View Full Version : League of Ireland in Europe 2016
Straightstory
29/09/2016, 10:28 PM
Any highlights or anything?
Coming upon ITV just now...
(Was at the game. Fantastic stuff).
MeathDrog
29/09/2016, 10:36 PM
Dundalk trending was 10th in the WORLD on Twitter. Amazing really.
29/09/2016, 10:37 PM
Probably worth missing out on the CL group stages for?
davidatrb
29/09/2016, 10:46 PM
Is it bugging anyone else or just me that BT Sport keep referring to Dundalk as semi pro, and throw in comments like they will need to book time off work for their long trip to zenit? The top players are surely getting a decent wage 1000 per week? Training full time?
I know they're not on ludicrous wages like some prem or liga players. But it's not like they are postmen, teachers and milkmen - they are football players for a living, give them a bit more respect!
Might be just because of my wiki battles trying to convince LoI is fully pro to justify the players having their own articles. But it bugs me.
Reminds me of how Gretna described Derry as a pub team and then Derry went over there and knocked 5 goals past them...
sparky12345678
29/09/2016, 11:02 PM
GREAT To See this result. This was exactly what we had been talking about looking at the draw. Dundalk have built the right momemtum. Sure the next two games will be the hardest but the first game is at home, a draw cant be beyond the realms of possibility and ok the away game will be tough but you have to lose one (right?), plus the Alkmaar Home game which again a draw is also possible... leading into the final/showdown game away to Maccabi which will also be tough but if Dundalk have more to play for than Maccabi at that stage...?
White Horse
29/09/2016, 11:05 PM
No team can squander that many chances against a technically superior team and hope to win.
Tel Aviv didn't squander any chances. They had none. ????
davidatrb
29/09/2016, 11:07 PM
Probably worth missing out on the CL group stages for?
Yes! Look at Legia Warsaw now!
jinxy lilywhite
29/09/2016, 11:09 PM
That was unreal.
Over the week I was feeling a little insulted from irish media claiming that Maccabi were royalty compared to us but they are poor.
Kenny keeps taking us further and further. With this man at the helm who knows where we will go. The national team can stay the **** away if they want him :) :) :).
4 points out of 6 is amazing.
We are the greatest loi team of all time.
29/09/2016, 11:35 PM
How much money is that now?
I for one welcome our new Louth overlords.
Of course you would, you're from Limerick.
Great performance by Dundalk again. They've raised the bar and their calmness is something all teams can learn from in this league. Killer has two Europa League goals... I can't get my head around that.
Yossarian
29/09/2016, 11:56 PM
Only home now after a couple of post match refreshments, I still can't get over that game. I thought we deserved it, we had more chances and looked a lot more interested.
Even if we lose the next two games I think 2nd place is still there for us as Zenit will probably win all their games. 7 points might even be enough. I've my trip already booked for Tel Aviv and it's great now that there could be something riding on the game.
SwanVsDalton
30/09/2016, 12:10 AM
Marvellous stuff from Dundalk who thoroughly deserved to win. They're tearing it up and showing the world us backwater gombeens can play a bit of ball.
Now, do overdo the celebrations and forget all about Sunday lads. That'd be just grand.
fieldofmarkets
30/09/2016, 2:57 AM
Bloody work, missed the game but well done Dundalk, the whole league is behind you.
30/09/2016, 4:01 AM
That was unreal.
Over the week I was feeling a little insulted from irish media claiming that Maccabi were royalty compared to us but they are poor.
Kenny keeps taking us further and further. With this man at the helm who knows where we will go. The national team can stay the **** away if they want him :).
4 points out of 6 is amazing.
We are the greatest loi team of all time.
Or maybe we are just very very good ;)
30/09/2016, 4:06 AM
Marvellous stuff from Dundalk who thoroughly deserved to win. They're tearing it up and showing the world us backwater gombeens can play a bit of ball.
Now, do overdo the celebrations and forget all about Sunday lads. That'd be just grand.
Dean Shiels is nice and fresh for Sunday! ;)
legendz
30/09/2016, 7:06 AM
Is it bugging anyone else or just me that BT Sport keep referring to Dundalk as semi pro, and throw in comments like they will need to book time off work for their long trip to zenit? The top players are surely getting a decent wage 1000 per week? Training full time?
I'm not surprised they are referring to them as semi-professional. A lot of international media will be mentioning that to put their achievements in context. The BBC match report also mentioned they are semi-professional.
7 points might even be enough. I've my trip already booked for Tel Aviv and it's great now that there could be something riding on the game.If ye are level on points with AZ when they come to Tallaght, ye'll go into the game knowing a win will put ye through.
Straightstory
30/09/2016, 7:43 AM
There'll be a lot of extra interest now for the Zenith game - a 'top of the table clash'.
Can they/should they/are they even allowed to put stands behind the goal which Rovers had in place when they were in the Europa? What would that bring the capacity up to?
I can't be the only one starting to suspect Stephen Kenny has cracked the secret of making life into Football Manager and every time they screw up he just kills the program and replays the game.
There'll be a lot of extra interest now for the Zenith game - a 'top of the table clash'.
Can they/should they/are they even allowed to put stands behind the goal which Rovers had in place when they were in the Europa? What would that bring the capacity up to?
No, they're not allowed.
DeLorean
30/09/2016, 9:18 AM
Sure the next two games will be the hardest but the first game is at home, a draw cant be beyond the realms of possibility
No doubt it was mentioned earlier in this thread but I only read last night that Maccabi led Zenit 3-0 going into the last 13 minutes before losing 4-3. Dundalk can surely take something from that in light of how ordinary they made the Israelis look last night. The biggest concern would probably be Zenit having top spot secured when they travel to play Alkmaar on match day 6.
30/09/2016, 9:20 AM
Other way of looking at it is Zenit beat Maccabi 4-0 in the space of 15 minutes (granted, against ten men) and beat Alkmaar 5-0 last night - so they're well able to rack up the goals when they want.
If Dundalk were going to qualify from this group, it was always going to be with one team (probably Zenit) winning all six, and the runner-up qualifying on a low points tally. And so far, that's what's happening.
No team can squander that many chances against a technically superior team and hope to win.
Agreed, we'll have to bear that in mind when we find a technically superior team to play against ;)
Unbelievable night, unbelievable performance. Just wish we had Horgan on a 5 year contract. Kenny's team just keep exceeding expectations. Hard to believe Chris Shields captained Dundalk to a 7-0 loss at the same venue four year and one day before. Now he looks comfortable in EL groups, likewise the likes of Gartland, Massey, Gannon and Boyle who nobody else in the league wanted in 2013.
And Dundalk have now won as many European games at Tallaght as Shamrock Rovers!
A sell-out crowd of 5,543 crowd in Tallaght Stadium last nights according to BBC Sport News.
Straightstory
30/09/2016, 9:39 AM
No, they're not allowed.
Why is that - if Rovers could do it a few years ago?
seand
30/09/2016, 10:20 AM
And the coefficient..... Ireland are up to 37th from 41st. Unlikely that Dundalk will drag Ireland up any further but no country below 37 is still active, so we won't drop from there.
Dundalk's provisional coefficient is up to 5.815- potentially enough to be seeded in our first game in the CL next season, if we qualify.
DeLorean
30/09/2016, 10:27 AM
Other way of looking at it is Zenit beat Maccabi 4-0 in the space of 15 minutes (granted, against ten men) and beat Alkmaar 5-0 last night - so they're well able to rack up the goals when they want.
If Dundalk were going to qualify from this group, it was always going to be with one team (probably Zenit) winning all six, and the runner-up qualifying on a low points tally. And so far, that's what's happening.
Oh yeah, for sure, I was just looking at the fact that a relatively ordinary side went into a 3-0 lead against them. In that context maybe a draw isn't out of the question, in the home game anyway. Dundalk should probably try to go up 4-0 though just to be sure. :)
30/09/2016, 10:35 AM
Why is that - if Rovers could do it a few years ago?
Dundalk have already asked for dispensation to play in a stadium with less than 8,000 seats so apparently they can't ask for another dispensation for temporary seating
They are very expensive too. It'd just about cover it's cost if the sold it
Ezeikial
30/09/2016, 11:43 AM
For Dundalk to qualify it certainly does not require Zenit to win all of their six matches - winning the four against Maccabi and Alkmaar would be fine though.
30/09/2016, 11:52 AM
Without being over emotional it's at Moments like this i look towards the heavens and say Hello & thank you to my oul mate Dunny(rip) above and have a good chortle with him :D This is incredible.
This really is some team,should have won by more to.
No league either in the country which make the result all the more unbelievable.
Will still be drunk for the Derry game on Sunday after this! Yeehaaaaaa!!!
Couldn't get to see it last night and all I was thinking of was Dunny as the result came through.
RIP lad and thanks to the town for this European journey!
30/09/2016, 11:54 AM
For Dundalk to qualify it certainly does not require Zenit to win all of their six matches - winning the four against Maccabi and Alkmaar would be fine though.
Effectively the same thing.
But while Dundalk keep on exceeding expectations, it's hard to see how they'll take a point off Zenit, who are a serious step ahead of either AZ or Maccabi (as their results have shown)
30/09/2016, 12:41 PM
Fine yes, but also impossible.
30/09/2016, 1:16 PM
I presume he means Zenit to win all four v Maccabi and Alkmaar, which is possible.
They don't have to win their two against Dundalk, as I'd added.
redarmyfaction
30/09/2016, 1:17 PM
Bar Dundalk.
Dundalk were the technically superior team.
I think he means in total.
so 120k with the 360k plus the 7.1mil or whatever it was.
I think Dundalk have taken in just over 6M to date from the euro run, 6.2M is the figure I heard after last nights 360k was added in. The most interesting part of the windfall is the club have taken in almost half a million from two games in the group (so far) compared to 100k for winning the 2014 league, I think that's increased to 120k now, still an incredible figure.
Based on the first two performances there is scope to collect even more money from this group, qualifying in second place is achievable but it will still be very difficult.
On the match itself, there were fantastic performances all over the park, McEleney and Finn were excellent and Shields was just superb in O'Donnell's role, and still he isn't guaranteed a first team spot. The defence is looking rock solid, and Rogers wasn't really troubled that much last night as a result.
Bit of a break now, next EL match not for 3 weeks, home to Zenit, now that will be a tasty one.
30/09/2016, 3:17 PM
I was working through the night and never got to see the game and only heard the result when I finished work. massive congrats to dundalk what a performance. really looking forward to seeing the game on sky+ over the coming days.
ger121
30/09/2016, 3:28 PM
I only found out at my Wedding last night. This is some serious team. To be doing this on 3 fronts is quite simply, phenomenal.
30/09/2016, 3:56 PM
Dundalk are better than I had given them credit for and they are still improving with every game at this level.
Previous to Dundalk in the EL group stage, did no LOI club ever actively apply for a dispensation from Uefa to use their home ground even if it fell short of the written criteria for category 3 and category 4?
30/09/2016, 4:17 PM
Rovers enquired about a dispensation and were told it wasn't possible. They got a dispensation for a temporary stand instead on the understanding a permanent one would be installed. Not sure why Dundalk were allowed a dispensation.
legendz
30/09/2016, 5:38 PM
Based on the first two performances there is scope to collect even more money from this group, qualifying in second place is achievable but it will still be very difficult.
Dundalk are better than I had given them credit for and they are still improving with every game at this level.There is scope alright. At the same time, good teams learn and improve. AZ and Tel Aviv will naturally know a lot more about Dundalk when they meet later in the group. Both took Dundalk for granted. After a period of Dundalk pressure in the first half that led to a corner, some of the Tel Aviv players seemed to have a hissy fit. They were not expecting such a difficult night. Turning up at Tallaght probably reminded them of playing in stadia when they were U16's. Zenit will test weaknesses of Dundalk. AZ and Tel Aviv will be watching with interest. There's still obviously a lot to play for and the final group table will tell a lot.
Previous to Dundalk in the EL group stage, did no LOI club ever actively apply for a dispensation from Uefa to use their home ground even if it fell short of the written criteria for category 3 and category 4?
Rovers enquired about a dispensation and were told it wasn't possible. They got a dispensation for a temporary stand instead on the understanding a permanent one would be installed. Not sure why Dundalk were allowed a dispensation.Rovers were the first Irish club to make the group stage. It would appear lessons were learned from that occasion.
Are there a number of that Rovers team in the current Dundalk team?
I would still rate Shelbourne '04 as a better team and better European performance. They lost out in the final CL qualifying round to a recent semi-finalist. There was no champions route at the time. In the first round proper of the UEFA Cup Shelbourne arguably had a tougher opponent than AZ or Tel Aviv.
The 12 years it took for another LoI team to make the final CL qualifying round and the fact that only 2 champions in the past 8 attempts have made CLQ3 are reasons for nights like last night to be enjoyed. It could be another 3 or 4 years before there is a European run like this.
I'm enjoying the positive reaction to the league from those around me. It will take consistent progress in Europe, which generate positive gimmick-free headlines for the league, to partly help improve the perception of the league. Not much changed after Shelbourne's run in '04.
I know of a few who arranged a work night out to take in the league cup final in the Market's Field. They are talking of more night in the Market's Field when Dundalk and Cork City visit next season. Limerick's return to the Market's Field has helped to build a connect. The respect earned by Dundalk and Cork then is adding to that. It's a positive development for the league's crowds if more people start to see the league as a good night out.
30/09/2016, 5:50 PM
Are there a number of that Rovers team in the current Dundalk team?
Four: Finn, O'Donnell, Kilduff and Gannon. The first three all played in the Europa League and Gannon was in the squad.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/09/2016, 6:20 PM
Dundalk should be hoping for 2 draws or one win for each team in the Alkmaar / Macaabi games. They'll be second going into the last 2 games then no matter what happens against Zenit.
Great occasion out there last night. Really impressive performance. A pleasure to be at.
legendz
30/09/2016, 6:23 PM
Four: Finn, O'Donnell, Kilduff and Gannon. The first three all played in the Europa League and Gannon was in the squad.Thanks for that info. Shelbourne '04 were an inspiration for champions that followed, leaving a side the financial gambling of course.
Shamrock Rovers then brought Irish football back to a high level. There are signs that it is a help for Dundalk to have players who have experience of Europa League. Like anything in life, previous experience is beneficial to the current campaign. Rovers '11 made new ground making the group stage. Dundalk are building on that and raising the bar. Kenny's time with Derry as well and that great run in the summer of '06. PSG were some opponent to take on in the then knock-out first round.
TheOneWhoKnocks
30/09/2016, 6:51 PM
“I have spoken to him,” O’Neill added. “He is a very nice footballer. He has been on the radar for some time. We have had him watched. Roy saw him not so long ago.
“The time he did see him play he actually came back and said it probably wasn’t his best game, which I think Conor agreed with.
But he can definitely play and he seems to have taken more responsibility on the field too.
“Hopefully, if he continues to improve the way he is going, that at some stage or another that he should make the squad.”
O'Neill's famous motivation skills.
He should take a leaf out of Kenny's book.
30/09/2016, 8:13 PM
I would still rate Shelbourne '04 as a better team and better European performance. They lost out in the final CL qualifying round to a recent semi-finalist. There was no champions route at the time. In the first round proper of the UEFA Cup Shelbourne arguably had a tougher opponent than AZ or Tel Aviv.
Was that a serious remark?
30/09/2016, 8:34 PM
Rovers enquired about a dispensation and were told it wasn't possible. They got a dispensation for a temporary stand instead on the understanding a permanent one would be installed. Not sure why Dundalk were allowed a dispensation.
I would doubt that it was a serious enquiry because Uefa have been giving dispensations aplenty to other teams to allow them to play qualifiers on their modest home grounds, even when a cat 3 stadium was 2 or 3km away.
patrickccfc
30/09/2016, 8:42 PM
You beat me to this post
legendz
30/09/2016, 8:46 PM
You beat me to this postElaborate on what ye are asking...
Ezeikial
30/09/2016, 8:53 PM
Effectively the same thing.
But while Dundalk keep on exceeding expectations, it's hard to see how they'll take a point off Zenit, who are a serious step ahead of either AZ or Maccabi (as their results have shown)
Fine yes, but also impossible.
Dundalk's chances of upsetting higher ranked opposition being dismissed again?
30/09/2016, 9:05 PM
Again?
I noted earlier in the thread that Irish teams knocked out Israeli and Dutch teams the last time they met.
I do think Zenit will be a step too much - but either way, Zenit steamrolling the group is a good thing for Dundalk.
In other news, Killer in the official team of the week, alongside Totti up front
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ctl5UUHXYAExVQz.jpg
30/09/2016, 9:09 PM
I would doubt that it was a serious enquiry because Uefa have been giving dispensations aplenty to other teams to allow them to play qualifiers on their modest home grounds, even when a cat 3 stadium was 2 or 3km away.
I assume they've lowered their standards then because they didn't spunk a couple of hundred grand or whatever it was on a temporary stand out of solidarity with the construction industry.
30/09/2016, 9:10 PM
Elaborate on what ye are asking...
You really believe that Shelbourne team to be better than the current Dundalk team? You really believe that Lille side were far superior to AZ or Maccabi Tel Aviv?