View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders
15/01/2024, 3:41 PM
Andre Burley was another one - played some games on loan at Waterford and played for St. Kitts and Nevis in the 2023 Gold Cup who are coached by Austin Huggins who is ex-Bohs.
Could write another full list of lads who have played in the league at some stage, to have featured in a major tournament.
Jolly Red Giant
15/01/2024, 3:41 PM
Ghana and Cape Verde are almost right beside each other in the world rankings; they've improved in recent years, probably because they've plenty of Portuguese-born players to call on.
It's not a good look for the CV though if he's eyeing up the Ireland job
Egypt needed a 97th-minute penalty to draw with Mozambique, so Ghana will probably have felt the group was opening up.
Bad result for Ghana and Hughton - massive blunder by the goalkeeper for the winner.
Ghana are not a good team - the FA is riddled with corruption and the team have been in freefall for the past five years. Hughton has been trying to stabilise the squad and keep the FA out of it. By all accounts the players (and fans) undergo massive mood swings - on a high when they are winning and then in the depths when things go against them. They will find it very tough to get out of the group.
As for Cape Verde - yea - way more than half the squad weren't born in Cape Verde and have played underage for Portugal, France or Holland and many of them play for PL clubs in different European countries.
18/01/2024, 5:40 PM
Egypt v Ghana on BBC3 this evening. Another chance to see our possible future manager in action?
After bad results v crap teams, be interesting how he gets on against a half-decent one
CraftyToePoke
18/01/2024, 6:29 PM
Egypt v Ghana on BBC3 this evening. Another chance to see our possible future manager in action?
After bad results v crap teams, be interesting how he gets on against a half-decent one
I'll have an eye on it.
But you know if Ghana lose its nothing to do with Chris Hughton, nothing, ever anywhere gone wrong while he is or was manager ever anywhere is on him.
If they win, he is a God a footballing deity unappreciated in his own time. Kinda like Van Gogh. Only with both ears fully intact.
18/01/2024, 6:52 PM
I'm just waiting for you to update your sig tbh!
CraftyToePoke
18/01/2024, 7:12 PM
I'm just waiting for you to update your sig tbh!
Any day now. Keep em peeled.
Are there any whispers of a decision or anything? The silence is pretty deafening with the March friendlies just around the corner.
18/01/2024, 9:01 PM
I'll have an eye on it.
But you know if Ghana lose its nothing to do with Chris Hughton, nothing, ever anywhere gone wrong while he is or was manager ever anywhere is on him.
If they win, he is a God a footballing deity unappreciated in his own time. Kinda like Van Gogh. Only with both ears fully intact.
Jaysus. I gave Kenny until Luxembourg before I turned on him. Hughton may not even have been shortlisted yet and you seem to hate him with a passion usually reserved for paedophiles and people who don't know what they want when they get to the front of the queue for the chipper van.
18/01/2024, 9:13 PM
I think he's being sarcastic - I'm presuming because of Jolly Red Giant's defences of Hughton that everything that went wrong at club level tended to be someone else's fault
CraftyToePoke
18/01/2024, 9:14 PM
Jaysus. I gave Kenny until Luxembourg before I turned on him. Hughton may not even have been shortlisted yet and you seem to hate him with a passion usually reserved for paedophiles and people who don't know what they want when they get to the front of the queue for the chipper van.
Huh ?
I'm overall fairly non committal on the prospect, not my pick but would prefer him to others. The post above was a friendly jibe at JLRs strong preference for Hughton & how he sees it.
18/01/2024, 9:26 PM
I start talking about paedophiles and chipper van queues and people start taking me seriously. :p
ontheotherhand
19/01/2024, 1:19 PM
I start talking about paedophiles and chipper van queues and people start taking me seriously. :p
The chipper van queue should not be brought up lightly.
19/01/2024, 2:26 PM
Social media is rarely worth trusting on such matters, but it seems like Ghana fans cannot wait to see the back of Hughton. He'd be well down my list of preferred options too and this AFCON tournament, and results prior to it, only serves to back it up.
Four wins from 12 games since taking the Ghana managers job a year ago, all against teams all ranked over 100 in the world. Their last World Cup qualifer before Christmas saw them beat by then 126 ranked Comoros, and their win four days previous at home to 106 ranked Madagascar required a 96th minute winner for a 1-0 win.
Averaging less than a goal a game, 11 goals in 12 games, with five of those goals against Liberia and Central African Republic, ranked 153rd and 131st in the world respectively.
It's thanks, but no thanks for me.
seanfhear
19/01/2024, 2:27 PM
Chris Hughton must be getting on a bit now.
He's 65 - probably drawing the state pension - Trap was 69 when he started with us.
seanfhear
19/01/2024, 3:03 PM
He's 65 - probably drawing the state pension - Trap was 69 when he started with us.
And Trap was too old ~ Also football is moving on, at a greater pace since, even those days.
would you take Roy Hodgson? Pretty sure he is in his mid-70's. He's too old now, i reckon, but I'd have taken him at 65 or 69!
Jolly Red Giant
19/01/2024, 5:43 PM
I think he's being sarcastic - I'm presuming because of Jolly Red Giant's defences of Hughton that everything that went wrong at club level tended to be someone else's fault
Ah now come on - I recognise the record Hughton has - good at Newcastle until Ashley did the dirt on him - okay at Norwich (the board panicked so we don't know if he would have kept them up) - very good at Brighton - not so good at Forest (even with being sold a pig in a poke) - okay with Ghana given the mess he had to try and clean up.
Ghana were the better team last night and should have won the game - the reality is that they were the bounce of a ball in both games away from four points instead of one - and that is despite some atrocious defensive blunders in both games. They have to beat Mozambique on Monday to be in with a chance of getting out of the group and that is not an easy task (despite Cape Verde beating Mozambique 3-0 today).
Social media is rarely worth trusting on such matters, but it seems like Ghana fans cannot wait to see the back of Hughton.
Elements within the Ghanaian FA have been trying to get Hughton out since he come in as technical director (Hughton was hired by the Ghanaian government not the FA - because the FA is riddled with corruption) - they have been spending significant money paying off social media 'influencers' in Ghana to run a witch-hunt against him.
Four wins from 12 games since taking the Ghana managers job a year ago, all against teams all ranked over 100 in the world. Their last World Cup qualifer before Christmas saw them beat by then 126 ranked Comoros, and their win four days previous at home to 106 ranked Madagascar required a 96th minute winner for a 1-0 win.
Averaging less than a goal a game, 11 goals in 12 games, with five of those goals against Liberia and Central African Republic, ranked 153rd and 131st in the world respectively.
In competitive games Hughton is - P8 W3 D3 L2 - that is a significantly better record than Kenny had with Ireland.
I am all ears when it comes to who take over as Ireland manager - but of Hughton, Lennon, Coleman, Keane (both of them) and Bruce - Hughton stands head and shoulders above them in terms of what he has achieved. If it is Barry, Carsley or Allardyce - I could get onboard with all three. SkStu mentioned Roy Hodgson - and despite him being 76 I would still take him above many of the others mentioned.
Of those that appear to be realistic (assuming Carsley, Barry and Allardyce are out) - I would appoint Hughton any day (with Hodgson a good plan B).
Social media is rarely worth trusting on such matters, but it seems like Ghana fans cannot wait to see the back of Hughton. He'd be well down my list of preferred options too and this AFCON tournament, and results prior to it, only serves to back it up.
I'd honestly rather Mick McCarthy back again than a Hughton, Lennon, or Keane.
Jolly Red Giant
20/01/2024, 12:22 PM
I'd honestly rather Mick McCarthy back again than a Hughton, Lennon, or Keane.
Jaysus no - McCarthy wasn't the worst by a long shot (no.4 in my opinion) - but he did have two shots at the job (and he did contribute to the mess in Japan).
Eirambler
21/01/2024, 6:08 AM
Sounds like there's a serious danger of it being Lennon now. One of the worst football managers out there. It would almost certainly be an unmitigated disaster.
https://extra.ie/2024/01/20/sport/soccernews/chris-hughton-gone-ireland-man
Olé Olé
21/01/2024, 9:19 AM
Paul Rowan reckons it is between Carsley and Lennon and Carsley is preferred. I'm a bit concerned that if Carsley rejects the job then we are left with Lennon. Rowan seems to think Carsley is very keen and that "it could be his to turn down and he also has a poker face."
21/01/2024, 10:19 AM
I would almost consider looking for a refund on my season ticket if they appoint Lennon. What a disaster he would be.
Eirambler
21/01/2024, 10:31 AM
Paul Rowan reckons it is between Carsley and Lennon and Carsley is preferred. I'm a bit concerned that if Carsley rejects the job then we are left with Lennon. Rowan seems to think Carsley is very keen and that "it could be his to turn down and he also has a poker face."
That's my fear too. I fully expect Carsley to be the first choice but will he take it? Bonner must be pushing for Lennon, that's the only reason why I could see him being there, he's so obviously a disaster waiting to happen.
ontheotherhand
21/01/2024, 11:27 AM
Kenny to Lennon. Trying times. I might just do a champo and go on holiday until this all sorts itself out.
seanfhear
21/01/2024, 12:06 PM
There has to be a Lennon and McCartney / Beatles joke in here somewhere ? !
Olé Olé
21/01/2024, 1:00 PM
That's my fear too. I fully expect Carsley to be the first choice but will he take it? Bonner must be pushing for Lennon, that's the only reason why I could see him being there, he's so obviously a disaster waiting to happen.
Rowan and Bonner seem to have a poorly camouflaged direct line also. Rowan consistently brought up Bonner being unhappy with Kenny as well and now he keeps bringing Lennon into the discussion regarding the job and even talks up his credentials and chances.
References Eustace and Barry as being in the discussion too. They seemed to be the four he reckons are in the running but poured a little cold water on Barry.
21/01/2024, 1:10 PM
Can't see Anthony Barry giving up Bayern and Portugal for us tbh, even given the difference between assistant and top job.
Agree re Barry probably not the right move at the right time. I would be very happy with Eustace or Carsley with the former maybe shading it out of those two. The Lennon experience would be as bad, if not worse, than what was served up under Kenny and I have no problem being that bold - it would be such a backwards step. Whoever said they would take a long sleep or vacation if it was Lennon, I think thats a pretty good idea. I'd be signing off for a while too at that point, i think.
There has to be a Lennon and McCartney / Beatles joke in here somewhere ? !
HELP! We need somebody!
HELP! Not just anybody!
HELP! You know we need someone!
Not Lennon! ;)
seanfhear
21/01/2024, 2:10 PM
HELP! We need somebody!
HELP! Not just anybody!
HELP! You know we need someone!
Not Lennon! ;)Hello Goodbye
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rblYSKz_VnI
mark12345
21/01/2024, 3:21 PM
Hello Goodbye
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rblYSKz_VnI
Not the thread for this but thought I'd mention that today must have been some sort of first for Irish match commentary of the Premier League. Main commentator of Sheffield Utd v West Ham was Conor McNamara and his co commentator was Jim Beglin. An all Irish commentary team- don't think that's ever happened before?
seanfhear
21/01/2024, 3:27 PM
Not the thread for this but thought I'd mention that today must have been some sort of first for Irish match commentary of the Premier League. Main commentator of Sheffield Utd v West Ham was Conor McNamara and his co commentator was Jim Beglin. An all Irish commentary team- don't think that's ever happened before?
Something for a stats-man ( of pretty obscure stuff ) but surely that is unlikely.
seanfhear
21/01/2024, 6:46 PM
Any word as to when there, will be / might be, White Smoke on the Irish manager's job ?
Grafter
22/01/2024, 12:14 AM
Any word as to when there, will be / might be, White Smoke on the Irish manager's job ?
Looks like in or around Jan 30th judging by sporting press this weekend.
Deckydee
22/01/2024, 9:26 AM
Its 8 days old I know, but I only saw it yesterday ;) -> Premier League icon Harry Redknapp joins race to become next Ireland boss after seeing odds slashed | The Irish Sun (thesun.ie) (https://www.thesun.ie/sport/11994372/harry-redknapp-ireland-boss-odds-lennon-carsley/)
weldoninhio
22/01/2024, 9:47 AM
And Trap was too old ~ Also football is moving on, at a greater pace since, even those days.
Football is moving on. What does that even mean?? Football is the exact same as it ever was, bar the silly offside and handball rules these days.
Jolly Red Giant
22/01/2024, 12:56 PM
Its 8 days old I know, but I only saw it yesterday ;) -> Premier League icon Harry Redknapp joins race to become next Ireland boss after seeing odds slashed | The Irish Sun (thesun.ie) (https://www.thesun.ie/sport/11994372/harry-redknapp-ireland-boss-odds-lennon-carsley/)
I could live with Redknapp - in the same circle as Allardyce
seanfhear
22/01/2024, 1:38 PM
I could live with Redknapp - in the same circle as Allardyce
How would Arry manage without the cheque book ( or bank transfers ) to buy players ? !
FAI should liquidate themselves if the name Harry Redknapp even just popped into their minds as a possible candidate.
22/01/2024, 1:58 PM
How would Arry manage without the cheque book ( or bank transfers ) to buy players ? !
Does Niko Kranjcar qualify for us?
Nick O'Kranjcar - there you go!
seanfhear
22/01/2024, 2:16 PM
In fairness if you could buy very good players / happen to have very good players ~ Arry did seem to be able to motivate such players ~ Otherwise his managerial record was " Ok "
Anyway ~ Time has moved on for Arry ~ His Dog was very good with money ~ So, maybe his dog could run the FAI !
weldoninhio
22/01/2024, 3:16 PM
How would he get Krancjaer, Defoe and Crouch into the Ireland fold??
seanfhear
22/01/2024, 4:13 PM
How would he get Krancjaer, Defoe and Crouch into the Ireland fold??We might have to rejoin the UK ! ! !
Diggs246
22/01/2024, 4:33 PM
We might have to rejoin the UK ! ! !
Ealing Green is getting wet!
Storm Isha was a bad one alright but lets keep it on topic.
22/01/2024, 9:30 PM
Another vote of confidence for Hughton tonight.
Now now don't you remember when things go right it's Chris Hughton good, but when things go wrong it's clearly someone else's fault.
EalingGreen
22/01/2024, 9:36 PM
In fairness if you could buy very good players / happen to have very good players ~ Arry did seem to be able to motivate such players ~ Otherwise his managerial record was " Ok "Actually, when he was at Spurs, Levy kept such a tight grip on the finances, that 'Arry didn't even get to see the petty cash tin.
And when forced to concentrate on the playing side of things only, he was excellent. Which is why I think he might have done a good job had he been given the England job in 2012, when it went to Roy Hodgson instead.
But considering he'll be 77 in March, he's got to have passed his (management) expiry date by now.