View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders
Thewhitepele
26/01/2024, 12:47 PM
Just give it to Hughton he has the best CV anyway. I don't know why Ireland fans always want the left field choice. Carsley has been a caretaker Manager 4 times and managed some under age teams it is hardly a clear marker for success. Would agree that Lennon and Keane are not fit for the job.
26/01/2024, 12:53 PM
Barry, Eustace, Hughton. The only other alternatives that we should be entertaining.
F*ck Neil Lennon. And if Carsley wants to stay on because of an outside shot at managing England or something commercially motivated, then he can f off too.
And while I am ranting, how the f*ck does an idiot like Packie Bonner find himself in a spot where he has so much influence on the direction of the MNT?
backstothewall
26/01/2024, 1:03 PM
If he bails out I'd only be interested in Hughton or Poyet of the candidates mentioned.
Just give it to Damian Duff or Seamus Coleman after that. Better someone untested as someone we know isn't up to the job.
weldoninhio
26/01/2024, 1:07 PM
Lee Carsley to managed Ireland!
How many months will he last? We should have had that competition the last few times.
Not even days haha
Jd2793
26/01/2024, 1:08 PM
how is hughton still being mentioned by people? he was chased out of ghana, hes finished.
Demesne Lad
26/01/2024, 1:10 PM
I suppose the FAI can't afford Mark Robins? A good Championship manager for a Championship standard team.
weldoninhio
26/01/2024, 1:14 PM
I think it'll be Lennon now. Decent enough choice.
I suppose the FAI can't afford Mark Robins? A good Championship manager for a Championship standard team.
Only signed a four year contract at the start of the season.
Eirambler
26/01/2024, 2:24 PM
It borders on scary that there are people out there who hold this view.
seanfhear
26/01/2024, 2:25 PM
Won't Lennon's " personal history " just blow up in the media if he gets the job ~ Why would the FAI do this to itself ?
26/01/2024, 2:31 PM
I'd also be very disappointed with Lennon.
D24Saint
26/01/2024, 2:42 PM
I think he is an abysmal choice and shows where we are at in international football.
culloty82
26/01/2024, 2:44 PM
What salary is Kieran McKenna on at Ipswich, probably more than the FAI could offer?
seanfhear
26/01/2024, 2:49 PM
What salary is Kieran McKenna on at Ipswich, probably more than the FAI could offer?Would he want the job ?
It could actually damage his club ( jobs) ambitions.
Eirambler
26/01/2024, 3:02 PM
McKenna's miles out of our league, both in terms of reputation and affordability.
CraftyToePoke
26/01/2024, 3:23 PM
What salary is Kieran McKenna on at Ipswich, probably more than the FAI could offer?
Ipswich upgraded his deal in the summer to reportedly the 1.5 million basic region plus bonuses, which with them being in the automatic mix for double promotion to the promised land of football, you'd imagine those bonuses are being maxed. There is also a four million buy out clause for him.
He was never in this conversation and to be mentioning him now, well, its just silly.
ontheotherhand
26/01/2024, 3:43 PM
While we are throwing out every possible idea....I'd just suggest, again, folding the team for 3-5 years. Would FIFA allow us to just raise the white flag until Ferguson and a few others are ready? We'd save a bit of money and could start fresh with a new FAI.
Or give it to Lennon. Same difference.
Eirambler
26/01/2024, 4:06 PM
Lennon is a bit like the embarrassing backup car that they used to have in the Top Gear specials. A kind of break glass in case of emergency option that everyone hopes won't be needed. But it seems like we're getting worryingly close to it now. Personally I'd have assigned that role to Allardyce out of the various less appealing options out there if it came to it. Certainly not Lennon.
backstothewall
26/01/2024, 4:18 PM
By any measure Hughton is a much better option than Lennon, and it isn't close.
EalingGreen
26/01/2024, 4:40 PM
Absolutely zero chance lee carsley gets the English job
The FA deal in 100s of millions in sponsorship deals. They have to have a house hold name in the hot seatWas Steve McClaren a "household name" when appointed? Roy Hodgson?
Capello and Sven-Goren were both "name" managers who ultimately failed, Hoddle too. While being a "name" AND a success didn't save Venables
In any case Southgate was hardly a "name" when appointed either, but has been kept on because he's been successful, relatively speaking at least.
In the end, winning matches does far more for the "brand" (ugh) than a slick PR machine, tabloid headlines or a gift for soundbites.
Jolly Red Giant
26/01/2024, 4:47 PM
Sickening if this is true. There's no other candidate that I'd even be reasonably ok with at this point. Hughton, Lennon or Roy will make me vomit
The only one who would make me vomit is Lennon
Jolly Red Giant
26/01/2024, 4:48 PM
Won't Lennon's " personal history " just blow up in the media if he gets the job ~ Why would the FAI do this to itself ?
His personal history should blow up if he gets the job - the the FAI should be dragged over the coals before hand to make sure it doesn't happen
seanfhear
26/01/2024, 5:00 PM
Was Steve McClaren a "household name" when appointed? Roy Hodgson?
Capello and Sven-Goren were both "name" managers who ultimately failed, Hoddle too. While being a "name" AND a success didn't save Venables
In any case Southgate was hardly a "name" when appointed either, but has been kept on because he's been successful, relatively speaking at least.
In the end, winning matches does far more for the "brand" (ugh) than a slick PR machine, tabloid headlines or a gift for soundbites.
Hoddle was a reasonably successful England manager until he came up with some mad stuff about disabled people ~ ~ Goes to show, you can be a good football manager and still have some crazy stuff going on in your head.
seanfhear
26/01/2024, 5:02 PM
In the end, winning matches does far more for the "brand" (ugh) than a slick PR machine, tabloid headlines or a gift for soundbites.I would say that both McClaren and Roy Hodgson would he household names in the football side of most households.
Diggs246
26/01/2024, 5:12 PM
They were both household names?
Including Roy Hodgson in that is just weird man!!
My mum would know him.
Diggs246
26/01/2024, 5:15 PM
Also re Southgate apart from Alf Ramsey who has done better !
third policeman
26/01/2024, 5:15 PM
Appointing Lennon would be act of deliberate self-harm. It would be an act of utter insanity that I didn't even imagine the FAI were capable of.
lofty9
26/01/2024, 5:18 PM
Sky Sports now reporting they 'understand' Carsley has turned down the job to stay put. If so, he has taken the Rice road, possibly worse than Rice. Can't wish him any luck at all going forward. At this stage I'd take Duff and his hard to beat siege mentality approach. He's as much if not more experience than Carsley, and an Irish footballing icon, that players will look up to.
Diggs246
26/01/2024, 5:22 PM
Yep
I'd say he is gone
The fai Strick again
The fai don't deserve us lads
Sky Sports now reporting they 'understand' Carsley has turned down the job to stay put. If so, he has taken the Rice road, possibly worse than Rice. Can't wish him any luck at all going forward. At this stage I'd take Duff and his hard to beat siege mentality approach. He's as much if not more experience than Carsley, and an Irish footballing icon, that players will look up to.
Man turns down job = he's a turncoat. Cop on will ya.
lofty9
26/01/2024, 5:45 PM
Man turns down job = he's a turncoat. Cop on will ya.
Job? Managing and representing your country- That's an honour. You don't get asked again.
Yep. Dead to me, if the news and reasoning is true.
Trequartista20
26/01/2024, 6:22 PM
Very disappointing if the Carsley story is true.
Keane and Lennon are out of the question as far as I'm concerned. It would be a deliberate act of self- harm and a bomb waiting to go off to appoint either.
Hughton is past his shelf-life I'm afraid, though he would be preferable to the above. Low, low bar though that is.
Nobody else stands out among the names commonly mentioned.
I expect criticism for saying so, but I would suggest we reappoint Mick on a twelve-month contract as a glorified caretaker manager while taking our time in finding a suitable longer term successor to Kenny.
Better that than rashly giving a lengthy contract to one of the lesser and deeply uninspiring candidates whose names have been floated in the media.
Diggs246
26/01/2024, 6:28 PM
This is the only good news today
I hope he gets 6 years in jail when the dust settles
https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/ex-fai-chief-john-delaney-faces-2m-legal-bill-after-supreme-court-rejects-appeal-over-access-to-documents/a910658441.html
26/01/2024, 9:50 PM
According to the Irish Times, no offer has been made
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2024/01/26/lee-carsley-reported-to-have-turned-down-ireland-job-as-fai-insist-no-offers-made/
26/01/2024, 9:51 PM
He is managing his country though. Not quite so easy a call in that case
Eirambler
26/01/2024, 10:52 PM
According to the Irish Times, no offer has been made
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2024/01/26/lee-carsley-reported-to-have-turned-down-ireland-job-as-fai-insist-no-offers-made/
And almost certainly no offer has been made in terms of going through the formal channels (asking permission through the FA etc). So technically that's correct. But it does seem likely at this point that the offer has been made through the back channels to Carsley and/or his agent, and he has said no.
seanfhear
27/01/2024, 2:33 AM
Perhaps the FAI were unwilling / unable to pay for the kind of back-up team that Carsley would be expecting !
Razors left peg
27/01/2024, 3:54 AM
No one has officially said anything. I still think negotiations are on going. Would be very easy for the English FA to make statement that their employee is going nowhere. All we have is the story from a Daily Mail journo. I think there's legs in this yet
seanfhear
27/01/2024, 4:23 AM
Some of the candidates are bordering on sad.
Eirambler
27/01/2024, 9:32 AM
https://extra.ie/2024/01/27/sport/soccernews/fai-lee-carsley-own-goal
An interesting article and credit to Quinn, unlike a lot of the Irish press pack, he isn't pretending that he knows more than he does here. As I thought and suggested above, the "no offer has been made" thing only relates to a formal offer, which wouldn't be made anyway unless it was effectively a done deal.
Clearly something has gone wrong somewhere this week, if I was to guess I would say it's maybe the size of the budget being offered in terms of backroom staff not being to Carsley's liking - so far at least, but that's just a guess.
Jolly Red Giant
27/01/2024, 9:57 AM
Did we really expect anything other than a shambles from the FAI - even their most successful appointment, Charlton, came about through a chaotic process where Charlton was far from the front-runner for the job.
Canham and Hill need to take a step back now - acknowledge that there isn't going to be an appointment before the NL draw - regroup - see if there are bridges that can be rebuilt with Carsley (if they did ****-up the discussions) - and if not then start the process again.
The worst thing they could do is panic and appoint Lennon because they don't have anyone else on their list - hell - I'd even put up with Robbie Keane, who I consider an utterly useless waste of space who is concerned with nothing else than self-interest and self-advancement (he chases the money), before I would stand for Lennon getting the job.
If the FAI can get Barry or Eustace or mend fences with Carsley then fair enough. But Chris Hughton is still the candidate with the best record as a manager - yes Ghana were eliminated from AFCON and they played poorly, but Ghana are not a good team and Hughton managed to stabilise them and get them to AFCON. They only went out of the tournament because the players on the pitch against Mozambique panicked and let in two goals in injury time. The whistle goes two minutes earlier and Egypt are going home instead. Hughton would be a safe pair of hands, a stabilising force and would improve performances. Maybe that is exactly what the Irish team need right now.
seanfhear
27/01/2024, 11:12 AM
An interesting article and credit to Quinn, unlike a lot of the Irish press pack, he isn't pretending that he knows more than he does here. As I thought and suggested above, the "no offer has been made" thing only relates to a formal offer, which wouldn't be made anyway unless it was effectively a done deal.
Clearly something has gone wrong somewhere this week, if I was to guess I would say it's maybe the size of the budget being offered in terms of backroom staff not being to Carsley's liking - so far at least, but that's just a guess.Yeah ~ ~ You could see a fella that is used to working for the English FA, with all of their wealth, suddenly getting a big awakener when the money available from the FAI was discussed re; Carsley's back-up team.
backstothewall
27/01/2024, 2:11 PM
Clearly something has gone wrong somewhere this week, if I was to guess I would say it's maybe the size of the budget being offered in terms of backroom staff not being to Carsley's liking - so far at least, but that's just a guess.
The name in that article that would represent the biggest fiasco the FAI could possibly engineer for themselves is Robbie Keane. So that's almost certainly what will end up happening.
seanfhear
27/01/2024, 2:59 PM
The name in that article that would represent the biggest fiasco the FAI could possibly engineer for themselves is Robbie Keane. So that's almost certainly what will end up happening.
T'would help Robbie Keane " escape " from Israel !
Fixer82
27/01/2024, 4:57 PM
If the FAI can get Barry or Eustace or mend fences with Carsley then fair enough. But Chris Hughton is still the candidate with the best record as a manager - yes Ghana were eliminated from AFCON and they played poorly, but Ghana are not a good team and Hughton managed to stabilise them and get them to AFCON. They only went out of the tournament because the players on the pitch against Mozambique panicked and let in two goals in injury time. The whistle goes two minutes earlier and Egypt are going home instead. Hughton would be a safe pair of hands, a stabilising force and would improve performances. Maybe that is exactly what the Irish team need right now.
Agree!
He’s also a good media performer. Will bring a calmness and professionalism that’s been lacking for a few years.
Jd2793
27/01/2024, 5:01 PM
"ghana are not a good team" neither are Ireland! Hughton would be a disaster. The less said about Lennon the better
EalingGreen
27/01/2024, 5:15 PM
Hoddle was a reasonably successful England manager until he came up with some mad stuff about disabled people ~ ~ Goes to show, you can be a good football manager and still have some crazy stuff going on in your head.Not just "mad", but offensively so. That said, as someone pointed out at the time, what he said was not essentially different from what 1 billion Hindus believe. And in any case, he might even have survived the scandal, until Tony Blair decided that football was also in his governing remit and called for him to be sacked the next day on Breakfast TV.
Anyhow to get back on point, Hoddle was in many respects a good manager (tactics, formations, game management etc), but ultimately not quite a great one, due to his inability to motivate entire squads. For example, showing up Beckham by demonstrating in front of the whole squad that he could still hit a better free kick than him didn't help, hence the nickname "Chocolate", i.e. loved himself so much he'd eat himself if he could!
Truly magnificent player, mind.
Jolly Red Giant
28/01/2024, 9:01 AM
"ghana are not a good team" neither are Ireland! Hughton would be a disaster.
Despite that Hughton got them to AFCON and they were 2-0 in injury time to get to the knockout stages before they blew it.
gastric
28/01/2024, 9:18 AM
Eustace would be the obvious choice now.