View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders
elatedscum
28/02/2024, 9:22 PM
We heard from Kilbane that he was negotiating. He probably drove a hard bargain and wanted some job security given that he's walking away from a good job.
This has convinced me 100% it’s Carsley. If they rollout Paul Clement at this stage I might cry real tears :D
if they’ve actually got someone agreed, very likely it’s either Lee Carsley or Anthony Barry who is with Bayern till May, so pretty logical that he would feel he couldn’t take this camp but could do the one in June…
As always, small chance that they don’t have anyone agreed and they’re assuming it’ll get over the line in the next six weeks…
Razors left peg
28/02/2024, 9:38 PM
if they’ve actually got someone agreed, very likely it’s either Lee Carsley or Anthony Barry who is with Bayern till May, so pretty logical that he would feel he couldn’t take this camp but could do the one in June…
As always, small chance that they don’t have anyone agreed and they’re assuming it’ll get over the line in the next six weeks…
No way it's Barry I think. I don't think they'd give him a 4 year contract and he's still not technically available. He's still employed by Portugal too and I can't see us negotiating a payoff before the Euros about to start
Eirambler
29/02/2024, 6:04 AM
The 42 reporting that the FAI have upped the budget to 700k a year, so about 280k extra for a two year deal or twice that for a four year deal.
I guess it was possible after all...:)
29/02/2024, 7:11 AM
Nobody said it wasn't possible to increase the budget (in fact, I covered that in my reply to SkStu), and nobody said the new manager should be paid the same as Kenny.
What we did say was (a) you don't set a budget based on the expectation that a new manager would drive a significant increase in ticket income and sponsorship (you mentioned €1m a year), (b) the FAI can absolutely have major financial issues akin to Leeds/Portsmouth/Rangers, (c) the FAI can't blithely say "Ah sure if we're wrong the taxpayer will bail us out" and (d) the "complexities of accounting" really do matter when setting a budget, though you were keen to dismiss them.
An increase from €560k (2019 appointment) to €700k (2024 appointment) isn't all that much either. Half of it is just inflation. It's still small fry compared to top English club salaries. It's not the "we can certainly stretch to a few hundred thousand more for a senior manager" you spoke about either.
seanfhear
29/02/2024, 11:06 AM
The 42 reporting that the FAI have upped the budget to 700k a year, so about 280k extra for a two year deal or twice that for a four year deal.
I guess it was possible after all...:)It's only money.
ontheotherhand
29/02/2024, 12:00 PM
Of course anything is possible with the FAI. Maybe Mr. Hill gave up his salary for it though and it won't impact other employees or initiatives.
seanfhear
29/02/2024, 12:28 PM
Of course anything is possible with the FAI. Maybe Mr. Hill gave up his salary for it though and it won't impact other employees or initiatives.~ lol ~
ltfc_2004
29/02/2024, 1:13 PM
Must be those extra 2,000 season tickets sold since last Friday and all the England corporate packages !
Still not convinced but hopefully its Carsley .... now long before the Carsley out thread ...
Wasn't the 700k salary talked about earlier this month when it was said about the hold up surrounding backroom staff. Pretty sure I saw it mentioned that the FAI were willing to pay Carsley the salary he wanted but the issue was backroom staff wages.
seanfhear
29/02/2024, 4:09 PM
I suppose if Brendan Rodgers was not at Celtic he would have been a candidate for the Republic of Ireland manager job ? !
Razors left peg
29/02/2024, 4:14 PM
I guess it was possible after all...:)
To find the extra money they just labeled it holiday pay
ontheotherhand
29/02/2024, 4:32 PM
Wasn't the 700k salary talked about earlier this month when it was said about the hold up surrounding backroom staff. Pretty sure I saw it mentioned that the FAI were willing to pay Carsley the salary he wanted but the issue was backroom staff wages.
Maybe that's all that is meant by the 700k...that they accepted his backroom team? They'd hardly refuse him that and then come back and have to offer him more because other options didn't pan out right?
Razors left peg
29/02/2024, 10:14 PM
Lads I'm sure ye remember the article Kevin Kilbane wrote about Carlsey being in negotiations and a throw away bit at the end where he called for the return of Brian Kerr in some capacity in Carsleys team. Well....
https://www.instagram.com/p/C38paO6t00Z/?igsh=ZDE1MWVjZGVmZQ==
I wouldn't normally share a social media post but the interesting bit for me is Kilbane himself in the comment section saying it's great news.
Carsley is a done deal, I'm convinced
Snapshot
01/03/2024, 3:49 AM
I'd be shocked if Carsley was cajoled into a management team not of his own selection. Kerr, on paper, may look a reasonable choice for the academy but he's a polarising, dour figure - exactly what we don't need. Carsley having an FAI-selected backroom would label him weak and compromised from the get-go. I hope it's not true.
Razors left peg
01/03/2024, 5:13 AM
I'd very doubt he'd take a full team put on him, but there could be compromise and negotiations for that could have taken a while. I'd imagine based on Kilbane comments that Kerr was Carsleys idea
Olé Olé
01/03/2024, 5:59 AM
The Kerr thing is dramatic enough isn't it? How many times in the last 19 years has he been touted for a role and nothing come of it? He's hardly just broken that duck with a month long role?
The Kilbane article is interesting too.
If I'm Carsley and I have a mandate to over see the underage tiers to some extent too, in the context of the fact that I've been brought up in and currently work in the English football system but the Brexit impact on lads 18 under then I'm needing some serious LOI nous on my team somewhere. Kerr fits.
Olé Olé
01/03/2024, 6:00 AM
Is there any possibility that O'Shea would feature on a Carsley ticket? Or McCarthy too?
Razors left peg
01/03/2024, 6:13 AM
Is there any possibility that O'Shea would feature on a Carsley ticket? Or McCarthy too?
If I was guessing I'd say O'Shea is the FAI man. Canham did say that the FAI would have a say. I'd imagine if it was happening though O'Shea and Carsley would have had a get together before things were agreed. That could have been big reason for delay, along with Carsley wanting Kerr, which would have been controversial enough.
McCarthy could have been either really. I don't know if him and Carsley have had any interactions in the past.
I personally don't like Kerr. I don't like how bitter he's become on tv and there's been other things in recent years that have soured me on him too. But as you say, with the LOI connection I can see why role for him makes sense
Snapshot
01/03/2024, 6:49 AM
So a tongue-wag between two or three blokes who have never worked together is the culmination of this shambolic recruitment saga? A prepared candidate has his team sorted. Whatever about Kerr, if it transpires O'Shea and/or McCarthy are forced on an appointed Carsley then he's a puppet.
He wouldn't agree to it and I'm already regretting contributing to this Kilbane-knows-all circus.
Razors left peg
01/03/2024, 7:03 AM
So a tongue-wag between two or three blokes who have never worked together is the culmination of this shambolic recruitment saga? A prepared candidate has his team sorted. Whatever about Kerr, if it transpires O'Shea and/or McCarthy are forced on an appointed Carsley then he's a puppet.
He wouldn't agree to it and I'm already regretting contributing to this Kilbane-knows-all circus.
Why don't we see how it plays out before being negative on it and calling people puppets etc.
No idea what you are talking about in regards to Kilbane circus. I think I'm right in how I think this is playing out and that it's all lining up to be Carsley. If I'm wrong I'm gonna look pretty stupid but C'est La Vie.
Again, Canham did say that the backroom team would be a collaboration. This means that everyone will have to come to an agreement on it. I'm not sure how that makes anyone a puppet, but if you need to get angry so you have something to complain about for the 4 years of his contract that's your own thing
Snapshot
01/03/2024, 7:36 AM
Why don't we see how it plays out before being negative on it and calling people puppets etc.
No idea what you are talking about in regards to Kilbane circus. I think I'm right in how I think this is playing out and that it's all lining up to be Carsley. If I'm wrong I'm gonna look pretty stupid but C'est La Vie.
Again, Canham did say that the backroom team would be a collaboration. This means that everyone will have to come to an agreement on it. I'm not sure how that makes anyone a puppet, but if you need to get angry so you have something to complain about for the 4 years of his contract that's your own thing
The puppet comment was a hypothetical and calling me angry is ridiculous. The post, not the poster.
01/03/2024, 7:41 AM
Agreed, it's only shambolic if it ends shambolically. If the scenario is they've identified their man, he's a good candidate and are sorting out technicalities or awaiting his availability then I don't see how it's a flawed process. It'd be shambolic if they just pandered to the mobs on social media demanding an appointment, any appointment. I'd rather they waited to make the right decision than rushed into a bad one. Thatn may not be what's happening but let's see. In fairness, the lack of any leaks from Abbotstown is actually quite impressive.
01/03/2024, 7:42 AM
Kerr hasn't been a coach since stepping down from the Faroes in 2011. I'd say at least a third of the squad don't remember his time in charge of the national side - Evan Ferguson had just turned 12 months old when his reign ended!
What's he going to bring to the setup, even on a temporary basis?
Fixer82
01/03/2024, 7:51 AM
I'd be shocked if Carsley was cajoled into a management team not of his own selection. Kerr, on paper, may look a reasonable choice for the academy but he's a polarising, dour figure - exactly what we don't need. Carsley having an FAI-selected backroom would label him weak and compromised from the get-go. I hope it's not true.
Stephen Kenny didn't accept Robbie Keane into his management team and it ended up with Robbie sitting on his hole and getting paid for it. surely they won't make that mistake again. surely?
texidub
01/03/2024, 9:25 AM
Also hoping that all this means that Carsley has the job but wanted to get the U21 stuff out of the way first. Hope has served me well over the years as an Ireland fan. Oh, wait...
Kerr hasn't been a coach since stepping down from the Faroes in 2011. I'd say at least a third of the squad don't remember his time in charge of the national side - Evan Ferguson had just turned 12 months old when his reign ended!
He can entertain the squad with his witty Dublin humour (it's not witty) and stories. Talk about jobs for the boys. Lisa Fallon would offer you more. Least she goes in-depth with her analysis when doing commentary or being a pundit. Also worked as a coach and an analyst for teams lately.
seanfhear
01/03/2024, 10:50 AM
Stephen Kenny didn't accept Robbie Keane into his management team and it ended up with Robbie sitting on his hole and getting paid for it. surely they won't make that mistake again. surely?Fair enough Shirley ( Temple ) (wink)
01/03/2024, 11:23 AM
looks like kerr and glenn whelan to be involved...
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/glenn-whelan-and-brian-kerr-on-the-coaching-ticket-for-ireland-interim-manager-john-oshea/a707249255.html
01/03/2024, 11:36 AM
This is becoming a sizeable backroom team for an interim appointment. Hmm ...
Hope they are working free as otherwise the budget is burst.
Exgrad
01/03/2024, 11:43 AM
This is becoming a sizeable backroom team for an interim appointment. Hmm ...
Hope they are working free as otherwise the budget is burst.
Pretty sure Kerr critisised the size of Kennys back room team!
liamoo11
01/03/2024, 12:16 PM
looks like kerr and glenn whelan to be involved...
https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/international-soccer/glenn-whelan-and-brian-kerr-on-the-coaching-ticket-for-ireland-interim-manager-john-oshea/a707249255.html
What is the point of this for 2 games?
March coaching ticket:
John O'Shea Head Coach.
Paddy McCarthy Assistant Coach.
Glen Whelan Assistant Coach.
Rene Gilmartin Goalkeeper coach (steps up from U21s).
Martin Doyle Analyst (steps up from U21s).
Stephen Rice and Damien Doyle still involved from the last set up as Analyst and Performance coach.
NeverFeltBetter
01/03/2024, 1:30 PM
It does seem like a bit of fuss is being made for a team that is nominally going to be in place for only two games.
seanfhear
01/03/2024, 1:49 PM
It does seem like a bit of fuss is being made for a team that is nominally going to be in place for only two games.
Sure if they did well in the two games with only a basic set-up ~ ~ Some people might even say, you only need a basic set-up all of the time ! ! !
01/03/2024, 1:54 PM
Little bit of irony in O'Shea bringing Kerr on board as one of a number of criticisms thrown at Kerr when he was manager was leaving it so long to cap O'Shea when he was a young lad turning heads playing regularly for Manchester United (when they were actually a top European side).
He might only be a technical advisor but as a major critic of Kenny and the way the media gave some space compared to Kerr's era, it puts his neck on the block to a small extent as the 'senior' element of the coaching team. He is still has a defence at all costs first nindset so will be interesting to see how individually and as a whole, how the team will set up and if there are changes to selection from the Kenny era.
Even if the FAI are struggling to replace SK, i'd rather see this interim solution than make a panic appointment. It would have been easier to just give Lennon the gig, you could probably have convinced an Allerdyce to sign up for Nations League with performance related extension, there are options but its seems to me that they are doing the right thing by taking the time to either get their main target or dig deeper and beyond the usual suspects. I dont think this is a Stan like experiment!!??
Its a long thread so maybe already discussed (let me know) but why would Poyet court the Irish job when at face value his Greek side is more likely to be successful. Has he seen the potential in the Irish side that was being rebuilt. Would he have been a good appointment rather then maybe just better than what preceeded him. Was he just looking to get back to a base close to a long term home in England, a platform to get back in to club management there eventually? He is well travelled, can be a good or bad thing - he isnt quite a Phillipe Troussier who was link to the Ireland job to replace Kerr I think, or maybe Staunton, or maybe every manager that was sacked prior to Trap, and maybe what was needed tbh as he was actually rated.....
Little bit of irony in O'Shea bringing Kerr on board as one of a number of criticisms thrown at Kerr when he was manager was leaving it so long to cap O'Shea when he was a young lad turning heads playing regularly for Manchester United (when they were actually a top European side).
He might only be a technical advisor but as a major critic of Kenny and the way the media gave some space compared to Kerr's era, it puts his neck on the block to a small extent as the 'senior' element of the coaching team. He is still has a defence at all costs first nindset so will be interesting to see how individually and as a whole, how the team will set up and if there are changes to selection from the Kenny era.
Even if the FAI are struggling to replace SK, i'd rather see this interim solution than make a panic appointment. It would have been easier to just give Lennon the gig, you could probably have convinced an Allerdyce to sign up for Nations League with performance related extension, there are options but its seems to me that they are doing the right thing by taking the time to either get their main target or dig deeper and beyond the usual suspects. I dont think this is a Stan like experiment!!??
Its a long thread so maybe already discussed (let me know) but why would Poyet court the Irish job when at face value his Greek side is more likely to be successful. Has he seen the potential in the Irish side that was being rebuilt. Would he have been a good appointment rather then maybe just better than what preceeded him. Was he just looking to get back to a base close to a long term home in England, a platform to get back in to club management there eventually? He is well travelled, can be a good or bad thing - he isnt quite a Phillipe Troussier who was link to the Ireland job to replace Kerr I think, or maybe Staunton, or maybe every manager that was sacked prior to Trap, and maybe what was needed tbh as he was actually rated.....
Regarding Poyet, it all comes down to money. He flirted with the Ireland job to try force the Greek to up his salary with a new contract.
Razors left peg
01/03/2024, 2:01 PM
Poyet never found a microphone he didn't like
It's why he's now fallen out publicly with his last three employers.
Razors left peg
01/03/2024, 2:28 PM
It's why he's now fallen out publicly with his last three employers.
Yeah. There's zero chance Poyet is our new manager. The guy has been publicly negotiating for a new contract with Greece. We've been told new manager will sign a 4 year contract in early April, if Greece qualify then that changes Poyet availability, so you couldn't make a statement like that.
I do hope that if this interim team is going to be new managers backroom staff that is communicated to the players. Otherwise this whole window is pointless
Yeah. There's zero chance Poyet is our new manager. The guy has been publicly negotiating for a new contract with Greece. We've been told new manager will sign a 4 year contract in early April, if Greece qualify then that changes Poyet availability, so you couldn't make a statement like that.
I do hope that if this interim team is going to be new managers backroom staff that is communicated to the players. Otherwise this whole window is pointless
Well he did say even if Greece qualify he won't be their manager after the playoffs. I'm hoping that actually happens and the Greek FA bring a new manager in rather than give Poyet the new contract he wants.
01/03/2024, 2:41 PM
Regarding Poyet, it all comes down to money. He flirted with the Ireland job to try force the Greek to up his salary with a new contract.
Thats makes perfect sense so d'oh! on my behalf. I presume he recieved a contact extension as he was to be out of contract wasnt he? I wonder was he considered by the FAI or was he interested at all, ifhe'd get a bump in pay. We will probablynever know. I did question his interest, that it could have been sincere on the basis that the Greek national side always has had a disconnect with the Greek football fans who obsess only about their domestic clubs (except when in a European Championships final)- not based on his Irish tracksuit comments, Greece international managers have as thankless a task as England counterparts.
We are obviously looking for a Steve Clarke type appointment but he was an underwhelming appointment for Scots fans at the time with his time at Killie being the only real standout performance as manager (couldnt sustain things at West Brom after yr1). He has been a success, didnt have to rebuild from scratch but did rebuild confidence, create a resilience - where SK ultimately failed, Portugal/France/Scotland level of performance to Lux/Greece/NZ. We'd have been full of scorn if Clarke became RoI manager, a budget appointment. But who knows how it will turn out regrdless of appointment. We'd scoff at an Allerdyce but maybe we need a pragmatic approach. Carsley is all about development of team and players to this point in his career, do we need more of that, would he try to reinvent the reinvented? O'Shea and the dream team of backroom staff, under no pressure at all, may lift the sense of burden off the players and transfe to results in an almost free abandonment of not desperately trying to please to keep their manager in situ.
It was an error by SK to gut the old guard of non coaching backroom staff, physio, kitman and the like who are a type of glue for squads transitioning between eras. Maybe there is some merit in taking in coaches known by the players with a bunch of free hits in the bank.
Exgrad
01/03/2024, 2:53 PM
That would be Mick McCarthy, Kerr had O'Shea in straight away.
Thats makes perfect sense so d'oh! on my behalf. I presume he recieved a contact extension as he was to be out of contract wasnt he?.
Unless a contract extension was kept quiet then he'll be out of contract with Greece come the end of March. David Sneyd said as of Jan 29th there was still no offer made to him for a new contract.
Exgrad
01/03/2024, 3:00 PM
It was an error by SK to gut the old guard of non coaching backroom staff, physio, kitman and the like who are a type of glue for squads transitioning between eras. Maybe there is some merit in taking in coaches known by the players with a bunch of free hits in the bank.
Well keeping Alan Kelly on worked out well for Kenny didnt it.
brine3
01/03/2024, 3:38 PM
Kerr isn't going to be there in front of the players, he's somebody John O'Shea can lean on for advice.
O'Shea has worked with Kerr at underage and senior level so it says a lot about his respect for Kerr that O'Shea wants him on board.
01/03/2024, 3:39 PM
That would be Mick McCarthy, Kerr had O'Shea in straight away.
2nd miss of the day! I will be holding back on any league games this evening until i get the headback in the game. He was capped by McCarthy, but I genuinely thought it was Kerr that was slow to introduce him considering his clu form. I can understand McCarthy not having him in the 2002 WC squad, we were robust at the back with a Staunton having a second wind and centre back and was excellent in that tournament considering his age and lack of pace.
Did Kerr bring O'Shea in at full back when he was performing at centrehalf for Man Utd, considering his young age to be in that position at club level, that we were a bit short in that position but at international level he was considered too inexperienced? I have memory of his playing left full before he eventually moved to the centre. I know he eventually played as much at full back at his club also. Im not used to getting those old calls wrong so brain fog is getting annoying!! I know Kerr was defensive minded, but I also had him down as a coach that stuck too often, reluctant to change things up when needed, slow with subs, didnt necessarily pick form players but had is 'favourites', too conservative at times so hence my O'Shea gaffe. McCarthy I recall more as a manager that had a rep for an agricultural style of tactic but his teams played some very good football, mixed the game up well. He allowed creative players like Duff freedom to roam at the right times, bomb forward, cut inside etc (compared to how he was deployed statically by Mourhino). He certainly irritated me when he never seemed to learn not to change formation to 5 in the middle to close out a game when we were dominating anyway (Holland away in the 2002 WC campaign an example when we were all over them, went negative to close out the game when not under pressure, only to end up sitting deep and under the cosh and conceding). Didnt happen in the WC finals as we were chasing games (Germany, Spain Cameroon or well ahead, Saudi Arabia He went very positive v Spain in ET to avod penos and Spain a man down). Balanced changing things with not disrupting things better before he came to the ievitable end of hs rope.
01/03/2024, 3:42 PM
Well keeping Alan Kelly on worked out well for Kenny didnt it.
I did say non coaching staff though.
Razors left peg
01/03/2024, 6:06 PM
https://twitter.com/VMSportIE/status/1763629605682905288?t=WFeSfDeKRNBVSqbrrSOUfQ&s=19
Kerr doesn't sound like a man who's been part of negotiations to come on board for a while in this interview. He chooses his words pretty carefully but it's given me some doubts that he's part of Carsleys masterplan
brine3
01/03/2024, 6:25 PM
Did Kerr bring O'Shea in at full back when he was performing at centrehalf for Man Utd, considering his young age to be in that position at club level, that we were a bit short in that position but at international level he was considered too inexperienced? I have memory of his playing left full before he eventually moved to the centre.
O'Shea was mostly playing at left-back at Man Utd in those days. He famously nutmegged Luis Figo while bombing up the left for Man Utd.
third policeman
01/03/2024, 6:31 PM
My only really vivid memory of O'Shea's century of caps is this miss against France. I'm pretty sure that it's me swearing on this clip. Pretty much where we were in the ground. I think every player in the team that day was playing regularly for their PL club. Seems like a very long time ago.
4dtgqs6u17U