View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2016
White Horse
16/10/2016, 10:15 PM
I've no doubt though that it will be the exact same protesters outside the ground on Thursday that were there before the Maccabi game.
I wonder how the Zenit supporters will react to an anti Putin protest.
Yossarian
16/10/2016, 10:34 PM
With a nonchalant chuckle perhaps....
I wish but I'm guessing they won't be adverse to giving as good as they get and more at these protesters. The guards will have a bit more to do this time.
sbgawa
16/10/2016, 10:35 PM
Its the same crowd of dolites who turn up at every protest. Shin fein Aaa I'm protesting at everything especially anyone who says I should do a days work
ToberonaTornado
16/10/2016, 10:49 PM
^^ i weep for Ireland!!
17/10/2016, 12:15 AM
Its the same crowd of dolites who turn up at every protest. Shin fein Aaa I'm protesting at everything especially anyone who says I should do a days work
I'm sure most of them do a day's work. I wouldn't go myself but that cliche is tired and stupid. Everyone has things they feel strongly about.
17/10/2016, 10:07 AM
http://irishsyriasolidaritymovement.org/urgent-message-from-ireland-to-putin-via-fc-zenit-in-tallaght-stadium-6pm-on-thursday-20th-october/
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cuy3DnZWIAAy9oX.jpg
Pathetic politically motivated drivel. Only the children of east Aleppo are to be pitied going by the link.
Should let the Zenit fans off at them a few coughs would be softened.
sbgawa
17/10/2016, 1:59 PM
I'm sure most of them do a day's work. I wouldn't go myself but that cliche is tired and stupid. Everyone has things they feel strongly about.
ok fair point Charlie but you'd get fed up at the amount of it that go's on, some people are permanently "outraged" at something.
17/10/2016, 2:27 PM
I wouldn't say there'd be much overlap between the people protesting Putin and people at, say, a water march.
White Horse
17/10/2016, 2:39 PM
Ticketmaster say the game is sold out.
17/10/2016, 2:51 PM
Amazing what an effect a protest march can have.
ger121
17/10/2016, 4:52 PM
Likely will be too stoned to turn up.
Aldi will make a killing when they get the munchies. Someone should out one of the Burger Vans outside the ground.
17/10/2016, 5:10 PM
Ticketmaster say the game is sold out.
Yep. They were gone on Saturday (I think it was Saturday that I looked)
Ezeikial
17/10/2016, 6:19 PM
Tickets are currently available on Ticketmaster
sparky12345678
17/10/2016, 9:26 PM
Like I said an the other thread. I hope Dundalk go in to the game on Thursday on a bit of high and not let tired legs in the way of another great European night. Zenit are presumably a different league to even Bate/Legia Warsaw... but Dundalk looked great against Alkmaar.
A sneaky draw at home...?
win v Bohs on the sunday... and rest the team wth another sneaky away draw... give Cork the cup and then focus on the last two European games..
According to my calculations though qualifying will more likely rest on beating Alkmaar at home and Maccabi away (6 points plus 4 = 10 and regardless of Alkmaar getting 9 more points from their other 3 games Dundalk qualify on a head to head...)
a draw v Zenit while a great result plus 4 points from the last two games (rather than 6) would mean 9 points and would mean Alkmaar might sneak through by beating Zenit in that last game...
Realistically 4 points would still be a great haul from the last two games (and would be 3 co-efficient points to more or less gaurentee seeding... sadly it seems that at least another point or two might be necessary...)
White Horse
18/10/2016, 12:08 AM
Like I said an the other thread. I hope Dundalk go in to the game on Thursday on a bit of high and not let tired legs in the way of another great European night. Zenit are presumably a different league to even Bate/Legia Warsaw... but Dundalk looked great against Alkmaar.
The lads looked shattered tonight.
18/10/2016, 12:13 AM
The lads looked shattered tonight.
In hindsight getting Zenit as the double header might be a blessing. The two games you were least likely to get anything from anyway played when you're at your most fatigued.
18/10/2016, 8:18 AM
Tickets are currently available on Ticketmaster
Gone this morning.
18/10/2016, 9:36 AM
I'm going to be over in Dublin Thursday I think. Checked online none available :(
I'm staying in swords, is it possible to park anywhere near tallaght stadium, assuming more tickets become available?
If anyone has a spare let me know :D
seand
18/10/2016, 10:06 AM
I'm going to be over in Dublin Thursday I think. Checked online none available :(
I'm staying in swords, is it possible to park anywhere near tallaght stadium, assuming more tickets become available?
If anyone has a spare let me know :D
Loads of free parking in the square shopping centre just across the road.... keep an eye on Ticketmaster, they claimed it was sold out earlier this week and the had more on sale later
18/10/2016, 10:39 AM
Cheers SeanD. Ill look at that now. I imagine at that time its only a half hour getting from North to south via m50 assuming no crash or that.
I imagine they do this to sell in blocks so they can group people together, but its annoying and it might make people who would otherwise have bought tickets not go.
Conroy
18/10/2016, 11:21 AM
Orielweb poster has said he spoke to ticketmaster this morning on the phone and they confirmed game is sold out.
White Horse
18/10/2016, 12:09 PM
The club confirm the game is sold out.
http://www.dundalkfc.com/zenit-tickets-sold/
18/10/2016, 12:26 PM
Cheers SeanD. Ill look at that now. I imagine at that time its only a half hour getting from North to south via m50 assuming no crash or that.
I imagine they do this to sell in blocks so they can group people together, but its annoying and it might make people who would otherwise have bought tickets not go.
Or it's sold out! It's not really like the Legia game in that regard. But we'll see.
I.was.talkimg to get Dundalk ticket office last week and they went on sale at Oriel first on Thursday and then the rest went to Ticketmaster.
I'll at least have the Alkmaar game I suppose.
18/10/2016, 1:37 PM
Ah well at least its sold out. When SDCC build that new stand maybe we won't have these issues. I would have bought before but wasn't sure if I'd be over. :(
Philosophizer
18/10/2016, 3:34 PM
Was too late getting to Ticketmaster to get a ticket for Thursday.
If anyone has any spare tickets for sale pls PM me. I can buy em off you outside the ground on Thur...
Philosophizer
18/10/2016, 3:50 PM
Was too late getting to Ticketmaster to get a ticket for Thursday.
If anyone has any spare tickets for sale pls PM me. I can buy em off you outside the ground on Thur...
I'm not a bandwagoner for what it's worth. Living in Dublin but always try to see Dundalk when they're playing in (or near) Dublin. Was in Tallaght on Fri for the Rovers game for eg. Was also in Bray a month or 2 ago to see the 1-2 defeat. Was at the home matches against BATE (twice), Legia, Maccabi, Hajduk split as well as the Cup Final last year and numerous domestic matches in Dublin.
18/10/2016, 4:14 PM
A Meath man should have eyes only for the Drogs.
Philosophizer
18/10/2016, 5:01 PM
A Meath man should have eyes only for the Drogs.
Ha ha, well depending on what part of the county you're in, your nearest LOI club could be Drogheda, Dundalk, Bohs or even Longford. There's also a big Ashbourne flag in the east stand at Tallaght at every Rovers game. And i know a chap from Dunshaughlin who follows Shels. To say we're a "mixed bag" would be putting it lightly :).
18/10/2016, 5:49 PM
Ah well at least its sold out. When SDCC build that new stand maybe we won't have these issues. I would have bought before but wasn't sure if I'd be over. :(
I'd say they were near gone as it was Paul on Friday. I'd say buzz to Tallaght anyway. I'm sure the locals would love to have ya over.
Ha ha, well depending on what part of the county you're in, your nearest LOI club could be Drogheda, Dundalk, Bohs or even Longford. There's also a big Ashbourne flag in the east stand at Tallaght at every Rovers game. And i know a chap from Dunshaughlin who follows Shels. To say we're a "mixed bag" would be putting it lightly :).
As a Dub there's many ways I could put ye.
I never thought I would see the day that someone would be on foot.ie trying to sell their non-bandwagoning status. What a time to be alive.
Hitman
18/10/2016, 6:13 PM
Cork City under-19s vs HJK Helskinki at 7 pm tomorrow night.
https://twitter.com/CorkCityFC/status/788343456586403840
18/10/2016, 6:46 PM
I dont think ill bother driving all the way down on a whim as much as i know the locals will love having me :D
I wonder why this one has a much bigger draw. Zenit are hardly hugely popular in dublin regardless of how Dundalk have done thus far.
18/10/2016, 6:48 PM
I dont think ill bother driving all the way down on a whim as much as i know the locals will love having me :D
I wonder why this one has a much bigger draw. Zenit are hardly hugely popular in dublin regardless of how Dundalk have done thus far.
Why do you think it's Zenit that are the draw?
Perhaps it's because they won the last game and are on the verge of a league title and people want to see Dundalk.
18/10/2016, 7:45 PM
Well probably also because Zenit are a much bigger club and will have their own fans in the "home" stands.
legendz
18/10/2016, 7:56 PM
Realistically 4 points would still be a great haul from the last two games
Dundalk will be doing well to get another point. Bohemians, Shelbourne and Derry didn't have the luxury of playing unseeded teams like Tel Aviv.
sparky12345678
18/10/2016, 8:10 PM
Before the group stage started i think we'd have been happy with a 4 point haul... given what we've seen, being optimistic and hopeful, there is clearly potential there.
(not sure what you mean by Tel Aviv being unseeded...Maccabi were seeded in all rounds until the group stages...in the champions league rounds this year they would have been seeded in the 2QR and only just missing out on being seeded in that third round, but last year they were seeded in the 2QR, and beat the seeded team Basel in the play off round to qualify for the Champions League).
Philosophizer
18/10/2016, 8:19 PM
Dundalk will be doing well to get another point. Bohemians, Shelbourne and Derry didn't have the luxury of playing unseeded teams like Tel Aviv.
Well of course they would be doing well to get another point, they're the lowest ranked team in the competition, by a considerable distance.
legendz
18/10/2016, 8:42 PM
not sure what you mean by Tel Aviv being unseeded...When Bohemians, Shelbourne and Derry were in the First Round proper of the UEFA Cup, they were unseeded. If the current Europa League group stage had been a knockout draw of old, both Tel Aviv and Dundalk would have been unseeded.
White Horse
18/10/2016, 8:44 PM
When Bohemians, Shelbourne and Derry were in the First Round proper of the UEFA Cup, they were unseeded. If the current Europa League group stage had been a knockout draw of old, both Tel Aviv and Dundalk would have been unseeded.
Would BATE also have been unseeded?
18/10/2016, 9:19 PM
Well probably also because Zenit are a much bigger club and will have their own fans in the "home" stands.
Stop Charlie. Paul is a visitor. We must talk down to him about his silly ways.
Ezeikial
18/10/2016, 9:25 PM
Sold out due to large numbers of travelling UK based ex-pats who specialise in following LoI clubs in Europe
18/10/2016, 9:38 PM
Why does the mobile version delete on edit sometimes?
Haha ya those well organised ex- pats. Must be the same ones that were over for the Legia game too ;)
Bonnie ya youre probably right, like the 465+ who went to see their penultkmate win to deciding the league the last night down the strokestown road. ;)
18/10/2016, 10:20 PM
I guess all these "ex-pats" explains the poor crowds in Richmond lately, if nothing else.
18/10/2016, 10:57 PM
Sold out due to large numbers of travelling UK based ex-pats who specialise in following LoI clubs in Europe
Glory hunting bandwagon scum.
Why does the mobile version delete on edit sometimes?
Haha ya those well organised ex- pats. Must be the same ones that were over for the Legia game too ;)
You're a credit to Irish soccer.
Bonnie ya youre probably right, like the 465+ who went to see their penultkmate win to deciding the league the last night down the strokestown road. ;)
Oooooooooooooooooh... If only they were more dedicated than you Paul. I feel bad for not going myself. But I am allergic to Roscommon [and the rash gets worse with proximity] so there was no chance I'd make it to the Flansiro of a Monday to see two teams I don't support. Plus I was exhausted after my exploits on Saturday burning sh!t and throwing shapes.
gufcfan
18/10/2016, 11:50 PM
I guess all these "ex-pats" explains the poor crowds in Richmond lately, if nothing else.
Or maybe the lads that mistook Tallaght for Inchicore. (https://streamable.com/9qcl)
19/10/2016, 12:16 PM
or maybe the lads that mistook tallaght for inchicore. (https://streamable.com/9qcl)
Never. Gets. Old.
Pablo Escobar
19/10/2016, 7:14 PM
We've gone 1-0 up at home to HJK in UEFA Youth League.
19/10/2016, 7:16 PM
1,287 in attendance too. Great stuff.
Philosophizer
19/10/2016, 7:17 PM
Sweet! How's the game going in general? Big crowd in the Cross?
Pablo Escobar
19/10/2016, 7:32 PM
Sweet! How's the game going in general? Big crowd in the Cross?
I'm not there, but apparently almost 1,300 as stated above. That's an unexpectedly big crowd.
Philosophizer
19/10/2016, 7:40 PM
[QUOTE=Pablo Escobar;1894935 almost 1,300 as stated above. That's an unexpectedly big crowd.[/QUOTE]
As I stated on another thread earlier, the irish ppl just love a special event. Even if it is the u19s, the Champions League name carries a lot of prestige.