View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2016
Philosophizer
12/08/2016, 12:49 PM
I don't remember ever seeing such a rush for tickets for a League of Ireland club game before.
I seriously believe that Dundalk's promotional poster (which got a lot of coverage by the 42.ie and the likes) has increased the gate by about 5-10%. Unfortunately it's rarity in our league to see such excellent promotion.
Also don't underestimate the amount of Poles living in Ireland who will go (and probably bring friends and family). I remember being at a Ireland Vs Poland match back in 2009 I think (when they beat us 3-2), and there were probably more Poles there than Irish ppl at it.
12/08/2016, 12:51 PM
West stand being sold via Dundalk though aren't they?
Philosophizer
12/08/2016, 12:59 PM
I only checked a couple of times but the West Stand was never available as an option (even at 10am the first day as I tried to get tickets for there but it put me into the East Stand). Wondering are they not opening that as it's the stand with the TV cameras. It was hardly sold out at 10.02
West stand lower is being sold to Dundalk fans as far as I'm aware. My guess is that they want it to look as full as possible on TV, so they'll sell out the east upper stand first, coz that's the stand that the camera points towards. Maybe they'll only sell tickets for the West upper stand once the east stand and the end stands are full.
Yossarian
12/08/2016, 1:10 PM
West stand being sold via Dundalk though aren't they?
Yeh the West was solely being sold through oriel park.
Yossarian
12/08/2016, 1:12 PM
With the demand for tickets I hope that there is official merchandise available in the ground. It should be a great opportunity for sales.
I believe the club will be using some of the shop facilities in the Aviva.
White Horse
12/08/2016, 2:10 PM
30,000 tickets sold by lunchtime.
What is notable are the number of tickets being sold in areas with no LOI team.
red bellied
12/08/2016, 2:18 PM
If the figures are correct, this will sell out beforehand, great prices for tickets as well. Two adults and two kids tickets for €30 is great value. Plenty of Poles buying on Ticketmaster as well.
12/08/2016, 2:20 PM
I guess not much call for an LoI team in Warsaw. :)
Philosophizer
12/08/2016, 2:24 PM
30,000 tickets sold by lunchtime.
Incredible stuff! Can't wait for it now. Are these official numbers from ticketmaster that you're getting through the club?
White Horse
12/08/2016, 2:43 PM
The club are getting updates from Ticketmaster but they tend to be a bit behind. I've heard higher numbers than 30k, but I went with the more conservative number.
12/08/2016, 2:49 PM
Out of interest, what sort of places are tickets being sold in?
colonelwest
12/08/2016, 2:52 PM
The club are getting updates from Ticketmaster but they tend to be a bit behind. I've heard higher numbers than 30k, but I went with the more conservative number.
Or you went with what I posted on twitter 10 minutes before you that Gav Mcl retweeted
:p :D
I kid, I kid...
Great to see though, got the word myself from someone at the club earlier on. Nothing the Irish love more than a good bandwagon to jump on, we'll take their money though!
Ezeikial
12/08/2016, 3:13 PM
http://www.dundalkfc.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Legia_Lilywhites-Express_CL.jpg
Philosophizer
12/08/2016, 3:24 PM
Another brilliant idea. Fair play to all involved.
El-Pietro
12/08/2016, 3:36 PM
They could have photo shopped out "Hogwarts" from the side of the train though.
Philosophizer
12/08/2016, 3:45 PM
They could have photo shopped out "Hogwarts" from the side of the train though.
I think it's grand, sure only nerdiest of nerdy Harry Potter fans would even notice that... ;P
12/08/2016, 3:48 PM
Out of interest, what sort of places are tickets being sold in?
Mostly out of public toilets, dark alleyways and nightclub back doors.
12/08/2016, 4:01 PM
A 1020 departure from Connolly is cutting wile fine isn't it?
Match won't be over til about 940 ish. Crowds down to Lansdowne Station . Inevitable train wait and possible crowd slowing it down and then platform hopping in Connolly.
Classic Irish Rail, going the extra half mile. They could easily make this 11pm ex Connolly. They have the spare train set to use!
It really is excellent value and fair play to Dundalk for keeping the prices low. I'm taking two kids and its €29 all in including booking fee for the 3 of us. I missed the boat in the lower stands ended up middle ish of east upper, still decent seats and kids will enjoy the view.
I knew being the CL it would be a great attraction, but I was thinking last week we really would do well to equal the cup final attendance last year (25k), then i thought look at the comparison, all schools off, summer, mid week, compared to a cold and wet Sunday during school year in early November.
There has obviously been a massive uptake from neutral Irish fans and the Polish community, as if Dundalk equal what they took to the cup final (around 12k) this is a huge gap in the reported 30k sales, plus the north stand (smaller one behind the city end goal) is being held back for actual travelling Legia fans I think, and afaik will not be going on general sale.
12/08/2016, 4:11 PM
Match won't be over til about 940 ish. Crowds down to Lansdowne Station . Inevitable train wait and possible crowd slowing it down and then platform hopping in Connolly.
Classic Irish Rail, going the extra half mile. They could easily make this 11pm ex Connolly. They have the spare train set to use!
Thought the same myself. I was half tempted to get Bus Eireann after the match to Letterkenny instead of driving but thought the 10:40 bus might be cutting it fine given the inevitable rush to get the train to Connolly.
Ezeikial
12/08/2016, 4:18 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Cpq6l74WAAA2xa5.jpg
I think the train departs from platform 1 or 2, the dead end line, so they can probably hold it back for a few mins but there is a 1035 scheduled Dundalk service that stops everywhere, so it won't be hanging around long. A few I know took the same special train for the cup final, far quicker to walk from the ground to Connolly, but not so easy with kids and in darkness I suppose.
It's a good service and great deal at €15 but as you say it is cutting it a bit fine.
12/08/2016, 4:23 PM
If there's a 1035 scheduled then all the more reason to schedule this after that. Irish Rail are infuriating at the best of times but this is classic them.
12/08/2016, 5:26 PM
I don't know about other places, but in Limerick you can get a bus to and from Dublin, pretty much every hour 24/7 for a tenner odd. Dublin coach and the like are pretty handy services for occasions such as these.
12/08/2016, 6:21 PM
If there's a 1035 scheduled then all the more reason to schedule this after that. Irish Rail are infuriating at the best of times but this is classic them.
Direct services should leave before services that stop at all stations though. Better to get an express organised; could easily take 20/30 minutes longer if it leaves after the commuter train
ToberonaTornado
12/08/2016, 6:25 PM
And of course you'll get the obligatory Dundalk FC UCL song:cool::D
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=99&v=wVKfIc4k-cY
colonelwest
12/08/2016, 10:10 PM
As of about 5 mins ago on ticketmaster, the only available seats. I presume they're going block by block up top as well but that's some going.
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2448&stc=1
redarmyfaction
12/08/2016, 10:11 PM
In fairness to CIE, when we were given right times for football specials, the trains waited until they were full, they don't want to encourage peeps into going for snakey pints in Molloy's.
redarmyfaction
12/08/2016, 10:21 PM
This is looking like it could sell out, funny given that Dundalk played similar opposition in Tallaght, and there seemed to be lots of enough seats, Joe Irish Football Public, you are a fickle fellow.
12/08/2016, 11:28 PM
Direct services should leave before services that stop at all stations though. Better to get an express organised; could easily take 20/30 minutes longer if it leaves after the commuter train
Direct services should generally leave before scheduled services however, the 1037 (I assumed it was an enterprise and not a full on commuter when I originally posted) doesn't leave a lot of headway for the 1020 departure to be held either.
12/08/2016, 11:29 PM
In fairness to CIE, when we were given right times for football specials, the trains waited until they were full, they don't want to encourage peeps into going for snakey pints in Molloy's.
The Northern line is a lot busier than the Western so they can afford.
KBurke
14/08/2016, 11:00 AM
Anyone know if tickets will be available at the gate at the Aviva on Wednesday?
14/08/2016, 11:01 AM
This is looking like it could sell out, funny given that Dundalk played similar opposition in Tallaght, and there seemed to be lots of enough seats, Joe Irish Football Public, you are a fickle fellow.
Certainly in Tallaght the West Stand looked like there were free seats shopping centre side but that was due to there being 3 to a seat type stuff the other end of the stand. East Stand loked to have a few hundred seats free. The BATE game got nothing like the exposure and the pricing of tickets is spot on too. The FAI should take note for cup finals!!
Ezeikial
14/08/2016, 4:04 PM
Stephen O'Donnell on 98fm podcast
"It's David v Goliath"- Dundalk's Stephen O’Donnell On Champions League Task
http://www.98fm.com/podcasts/Now_Thats_ ... ort/51969/ (http://www.98fm.com/podcasts/Now_Thats_What_I_Call_Sport/98FM_Now_That39s_What_I_Call_Sport/51969/)
14/08/2016, 4:19 PM
Just tried searching for 3 tickets best available at any price and it says no matches found.
14/08/2016, 5:05 PM
Nothing available at the minute on Ticketmaster.
http://foot.ie/attachment.php?attachmentid=2449&stc=1
From Dundalk FC on Facebook: More tickets for Wednesday's UEFA Champions League Play-Off will be made available on ticketmaster tomorrow. They seem to have run out for now! Tickets go back on sale at 10am from Oriel also.
I was in oriel on Saturday. Over 32k was the last count. Not sure if it was from Saturday or Friday.
White Horse
14/08/2016, 7:57 PM
Ticketmaster are struggling to stay on the bandwagon. Keep up lads!
14/08/2016, 8:10 PM
There are always stragglers and last minute decisions to go so 40k is not out of the question if 32k are already sold.
14/08/2016, 8:24 PM
By the sounds of things, it's pretty close to 40,000 already.
Premium level I suppose is the next port of call. They'll probably be €30 tickets. An extra 10,000 of them would certainly add spice to the mix.
14/08/2016, 8:48 PM
Ya I'd imagine they are just opening the ground in stages. I'll probably pick up tickets tomorrow. If premium was available tomorrow for €30 go for them.
Conroy
15/08/2016, 6:41 AM
Upper tier Blocks 514 & 515 now on Ticketmaster.
A group travelled from Galway on Saturday to get tickets from Oriel as they thought DFC would have the best tickets available.
15/08/2016, 7:53 AM
Upper tier Blocks 514 & 515 now on Ticketmaster.
And they're selling very fast already. There can't be too many 'standard' seats left in the ground, of which there are 38,700.
Just over half of blocks 514 and 515 are gone now. I'd expect another block to be released soon.
Conroy
15/08/2016, 9:08 AM
Checked TM at 9am & 10am. 115 tickets sold during the hour in blocks 514 & 515.,Block 502 showing available tickets now.
15/08/2016, 10:48 AM
It's killing me not being able to get there because of exams. :(
Then again... I could be swayed if tomorrow's exam goes well.
Ezeikial
15/08/2016, 10:50 AM
TM watch - the new internet sensation
GCdfc
15/08/2016, 11:25 AM
Block 502 is up now. I thought they were just going around the ground with blocks in order but obviously not.
15/08/2016, 11:27 AM
Just hope Dundalk don't bottle it now and go 2-0 down early on. Could be their equivalent of Rovers' RDS debut.