View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55

seanfhear
03/07/2024, 9:40 AM
No Free Willy !

CraftyToePoke
03/07/2024, 11:35 AM
It's all a moot point anyway, he's staying with Georgia

Tough news to take for all the racists on here but we move on lads.

Ron Atkinson anyone ?
Could still do a job surely.

CSAD
03/07/2024, 11:46 AM
And conveniently he still hasn't signed a new deal with Georgia...

It never ceases to amaze me how gullible some people are.

The Fly
03/07/2024, 11:54 AM
WTF Tets? Why cant we just talk about any candidate anytime? It seems that the only person this is bothering is you. And I'm not sure why... just let the fans speculate and debate. Thats why so many sign up for fan forums - and we had many here once upon a time. Taking that away completely and for no good reason is just going to completely kill off the forum.
Just off the back of SkStu's post...

It'll only stay dead if you don't start a discussion there
I've mentioned this before (and alluded to it a number of times) but I've long felt that the moderating on the forum is far too strict. And the current lifeless state of the place is a long term consequence of that. I can only speak for myself of course so I'd be keen to hear the views of others.

As an example of what I'm saying (which partly includes the time it's taken to respond) and in direct response to your suggestion - I don't have the impetus to do so.

Diggs246
03/07/2024, 1:16 PM
To counter your argument, the mods aren't doing this for financial gain, they volunteer time out of their day to keep the show on the road
tets does give excellent stats and figures that must take time to put together etc.

The Fly
03/07/2024, 2:19 PM
To counter your argument, the mods aren't doing this for financial gain, they volunteer time out of their day to keep the show on the road
That's not a counter to my argument.

tets does give excellent stats and figures that must take time to put together etc.
He does indeed. I'm not disputing that.

03/07/2024, 3:46 PM
I agree with The Fly.

It's important we keep civil with each other but these are free flowing conversations. If a topic is debated to the point of impasse fine, nip it in the bud (e,g., is Willy a racist and/or is it a point to consider for the MNT manager gig) but discussing his ongoing candidacy based on what we see of Georgia is absolutely fine imho.

03/07/2024, 3:51 PM
I agree with The Fly.

It's important we keep civil with each other but these are free flowing conversations. If a topic is debated to the point of impasse fine, nip it in the bud (e,g., is Willy a racist and/or is it a point to consider for the MNT manager gig) but discussing his ongoing candidacy based on what we see of Georgia is absolutely fine imho.
I tend to agree, but I understand tets' frustration with having to moderate bullshirt, trolling, and fighting from that discussion way more often than is reasonable.

Crosby87
03/07/2024, 6:16 PM
Moderating a forum for a prolonged amount if time is unhealthy for all parties. Like anything else...

It's best on a rotating basis probably.

Just my two cents not directed at anyone.

06/07/2024, 11:37 PM
Re Willy, there's no way we could play like Georgia (the way they are now). I just don't get the correlation between how Georgia are (commendably) doing and how that could be transferred to us via Willy

MylesNotMiley
07/07/2024, 11:27 AM
Heard yesterday from someone I know in abbotstown that the job is Sagnols if he wants it. The contract is all ready to go, just waiting on him to agree.

07/07/2024, 4:29 PM
I don't know much about Sagnol, or about the Georgian team, and maybe they just have a good crop of players and that's the main reason for their current quality.

But Sagnol does at least appear to be able to harness the squad into (at a minimum) the sum of their parts - perhaps he can do the same thing with Ireland, even if the resulting style of play is not the same.

I'm not too pushed about how we play, as long as we are competitive against the teams we should be competitive against.

07/07/2024, 5:17 PM
They do have at least one attacking player on a completely different planet to anyone we have. I also felt in previous years when we played Georgia with Mick that they had excellent technically gifted players, did more with the ball than we were capable of, we just had a bunch of experienced Premier League level pro's who knew how to pull out results. They seem to have improved while the players we have available has taken a step backwards, perhaps slightly in ability but absolutely in experience.

I'm sure he's had a big part to play in their success but it feels like they're also a far better team than we are right now, with likely a better seeding in future, I'm not sure we're the move I'd make if I were him but lord do we need to appoint someone soon.

CraftyToePoke
08/07/2024, 2:23 PM
Brian Barry Murphy has left Man City.

Eirambler
08/07/2024, 2:28 PM
Could be one for the Under 19s or 21s at some stage. Certainly wouldn't want him anywhere near the senior job anytime soon.

08/07/2024, 2:29 PM
Certainly wouldn't want him anywhere near the senior job anytime soon.
Kind of thinking that too. I can understand the reservations around Carlsey having very little senior expertise - though I think what he's working with now is still senior enough to jump up - but Barry-Murphy seems a step or two below that and hasn't really proved he's international standard yet.

CraftyToePoke
08/07/2024, 2:31 PM
Well, he's on the ferry over, someone from Abbotstown told me. He's drinking a can of Stella doing Titanic style carry on at the front of the ship.

08/07/2024, 3:43 PM
Discussion on revitalising the forum etc. moved here:
https://foot.ie/threads/293592-Reenergising-the-forum-fans-section

JR89
08/07/2024, 5:00 PM
Could be one for the Under 19s or 21s at some stage. Certainly wouldn't want him anywhere near the senior job anytime soon.

I'd take him any day of the week over O'Shea who imo will still be overseeing the team come September.

Eirambler
08/07/2024, 7:46 PM
I'd take nearly anyone over O'Shea but "not quite as hopeless as O'Shea" shouldn't be an acceptable outcome here regardless of how long the whole shambles has taken.

Jolly Red Giant
08/07/2024, 10:07 PM
I'd take him any day of the week over O'Shea who imo will still be overseeing the team come September.
I agree - but I suspect that the reason for him leaving Man City is that he is looking to get back into club management

Jolly Red Giant
08/07/2024, 10:08 PM
I'd take nearly anyone over O'Shea but "not quite as hopeless as O'Shea" shouldn't be an acceptable outcome here regardless of how long the whole shambles has taken.
Barry-Murphy has a far better coaching record than O'Shea - there is a reason he was head-hunted by Man City (and why O'Shea ended up with that idiot Rooney).

seanfhear
08/07/2024, 10:10 PM
I see Wales have taken a chance on Craig Bellamy ~ ~ Should be interesting anyway !

elatedscum
09/07/2024, 12:44 AM
I see Wales have taken a chance on Craig Bellamy ~ ~ Should be interesting anyway !

it took Wales 17 days to appoint Bellamy after sacking Page. we are currently 231 days in, without looking any closer to finding a new manager.

in fact, we somehow look further away than we did 8 months ago

CraftyToePoke
09/07/2024, 1:02 AM
Arsenal legend Thierry Henry, Georgia boss Willy Sagnol and surprise contender Oxford United boss Des Buckingham were all spoken to about the post.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/cek929j2xp1o

In other news in a non news way which has become the theme of this saga, PP have shut the market again.

Crosby87
09/07/2024, 1:33 AM
The nutter with the putter!

Diggs246
09/07/2024, 8:20 AM
I had an nightmare.last night that Keith Andrews got the job

The FAI are actually affecting my mental health.

seanfhear
09/07/2024, 9:12 AM
The nutter with the putter!He might be able to whack Wales out of the rough !

Iron out their problems !

Eirambler
09/07/2024, 9:23 AM
it took Wales 17 days to appoint Bellamy after sacking Page. we are currently 231 days in, without looking any closer to finding a new manager.

Somehow I suspect this appointment may make the case for why you shouldn't make an appointment too quickly either!

JR89
09/07/2024, 9:57 AM
Somehow I suspect this appointment may make the case for why you shouldn't make an appointment too quickly either!

Yup if we rushed to appoint someone like Bellamy (our JOS type appointment) two weeks after Kenny officially left the role there'd be uproar.

Fixer82
09/07/2024, 10:01 AM
Yup if we rushed to appoint someone like Bellamy (our JOS type appointment) two weeks after Kenny officially left the role there'd be uproar.

We might be already looking for a new manager. Seriously though, why do these appointments take us so long? Was it O'Neill or Trap as well seemed forever before they were appointed? Or was it Kenny?

Eirambler
09/07/2024, 10:57 AM
Trap took ages. Different reasons each time I suppose. But this time around is a new level of incompetence from those running the process - I doubt Canham will ever get away from his "contractual obligations" **** up as long as he is a football administrator. It will always just be a quick Google of his name away from anyone he ever tries to get a football job off.

Of course the whole thing is hindered by an almost unbelievable shortage of decent Irish coaches/managers in the game generally. While the new manager doesn't have to be Irish, the draw of the role to an Irishman can partly offset a salary shortfall in a way it won't for a foreigner.

09/07/2024, 12:27 PM
We might be already looking for a new manager. Seriously though, why do these appointments take us so long? Was it O'Neill or Trap as well seemed forever before they were appointed? Or was it Kenny?
Kenny took less than no time at all! Was appointed the same day Mick was - Delaney's last daft decision before being run out of the place.

Jolly Red Giant
09/07/2024, 3:01 PM

Bellamy spent three years with Vincent Kompany at Anderlecht and Burnley and when Kompany left for Bayern he was put in temporary charge - so he does have some experience - although he is a bit of a loose cannon.

Jolly Red Giant
09/07/2024, 3:08 PM
The appointment of Trap took six months - but at least Ireland had a competent caretaker in charge during that period - Don Givens

And those rumoured as possibilities at the time were Terry Venables and Didier Deschamps - those were the days.

Fixer82
10/07/2024, 10:01 AM
The appointment of Trap took six months - but at least Ireland had a competent caretaker in charge during that period - Don Givens

I'm assuming that's a joke. Givens fell out with so many players.

Noel King I remember being in charge for 3 games before O'Neill. I remember him getting all uppity after a game with Tony O'Donoghue when he was hardly being asked tough questions. Amateur hour.

'Kevin Doyle has played umpteen times on the wing.... Now, I'm going to enjoy the rest of me time managing the senior team. Thank you!!!'

SCARLET!

Deckydee
10/07/2024, 10:13 AM
I'm assuming that's a joke. Givens fell out with so many players.

Noel King I remember being in charge for 3 games before O'Neill. I remember him getting all uppity after a game with Tony O'Donoghue when he was hardly being asked tough questions. Amateur hour.

'Kevin Doyle has played umpteen times on the wing.... Now, I'm going to enjoy the rest of me time managing the senior team. Thank you!!!'

SCARLET!

My favourite part of that was Dunphy saying after the interview 'out of this depth in the job' -> Made my day

CSAD
10/07/2024, 11:45 AM
They do have at least one attacking player on a completely different planet to anyone we have. I also felt in previous years when we played Georgia with Mick that they had excellent technically gifted players, did more with the ball than we were capable of, we just had a bunch of experienced Premier League level pro's who knew how to pull out results. They seem to have improved while the players we have available has taken a step backwards, perhaps slightly in ability but absolutely in experience.

I'm sure he's had a big part to play in their success but it feels like they're also a far better team than we are right now, with likely a better seeding in future, I'm not sure we're the move I'd make if I were him but lord do we need to appoint someone soon.

It doesnt really matter as we have a player like Evan Ferguson who is a top quality player, if we cant look good in attacking area's with him in the side then something has gone horribly wrong. He doesnt need to be as good as Kvachelia, to make a difference.

The Georgian side overall is probably similar to where they were with the addition of Mamukashvili and Kvachelia, they side previously overall probably had better players to now but what they didn't have is a solid GK or a good forward (which they obviously have now) which is why despite having these top players they are so inconsistent until they qualified for this tournament, I'm guessing Sagnol having more time with the players is probably why they looked alot better as they never looked this good in qualifying.

Saying the Irish players have "taken a step back" is factually incorrect, like I've said previously our squad is nearly twice as valuable as the sides from pre 2020. What you are seeing is pre 2020 we had managers who got the best out of their squad and now where a manager is getting absolutely nothing out of the squad and if anything is making them play worse than the sum of their parts. I mean we have a centre back duo worth 25m (Collins) and 30m (O'Brien, according to his club) and yet we cant defend...yet we had CB's duos worth 14m max pre 2020 that were incredibly difficult to breakdown. I know we just want to make excuses but at some point we need to stop putting up with the nonsense we are seeing and just ask questions. If we have a CB duo worth 55m euro and a GK worth 25m (according to Liverpool) how tf are we so bad defensively, if we can't fix that part of the team what hope is there in fixing other area's.

Georgia are better, but not because they've a better squad, they are better because they have a professional manager who's shown himself to be very good...we on the other hand have had 2 manager totally unqualified for the role. By comparing these two under these circumstances then yes Georgia are better, once we get a equally qualified manager that will change.

10/07/2024, 12:30 PM
Hard to see how a good manager can’t find a formula for major improvement with players like Ferguson, Cannon, Szmodics, Idah, Parrott and – depending how you view them – Ogbene and Johnston in attacking positions.

Collins & O’Brien are the pick of our CBs and I saw enough in early Omobamidele to think he might come good this year. O’Shea could have played in some of the Tier 2 teams’ first XI without being shown up.

Looking at the Euros, I think generally the standard of goalkeeping has been very good. Some, like the Dutch keeper, are also very young. Makes me think that while we’re well stocked for keepers I’m not sure in relative terms we’re that well off compared to the standard required at this level.

And several of the Tier 1 & 2 teams have players excelling in their late 30s in all positions, so maybe we shouldn’t be so down on ourselves for still relying on Coleman.

10/07/2024, 12:34 PM
It doesnt really matter as we have a player like Evan Ferguson who is a top quality player, if we cant look good in attacking area's with him in the side then something has gone horribly wrong. He doesnt need to be as good as Kvachelia, to make a difference.

The Georgian side overall is probably similar to where they were with the addition of Mamukashvili and Kvachelia, they side previously overall probably had better players to now but what they didn't have is a solid GK or a good forward (which they obviously have now) which is why despite having these top players they are so inconsistent until they qualified for this tournament, I'm guessing Sagnol having more time with the players is probably why they looked alot better as they never looked this good in qualifying.

Saying the Irish players have "taken a step back" is factually incorrect, like I've said previously our squad is nearly twice as valuable as the sides from pre 2020. What you are seeing is pre 2020 we had managers who got the best out of their squad and now where a manager is getting absolutely nothing out of the squad and if anything is making them play worse than the sum of their parts. I mean we have a centre back duo worth 25m (Collins) and 30m (O'Brien, according to his club) and yet we cant defend...yet we had CB's duos worth 14m max pre 2020 that were incredibly difficult to breakdown. I know we just want to make excuses but at some point we need to stop putting up with the nonsense we are seeing and just ask questions. If we have a CB duo worth 55m euro and a GK worth 25m (according to Liverpool) how tf are we so bad defensively, if we can't fix that part of the team what hope is there in fixing other area's.

Georgia are better, but not because they've a better squad, they are better because they have a professional manager who's shown himself to be very good...we on the other hand have had 2 manager totally unqualified for the role. By comparing these two under these circumstances then yes Georgia are better, once we get a equally qualified manager that will change.

Evan is still potential, he could be an incredible talent, I believe he can be, but we're going to need to see more again next year to compare him to someone who has won Serie A and played a lot of Champions league.

Also, all player value has exploded, it doesn't mean they're any better, the market is just mad, it has literally no relevance to anything, Nathan Collins isn't our best ever player, would he even be in the top 20? I also think he can be a great player, but for now he's a decent PL pro with potential to be much more he's just also happens to be most expensive ever because football is an insane sport where money is almost meaningless.

I do think our team has a lot of potential, but that's what it is, so many promising players haven't become what we hoped, but I still hold out hope for a few of them. We have very little quality and almost no depth in midfield, which is probably the most important position in football, and that will continue to hold us back. We have a fanbase with high expectations and a weak financial package available vs what very high quality managers can ask for.

That's how I'd look at it if I was not Irish at least.

JR89
10/07/2024, 2:15 PM
Well the search is finally over.

Fixer82
10/07/2024, 2:17 PM
Heimir Hallgrimsson. it's official! ?? (https://emojipedia.org/eyes)

joey B
10/07/2024, 2:22 PM
Out of nowhere that one right? Was his name ever mentioned?

Deckydee
10/07/2024, 2:22 PM
Its not really 'Out of Nowhere' He was mentoined as a potential manager by 'Green Machine' a couple of weeks back, July 1st to be exact. (see Green Machine FB)

Happy with this appointment.

MylesNotMiley
10/07/2024, 2:23 PM
Happy with that. Didn't think he'd be in the running with Jamaica almost being certainties for WC26.

10/07/2024, 2:23 PM
Whatever about Willy Sagnol, it can't be denied that HH has fascist links.

10/07/2024, 2:27 PM
I thought it was Tom Markham initially (Irish bloke on Wigan's board until recently, football finance expert)

ltfc_2004
10/07/2024, 2:32 PM
On 10th July 2024, 231 days after Stephen Kenny was sacked and after interviewing over 400 people and 3 cats for the role, the FAI (Football Association of Ireland) announced Hallgrímsson as the new coach of the Irish Men's National Team.

Loving his current wiki entry ! LOL

10/07/2024, 2:34 PM
Ah wiki (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heimir_Hallgr%C3%ADmsson)...

Republic of Ireland
On 10th July 2024, 231 days after Stephen Kenny was sacked and after interviewing over 400 people and 3 cats for the role, the FAI (Football Association of Ireland) announced Hallgrímsson as the new coach of the Irish Men's National Team.

Fai ceo Mark Canham hired Heimer after he gave him a tidy discount on a set of veneers ; source Tomos tabloid

NeverFeltBetter
10/07/2024, 2:36 PM
Thought it was a joke headline. Not sure what to think: obviously his record with Iceland was impressive, albeit he wasn't solely in charge in 2016. Jamaica, seems like he coached them to a few good results, but his tenure ended pretty badly.

I'm sure he's perfectly capable, but he's given up a relatively easy job of being a relatively big fish in a small pond, with a place in the 2026 World Cup harder to miss out on than gain, for a job where you feel he'll be raked over the coals very quickly. And he's starting with England!