View Full Version : Next Senior Men's Team Manager - Runners and Riders

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55

Jolly Red Giant
31/03/2024, 5:27 PM
And the highlights of that Brighton v Man U game

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4LNu4unwrg

Murfinator
31/03/2024, 9:58 PM
I'll bang a drum at this stage - the way thinks are now the FAI need to go with the known product - the solid record and safe pair of hands - Chris Hughton.

Hughton may not light up the world with an Irish team, but they will be solid, disciplined and structured - the players will know what they are supposed to be doing - and with Ferguson upfront, Hughton could well open up the playing style to suit him. At worst Hughton will lay the foundation for his successor (like he did at Newcastle and Brighton).

Have a look at how he approached Brighton's 3-2 win over Man Utd - and having what was no more than a Championship team at his disposal - Ryan, Montoya, Duffy, Dunk, Bong, Knockart, Stephens, Propper, March, Gross and Murray - Man U team was De Gea, Young, Bailly, Lindelof, Shaw, Fred Pereira, Pogba, Mata, Lukaku, Martial.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v_TAQBqKtJk

The Chris Hughton of 10 years ago would be a magnificent appointment but he's 65 now and his career is in a tailspin. His record with Ghana as a powerhouse in Africa of 4 wins in 13 including defeats to Comoros and Cape Verde was dreadful.

I wouldn't be surprised if he was done with management after that.

The Fly
31/03/2024, 11:03 PM
We're making fun of Christians / Catholics now?
It's just a joke mate.

They're making puns on Christian terms. It's not decorious, but it's not the same as mockery. Christianity used to be able to demand decorum, but have lost that priviledge as our society rejected their claims to moral authority in light of, e.g., their shielding and enabling paedophiles and their mistreatment of mothers and children out of wedlock. This is an example of how loss of privilege is sometimes mistaken for discrimination. A counterexample, "Christians are overly sensitive to criticism because their beliefs are illogical and that makes thim insecure about their faith," would be mocking Christians.

That's a reference to the catholic church (as it was), not Christianity.

The Fly
31/03/2024, 11:06 PM
Anyway back to footy...

Tis kinda bad that ~ ~ The Irish Manager's job can't even generate a few decent rumours ~ ~ Things are bad ! !
This shouldn't be surprising to anyone.

The job just isn't an attractive opportunity at present, and it'll remain that way until some good talent emerges in central midfield.

Jolly Red Giant
01/04/2024, 6:52 AM
The Chris Hughton of 10 years ago would be a magnificent appointment but he's 65 now and his career is in a tailspin. His record with Ghana as a powerhouse in Africa of 4 wins in 13 including defeats to Comoros and Cape Verde was dreadful.

Been through this before - Ghana have been a major downward spiral for years before Hughton took over - the entire Ghanaian FA nearly collapsed under the weight of a corruption scandal in 2019.

Getting Ghana to AFCON was actually a significant achievement and wouldn’t have happened without Hughton. But go ahead and dismiss a coach who actually succeeded in qualifying a team for a major international tournament.

JR89
01/04/2024, 11:50 AM

Still better than JOS as the manager though.

Thewhitepele
01/04/2024, 1:02 PM
Still better than JOS as the manager though.

Undoubtedly but people like the shiny new thing.

Eirambler
01/04/2024, 1:52 PM
Does anyone actually want O'Shea? He has made no particular impression anywhere he has coached, Kenny seemed to take him on mainly due to a lack of alternative options and he showed nothing across the two games he stood in for to suggest that he has anything new to offer in the role. It would just be more of the same as we've had for the last four years, just with a likely extra layer of Brian Kerr conservatism added in to the mix as the crowds continue to dwindle away with the apathy further setting in. Who's going to want to watch more of what we saw against Switzerland last week?

Olé Olé
01/04/2024, 3:09 PM
Does anyone actually want O'Shea? He has made no particular impression anywhere he has coached, Kenny seemed to take him on mainly due to a lack of alternative options and he showed nothing across the two games he stood in for to suggest that he has anything new to offer in the role. It would just be more of the same as we've had for the last four years, just with a likely extra layer of Brian Kerr conservatism added in to the mix as the crowds continue to dwindle away with the apathy further setting in. Who's going to want to watch more of what we saw against Switzerland last week?
I can't imagine how anyone would want O'Shea to get the gig.

The only reasons that he got the senior manager gig for two games was that he'd been working for the FAI before, had coaching experience at a good level and was a very successful player. Otherwise, he has no management experience and scant enough coaching achievement. Realistically, the FAI would put him in charge because of reasons 1) and 3) - they have employed him and worked with him before and he was a successful player. If they wanted to appoint someone with coaching achievements and management experience then they'd look elsewhere. If they wanted someone with coaching and management achievements then they reeeaallly would have to look elsewhere.

I'd say that Brian Barry Murphy would tick the boxes for coaching achievements and management experience. Maybe not management achievements. That's one example of a better qualified candidate.

The better qualified candidates with managerial success, well...

Eirambler
01/04/2024, 3:17 PM
The thing with BBM is that we don't have the quality of players to play the type of game he would want to play. Could develop into another Kenny situation fairly quickly I'd fear.

Murfinator
01/04/2024, 3:32 PM
Been through this before - Ghana have been a major downward spiral for years before Hughton took over - the entire Ghanaian FA nearly collapsed under the weight of a corruption scandal in 2019.

Getting Ghana to AFCON was actually a significant achievement and wouldn’t have happened without Hughton. But go ahead and dismiss a coach who actually succeeded in qualifying a team for a major international tournament.

They were one of the pre-tournament favourites and had qualified for all of the previous 9 tournaments in succession so I'm not sure that's quite the achievement you're making it out to be.

I'll assume claiming that Ghana with both Ayews, Kudus, Partey etc would have been eliminated by the Central African Republic (a team that never qualified for anything, ranked #129 so around the level of the Faroe islands) without the guidance of Hughton is an April fools joke because surely you don't believe that?

Hughton has had an admirable career but I don't think he has much left to offer, I wouldn't be surprised if he has no future offers from anywhere.

01/04/2024, 3:41 PM
They'd also been at the 2022 World Cup, which is a lot harder to qualify for.

Though one of the things about debating with JRG is to realise that, first off, you're wrong. Things go a lot smoother after that

elatedscum
01/04/2024, 4:31 PM
Is Roberto Di Matteo the best manager to be (briefly) linked to the job?

Genuinely can’t see it being O’Shea - zero management experience and failed the interview. Anthony Barry is the only interesting name and even that is a huge gamble into the unknown.

If you assume that all of Poyet, Sagnol, Carsley and Lennon are definitely out of the running. Where does that leave us?

The irish candidates: Hughton (Kerr says he won’t take it), Duff (won’t take it), Robbie (inexperienced and ethical stuff re Israel), Roy (can’t afford him and it would be a train wreck), Bradley (a far less successful LOI manager than Kenny) - or a host of guys who have good coaching backgrounds but no management experience (Reid, McCarthy etc).

As for non-Irish candidates who haven’t been mentioned, these are who the bookies have less than 50/1. Jesse Marsch, Paul Clement, Slaven Bilic, Janne Andersson. All ranging from 28-40/1, so all super long shots.

We’re in early April now. My guess is still it’ll be Poyet and the story leaking is part of negotiations of him trying to bring in his own back room team.

Eirambler
01/04/2024, 4:57 PM
David Sneyd today reporting that the Poyet link isn't dead yet. I've long thought that it would end up being him, but I don't think it was unreasonable to take it based on Canham's comments that it was all but a done deal. Clearly this is not the case.

Poyet is both a not particularly spectacular option and at the same time also about the only remaining option that doesn't absolutely terrify me. He's probably the only one left that would represent a clear upgrade on Kenny, I would describe the other options now being put forward as being about as bad as what went before.

JR89
01/04/2024, 5:05 PM
Feel Poyet is just trying to use the FAI to drum up interest from other jobs.

Olé Olé
01/04/2024, 6:35 PM
https://www.gustavopoyet.com/en/thank-you-for-these-two-years/

Poyet and his management are enjoying this whole carry on.

Did they not hear Canham already has someone lined up that is capable or has a record of being a head coach and designing and implementing an entire structure from senior level to underage?

I get the feeling they thought they had Carsley on board and are now panicking.

Given that Canham and Hill are ex English FA, it will be truly pathetic if it transpires that the FA pulled their trousers all the way down by managing to change Carsley's mind. As if to say, we took this lad from the Eire and you lads joined the Eire so we are going to completely f*ck you if you think you're taking him off us.

Olé Olé
01/04/2024, 6:36 PM
And if this is the case, then they should be on borrowed time.

I hope it is not but this Poyet stuff is pointing in one direction.

Eirambler
01/04/2024, 6:45 PM
Whatever about Poyet, if they end up with O'Shea they should definitely be moved on. I'm not sure there's an outcome at this point that allows them to emerge with a huge amount of credibility from the whole affair to be honest. Probably what will happen is that once all this is settled Hill will be let go. Canham might stay on for another while but then leave of his own accord. Bonner will be there forever.

backstothewall
01/04/2024, 9:31 PM
Feel Poyet is just trying to use the FAI to drum up interest from other jobs.

I'd agree but losing a playoff to Georgia with Greece isn't exactly the sort of thing to inspire belief among club in Europe's elite leagues.

Poyet and the FAI might just be desperate enough for each other at this stage. That's the only way the FAI could end up considering appointing a loose cannon like Gus Poyet tbf!

02/04/2024, 12:18 AM
They were one of the pre-tournament favourites and had qualified for all of the previous 9 tournaments in succession so I'm not sure that's quite the achievement you're making it out to be.

I'll assume claiming that Ghana with both Ayews, Kudus, Partey etc would have been eliminated by the Central African Republic (a team that never qualified for anything, ranked #129 so around the level of the Faroe islands) without the guidance of Hughton is an April fools joke because surely you don't believe that?

Hughton has had an admirable career but I don't think he has much left to offer, I wouldn't be surprised if he has no future offers from anywhere.

Ghana were not anything close to pre tournament favourites, they managed to get into the final tournament with what was reckoned to be their worst ever squad. Ghanaian sports journalists were very pessimistic about getting out of the group stage.
Regardless, I did see enough of Chris' caution in 2 of Ghana's games to raise doubts about him for the Irish job even though (paradoxically) in no way should he be judged in anyway regarding the performance of Ghana.

Murfinator
02/04/2024, 12:36 AM
Ghana were not anything close to pre tournament favourites, they managed to get into the final tournament with what was reckoned to be their worst ever squad. Ghanaian sports journalists were very pessimistic about getting out of the group stage.
Regardless, I did see enough of Chris' caution in 2 of Ghana's games to raise doubts about him for the Irish job even though (paradoxically) in no way should he be judged in anyway regarding the performance of Ghana.

They were in the 5-8 sort of bracket for favourites from bookies, certainly expected to make the knockouts. They are a heavyweight of the competition, have some of the top players on the continent and 3rd most successful historically so definitely had greater expected of them.

Nobody associated with Ghana had anything positive to say about his tenure but if people want to believe he's the same coach from 6 years ago then it's up to them.

brine3
02/04/2024, 8:32 AM
We’re in early April now. My guess is still it’ll be Poyet and the story leaking is part of negotiations of him trying to bring in his own back room team.

His son is assistant manager with Greece... I kid you not.

seanfhear
02/04/2024, 8:42 AM
Uruquayan Healey-Raes ! !

JR89
02/04/2024, 9:14 AM

The lad has had two coaching jobs in life and both times his father was manager. It's funny how his father said he backed out of signing him as a player citing a fear of nepotism. That didn't take long to change when he retired from playing at 24 because he hadn't found himself a new club to play for in two years.

weldoninhio
02/04/2024, 10:23 AM
I know this is probably sad and all (and maybe i need an expensive therapist too) but I dreamt last night that the FAI announced a new managerial team of Gary Kelly, Jason McAteer and Phil Babb and were calling them the Three Amigos. They said they picked Kelly to be the manager because he was the most serious of the three. Paul McGrath was also in it - he was at the media table - and he kept calling him Gary Jelly.

Might be worth a cheeky fiver?

Gary Kelly serious?? Have you ever met the lad? Madder than a box of frogs, in a good way. Serious is not a word I'd use to describe him.

02/04/2024, 12:31 PM
Gary Kelly serious?? Have you ever met the lad? Madder than a box of frogs, in a good way. Serious is not a word I'd use to describe him.

Well there’s a fiver I’ll never see again.

Eminence Grise
02/04/2024, 4:19 PM
Gotta say, I’m a little downhearted, and I suspect a lot of us are, that we couldn’t muster a single April Fool’s joke to lighten the mood here – no Paris Llofo from Cameroon, or Floori Sap the Dutch genius who’s taken Troy Parrott under his wing…

But it got me thinking, riffing off nominative determinism, what if there are clues in the leading candidate’s names that are hiding in plain view? What if…?

Well, what if Gus Poyet…? On the pro side of things, yep gusto in that appointment, but on the negative I think he’s been stringing us along so, equally, yep got us. Good one, Gus. Now *&?% off.

Next up, Chris Hughton, someone I’ve admired for nearly forty years seems to me a so right hunch. Of course, if the FAI hire him instead of Guardiola or Klopp, lots of you might have a sh!t org hunch. If the evidence is there…

But, if the FAI were to commercialise every aspect of the players and their private lives so they could afford Willy Sagnol, they might believe there’s lolly in wags. But it’s taken so long to make the decision it’s become a silly lag now.

Of course, the FAI might think they can mould John O’Shea cheaply into a world class coach, and hone a Josh as it were. But, the football could quickly become fairly agricultural because to plant the seed you've got to rough up the ground - and John’s a hoe.

Roy Keane might get the nod for proximity – as a former assistant and someone who could live here, he’s a near yoke. But his reputation suggests no key era would begin.

And finally, eyeless in Gaza (https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/Judges-21-25/), Robbie Keane. Don’t get me wrong, I loved him as a player, bursting on the scene as a 17-year old keen ROI babe. But in some quarters, he might be as popular as a compound fracture ie bone break.

So, after all that, the only thing I can say with any certainty is

I’m bored and work got no value out of me at all today!!!

Razors left peg
02/04/2024, 10:00 PM
I'm in Portugal at the moment and there's a lot of talk here of Anthony Barry replacing Amorim at Sporting in the summer if he moves on to the Premiership

Crosby87
03/04/2024, 3:19 PM
Surprised Klinsmann isn't being bandied about, as big as a disaster as he was in South Korea.

Would fit right in.

Eirambler
03/04/2024, 4:45 PM
This is getting worse and worse for the three lads with every passing day. It sounds like they've missed out on every single person they've approached. At what point do they go with the announcement of defeat and just give the job to O'Shea because there's nobody else left? Surely there's a competent lower league manager in the UK they can hire rather than resort to giving the job to someone with no management experience at all, beyond the two games he basically made a hash of as interim manager?

ontheotherhand
03/04/2024, 5:22 PM
They should have talked to Duff.

seanfhear
03/04/2024, 5:26 PM
They should have talked to Duff.
Maybe they did ? !

ontheotherhand
03/04/2024, 5:40 PM
Maybe they did ? !

He says they didn't but who knows at this stage. I think I'm going to give up on the international stuff for a while. The LoI is better craic.

03/04/2024, 5:50 PM
He says they didn't but who knows at this stage. I think I'm going to give up on the international stuff for a while. The LoI is better craic.

LOI is much less chaotic and in a much better shape than the national team at the minute.

Razors left peg
03/04/2024, 6:06 PM
LOI is much less chaotic and in a much better shape than the national team at the minute.

Probably the 1st time that's ever been said

ontheotherhand
03/04/2024, 7:06 PM

It's almost getting too good Nigel.

04/04/2024, 3:24 AM
I've heard that that's the fifth horseman of the apocalypse.

Diggs246
04/04/2024, 4:08 AM
You can't un-hear that

Diggs246
04/04/2024, 4:22 AM
Does anyone genuinely believe the fai have an ace up their sleeves?!

Best case scenario is they have made a balls of it and lost Carsley and who knowe else, but they move on quickly and hire Steve bruce or Chris hughton

Both will have us organized and competitive

John o Shea isn't qualified to manage our country.

Eirambler
04/04/2024, 7:11 AM
It's fairly clear there's no ace at this point. If there was one it would have been announced earlier this week to end the circus and allow time to get it done and dusted before the upcoming women's games.

It would be bad enough to have gone on this long without getting the new manager in normal circumstances, but to have done it while also seemingly openly lying to the media, and by extension the supporters, is next level stuff.

Clearly they either completely fabricated the contractual obligations line at that press conference, or they were massively overstating how far down the line they were with someone at that point in time. Either way what they've done is extremely damaging to themselves and I don't really see how any of the three can retain the confidence of the Irish football community after this.

04/04/2024, 7:33 AM
Does anyone genuinely believe the fai have an ace up their sleeves?!

It's fairly clear there's no ace at this point.
Yeah, increasingly this.

Was it 11th April the date they have? Can bookmark that for sure. But what March contractual commitments there are have been and gone. And the only person whose situation seems to have changed in that time is Poyet who (a) has seemingly denied interest and (b) is I think only linked because of his own earlier comments

It's all very weird. And whoever it is, I don't see them being much better than the guys who've already been linked

Eirambler
04/04/2024, 7:43 AM
I'm not fan of the man, but they've also lied to Lennon by the looks of it. He says he was told he had missed out to someone with international experience, but it looks like they just passed on him (most likely due to some of the personal stuff about him that was resurfacing) as there appears to be nobody else in the frame at the moment (other than O'Shea, who would be a laughable appointment and was clearly only intended as an interim manager at that point anyway).

Razors left peg
04/04/2024, 9:23 AM
I'm not fan of the man, but they've also lied to Lennon by the looks of it. He says he was told he had missed out to someone with international experience, but it looks like they just passed on him (most likely due to some of the personal stuff about him that was resurfacing) as there appears to be nobody else in the frame at the moment (other than O'Shea, who would be a laughable appointment and was clearly only intended as an interim manager at that point anyway).

If our options are really Poyet, Roy or O'Shea we should be going back to Lennon on our knees.... and I was one of the more critical of Lennon and didn't want him near the job.

Diggs246
04/04/2024, 9:27 AM
Ok we are where we are
I think Steve bruce would do a decent job. He's very experienced, some good some bad.. but that's the reality of who we can get. Someone who hasn't had it all his own way.

He would be better the jos and gus.

He also has a strong connection to the country

04/04/2024, 12:27 PM
Does anyone genuinely believe the fai have an ace up their sleeves?!.

It's fairly clear there's no ace at this point.

It’s also fairly clear now that they’ve been wearing a feckin t-shirt all this time and all!

Jolly Red Giant
04/04/2024, 12:48 PM
If our options are really Poyet, Roy or O'Shea we should be going back to Lennon on our knees.... and I was one of the more critical of Lennon and didn't want him near the job.
No f*cking way - not only is he useless, his treatment of his ex-mistress should automatically rule him out of any job (just like the racist should not be in the frame either).

Jolly Red Giant
04/04/2024, 12:50 PM
Ok we are where we are
I think Steve bruce would do a decent job. He's very experienced, some good some bad.. but that's the reality of who we can get. Someone who hasn't had it all his own way.

He would be better the jos and gus.

He also has a strong connection to the country
I think Hughton would be better than Bruce - a better club record and Hughton has experience as an international manager.

Eirambler
04/04/2024, 1:40 PM
In fairness, you think Hughton would be better than everyone.

Snapshot
04/04/2024, 2:50 PM
I wouldn't see Hughton as a bad appointment. In an era when few managers escape multiple dismissals, his better experiences outweigh his disappointments. Good at Birmingham, Norwich and Newcastle - and excellent at Brighton. Forest were bottom when he arrived but he kept them up. Ghana, a maelstrom of politics and corruption, was a poor decision.

At the very least, Hughton would make Ireland hard to beat again, especially in Dublin. That he would cast our new-found forward talent to the hoofball gods is a feckless notion. I would be confident he'd play a pragmatic, result-based style devoid of cliched concepts. Otherwise we'd have learned nothing from the past three disastrous years.

Crosby87
04/04/2024, 4:19 PM
Herve Renard hasn't been contacted, but like many, would listen.

Herve will lead us to glories unimaginable to modern minds.