View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55

Jolly Red Giant
03/01/2024, 1:30 PM
I would add to this by saying I think Cullen needs another DM beside him, I think he struggled a lot in the last campaign as he was the only one really
I also think second DM should be an enforcer type. I know people think I'm a lunatic for suggesting Collins as a DM, but I'm not sure who else could possibly do it. the lads like knight and Molouby aren't suitable IMO

If a defender is being considered then Bosun Lawal should be top of the list. Would have came through the Watford academy playing midfield. Of all the CBs his passing looks the best. For the U21s he's often playing better balls into the final third than the midfield. Big strong lad but can move with the ball when given space or makes space for himself.
I agree with trying Collins in MF and I think the suggestion of looking at Lawal for the position is a good one too.

Jolly Red Giant
03/01/2024, 1:34 PM
It's not remotely arguable that Kenny wasn't an exceptional manager at LoI level.
We will have to agree to differ - Kenny is one of a long line of LOI managers who have had success (and failures) in the LOI but then were not able to make the step up to bigger jobs. LOI is his level and if he chooses to go back there (he's only 52) he will probably have some more success (and probably failures). He never showed anything that suggested he was capable of doing the international job - despite being set up to take it for two years before he got it.

03/01/2024, 1:51 PM
We will have to agree to differ - Kenny is one of a long line of LOI managers who have had success (and failures) in the LOI but then were not able to make the step up to bigger jobs. LOI is his level and if he chooses to go back there (he's only 52) he will probably have some more success (and probably failures). He never showed anything that suggested he was capable of doing the international job - despite being set up to take it for two years before he got it.
I'm not disagreeing with that - but you've shown nothing at all to back up your view that he was "a run of the mill LOI manager who fell into good situations on more than one occasion" who "never demonstrated over his entire career an ability to get the best from his teams"

All the evidence (as I and TonyD have outlined) strongly disagrees with you there.

03/01/2024, 2:04 PM
I mean it was a careless pass, as a standalone incident. But if a player or team is sent out with a game plan that involves playing a large number of short passes in risky areas of the pitch within a game, the odds are that one or two of them at least will go astray, because players are human. And given the quality of individuals we were up against that was always a big risk to take as a overall approach. The more pragmatic approach would have been to have a zero risk gameplan in that area of the pitch and then the risk of an individual careless pass would have been significantly reduced. So would our possession and pass completion percentages of course, but let's face it we weren't doing a whole lot with the ball anyway when we did have it, because we are an inferior passing team to France.ah I dunno about that. At some point you've got to trust good footballers to play simple passes. Did we really play a lot of risky passes deep in our own half? We actually executed some very good attacking transition phases in that game.

I'd say we agree that a pragmatic approach could well be to soak up pressure by being compact out of possession and be able to counter attack quickly, but good transitions depend on being able to pass the ball in basic situations. And in any event I'm not sure we have the defence to be able to go through 100 mins of football without making mistakes.

But if a new manager came in and said his first job is to make us hard to beat (at least from Greece's level upwards) and then build on that I'd be supportive. I'd still like to see us have the guile needed to play through defensive lines of mid/lower ranked teams and aim to have a larger % of possession. I think that's what Kenny wanted but only occasionally delivered.

03/01/2024, 2:22 PM
You make a valid case - I was going from memory rather than checking the squad he had. And Hand did a good job as manager until the very end when the wheels came off - he had the base put in place by Giles to work with. You are also correct about the refereeing decisions - not for the first time we were robbed of qualification.

This I will disagree with - Kenny did well at Longford - not so good at Bohs (who were Champions when he took over) - after being sacked by Bohs he fell into the Derry job with a good underachieving squad at his disposal and did well there - his second spell was similar, landing into the job with a good squad - he then moved to Shamrock Rovers to a team that were Champions and was sacked before the end of the season - he was then very fortunate to fall into the Dundalk job just after it was taken over by new owners who put money into the club. I would argue that Kenny was hit and miss with his jobs and was occasionally lucky with where he ended up - the two teams who were existing Champions that he took over ended up sacking him quite quickly because he was so poor. Now - the key is not what he did in Ireland - there are many managers who have had success in the LOI but have never been able to move beyond that - Kenny is one of those. His time in Scotland was a disaster and he had to bounce back to the LOI to get work. He was never remotely close to be capable of managing an international team.

I will refer back to the following - Brian Kerr - P33 - W18 - D11 - L4 -- Stephen Kenny - P40 - W11 - D12 - L17 (and those wins came against small footballing nations) - this shows the difference between someone who was actually able to do the job and someone who wasn't. And the signs were all there - Kerr did a remarkable job with St. Pats, twice taking them from the brink of extinction to winning the LOI - did a remarkable job with the U16s, U18s and U20s - and was consistently successful (and in relatively terms was a success with the Faroes as well) - Kenny was not, as demonstrated by his failures at Bohs, Shamrock Rovers and most particularly Dunfermline. Kenny is clearly a nice guy - and some people in the FAI were clearly smitten by him - but an international manager he was not and he was never going to be anything other than a disaster in the job - why - because he previously proved that he couldn't break out of the LOI mould (and had failures there as well).

I think Pineapple Stu has covered off the response that this post requires quite excellently so i wont go into the details any more. I do just want to know, though, what does it mean to "fall into" a job?

sbgawa
03/01/2024, 2:34 PM
I think Pineapple Stu has covered off the response that this post requires quite excellently so i wont go into the details any more. I do just want to know, though, what does it mean to "fall into" a job?

Did you not watch "A bridge to far" Stu? Lots of fellas including John Wayne falling into jobs, JW fractured his foot in the fall

03/01/2024, 2:36 PM
I agree with trying Collins in MF and I think the suggestion of looking at Lawal for the position is a good one too.

I am onboard the Diggs train to move Collins to MF, at least for a look. The position is one of the most important on the pitch and, in addition to all the usual attributes that a defensive midfielder brings to the team, the candidate needs to a) be comfortable taking the ball facing his own goal, b) more than decent on the half turn but most importantly, c) be football smart and switched on at all times (this is my biggest concern about Collins). It is a specialist role nowadays - you need to know when to engage, when to tackle, when to sprint, when to jog etc. It would also see Cullen relegated to the bench as you couldn't have both of them on the pitch; Cullen is an out and out 6.

03/01/2024, 2:45 PM
Did you not watch "A bridge to far" Stu? Lots of fellas including John Wayne falling into jobs, JW fractured his foot in the fall

Thanks - explains a lot. :D

A fractured foot would have put a definitive end to Kenny's breakdancing career.

liamoo11
03/01/2024, 2:48 PM
I am onboard the Diggs train to move Collins to MF, at least for a look. The position is one of the most important on the pitch and, in addition to all the usual attributes that a defensive midfielder brings to the team, the candidate needs to a) be comfortable taking the ball facing his own goal, b) more than decent on the half turn but most importantly, c) be football smart and switched on at all times (this is my biggest concern about Collins). It is a specialist role nowadays - you need to know when to engage, when to tackle, when to sprint, when to jog etc. It would also see Cullen relegated to the bench as you couldn't have both of them on the pitch; Cullen is an out and out 6.

Does he have that kind of declan rice athleticism to play defensive midfield? I don't think so. Rice manages that position despite been so limited in his passing ability because his athleticism to be fair is class. When rice was coming through at West ham to the first team he was always a Centre half it really was only with us internationally he played midfield

03/01/2024, 2:58 PM
Does he have that kind of declan rice athleticism to play defensive midfield? I don't think so. Rice manages that position despite been so limited in his passing ability because his athleticism to be fair is class. When rice was coming through at West ham to the first team he was always a Centre half it really was only with us internationally he played midfield

I suppose the argument there is that he is probably more athletic than Cullen in most regards and, if comparing to Declan Rice (*spit*), his ball carrying and passing would be a good bit better than Rice's was/is when he moved to DM (at least on the surface). That said, it wouldnt be anywhere close to John Stones or Rodri yet. Like I said, i like the idea of Collins being tried in DM role as an experiment. On the surface, he appears to tick a few of the boxes (while also coming with some warnings). But you wont really know his true limitations there until he plays a few competitive games.

liamoo11
03/01/2024, 5:21 PM
I suppose the argument there is that he is probably more athletic than Cullen in most regards and, if comparing to Declan Rice (*spit*), his ball carrying and passing would be a good bit better than Rice's was/is when he moved to DM (at least on the surface). That said, it wouldnt be anywhere close to John Stones or Rodri yet. Like I said, i like the idea of Collins being tried in DM role as an experiment. On the surface, he appears to tick a few of the boxes (while also coming with some warnings). But you wont really know his true limitations there until he plays a few competitive games.

Fair point. It's a risk though for a new manager who w not going to have the luxury of a few free campaigns where he can say he is capping new players and creating a philosophy so results don't matter. The new manager will need to see results early

Razors left peg
03/01/2024, 6:52 PM
Collins in midfield makes no sense to me, just because hes never played there at club level. Granted hes decent on the ball, but as recent mistakes show he can give away bad passes too. To me Omobamidele is a bit more athletic and I think could make that transition to midfield, but again as hes never played there at club level so who knows! I'd much rather someone like Philips kicks on and becomes a viable option

texidub
04/01/2024, 8:22 AM
It's worth testing in a friendly, but I would be surprised (and delighted) if Collins turned out brilliant in midfield. Way I see it, gliding past a player as a center back is a diff prop to gliding past a player in midfield - the former being easier.

Jolly Red Giant
04/01/2024, 9:19 AM
Thanks - explains a lot. :D

A fractured foot would have put a definitive end to Kenny's breakdancing career.
You'd never know - we might see him reappear on Strictly

Jolly Red Giant
04/01/2024, 9:21 AM
It's worth testing in a friendly, but I would be surprised (and delighted) if Collins turned out brilliant in midfield. Way I see it, gliding past a player as a center back is a diff prop to gliding past a player in midfield - the former being easier.
We need to try something - because it is a position where we need a significant upgrade. I would also suggest that it would be worth trying Omobamidele in that position as well.

Jolly Red Giant
04/01/2024, 9:43 AM
I do just want to know, though, what does it mean to "fall into" a job?
The timing was perfect for him on several occasions - a good run with Longford and Bohs needed to replace Pete Mahon - sacked by Bohs and three weeks later the Derry job is available - sacked by Dunfermline and three weeks later the Derry job is available again - Michael O'Neill leaves Shamrock Rovers and Kenny gets the job - sacked by Rovers and Dundalk get new owners and in 2018 Noel King steps down as U21 manager and McCarthy is appointed senior manager, Kenny walks into the job and is anointed McCarthy's successor (e.g. what happens if Noel King doesn't retire as U21 manager - do the FAI still give Kenny a job and make him next in line?)

Now again - Kenny had success as a LOI manager - as well as some failures - but most of his success came in a six year stint at Dundalk. But Kenny was never able to make the step beyond the LOI and there was zero evidence that he was any way remotely capable of being an international manager.

04/01/2024, 10:08 AM
More bizarre nitpicking there tbh.

Derry look like they sacked Robertson because Kenny was available. Good manager gets headhunted - there's a shock. Kenny "walked into the U21 job"? He was appointed to the role, leaving Dundalk to do so. And he'd earned the shot. "Michael O'Neill leaves Shamrock Rovers and Kenny gets the job" - so what? He left Derry to take the Rovers job. Shock as manager moves from one club to another.

He had plenty of success outside of the incredible run he had at Dundalk. Two FAI Cups with Longford and one with Derry, the league with Bohs, three times league runner-up with Bohs and Derry, four League Cups with Derry.

He is probably the most successful LoI manager of all time, having built clubs up from relegation candidates to title challengers and more. He took Dundalk to the brink of the Champions League group stages FFS (the tie against Legia, where they were pushing for an equaliser into injury time)

Your ongoing criticism of that part of his career makes no sense.

Fixer82
04/01/2024, 10:44 AM
Anyone know if it possible to buy tickets for upcoming friendlies yet?

I’d rather not buy a season ticket. Smashed after Xmas

Jolly Red Giant
05/01/2024, 10:14 AM
More bizarre nitpicking there tbh.

Derry look like they sacked Robertson because Kenny was available. Good manager gets headhunted - there's a shock. Kenny "walked into the U21 job"? He was appointed to the role, leaving Dundalk to do so. And he'd earned the shot. "Michael O'Neill leaves Shamrock Rovers and Kenny gets the job" - so what? He left Derry to take the Rovers job. Shock as manager moves from one club to another.

He had plenty of success outside of the incredible run he had at Dundalk. Two FAI Cups with Longford and one with Derry, the league with Bohs, three times league runner-up with Bohs and Derry, four League Cups with Derry.

He is probably the most successful LoI manager of all time, having built clubs up from relegation candidates to title challengers and more. He took Dundalk to the brink of the Champions League group stages FFS (the tie against Legia, where they were pushing for an equaliser into injury time)

Your ongoing criticism of that part of his career makes no sense.
Where have I said that he wasn't a success at LOI level?

But he also had failures - being sacked by both Bohs and Shamrock Rovers within a short time of taking over. On several occasions he happened to be out of work when jobs became available - you say that Derry sacked Robertson because Kenny was available - he was available precisely because he had been sacked by Dunfermline after an utterly disastrous tenure where he got them relegated and then on the verge of a second relegation. After his success with Dundalk (when the new owners put money into the club) some idiot in the FAI decided that it would be a good idea to create a pathway for him to become the international manager - despite the fact that he had proven to be nothing more capable than a LOI manager. His tenure in Scotland was telling - Dunfermline was not that big a step up from LOI and when he went there they were already in trouble. The problem was twofold - the slide continued and he could pull them out of it - but he later argued that he got 'them playing in a way Dunfermline had never played before' - the system was more important than what the players were able to do.

This is not nit-picking - it is demonstrating a problem with how the FAI approach hiring candidates for the job of international manager. Kenny was lucky in the LOI in the sense that he had or was able to get some top players into his teams that were able to beat other teams by virtue of the skill level they had, irrespective of Kenny's lack of tactical ability and in-game adjustments - he had a way he wanted to play and that is all that mattered - the writing should have been seen by anyone willing to look. Kenny obviously convinced someone in the FAI that he could bring in his trendy passing game and win, irrespective of who he had available - and unlike at the LOI clubs, he couldn't go out and sign top players who, on the pitch, could mask his other serious deficiencies. The result are obvious - Kenny was the worst manager ever of the Irish team - worse than Staunton in my opinion because Staunton never gave the impression that he had the 'answer' before he got the job.

The FAI should have learned from the Staunton debacle - don't appoint someone who doesn't have some sort of a track record at a high level of football - but they repeated it again with Kenny - the more things change the more they remain the same. People touting Damien Duff should keep this in mind (and I think Duff is a lot smarter than either Staunton or Kenny and could become a top coach - but he still needs to learn the job).

And to be clear - I don't have a problem with appointing someone working as a LOI manager - provided that person has proven that they can do the job somewhere outside a very limited sphere of football, where the same players rotate through clubs season after season, and a small number of quality players can mask deficiencies of the manager.

05/01/2024, 12:12 PM
Where have I said that he wasn't a success at LOI level?
You've described him as "a run of the mill LOI manager" who "has never demonstrated over his entire career an ability to get the best from his teams"

Neither of these are remotely true, as his record attests.

You go nit-picking about how he left Derry to fall into the Rovers job (what a bizarre thing to criticise him on) and play down his achievements because he had money available (even though other clubs had more money), and ignore how he built Derry/Dundalk up from relegation candidates to top sides who were getting great results not just domestically, but in Europe too. And you ignore how both those sides had slumps immediately after Kenny left (which disproves your suggestion he was unable to get the best out of teams)

Yes, it didn't work out for Ireland, and you could argue Jack Byrne is a top LoI player but that doesn't mean he should be in the Ireland squad. But your constant dismissal of his LoI record is bizarre. He's up there as one of the most successful LoI managers of all time. That's unquestionable - yet you seem to keep wanting to question it. This bit here in particular -

Kenny was lucky in the LOI in the sense that he had or was able to get some top players into his teams that were able to beat other teams by virtue of the skill level they had, irrespective of Kenny's lack of tactical ability and in-game adjustments

- is rendered absolute nonsense by virtue of how he transformed Longford, Dundalk and Derry in a way other managers simply couldn't do. Even at Bohs - which you try to dismiss as a failure - he won the league and got to a Cup final, at a time when Shels were the big spenders.

05/01/2024, 12:45 PM
But he also had failures - being sacked by both Bohs and Shamrock Rovers within a short time of taking over.

Again, beginning to feel a bit like Pineapple's unnecessary wingman here, but he wasnt sacked by Bohs within a short time of taking over. He spent 2 full seasons there as well as 2 partial seasons (including when he took over and when he was sacked), taking us up the table and to a cup final in his first partial season (01/02) after a post-Roddy disaster under Pete Mahon then going on to win the league the next season (02/03) and take us to second the season after (03) behind Shels who were the dominant force under Fenlon and with the backing of Ollie Byrne. He was sacked in the 2004 season after a poor start. The fans had turned on him because we were again behind Shels domestically and slipping but, as i remember it at the time, it felt more due to performances in Europe where expectations were high (we were spending big and Shels had just failed to qualify for the CL group stages) and he failed to deliver. I think many fans admitted later that we were probably a bit too quick to get rid of him.

Oh yeah, he had just turned 30 years old when he took over Bohemians. Thats a bit mad but worth factoring into everything. He still has at least 15 years left in the game and is already unquestionably the most successful LOI manager in history.

05/01/2024, 12:50 PM
Lads, let's wind this down, or take it to the Stephen Kenny thread. This thread is for speculation and news on the new manager.

05/01/2024, 1:41 PM
He was sacked in the 2004 season after a poor start. The fans had turned on him because we were again behind Shels domestically and slipping but, as i remember it at the time, it felt more due to performances in Europe where expectations were high (we were spending big and Shels had just failed to qualify for the CL group stages) and he failed to deliver. I think many fans admitted later that we were probably a bit too quick to get rid of him.
With apologies to John83's mod warning - and maybe feel free to move to the Stephen Kenny thread - but I was thinking looking at the bare stats that Bohs were probably wrong to sack him when they did. Was interesting to see a Bohs fan drop that in unprovoked, as it were. I know the Levadia Tallinn defeat was a bit of a disaster and that I think hastened things? But Bohs dropped way off the pace the next couple of years then (6th and 9th). It does seem unusual in hindsight that he was under pressure for being in third, given 2½ excellent seasons before that.

Jolly Red Giant
06/01/2024, 10:40 AM
With apologies to John83's mod warning - and maybe feel free to move to the Stephen Kenny thread - but I was thinking looking at the bare stats that Bohs were probably wrong to sack him when they did. Was interesting to see a Bohs fan drop that in unprovoked, as it were. I know the Levadia Tallinn defeat was a bit of a disaster and that I think hastened things? But Bohs dropped way off the pace the next couple of years then (6th and 9th). It does seem unusual in hindsight that he was under pressure for being in third, given 2½ excellent seasons before that.
We can agree to disagree on this and move on.

You think that Kenny was a highly successful manager at LOI level - and he has a lot of trophies. I agree he was successful - but that doesn't necessarily mean he was a good manager. As with many managers who achieve success, he was in the right place at the right time - more than once. As early as him being Bohs manager I never actually rated him and, for me, all of his flaws were exposed at Dunfermline where he didn't have the safety net of a narrow sphere of football where he had certain advantages as manager.

Anyway - it appears that Birmingham are lining Tony Mowbray as their new manager. That would be a good choice from their perspective - he has a track record of doing well with similar clubs (Mowbray is someone who I wouldn't have a big issue with if he was in the frame for Ireland). Of course - given that the Yanks could do anything - apparently Frank Lampard is also being talked about. But it does seem that Carsley has dropped down the pecking order at the moment.

08/01/2024, 9:51 AM
Tony Mowbray appointed at Birmingham, so that's one possible destination for Carsley ruled out
https://www.bcfc.com/news/all/tony-mowbray-appointed-blues-manager

EalingGreen
08/01/2024, 8:16 PM
Paddy Power have Chris Coleman as new frontrunner:
https://www.derrynow.com/news/soccer/1387818/next-republic-of-ireland-manager-latest-favourites-to-be-named-new-irish-boss.html

Olé Olé
08/01/2024, 8:25 PM
Paddy Power have Chris Coleman as new frontrunner:
https://www.derrynow.com/news/soccer/1387818/next-republic-of-ireland-manager-latest-favourites-to-be-named-new-irish-boss.html
I see they have Coleman, Carsley, Lennon and Barry all in within the range of 3/1 - 7/2.

Razors left peg
08/01/2024, 11:59 PM
I see they have Coleman, Carsley, Lennon and Barry all in within the range of 3/1 - 7/2.

Which means they have as much an idea as what we have

Fixer82
10/01/2024, 8:51 AM
Coleman would have to stop calling us a British team for starters

10/01/2024, 8:54 AM
I'm sure that's covered in the FAI's induction process.

Fixer82
10/01/2024, 10:38 AM
I'm sure that's covered in the FAI's induction process.

That's on Page 1

Jolly Red Giant
10/01/2024, 12:02 PM
If Coleman or Lennon are appointed then everyone at the FAI should be sacked.

Diggs246
10/01/2024, 12:14 PM
If Coleman or Lennon are appointed then everyone at the FAI should be sacked.

Lennon would be an appalling decision. If memory serves Coleman also did quite well at Fulham?
I would still go with Hughton/ Carsley or Bruce.

10/01/2024, 12:32 PM
Handy way back in for Ronan Curtis if Coleman got the job.

Jolly Red Giant
10/01/2024, 2:16 PM
Lennon would be an appalling decision. If memory serves Coleman also did quite well at Fulham?
Coleman had one good season with Fulham when he had Van Der Saar, Saha, Malbranque and Boa Morte in the team. After that - left Real Sociedad (then in the Segunda) after six months following a row with the club president - sacked by Coventry after 18 months - walked out of AEL after six months - did a decent job with Wales (but had a good squad including Gareth Bale in his prime) - sacked by Sunderland after six months - most recently, sacked by a club in China after less than a year. He hasn't had a job for the last 4 1/2 years. His period with Wales was a case of the right place at the right time with the right players (and Ireland still knocked them out of the 2018 WC).

The guy is a poser - and his record of lasting only a few months in most of his jobs should be a massive red flag.

CraftyToePoke
10/01/2024, 2:20 PM

Jeeesus Diggsy, that'a bit like being ok with a non alcoholic beer, a triple whiskey or a bag of yokes when your its your friends round. Pick a direction man, chose a philosophy.

Diggs246
10/01/2024, 4:03 PM
Jeeesus Diggsy, that'a bit like being ok with a non alcoholic beer, a triple whiskey or a bag of yokes when your its your friends round. Pick a direction man, chose a philosophy.

Well I haven't had a yoke in awhile

I just want the bleeding to stop and I would go with Dr Hughton.

10/01/2024, 4:12 PM
Well I haven't had a yoke in awhile

I just want the bleeding to stop and I would go with Dr Hughton.
https://i.imgur.com/hpj5kFJ.png

Fixer82
11/01/2024, 7:56 AM
The guy is a poser - and his record of lasting only a few months in most of his jobs should be a massive red flag.

Didn’t McGeady or someone else in Sunderland set-up say something similar? I could be wrong

Exgrad
11/01/2024, 8:30 AM
I would guess the only person pushing Chirs Coleman to be Ireland Manager is Chris Colemans agent. There is no chance he's in contention for the gig.

CraftyToePoke
14/01/2024, 9:20 PM
So Ghana just lost to Cape Verde, a nation of just over half a million, while playing pretty direct. Less possession, one shot on target and despite playing direct won fewer corners even. Egypt up next.

14/01/2024, 9:39 PM
Ghana and Cape Verde are almost right beside each other in the world rankings; they've improved in recent years, probably because they've plenty of Portuguese-born players to call on.

It's not a good look for the CV though if he's eyeing up the Ireland job

Egypt needed a 97th-minute penalty to draw with Mozambique, so Ghana will probably have felt the group was opening up.

CraftyToePoke
14/01/2024, 10:09 PM
It's not a good look for the CV though if he's eyeing up the Ireland job

It's not, is it. No matter what spin anyone puts on his past doings or on what shape Ghana are in.

14/01/2024, 10:15 PM
Good on Pico Lopes though! Who’s the last LOI player to win a game at a major tournament finals?

14/01/2024, 10:33 PM
Good on Pico Lopes though! Who’s the last LOI player to win a game at a major tournament finals?

Pico Lopes, in 2021 AFCON.

joey B
14/01/2024, 11:09 PM
So Ghana just lost to Cape Verde, a nation of just over half a million, while playing pretty direct. Less possession, one shot on target and despite playing direct won fewer corners even. Egypt up next.

And Houghton was attacked by a supporter in the a hotel after the game,not a good day for him…..

14/01/2024, 11:39 PM
Pico Lopes, in 2021 AFCON.

Correct…bonus points for any others :)

Thewhitepele
15/01/2024, 7:36 AM
Correct…bonus points for any others :)
Romuald Boco?

15/01/2024, 3:23 PM
Romauld Boco - 2010 AFCON

Another at this seasons AFCON is Charles Ondo, who was on loan at Waterford last season for a spell, with Equatorial Guinea. Kinda half counts since it's technically the 2023 AFCON.

Dante Leverock captained Bermuda at the CONCACAF Gold Cup in 2019 while on the books at Sligo Rovers.

Jeff Clarke had just finished the 1998-99 season with St Pats before winning the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup with Canada. Signed with Longford shortly after the tournament. A spell in America between Pats and Longford, so half counts.

Pascal Millien played 2013 CONCACAF Gold Cup while at Sligo Rovers.

Avery John played the 2002 CONCACAF Gold Cup while at Bohs.

That's about all the procrastinating I can do from work for now.

15/01/2024, 3:39 PM
Andre Burley was another one - played some games on loan at Waterford and played for St. Kitts and Nevis in the 2023 Gold Cup who are coached by Austin Huggins who is ex-Bohs.