View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season
mcgonigle
12/11/2018, 1:21 PM
Barry McNamee coming "closer to home". Derry or Sligo, we hear.
https://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/caulfield-expects-barry-mcnamee-to-join-a-team-closer-to-home-1-8701905
Would be very happy to have him back.
Closer to home, pretty much only rules out Cobh!
Was just listening to his interview on the Greatest League In The World podcast where he’s basically admitted he doesn’t want to defend (apparently he’s not wired to run backwards!) and that he needs to be allowed to “cheat” a bit to be at his most effective. He reckoned Fenn allowed him that freedom so he enjoyed playing under him. Can’t see him being indulged too much at the higher level to be honest . He says he hasn’t ruled out staying at all but he is looking at his options as you’d expect.
From this and other comments here it sounds very much like you should get Fenn the hell out of your club.
RathfarnhamHoop
12/11/2018, 2:11 PM
Noel Hunt expected to be named assistant to Swindon Towns new manager
12/11/2018, 3:14 PM
From this and other comments here it sounds very much like you should get Fenn the hell out of your club.
The players and the board, and most fans are happy with how he’s done so far. It sounds like it was just a tactical decision designed to get the most out of McGlade. It doesn’t apply to all the players and to be honest it worked well for long periods of the season. I’d criticise him for some of his signings but I’m content enough to give him next year.
Shearer
12/11/2018, 3:32 PM
I listened to that as well, Conan Byrne burst out laughing when he said he wasn't "wired to run backwards"
He came accross as a sound guy tbh
Yeah he does to be fair I'm quite a fan of his. He's a good character like he went from being in the most outlandish suit on Saturday night to walking around on Sunday morning in the most civilian manner possible with a baseball cap, coffee cup and his poster that he pulled off the wall from the event!
12/11/2018, 6:50 PM
Rumour of Daire O Connor to us from UCD. Dunno much about him. What's he like?
Has potential, but (and he'll kill me for saying this!) final product is lacking.
Not the sort of transfer I was expecting this pre-season tbh.
Made First Division Team of the Year, but was on the bench for the last few games.
Would be interesting how he'd fare with a full-time contract though.
13/11/2018, 6:27 AM
Has potential, but (and he'll kill me for saying this!) final product is lacking.
Not the sort of transfer I was expecting this pre-season tbh.
Made First Division Team of the Year, but was on the bench for the last few games.
Would be interesting how he'd fare with a full-time contract though.
He'd be wasted at Cork like McNamee.
Sounds more like he will severely injure you but ultimately fail to render you lifeless TBH.
Yossarian
14/11/2018, 10:08 AM
McEneff looking like he could be signing for Dundalk. He was in oriel on Monday.
I think I read McEneff also talking to Rovers where he would prob be an auto starter. I'd like to see him join, as Benson has never had direct competition for his role really, assuming he stays that is, the signs are both he and Massey will re-sign this or next week though.
McEneff would be a perfect addtion for central MF options, Dlk prob still need to see who's available to get in for the right side, as neither Connolly nor Mountney have nailed down that position.
Jack B
15/11/2018, 1:25 PM
Not exactly easy to walk into the Rovers midfield either with their options in there.
Think McEneff is good enough to force himself into any side in the country, Derry fans will obviously be the most informed but outside of a relatively quiet end to last season where the whole team was in free-fall he's often looked one of the best players in the league for me. One of the few players I'm always fearful of when against us, could see him really flourishing alongside a player like Shields.
sbgawa
15/11/2018, 2:18 PM
McEneff is excellent but we have Watts, Finn, Greg Bolger and Arron Bolger already and Brandan Kavangh who i think might be better than them all.
Centreforward please for Christmas Santa , i've been a good boy all year :)
Joe Gormley from Cliftonville meant to be on Rovers radar but they will be looking for a serious fee if you get him, I think he has at least 18 months to go under contract?
Would he settle into full time and Friday night games v part time and Sat afternoon against mostly inferior teams compared to LOI. He might be a good option, but would depend on all of this and the price of course.
sbgawa
15/11/2018, 3:22 PM
We were linked with him as well last year. Would love to have him but can't see it. I can dream I suppose
sbgawa
17/11/2018, 12:53 PM
Chris Forrester to dundalk .....sigh
RathfarnhamHoop
17/11/2018, 1:06 PM
Chris Forrester to dundalk .....sigh
Aberdeen paid 200,000 pounds for him in the summer. Dundalk beginning to throw money around if he's off to them unless Aberdeen are feeling charitable for some reason
sbgawa
17/11/2018, 1:12 PM
It's the hope that kills you
White Horse
17/11/2018, 4:26 PM
Forrester to Dundalk would involve a fee. If Dundalk are to improve, it is players like Forrester than they need to attract. Someone who can control the tempo in European games.
Ezeikial
20/11/2018, 10:57 PM
Aaron McEneff due to sign for Shamrock Rovers according to journo James Rogers
https://twitter.com/jamesdundalk/status/1064988071865790464
21/11/2018, 1:27 AM
Aaron McEneff due to sign for Shamrock Rovers according to journo James Rogers
https://twitter.com/jamesdundalk/status/1064988071865790464
One day we'll field a full team of midfielders and just do away with the other positions. Croly's vision will finally be complete.
sbgawa
21/11/2018, 7:07 AM
If that's true it's a phenomenal signing, Finn Bolger watts mceneff is a he'll of a midfield
Sounds to good to be true and we need a striker.
Philosophizer
21/11/2018, 12:05 PM
If that's true it's a phenomenal signing, Finn Bolger watts mceneff is a he'll of a midfield
Would be quite a signing for Rovers if it's true.
To fit them all into a team you'd probably need to play a diamond, otherwise you'd be wasting someone (probably Watts) by pushing him wide left.
Jack B
21/11/2018, 2:13 PM
McEneff to Rovers confirmed.
Shame that, I used to like him.
sbgawa
21/11/2018, 2:21 PM
Really happy with that, just need a decent hatstand now :)
White Horse
21/11/2018, 2:37 PM
Would be quite a signing for Rovers if it's true.
To fit them all into a team you'd probably need to play a diamond, otherwise you'd be wasting someone (probably Watts) by pushing him wide left.
He'll have job to get into the Shamrock Rovers midfield. They are packed with central midfield players.
I'm not sure it will than an easier than if he went to Dundalk.
21/11/2018, 2:39 PM
That's a huge kitchen sink for him!
Jack B
21/11/2018, 2:54 PM
Don't know if it's a controversial shout or not but I think he's better than Finn and Watts, personally. From what I've seen of each of them anyway, though granted he seemed to have a quiet end to the season that coincided with Derry capitulating.
Obviously Bolger plays a different role in the midfield so they'll be the two he's competing with. Either way I think this signing is a big deal.
RathfarnhamHoop
21/11/2018, 3:51 PM
Looking at a 4-3-1-2 or a 4-1-2-1-2 by the looks for next year. 2 up top again, get a striker or good hatstand in to go up top with Carr, Boyd as backup and it'll be a decent squad.
That's a big signing for Rovers, and I'll be honest in saying I would have happy for him to sign for Dundalk to challenge Benson (assuming he re-signs) as he's never really had competition for his role.
I can't help thinking the lack of rotating by Dundalk in recent seasons might be having a effect on recruiting players, especially in MF but we still need more options,a central player and right side one.
Some MF Rovers will have next season, and if they get a decent striker in, they could have a decent season next year.
Fair play to loss-making Shamrock Rovers, outbidding the nouveau-riche upstarts. Speculate to accumulate, that's the League of Ireland way!
placid casual
22/11/2018, 9:20 AM
Are you getting nervous seand?
Your golden ticket may be about to walk out the door, and then where will you be...
sbgawa
22/11/2018, 9:43 AM
That's a big signing for Rovers, and I'll be honest in saying I would have happy for him to sign for Dundalk to challenge Benson (assuming he re-signs) as he's never really had competition for his role.
I can't help thinking the lack of rotating by Dundalk in recent seasons might be having a effect on recruiting players, especially in MF but we still need more options,a central player and right side one.
Some MF Rovers will have next season, and if they get a decent striker in, they could have a decent season next year.
Honest assessment and i would agree with you , young players that want a move to England are bound to want to put themselves in the shop window. If SK doesn't see you in his first 11 you will get little game time so why risk it.
The strength in depth at DFC makes game time a risky proposition. Why risk it even if the money might be more it is short term gain potentially at the risk of a move to England
Players in England might be happy to sit on the bench on big money but players here even on the kind of money DFC can pay will be looking enviously across the water.
Rovers squad is still thin and we will have to be lucky with injuries or young players coming through if we are to challenge............AND WE NEED A HATSTAND
sbgawa
22/11/2018, 9:46 AM
Your golden ticket may be about to walk out the door, and then where will you be...
With a budget hugely more than the next club, billionaire backers and the January transfer window to come.
22/11/2018, 9:51 AM
You didnt contradict seand!? You (indirectly) have given Stephen Kenny a compliment too - are you feeling ok PC?
As for McEneff, never rated him anyway............
seand
22/11/2018, 10:47 AM
Absolutely-losing Kenny would be catastrophic. Could be worth 20 points in the table, which would leave us just a few points ahead of SDCC's finest tenants ;-)
placid casual
22/11/2018, 12:07 PM
You needn't worry. They'll give the job to the Barnsley bacon slicer. The FAIlures couldn't get a decision right to save their life.
In all honesty I don't think Rovers need Mceniff. Our golden ticket would be someone who knows where the onion bag is. And they are not ten a penny.
mcgonigle
22/11/2018, 9:16 PM
I know I am. In fact I'll go out on a limb and say next season Rovers title challenge will last beyond the usual first round of games. Exciting times in Tallaght
Ezeikial
23/11/2018, 7:22 AM
Evening Echo speculating that Shane Griffin and Jimmy Keohane may reject offers from Cork City and join a long list of others leaving including John Dunleavy, Kieran Sadlier, Steven Beattie, Peter Cherrie. Others under contract who are mentioned as possibly on the move are Aaron Barry, Danny Kane and Damien Delaney
https://www.eveningecho.ie/corksport/Cork-City-pair-Griffin-and-Keohane-could-depart-393d5939-e305-41d9-8077-82b0fe2de926-ds
marinobohs
23/11/2018, 9:58 AM
Don't know if it's a controversial shout or not but I think he's better than Finn and Watts, personally. From what I've seen of each of them anyway, though granted he seemed to have a quiet end to the season that coincided with Derry capitulating.
Obviously Bolger plays a different role in the midfield so they'll be the two he's competing with. Either way I think this signing is a big deal.
very good signing by shams. Top class midfielder who will bring a few goals to the party. As said elsewhere it isn't an area I would have thought they needed to strengthen although I think he is better (at present) than Watts and more consistent than Finn, interesting to see who Bradley has as starters.
sbgawa
23/11/2018, 10:54 AM
very good signing by shams. Top class midfielder who will bring a few goals to the party. As said elsewhere it isn't an area I would have thought they needed to strengthen although I think he is better (at present) than Watts and more consistent than Finn, interesting to see who Bradley has as starters.
i suspect he will start all 3 in front of Bolger Greg or Aaron
Hopefully its 4 1 3 2 next season.
Kingswood Rover
23/11/2018, 6:25 PM
its all about getting a striker now must be some mad yoke in a mid table lower league team in England that fancies a step up. Podger Amond from Newport perhaps
Ezeikial
23/11/2018, 8:08 PM
Dave Mooney
joey B
24/11/2018, 4:50 AM
Dave Mooney
Wikipedia tells me he's currently playing for Royston town in the Evo stik Premier League,I actually randomly went to a Royston game in August , everyone just wanted to attack and no-one knew how to defend!!
marinobohs
24/11/2018, 9:18 AM
i suspect he will start all 3 in front of Bolger Greg or Aaron
Hopefully its 4 1 3 2 next season.
That would certainly be an exciting team going forward. Suspect you might need some better defenders though 😁.
bluemovie
24/11/2018, 8:05 PM
Evening Echo speculating that Shane Griffin and Jimmy Keohane may reject offers from Cork City and join a long list of others leaving including John Dunleavy, Kieran Sadlier, Steven Beattie, Peter Cherrie. Others under contract who are mentioned as possibly on the move are Aaron Barry, Danny Kane and Damien Delaney
https://www.eveningecho.ie/corksport/Cork-City-pair-Griffin-and-Keohane-could-depart-393d5939-e305-41d9-8077-82b0fe2de926-ds
Strong rumours of Keohane coming to Waterford.
I'd be gutted if Jimmy left. He had a great season.
Is the plan for you to play all central midfielders?
bluemovie
25/11/2018, 12:03 AM
I'd be gutted if Jimmy left. He had a great season.
Is the plan for you to play all central midfielders?
We've only four players signed/announced so far so I'd take a half dozen goalkeepers at this stage!!! I expect Holohan to be back with ye next year and Keegan with Bohs. Aborah won't be with us either. Some of these are because Rennie doesn't want them, some because of bigger offers elsewhere.
25/11/2018, 12:52 AM
We've only four players signed/announced so far so I'd take a half dozen goalkeepers at this stage!!! I expect Holohan to be back with ye next year and Keegan with Bohs. Aborah won't be with us either. Some of these are because Rennie doesn't want them, some because of bigger offers elsewhere.
Aborah staying in the league? He's a lovely player.
David BOHie
25/11/2018, 11:56 AM
How was Keegan for you this year?
25/11/2018, 3:39 PM
confirmed on our website that our goalie mick kelly has left us to go to the uk. theres a lot of talk that hes going to play for Colchester Utd as hes moving to Colchester. a huge loss as he was superb for us last season.