.
I don't know the exact percentages but if the Rovers membership own 50% and Wilson owns 50% then is not a case of them all sitting in a room for votes and Wilson needing to convince 1 Rovers member to back him. The Rovers membership are a block Inthe same way Wilson is. They have their own meetings and make a decision and then they go back to the board and vote whichever way they have decided.in your scenario Wilson would need close to half the membership to make decisions plus his own votes.
Obviously the rovers members representatives can't go back to the board on every decision but I'd imagine they would generally vote the same way on key decisions aNd be wary of Wilson.

07/06/2018, 10:11 PM
Lads, do yous not have a Stephen Bradley interview to talk about?

sbgawa
07/06/2018, 10:17 PM
Lol good one.
Dufus would be a good signing for cork but with Waterford in the shake up for Europe I'm not surprised he is staying put.

08/06/2018, 12:13 AM
Lol . So attendances are no longer down but forecast to be down....about as much sense as all the other stuff "A fella told you and you are repeating" I know lots of members who look around the entire club and think we are on track but then I'm sure your lad knows it all.
Does it strike you as ironic that you are so worried about rovers fan ownership model allowing Ray Wilson to take over from your position as dundalk dynamos or whatever the rebrand is ;) keep worrying about us we love the attention.

Where did I say that? I'm saying that with most home games played that with finanances there are not so many games left that will generate income.. There is an imbalance to the season and majority of money is already banked. I neither claimed that anybody knows it all and that is ringing true with some very blinkered Rovers fans too. Laugh and deflect all you like, it doesnt change what is happening currently and that change will continue without an upturn of fortunes, pardon the pun, on the field (and in transfer markets on from the Burke sale). I have mentioned the 50/50 block voting - it will be a deadlock at best and a casting vote will be need needed. That casting vote can facilitate many things including watering down further the membership say. Do articles of membership insist that members must always tow the party line, that any dissenting group cannot ballot together as an additional block!? As for worry about Rovers, not by me as the clubs future is not at risk imo. It should be a concern for members though if they want to maintain their control in the club as this is at risk. To assume that there wont be a vote on a change of ownership model is not the wisest thing as all eventualities should be prepared for. It might even be of benefit to the club to relinquish supporter ownership going forward. How other clubs are owned or run isnt relevant, Dundalk tried the supporter ownership model and it failed, private ownership has worked better but not without fault and risk to the club. No Dundalk fan blindly trusts the clubs owners now or before with concern about a land grab of Oriel or the draining of cash assets out of the club etc. The motives of people involved have always been questioned. I dont see why it is an issue to discuss another club, people have been doing so in relation to Bray, Athlone, Limerick, Dundalk in terms of ownership, motives and conduct of owners included, but dare anyone question things about Shamrock Rovers. Of all clubs Shamrock Rovers should be open to discussion considering the Kilcoyne experience rather than scoff and ridicule the mere consideration that the precious current model is at risk at minimum of being weakened by 50% (and more if finances continue to tighten). I presume that there is an element of a popularity contest among the membership at AGM's when underperforming officers on the board are annually voted back, shouldnt this be of concern if a simple majority of a block vote continues to reinstate people if say opposition is 49.9%? Is it the case that part of the conditions of the loan was to allow seats on the board for Wilson and co rather than them having to go through the standard process of obtaining a place on the board trough the articles of membership. In other words circumvented the standard regulations of how the 800 club appont members of the board, to me when exceptions like that are made then a membership are already weakening their role and on the slippery slope. Time will tell as usual!

08/06/2018, 12:52 AM
It's 400 club, not 800, and actually it's a lot less than that since the club is no longer in critical condition. I think most Rovers fans have a healthy dose of scepticism with regard to the wisdom of taking the loan but Wilson has had plenty of opportunities to take the club over in the past and hasn't. If he ends up keeping his 50% stake it's because the club has been run improperly but, more likely, he's going to let his shareholding dwindle like he did the last time.

Ezeikial
08/06/2018, 8:29 AM
Lads, do yous not have a Stephen Bradley interview to talk about?

He can do without more ridicule. He has a couple of matches to win before the break to save his job.

He believes that two wins against Bray and Limerick will put Rovers around 3rd or 4th.

08/06/2018, 8:38 AM
He can do without more ridicule. He has a couple of matches to win before the break to save his job.

He believes that two wins against Bray and Limerick will put Rovers around 3rd or 4th.

He's probably not wrong about 4th. Everyone from 3rd to 6th seems to be losing the plot at the same time. Pat's should be well clear at this point but they've been just as bad.

08/06/2018, 8:51 AM
Rumours of Damien Delaney to Cork.

EDIT: also, any chance the thread title could be amended to 2018, or just drop the year altogether.

08/06/2018, 9:09 AM
Rumours of Dean Delaney to Cork.

EDIT: also, any chance the thread title could be amended to 2018, or just drop the year altogether.

Damien

Pablo Escobar
08/06/2018, 9:31 AM
Damien

That would be a superb signing ahead of the European games. It would seem to make sense for everybody ones he was happy with terms.

marinobohs
08/06/2018, 9:58 AM

Quite possible, after Dundalk and Cork (for me a mini league for the title) there are a clutch of teams that are equally inconsistent, Pats, Shams, Derry, Waterford have all shown a penchant to win 3/4 games and then lose 3/4 games, they could finish in almost any order.
Surprised Shams gates (on average) are up this season, although most of their results woes have been on the road. Not aware of any financial difficulties off the park - sure losing money is almost mandatory in LOI :D Wilson appears to be a genuine fan of the club so doubt he would pull the plug and unless that happens I cant see any immediate threat,Presumably next seasons budget would be impacted by qualification (or otherwise) for European football and that will be known before any decisions are made on next years budget.
At this point shams problem all seem to be ON the pitch (and long may it last :cool:)

sbgawa
08/06/2018, 10:41 AM
When Bohs fans start making sense the end of the world can't be far behind :)
Its actually mad how the 3rd to 6th teams appear to be trying desperately hard to avoid Europe.
I can see us beating Bray and Limerick and that would make the last match before the break against Derry a big one.
I could also see us losing all 3 :) not really ....I hope
a lot might depend on if Car and Finn are back

Ezeikial
08/06/2018, 10:46 AM
He's probably not wrong about 4th. Everyone from 3rd to 6th seems to be losing the plot at the same time. Pat's should be well clear at this point but they've been just as bad.

Agreed - two wins would likely see them into 4th place on GD. 3rd place by the break is mathematically impossible.

Who knows how it will pan out for the rest of the season, but based on recent form the European qualification places are far from the given that they should be.

The implications of non qualification for Rovers could be significant in many ways

ArFella
08/06/2018, 11:03 AM
When Bohs fans start making sense the end of the world can't be far behind :)
Its actually mad how the 3rd to 6th teams appear to be trying desperately hard to avoid Europe.
I can see us beating Bray and Limerick and that would make the last match before the break against Derry a big one.
I could also see us losing all 3 :) not really ....I hope
a lot might depend on if Car and Finn are back

They all really want to compete in the much more prestigious Irn Bru cup, Europa League money is nothing compared to that experience ;)

patrickccfc
08/06/2018, 11:10 AM
Signing incoming for us👀

https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/1005041537317789697?s=19

08/06/2018, 11:21 AM
Paddy McCourt rumoured to be leaving Harps to take on a coaching role at Derry.
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/former-celtic-star-paddy-mccourt-set-for-derry-city-return-1-8526383

patrickccfc
08/06/2018, 12:02 PM
It's Damien Delaney

https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/1005057192972693505?s=19

White Horse
08/06/2018, 12:24 PM
Interesting one. He looked past it at Palace this season in the cup game against Brighton.

However, he was excellent for them a couple of years ago. Perhaps he can rediscover that form.

08/06/2018, 12:30 PM
Interesting one. He looked past it at Palace this season in the cup game against Brighton.

However, he was excellent for them a couple of years ago. Perhaps he can rediscover that form.

His experience will be an asset to the young lads anyway, especially in Europe. Big ask for the 2 young fellas.

He obviously won't be playing every game, but between him and Benno it's good to have.

08/06/2018, 12:30 PM

Being past it for Palace doesn't mean he wouldn't be brilliant at LOI level though.

But I would have thought that if there was another year or two in the legs, he could have played at Championship or even League 1 level for more money. Maybe he just wants to come home and finish his career with Cork.

08/06/2018, 12:34 PM
Paddy McCourt rumoured to be leaving Harps to take on a coaching role at Derry.
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/former-celtic-star-paddy-mccourt-set-for-derry-city-return-1-8526383

Playing until the end of the season before taking up the role full time with Derry, or so I'm led to believe.

08/06/2018, 12:36 PM
He was offered an extension at Palace but turned it down. Hopefully he did just wanna come home.

08/06/2018, 12:44 PM
Being past it for Palace doesn't mean he wouldn't be brilliant at LOI level though.
My thoughts too.

Cork are making a bit of a habit of signing players like this (Healy and Miller being two others off the top of my head). If nothing else, it must be good for the club's brand image in the city.

mcgonigle
08/06/2018, 12:47 PM
It's Damien Delaney

https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/1005057192972693505?s=19

That'll surely push your budget into the top 6 in the league?

Interesting signing, could be excellent at this level. Hopefully not