View Full Version : Transfer Rumours 201X Season
Olander
19/10/2017, 12:26 PM
Shepherd to Dundalk seems to be a deal already agreed it seems, to be officially announced after the cup final I`m hearing.
Sheppard*
A good signing for Dundalk, if true.
Yossarian
19/10/2017, 1:09 PM
He'd be a decent signing, a definite improvement on Thomas Stewart. I think we need a good striker to support/challenge McMillan. McMillan is a good striker but he'd have about 40 goals if he took the straight forward chances that he misses.
mcgonigle
19/10/2017, 1:18 PM
He'd be a decent signing, a definite improvement on Thomas Stewart. I think we need a good striker to support/challenge McMillan. McMillan is a good striker but he'd have about 40 goals if he took the straight forward chances that he misses.
That could be said about any striker in the world, there are non that take all their chances. This is actually an area I think Dave has really improved this season. We have definitely created less over the course of this season and I don't remember too many glaring misses from him.
19/10/2017, 1:52 PM
Rhys Gorman has left us to where I dont know as our website doesnt say.
El-Pietro
19/10/2017, 2:10 PM
https://twitter.com/PaulDollery/status/920989711849664514
City moving to 52 week contracts. This is a positive step if we can afford it. Neal Horgans books spoke a lot about professionalism and how a lack of real professionalism was holding the league back.
sbgawa
19/10/2017, 2:38 PM
I'm a big Shep fan but he is not a goal scorer as he has proved since Maguire left plus in his time at Rovers, he is much better as a provider and a winger, I would have thought he was a better player than Connolly and best in that position. I suppose with the loot Dundalk have they can afford to have two players for the same position and play elsewhere when needed
Louth4sam
19/10/2017, 3:08 PM
I'm a big Shep fan but he is not a goal scorer as he has proved since Maguire left plus in his time at Rovers, he is much better as a provider and a winger, I would have thought he was a better player than Connolly and best in that position. I suppose with the loot Dundalk have they can afford to have two players for the same position and play elsewhere when needed
I think that's where we fell back this season. Our bench last year was phenomenal at times. McEleney, Keane, Benson, Shields, Shiels, Kilduff, Mountney, Poynton, Barrett, Ciaran and Michael O'Connor. Not only did we lose three of the best players in the league this season, our bench was also severely weakened. I wouldn't be surprised to see five or six at least come in with maybe one or two at most leaving. Sheppard and Hoban supposed to be done deals
If you sign Shep as a striker, you're negating the threat of him. Good for us but a waste of Sheps ability. He's one of the best wingers in the league. He's not a forward
Yossarian
19/10/2017, 8:06 PM
If you sign Shep as a striker, you're negating the threat of him. Good for us but a waste of Sheps ability. He's one of the best wingers in the league. He's not a forward
I agree he's not an out and out striker and I don't think he'd be signed as one. I think his versatility across the forward line is a positive though, but not as the number 1 striker.
It seems Hoban could be re-signed aswell so that would be a quality addition up front, as long as he is at the same level as when he was with us first time round.
I agree he's not an out and out striker and I don't think he'd be signed as one. I think his versatility across the forward line is a positive though, but not as the number 1 striker.
It seems Hoban could be re-signed aswell so that would be a quality addition up front, as long as he is at the same level as when he was with us first time round.
He's not any sort of striker. Signing hi for versatility is again going to be a waste of him. He's a right winger. Play him anywhere else and he's not a threat, unfortunately for us right now!
I don't think Dundalk are looking to sign Sheppard as a striker, this is more to add options out wide, he's improved greatly at holding it up and I think he would be a very good addition.
Not so sure on Hoban link, he was meant to sign in Aug but was injured, plus I heard his wage demands were ridiculous. If he's fit and more realistic on his contract, I'd be having him back ok.
If Sheppard moves, what targets will Cork have in mind I wonder?
20/10/2017, 5:47 AM
Karl Sheppard to Dundalk seems to be a deal already agreed it seems, to be officially announced after the cup final I`m hearing.
Fck that announce it before the game hahah
Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/10/2017, 7:24 AM
I don't think Dundalk are looking to sign Sheppard as a striker, this is more to add options out wide, he's improved greatly at holding it up and I think he would be a very good addition.
Not so sure on Hoban link, he was meant to sign in Aug but was injured, plus I heard his wage demands were ridiculous. If he's fit and more realistic on his contract, I'd be having him back ok.
If Sheppard moves, what targets will Cork have in mind I wonder?
Cretaro and Faherty
patrickccfc
20/10/2017, 7:42 AM
Cretaro and Faherty
Well it's nailed on that we will take at least one of your players. Ye are like our academy after all
redobit
20/10/2017, 11:25 AM
Well it's nailed on that we will take at least one of your players. Ye are like our academy after all
Out of curiosity but does Caulfield do any scouting of Uk players or his MO till wait to other clubs do the hard work. Giving a 100k player to Waterford isn't exactly talent spotting.
El-Pietro
20/10/2017, 12:03 PM
Out of curiosity but does Caulfield do any scouting of Uk players or his MO till wait to other clubs do the hard work. Giving a 100k player to Waterford isn't exactly talent spotting.
Caulfield told that player if he signed for us he wouldn't be allowed to leave on trial, which is a good attitude. IF clubs want to sign you they shoudl respect you and the league. We'll get the majority of that 100k anyway.
21/10/2017, 1:41 PM
Gannon to Rovers a done deal apparently. Strange one. Simon Madden on his way out?
sbgawa
21/10/2017, 1:47 PM
That would be a great signing for rovers , he is the best right back in the league.
21/10/2017, 2:10 PM
Gannon has a very chatty agent so I would take everything with a grain of salt.
sbgawa
21/10/2017, 4:52 PM
Your probably right we were linked with Massey and gartland as well.
21/10/2017, 6:29 PM
Your probably right we were linked with Massey and gartland as well.
Seen the Massey link on live at Oriel so wouldn’t beleive that one, Gartland lives in Dundalk and got married to a dundalk girl last year, I know it’s only an hour from Tallaght but they’d want to be upping his wage seriously for it to be worthwhile. Think he works locally as well so hours suit training. I really wouldn’t see him joining rovers.
sbgawa
21/10/2017, 7:13 PM
Every player in the league will be rumoured over tyhe next few months
Massey under contract with Dundalk until end of 2018. Others on 2018 deals are O'Donnell, Shields, Duffy, McGrath, Hoare & Rogers. Connolly to 2019.
Gannon, McEleney, Benson, McMillan, Gartland, Vemmelund all out of contract end of this season, the latter meant to heading back to Denmark, but has been offered a 2 year deal I hear.
Not sure on Mountney & Grimes, possibly both end of 2017.
For those heading out, I'd say Tommy Stewart will be one of the first, possibly no renewal of Kinsella loan deal, can't see them giving Clifford a deal, not just his unavailability to April, not sure he done enough. I'd say Sava will finally move out, as long as a quality keeper can be signed.
Speculation continued last night around Sheppard joining, and also Hoban if he can prove fitness and lower wage demands, Greene also from Bray.
As sbgawa says above and quite right too, rumours will continue over the next few months (all clubs), sure it fills the space during the winter doesn't it ?
bluewhitearmy
21/10/2017, 10:06 PM
Shep is done.
sbgawa
21/10/2017, 10:13 PM
Very surprised if anything announced prior to the final
Ezeikial
21/10/2017, 10:13 PM
Every player in the league will be rumoured over tyhe next few months
Ronan Finn to Drogheda
sbgawa
21/10/2017, 10:15 PM
Massey under contract with Dundalk until end of 2018. Others on 2018 deals are O'Donnell, Shields, Duffy, McGrath, Hoare & Rogers. Connolly to 2019.
Gannon, McEleney, Benson, McMillan, Gartland, Vemmelund all out of contract end of this season, the latter meant to heading back to Denmark, but has been offered a 2 year deal I hear.
Not sure on Mountney & Grimes, possibly both end of 2017.
For those heading out, I'd say Tommy Stewart will be one of the first, possibly no renewal of Kinsella loan deal, can't see them giving Clifford a deal, not just his unavailability to April, not sure he done enough. I'd say Sava will finally move out, as long as a quality keeper can be signed.
Speculation continued last night around Sheppard joining, and also Hoban if he can prove fitness and lower wage demands, Greene also from Bray.
As sbgawa says above and quite right too, rumours will continue over the next few months (all clubs), sure it fills the space during the winter doesn't it ?
That's a good summary tx. No chance of Massey going to rovers so if he has another year....have to stop listening to rumours but then like you said it keeps things interesting.
Ezeikial
21/10/2017, 10:16 PM
Aaron Greene is under contract at Bray - although that does not necessarily mean he will be at Bray next season
Dalymountrower
22/10/2017, 8:01 AM
Aaron Greene is under contract at Bray - although that does not necessarily mean he will be at Bray next season
Vey surprised that mediocrre players like Shephard and Greene are transfer targets for Dundalk?
Calling Shep mediocre is quite simply nonsense. When playing on the wing with a good striker to link up with he's one of the best in the league. He was absolutely crucial to a huge amount of Seanis goals this year, while scoring 10 from the wing at the same time. He's mediocre when he's played as a striker, but he's an excellent right winger
sbgawa
22/10/2017, 2:23 PM
The bohs lads don't like the way shep celebrates 😀
22/10/2017, 2:52 PM
Calling Shep mediocre is quite simply nonsense. When playing on the wing with a good striker to link up with he's one of the best in the league. He was absolutely crucial to a huge amount of Seanis goals this year, while scoring 10 from the wing at the same time. He's mediocre when he's played as a striker, but he's an excellent right winger
100%...
Cork's relationship with UCC could be a factor in keeping and attracting players in terms of the football after life and their personal and professional development, playing full time with opportunities to get a degree on your doorstep with the academic supports available through their partnership would be worth a lot more than the 1300 a week from Dundalk in the long term. What would the Dundalk contract length be? possibly a 2yr deal?
I wouldn't say the contract will not be any less than 2 years if Sheppard is to join Dundalk. Also I`d agree with comment from Micls above, he has improved significantly in the last 2 years. His ability to hold the ball up and make a nuisance of himself in that position, also quick release of a good ball high up the pitch are probably his best features.
I think a lot of people are judging him on his limited scoring record of late, but he has changed his role, he can cover as a striker, but I wouldn't consider him in that position unless absolutely needed. This will create some competition for the right side now with Connolly there for another 2 years and Mountney expected to stay on.
Dundalk are free to announce the deal (if this is correct he has agreed to sign) but I wouldn't go there, would be most unsporting especially with the cup final in 2 weeks, other Dlk fans might disagree but wouldn't be my cup of tea to announce it.
sbgawa
22/10/2017, 6:30 PM
He us better than Connolly who is completely over rated. I expect him to take connollys place....or push Connolly on to show a bit of consistency. And at least shep limits his falling down to when he is in the box :)
patrickccfc
22/10/2017, 6:35 PM
It will be hugely disappointing to lose Shep, more so if it's to dundalk. He's been brilliant for us the last few seasons. The in's and out's for us will be very interesting
Dalymountrower
22/10/2017, 7:28 PM
The bohs lads don't like the way shep celebrates 😀
Haven't seen him celebrate too much last two times he played against us.
sbgawa
22/10/2017, 7:41 PM
You boys hold a grudge :)
Dalymountrower
22/10/2017, 9:16 PM
Only since 1890.
sbgawa
22/10/2017, 9:36 PM
:) roll on next season.
Long time away.
Ezeikial
22/10/2017, 10:18 PM
He us better than Connolly who is completely over rated.
Over rated by whom? Stephen Kenny obviously rates him highly judging by the fact that he paid a hefty transfer fee for him. He hasn't misjudged many of his signings over the last 5 years
bluewhitearmy
22/10/2017, 10:31 PM
Over rated by whom? Stephen Kenny obviously rates him highly judging by the fact that he paid a hefty transfer fee for him. He hasn't misjudged many of his signings over the last 5 years
Ya Conor Clifford and Steven Kinsella have really been tearing it up.
sbgawa
22/10/2017, 11:00 PM
Kenny has proved in the 20 years of his management career to be able to pick both good and bad players just like every manager. The success of the last 3 or 4 years hasn't made him infallible.
Time will tell.
Ezeikial
23/10/2017, 9:21 AM
Ya Conor Clifford and Steven Kinsella have really been tearing it up.
Conor Clifford is one who has not worked out and I would be surprised if he was retained even without the suspension issue.
Stephen Kinsella is entirely different. He has been decimated with injury this season and therefore has had little opportunity to command a regular place in the first team. He just turned 19 in August and his Everton contract is due to run to next summer. I would be delighted if a deal was done for him to stay at Oriel Park next season.
The fact that you included him as an example of a Stephen Kenny misjudged signing says it all!
bluewhitearmy
23/10/2017, 11:00 AM
Conor Clifford is one who has not worked out and I would be surprised if he was retained even without the suspension issue.
Stephen Kinsella is entirely different. He has been decimated with injury this season and therefore has had little opportunity to command a regular place in the first team. He just turned 19 in August and his Everton contract is due to run to next summer. I would be delighted if a deal was done for him to stay at Oriel Park next season.
The fact that you included him as an example of a Stephen Kenny misjudged signing says it all!
I literally named the first two that came into my head put no thought into it at all. I understand Kenny has done well for ye but the level of perfection you are claiming for him way ott.
Ezeikial
23/10/2017, 2:30 PM
I literally named the first two that came into my head put no thought into it at all.
That's how it seemed to me, alright.
I understand Kenny has done well for ye but the level of perfection you are claiming for him way ott.
No such claim of perfection from me.
2013 - 2nd
2014 - 1st
2015 - 1st
2016 - 1st
2017 - 2nd
Two big blemishes on his league record for starters
24/10/2017, 12:20 AM
Shep has never been a centre forward. Bar maybe Galway (I can't remember where he played for them) I don't think he's ever consistently been played as a striker - even with Rovers he earned the move to Reading on the right side of a front three. It seemed like his first loan move out from Reading had him straight back as a centre forward and it was never going to work out for him.
Northsider
24/10/2017, 10:09 AM
I'll have to have a word with my source :)
https://twitter.com/bfcdublin/status/922769163743047680
We are delighted to announce that Shane Supple and Rob Cornwall have signed new deals to remain at #Bohs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Bohs?src=hash)
Dalymountrower
24/10/2017, 10:58 AM
I'll have to have a word with my source :)
https://twitter.com/bfcdublin/status/922769163743047680
We are delighted to announce that Shane Supple and Rob Cornwall have signed new deals to remain at #Bohs (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Bohs?src=hash)
Great news. Supple is the best keeper in the league and Cornwall has had an excellent season. Him and O Hora together next season have the makings of the best centre -half partnership in the league,
24/10/2017, 11:55 AM
I think my team's players are better in their respective positions than your team's players, who are worse. :good: