View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

02/08/2016, 8:48 PM
ho lee fuk

ger121
02/08/2016, 8:49 PM
Boom!!!!

02/08/2016, 8:49 PM
This is staggering stuff. A genuinely exceptional performance.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
02/08/2016, 8:50 PM
Brilliant. Fully deserved. Hard to think of a more significant victory for an LOI team in Europe

swinfordfc
02/08/2016, 8:51 PM
This is the biggest win surely for LOI clubs!

02/08/2016, 8:52 PM
Amazing result. Well done to SK, the players and club and all the Dundalk fans. Great moment.

swinfordfc
Into play off round and def europa league .... at the worst!

Three teams have beaten BATE by three goals in 16 matches in Europe in the last twelve months.

Barcelona. Bayer Leverkusen. And Dundalk.

Eminence Grise
02/08/2016, 8:53 PM
Speechless!!!

What a performance. What a result!! One of the great nights for the LoI.

Greatest league in the world strikes again. Falling apart at the seams in so many ways but arguable now producing it's best ever team and performance. Sensational!

Get into ****!!!!!!!!!

Congrats lads!!!!

To Dunny!!!!

Sligo Hoops.
02/08/2016, 8:55 PM
Absolutely delighted for Stephen Kenny and Dundalk. Revenge a dish best served cold. Hope you choke on it, Jonathan Roche.

02/08/2016, 8:56 PM
this is a great night to be a LOI fan, brilliant

02/08/2016, 8:57 PM
Briilliant from Dundalk, so composed, skillfull and confident, in control of the game all evening. Kenny has gathered together an excellent squad and engineered a quality team.

SPXcyan
02/08/2016, 8:57 PM
Absolutely incredible! never thought this could happen against Bate of all teams.. what on earth will Dundalk do with 6 feckin million?! surely the stadium issues can be resolved haha

Amazing night!

ger121
02/08/2016, 8:58 PM
Has to be the greatest win and most important by a LOI side in Europe.

DannyInvincible
02/08/2016, 8:59 PM
Absolutely incredible. Fantastic composure. Dundalk were all over them that half. Amazing result. One of the great nights for the league, if not the greatest. Well done, Dundalk! Congrats.

WEll they;re defo in the Europa now... Any chance Oriel be brought up to Cat 3 in time? Is it the pitch?

Pogba linked with Dundalk switch

02/08/2016, 9:00 PM
WEll they;re defo in the Europa now... Any chance Oriel be brought up to Cat 3 in time? Is it the pitch?
Not a chance. Huge amount of shortcomings, including a couple of thousand seats.

02/08/2016, 9:00 PM
1.3 million V 19.7 million, excellent

https://onedrive.live.com/view.aspx?resid=4FE4712A1E3EA4FA!264&ithint=file%2cxlsx&app=Excel&authkey=!AAEY2-peVXk6VaI

patrickccfc
02/08/2016, 9:01 PM
Anyone uneducated in football would think dundalk were the team who have been CL group stage regulars the last few years based on that. Absolutely ridiculous performance I'm buzzing for them. Europa league at least, but a favourable draw and we could have our first ever Irish team in the champions league groups.

Hopefully we can pull off a similar result on Thursday now.

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/08/2016, 9:01 PM
On this night we are all League of Ireland fans.

02/08/2016, 9:02 PM
I'd like to think Cork and Dundalk have one more match win left between them though.
Just leave this here. :)

02/08/2016, 9:02 PM
Has to be the greatest win and most important by a LOI side in Europe.

Easily

02/08/2016, 9:03 PM
Cue Dodge saying this is bad for the league.

Spend well on facilities now.buy their pitch

02/08/2016, 9:04 PM
Seeded teams so far -

APOEL Nicosia (who scored three times in injury time today to knock out Rosenborg)
Viktoria Plzen (who scored late on to squeak past Garabag Agdam on away goals)

Dinamo Zagreb might be seeded or unseeded.

Ludogorets will probably be unseeded. As will Dundalk.

Other matches tomorrow, and too tight to call at this stage. But maybe Copenhagen, Celtic and Olympiakos seeded?

Nothing hugely daunting yet for a side who've just thumped BATE. No Depor, for example

Not a chance. Huge amount of shortcomings, including a couple of thousand seats.

I assumed as much. But given the timeframe between now and the Europa groups and the fact that they have guaranteed cash now...

TheOneWhoKnocks
I wonder what Nigel Clough is thinking?

Pablo Escobar
This is superb. Well done Dundalk!

02/08/2016, 9:05 PM
On this night we are all League of Ireland fans.

Are you sure? I get worried when you start being optimistic.

DeLorean
That was pretty incredible. Quick one for ye gurus.... I know Dundalk would have went into the Europa if they had lost tonight, but what happens if they lose the CL playoff round? Eliminated from Europe altogether?

I wonder what Nigel Clough is thinking?

Who gives a flying ****!

DannyInvincible
02/08/2016, 9:07 PM
That was pretty incredible. Quick one for ye guru's.... I know Dundalk would have went into the Europa of they had lost tonight, but what happens if they lose the CL playoff round? Eliminated from Europe altogether?

They qualify for the Europa League group stage. It's guaranteed now. If they'd lost tonight, they'd have needed to go through a final qualifier for the group stage of the Europa League.

02/08/2016, 9:07 PM
That was pretty incredible. Quick one for ye guru's.... I know Dundalk would have went into the Europa of they had lost tonight, but what happens if they lose the CL playoff round? Eliminated from Europe altogether?

They would have went into the Europa PO if they lost tonight. Now they are Guaranteed the EL Groups. It's what happened to Shams when they beat Partizan. They played Copenhagen in the CL Playoffs and got beaten and then were in the EL as a result.

abcd
02/08/2016, 9:08 PM
Unbelievable stuff from Dundalk. After they went 1 up they were a team inspired and BATE had little to offer in reply. An amazing 8 more games to come at a minimum in Europe. Tonight is a night for celebration. I really hope Dundalk can turn this into something meaningful in the medium term. The club seems to be well run, I hope they keep their heads now and move the club to the next level.

Its an example to other clubs that success can be achieved sustainably if the right foundation is put in place.

Look forward to seeing them in Eamonn Deacy Park on Friday.

LK37oldskool
Well done to Dundalk. All the rest of us LOI fans can only dream of nights like this with our own clubs. Continued success lads.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
That was pretty incredible. Quick one for ye gurus.... I know Dundalk would have went into the Europa of they had lost tonight, but what happens if they lose the CL playoff round? Eliminated from Europe altogether?

They are in group stage of Europa now worst case. If they lost tonight would have been play offs for Europa

patrickccfc

No if they lost tonight they would've been in the Europa League play off round.

If they lose the CL play off, they go straight to the Europa League group stage

Dave77
02/08/2016, 9:09 PM
Bit confused, I thought Kenny said that Dundalk take BATEs seed?

02/08/2016, 9:09 PM
Easily
Shels 2 Split 0 wasn't too shabby.

TheOneWhoKnocks
02/08/2016, 9:10 PM
Poor Towell..

DeLorean
02/08/2016, 9:10 PM
Class. That's great news for Cork City too I guess, as long as they don't do something crazy now and qualify themselves. :p

02/08/2016, 9:11 PM
Watching that would really make you wonder how far First Division Champions League Cup Finalists 2016 Limerick FC would progress if in the champions league this year.

02/08/2016, 9:12 PM
I assumed as much. But given the timeframe between now and the Europa groups and the fact that they have guaranteed cash now...
I'd say they basically need to knock Oriel and start again.

And that's without the pitch; don't know about that.

Not a hope of being ready for the Europa League.

02/08/2016, 9:13 PM
Shels 2 Split 0 wasn't too shabby.

Nah. This is bigger. I'll gladly say it. Now a 1-0 v Depor would have been different.

02/08/2016, 9:14 PM
I'd say they basically need to knock Oriel and start again.

And that's without the pitch; don't know about that.

Not a hope of being ready for the Europa League.

So they'll be playing in Lansdowne so. :)

02/08/2016, 9:14 PM
Yup. The money means the Split win can't compare.

This is much bigger even than Rovers beating Partizan.

E6.3m. Plus gate receipts and merchandise, etc, etc.

And I can't see Dundalk getting no points - E120k per point extra. Could be seven or eight times what Rovers earned.

Huge implications for the league.

DeLorean
02/08/2016, 9:16 PM
Thanks folks, yeah I knew it was Europa League playoff round if they lost tonight, didn't know they were into Europa groups though, that's massive. I actually thought Rovers made it by beating Partizan, well I know technically they did. Can't remember that Copenhagen game at all.

EatYerGreens
02/08/2016, 9:17 PM
No point doing a half-arsed rush job just to cover one season. You'd change little without planning permission, and that would take a minimum of 3mths if you had the architect's plans ready to submit tomorrow (which I doubt Dundalk have).

Oriel needs work, so do it properly from scratch over the next few years. Take the time to get it right, and to draw in further public and private capital for it.