View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

20/07/2016, 8:48 PM
Fairly sure he scored a hat-trick for us.
Against Cork in his last game for us I think?

20/07/2016, 8:49 PM
it was coming

Uh oh.

Both these defences are rubbish

BATE won't fear either

colonelwest
******, squeaky bum time now for the last 15!

20/07/2016, 8:50 PM
Two chanc3s two goals.

Keeper should always have that side covered.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
20/07/2016, 8:51 PM
Shields should have been on about 15 minutes ago

GCdfc
20/07/2016, 8:51 PM

I could have sworn it was an interview with himself that he said he didn't score one before. You'd know better than me about UCD and I could have misheard.

L.T.F.C.
20/07/2016, 8:53 PM
Two chanc3s two goals.

Keeper should always have that side covered.
In fairness their striker had a fresh air in the six yard box.

Fester
How is this 2 v 2, they are awful.

colonelwest
Shields should have been on about 15 minutes ago

Yup, need to be a lot more disciplined playing in Europe and the gaps were there for all to see the last 15 mins or so.

El-Pietro
20/07/2016, 8:55 PM

You might be right, he scored about 4 goals against us in a week, as we played Sligo in our next game.

20/07/2016, 9:00 PM
Bate will seriously Bate either of these teams, dundalk play much better football but both defenses are so brittle.

20/07/2016, 9:01 PM
Hold on to the ****ing ball

20/07/2016, 9:04 PM
Commentators think Jeff hendrick is playing

20/07/2016, 9:05 PM
Are Dundalk always this poisonously terrible?!

Real ale Madrid
20/07/2016, 9:05 PM
Need a change of jocks myself after that.

Well done Dundalk. Massive result

Candystripe
20/07/2016, 9:06 PM
Well done Dundalk.

Feckin hell..me nerves. That was some game for sheer excitement even if it got sloppy at times.

phew, that was like watching UCD in europe:o

Nah Nah Nah Nah
Well done - can't see them going any further based on that though

Hi Geysir!

Fester
Phew!!! Dundalk made hard work of that.

Congratulation!

20/07/2016, 9:07 PM
Hold on to the ****ing ball

Much more nervous last 15 then it needed to be. They seemed comfortable at 2-1.

20/07/2016, 9:08 PM
phew, that was like watching UCD in europe:o
:p :p

legendz
20/07/2016, 9:09 PM
Fantastic result. Congratulations Dundalk!

Europa League playoff secured. I always say our champions should get through this round at least once every 3 years. Hopefully Pat's and Cork can get positive results to go through tomorrow night.

Pablo Escobar
20/07/2016, 9:10 PM
Well done - can't see them going any further based on that though

Hi Geysir!

My bet is we won't see him.

20/07/2016, 9:11 PM
1.2 million.

Icelandic football is not as well supported as LOI football going on CL football anyway.
Icelandic football is just as poor as LOI football.
Both teams were brutal defensively, particularly Dundalk as showed over 2 games.
Dundalk midfield much more than FH, and can play a bit on the ground.
Sign the black lad.
Bate to go through by +2 goals at least.

Fair play to Dundalk and Kenny always comes across as a true gent so well deserved for him.

ForzaForth
20/07/2016, 9:18 PM
Delighted for Dundalk - hope the others can emulate them.

20/07/2016, 9:29 PM
That was a nerve-wracking last 5. Unreal.

GET in the feck DUndalk!

jinxy lilywhite
20/07/2016, 9:31 PM
What a result and **** the begrudgers.
Great 2nd half. Robbie Benson was terrific when he came on gave us more freedom to get our foot on the ball.

Made it tough for ourselves over 2 legs but **** it we are through to the next round and I cant remember the last Irish side to get past a round in the CL qualifiers

Sligo Hoops.
20/07/2016, 9:32 PM
I hope the mandarins that are the Shamrock Rovers board are watching.

El-Pietro
20/07/2016, 9:32 PM
Could be wrong, but that draw puts Ireland up to 41st in the rankings.

El-Pietro
20/07/2016, 9:33 PM
I cant remember the last Irish side to get past a round in the CL qualifiers

Shamrock Rovers in 2011/12

20/07/2016, 9:38 PM
Could be wrong, but that draw puts Ireland up to 41st in the rankings.

Yes

http://kassiesa.home.xs4all.nl/bert/uefa/data/method4/crank2017.html

legendz
20/07/2016, 9:41 PM
Shamrock Rovers in 2011/12Been too long. Averaging 1 in 5 years. Should be at least 1 in 3.
One of Cork and Pat's getting through two rounds will be great to see, both to achieve it even better.
Qualifiers are essentially cup football with playoffs being finals for teams from leagues like ours. More than two rounds is quite difficult.

ToberonaTornado
20/07/2016, 9:53 PM
That was a nerve-wracking last 5. Unreal.

GET in the feck DUndalk!

Dunny guiding the Dundalk goals home from above tonight ;)

What a result for us,cant tell you what it means atm...

Best wishes to Cork and Pats tomorrow.

20/07/2016, 10:01 PM
So, Tallaght for the BATE game?

El-Pietro
20/07/2016, 10:06 PM
Good year for Irish clubs, all four have contributed something to the coefficient which is nice to see, but too many draws (and I know City are as responsible for this as anyone). We have three teams through a round, and two still in with a shout to get through two rounds, but we have only 2 wins, and 6 draws. Our best recent year was in 2014 when, Sligo, Dundalk and Derry all got through a round each, but managed 7 wins and 2 draws. That gave us 2 points, we're at 1.25 so far, though with a minimum of 6 games to play remaining.

WoodquayBoy
20/07/2016, 10:08 PM
Delighted for Dundalk, well done especially to O'Donnell and Horgan.
Can someone explain for the uneducated like myself: I know they are into final Europa League qualifiers if they lose to BATE. But if they win, does that see them into final qualifying round for Champions League group stages with the parachute of guaranteed Europa League group stages?

20/07/2016, 10:12 PM
i think so, yes

20/07/2016, 10:14 PM
It does, yep.

Need to improve though. But this is how Shels' great run started - 2-2 in Iceland and 1-1 at home.

WoodquayBoy
20/07/2016, 10:15 PM
Much obliged, thanks for clarification

20/07/2016, 10:19 PM
Dunny guiding the Dundalk goals home from above tonight ;)

What a result for us,cant tell you what it means atm...

Best wishes to Cork and Pats tomorrow.

Damn right he is!

20/07/2016, 10:21 PM
So how much will Dundalk earn now, must be a nice tidy sum?

Yossarian
20/07/2016, 10:21 PM
My nerves have only settled after the end of that game. I thought we deserved to go through but some of our defending was terrible. We'll need to improve a huge amount for BATE but we have nothing to lose with the cushion of the Europa League play off. Short turnaround with the first leg on Tuesday but it's a huge opportunity for us.

Yossarian
20/07/2016, 10:24 PM
So how much will Dundalk earn now, must be a nice tidy sum?

€1.2m if we lose both the next rounds.

ger121
20/07/2016, 10:25 PM
Will the game be in Tallaght for 3rd Qual or does Oriel still meet the min standards? Would pop along to that one myself.

Yossarian
20/07/2016, 10:26 PM
Will the game be in Tallaght for 3rd Qual or does Oriel still meet the min standards? Would pop along to that one myself.

It'll be Tallaght from here on in as Oriel only meets the standard for 1st and 2nd qualifying rounds.

MeathDrog
20/07/2016, 10:28 PM
I was convinced the ref was going to give FH a peno late on when O'Donnell challenged one of their players. It wasn't a peno mind but it was one that was easy for a ref to give in front of a home crowd. Well done to him for not giving in.

Brilliant result for Dundalk. Fully deserved to go through and over the 180 minutes of football they looked to be the best team for about 140 or so of that, so you can't ask for much more.

Typical Irish soccer mentality kicked in though. It always does. Dundalk played them off the park 2nd half, then completely stop what worked well for them and nearly sh*t the bed near the end. :)

ger121
20/07/2016, 10:30 PM
Good year for Irish clubs, all four have contributed something to the coefficient which is nice to see, but too many draws (and I know City are as responsible for this as anyone). We have three teams through a round, and two still in with a shout to get through two rounds, but we have only 2 wins, and 6 draws. Our best recent year was in 2014 when, Sligo, Dundalk and Derry all got through a round each, but managed 7 wins and 2 draws. That gave us 2 points, we're at 1.25 so far, though with a minimum of 6 games to play remaining.

I always think the target is 1 point minimum. Below that is a bad year and above that is a good year. 2014 was a bumper score, yet no team got past 2 rounds. This season is an excellent one so far results/progress wise, yet the score is 1.250. Still min 6 games (maybe 8-10+) to go so that total could go up.

Am I right in thinking we've matched or exceeded the amount we are due to lose this year or was that 1.500?

20/07/2016, 10:32 PM
Delighted for Dundalk, well done especially to O'Donnell and Horgan.
Can someone explain for the uneducated like myself: I know they are into final Europa League qualifiers if they lose to BATE. But if they win, does that see them into final qualifying round for Champions League group stages with the parachute of guaranteed Europa League group stages?

No if they beat bate they are into the group stages via the champiojs route.