View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders
CraftyToePoke
20/02/2024, 8:35 AM
The managerial game of musical chairs that this has become or seems to be ( although may not be as nobody seems to actually know anything and it might still all be ok ) has reopened on Bet365 this morning with John O'Shea favourite at 6/4 - as a possible interim according to one journo - but then again the journos have been a week behind the play for some time now, so who knows. Anyway, place your bets kids.
20/02/2024, 8:56 AM
John O’Shea was let go by the FAI in the very recent past but is now seen as an interim manager. That doesn’t add up in my head. And is that a good choice? - it did really accelerate south for us when he became part of the Kenny team ….
All writing in the press about this seem to be in the dark as much as everybody else. But personally, feels like the FAI want Carsley and are willing to wait to get him. An interim manager appointment therefore seems plausible.
ltfc_2004
20/02/2024, 10:11 AM
maybe its all to soften us so when Lennon takes it as a charity case as no one it wanted bar him !!!
EalingGreen
20/02/2024, 1:06 PM
Lads, yis are missing out big time - Steve Bruce is throwing his hat into the ring for the vacant South Korea job (would delight his dear old granny from Busan), but would also be interested in Saudi, since he fancies managing "overseas" (nothing to do with the money, then). And give him the job and you'd get (Prodigal Son) Alex thrown in for free as one of his coaches!
https://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/steve-bruce-world-cup-saudi-32159312
Drummerboy2
20/02/2024, 1:15 PM
What about Robbie Keane. He made a great start in Israel and must be looking to get out of there asap.
Give Crawford the interim job for March. We might actually get to see Bosun Lawal play in his best position then for the U21s.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 4:49 PM
John O’Shea was let go by the FAI in the very recent past but is now seen as an interim manager. That doesn’t add up in my head. And is that a good choice? - it did really accelerate south for us when he became part of the Kenny team ….
All writing in the press about this seem to be in the dark as much as everybody else. But personally, feels like the FAI want Carsley and are willing to wait to get him. An interim manager appointment therefore seems plausible.
Birmingham were a disaster while he was there with Rooney too. I just keep going back to the O'Shea and Barry comparison. I think its fairly well acknowledged that we were at our best under Kenny when Anthony Barry was in charge. So much so that a lot of people want Barry to get the manager job now. But if we were at our best under Barry, we were at our absolute worst under O'Shea. We looked a team that wasnt coached in basic things. We have zero evidence hes even a decent coach let alone someone who could be a manager.
I liked O'Shea as a player, I thought he never got enough credit for his versatility and he was good. By all accounts hes a very nice fella too, but none of that is relevant in any way. I just dont get why hes even in the conversation for interim job (let alone permanent job in one bookies). To me hes as tainted as Keith Andrews is, and I wouldnt have Andrews near the job either.
IF it was a case O'Shea was appointed interim for March, mainly because hes currently unemployed, that announcement would have to come with a clear message that they have found their man but hes just not available to take over until after these games. Carsley for example, may think its now too close to the English u21s game to walk away now but after march they dont have another game until September and that would give the FA plenty of time to find his replacement.
Under no circumstances can we be going into the March games with O'Shea in charge and we are still out interviewing people. If we managed to get a decent result because Belgium took it handy in a friendly you know there would be a groundswell of opinion to leave him in the job permanently and by this time next year we'd be back discussing who the next manager will be.
If they go interim for March it will surely be an in-house interim manager. Would they really bring someone in from outside the FAI for two games.
If O'Shea actually gets the interim gig I can't see it being for just two games. If they go outside the FAI I think it's for four games minimum.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 5:07 PM
If they go interim for March it will surely be an in-house interim manager. Would they really bring someone in from outside the FAI for two games.
If O'Shea actually gets the interim gig I can't see it being for just two games. If they go outside the FAI I think it's for four games minimum.
I dont know why it would be 4 games. Plenty of time to get manager in place between March and June..... but in fairness theyve also had plenty of time since September and we all knew Kenny was done. Its a joke that we are even talking about a potential interim at this stage when they have had so long to get this done.
backstothewall
20/02/2024, 5:25 PM
Jaysus. I think back at the stage when I was looking Kenny out I posted something about how if we can't afford to replace him just put him on gardening leave and make John O'Shea manager.
Be careful what you wish for I guess.
If it's an interim position Damian Duff should be asked to come in. Maybe if it goes well we could trick him into taking the job permanently!
Failing that maybe John Sheridan. He has at least been in management before, and has experience of coming into way worse situations than this at Oldham before.
He'll probably still be one of the best passers of the ball in training.
Not anyone associated with the Kenny era or any ex LOI type working for the FAI.
ltfc_2004
20/02/2024, 5:38 PM
Maybe it’s time for the FAI to bite the bullet and advertise on the open market and we end up where we end up !
This search has deflated me. If you were doing a SWOT analysis what are the actual selling points of the job ?
I dont know why it would be 4 games. Plenty of time to get manager in place between March and June..... but in fairness theyve also had plenty of time since September and we all knew Kenny was done. Its a joke that we are even talking about a potential interim at this stage when they have had so long to get this done.
My thinking is if they're actually close then they'll only need an interim for March so Crawford gets it. Why go outside the association if you're confident that a new manager will be in place by then.
While there's still plenty of time between March and June if they go outside the FAI for an interim they'll have one eye on June's games too imo. That if they fail to appoint anyone they'll still have an interim manager for those games. No point hiring an interim for two games and then come June you gotta rehire him again.
So that's my thinking. If the interim is coming from outside the FAI then they'll also have one eye on June's game incase they still can't find a permanent manager. The interim might not get the four games, but if they go with someone outside the FAIs payroll I think there's a possibility, even if it's only slim, that whomever it is could still be interim come June.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 5:46 PM
Jaysus. I think back at the stage when I was looking Kenny out I posted something about how if we can't afford to replace him just put him on gardening leave and make John O'Shea manager.
Be careful what you wish for I guess.
If it's an interim position Damian Duff should be asked to come in. Maybe if it goes well we could trick him into taking the job permanently!
Failing that maybe John Sheridan. He has at least been in management before, and has experience of coming into way worse situations than this at Oldham before.
He'll probably still be one of the best passers of the ball in training.
Not anyone associated with the Kenny era or any ex LOI type working for the FAI.
John Sheridan ffs! The man is a spoofer of the highest order. His time with Waterford alone should rule him out of being let in the door of a dressing room again
backstothewall
20/02/2024, 5:49 PM
John Sheridan ffs! The man is a spoofer of the highest order. His time with Waterford alone should rule him out of being let in the door of a dressing room again
They seem to like him at Oldham for some reason.
Jim Goodwin maybe? If it's just keeping the seat warm could he do it alongside Dundee Utd?
I'm trying to agree with you here but there's not a lot of names out there who would be available. Feel free to suggest someone.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 5:54 PM
My thinking is if they're actually close then they'll only need an interim for March so Crawford gets it. Why go outside the association if you're confident that a new manager will be in place by then.
While there's still plenty of time between March and June if they go outside the FAI for an interim they'll have one eye on June's games too imo. That if they fail to appoint anyone they'll still have an interim manager for those games. No point hiring an interim for two games and then come June you gotta rehire him again.
So that's my thinking. If the interim is coming from outside the FAI then they'll also have one eye on June's game incase they still can't find a permanent manager. The interim might not get the four games, but if they go with someone outside the FAIs payroll I think there's a possibility, even if it's only slim, that whomever it is could still be interim come June.
Crawford has a game with the U21s that clashes with the March games so I suppose thats the reasoning for looking outside temporarily.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 5:56 PM
They seem to like him at Oldham for some reason.
Jim Goodwin maybe? If it's just keeping the seat warm could he do it alongside Dundee Utd?
I'm trying to agree with you here but there's not a lot of names out there who would be available. Feel free to suggest someone.
If its an interim just for March I dont really care tbh, O'Shea is out of work and knows the players already so that is a plus in his favor.... but as I said only if there is an agreement in place for the permanent manager.
If we are appointing an interim just so we can continue interviewing others then to be honest I think Canham and Hill need to be fired immediately
Crawford has a game with the U21s that clashes with the March games so I suppose thats the reasoning for looking outside temporarily.
They've one game against San Marino though. Don't think one game missed would be an issue. Pretty sure Don Givens and Noel King missed games with the U21s whenever they stepped up as caretakers.
Plus would benefit the FAI and the coaches themselves to see what Crawford could do with the seniors in March and getting a closer look at McShane with the U21s.
If it actually does turn out to be JOS then you have to wonder why they didn't put Kenny on gardening leave after last September's international window. Doubt he would have done worse than Kenny did against Greece, Holland, and NZ. At least then he'd have a few games behind him that they could point towards if he was also to be caretaker next month.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 6:31 PM
They've one game against San Marino though. Don't think one game missed would be an issue. Pretty sure Don Givens and Noel King missed games with the U21s whenever they stepped up as caretakers.
Plus would benefit the FAI and the coaches themselves to see what Crawford could do with the seniors in March and getting a closer look at McShane with the U21s.
If it actually does turn out to be JOS then you have to wonder why they didn't put Kenny on gardening leave after last September's international window. Doubt he would have done worse than Kenny did against Greece, Holland, and NZ. At least then he'd have a few games behind him that they could point towards if he was also to be caretaker next month.
Yeah I dont disagree with you. Crawford would make the most sense.
This is a clip from one the many interviews Canham did today, where he said nothing of value in any of them. I dont know if its my frustration coming through but he comes across extremely unlikeable here, smarmy grin or something ...
https://x.com/offtheball/status/1760021501598937385?s=20
Yeah I dont disagree with you. Crawford would make the most sense.
This is a clip from one the many interviews Canham did today, where he said nothing of value in any of them. I dont know if its my frustration coming through but he comes across extremely unlikeable here, smarmy grin or something ...
https://x.com/offtheball/status/1760021501598937385?s=20
Definitely the frustration coming through. Don't really see anything off putting about his demeanor in that clip. Though every reporter probably asked the same questions about the managers after the press conference even though he addressed it in the presser.
Actually think whoever the reporter is comes off worse. Jumping straight in to ask Did you offer anyone the job? while he's talking. We've been told in the last two weeks no one was offered the job yet.
Razors left peg
20/02/2024, 7:14 PM
Definitely the frustration coming through. Don't really see anything off putting about his demeanor in that clip. Though every reporter probably asked the same questions about the managers after the press conference even though he addressed it in the presser.
Actually think whoever the reporter is comes off worse. Jumping straight in to ask Did you offer anyone the job? while he's talking. We've been told in the last two weeks no one was offered the job yet.
I think in the reporters defense Canham had been giving the same pre rehearsed answers to everyone so he was rightly trying to push it a bit
20/02/2024, 7:28 PM
It shouldn't be another LOI type manager, but current Shelbourne manager Damian Duff should be considered
It shouldn't be some former LOI type manager but the disaster that was John Sheridan could be considered.
I love this forum sometimes.
I think in the reporters defense Canham had been giving the same pre rehearsed answers to everyone so he was rightly trying to push it a bit
Let the man finish what he's saying though first rather than blurting out a question mid answer. Then he might have actually gotten an answer from Canham. Probably another pr answer but those should be all the answers any reporter should get from Canham and Hill regarding a new manager. Especially at an event where you're unveiling big plans for future of youth football in Ireland.
As the old saying goes treat them like mushrooms. Feed them **** and keep them in the dark.
CraftyToePoke
20/02/2024, 8:01 PM
If you were doing a SWOT analysis what are the actual selling points of the job ?
Plan & implement strategies secruring the future success of Irish football, while delivering major finals ( & take scalps while at them ) with no midfield, bits of potential elsewhere, and play through the thirds while doing it, for half the salary of a run of the mill Championship gig, all while living in an absolute goldfish bowl that is the Ireland job with a fanbase & media largely now comprised of people raised in a successful blip circa 88 - 94 which never happened since or prior.
No wonder there's a queue of yesses for it ;)
( all sarcasm there for those in any bit of doubt )
Tuchel confirmed to be leaving at the end of the season.
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/68301718
Surely worth a word with Anthony Barry again? He'd be first choice in a flash if he was interested in stepping up IMO.
Eirambler
21/02/2024, 10:00 AM
I doubt Barry would take it, or would stick around for long if he did. He'd be off to a stronger team again at the first opportunity, just like he did previously.
Whatever approach the FAI have tried up to now has been an abject failure. It's long past time they upped the budget and got a decent manager in, be that Carsley or someone else. A good manager will pay for himself through sponsorships, increased attendances and, by the time the next Euros comes around, tournament qualification.
21/02/2024, 10:18 AM
Barry still has a Euros coming up with Portugal. I can't see a genuine title contender losing their highly-respected assistant manager to a much lower-ranked country just before a major finals tbh.
I mean are the FAI actually going to approach him or is this just another case of the media putting 2 and 2 together and hoping to get 4 only for them to be wrong ... AGAIN?
It's either going to Carsley or someone we havent even been talking about I'm sure. This talk of Barry, Coleman, Lennon is the media's way of saying they havent a Scooby doo.
seanfhear
21/02/2024, 10:31 AM
I mean are the FAI actually going to approach him or is this just another case of the media putting 2 and 2 together and hoping to get 4 only for them to be wrong ... AGAIN?
It's either going to Carsley or someone we havent even been talking about I'm sure. This talk of Barry, Coleman, Lennon is the media's way of saying they havent a Scooby doo.
What is Scooby Doo doing, these days anyway ? !
ontheotherhand
21/02/2024, 11:15 AM
I doubt Barry would take it, or would stick around for long if he did. He'd be off to a stronger team again at the first opportunity, just like he did previously.
Whatever approach the FAI have tried up to now has been an abject failure. It's long past time they upped the budget and got a decent manager in, be that Carsley or someone else. A good manager will pay for himself through sponsorships, increased attendances and, by the time the next Euros comes around, tournament qualification.
Would he?
Tournament qualification isn't something I'd be banking on. Attendances have been OK regardless of form. Pretty much the same as they've always been. Sponsorships maybe?
The FAI is broke. I'd guess they've already upped the budget with the targets you've mentioned in mind to be honest so unless someone is going to fund the appt then we are where we are.
If they are going to change something it should probably be the brief and requirements. Having such a clear picture of what they want without having any candidates who really fit the bill isn't helping.
weldoninhio
21/02/2024, 12:44 PM
I must remember this the next time i'm absolutely broke and can't afford to go out for pints. I'll just "up my budget". Magic.
Dermobohs
21/02/2024, 1:02 PM
Interviewing for the Ireland job I hear.
EalingGreen
21/02/2024, 1:11 PM
What is Scooby Doo doing, these days anyway ? !The Good News is that he's in a gold mine.
Unfortunately the Bad News is that it's an old, abandoned gold mine...
The Good News is that he's in a gold mine.
Unfortunately the Bad News is that it's an old, abandoned gold mine...
Take off Anthony Barry's mask to reveal Noel King.
21/02/2024, 1:28 PM
He's been through some stuff
https://i.pinimg.com/474x/8a/5d/77/8a5d771d9664c6b3f2428e7d8ed2e28c--scooby-doo-apocalypse.jpg
21/02/2024, 1:30 PM
I must remember this the next time i'm absolutely broke and can't afford to go out for pints. I'll just "up my budget". Magic.
Can I offer a spin on this metaphor? The FAI is the guy at the bar of the Shelbourne, looking at all the top shelf stuff and whinging that he can't afford a good Bordeaux these days. Granted, he's just been burned when he paid through the nose for a pruno that gave him the ****s, but he's maybe not looking hard enough.
https://i.pinimg.com/474x/8a/5d/77/8a5d771d9664c6b3f2428e7d8ed2e28c--scooby-doo-apocalypse.jpg
I think Scrappy might be a better fit for us.
21/02/2024, 1:54 PM
https://i.imgur.com/5PLRMCf.png
I wondered if Scooby would be a good fit. For copyright reasons, I had to prompt with a description of the gang, which the model has interpreted a bit oddly. It seems Velma is defecating on the bench with her skirt around her ankles. Fred has aged rapidly, perhaps from watching us play in perparation for coming on as Scooby's assistant. I also don't know what's going on anotomically there: he seems to be sitting inside the bench, and his legs are disproprotionate. Daphne has come with her boots, perhaps arguing that she's the solution we're looking for at left back. And it's still better than Lennon getting the job.
Lovin the kit though (ignoring the crest obviously).
The Legend
21/02/2024, 3:01 PM
Ah glad to see Conor McGregor got a new gig!
Razors left peg
21/02/2024, 3:41 PM
If you're struggling for pints money just have another kid and your dole money will go up
Eirambler
21/02/2024, 3:44 PM
Just stick it on the 0% interest credit card like I do.:)
The FAI can up the budget if they want to. This is a crucial appointment because whoever is hired should be managing us at a home Euros if they're any way remotely competent.
Attendances were mostly OK during Kenny's term, mainly out of a blind loyalty to him from a large section of the support. But even then they tailed off badly at the end. Put in an unpopular appointment on the cheap and if he doesn't get off to a flyer they'll be struggling to get 20k in there within a year.
ontheotherhand
21/02/2024, 5:37 PM
The FAI having more money than we think is certainly a different take.
What would you propose cutting to increase the senior mgmt team budget? Maybe they could stop paying their staff.....oh wait (https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/fai-staff-demand-management-attends-32178321)....
They were almost liquidated. There isn't a cushion they haven't looked under. Gambling the existence of the governing body and more importantly the livelihoods of real football people in the country on tournament qualification and sponsorship deals with the squad we have....nah, not for me to be honest.
seanfhear
21/02/2024, 5:52 PM
Maybe Rte would be able to give a leg up ~ ~ Plenty of money sloshing about in Rte ! ! !
Rte / FAI ~ ~ The Musical !
ontheotherhand
21/02/2024, 8:49 PM
Add in the phone in team selection and we've got a reality tv show that would sort everything.
elatedscum
22/02/2024, 1:07 AM
The FAI having more money than we think is certainly a different take.
What would you propose cutting to increase the senior mgmt team budget? Maybe they could stop paying their staff.....oh wait (https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/fai-staff-demand-management-attends-32178321)....
They were almost liquidated. There isn't a cushion they haven't looked under. Gambling the existence of the governing body and more importantly the livelihoods of real football people in the country on tournament qualification and sponsorship deals with the squad we have....nah, not for me to be honest.
I think the fair point Eirrambler is making is that a good appointment, lets assume Lee Carsley, if he brings in an extra 5,000 punters a game, then that equates to over €1m in additional revenue per year. So being stingy to the point where you can't attract a good candidate does, in the end, cost the association more money. And if you're budgeting, you can factor in the increased wages or increased cost of the backroom staff with what you expect to earn from match days...
The big cash cow is of course if you can get a manager capable of qualifying you for a tournament. A single unexpected tournament qualification would be enough to stabilise the FAI finances for the foreseeable future... That's why Uruguay (a country similar in size to ourselves) are prepared to pay Bielsa $4m a year (a Trappatoni type wage)
Colbert Report
22/02/2024, 1:42 AM
I was very critical of Stephen Kenny and regard him as little more than an amateur, but let's be realistic here. We could bring Jurgen Klopp in and he wouldn't be able to make much with our current crop. Nobody is going to pay money to watch a manager, and I doubt even Lee Carsley will be capable of getting much out of the squad.
Razors left peg
22/02/2024, 3:22 AM
I was very critical of Stephen Kenny and regard him as little more than an amateur, but let's be realistic here. We could bring Jurgen Klopp in and he wouldn't be able to make much with our current crop. Nobody is going to pay money to watch a manager, and I doubt even Lee Carsley will be capable of getting much out of the squad.
I love this line. Comes up everytime we are looking for new manager...."sure we are crap anyway, what difference does the manager make."
Usually that line is said by dopes who could hardly name 5 Irish players because the dont play for Liverpool or Man Utd, but these same dopes are the first to get pi$$ed and coked up traveling to a tournament when we qualify.
Colbert, no one is saying that people pay to watch a manager, but the manager makes a big impact in how the fans support the team which in turn generates money. At the end of the O'Neill era attendances were way down in the stadium.
People forget why Kenny got his chance. We were going nowhere and we needed a reset. We could hardly even score goals at one point. Wasnt there a season where the FAI didnt have a goal of the year competition because we didnt score a goal all year. Our only way of scoring seemed to be from a set piece. Kenny didnt really lose the support of the match going fans until the very end, because most remembered how bad it had gotten before him. Our results were poor under Kenny but by bringing in young players it at least felt like we were trying something different, and we did start scoring goals in games. Towards the end he lost his bottle with that and brought back in the likes of Duffy while still trying to play out from the back and it was all just crap. Kenny had the right ideas but wasnt capable of implementing the ideas.... but the right new manager has a base to work with. An extremely young squad that has a decent amount of caps.
I know you live in Southern California, like myself, so I dont know if you have ever gone to Lansdowne. The fans have always supported a manager trying to do the right thing. They dont respond well to the likes of Trap and O'Neill saying things like "we dont have the players". Thats why towards the end of their tenures attendances were way down, in a way that never happened under Kenny. With this crop of young players we have its extremely important that the right man is appointed to help them take the steps forward we need.
If you genuinely think that we are just crap no matter who is appointed, you should probably just stick to watching Softball.
22/02/2024, 6:37 AM
I think the fair point Eirrambler is making is that a good appointment, lets assume Lee Carsley, if he brings in an extra 5,000 punters a game, then that equates to over €1m in additional revenue per year. So being stingy to the point where you can't attract a good candidate does, in the end, cost the association more money. And if you're budgeting, you can factor in the increased wages or increased cost of the backroom staff with what you expect to earn from match days...
The big cash cow is of course if you can get a manager capable of qualifying you for a tournament. A single unexpected tournament qualification would be enough to stabilise the FAI finances for the foreseeable future... That's why Uruguay (a country similar in size to ourselves) are prepared to pay Bielsa $4m a year (a Trappatoni type wage)
Flip side of that is how many football clubs down the years have budgeted for success and then found themselves up the creek without a paddle when it hasn't happened?
And given we're already well down that creek thanks to Delaney, I think we have to be cautious when it comes to a budget. We have what we have. As noted, the crowds are decent anyway (the New Zealand friendly aside); a new manager won't have a huge uplift there.
ontheotherhand
22/02/2024, 7:35 AM
I'm going out on a limb here, but Uruguay have a better chance of qualifying for tournaments than us. That ain't the same gamble at all.
As you said "a single, unexpected tournament qualification" solves a lot. The problem there is chasing the unlikely with money we don't have. Is the risk worth the reward? Not for me. We are arguably already pushing the budget out and have been for a while. The Carlsey saga tells me we are probably already banking an attendance increases at a minimum. It fell apart due to backroom staff wage needs? IF that's true then I'd say we were in risky territory to begin with.
McCarthy would cost probably double or triple what we are rumoured to have. Does he get us to a tournament? Who else goes unpaid while we wait for it?
Snapshot
22/02/2024, 8:50 AM
Pragmatism was dumped. Limited squad, historically inept manager, ridiculously naive fanbase. Klopp? His Videogate would have been very interesting.