View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 [20] 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

sbgawa
12/08/2017, 4:11 PM
On a brighter note Bolger at 17 was a joy to watch

RathfarnhamHoop
12/08/2017, 7:17 PM
You can't be serious.

commit a crime like that and to then work in the public eye, a few chants saying you should be in jail and calling him what he is is the least he could've expected.
Its not the most pleasant thing to have to explain to children, though the old "I'll explain when youre older" is always there, but as for him I've absolutely no sympathy for him concerning those chants, had they gone further, i.e. not been just statements of facts, I'd condemn them but as far as Akinade is concerned the ones i heard were fine in my opinion and if they put him off joining us all the better.

12/08/2017, 7:24 PM
The whole Akinade story has been done to death by now. Any chance people could move on?

sbgawa
12/08/2017, 7:36 PM
I wonder has the 14 year old girl moved on ?

12/08/2017, 7:42 PM
I wonder has the 14 year old girl moved on ?

Wise up.

sbgawa
12/08/2017, 7:49 PM
I'm done with this its depressing if bohs are prepared to keep playing this guy they deserve nothing but abuse as does he.
Back to football for me.

13/08/2017, 8:00 AM
The whole Akinade story has been done to death by now. Any chance people could move on?

I think it was serious enough that it will continue to follow him around. It's a repugnant crime. This isn't Ian Bermingham or Barry Ryan like and I've no recollection of ever reading anywhere that Ryan deserved a break. I honestly think he gets off pretty light most of the time all things considered.

Dalymountrower
13/08/2017, 9:39 AM
Whether posters like it or not , Irish
Legislators have made a distinction between adults and children convicted of a criminal offence, and like to or not, Akinade was a child in the eyes of the law when the admitted offence , to which there can be no legal defence of "consent", was committed.
Section 258 of the Children Act 2001 applies The section serves to legally expunge the record of the crime on meeting certain conditions, to the extent that effectively, the law treats the crime as if it had not been committed.Whether a convicted young person qualifies for that protection by the skin of their teeth or not , it is a protection enforceable through the courts
That is the law, like it or not.He is legally entitled to pursue his career as if there was no conviction..As a consequence other MB's have understandably quickly shut down threads on this issue
The moral/ethical issues are another
matter and football clubs and their fans are pretty adept at looking the other way when the player or coach is one of their own or becomes one of their own.My club included.

sbgawa
13/08/2017, 9:50 AM
Expecting a couple in and a couple out of rovers before end of August .Clarke and 1 other ....

JC_GUFC
13/08/2017, 10:17 AM
Expecting a couple in and a couple out of rovers before end of August .Clarke and 1 other ....

Clarke has been very poor of late, I think in his own head he's already left. I wonder would any of the younger lads like Bolger or Doona be picked up by English clubs.

13/08/2017, 11:08 AM
I think it was serious enough that it will continue to follow him around. It's a repugnant crime. This isn't Ian Bermingham or Barry Ryan like and I've no recollection of ever reading anywhere that Ryan deserved a break. I honestly think he gets off pretty light most of the time all things considered.

Of that, I've absolutely no doubt. That's not the point I was trying to make. I'm simply saying it's been done to death on this particular forum and it's a tired argument now.

sbgawa
13/08/2017, 1:42 PM
Clarke has been very poor of late, I think in his own head he's already left. I wonder would any of the younger lads like Bolger or Doona be picked up by English clubs.

I agree he has dipped a little from motm performances but he is very young so I'd give him a break and expect him to play his way back in.

Bolger is still very young another year will bring him on a lot.

13/08/2017, 3:11 PM
Of that, I've absolutely no doubt. That's not the point I was trying to make. I'm simply saying it's been done to death on this particular forum and it's a tired argument now.

Can't argue with that!

13/08/2017, 8:38 PM
Nah, his commitment hasn't waned - if it had he wouldn't he putting himself into challenges and risking getting hurt. He's just being focused on a bit more because he's had a quick rise and has to learn how to deal with extra attention from defenders. Plus he's been shunted around positions again.

31/08/2017, 9:01 PM
Rory Holden off the Bristol City for what "could be worth £300k", according to Sky.

Would be a great move for him, if he got game time. Big if.

RathfarnhamHoop
09/09/2017, 5:17 PM
Rumour has it mikey O'Connor is off to Burnley for 250k at the end of the season.
Also seen a rumour on Facebook Trevor Clarke has signed a pre contract with Leeds but if the creator of that rumour had done the bare minimum research theyd know Trevor has too long left on his contract for that to be possible

Ezeikial
09/09/2017, 5:30 PM
Good luck to Michael O'Connor if the move happens. If he is worth 250k then Sean Maguire is a 1.5m + player

sbgawa
09/09/2017, 5:58 PM
O connor has another year on his contract other wise he's be gone for free at end of season. Maguire was in his last few months hence cork got so little. Good business for Rovers considering he's hardly got a look in.

sbgawa
09/09/2017, 6:00 PM
If Maguire keeps scoring for Preston he will be worth a lot of loot. Hope cork have a sell on ...

gufcfan
09/09/2017, 9:31 PM
If Maguire keeps scoring for Preston he will be worth a lot of loot. Hope cork have a sell on ...

I didn't see the game but saw Preston fans saying he was ****e apart from the goal today.

RathfarnhamHoop
10/09/2017, 3:15 AM
I didn't see the game but saw Preston fans saying he was ****e apart from the goal today.

Isnt that the sign of a good goalscorer though? Even when playing ****e they can score.

10/09/2017, 8:54 AM

He was given man of the match, to great amounts of agreement on twitter.

sbgawa
10/09/2017, 8:58 AM
With transfer fees going through the roof in the UK. Championship level strikers are being sold for 15m +.
With a sell on clause of 15 or 20 percent loi clubs could be in for big windfalls if the likes if Maguire or o connor , Clarke etc get another move.
Group stage euro money without the expenses that could really start to give the clubs money to invest in infrastructure.

gufcfan
10/09/2017, 12:45 PM
He was given man of the match, to great amounts of agreement on twitter.

I must have seen comments from 3 complete idiots then so.

Philosophizer
10/09/2017, 1:54 PM
I must have seen comments from 3 complete idiots then so.
Well, this is the internet after all.
Most people who comment online about football are clueless eejits! 😉

oriel
14/09/2017, 12:16 PM
There was a bit in the Irish Sun today, Dundalk meant to be interested in Shane Supple from Bohs and Karl Sheppard from Cork. I think Sheppard is from Malahide area? might suit him travel wise but I wouldn't see him an auto starter, then again he would be a much better option than Tommy Stewart to take on, not even sure if there is much in this link to be fair.

sbgawa
14/09/2017, 12:39 PM
I always rated Shep , sorry he left Rovers

14/09/2017, 12:43 PM
A move for Shane Supple makes sense. A goalkeeper has been Dundalks biggest issue the past few years.

14/09/2017, 12:56 PM
Not many in the league I'd have ahead of Shep on the wing. He's not a striker though. Hopefully he stays with us

mcgonigle
14/09/2017, 1:55 PM
A move for Shane Supple makes sense. A goalkeeper has been Dundalks biggest issue the past few years.

In fairness to Rogers he's had a solid season (cue the clangers) wouldn't be comfortable with Sava though

IsMiseSean
14/09/2017, 2:02 PM
I think Sheppard is from Malahide area? might suit him travel wise but I wouldn't see him an auto starter, then again he would be a much better option than Tommy Stewart to take on, not even sure if there is much in this link to be fair.

I'd have Sheppard ahead of Connolly & Mountney in the wide areas for Dundalk.

oriel
14/09/2017, 4:12 PM
You obviously haven't seen or read reports on Connolly's last 2 displays, he was outstanding in the second half v Pats and for the time he was on v Drogs, scored in each game and was a constant threat going forward while linking up perfectly with Gannon.

Mountney offers a more physical presence and is more experienced, so its good to have both for options. Sheppard would be another good option, but Dundalk's priority needs are an out and out striker, a central MF man, and a GK to challenge and eventually replace Rogers.

El-Pietro
14/09/2017, 4:29 PM
Its easy to look good against the likes of Drogheda when they stand off you outside their own box like that. Has he ever played well against a good side?

14/09/2017, 4:54 PM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, Connolly is woefully over-rated. His constant diving is embarrassing too.

Ezeikial
14/09/2017, 6:15 PM
Its easy to look good against the likes of Drogheda when they stand off you outside their own box like that. Has he ever played well against a good side?

It's a fair question - the "good sides" are probably limited to a handful of clubs in LoI and most European opposition and he remains unproven against this type of team so far.

He is certainly not the finished article, but the improvement from when he first arrived is significant. His performances in the last two games has been excellent. If he can continue this level of improvement especially in relation to ball control, work-rate and tactical awareness he can have a serious impact in the next 14 months

I've said it before and I'll say it again, Connolly is woefully over-rated. His constant diving is embarrassing too.

Some people over-rate him, so people under-rate him. I think he is an exciting prospect who has a lot of potential. Stephen Kenny tends to make few poor player judgments but time will tell whether he fulfills that potential

RathfarnhamHoop
14/09/2017, 8:11 PM
There was a bit in the Irish Sun today, Dundalk meant to be interested in Shane Supple from Bohs and Karl Sheppard from Cork. I think Sheppard is from Malahide area? might suit him travel wise but I wouldn't see him an auto starter, then again he would be a much better option than Tommy Stewart to take on, not even sure if there is much in this link to be fair.

Supple wont move usless hes allowed to keep playing gaa so doubt he'll go to Dundalk. I've always liked shep but if hes up front he has to be with someone he cant really be up there by himself, on the wing though he's far better than Connelly, might be behind Duffy but id say he'd start at Dundalk if he went there

oriel
14/09/2017, 9:31 PM

Think Connolly had a decent game start of season and scored v Rovers, also gave Gannon a tough few games last season if memory serves me right, I'd agree with Ezeikial, he's far from finished article, but he's adapting quite well and has improved since he joined Dlk in July. He's on 2.5 year contract too, so he can achieve plenty if he keeps working hard.

Dlk won't be taking Supple if he won't give up GAA, but as ever money can be a difference. I think Rogers still coaches gaa part time so there is always a way around these things.

15/09/2017, 6:08 PM

His first touch is a foul

ger121
16/09/2017, 1:27 PM
Supple wont move usless hes allowed to keep playing gaa so doubt he'll go to Dundalk. I've always liked shep but if hes up front he has to be with someone he cant really be up there by himself, on the wing though he's far better than Connelly, might be behind Duffy but id say he'd start at Dundalk if he went there

Could have sworn Supple stopped playing GAA this season. I know that Dinny has.

RathfarnhamHoop
16/09/2017, 2:06 PM
Could have sworn Supple stopped playing GAA this season. I know that Dinny has.

I heard thats why he didn't go to Dundalk at the start of this season. I know hes taken himself out of the Dublin frame but i thought he was still playing for a club

oriel
05/10/2017, 9:55 PM
Karl Shephard to Dundalk seems to be gathering pace, either that or a clever contract negotiation on his part with Cork to get a better deal. He's not an out and out scorer but he has improved significantly on the wing.

What's the view from Cork fans?

RathfarnhamHoop
05/10/2017, 10:20 PM
Karl Shephard to Dundalk seems to be gathering pace, either that or a clever contract negotiation on his part with Cork to get a better deal. He's not an out and out scorer but he has improved significantly on the wing.

He's just started a night course in ucc apparently and i think he's going out with some lassie from cork so it would be a strange move from that pov.
Also seen Trevor Clarke linked with Dundalk which made me chuckle a bit, not in a million years will that happen.

sbgawa
06/10/2017, 4:45 AM
Lol not in a million euro

06/10/2017, 5:44 AM
Shep is one of the best wingers in the league, but he's not a striker. Would be gutted to lose him, but wouldn't exactly be shocked if he wanted to move closer to home. Depends on the money I'd imagine

nr637
06/10/2017, 8:23 AM

Heard he is starting a law degree course in UCC and he and his partner who works and lives in Cork City, if that will affect him moving to Dundalk!

sbgawa
06/10/2017, 12:12 PM
depends what she looks like :)
Although the pickings are slim up in Dundalk :)

mcgonigle
06/10/2017, 1:37 PM
depends what she looks like :)
Although the pickings are slim up in Dundalk :)

They go into hiding when Rovers are in town for fear of being dragged back to the Tallaght slums by their hair...

oriel
06/10/2017, 9:56 PM
Conor Clifford (Dundalk out......tomorrow)

sbgawa
06/10/2017, 10:09 PM
They need to bring in a sensible minimum bet range. We could be playing 5 a side at the beginning of next season

oriel
19/10/2017, 12:08 PM
Karl Sheppard to Dundalk seems to be a deal already agreed it seems, to be officially announced after the cup final I`m hearing.