View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47

bluewhitearmy
01/06/2017, 12:42 PM
If Bray are having trouble paying their current squad they'll hardly take on another player.

I see your new to the league then.

01/06/2017, 12:46 PM
If Bray are having trouble paying their current squad they'll hardly take on another player.

Are you new to this LOI stuff? :)

Read on boards that they got paid a day late due to a clerical error. All of this mere rumour of course.

jinxy lilywhite
01/06/2017, 1:24 PM
Oh the old adage of a clerical error. If I had a euro for everytime that excuse was used.

Dalymountrower
01/06/2017, 2:56 PM
Owen Garvan linked with Pats, Limerick & Bray after leaving Colchester.

https://www.thesun.ie/sport/football/1069434/bray-wanderers-limerick-and-st-pats-athletic-battling-to-sign-owen-garvan/

His family are from Rush so he'll be looking to stick around Dublin anyway so most likely Pats if they can afford him, otherwise Bray.

Well he was born and bred in Drumcondra, his father was an accomplished Home Farm amateur player. Two of his uncles played for Bohs.

Would be very surprised if he gives up a well paid career in England

El-Pietro
01/06/2017, 3:10 PM
Are you new to this LOI stuff? :)

Read on boards that they got paid a day late due to a clerical error. All of this mere rumour of course.
Always starts that way. Could well be the truth but we've heard this over and over again.

WoodquayBoy
01/06/2017, 3:10 PM
Oh the old adage of a clerical error. If I had a euro for everytime that excuse was used.
You'd only get it if there wasn't a clerical error

PartySaint
01/06/2017, 3:51 PM
Well he was born and bred in Drumcondra, his father was an accomplished Home Farm amateur player. Two of his uncles played for Bohs.

He was on the LOI Weekly podcast this week, sounds like he's coming back to play here alright.

Won't be going to Bohs as he's looking for a full time team

Dalymountrower
01/06/2017, 3:55 PM
He was on the LOI Weekly podcast this week, sounds like he's coming back to play here alright.

Won't be going to Bohs as he's looking for a full time team

Very surprised at him thinking of coming back here. No, wont be going to Bohs. I would have thought Rovers as he knows Mc Phail and Duff.

El-Pietro
01/06/2017, 4:05 PM
he has definitely spoken to Bradley, was at their game on Tuesday but also said he hasn't discussed a salary or contract length yet, just about the general idea of whether it would be worth his while comign back. It woulnd't surprise me if he ended up deciding the money wasn't going to justify him coming home.

I'd love to see him in the league, one of the last players I was really excited about as a prospect outside of the league, remember seeing him at the Cross in an u21 game and being very impressed.

placid casual
01/06/2017, 5:14 PM
Another midfielder is not what Rovers need right now.
A centre half and/or a prolific striker is what we need.

01/06/2017, 9:34 PM
If we are genuinely linked to him I'd say McDonald will be trying hard to get him in. The money will certainly be there and he would be full time. If he is moving back to Dublin though I can't see him travelling down here.

bluemovie
01/06/2017, 10:25 PM

Gerry played in the league for Drums and Shels. And his grandfather was Con Martin of Leeds, Villa, Waterford, Drums.

Dalymountrower
01/06/2017, 10:38 PM
Always saw Gerry as Home Farm through and through.
Yep Owen is good stock, not quite sure how his style of play would fit in this league.

02/06/2017, 2:31 AM
Would fit it more than League One/Two where he's been playing, I'd say.

02/06/2017, 10:00 AM
Another midfielder is not what Rovers need right now.
A centre half and/or a prolific striker is what we need.

Every club everywhere needs a prolific striker!

Well, maybe not Athlone.

ToberonaTornado
02/06/2017, 10:14 AM
Hearing a rumour that Niall McGinn could be signing for Derry.

02/06/2017, 10:49 AM
Hearing a rumour that Niall McGinn could be signing for Derry.

Fully expect him to turn up at Finn Park now.

RathfarnhamHoop
04/06/2017, 2:37 PM
anybody heard anything about who might replace Maguire? So far I've seen Ronan Murray, Sadlier (Shep up front id guess?), and Hoban.

patrickccfc
04/06/2017, 4:36 PM
Those are the only ones I've heard anyway, bid rejected for sadlier apparently. I'd take hoban if he's anything like he was at dundalk, but would he come to us?

thomas72
04/06/2017, 5:21 PM
According to the new limerick fc manager we are in talks to sign 4 players and he is hoping he can push through another two using his connections in the UK

wonder88
04/06/2017, 5:43 PM
At first I thought it was Nial McGinn I spotted in Buncrana on friday, but then realised it was Gareth McGlynn, always used to mix up them two.
Ronan Murray is one of the better players in the league so no surprise Cork are interested. Hopefully he will stay.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
04/06/2017, 6:09 PM
I think / hope Sadlier knows he will get picked up by a club in the UK for January so will stay till his contract runs out at the end of the season

oriel
04/06/2017, 10:25 PM
Those are the only ones I've heard anyway, bid rejected for sadlier apparently. I'd take hoban if he's anything like he was at dundalk, but would he come to us?

Interesting re Hoban, he can't have that many options in UK after Mansfield, still quite young though, options would seem to be in Ireland, no idea where, but he has been at the last 3 home Dlk games.

Sadlier is a player I would love to see move to Dundalk, but he may have higher ambitions for UK.

Yossarian
04/06/2017, 11:34 PM
Hard to know what Hoban is like now. If you were guaranteed the player from 2014 then I'd take him in a heartbeat as he was excellent for us as the striker up top. He seems to have struggled the last couple of years in England but he could offer us something that we haven't had since he himself left and that's a striker who holds the ball up and brings the midfield into the attack.

Olander
05/06/2017, 12:40 AM
Of course he would. He is definitely a realistic target for Cork City.

You're in Europe, you're going to win the league, wages won't be an issue, he would be filling the void left by Maguire and like his two seasons at Dundalk, he will be in a team that is full of confidence and creates lots of chances.

patrickccfc
06/06/2017, 1:57 PM
Looks like Kevin O'Connor is following Maguire to Preston. Couple that with the potential of Delaney returning to Burton... could really disrupt our season

06/06/2017, 2:45 PM
It's Cork's title to lose.

rooster
06/06/2017, 2:48 PM
Looks like Kevin O'Connor is following Maguire to Preston. Couple that with the potential of Delaney returning to Burton... could really disrupt our season

is kevin o connor part of the maguire deal by any chance , heard it recently but it could all be hear say !! both sean McLoughlin and sean o mahony are in training with city at the moment and offer an outlet at the back for JC. but would he gamble on a player who has no previous LOI experience being the main question to ask there

ger121
06/06/2017, 3:47 PM

The auld buy one, get one free offer.

06/06/2017, 8:52 PM
The auld buy one, get one free offer.

When he was at Dundalk it was said that he came back to Ireland due to homesickness and wasnt enjoying his football so it makes sense that his pal gets a move to help him settle this time. He wasnt settled at Dundalk either, it wasnt all lack of game time that he wanted a move and a move closer to home. He had a chance to stay at Accrington permantly but chose to move back to LoI. O'Connor in his own right can carve out a career in the UK but it wouldnt be uncommon that a player gets signed just to help another player especially if not native English speakers - does Waterford/Cork count as non English speaking :p

RathfarnhamHoop
06/06/2017, 9:06 PM
When he was at Dundalk it was said that he came back to Ireland due to homesickness and wasnt enjoying his football so it makes sense that his pal gets a move to help him settle this time. He wasnt settled at Dundalk either, it wasnt all lack of game time that he wanted a move and a move closer to home. He had a chance to stay at Accrington permantly but chose to move back to LoI. O'Connor in his own right can carve out a career in the UK but it wouldnt be uncommon that a player gets signed just to help another player especially if not native English speakers - does Waterford/Cork count as non English speaking :p

Kilkenny/Cork *

bluemovie
06/06/2017, 10:16 PM
Kevin's actually from Wexford but came through Waterford's under 19s like Maguire

RathfarnhamHoop
06/06/2017, 10:30 PM
Kevin's actually from Wexford but came through Waterford's under 19s like Maguire

Jaysus waterford have a big catchment area to choose from if they're getting lads from Kilkenny and wexford in their underage teams.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/06/2017, 7:39 AM
From the Dundalk man!

07/06/2017, 4:45 PM
Jaysus waterford have a big catchment area to choose from if they're getting lads from Kilkenny and wexford in their underage teams.

Of course they do. Like Limerick have Clare, Tipp, County Limerick, Kerry and North Cork that we get players from.

bluemovie
07/06/2017, 10:59 PM
Yeah we've always had lads from Wexford, Kilkenny, south Tipp, sometimes Carlow and Wicklow joining our underage teams. John Martin, the 18 year old who scored a hat-trick on Friday, is from Kilkenny.

08/06/2017, 12:53 PM
From the Dundalk man!

Yes Alan!!

pateen
08/06/2017, 1:28 PM

Ah the Rathfarnham boy stumbles across the other 31 counties...

Guitd
09/06/2017, 10:14 PM
Goalkeeper k.Nugent looking for a new club after leaving Galway

RathfarnhamHoop
14/06/2017, 11:32 AM
Ah the Rathfarnham boy stumbles across the other 31 counties...
Just never realised how big a blackspot that area was for LOI football with Kilkenny gone.

Joe baba linked with Sligo.
Rovers linked with gavin gunning and Sean dillon.

14/06/2017, 1:02 PM
Just never realised how big a blackspot that area was for LOI football with Kilkenny gone.

Joe baba linked with Sligo.
Rovers linked with gavin gunning and Sean dillon.

Anything to Noe?

RathfarnhamHoop
14/06/2017, 2:09 PM
Anything to Noe?
Damn auto correct. I meant Noe. The centre back/full back who was with Fulham then Birmingham.

IsMiseSean
15/06/2017, 3:28 PM
Sligo already have Noe Baba's younger brother Thierry on the books.

shep
16/06/2017, 7:47 AM
There's only one Baba Isaaka

oriel
16/06/2017, 9:39 AM
I’d love to even read ONE rumour that Dundalk are going to spend some money !!! I think the last fee paid was for McEleney and Benson in Nov 2015. Duffy may have cost a modest amount this season but overall the owners appear to be running a very tight ship in terms of spending. The budget is probably still high enough but the quality of players that came in for this season is nowhere near good enough. There are obvious weak areas around the team, defence and wing due to Boyle and Horgan, but a gaping hole is in the middle of MF. This was always the strong point under Kenny, with Towell/O’Donnell, then Finn added in, then Finn/O’Donnell, maybe they are waiting for next season to rebuild, but still plenty to play for in 2017, they need to get the money out and start spending.

Anyone know what the cut off is to get players in that can play in Europe?, I know we got Keane and Shields in last year around August but they were out of contract / unattached, both could play in EL though.

Sadlier and Hoban would be two I would love to see joining. I would have also made a decent offer for McEneff from Derry, could still go for him, but Derry will have a high price on him.

El-Pietro
16/06/2017, 9:45 AM
Anyone know what the cut off is to get players in that can play in Europe?, I know we got Keane and Shields in last year around August but they were out of contract / unattached, both could play in EL though.

You can add a player by midnight CET the day before the first leg. Not sure when the exact deadline is for CL QR2. I know we can't add any players in time for the first round as the first leg of EL QR1 is before the window opens.

Rest of your post is ridiculous. Irish clubs rarely spend money on players. You need to remember where your team came from just a few years ago and remember how you ended up there.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/06/2017, 12:00 PM
League of Ireland team spending money willy nilly. Never failed in the past.

Yossarian
16/06/2017, 12:29 PM
Sadlier and Hoban would be two I would love to see joining. I would have also made a decent offer for McEneff from Derry, could still go for him, but Derry will have a high price on him.

Apparently Kenny spoke to Hoban but his contract demands were too high.

oriel
16/06/2017, 12:34 PM
You can add a player by midnight CET the day before the first leg. Not sure when the exact deadline is for CL QR2. I know we can't add any players in time for the first round as the first leg of EL QR1 is before the window opens.

Rest of your post is ridiculous. Irish clubs rarely spend money on players. You need to remember where your team came from just a few years ago and remember how you ended up there.

Not in the slightest bit ridiculous, its not all about paying a transfer fee to get quality players in, as was the case of Towell coming in for example in 2013, its actually expensive enough paying players as it is. I've no problems recognising that this will be a transition season, however Dundalk will still need to re-invest in higher quality players for next season to rebuild for a better season and to challenge Cork. The point remains that Dundalk could have recruited so much better for 2017 season, but they wouldn't spend the money required.

Yossarian
16/06/2017, 12:44 PM
The point remains that Dundalk could have recruited so much better for 2017 season, but they wouldn't spend the money required.

Who exactly were we linked with where we "wouldn't spend the money required"? I hope you're not referring to the reported 100k for Dylan Connolly.
I agree that it is ludicrous for Irish clubs to throw money around for the sake of it. The vast majority of the money that was earned last season should be reinvested in the long term structure and security of the club. There's far too many examples of clubs throwing money around and then paying the price for the reckless spending.