View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47

sbgawa
10/08/2018, 10:21 AM
Really hard hitting stuff there, Shiels looks like the walking dead ,
It looks like the Chairman has decided the game is up on Europe and they aren't going to be relegated so no point paying him off.
I assume he is out of contract at end of the season?.

marinobohs
10/08/2018, 11:18 AM
There's enough fans who would be more than happy to see that happen.

Good news that the club are going to take a more active role in looking into our signings.
There's been so much money wasted.

unless the paper is wrong (or is that just shams :rolleyes:) it appears a serious slap for the manager.To be fair that is a pretty large turnover in players (and presumably costs) so no surprise the guy picking up the tab is calling a stop, surprising thing is to publicly announce it as it is embarrassing for the manager.Unless keeping him is em, not a priority.

10/08/2018, 11:37 AM
Bit of an indictment of Shiels' talent spotting prowess.

https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/new-transfer-policy-in-place-at-derry-city-1-8596648

Have Derry City now got a man on their board who was involved with their previous collapse? https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-foyle-west-26045159

Lots of Dohertys in that part of the world so could be a different guy of course and the above article does seem to indicate the 'original' Joe Doherty would still be banned.

Also- what planet is this lad on?

"A lot of League of Ireland clubs have no youth teams at all, they just buy in players but we try to have balance."

Read more at: https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/new-transfer-policy-in-place-at-derry-city-1-8596648

Philosophizer
10/08/2018, 12:26 PM

"A lot of League of Ireland clubs have no youth teams at all, they just buy in players but we try to have balance."

i doubt he meant that to be taken literally.

He means some clubs don't have proper youth investment like Derry. Those clubs won't ever really try to promote youth from their own teams.

10/08/2018, 2:01 PM
Lots of Dohertys in that part of the world so could be a different guy of course and the above article does seem to indicate the 'original' Joe Doherty would still be banned.

"A lot of League of Ireland clubs have no youth teams at all...

Different Joe Doherty.

Presume he means it's a youth team on paper, with little real attention paid to it.

It's unusual to call out the manager publicly for his rubbish signings, but there's been a lot of grumbling about it from fans.
If you believe the rumours, it's cost £150k just to pay off the lads we've let go this season. We're then told we can't afford to keep/sign the likes of Paddy McEleney, McNamee, etc. I think a public statement will help.

11/08/2018, 1:01 AM
If it costs £150k to pay them off (which presumably was better than letting them run their contracts down), how much were these lads on?

David BOHie
11/08/2018, 10:47 AM
Who have Derry let go that cost so much?

colonelwest
12/08/2018, 1:47 PM
Who have Derry let go that cost so much?

They let about 7 lads go there in the window, all of which would have been signed for the season so unless they came to some agreement with them on less of a payout/ the players didn't look for anything as they'd something else lined up they'd have to pay each of them up til the end of the contract so talk of 150k is probably about right.

12/08/2018, 2:12 PM
Just doing the maths, and if they were all on 1-year contracts, then paying up 7 half contracts for £150k means they were on an average of more than £1k a week each.

Heck of a lot of money to be ****ing away.

sbgawa
12/08/2018, 4:05 PM
They might have been talking about all the money spent on the players for the full season given they weren't good enough ....a 1000 a player seems like a lot per week

14/08/2018, 2:18 PM
Dundalk to sign goalkeeper Aaron McCarey?

colonelwest
14/08/2018, 9:58 PM
Dundalk to sign goalkeeper Aaron McCarey?

Bit out of left field that one, remember him at Wolves for years after going across from the Mons, never really pushed on at all. Ross Treacy is fairly highly thought of though as one for the future, he's 3rd choice, was over with Swansea after heading over from Kevins as a kid. Suppose Rogers is getting on a bit but he still has a few seasons left in him at LOI level.

Eminence Grise
15/08/2018, 10:00 AM
Suppose Rogers is getting on a bit but he still has a few seasons left in him at LOI level.

That might be part of the thinking if the rumour is true.

15/08/2018, 10:04 AM
Is Gabriel Sava adequate backup though? A better goalkeeper fighting for the number one spot might be better for Dundalk than Rogers being guaranteed his place, despite a number of errors at league and European level.

Ezeikial
15/08/2018, 11:07 AM
Is Gabriel Sava adequate backup though? A better goalkeeper fighting for the number one spot might be better for Dundalk than Rogers being guaranteed his place, despite a number of errors at league and European level.

Gabriel Sava is a loyal, if limited, squad goalkeeper and provides cover but no competition for Gary Rogers.

Although Gary Rogers has made some high profile errors - especially in 2016 when he was dropped for a short period - his general form since joining Dundalk has been excellent. His statistics and substantial record setting speak loudly, but his current form means that it will take an exceptional goalkeeper (or a big fall in his standards) to dislodge him for the team.

RathfarnhamHoop
15/08/2018, 1:04 PM
Lads there's only a tiny bit of cop on needed to know that can't be off to City in January, an offer could be accepted for him then and he could sign with them for then but a contract won't start then. He's at Rovers until after his LC.

colonelwest
15/08/2018, 6:06 PM
That might be part of the thinking if the rumour is true.

Aye true, as Ezekial said barring the odd flap in the EL or brainfart he's been superb for us since he signed though to be fair to him. Similar in Europe with Gartland, few high profile brain farts but he's a tank domestically. I wouldn't think McCarey would be that much of an improvement on what we've got and potentially what we've got coming through with Treacy. Having said that now mind, I've seen feck all of him over the last couple of years.

Domestically he's fine and solid enough when he has to step in and is happy enough to be a squad player. Treacy will most likely have to go on loan too next season to get game time with there being nothing between the 19s and first team football.

Generally speaking, Dan McDonnell made a great point on LOI Weekly on stepping up to European football level once a year for a couple of games compared to being able to coast along to a certain extent where you'd get away with things & concentration levels etc domestically, which applies to all our clubs in Europe, not just ourselves. Having to step it up across the board a couple of games a season mentally, tactically etc and where you'll get punished by teams who are far more clinical in their ability and their ability to force mistakes and so on. You'll get found out at a higher level if you switch off for a second as a few of our lads experienced first hand.

CorribsideSteve
15/08/2018, 6:38 PM
Generally speaking, Dan McDonnell made a great point on LOI Weekly on stepping up to European football level once a year for a couple of games compared to being able to coast along to a certain extent where you'd get away with things & concentration levels etc domestically, which applies to all our clubs in Europe, not just ourselves. Having to step it up across the board a couple of games a season mentally, tactically etc and where you'll get punished by teams who are far more clinical in their ability and their ability to force mistakes and so on. You'll get found out at a higher level if you switch off for a second as a few of our lads experienced first hand.

Unfortunately, with prize money being as much of a lifeblood as it is for LOI clubs, bad mistakes leading to sloppy goals at one end and a dearth of finishing accuracy at the other can cost hundreds of thousands of euros, literally, not hyperbolically. This season's LOI in Europe has been littered by awful, cringe-inducing mistakes (by all teams involved). And it's not over yet. Rogers weakly palming a shot straight to the feet of a Larnaka player for one of the goals is symptomatic of a player coming to the end of his game time IMHO. Older, slower, not as mentally sharp as before, which happens most goalies in their late 30's. Not that Dundalk lost 1 nil so that only Rogers could be blamed, mind you. It will be interesting to see Dundalk and Cork's improvements and how they might unfold by this time next summer.

15/08/2018, 7:04 PM
A lot of commentators have taken the view that both Dundalk and Cork have regressed this year, and the European performances/results would seem to indicate that. Pretty disheartening for the rest of the league though when the two of them are still so far ahead of the pack.

Ezeikial
15/08/2018, 8:23 PM
A lot of commentators have taken the view that both Dundalk and Cork have regressed this year, and the European performances/results would seem to indicate that. Pretty disheartening for the rest of the league though when the two of them are still so far ahead of the pack.

I think that the regression theory is only partly valid.

Cork started the 2017 season in phenomenal fashion but clearly the latter part of the season did not match the first part. Cork are not as strong this season as they were in the early part of last season, but are performing significantly better compared to the latter part of last season

For Dundalk last season was the complete opposite, poor early part, strong later in the season. I suspect that Dundalk have not regressed, but have not kicked on as much as hoped.

The recent performance away to Larnaca was woeful, but may not be a true reflection on where this team is at, but it is clearly some way short of 2016 levels and requires significant strengthening to challenge for group stages in 2019.

I expect the club will be looking to strengthen in the close season to close that gap, particularly if it is coming on the back of qualifying for the Champions League

15/08/2018, 9:20 PM
I don't think our euro campaigns can be compared that way. Last year, we basically met expectations. Beat a team we were expected to beat, lost to the team we were expected to lose to who were a better team than us. This season, we've come up against 2 sides that are stronger that both of last years. That's the luck of the draw.

In terms of the regression theory in general, we're a stronger team and squad, but we're missing Seani. We've a higher points per game total than last year and are all around more consistent in most areas. But you don't replace a player like him easily, he's a once a decade at most type of talent. Lose that, and you'll always look inferior in that area.

26/10/2018, 9:55 AM
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/kenny-shiels-wants-to-build-a-happy-dressing-room-as-he-faces-player-exodus-1-8683255/

What a mess.

Crusaders looking like they've a few quid to spare there as well.

Philosophizer
26/10/2018, 11:21 AM
Terrible shame if they loose some of those top guys to the Irish league.

Low was an excellent player imo. He's a loss to the league.

26/10/2018, 12:48 PM
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/kenny-shiels-wants-to-build-a-happy-dressing-room-as-he-faces-player-exodus-1-8683255/

What a mess.

Crusaders looking like they've a few quid to spare there as well.

Thinly veiled "Doherty is toxic so good riddance" from Shiels there.

lofty9
26/10/2018, 12:55 PM

That's Shiels trying his last stand. He's now got rid of the two players that even Collins publically stated as having too much influence at the club. With that backdrop, would it be fair to give Shiels another year? There's a few players in Cork that will be back like a shot if he's allowed to rebuild with a new keeper.

26/10/2018, 9:46 PM

I'd be grand if Gerard is gone. Been pretty ropey in recent years.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
27/10/2018, 7:50 AM
Was he not in team of the year last year?

27/10/2018, 10:25 AM
Was he not in team of the year last year?

Yeah, we weren't sure why though.

joey B
27/10/2018, 11:18 AM
That's Hale,Peers,Low and Cole gone from Derry,some rebuilding job for whoever is manager there next season....

bluewhitearmy
27/10/2018, 7:31 PM
From speaking to a few lads that played at Derry it's supposedly a horrible place to play cos of how some of the local players act.

total hoofball
27/10/2018, 10:10 PM
Shiels did a good job rebuilding between 2015-17 after Roddy/Hutton, especially losing a great player and leader like McBride to the most tragic of circumstances

But this season loosely signing multiple flops Aganovic, Angew, Cofie, Hopkirk, Kayode, Turner and maybe add 4/5 others to that has warranted his sacking

Tough job for his successor

28/10/2018, 11:13 AM
From speaking to a few lads that played at Derry it's supposedly a horrible place to play cos of how some of the local players act.

Act how?

Barraclough is favourite for the job, according to the Sunday Life. Still under contract with the IFA though.

28/10/2018, 12:32 PM
I'd guess at behaving like like they have more right as locals, a superiority thing. In contrast some Dundalk locals dont seem to progress at the club due to a sense of them having 'made it' and dont stick with the effort - there is also the free pass in to nightclubs that often get well worn...

bluewhitearmy
28/10/2018, 6:22 PM
Act how?

Barraclough is favourite for the job, according to the Sunday Life. Still under contract with the IFA though.

From what I'm told it's a case of if you're not from Derry you get treated very differently and are made to feel like an outsider by the lads that are. Juat what I was told from one or two lads.

29/10/2018, 1:46 AM
If the Cork lads can overlook not being from Cork then the Derry lads should be able to also!

Kingswood Rover
29/10/2018, 8:20 AM
Would people agree that Derry being geographically and culturally closer to the IFA leagues who are playing and paying players in our off season makes it harder for them to retain players who are not getting paid in the off season.

Steve Bruce
29/10/2018, 10:36 AM
Would people agree that Derry being geographically and culturally closer to the IFA leagues who are playing and paying players in our off season makes it harder for them to retain players who are not getting paid in the off season.

I personally think it's an excuse for how poor they are. These "issues" didn't exist until recent years yet nothing has changed, so how do they exist now but didn't before?

I think the biggest problem for DCFC is the fact that you have relatively uber rich clubs from dublin hoovering up all the best talent and DCFC can't do anything about it.

I think they should gear themselves up financially to survive in the division below, because next season they are going to be in terrible trouble.

29/10/2018, 12:50 PM
Which clubs in Dublin are signing all the best talent in the Derry area?

29/10/2018, 2:02 PM
If its true that circa £100k was spent in contract terminations then there isnt that much of an excuse for not being able to pay players an additional 12 weeks of the year. Especially when Shiels was claiming that the players were on a pittance anyway.

Steve Bruce
29/10/2018, 2:29 PM
Which clubs in Dublin are signing all the best talent in the Derry area?

I include Dundalk/Drogheda/etc in that category. Although I admit, I wouldn't be an expert on whos playing where in the LOI.

Ezeikial
29/10/2018, 3:13 PM
I include Dundalk/Drogheda/etc in that category. Although I admit, I wouldn't be an expert on whos playing where in the LOI.

The last line was superfluous

sbgawa
29/10/2018, 3:34 PM
Dane Massey to rovers :)

29/10/2018, 4:39 PM

I do like a bit of tradition in football!! ;)

Ezeikial
29/10/2018, 4:43 PM

I think Dane Massey may be one of the top left backs in the league, but I just going to ponder it for a while

marinobohs
30/10/2018, 10:06 AM
I think Dane Massey may be one of the top left backs in the league, but I just going to ponder it for a while

No way would shams sign a left back, sure they already have..................:sarcastic:

30/10/2018, 12:05 PM

He is one of the top 3 in the league - I hope the club dont release him now that Ive said that or I will feel a bit silly and start name calling anyone who points out that bit of a contradiction...

Ezeikial
30/10/2018, 12:38 PM

He is one of the top 3 in the league - I hope the club dont release him now that Ive said that or I will feel a bit silly and start name calling anyone who points out that bit of a contradiction...

He has definitely been one of the top left backs in the league over the last six years.

If he signs a new contract he will continue to be, if not, well then we can comment on his decline in standard and how he is/was a really nice chap.

I wish that we had an AGM to let fans know what opinion they should have about these things. It's very confusing

marinobohs
30/10/2018, 2:06 PM

Wow, that must be 6 or 7 top three left full's in the league ;) we are truely blessed to live through such a tsunami of wonderous left backs !
Actually, he is a fine player, why is thinking of leaving Dundalk (or is this more sham wishful thinking) ? Sure, nobody needs a left back :D

30/10/2018, 2:11 PM
I can't recall Massey ever being linked with Rovers. Usually it's Gannon whose agent is getting onto journalists to spread rumours.

marinobohs
30/10/2018, 2:15 PM
I can't recall Massey ever being linked with Rovers. Usually it's Gannon whose agent is getting onto journalists to spread rumours.

I think post #2042 may have started this one ;)