View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2016

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62

Ezeikial
24/07/2016, 11:20 AM
Barrett is from waterford but hes definitely been a weak link

Is that despite being from Waterford or because of it?

Bluffers guide here (He has just turned 23 years old):

http://www.dundalkfc.com/players/paddy-barrett/

White Horse
24/07/2016, 12:04 PM
Barrett is from waterford but hes definitely been a weak link doesnt look very confident probably just lackikg experience what age is he 22 or so?

Paddy definitely doesn't lack confidence. If anything, he is a little overconfident at times and has a tendency to overplay. My only reservation is that he has had limited game time this year and stepping in for Champions League games is a big ask.

dundalkfc10
24/07/2016, 12:32 PM
Knew it began with a B but Boyle popped into my head.

Eir were saying during the game when O' Donnell was booked, that he'd miss the next match. Is that not the case?

No it's 3 yellows before a suspension, He will prob miss the 2nd leg as for such a good player he is always booked

ger121
24/07/2016, 12:41 PM
No it's 3 yellows before a suspension, He will prob miss the 2nd leg as for such a good player he is always booked

Great news as he'd be a big loss.

24/07/2016, 2:31 PM
Paddy definitely doesn't lack confidence. If anything, he is a little overconfident at times and has a tendency to overplay. My only reservation is that he has had limited game time this year and stepping in for Champions League games is a big ask.
He was terrific in Iceland. One 1-on-1 saving tackle in the second half being particularly impressive. I'd still prefer to face him than Gartland though

White Horse
24/07/2016, 2:48 PM

Mostly for dissent. He should know better.

sullanefc
24/07/2016, 3:34 PM
No it's 3 yellows before a suspension, He will prob miss the 2nd leg as for such a dirty player he is always booked

Fixed your post.

ToberonaTornado
24/07/2016, 4:09 PM
Pretty much accepted he is sometimes a bit dirty notwithstanding that he's also one the best midfielders seen in the LOI for many a good day.99% of the times this is a trait with players driven to be the best they can be.

ToberonaTornado
24/07/2016, 4:10 PM
Pretty much accepted he is sometimes a bit dirty notwithstanding that he's also one the best midfielders seen in the LOI for many a good day.99% of the times this is a trait with players driven to be the best they can be.

BTW- Noticed that it took you two goes to fix that post :D

White Horse
24/07/2016, 4:41 PM
Good article on the LOI in Europe by Eamonn Sweeney in the Independent today.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/eamonn-sweeney-nun-serenading-should-begin-at-home-34907015.html

ger121
24/07/2016, 4:46 PM

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/eamonn-sweeney-nun-serenading-should-begin-at-home-34907015.html

Does he love us again now? I can't take another breakup:excruciating:

ger121
24/07/2016, 4:48 PM
Is that despite being from Waterford or because of it?

Bluffers guide here (He has just turned 23 years old):

http://www.dundalkfc.com/players/paddy-barrett/

I could have done with this yesterday!

24/07/2016, 6:02 PM

Excellent. That's a great read.

24/07/2016, 6:24 PM
http://54crew.com/news/2016/7/24/european-football-league-of-ireland-who-are-the-real-beneficiaries

Sure to stir a bit of controversy here, but how does the European games and subsequent fixture postponements affect other clubs?

White Horse
24/07/2016, 6:26 PM
http://54crew.com/news/2016/7/24/european-football-league-of-ireland-who-are-the-real-beneficiaries

Sure to stir a bit of controversy here, but how does the European games and subsequent fixture postponements affect other clubs?

I think it is fair comment. It causes havoc to the fixture schedule and adversely impacts other clubs.

24/07/2016, 6:40 PM
I think Bray have three matches out of four cancelled now - including this weekend's one against Pat's, which really didn't need to be cancelled, and then presumably Cork and Dundalk at the start of next month.

So six clean sheets in a row (including a friendly win), and a nice bit of form which saw the gap gap to the relegation zone open up, but all that's kind of out the window to an extent now.

There's no easy answer though really; I know we benefitted from it last year, even though ordinarily we'd be on the other end of it.

El-Pietro
24/07/2016, 8:07 PM
I think fixtures should be set up so that at least for the first rounds, the Euro Clubs are scheduled to play each other. That or, just don't schedule us for days you know we won't be able to play. We should perhaps be the teams who lose the home games.

The FAI are dumb though and can't see how obvious an issue this is, and how easy it is to fix.

25/07/2016, 3:19 AM
How would Dundalk and Cork fans feel about a solidarity payment of say 25% of their euro money to be divided between the other 16 loI clubs?
Rovers proposed this a few years ago when we were the ones doing well in Europe and it was shot down.

Pablo Escobar
25/07/2016, 6:56 AM

It would have been nice if he could have got our next opponents correct. Also, when he compared prize money he compared Dundalks cumulative figure against our figure for round 3. Not very well researched, but the sentiment was good at least.

25/07/2016, 9:34 AM
I think Bray have three matches out of four cancelled now - including this weekend's one against Pat's, which really didn't need to be cancelled, and then presumably Cork and Dundalk at the start of next month.

So six clean sheets in a row (including a friendly win), and a nice bit of form which saw the gap gap to the relegation zone open up, but all that's kind of out the window to an extent now.

There's no easy answer though really; I know we benefitted from it last year, even though ordinarily we'd be on the other end of it.

Can they not set out the fixtures at the start of the season, putting these clubs playing against eachother for the 3-4 weeks of the European campaign? It becomes a bit of a mini league but at least it doesn't disrupt the whole league.

Sorry just saw El-Pietro.

Can someone answer me, is the Eanna buck who is PRO for Cork, the same guy that used to post on here many moons ago?

El-Pietro
25/07/2016, 9:48 AM
Can they not set out the fixtures at the start of the season, putting these clubs playing against eachother for the 3-4 weeks of the European campaign? It becomes a bit of a mini league but at least it doesn't disrupt the whole league.

Sorry just saw El-Pietro.

Can someone answer me, is the Eanna buck who is PRO for Cork, the same guy that used to post on here many moons ago?

That would be the same Éanna. PRO is only one of his many many jobs. Hardest working man in the LOI and that is quite an achievement.

D24Saint
25/07/2016, 10:03 AM
Any Dundalk fans heading over, nobody for us made it over there in similar circumstances in regards to the quick turn around & visa issues.

El-Pietro
25/07/2016, 10:23 AM
Any Dundalk fans heading over, nobody for us made it over there in similar circumstances in regards to the quick turn around & visa issues.

Will be interesting. They had a huge crowd in Iceland in fairness to them, but many of them won't be able to afford a second round, and they were in Belarus the year before which I imagine is very expensive to get to at short notice. The Visa is a pain but you can get one at the border so it could be worse (Azerbiajan or Kazakhstan would require a trip to London to get sorted). Plus they are guaranteed another round so some might hold off for the next game.

D24Saint
25/07/2016, 10:37 AM
Plus they are guaranteed another round so some might hold off for the next game.

very good point & the game is on TV.

25/07/2016, 10:45 AM
Will be interesting. They had a huge crowd in Iceland in fairness to them, but many of them won't be able to afford a second round, and they were in Belarus the year before which I imagine is very expensive to get to at short notice. The Visa is a pain but you can get one at the border so it could be worse (Azerbiajan or Kazakhstan would require a trip to London to get sorted). Plus they are guaranteed another round so some might hold off for the next game.

I never went to the KZ embassy, you can do it fast track if you pay a bit more via postal.

25/07/2016, 11:02 AM
I never went to the KZ embassy, you can do it fast track if you pay a bit more via postal.
For Pats, post wasn't possible. Earliest possible application could be sent (from Dublin to London) was Friday. Travelling out on the Tuesday. I wouldn't trust post going from Dublin to Dublin in that time, never mind Dublin - London - Dublin

White Horse
25/07/2016, 11:10 AM

I think there will only be a handful. We had a good crowd in Iceland and most did not return until Friday. The short turn around is a killer for fans.

El-Pietro
25/07/2016, 11:11 AM

As Dodge has said, it may be possible if you have time to organise these things, but with confirmation of the game on Thursday and the game the following Thursday (or in Dundalks case Wednesday to Tuesday), no postal service is going to work.

Maybe you could apply as soon as the draw is made, but that only gives you an extra week, and fans may need their passports for the second leg.

25/07/2016, 11:26 AM
Will be interesting. They had a huge crowd in Iceland in fairness to them, but many of them won't be able to afford a second round, and they were in Belarus the year before which I imagine is very expensive to get to at short notice.

It's not expensive at short notice, but it is a lot of hassle. We had a group visa and picked if up after a four hour wait at the airport. If a fan was on the Pats charter, they could get put on the club's visa application and that would be grand.
Our flights back in 2014 weren't too expensive either really, think it was under €200. Though I did book after 24 minutes in the first leg, so 12 days in advance instead of seven for Dundalk.

ybig
25/07/2016, 12:41 PM
Big games for Dundalk and Cork during the week. Big ask for both sides especially Cork

L.T.F.C.
25/07/2016, 12:57 PM
I wouldn't mind heading to Tallaght next week as a well-wisher. Any news on tickets?

White Horse
25/07/2016, 1:01 PM
I wouldn't mind heading to Tallaght next week as a well-wisher. Any news on tickets?

Went on sale to season ticket holders yesterday. General sale from Tuesday.

Adult: €20

OAP/Full-Time 3rd Level/Second Level: €15

Juvenile (U-12s): €10

trevy
25/07/2016, 1:09 PM

Fair points there. Does any other league postpone games because their teams have European games? Clubs are struggling for money by missing home gates and when the games are refixed it is usually midweek leading to lower crowds.

jinxy lilywhite
25/07/2016, 1:28 PM
Got my ticket today over the phone.

Actually a few dubs in the office were wondering if you could get tickets for the game on the night and I asked the lady in the office. She said that the anticipation would be that the game would be sold out by then.

We checked ticketgroup then and they were there for purchase

vinnie
25/07/2016, 1:33 PM
Went on sale to season ticket holders yesterday. General sale from Tuesday.

Adult: €20

OAP/Full-Time 3rd Level/Second Level: €15

Juvenile (U-12s): €10

Jaysus thats a bit steep for kids

White Horse
25/07/2016, 2:08 PM
Jaysus thats a bit steep for kids

Yeah, it should only be a fiver.

Edit. 1,600 tickets sold yesterday and today. Not a bad start.

mcgonigle
25/07/2016, 3:34 PM
I think there will only be a handful. We had a good crowd in Iceland and most did not return until Friday. The short turn around is a killer for fans.

Only 4 went over with the team, would have been 5 if the flight was a bit later yesterday :mad:

A few more will probably show up on the night, I've heard of at least one that is planning to drive! The visa is the killer

dundalkfc10
25/07/2016, 3:38 PM
Got my ticket today over the phone.

Actually a few dubs in the office were wondering if you could get tickets for the game on the night and I asked the lady in the office. She said that the anticipation would be that the game would be sold out by then.

We checked ticketgroup then and they were there for purchase

No chance it will be sold out!

MeathDrog
25/07/2016, 5:09 PM
6,000 capacity which isn't a huge amount, Dundalk will have a big following for a game like this. Still only an hour away. I reckon it will sell out, especially if tie is still in the balance by then.

25/07/2016, 6:01 PM
If the prices were 15/10/5 there would have been a bigger chance of selling out. As it is, I can't see it selling out.

White Horse
25/07/2016, 6:16 PM
6,000 capacity which isn't a huge amount, Dundalk will have a big following for a game like this. Still only an hour away. I reckon it will sell out, especially if tie is still in the balance by then.

There is a chance if it is the balance.

However, it is being televised and when you combine the ticket price with the cost of transport it does add up, particularly if you are taking children.

D24Saint
25/07/2016, 6:21 PM
Tallaght stadium is only up the road so i'm planning on heading up but object to €20 in.

Yossarian
25/07/2016, 6:33 PM
If the prices were 15/10/5 there would have been a bigger chance of selling out. As it is, I can't see it selling out.

I agree with this. I think we could get away with the dearer price in Oriel with the restriction on capacity, but the fact that there is travel involved in getting to Tallaght, the price of the tickets will put a good few off, particularly as the game is on TV.
The prices mentioned by Nigel would have been sufficient and would have ensured a good crowd. I hope the game is still in the balance otherwise it won't be a good crowd.
I think the club are only selling tickets for the West Stand at the moment and will sell for the East if the West sells out.

ger121
25/07/2016, 7:04 PM
3 of us planning on going to Tallaght. Could be more. Probably won't sell-out but I'm sure there will be a healthy attendance anyway.

jinxy lilywhite
25/07/2016, 8:20 PM

Was only relaying what I was told.

Obviously a favourable result tomorrow night would be great for the attendance.

25/07/2016, 8:22 PM
Don't be silly, of course it will sell out. Sure Stephen Kenny wants to play it in Croke Park.

25/07/2016, 8:23 PM
5 euro lads ffs maybe 10 to 15 extra for a family.

patrickccfc
25/07/2016, 8:41 PM

Anyone else notice that he got KRC GENK mixed up with KAA GENT when saying that GENK were in the last 16 of the champions league last year?

25/07/2016, 9:30 PM
Don't be silly, of course it will sell out. Sure Stephen Kenny wants to play it in Croke Park.

He wants to play it five times. The residents aren't happy.

Eminence Grise
26/07/2016, 8:01 AM
Hear he's rehearsing Calling Bate Rouge to get the crowd going! Shamsless - what we were after the first round of Euro games this season, and finishing up with Friends in No Places (special request for the RTE sports department).