View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55

14/02/2024, 2:32 PM
But you're aware of the knife incident? But you have decided to give him the benefit of the doubt

Fine that's you. I wasn't born yesterday and I know a problem when I see it.
I mentioned nothing about the knife incident because my post was in response to yours, which was purely a video of the guy drunk, with the caption "Neil Lennon drunk". There was nothing else in your post.

I don't care about a guy being drunk. Brian Clough was one of the finest managers in the English game and was drunk for half of it.

That doesn't mean you can assume my views on other issues though.

14/02/2024, 2:50 PM
If Lennon having had too much to drink was the worst thing he's done, then I wouldn't have much issue with it, or it being a reason not to appoint him.
But it isn't.

weldoninhio
14/02/2024, 3:20 PM
Reading between the lines it seems like the FAI are prepared to pay a full time wage for a full time appointment, or a part time wage for a part time appointment, but not a full time wage for a guy who wants to fly in and out around fixtures. I imagine Kenny was around Abbotstown and around the country and was seen to be doing the job in a different way from his predecessors who weren’t in the country between international windows.

I find it hard to argue that point. Carsley’s family situation probably makes relocating to Ireland impossible, and what the FAI view as being a fair wage for a part timer is likely significantly less than he could expect to attract in England.

It's a classic stand off really. I don’t think anyone is really in the wrong. Perhaps Lennon is the most qualified candidate prepared to relocate to this side of the Irish Sea (much easier for a guy who’s originally from Lurgan tbf). But the fact’s are that Lennon’s baggage makes him completely unsuitable.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/neil-lennon-made-shocking-knife-7043869

How in the name of God can he go and sit on the couch on the Late Late and expect this not to come up? No serious football association in western Europe can appoint someone to the most senior coaching role in their country with that sort of past. The inevitable reaction would make his appointment impossible to sustain even if they do foolishly go for it. The questions simply won't end until he resigns.

If the FAI want someone who will relocate to this island to take the job, that’s not necessarily a bad idea. But they might have to get a little imaginative in casting their net than looking at who’s doing the rounds as occasional pundits on TV. Celtic didn’t find Ange Postecoglou sitting on a Sky Sports sofa.

A made up story by a woman scorned that was never reported to the cops, just spread about the tabloids. Why would anyone question that? IF it had really happened he'd have been arrested and questioned at the very least. Don't believe everything you read in tabloids.

Razors left peg
14/02/2024, 3:27 PM
Neil Lennon would be forced out of the job within 6 months of being appointed by the uproar his appointment would cause. There are significant character issues with him and plenty of stories would get out.

There is Zero chance the FAI will risk the government funding they are fighting for by appointing him.

I heard from a mate that Scott Parker has gone to short odds from 40/1

weldoninhio
14/02/2024, 3:28 PM
If Lennon having had too much to drink was the worst thing he's done, then I wouldn't have much issue with it, or it being a reason not to appoint him.
But it isn't.
Whats the worst thing he's done>

backstothewall
14/02/2024, 7:46 PM
A made up story by a woman scorned that was never reported to the cops, just spread about the tabloids. Why would anyone question that? IF it had really happened he'd have been arrested and questioned at the very least. Don't believe everything you read in tabloids.

I don't know how much of the story is true. On one hand trouble has followed him everywhere he's gone. On the other hand the Scottish tabloids are absolute scum.

But in a way for the FAI it doesn't matter whether it's true or not. Elements of the media will be incredibly hostile because he's a Nordie, as will elements of the political classes.

He'll be asked the same questions either way. And answering them once won't stop them. The woman who made the accusations will be brought over to give her side of the story. She'll do the Late Late where she'll say enough for the news to carry the clip over the weekend. There'll be an interview in the SIndo and all that will set up a week long circus on Joe Duffy.

The videos of him that were posted above will be everywhere. Stories will come out of Lurgan about one thing and another that have happened there down through the years. A TD looking for some attention will start asking questions about how much of the funding the FAI receive from the taxpayers goes to fund his salary.

He won't last a week.

seanfhear
14/02/2024, 8:00 PM
I don't know how much of the story is true. On one hand trouble has followed him everywhere he's gone. On the other hand the Scottish tabloids are absolute scum.

But in a way for the FAI it doesn't matter whether it's true or not. Elements of the media will be incredibly hostile because he's a Nordie, as will elements of the political classes.

He'll be asked the same questions either way. And answering them once won't stop them. The woman who made the accusations will be brought over to give her side of the story. She'll do the Late Late where she'll say enough for the news to carry the clip over the weekend. There'll be an interview in the SIndo and all that will set up a week long circus on Joe Duffy.

The videos of him that were posted above will be everywhere. Stories will come out of Lurgan about one thing and another that have happened there down through the years. A TD looking for some attention will start asking questions about how much of the funding the FAI receive from the taxpayers goes to fund his salary.

He won't last a week.He would be foolish to take the job if it was offered ~ Because all of what you have said in that post will probably happen.

And , why would the FAI open such a can of troubles ? !

backstothewall
14/02/2024, 8:25 PM
He would be foolish to take the job if it was offered ~ Because all of what you have said in that post will probably happen.

And , why would the FAI open such a can of troubles ? !

Lennon would be mad not to take it. He'll be stood down after a week and appropriately compensated. Worst case scenario he gets 6 months wages and never has to do so much as lay out some cones.

Razors left peg
14/02/2024, 9:06 PM
We all lose our minds when someone says Carsley is in or out. Clearly things haven't gone as smoothly as the FAI would have liked but until I hear something officially from Carsley or the FAI I won't believe he's in or out. If Kilbane says something I'll be more concerned than Shay saying it.

Kilbane had a throwaway bit at the end of his article a couple weeks ago about Kerr and that he should be involved. No one has said anything about it since, including Kerr. He's been surprisingly quiet... all this delay couldn't be for Carsley trying to get Kerr on his staff could it???

Well Kerr on Virgin Media saying tonight that it seems Carsley not taking it, so there goes that theory! Kerr mentioned Stephen Bradley when coming up with people for the job so he obviously has no inside info.

Im starting to believe its not Carsley now, in which case I think we are in deep sh1t.

third policeman
15/02/2024, 3:00 PM
I'd genuinely rather have Hodgson than Lennon or Keane. Hughton is a far from inspiring option, but we've surely reached a point where somebody offering basic competence and a large dose of integrity is about as good as we're likely to get.

weldoninhio
15/02/2024, 3:05 PM
I'd genuinely rather have Hodgson than Lennon or Keane. Hughton is a far from inspiring option, but we've surely reached a point where somebody offering basic competence and a large dose of integrity is about as good as we're likely to get.

Can't have Keane apparently.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/keane-released-on-bail-1.186559

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-30167555.html

D24Saint
15/02/2024, 3:09 PM
Hodgson could be the ideal kick the can down the road candidate. There is very little out there at the moment. He has excellent experience in the game and he could work for the next campaign.

Razors left peg
15/02/2024, 3:42 PM
Can't have Keane apparently.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/keane-released-on-bail-1.186559

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-30167555.html

Dont see anything in there about him threatening a woman with knife since you are trying to be a smartar$e and making the comparison. You can talk about tabloids all you want but defending Lennon here speaks more to your own character than anything else

Razors left peg
15/02/2024, 3:46 PM
If its not Carsley Id love us to take a punt on Brian Barry Murphy. Similar resume to Carsley, just few years behind. When theres no obvious stand out candidates for the criteria that Canham seems to have set out Barry Murphy ticks a lot of the boxes hes looking for.... but it might be more of a risk then they are willing to take after Kenny

15/02/2024, 4:16 PM
Reading between the lines it seems like the FAI are prepared to pay a full time wage for a full time appointment, or a part time wage for a part time appointment, but not a full time wage for a guy who wants to fly in and out around fixtures. I imagine Kenny was around Abbotstown and around the country and was seen to be doing the job in a different way from his predecessors who weren’t in the country between international windows.

I find it hard to argue that point. Carsley’s family situation probably makes relocating to Ireland impossible, and what the FAI view as being a fair wage for a part timer is likely significantly less than he could expect to attract in England.
If the FAI want someone who will relocate to this island to take the job, that’s not necessarily a bad idea. But they might have to get a little imaginative in casting their net than looking at who’s doing the rounds as occasional pundits on TV. Celtic didn’t find Ange Postecoglou sitting on a Sky Sports sofa.

I dont think a permanent presence in Ireland should be a pre-requisite for the role or that the salary should be deemed part-time if he is not in Ireland full time, if that is the sticking point. Define the job, the success criteria and then let the job get done. Establish reasonable travel expectations. Requiring a permanent presence in Ireland (or a salary penalty for not being permanently in Ireland) massively limits our candidate pool and doesn't really add any value (SK was full time in Ireland, so what?).

15/02/2024, 4:18 PM
Hodgson could be the ideal kick the can down the road candidate. There is very little out there at the moment. He has excellent experience in the game and he could work for the next campaign.

He's been rushed from the training ground to the hospital on the day he was supposed to be sacked... maybe he had a missed call from the FAI and it sent him over the edge. ;) wish him a speedy recovery.

Razors left peg
16/02/2024, 1:14 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41332978.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

Fallon says we are being stalled by budget for staff

Olé Olé
16/02/2024, 5:22 AM
https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-41332978.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

It does feel like this is the issue. I wonder if it's all related to the rumours regarding the sponsor and at that board meeting they had news regarding potential sponsorship which they were weighing up against the cost of Carsley and his backroom.

weldoninhio
16/02/2024, 9:26 AM
Dont see anything in there about him threatening a woman with knife since you are trying to be a smartar$e and making the comparison. You can talk about tabloids all you want but defending Lennon here speaks more to your own character than anything else

Nope, but actual charges, not just made up tabloid nonsense with no police reports, charges or anything beyond the waffling of a scorned woman.

Diggs246
16/02/2024, 10:30 AM
Nope, but actual charges, not just made up tabloid nonsense with no police reports, charges or anything beyond the waffling of a scorned woman.

Id say you get all the chicks!

16/02/2024, 10:38 AM
Diggs, play nice. You're both entitled to your opinions without throwing jibes. People can judge the opinions for themselves.

Razors left peg
16/02/2024, 10:46 AM

Very serious accusations from a woman that if untrue would most probably result in a libel case, that never happened.

Defending a man who threatened a woman with a knife is an odd stance to take, but unsurprising from you I must say

16/02/2024, 11:24 AM
but unsurprising from you I must say
RLP, same comment. Your argument stands by itself - personally I tend to agree with it - but that last clause is unnecessary and too personal.

I don't want to have to cut off this line of discussion, because Lennon is - to some people's dissatisfaction - on topic for the thread, but if it continues to be as aggressive, it will become necessary for the mods to intervene.

16/02/2024, 11:44 AM
Very serious accusations from a woman that if untrue would most probably result in a libel case, that never happened.

Defending a man who threatened a woman with a knife is an odd stance to take, but unsurprising from you I must say
I suppose the flip side of that argument, to play devil's advocate, is that equally there was never a conviction or anything further than a tabloid story so far as I can see.

Reading the article, I don't think it's correct to say he threatened a woman with a knife either. He passed a comment that something could happen - which is a pretty ****ty thing to say, but it's not quite the same as actually taking up a knife against someone.

Given he apologised for the comments and paid her £10k, I don't think weldoninho is correct to say it was just "the waffling of a scorned woman" either.

Razors left peg
16/02/2024, 11:49 AM
Look its been common knowledge for years that Lennon has plenty of off the field activities that make him unsuitable to be the manager of our national team.

16/02/2024, 12:04 PM
That's as maybe (yet it was never a problem with Roy Keane was on the coaching panel), but it's no reason to exaggerate accusations against him in fairness.

Somewhere in between the two sides there's a balanced position and in the era of social media and clickbait news, I think we should all be conscious of trying to get there.

16/02/2024, 12:13 PM
I'm pretty sure hes the guy who ran away and left his wife for a young wan.

seanfhear
16/02/2024, 12:46 PM
I'm pretty sure hes the guy who ran away and left his wife for a young wan.
There ~ But for the grace of god, go any of us (wink)

ontheotherhand
16/02/2024, 1:35 PM
That's as maybe (yet it was never a problem with Roy Keane was on the coaching panel), but it's no reason to exaggerate accusations against him in fairness.

Somewhere in between the two sides there's a balanced position and in the era of social media and clickbait news, I think we should all be conscious of trying to get there.

Does Keane have similar accusations against him? On field activities more of a problem there I'd have thought.

Im warming to the idea of Keane tbh. At least the interviews would be watchable even if the football wasn't.

seanfhear
16/02/2024, 1:51 PM
Does Keane have similar accusations against him? On field activities more of a problem there I'd have thought.

Im warming to the idea of Keane tbh. At least the interviews would be watchable even if the football wasn't.
Roy Keane would probably be a circus ~ ~ But probably a reasonably well watched circus ~ ~ Money generator ~ ~ Sometimes, hide behind the sofa ~ ~ Watch through fingers.

It probably wouldn't last more than 18 months ~ ~ Maybe then a good quality manager might be available. OK, 18 months of purgatory for real soccer fans, but ya can't always get what you want !

16/02/2024, 1:54 PM
Well I'm referring to weldoninho's links on the last page where he was twice previously arrested and charged with assault. I don't think anything came of those either, so the point would be that yeah, there is a similar enough accusation against him.

liamoo11
16/02/2024, 2:11 PM

If its a budget issue then I don't see any blame here for Fai. They have financial issues and huge scrutiny on their governance so if its not financially viable they have no option but to try and negotiate and be prepared to move on. That's the accountability people wanted from the new fai. You can't just spend money you don't have in the hope that it will bring success

ontheotherhand
16/02/2024, 2:27 PM
Well I'm referring to weldoninho's links on the last page where he was twice previously arrested and charged with assault. I don't think anything came of those either, so the point would be that yeah, there is a similar enough accusation against him.

Ah apologies, I thought you were talking about the knife incident.

Razors left peg
16/02/2024, 3:54 PM
If its a budget issue then I don't see any blame here for Fai. They have financial issues and huge scrutiny on their governance so if its not financially viable they have no option but to try and negotiate and be prepared to move on. That's the accountability people wanted from the new fai. You can't just spend money you don't have in the hope that it will bring success

I wonder has the delay been so that they can get the Revolut deal over the line which might give them extra funds to use for this.

Its the hope that kills you!

Razors left peg
16/02/2024, 6:09 PM
Dan mcd’s newsletter:

Dear reader,

It seems appropriate to start the first newsletter of 2024 by quoting the final sentence from the 2023 farewell in December.

The subject was the early wave of betting driven speculation around the Ireland job.

“Let’s hope the circus has moved onto something else by the time this newsletter returns in February,” was the optimistic sign-off.

It’s the hope that kills you.

Jonathan Hill promised last week that there would be announcement overshadowing the League of Ireland launch – although the extent to which the FAI are in control of any timelines here is open to debate.

Pundit talk has replaced paper talk this week – with Shay Given emerging as an unlikely news source with a definitive take on Lee Carsley’s intentions.

For what it’s worth, there are other ex-teammates of Carsley who haven’t given up on the prospect of his appointment and my belief is that negotiations are ongoing but it appears safe to assume that there’ll be time to return to the circus next week.

backstothewall
16/02/2024, 7:54 PM

I guess the difference between Keane and Lennon is that Keane responded to that incident by cutting out the booze and cleaning up his act. He's spoken many times about how that night was a turning point in his career and his life.

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/roy-keane-reveals-his-alcohol-abuse/26243156.html

I wouldn't be a massive fan of appointing Roy Keane tbh, but he's obviously not the man he was in the 1990s. With Lennon it's far from clear that he's done the same.

Diggs246
17/02/2024, 10:19 AM
www.thesun.ie/sport/12216989/fai-lee-carsley-wage-jonathan-hill-manager/

I know it's the sun but it's detailed like it's not made up

Jolly Red Giant
17/02/2024, 11:38 AM
If that was the case - why did Lennon issue an apology saying that he was "very sorry for his actions" (ignoring the fact that the woman had a recording of him talking about the threat and that there is clear evidence of Lennon's associates, his lawyers, his PR company and the cops attempting to intimidate her).

Lennon (and those who hang around with him) has a record of aggressive behaviour - towards at least one woman that we know of - towards players to the point that after one particularly aggressive altercation at a squad meeting led to him having to resign from his job.

Lennon has spoken about having mental health issues - but these are not an excuse for such behaviour. Drinking alcohol to excess does not help with mental health issues or issues of aggression - and these accusations have been in the background for many, many years.

What clubs owned by oligarchs do is their own business - but the FAI is, in part, funded by government money (i.e. our money) and there is no way that they should be appointing someone with a record of threats against a woman or such an aggressive attitude towards players.

Jolly Red Giant
17/02/2024, 11:53 AM
I suppose the flip side of that argument, to play devil's advocate, is that equally there was never a conviction or anything further than a tabloid story so far as I can see.

Reading the article, I don't think it's correct to say he threatened a woman with a knife either. He passed a comment that something could happen - which is a pretty ****ty thing to say, but it's not quite the same as actually taking up a knife against someone.

Given he apologised for the comments and paid her £10k, I don't think weldoninho is correct to say it was just "the waffling of a scorned woman" either.

Lennon is know for his aggression and when he is in a relationship with a woman who is then telling him that she will tell his long-term partner, saying 'someone could put a knife to your throat' is pretty clear in its intent. In a relationship with an unbalanced power dynamic (a 45 year-old man in a high-profile job and a woman more than 20 years his junior) even the most subtle of comments can be threats - and this was not a subtle comment.

His 'apology' was not a fulsome apology - it was a wording designed to allow Bolton to avoid sacking him - it was not made to the woman in question, but to the media to try and redeem his reputation.

Last point - Lennon never paid her any money - he sent his PR company to her to offer her money in return for her signing an NDA and deleting all communication, messages, and photos from her phone. She refused to accept the money - and this intervention by the PR company prompted the woman to meet with Lennon's long-term partner. When Lennon found out she was talking to his partner (he phoned the woman he had threatened while she was there) he headed straight to the Greater Manchester Police reporting that the woman was attempting to blackmail him, knowing full well that the basis of any blackmail was unfounded because she had already told his partner what had happened and that the evidence actually proved the opposite.

Razors left peg
17/02/2024, 4:28 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2024/02/17/neil-lennon-says-decision-on-next-ireland-manager-is-imminent/?fbclid=IwAR0MB_9wTMf-N3cc4voQCtmEAiYp2HFT8je-Ut_3r0pzfivhq1VeIpluR50

Lennon says he doesn't know FAI decision, but it will come in next few days

17/02/2024, 4:29 PM
Well, that's not ominous at all. :eek:

Razors left peg
17/02/2024, 4:48 PM
Well, that's not ominous at all. :eek:

He's saying he doesn't know at least, you'd think if it's announced in next couple days they have agreement with someone.... I'm staying positive until I can't :D

Diggs246
17/02/2024, 5:21 PM
the fact that Lee carsley himself has never said no I'm out, I'm happy with the FA
Means there is some hope. My not just pull out if your gone your gone

CraftyToePoke
17/02/2024, 5:48 PM
My not just pull out if your gone your gone

What ? What did you just try to say Diggsy ?

Diggs246
17/02/2024, 5:57 PM
What ? What did you just try to say Diggsy ?

Typo ! Smarty pants !

Why not my

NeverFeltBetter
17/02/2024, 6:19 PM
Noted in RTE article that FAI reps are due before the Oireachtas next week. If Lennon, they presumably will want that to have come and gone.

CraftyToePoke
17/02/2024, 6:46 PM
Typo ! Smarty pants !

Why not my

It doesn't stop at that though Diggsy mon frere, sadly.

I assume you meant to convey if the man is out he should say so, which would be if you are out you are out & thus requiring you're & not your.

We come on here to enjoy certain standards of written discourse & to avoid social media levels of content, and although we still await a full paragraph from you on any matter, might you at least manage to formulate correct sentences meanwhile ?

Diggs246
17/02/2024, 7:25 PM
It doesn't stop at that though Diggsy mon frere, sadly.

I assume you meant to convey if the man is out he should say so, which would be if you are out you are out & thus requiring you're & not your.

We come on here to enjoy certain standards of written discourse & to avoid social media levels of content, and although we still await a full paragraph from you on any matter, might you at least manage to formulate correct sentences meanwhile ?

Crafty my darling Clementine
I thought we'd kissed and made up. Obviously not.
You helped and supported the downfall of our national team. At no stage, until it was too late did you man up and say. " I was wrong" or "Stephen Kenny was actually not qualified for the job"

Look at your sign off! your actually an embarrassment.
Your criticism is about the length of my posts or my standard of English. Meanwhile we are currently three places behind Burkina Faso in the world rankings. What are we doing this summer, going to Germany? No. I'm going to camping in France with my in-laws and I'm actually blaming you and the other morons that made the Kenny nightmare a reality.

CraftyToePoke
17/02/2024, 11:41 PM
Crafty my darling Clementine
I thought we'd kissed and made up. Obviously not.
You helped and supported the downfall of our national team. At no stage, until it was too late did you man up and say. " I was wrong" or "Stephen Kenny was actually not qualified for the job"

Look at your sign off! your actually an embarrassment.
Your criticism is about the length of my posts or my standard of English. Meanwhile we are currently three places behind Burkina Faso in the world rankings. What are we doing this summer, going to Germany? No. I'm going to camping in France with my in-laws and I'm actually blaming you and the other morons that made the Kenny nightmare a reality.

Bit touchy there ;)
At least you haven't overreacted ( I must point out at this juncture that was sarcasm ) because you clearly missed the sarcasm in my signature in a very hilariously entertaining way. Brilliant. Don't go changing now, you hear me ?

A full paragraph though, kudos for the smidge of personal growth there. Credit where it is due. ( sarcasm again there )

Again, one last time, you are = you're.

PS, Burkina Faso are half decent these days, no shame in it.

Razors left peg
17/02/2024, 11:45 PM
I feel like all Diggsys upset with having to go camping with the In Laws just came out in full force and got directed at poor Crafty... feckin hope it doesn't rain in the campsite now to top it off or we'll all get it!!