View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders
13/04/2024, 10:22 AM
Hughes peaked with Blackburn more than a decade ago, and has been dining out on that run ever since.
13/04/2024, 10:28 AM
A bit harsh; he did quite well at Stoke too.
Beggars can't be choosers though
Diggs246
13/04/2024, 10:46 AM
Surely Steve bruce would prefer us to south Korea. They might be a better team but it's a different kettle of fish overthere
He's got to be better the JOS or as things stand nobody
Diggs246
13/04/2024, 12:25 PM
Janne Anderson would be Great and he would be getting a salary raise from his Sweden days
All of us who have staff know, when. You hire someone give them more than they are on currently.!
I know football is different but it helps psychologically.
Diggs246
13/04/2024, 12:27 PM
"Sweden coach Janne Andersson made 4,420,300 Swedish kronor in 2022, equal to around 377,747 euros at exchange rates on 8 November 2023"
13/04/2024, 12:54 PM
Janne Anderson would be Great and he would be getting a salary raise from his Sweden days
All of us who have staff know, when. You hire someone give them more than they are on currently.!
I know football is different but it helps psychologically.
Janne the Great! I’d like him too - been doing a bit of research on him since I first saw him mentioned. The only thing is he is remarkably Sweden-centric in his career to date and I’d wonder what he’d make of us pixie heads.
Diggs246
13/04/2024, 2:37 PM
Janne the Great! I’d like him too - been doing a bit of research on him since I first saw him mentioned. The only thing is he is remarkably Sweden-centric in his career to date and I’d wonder what he’d make of us pixie heads.
He will love us
The only people who hate us is Israel and that's a compliment
CraftyToePoke
15/04/2024, 4:07 PM
In other news, Carsley is in to 11/2 from dead bet odds in the last hour. It couldn't be, could it ...
Razors left peg
15/04/2024, 5:01 PM
In other news, Carsley is in to 11/2 from dead bet odds in the last hour. It couldn't be, could it ...
Dont fcukin tease me like that, the therapy has just started working!!
Razors left peg
15/04/2024, 10:40 PM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41375113.html
Mr Fallon saying delay until summer now... I'll hold off on judgement based on Fallons record, but Holy sh1t if this is right then Canham and Bonner should be out the door before it even closes behind Hill
Snapshot
16/04/2024, 2:19 AM
Surely Steve bruce would prefer us to south Korea. They might be a better team but it's a different kettle of fish overthere
He's got to be better the JOS or as things stand nobody
Chris Hughton over Bruce surely. Better candidate given his history as player and assistant manager with Ireland.
Eirambler
16/04/2024, 6:02 AM
I think that article needs to get the usual John Fallon treatment until such time as it's backed up by more reliable sources. But, if it's true and there's nothing further to add this week other than we'll announce someone in the summer, then that needs to be the end of it for Canham and Bonner.
16/04/2024, 7:13 AM
Yeah, if it's true is the caveat - but this is an appointment we've been told is all but signed, sealed and delivered. I think Hall was on the panel but they can sign off before he leaves - or the Board can ratify the decision even if Hall leaves surely?
Are we going to have a case where the new manager will miss four friendlies and get thrown straight into a tie against England? That's ridiculous
NeverFeltBetter
16/04/2024, 8:07 AM
Gotta love the dig in the first paragraph here: https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2024/0415/1443638-fais-mountain-of-issues-overshadow-hills-rocky-reign/
Upheaval at the Football Association of Ireland once again. After serving three-and-a-half years of a five-year stint, Jonathan Hill will depart his role as CEO on 30 April, or early April as they presumably term it in Abbotstown.
16/04/2024, 8:36 AM
I guess they just seriously overestimated the attractiveness of the job, and assumed they'd find a manager easily, and are going into something of a tailspin now.
Diggs246
16/04/2024, 8:43 AM
Chris Hughton over Bruce surely. Better candidate given his history as player and assistant manager with Ireland.
At this stage either will be a victory
If the summer delay is correct, then we should be happy it's defo not JOS
I guess they just seriously overestimated the attractiveness of the job, and assumed they'd find a manager easily, and are going into something of a tailspin now.
My guess is they built this head coach stuff around one man and one man only, Lee Carsley. Though when he said no it's now left them up ****s creek a bit. Others that would have fitted the role they wanted wouldn't touch the job in Barry and Eustace. They spoke with Anthony Hudson but he'd be a huge gamble.
At this stage my list would go Janne Andersson then Chris Hughton or Willy Sagnol. Andersson would supposedly get a pay rise accepting Kenny's wages but don't see him being open to the head coach stuff Canham has went on about.
When you look at some of the names left like Bruce for example since twitter rumours have talked about him. You probably could put all the names into a hat and just pull a name for the sake of it. When you're that far down might as well just give it to Hughton. His coaching career is just as long as his management career so he's probably you're best pound shop version of what they want for the role.
I have no big problem with delaying appointment if it means getting the right person, if that's what comes to pass. The main issue is the lack of transparency and frankly, dishonesty. You simply can't say we'll be announcing the new manager in (early) April and then renege on that and expect no reaction.
Once bitten twice shy and all that, I for one wouldn't believe a single thing the current administration say if this is how things pan out.
16/04/2024, 9:51 AM
I have no big problem with delaying appointment if it means getting the right person, if that's what comes to pass.
There's a limit to that though, surely?
If we haven't enticed Pep by now, we probably aren't going to get him by June...
There's a limit to that though, surely?
If we haven't enticed Pep by now, we probably aren't going to get him by June...
yes... i guess ideally before the june friendlies but failing that at least a couple of weeks before our next competitive game in sept. appointing now or early june doesn't seem like it would make too much difference to me.
Snapshot
16/04/2024, 10:36 AM
My guess is they built this head coach stuff around one man and one man only, Lee Carsley. Though when he said no it's now left them up ****s creek a bit. Others that would have fitted the role they wanted wouldn't touch the job in Barry and Eustace. They spoke with Anthony Hudson but he'd be a huge gamble.
At this stage my list would go Janne Andersson then Chris Hughton or Willy Sagnol. Andersson would supposedly get a pay rise accepting Kenny's wages but don't see him being open to the head coach stuff Canham has went on about.
When you look at some of the names left like Bruce for example since twitter rumours have talked about him. You probably could put all the names into a hat and just pull a name for the sake of it. When you're that far down might as well just give it to Hughton. His coaching career is just as long as his management career so he's probably you're best pound shop version of what they want for the role.
I agree with most of that but your pound-shop reference to Hughton, though a nice turn of phrase, is harsh. With (presumably) Carsley and Barry out of the frame and Sagnol's dark cloud, I cannot see better than Hughton to restore respect to the national side. Andersson is interesting but Hughton is one of our own and though you value him at a pound I reckon he's worth a punt.
16/04/2024, 11:00 AM
and though you value him at a pound I reckon he's worth a punt.Very good!
elatedscum
16/04/2024, 3:14 PM
Janne Anderson's last few years for Sweden have been worse than Kenny's were with Ireland. Getting beaten 2-0 by Georgia which largely stops them qualifying for the world cup automatically. Then losing 2-0 to Poland in the playoffs. Then getting relegated to League C in the Nation's League (losing 4, drawing 1, winning 1 of 6 games). Then failing to qualify for the euros in what was a pretty easy group. Highlights included losing 3-0 to Azerbaijan, losing home and away to Austria 2-0 and 3-1, and 3-0 to Belgium.
Obviously he had real success before that: qualifying for the world cup in a terribly difficult draw, winning the world cup group (with the help of an imploding germany and a mexico who went out of their way to shoot themselves in the foot), winning the nation's league B group, qualifying for and winning the euro 2020 group.
I just feel it's very likely we'd be getting a manager who is 3 years passed his sell-by date
Jd2793
16/04/2024, 4:01 PM
hughton? dear god whats the point anymore
backstothewall
16/04/2024, 4:07 PM
If Hill has resigned who is even responsible for making the appointment now?
Razors left peg
16/04/2024, 4:19 PM
If Hughton/Bruce get appointed there will be half empty stadiums. We quickly forget how bad things got towards the end of the O'Neill and Trap days. There was a reason Kenny got a chance, the fans were sick of us having 25% possession at home and just defending for 90 minutes. It got results for a while, but football has moved on. Kenny tried to be progressive and in the end it didnt work with results, but to the end the stadium was still full and it was never as toxic as the end of the other eras.
The 2 recent friendlies show that the FAI cant take for granted that the fans will turn up. I know they were only friendlies, but the way they sold the tickets and the fact that it was only an interim manager a lot of people just didnt bother going. If they dont produce a manager that can put some enthusiasm back in to the fans there is a danger that the apathy that has been allowed to fester by them fcuking around for the last 6 months will continue into the games. Yes, the England game will sell out, because theres enough idiots in the country who will want to go to see their Premiership players, but if they appoint a manager who most of would let out a collective groan at, by this time next year they could be struggling to get 25,000 at games
Razors left peg
16/04/2024, 4:20 PM
If Hill has resigned who is even responsible for making the appointment now?
Canham is supposed to be presenting to the board on Wednesday evening. That suggests they have their guy and Hill has no more to do with it. If Fallon is right and the search goes on to the summer, then who the hell knows
Crosby87
16/04/2024, 4:50 PM
Why not a reality show?
Winner to managed Ireland!
Gordon Ramsey and the like can give tasks and challenges, and each week one person is eliminated.
The final show is the final 3. At the end, Stutts gives one lucky fella a rose.
Why not a reality show?
Gordon Ramsey and the like can give tasks and challenges, and each week one person is eliminated.
Said this before that the FAI should hire Netflix to come in and do a mockumentary. Harchester United wouldn't get a look in with the FAI.
Rather than have all these people battle it out to be manager we could just keep the job as interim only and invite people in to manage the team.
Razors left peg
16/04/2024, 5:46 PM
Neil O'Riordan now saying there wont be an appointment this week. John O'Shea doing interviews saying that hes not been told he wont be getting the job.
At what point do Canham and Bonner get fired for gross incompetence.
Said this before that the FAI should hire Netflix to come in and do a mockumentary. Harchester United wouldn't get a look in with the FAI.
Rather than have all these people battle it out to be manager we could just keep the job as interim only and invite people in to manage the team.
just a few images that spring to mind :D
https://i2-prod.getreading.co.uk/incoming/article7316845.ece/ALTERNATES/s615b/CS47249805-1.jpg
https://i.pinimg.com/originals/45/8f/ef/458fefbdaa33c3eafeddeb2d50fd829b.jpg
seanfhear
16/04/2024, 9:29 PM
Why not a reality show?
Donald Trump to choose the Ireland Manager ~ ~ Step forward Stormy Daniels ! !
Eirambler
16/04/2024, 9:41 PM
Are they seriously going to let the week run out without even making a statement clarifying what happened since their previous statement? These lads are taking the Irish sporting public for fools and getting well paid for doing it.
CraftyToePoke
16/04/2024, 9:44 PM
There's a board meeting tomorrow isn't there ?
We'll have something following that if so surely.
Edit : now rumoured to have been cancelled [ YBIG poster ]
elatedscum
17/04/2024, 2:46 AM
I read the irish times piece. Says Hill is already gone. He’s officially here till the 30th but he’s already on annual leave which takes him to then. Says appointment delayed but board meeting where Canham updates the board will happen. Then there’s this great quote:
“The most interesting sight at the Aviva on Tuesday evening was a mock riot between fake hooligans and the Garda Public Order Unit, down the north end of the stadium, where English fans will be put when they visit on September 7th.”
How on earth do you get a job as a fake hooligan? I think I really really would have liked to have been part of it
elatedscum
17/04/2024, 2:49 AM
All bull**** aside, I’d say they get O’Shea to manage in June and see who gets sacked after the euros and if there’s anyone decent who fits their criteria.
Maybe they’re hoping for Marco Rossi or someone to walk / be fired
elatedscum
17/04/2024, 2:56 AM
Thinking through this a bit more. I’m sure there’s plenty out of contract but the issue is, anyone who does a bad job at the euros is undesirable. Anyone who does a great job is probably unaffordable.
Does anyone want to do analysis on the 24 managers at the euros? Contract situations? Job they’ve done so far? Presumed affordability? How well does it fit?
I’ll try find the time if no one else is up for it
Razors left peg
17/04/2024, 4:01 AM
If it goes to the end of the season I want Robbie. I know the Israeli thing is sh1t, but our own Government are still doing business with them so football man doing job doesn't bother me too much. Couple of good results and everyone moves on. Roy was regarded as a traitor to his own country and most reasonable people moved on pretty quickly. Robbie will hopefully win league title there and might be getable then
Eirambler
17/04/2024, 7:14 AM
O'Shea is destroying his own credibility by staying involved in this. So blatantly obvious that nobody wants him but he's willing to wait around just in case things fall his way. But even if they do he'll be hugely damaged now from the outset. He should go and continue to learn his trade and stop looking for an easy short cut to the top job.
Jolly Red Giant
17/04/2024, 10:01 AM
All bull**** aside, I’d say they get O’Shea to manage in June and see who gets sacked after the euros and if there’s anyone decent who fits their criteria.
Maybe they’re hoping for Marco Rossi or someone to walk / be fired
Hopefully they are not going after the racist
If it goes to the end of the season I want Robbie. I know the Israeli thing is sh1t, but our own Government are still doing business with them so football man doing job doesn't bother me too much. Couple of good results and everyone moves on. Roy was regarded as a traitor to his own country and most reasonable people moved on pretty quickly. Robbie will hopefully win league title there and might be getable then
Robbie Keane would be a big PR disaster if they hired him straight from Israel so they won't touch him.
Jolly Red Giant
17/04/2024, 10:03 AM
Thinking through this a bit more. I’m sure there’s plenty out of contract but the issue is, anyone who does a bad job at the euros is undesirable. Anyone who does a great job is probably unaffordable.
Does anyone want to do analysis on the 24 managers at the euros? Contract situations? Job they’ve done so far? Presumed affordability? How well does it fit?
There are a lot of coaches out there who are either unemployed or coming to the end of their contract - there is a limited number of vacancies and a lot more people looking for them. The FAI should cast a wide net.
As for the Euro managers - I did have a look
Sylvinho is out of contract with Albania after the Euros
So is Ralf Rangnick with Austria
And Domenico Tedesco with Belgium
And Edward Iordanescu with Romania
And Matjaž Kek with Slovenia
And Murat Yakin with Switzerland
From this list - the only one who would interest me is Sylvinho
Jolly Red Giant
17/04/2024, 10:05 AM
Along with being an a*sehole - he has shown nothing that would indicate he is a good coach (he did nothing at Middlesbrough - he screwed the FAI for a lot of money - and managing the big fish in a small pond really doesn't add much).
Jolly Red Giant
17/04/2024, 10:06 AM
O'Shea is destroying his own credibility by staying involved in this. So blatantly obvious that nobody wants him but he's willing to wait around just in case things fall his way. But even if they do he'll be hugely damaged now from the outset. He should go and continue to learn his trade and stop looking for an easy short cut to the top job.
I agree - and I always thought O'Shea was a smart guy - unfortunately he is not showing it so far in his coaching choices.
Predator
17/04/2024, 10:33 AM
Chris Hughton would be a great manager for Ireland and, given the current field of candidates, he is now arguably the best available option. Do it.
Eirambler
17/04/2024, 10:42 AM
Like so many others, the question is whether Hughton could be bothered with it for the salary involved.
Snapshot
17/04/2024, 10:59 AM
Unnecessary sledges among a smattering of assumptions. What has O'Shea done to deserve such comments, such condemnation, such vitriol? In the wake of three dire Kenny years when, lest we forget, Ireland failed to score in seven early consecutive games, O'Shea is being hammered from pillar to post for two stand-in games, one of which (Belgium) was generally assessed as promising.
I don't think JOS will get the job. Yes, his managerial inexperience is a legitimate minus and there are preferred candidates - if they're available or willing to make themselves available.
So he puts his hand up and you've blasted that as hanging around like a bad smell.
He's done nothing other than show loyalty, ambition and a modicum of optimism. How does that "badly damage" his name? It doesn't, in fact it enhances it whatever the outcome.
Eirambler
17/04/2024, 12:29 PM
It's not intended as vitriol, just an assessment of the situation. O'Shea isn't qualified to do this job, he has been part of a number of unsuccessful coaching setups over the last few years, in addition to showing nothing of note in his games as interim manager.
If he ends up in the job he will be seen now as the appointment of last resort, there's no other way of looking at it. That will weaken his position from day one. Yet he seems happy to sit tight and hope the FAI fail spectacularly enough that he ends up getting the gig.
He should walk away now and earn the appointment in future through actually achieving some coaching success of note.
weldoninhio
17/04/2024, 1:01 PM
All leagues will be over in May, so that managerial merry-go-round will also be in full flow. There will be lots of candidates looking for a new job.
Rotherham are looking for a coach; maybe JOSH thinks he is above league one standard (as they've just been relegated from the championship). There is some recent precedence in ex-Utd players with minimal to no managerial experience (Rooney, Carrick spring to mind though I can't remember if Derby were L1 or champ when rooney took over) being given championship jobs but I'd say it's relatively uncommon and tends to be the preserve of ex England internationals.
Which is a roundabout way of illustrating the level I would consider JOSH to be at in this stage of his career.
edit: Rotherham have re-appointed ex-manager Steve Evans today but the broader point stands.