View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season
Pablo Escobar
09/11/2016, 9:30 AM
Spoke to Ellis on Monday night. He wants to go out on loan for 6 months or a year, but he wants to go to a Premier team. Obvioulsy that all depends on whether a Premier team want him or not.
Limerick would be the most likely in that case. He'll most likely be a success once he gets game time.
Jd2793
09/11/2016, 9:46 AM
Holohan gone from Cork. Not surprised couldnt tie down a regular place even with more games this season, expected a lot more from him tbh. Shouldn't find it hard to find a club I'd imagine. Hopefully means JC has something up his sleeve to beef up the midfield.
09/11/2016, 10:05 AM
Limerick would be the most likely in that case. He'll most likely be a success once he gets game time.
Galway far more likely if a loans what he wants.
Lee Lynch, Shane Duggan and Paul O Conor all signed up for next year and he sure isn't getting in ahead of the first two.
Olander
09/11/2016, 10:16 AM
Lee Lynch, Shane Duggan and Paul O Conor all signed up for next year and he sure isn't getting in ahead of the first two.
Ellis is a striker... :confused:
Pablo Escobar
09/11/2016, 10:17 AM
Probably not, as he's a striker. Paul O'Connor though.......
09/11/2016, 10:54 AM
I have mixed him up with someone :good:
Still think galway is more likely. It'd be a bad sign of pat o sullivans new season humour if we started signing fellas on loan from cork. There's literally no point apart from being cheap.
09/11/2016, 10:55 AM
Who is the good midfielder in the 19s down there actually? Little blonde guy
09/11/2016, 10:56 AM
I have mixed him up with someone :good:
Still think galway is more likely. It'd be a bad sign of pat o sullivans new season humour if we started signing fellas on loan from cork. There's literally no point apart from being cheap.
It'd hardly be that unusual for one club to loan players from a better club. It happens all the time.
09/11/2016, 11:03 AM
No it wouldn't be unusual.
In the context of where Limerick need to be at it just wouldn't make any sense apart from being cheap is all. :good:
No, they weren't.
Not all only the serious ones, why would Ollie H (presumably who you mean) be there? no money, horrible place to go to, relegation favourites for next season etc
09/11/2016, 11:09 AM
Where do Limerick need to be?
09/11/2016, 11:15 AM
Where we have a striker to play as our lone striker that can be blended into the team and kept for a few years like Rory Gaffney or Stephen O'Flynn, our last two successes upfront.
We have exactly zero strikers at the club. In the context of building a team signing a youngfella from cork for six months who presumably would have to play doesn't really make much sense.
Unless we're being cheap. :good:
Dundalk v Wexford Youths this season;
1-2 (March) 84th min winner - Ferrycarraig Park
3-2 (May) - injury time winner - Oriel Park
0-1 (Aug) - Youths played with 10 for the last 30 mins.- Ferrycarraig Park
:rolleyes:So yeah horrible long ball team with no invention or will to play football at all!
Yes we do have a tiny amount of success (if gauging three games and losing is success) - Wexford conceded 70 goals (2.12 per game) and scored 31 (0.93 per game) this season - three results does not undo the fact that this is a team that rely on long balls into D Furlong and for runners like Paul Murphy (two good players by the way), Wexford have minimal/no creativity / poor discipline, no invention and will most likely remain in the first division for the foreseeable future (certainly players like Furlong; Murphy and Grace will go if they have any ambition) - you got to remember that Ireland beat Brazil a number of years ago 1-0 (Liam Brady) suppose naive people at the time may have thought if Ireland qualified for the world cup back them they would be contenders - disillusion just like playing up three results out of 33! The sign of a good team is progression and development - unfortunately Wexford's senior side have failed in these areas this season!
Pablo Escobar
09/11/2016, 11:31 AM
Where we have a striker to play as our lone striker that can be blended into the team and kept for a few years like Rory Gaffney or Stephen O'Flynn, our last two successes upfront.
We have exactly zero strikers at the club. In the context of building a team signing a youngfella from cork for six months who presumably would have to play doesn't really make much sense.
Reading fans said the same about Shane Long :D
There'll be plenty of takers on this guy I'd imagine. He's on a pro contract with us so it shows the faith management has in him.
Dundalk v Wexford Youths this season;
1-2 (March) 84th min winner - Ferrycarraig Park
3-2 (May) - injury time winner - Oriel Park
0-1 (Aug) - Youths played with 10 for the last 30 mins.- Ferrycarraig Park
:rolleyes:So yeah horrible long ball team with no invention or will to play football at all!
Yes we do have a tiny amount of success (if gauging three games and losing is success) - Wexford conceded 70 goals (2.12 per game) and scored 31 (0.93 per game) this season - three results does not undo the fact that this is a team that rely on long balls into D Furlong and for runners like Paul Murphy (two good players by the way), Wexford have minimal/no creativity / poor discipline, no invention and will most likely remain in the first division for the foreseeable future (certainly players like Furlong; Murphy and Grace will go if they have any ambition) - you got to remember that Ireland beat Brazil a number of years ago 1-0 (Liam Brady) suppose naive people at the time may have thought if Ireland qualified for the world cup back them they would be contenders - disillusion just like playing up three results out of 33! The sign of a good team is progression and development - unfortunately Wexford's senior side have failed in these areas this season!
El-Pietro
09/11/2016, 11:59 AM
D.Furlong is not a good player. You have shown your level of knowledge there!
09/11/2016, 12:00 PM
Or if you're envisioning needing more than one striker through the course of the season.
cobhlad
09/11/2016, 2:59 PM
Who is the good midfielder in the 19s down there actually? Little blonde guy
Craig Donnelan. We had him on loan since July. The plan is to keep him again next year but nothing sorted yet.
dundalkfc10
09/11/2016, 3:07 PM
D.Furlong is not a good player. You have shown your level of knowledge there!
How many times have you seen him live?
I've seen him 5 times I'd say and he looks a good player
El-Pietro
09/11/2016, 3:15 PM
Hes an ex Cork City player. I've seen him plenty.
09/11/2016, 4:05 PM
Hes an ex Cork City player. I've seen him plenty.
You can't judge him on that spell in cork, we all know he wasn't right there and understandably so. I'd take him in a heartbeat at Longford. Himself and O'Sullivan up top as two of the FD's most prolific strikers of recent years
El-Pietro
09/11/2016, 4:35 PM
His performances and goal scoring record this year would seem to back up my opinion. I don't rate him, if he goes to Longford best of luck to him. But prolific in the First Division and prolific in the Premier Division are very different matters.
09/11/2016, 4:47 PM
Well he scored more goals than Kilduff ever did for Rovers, and he seemed to do well for you. Sometimes a mere stat doesn't tell you everything.
09/11/2016, 4:49 PM
Not all only the serious ones, why would Ollie H (presumably who you mean) be there? no money, horrible place to go to, relegation favourites for next season etc
Not sure if you're being serious or not. Ollie Horgan wasn't there presumably because he was at a friendly between Finn Harps and Bonagee United.
09/11/2016, 5:25 PM
I think I read a post from one of the Wexford fans on here saying that Furlong was heading over to New Zealand to join the other ex Wexford lads.
oldyouth
09/11/2016, 7:03 PM
I think I read a post from one of the Wexford fans on here saying that Furlong was heading over to New Zealand to join the other ex Wexford lads.
Yep, he's gone. The season over there is 3 games in and ends in late March
How many times have you seen him live?
I've seen him 5 times I'd say and he looks a good player
Seen a few times this season and I agree he is a good players wouldn't pay much attention to time in Cork its where he is at now and its a good place!
Not sure if you're being serious or not. Ollie Horgan wasn't there presumably because he was at a friendly between Finn Harps and Bonagee United.
Must be some decent players at Bonagee cant be any worse than most of them at Harps last season!
sbgawa
09/11/2016, 10:54 PM
Harsh
El-Pietro
09/11/2016, 11:03 PM
Well he scored more goals than Kilduff ever did for Rovers, and he seemed to do well for you. Sometimes a mere stat doesn't tell you everything.
He got 6 goals in 25 (23 starts) games, 2 of which came in the 5-4 win over Galway. He got another two early in the season. Between April and September he scored two league goals. Hes also 27 so should be at or near his peak.
Kilduff scored 6 league goals for Rovers twice, once in 8 starts (and another 19 sub appearances) at the age of 22/23, and again later after his time with us in 22 starts (29 total).
Bar his time with us, and his time with UCD Kilduff has rarely impressed. Hes done reasonably well this year, but even taking into consideration his European and FAI Cup goals hes still only at 12 goals for the "Greatest LOI team in the history of the game ever TM". I'd say he was hoping for more.
Maybe for a better team Furlong would hit 10 or even 12 league goals, but Ian Turner managed around that from the wing last year for a horrible Limerick side and no one is saying hes a very good footballer.
But as you rightly said, stats don't prove everything. I'm saying Furlong isn't up to much based on his performances in the games I've seen him play in.
Interestingly, of the 6 league goals he scored, only the two against Galway and one against Bohs at the start of the season (3-3 draw) resulted in them getting any points. I think he scored in the playoff too? They lost that though so not worth much either.
Big step up between divisions.
10/11/2016, 8:11 AM
Must be some decent players at Bonagee cant be any worse than most of them at Harps last season!
Yawn. You're the same fella that thought a Stephen Henderson coached Cobh team played hoof football to their big striker Rob Lehane, right?
Away back to some of the 'banter' pages there lad.
10/11/2016, 10:10 AM
But as you rightly said, stats don't prove everything. I'm saying Furlong isn't up to much based on his performances in the games I've seen him play in.
Fair enough, but he's playing amateur football in a league where everybody else is at least semi pro. It's a big step up but there's more to it than that.
Pablo Escobar
10/11/2016, 10:24 AM
I kind of agree with both sides to this argument. He wasn't up to much at City, but it would be unfair to judge him on that due to his unimaginable circumstances. He's clearly done well in both of his spells at Wexford. Anyway, it doesn't really matter what we think as it's apparent that he won't be in the league next season.
10/11/2016, 10:35 AM
Not for the first few months anyway.
10/11/2016, 11:38 AM
Danny Furlong is a top First Division striker. I don't think he's quite up to the mark in the Premier though. It's a massive step up and some players just aren't able for it. He's one of them
10/11/2016, 12:41 PM
Bray have re signed Ger Pender, Jason MArks, Alan Kehoe, Tim Clancy and Conor Kenna.
Yawn. You're the same fella that thought a Stephen Henderson coached Cobh team played hoof football to their big striker Rob Lehane, right?
Away back to some of the 'banter' pages there lad.
Nobody mentioned Rob Lehane only you - I've see Cobh play five times this season and they are a long ball team, you seem to be insinuating Lehane plays as a target man - your wrong again on that point, what they do is the same as wexford they pump long balls over the top/in the space by the end lines for players to run in behind the back four - you may not like but that the reality of it.
KBurke
10/11/2016, 4:02 PM
Ryan Connolly won't be re signing for Galway United apparently. I believe he was linked with Shamrock Rovers
10/11/2016, 4:25 PM
Holohan and Connolly would be two very good targets for us to try bring in. Our midfield would be very strong.
Olander
10/11/2016, 4:32 PM
Holohan and Connolly would be two very good targets for us to try bring in. Our midfield would be very strong.
...LOL.
patrickccfc
10/11/2016, 5:17 PM
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11678/10652421/newcastle-move-would-interest-dundalk-midfielder-daryl-horgan
Dundalk United?
therebel1
10/11/2016, 5:56 PM
Maguire to Reading and O'Connor to Newcastle.
Hulsey
10/11/2016, 6:05 PM
John Sullivan and Mark Salmon re-sign for Bray
10/11/2016, 6:13 PM
Didn't Salmon sign a two year deal last year anyway? It was certainly announced as such. Not that I have a particular issue with Bray publicising players for next year either way.
10/11/2016, 6:19 PM
Nobody mentioned Rob Lehane only you - I've see Cobh play five times this season and they are a long ball team, you seem to be insinuating Lehane plays as a target man - your wrong again on that point, what they do is the same as wexford they pump long balls over the top/in the space by the end lines for players to run in behind the back four - you may not like but that the reality of it.
But what about Harps and Bonagee? Can you fill me in on that one too?
10/11/2016, 6:20 PM
...LOL.
Was impressive anytime I saw him play. I take it he was poor last season?
ToberonaTornado
10/11/2016, 6:31 PM
http://www.skysports.com/football/news/11678/10652421/newcastle-move-would-interest-dundalk-midfielder-daryl-horgan
Dundalk United?
Nobody tell you about the Louth merger ?? ;)
bluewhitearmy
10/11/2016, 6:42 PM
Was impressive anytime I saw him play. I take it he was poor last season?
I'm guessing the lol was for the thought of us getting Connolly.
Olander
10/11/2016, 7:29 PM
I'm guessing the lol was for the thought of us getting Connolly.
Thank you.
10/11/2016, 8:13 PM
I'm sure he'd go there if the money was right. Not like it's Athlone.