View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders
seanfhear
29/11/2023, 11:03 AM
This is South American stuff
big difference between Denis O brien giving funds with no say in hiring ( as i understood it)
This is suggesting the guy will only pony up if its his choice of Bruce
Sort of making Steve Bruce a, Made Man ! ! !
Unless Steve Bruce is going to subsidise his own wages (wink)
It's more than likely BS and has gotten O'Riordan the clicks he wanted because the only one that desperate to see Steve Bruce in a job is Bruce himself.
EalingGreen
29/11/2023, 3:42 PM
Imagine subsidising the managers wages and you still get Steve Bruce. The man that was recently doing an interviewing saying he'll take any job in football.I wonder whether the "outside investor" might not be a certain Mr. Ecurb?
https://i.imgflip.com/65fq3l.jpg
(Assuming the subsidy is less than 100%)
Razors left peg
29/11/2023, 4:01 PM
There would be tumbleweeds through Lansdown Road on match days if Bruce gets the job
Eirambler
29/11/2023, 4:24 PM
The thing is though, Bruce would probably be a considerable upgrade on his predecessor if he got the job. Don't get me wrong, he wouldn't be my pick, but four Championship promotions, an FA Cup final and a Premier League manager of the month award is miles ahead of anything Stephen Kenny achieved and would actually probably be one of the stronger CVs in the submission list for the job.
Razors left peg
29/11/2023, 4:56 PM
The thing is though, Bruce would probably be a considerable upgrade on his predecessor if he got the job. Don't get me wrong, he wouldn't be my pick, but four Championship promotions, an FA Cup final and a Premier League manager of the month award is miles ahead of anything Stephen Kenny achieved and would actually probably be one of the stronger CVs in the submission list for the job.
Look, anyone who has managed in the top few divisions in England on paper would have a stronger resume than Kenny, but it doesnt mean Id pick a lot of them. If your criteria is has "managed better clubs than Stephen Kenny" you might as well add someone like Joey Barton into the list.
We want someone who actually gives a sh1t about Irish football. For all of Kennys faults he cared about the senior team and had a vision for the future of Irish football. He wasnt capable of implementing it but it doesnt mean we throw the baby out with the bathwater. I absolutely do not want someone who is only interested in picking up a paycheck. Bruce, Allardyce and any other English league washed up manager would not give 2 fcuks about anything outside of how much they get paid for a retirement gig. If we want a man on the English circuit who could be a decent manager I would suggest Dean Smith, but I havent seen his name listed anywhere.
Lennon, Keane and Hughton I would have in a separate bracket because while I personally dont think they are good managers, I dont think it would just be a paycheck for them. I just think they would all be crap.
I would genuinely rather Robbie Keane or Damien Duff than the vast majority of people linked. Carsley is the overwhelming favorite for me still, but if that isnt going to happen I hope that the process is not rushed.
Eirambler
29/11/2023, 5:40 PM
Yes I'm the same to an extent - Carsley first pick and we'll see where we go if he says no. But would Bruce be any more of a mercenary than Neil Lennon or Roy Keane? Granted they're both Irish, but if it came to it I'd see both of them putting themselves first. Bruce is probably a better manager than either of those two, albeit that's not saying a whole lot.
29/11/2023, 5:46 PM
Granted they're both Irish
Bruce's mother is Irish and his son played for Ireland (both Irelands in fact). He wouldn't be a complete outsider in that regard
Razors left peg
29/11/2023, 5:49 PM
Yes I'm the same to an extent - Carsley first pick and we'll see where we go if he says no. But would Bruce be any more of a mercenary than Neil Lennon or Roy Keane? Granted they're both Irish, but if it came to it I'd see both of them putting themselves first. Bruce is probably a better manager than either of those two, albeit that's not saying a whole lot.
Lennon has probably the best peak high end achievement than any of them in that he got Celtic to knockout stages of Champions League, but by time he left Celtic he was a disgrace.
Bruce is probably just what Roy Keane would be with a longer managerial career. Both had reasonable success in Championship, both poor at times in Championship. Both ok for a time in Premiership and both crap in Premiership.... Bruce has just kept that same trajectory going for much longer
Razors left peg
29/11/2023, 5:50 PM
Bruce's mother is Irish and his son played for Ireland (both Irelands in fact). He wouldn't be a complete outsider in that regard
Bruces son jumped ship to the North when he wasnt getting picked so was his heart really in it?
Don't think it would be anymore of a paycheck for Bruce than it would for Lennon, Keane, or Hughton. All four lads have something to prove and need a job where they can prove to clubs they've still got something to offer.
29/11/2023, 6:15 PM
Bruces son jumped ship to the North when he wasnt getting picked so was his heart really in it?
Maybe. Or you could say that - given Bruce's mother was from the North, Bruce junior was more interested than many in his position.
Steve looked into playing for us at one stage too
Razors left peg
29/11/2023, 6:17 PM
Only after it was clear that he wouldnt play for England. Let just not pretend hes Irish.
29/11/2023, 6:28 PM
For sure. But let's not pretend he's a complete outsider either
Razors left peg
29/11/2023, 6:38 PM
For sure. But let's not pretend he's a complete outsider either
I'll agree to that if we can agree not to pretend hes a good manager either :)
29/11/2023, 6:42 PM
I can't work that one out tbh. He's clearly not Pep. Probably not a Premier League manager really. But he's won promotion a number of times so he has something about him. It may be the game has passed him by at this stage so I don't know if I'd be overly enamored. We could do worse, but that's not huge praise
EalingGreen
29/11/2023, 9:18 PM
"[Steve Bruce's] late mother Sheenagh was born in Bangor but he rejected an invite from Jack Charlton to declare for [Republic of] Ireland in time for the 1994 World Cup.
Bruce later revealed that his Manchester United boss Alex Ferguson thwarted the move due to the limits UEFA imposed at the time on foreign players lining out for clubs in European competitions."
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41274994.html
As for Alex B, when approached by both NI and ROI, he explained his choice as follows:
"I'm very flattered that Northern Ireland and the Republic are both showing an interest in me. But I think I'm going to pick the Republic purely because I think they are a better team."
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2006/0130/200842-bruce/
Then when it transpired that you were a better team without him, he switched to NI, where two appearances in friendlies away to Malta and Cyprus(!) told us that we were better without him too.
Diggs246
30/11/2023, 6:44 AM
I can't work that one out tbh. He's clearly not Pep. Probably not a Premier League manager really. But he's won promotion a number of times so he has something about him. It may be the game has passed him by at this stage so I don't know if I'd be overly enamored. We could do worse, but that's not huge praise
I think the way to think is, is he a better candidate then Lennon and Keane. I would say yes
Is he better then hughton. I don't know that a close call
Is he better then Carsely. I would say no.
So you have to be satisfied with him, but not thrilled!
30/11/2023, 10:49 AM
I'd be thoroughly dissatisfied.
Diggs246
30/11/2023, 11:11 AM
I'd be thoroughly dissatisfied.
If you absolutely had to pick one of the following who would you go with ? because if carsley says no, it probably will be one of them
Lennon
Keane
Bruce
hughton
seanfhear
30/11/2023, 11:15 AM
If you absolutely had to pick one of the following who would you go with ? because if carsley says no, it probably will be one of them
Lennon
Keane
Bruce
hughton
Kenny (wink)
30/11/2023, 11:28 AM
Lennon
Keane
Bruce
hughton
Probably Hughton of that list but I think there are far more potential candidates than that.
LurcherLover
30/11/2023, 12:08 PM
I think Canham has a left field candidate lined up if they can't persuade Carsley. I'd like to think so, I should say. If it's any of the above names, they(FAI) haven't moved forward at all in terms of progression. That list of names would excite me as much as Kenny getting a new contract.
backstothewall
30/11/2023, 2:18 PM
Lennon
Keane
Bruce
hughton
Hughton and it isn't close
seanfhear
30/11/2023, 2:22 PM
Why not Gus Poyet, if he was interested ?
Who wouldn't want a bit of Uruguay-an, know-how and attitude ?
From one of the great footballing countries ( especially considering its size )
Diggs246
30/11/2023, 3:07 PM
Why not Gus Poyet, if he was interested ?
Who wouldn't want a bit of Uruguay-an, know-how and attitude ?
From one of the great footballing countries ( especially considering its size )
Fair enough if he is interested
I've my suspicions that he's looking for a better deal from the Greek FA
But who knows
NeverFeltBetter
30/11/2023, 3:10 PM
Hughton, Bruce, Lennon and Keane is the order I'd put those choices in. Hughton doesn't hugely excite me, but his CV is decent and I like what I've heard about the work he had done at some clubs. Bruce isn't a bad manager relatively speaking, but I don't think he'd be the right fit at this stage in his career. Lennon I've always felt extremely over-rated as a manager, with little to talk about outside of the very small pond of Scotland. Keane (I assume Roy) has seen the game pass him by in terms of managerial style, someone of his temperament would be a disaster with young players these days.
Poyet would be an interesting choice, but I don't see it happening. He'd presumably want wages the FAI would be disinclined to go for.
LurcherLover
30/11/2023, 3:38 PM
Barring his recent result, Irish fans would have been calling for Poyet to get sacked if he had the results with us that he had with Greece.
ontheotherhand
30/11/2023, 6:35 PM
This is depressing stuff. We could just fold the team until the young lads get to develop a bit more. Would save us a fortune and a lot of **** poor viewing.
Fixer82
30/11/2023, 8:03 PM
I love Roy Keane but I don’t see that going well.
of those options I would choose in order:
Hughton
Carsley
Bruce
Lennon/Keane
30/11/2023, 8:25 PM
Brian McDermott was mentioned as a possibility on Off The Ball earlier
He's working as director of football at Hibs at the moment
ltfc_2004
01/12/2023, 9:29 AM
The thing is no matter who the manager is, what is our best XI and what formation. Most of the XI who played France or Holland will be in the next managers XI no matter who is chosen as the manager.
If we revert to being hard to beat, solid at the back and more direct but qualify no one will care who the manager is in reality.
01/12/2023, 10:10 AM
Funny, I was only thinking about him last week.
01/12/2023, 10:20 AM
He was in the berkely court before a game once, must have taken 100 photos
seanfhear
01/12/2023, 10:28 AM
He was in the berkely court before a game once, must have taken 100 photosYou had great patience to put up with him taking that many photos of you ! ! !
01/12/2023, 10:47 AM
He was in the berkely court before a game once, must have taken 100 photos
An erstwhile poster on here and I drove up to St. George's Park (2012?) for a friendly betweeen England U21s and a makeshift U21 Irish team to help them prepare for the Euros. Our team was beyond atrocious. Theirs had John Stones who stood out.
But to our left was Roy Hodgson, about to take England to Dublin for a friendly, and right in front of us were Pat Dolan and McDermott. Hodgson was a gent, Dolan and McDermott just talked to each other about takeaway food throught the game! They did point out that Pierce Sweeney looked fat.
weldoninhio
01/12/2023, 11:26 AM
Hughton, Bruce, Lennon and Keane is the order I'd put those choices in. Hughton doesn't hugely excite me, but his CV is decent and I like what I've heard about the work he had done at some clubs. Bruce isn't a bad manager relatively speaking, but I don't think he'd be the right fit at this stage in his career. Lennon I've always felt extremely over-rated as a manager, with little to talk about outside of the very small pond of Scotland. Keane (I assume Roy) has seen the game pass him by in terms of managerial style, someone of his temperament would be a disaster with young players these days.
Poyet would be an interesting choice, but I don't see it happening. He'd presumably want wages the FAI would be disinclined to go for.
I think he’s currently on less than what we were paying Kenny.
01/12/2023, 1:49 PM
Barring his recent result, Irish fans would have been calling for Poyet to get sacked if he had the results with us that he had with Greece.
id say he had the kind of campaign that would have saved SK position as manager tbh.
01/12/2023, 2:01 PM
Yeah, it's a bit of a harsh one I think.
Won the Nations League (third tier - but that wasn't his fault) with five wins out of six.
Outperformed us in every way in the World Cup group really. Obviously beat us home and away, but drew with France at home (who admittedly had already qualified) and lost 1-0 away with ten men. Only lost to a 93rd minute penalty against Holland at home. 3-0 away the only bad result. And if we're honest, though we kept France/Holland close on the scoreboard in both away games, we were outclassed.
Couple of poor friendly results (draws against Malta and Lithuania, defeat to Montenegro) but they'll get overlooked if competitive results are good.
LurcherLover
01/12/2023, 5:00 PM
Results aside, look at the way Poyet has been acting recently essentially coming out and saying he's interested in one role while still in another role. He'll be taking the role solely for the money and not a care in the world about walking away from the current role he is in. Hes going An absolute loose cannon who would be of no benefit to us. Just my personal opinion though.
Razors left peg
01/12/2023, 5:15 PM
Results aside, look at the way Poyet has been acting recently essentially coming out and saying he's interested in one role while still in another role. He'll be taking the role solely for the money and not a care in the world about walking away from the current role he is in. Hes going An absolute loose cannon who would be of no benefit to us. Just my personal opinion though.
Id agree, we only think hes a good manager cos he beat us twice, but thats not a high bar and the rest of his managerial career has been pretty mediocre. He'd be an entertaining personality in the short term but you could see it going pear shaped very quickly
Jolly Red Giant
01/12/2023, 5:19 PM
Ferguson stopped him - he would have been classed as a foreign player and Ferguson told him he'd never play for Man U again if he declared for Ireland.
And wouldn't want him as Ireland manager
Jolly Red Giant
01/12/2023, 5:21 PM
Interesting one - and not one I'd be adverse to
01/12/2023, 5:39 PM
Well ok, but you did specifically reference his results twice in your post and not his hobnobbing for a different job in fairness.
LurcherLover
01/12/2023, 7:07 PM
Well ok, but you did specifically reference his results twice in your post and not his hobnobbing for a different job in fairness.
Because some seem to think he would be a good candidate based on what he has acheived with Greece, which I can't understand. His competitive wins have come against teams all well lower ranked: Cyprus(103), Kosovo(109), The North, Gibraltar and us twice. He has also drew friendlies with Malta & Lithuania, been beaten by Montenegro and in NL games by Cyprus. Add these on top of someone who is using press conferences as a job search tool and this is someone who we want to come in take the Ireland roll? All the talk of change, development etc and Gus Poyet is the answer? He's as low down the pecking as the likes of Lennon etc for me.
I think a big part of it is that we have the recent evidence of our own eyes that he would be a big step up from SK given that he completely outclassed / out thought kenny in the two games in our group. Recency bias perhaps but it was a stark contrast.
02/12/2023, 4:15 PM
I think a big part of it is that we have the recent evidence of our own eyes that he would be a big step up from SK given that he completely outclassed / out thought kenny in the two games in our group. Recency bias perhaps but it was a stark contrast.
It's possible that he's quite an ordinary manager and he thoroughly outclassed Kenny. Those are not necessarily contraditions.
LurcherLover
02/12/2023, 5:40 PM
Of course, but surely the FAI aren't using Kenny as benchmark for the next manager.
It's possible that he's quite an ordinary manager and he thoroughly outclassed Kenny. Those are not necessarily contraditions.
don't disagree at all. just making the observation that that's a large part of the reason why people are looking favourably on poyet as a potential candidate.
04/12/2023, 3:41 PM
Chris Wilder set to return to Sheff U.
They were incredibly well coached in their first season back in the EPL a few years ago. They had a really clear way of playing, the way they hunted in packs without the ball in particulat stood out. He's a candidate I'd have considered. Not your typical north of England club manager.