View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55

backstothewall
19/10/2023, 12:09 AM
And you made me laugh with the Stephen Kenny and the English language bit. My take on Kenny is he can speak the English language but no one has the foggiest what he is saying as he rambles up and down and all around . Comparing him with Trapatoni was pretty clever.

Perhaps a little bit tongue in cheek. I had a smile on my face typing it. But it's one of those ones that's funny because there's some truth in it. It's the same rambling style of half sentances and unfinished toughts that trail off. Trap had an excuse of course.

He means as a people, as a society, obviously.
Brexit, right leaning populist PM during it. Inward looking islanders, etc.

I do.

A couple of bad results and our supporters will start looking at someone like Dean Smith with the sort of derision usually reserved for cockney knobheads in Burberry flip flops trying to convince them to go into a bar in some resort on the Med with the offer of a free shot and the promise of there being "loads of birds in there".

elatedscum
19/10/2023, 12:52 AM
2. The lack of a sponsor - What is Hill doing in England that we can't even get a sponsor for the international side? I know we are bad but fans are still showing up. If we can't get someone to pay why aren't we promoting a good cause on the jersey?

I will say that 95% of international sides don’t put a sponsor on the jersey because they can’t play with a sponsor. So the replica that they’re selling isn’t much of a replica

ontheotherhand
19/10/2023, 2:22 AM
I will say that 95% of international sides don’t put a sponsor on the jersey because they can’t play with a sponsor. So the replica that they’re selling isn’t much of a replica

The replica we are selling certainly isn't much.

ColourfulPeanut
19/10/2023, 8:03 AM
I'm not as close to things as others on here but I can't think of anything positive from their tenure so far?
2. The lack of a sponsor - What is Hill doing in England that we can't even get a sponsor for the international side? I know we are bad but fans are still showing up. If we can't get someone to pay why aren't we promoting a good cause on the jersey?

Why are people so desperate to have a tacky sponsor on the jersey again?

International jerseys don't have sponsors and aren't allowed to wear them. We were the only country to ever do it because the FAI is greedy and wanted to milk every penny out possible. Soon as they bring back sponsors on the jerseys, I'll never buy one again.

19/10/2023, 8:12 AM
When did we play with a sponsor on our jersey?

Only time I can think of was the odd testimonial, because they weren't full internationals

Fairly sure other countries have sold replicas with sponsors on them

19/10/2023, 8:23 AM
We're not, but the lack of a lead sponsor says a lot about the FAI brand.

19/10/2023, 8:30 AM
I'm not as close to things as others on here but I can't think of anything positive from their tenure so far?

1. The "Strategic Plan" was just a a bunch of wildly optimistic KPIs that were in large parts completely out of their control. LoI clubs coefficients in Europe improving etc....how exactly did they plan to affect that?

3. Euro 2028 bringing the GAA development money for Casement Park but very little for the game itself. This one actually boggles the mind. What a shocking indictment of the state of the FAI that the GAA will benefit from a football tournament. Shocking.

4. We are still broke and hoping for a qualification miracle to dig us out of things.

Sadly we are now at a point where finding a Denis O'Brien type to splash the cash on a top level manager just to get us to qualify might actually be the right idea. We seem completely ****ed in the short, medium and long term but at least that might pay off the debts. Maybe Euro 2028 will clear them and the FAI will then pump money into the game here but..........I see nothing so far that gives me any hope that they know what they are doing.

The FAI appointed a new commercial director only in June

https://www.fai.ie/domestic/news/fai-appoints-sean-kavanagh-to-commercial-director-role

Ex-LOI player who went into brand marketing (Canterbury, Mire, Speedo...)

Interview with him in Irish Times last week. Seems like a good bloke. Plenty of discussion of the commercial side.

https://www.irishtimes.com/business/2023/10/13/we-are-all-trying-to-do-whats-best-for-irish-football-says-fai-commercial-director-sean-kavanagh/

I noticed there were a some other articles with FAI figures last week (canham, Andrews..). It felt to me like a bit of strategic PR on the FAI's side.

backstothewall
19/10/2023, 10:02 AM
We're not, but the lack of a lead sponsor says a lot about the FAI brand.

When you see the way Guinness compliment their own rugby themed advertising by putting significant sponsorship into that game, it highlights something else.

There's a certain Irish gambling company with a heavily football focused advertising and social media output who have provided more sponsorship revenue to Huddersfield Town than their own national team.

The FAI shouldn't be above pointing out if a company is using football to promote their own product/services, but aren't making any contribution to the game in the country.

19/10/2023, 10:26 AM
The Irish Times article says they have ruled out gambling companies.

I'm not sure what your Guinness comment is.

19/10/2023, 11:16 AM
Wasn't there a backlash when they announced that streaming LOI games would be handled by one of the gambling companies?

19/10/2023, 11:23 AM
Can't remember

EalingGreen
19/10/2023, 11:48 AM
A couple of things. The English are unsophisticated? Maybe 15 or 20 years ago, but not now. England are in the argument for the top 2 or 3 teams in world football. Indeed.

And you made me laugh with the Stephen Kenny and the English language bit. My take on Kenny is he can speak the English language but no one has the foggiest what he is saying as he rambles up and down and all around . Comparing him with Trapatoni was pretty clever.I was once in the company of SK around the time he was appointed. He was asked to get up and say a few words, unprepared, and it was awful - "Who is this guy?", I thought to myself.

But listening to him later at the bar, he was very impressive - thoughtful, articulate, relaxed and with a very clear vision of what he wanted to do.

It seems to me that he's just one of those people who freezes when you put a microphone in front of him.

EalingGreen
19/10/2023, 12:02 PM
When did we play with a sponsor on our jersey?

Only time I can think of was the odd testimonial, because they weren't full internationals

Fairly sure other countries have sold replicas with sponsors on themI always assumed FIFA don't permit it for official matches. For if you think about it, it could lead to all sorts of problems, including sponsors on shirts clashing with FIFA's own sponsors.

Fairly sure other countries have sold replicas with sponsors on themDon't ever recall having seen it myself, including eg on away fans when their team plays NI.

19/10/2023, 12:15 PM
Wasn't there a backlash when they announced that streaming LOI games would be handled by one of the gambling companies?
It was trackchamp, owned by bwin. IIRC people weren't happy that you needed to open an account with bwin to use the service

Thread about it here: https://foot.ie/threads/207144-FAI-signs-up-TRACKCHAMP-as-official-video-and-data-partner

(https://foot.ie/threads/207144-FAI-signs-up-TRACKCHAMP-as-official-video-and-data-partner)Hill ruled out a gambling company as main sponsor two years ago: https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/fai-ceo-jonathan-hill-rules-out-partnership-with-betting-companies-and-hopes-for-phased-return-of-fans/40135138.html

backstothewall
19/10/2023, 1:24 PM
The Irish Times article says they have ruled out gambling companies.

I'm not sure what your Guinness comment is.

Just that they don't just run all the rugby based adverts in isolation. They are listed on the websites of the IRFU, Leinster & Munster as official sponsors. If you are going to use a sport to flog your wares the decent and honourable thing to do is to provide some sponsorship for the people who organise it in your area. Walkers Crisps do something similar across the water with the Gary Lineker adverts and their sponsorship of Leicester City.

As a bookmaker who plays up their Irishness and pumps out football related content on a daily basis, I'd say it's poor form from them that they've provided sponsorship to teams in the English league, but not the FAI.

That applies at a more local area as much as it does at a national level as well. For example McDaid's have made a fortune flogging bottles of Football Special and make a lot of being a Donegal company. It feels to me like they should have been the shirt sponsors of Finn Harps for as long as they've had one.

19/10/2023, 2:11 PM
Do Guinness really spend extra money at grass roots?

They do seem to "activate" their sponsorship well, which in fairness is much easier for a uniquitous drink company! Opel did the same back in the glory days. All their ads came with "official sponsor to Irish football team" or something like that. Arnold O'Byrne was a key part of Jack's Army at one stage.

19/10/2023, 2:51 PM
Chris Wilder: made a silk purse out of a pig's (literally) ear at Sheffield United and currently out of a job.

Eminence Grise
19/10/2023, 2:57 PM
Just that they don't just run all the rugby based adverts in isolation. They are listed on the websites of the IRFU, Leinster & Munster as official sponsors. If you are going to use a sport to flog your wares the decent and honourable thing to do is to provide some sponsorship for the people who organise it in your area. Walkers Crisps do something similar across the water with the Gary Lineker adverts and their sponsorship of Leicester City.

As a bookmaker who plays up their Irishness and pumps out football related content on a daily basis, I'd say it's poor form from them that they've provided sponsorship to teams in the English league, but not the FAI.

That applies at a more local area as much as it does at a national level as well. For example McDaid's have made a fortune flogging bottles of Football Special and make a lot of being a Donegal company. It feels to me like they should have been the shirt sponsors of Finn Harps for as long as they've had one.

The rule of thumb is that a company needs to spend €3 for every €1 of a sponsorship to promote the fact it's a sponsor - that's a lot of bottles of Football Special to justify even a modest logo on a sleeve. Large organisations (like a bank) might have some discretionary spend for regional offices to spend on local activities. Might the likes of a Guinness rep cough up kegs or merchandise for a local event?

It'd be poor form if the bookie just couldn't be bothered to engage with the FAI, but it could also be that there's no return on the spend for them (fair enough - sponsorship isn't altruism) or that the FAI wouldn't take their money in any event.

19/10/2023, 3:15 PM
Isn't Paddy Power more of an ambush marketer? They associate themselves with events for free through a slightly irreverend social media strategy.

sbgawa
19/10/2023, 4:16 PM
Can you imagine the tumbleweeds that'll be in stadium for the NZ friendly

My local club Cabo were given 100+ tickets for some game where demand was low....i cant remember what game it was but i suspect thast how they will get rid of them.
Get the kids to go

sbgawa
19/10/2023, 4:18 PM

The snowflakes would have a heart attack if we were sponsored by a bookie

ontheotherhand
19/10/2023, 4:23 PM

International jerseys don't have sponsors and aren't allowed to wear them. We were the only country to ever do it because the FAI is greedy and wanted to milk every penny out possible. Soon as they bring back sponsors on the jerseys, I'll never buy one again.

Because we are flat broke and need the money man.

seanfhear
19/10/2023, 4:26 PM
My local club Cabo were given 100+ tickets for some game where demand was low....i cant remember what game it was but i suspect thast how they will get rid of them.
Get the kids to go
I know of a relation that got a free ticket ( he and others ) for the last game in Dublin.

backstothewall
19/10/2023, 5:35 PM
The rule of thumb is that a company needs to spend €3 for every €1 of a sponsorship to promote the fact it's a sponsor - that's a lot of bottles of Football Special to justify even a modest logo on a sleeve.

Is it really? What would the going rate be to be the shirt sponsor for a team like Finn Harps? I wasn't thinking it would be much more than a couple of grand. Their current shirt sponsor appears to be a small chain of convenience stores. McDaids are a giant corporation in comparison!

Jolly Red Giant
19/10/2023, 8:32 PM
I'm bored in work so decided to have a look into Chris Hughtons record at Ghana since his name keeps coming up.

Took over in February and was in an African Nations group with Madagascar, Angola and Central African Republic. Ranked 108, 117 and 127 in the FIFA rankings, while Ghana at 60.... similar to us having a group of Kosovo, Estonia and Faroes.

Hes won 2 and drawn 2.
Took a 96 min winner to beat Angola at home.
88th min winner to beat Central African Republic.

Hes won 1 Friendly against Liberia, but this week has been beaten by Mexico 2-0 and yesterday 4-0 by USA.

I suppose the good news is that he'll probably be out of a job and available soon....

This does not really outline the issues that Hughton has faced as manager of Ghana - both the international team and Ghana's domestic leagues have been a basket case for some time. This gives a small flavour of the mess Hughton has been trying to deal with -

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/feb/07/ghana-football-corruption-murder-journalist-bribery-scandal

There has been serious issues with players refusing to play, bureaucrats demanding that certain players not be picked etc. Hughton was initially brought in as technical director to 'steady the ship' after the scandals - it was only later he was put in charge of the team. It is not a surprise that Hughton decided to work with Ghana - he father is Ghanaian - but (from what I heard) I don't think even he knew what he was getting himself into.

Ghana, as a football team, have been in a major slide since the scandals erupted in 2019 - that year they were eliminated by Tunisia in the Round of 16 in the AFCON - in 2021 they failed to get out of their group after failing to win a match. In the 2022 WC qualifiers they were very lucky to qualify for the play-offs and managed to win the play-offs on away goals. They finished bottom of their group. The slide has continued since.

What Hughton has done is steady the ship - after an anxious start to the campaign, they ended up qualifying comfortably - winning their two home games and drawing their two away games under Hughton. Yes - Ghana (ranked 60th) lost in the past couple of weeks to Mexico (ranked 13th) and USA (ranked 15th). They will have a tough time in AFCON in January - there are ten African teams ranked higher than them.

Now - what has been Hughton's experience in managing the team? Well Ghana have had an aging squad for some time - Andre Ayew is 33, Wakaso is 33, Mensah is 33 - and he has been trying to bring youth into the team. He has been trying to build the squad around younger players like Mohammed Kudus - who is going to be a monster for West Ham - Tariq Lamptey of Brighton, Alidu Seidu of Clermont (who Newcastle are after), Salis Abdul Samed of Lens and Antoine Semenyo of Bournemouth. Hughton expected to be spending most of his time in Europe watching and getting to know the players - but the same argument exists in Ghana as in Ireland about the domestic league - with the Ghanaian FA demanding Hughton spend more time in Ghana and pick players from a domestic league (still riddled with corruption). Hughton has also talked about the passionate fans of the Black Stars - but the fans can turn on the team in an instant when things go wrong and can be very intimidating (this has led to some players not wanting to play). The pitches the team has to play on are rock hard and covered in bumps - making it impossible for good teams to play a passing game (which is a reason why some of the higher ranking teams have difficulty against weaker opponents).

I have heard that Hughton intends to think about his options after AFCON - and whether he stays with Ghana appears to be an open question irrespective of anything else.

Last point - Hughton has never been too bothered about money - he was always one of the lowest, if not the lowest, paid manager in the PL. For him it has always been about coaching. This is not to say that he wouldn't expect to get paid - but he wouldn't be chasing money like, say, Robbie Keane - a guy who took €250K a year from the FAI for doing nothing - and is reputed to be on €350K a year in Israel.

Fixer82
19/10/2023, 8:43 PM
Mark Kennedy (whose been mentioned here I believe) has walked away from his job at Lincoln along with his assistant manager.

He’s also previously stated he has no interest in Ireland and doesn’t even watch us play

Jolly Red Giant
19/10/2023, 9:09 PM
He’s also previously stated he has no interest in Ireland and doesn’t even watch us play
Wouldn't touch him with a barge pole.

19/10/2023, 9:37 PM
Is it really? What would the going rate be to be the shirt sponsor for a team like Finn Harps? I wasn't thinking it would be much more than a couple of grand. Their current shirt sponsor appears to be a small chain of convenience stores. McDaids are a giant corporation in comparison!

McDaids could never afford to sponsor a jersey. A couple of grand wouldn't get you on the sleeve of a LOI club jersey.

backstothewall
20/10/2023, 8:30 AM
McDaids could never afford to sponsor a jersey. A couple of grand wouldn't get you on the sleeve of a LOI club jersey.

So-Lo stores must be doing very well in every one of their 4 branches!

Razors left peg
20/10/2023, 5:28 PM
This does not really outline the issues that Hughton has faced as manager of Ghana - both the international team and Ghana's domestic leagues have been a basket case for some time. This gives a small flavour of the mess Hughton has been trying to deal with -

https://www.theguardian.com/football/2019/feb/07/ghana-football-corruption-murder-journalist-bribery-scandal

There has been serious issues with players refusing to play, bureaucrats demanding that certain players not be picked etc. Hughton was initially brought in as technical director to 'steady the ship' after the scandals - it was only later he was put in charge of the team. It is not a surprise that Hughton decided to work with Ghana - he father is Ghanaian - but (from what I heard) I don't think even he knew what he was getting himself into.

Ghana, as a football team, have been in a major slide since the scandals erupted in 2019 - that year they were eliminated by Tunisia in the Round of 16 in the AFCON - in 2021 they failed to get out of their group after failing to win a match. In the 2022 WC qualifiers they were very lucky to qualify for the play-offs and managed to win the play-offs on away goals. They finished bottom of their group. The slide has continued since.

What Hughton has done is steady the ship - after an anxious start to the campaign, they ended up qualifying comfortably - winning their two home games and drawing their two away games under Hughton. Yes - Ghana (ranked 60th) lost in the past couple of weeks to Mexico (ranked 13th) and USA (ranked 15th). They will have a tough time in AFCON in January - there are ten African teams ranked higher than them.

Now - what has been Hughton's experience in managing the team? Well Ghana have had an aging squad for some time - Andre Ayew is 33, Wakaso is 33, Mensah is 33 - and he has been trying to bring youth into the team. He has been trying to build the squad around younger players like Mohammed Kudus - who is going to be a monster for West Ham - Tariq Lamptey of Brighton, Alidu Seidu of Clermont (who Newcastle are after), Salis Abdul Samed of Lens and Antoine Semenyo of Bournemouth. Hughton expected to be spending most of his time in Europe watching and getting to know the players - but the same argument exists in Ghana as in Ireland about the domestic league - with the Ghanaian FA demanding Hughton spend more time in Ghana and pick players from a domestic league (still riddled with corruption). Hughton has also talked about the passionate fans of the Black Stars - but the fans can turn on the team in an instant when things go wrong and can be very intimidating (this has led to some players not wanting to play). The pitches the team has to play on are rock hard and covered in bumps - making it impossible for good teams to play a passing game (which is a reason why some of the higher ranking teams have difficulty against weaker opponents).

I have heard that Hughton intends to think about his options after AFCON - and whether he stays with Ghana appears to be an open question irrespective of anything else.

Last point - Hughton has never been too bothered about money - he was always one of the lowest, if not the lowest, paid manager in the PL. For him it has always been about coaching. This is not to say that he wouldn't expect to get paid - but he wouldn't be chasing money like, say, Robbie Keane - a guy who took €250K a year from the FAI for doing nothing - and is reputed to be on €350K a year in Israel.

Have you a similar article to justify his time with Forest? Got fired after getting 1 point from the first 7 games of the season, the same season they ended up getting promoted with his replacement.

Fixer82
24/10/2023, 1:02 PM
Wouldn't touch him with a barge pole.

I heard him on a podcast and he was b!tching and moaning about McCarthy dropping him after the car incident with Babb.
I don't think he mentioned getting back into and being named in the final WC 2002 squad before breaking down in tears and withdrawing with an injury (despite scoring V Sunderland in Quinn's testimonial)

Diggs246
24/10/2023, 3:53 PM
Chris Coleman is one that shouldn't be ignored
Perfect he isn't, but I wouldn't be upset with him

Razors left peg
24/10/2023, 4:07 PM

Didnt realize he has a Dublin born father until I looked at his Wiki page to see what hes doing now.

If we were going to go the route of the known British manager I think I would prefer him to the likes of Allardyce or Bruce, what he did with Wales to bring them to Euros has to be respected... but it would still feel very underwhelming!

EalingGreen
24/10/2023, 4:38 PM
Take Gareth Bale away from his Wales team, then his managerial CV is just average enough. I'd say he certainly talks a good game, without necessarily having all the substance to back it up.

And some of you might be advised to keep your wives well away from him, too. Allegedly.

elatedscum
24/10/2023, 5:13 PM
Take Gareth Bale away from his Wales team, then his managerial CV is just average enough. I'd say he certainly talks a good game, without necessarily having all the substance to back it up.

And some of you might be advised to keep your wives well away from him, too. Allegedly.

McGeady certainly wasn't a fan

Demesne Lad
24/10/2023, 6:47 PM
Coleman? Win percentages: Wales, Jan 2012 - Nov 2017, (50 games) - 38%;
Sunderland, Nov 2017 - April 2018, (29) - 17.2%;
Hebei China Fortune, June 2018 to May 2019, (21)- 33.3%;
Atromitos, Jan 2022 - Oct 2023, (60) - 26.7%
(Courtesy of Wikipedia)

Jolly Red Giant
25/10/2023, 11:38 AM
Coleman? Win percentages: Wales, Jan 2012 - Nov 2017, (50 games) - 38%;
Sunderland, Nov 2017 - April 2018, (29) - 17.2%;
Hebei China Fortune, June 2018 to May 2019, (21)- 33.3%;
Atromitos, Jan 2022 - Oct 2023, (60) - 26.7%
(Courtesy of Wikipedia)
Yea - Coleman is pretty useless and has been on a major slide since leaving the Wales job.

Jolly Red Giant
25/10/2023, 11:47 AM
Have you a similar article to justify his time with Forest? Got fired after getting 1 point from the first 7 games of the season, the same season they ended up getting promoted with his replacement.
Things didn't go well for Hughton at Forest - he was sold a pig-in-a-poke by the ownership. He inherited a bloated squad with overpaid useless players. He then had to undergo a rebuild after saving them from relegation - except the owners went off and bought players he didn't want (who played a total of 11 games for Forest between them) - and at the start of the season he had a stack of injuries to deal with. Now the first seven games were a disaster - but Copper took over just as players were coming back from injury. The first game of the season to Cooper's first game saw five first team players return to the starting line up. Despite the sacking of Hughton - three months later Forest were still in 16th spot (and hadn't won in 7 games) - it was only when they went out and got several more players for Cooper in January that Forest kicked on. The last game of the season only had two players who played in the first game for Hughton. I do think if he had been give another 2/3 games at Forest Hughton would have turned things around.

Hughton turned down at least three other jobs to take over at Forest - and my biggest criticism would be that he took the wrong job - anyone going into the club when he did was on a loser until that squad was gutted and replaced - and the owners were always likely to sack the manager that was doing the gutting because results were always going to be impacted. Hughton should have taken the WBA job - a much better squad and a much better run club at the time - but Hughton knew how big a club Forest were and that is what attracted him.

seanfhear
25/10/2023, 1:13 PM
Things didn't go well for Hughton at Forest - he was sold a pig-in-a-poke by the ownership. He inherited a bloated squad with overpaid useless players. He then had to undergo a rebuild after saving them from relegation - except the owners went off and bought players he didn't want (who played a total of 11 games for Forest between them) - and at the start of the season he had a stack of injuries to deal with. Now the first seven games were a disaster - but Copper took over just as players were coming back from injury. The first game of the season to Cooper's first game saw five first team players return to the starting line up. Despite the sacking of Hughton - three months later Forest were still in 16th spot (and hadn't won in 7 games) - it was only when they went out and got several more players for Cooper in January that Forest kicked on. The last game of the season only had two players who played in the first game for Hughton. I do think if he had been give another 2/3 games at Forest Hughton would have turned things around.

Hughton turned down at least three other jobs to take over at Forest - and my biggest criticism would be that he took the wrong job - anyone going into the club when he did was on a loser until that squad was gutted and replaced - and the owners were always likely to sack the manager that was doing the gutting because results were always going to be impacted. Hughton should have taken the WBA job - a much better squad and a much better run club at the time - but Hughton knew how big a club Forest were and that is what attracted him.
So ~ What you are saying is ~ Chris Hughton's judgment is a bit off ( wink )

25/10/2023, 2:01 PM
So you're saying he might take the Ireland job?

Fixer82
26/10/2023, 10:55 AM
Didnt realize he has a Dublin born father until I looked at his Wiki page to see what hes doing now.

He also weirdly called us a British team last time Wales were here

Jolly Red Giant
26/10/2023, 11:22 AM
Nobody gets it right all the time (except my wife of course ;))

EalingGreen
02/11/2023, 10:08 PM
Don't blame me, I'm only passing this on....

Next Republic of Ireland manager odds: Northern Ireland man backed from 5/1 to 7/4 favourite

Neil Lennon has seen his odds slashed to become the Republic of Ireland's next manager.

Spokesperson for Paddy Power, Rachael Kane: “With Stephen Kenny’s tenure as Irish manager likely to come to an end before the year is out, the money suggests Neil Lennon could be set to takeover.
https://www.belfastlive.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/next-republic-ireland-manager-odds-28001415?int_source=nba

Of course there's no suggestion that Paddy Power, a company of impeccable credentials, are in some way trying to create (artificial) interest in their book at a time when interest is low...

seanfhear
02/11/2023, 10:17 PM
Neil Lennon ~ ~ The Man that eff-ed up the Celtic job when it was virtually impossible to do so !

Also ~ Has Lennon ever done anything in management of much consequence at any other club than Celtic.

And ~ Yes Paddy Power are probably just acting the eejit !

03/11/2023, 2:37 PM
Poyet seems to be trying to put himself in the frame.

Razors left peg
03/11/2023, 2:45 PM
Poyet seems to be trying to put himself in the frame.

Hes pretty shamelessly publicly negotiating for a contract extension from the Greeks. He said that even if they qualify from playoffs he wont be managing in Euros cos his contract expires in March. Pretty sure we'll see that he has signed that extension very soon

seanfhear
03/11/2023, 3:13 PM
Uruguay Wiles ~ Maybe he is just what we need !

Razors left peg
03/11/2023, 3:22 PM
Uruguay Wiles ~ Maybe he is just what we need !

The way hes acting here makes me think he'd bat his eyelids at every Premiership job that came available if he was in the Ireland job.

Theres probably a lot of F you to Keith Andrews in the way hes acting too

JR89
03/11/2023, 3:36 PM
The way hes acting here makes me think he'd bat his eyelids at every Premiership job that came available if he was in the Ireland job.

Theres probably a lot of F you to Keith Andrews in the way hes acting too

Fact the FAI aren't paying millions anymore most managers will be gone if a PL or Championship job that pays good comes up. Darren Moore was supposedly looking for £1.5m a year after getting Sheffield Wednesday promoted.

That's triple what the FAI are gonna be paying, more than what we paid Mick, and similar to what we paid MON.

Razors left peg
03/11/2023, 3:47 PM
Fact the FAI aren't paying millions anymore most managers will be gone if a PL or Championship job that pays good comes up. Darren Moore was supposedly looking for £1.5m a year after getting Sheffield Wednesday promoted.

That's triple what the FAI are gonna be paying, more than what we paid Mick, and similar to what we paid MON.

We better keep Kenny so :)