View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures
pateen
24/08/2022, 4:06 PM
I wonder will any LOI club pick up John Herron. The lad that was made a free agent from Larne
sbgawa
24/08/2022, 4:14 PM
Don't think he will be able to sign until January window.
He isn't technically a free agent he just had his contract cancelled due to wearing a shirt with "up the Ra" on it.
Bit like Roy keane when he left Man Utd, they cancelled his contract but he couldn't sign for Celtic until January.
There may be somewhere else he could sign but here its only free agents and only up to 31st August
24/08/2022, 8:18 PM
I wonder will any LOI club pick up John Herron. The lad that was made a free agent from Larne
Neil ORiordan had an excellent piece on him in the Irish Sun earlier in the week. Think Rory Hale was also in that picture also with him. NOR made excellent point decade ago or so that ex loi player did same thing and nothing was done ! Cant remember who the player was? I think Larne should have given him a warning instead of giving him the sack!
24/08/2022, 10:00 PM
Flipping idiotic stuff on all sorts of levels for a professional footballer, yeah there are cameras everywhere but he was quite ok posing for that photo. Good enough that he cant just walk and pick up a wage elsewhere. Larne may be holding his registration as surely a mutual termination of contract makes a player a free agent, though if he did sign a short term deal, in a summer season league eg he could snooker himself on a longer term deal on the 3 club rule. I couldnt care less what somebodies political background is (within reason) but I would care about a player showing a bit of cop on and not put a club in a position such a decision has to be made. Consistency should matter but some clubs could do a PR job and the issue is quietly pushed aside, you'd wonder if he was a younger player, 20-30 goals a season and on the fringe of interational call-ups, would Larne or any club look to somehow salvage an asset or cut theor losses?!
Maybe its not really comparable but Ive seen 'No Surrender' on t-shirts at England games and its a song that still gets an airing by England fans but tbh I doubt that many actually know the context these days, peace process and all 20+ years on. Would a Celtic fans or a former Celtic player be so naïve as to not put it together? Like he was going to have to go and play for Larne again after and I doubt a good lot of Larne fans would just overlook what was on the t-shirt. As much a question as an opinion tbh.
Shinkicker
25/08/2022, 4:51 AM
Flipping idiotic stuff on all sorts of levels for a professional footballer, yeah there are cameras everywhere but he was quite ok posing for that photo. Good enough that he cant just walk and pick up a wage elsewhere. Larne may be holding his registration as surely a mutual termination of contract makes a player a free agent, though if he did sign a short term deal, in a summer season league eg he could snooker himself on a longer term deal on the 3 club rule. I couldnt care less what somebodies political background is (within reason) but I would care about a player showing a bit of cop on and not put a club in a position such a decision has to be made. Consistency should matter but some clubs could do a PR job and the issue is quietly pushed aside, you'd wonder if he was a younger player, 20-30 goals a season and on the fringe of interational call-ups, would Larne or any club look to somehow salvage an asset or cut theor losses?!
Maybe its not really comparable but Ive seen 'No Surrender' on t-shirts at England games and its a song that still gets an airing by England fans but tbh I doubt that many actually know the context these days, peace process and all 20+ years on. Would a Celtic fans or a former Celtic player be so naïve as to not put it together? Like he was going to have to go and play for Larne again after and I doubt a good lot of Larne fans would just overlook what was on the t-shirt. As much a question as an opinion tbh.
Believe me when I say Larne supporters would not overlook this. This is a country and football association that allow clubs with teams in 2nd and third tier who will not allow catholics to play.
25/08/2022, 5:38 AM
Yeah I have to say that of all the places Ive been up north, cross communities, Larne was the spot I really did feel uncomfortable and i'd have been in the Portadown/Craigavon area daily for a number of years and even then I wasnt that sure about nipping in for a pint while waiting for the train home.. I was trying to not to sweeping as it was the town of Larne and not the club really but one would probably reflects the other and it was ages ago too and Larne's footballing fortunes has been on the up a bit since.
Jd2793
25/08/2022, 8:48 AM
herron is decent, harps should be trying to get him in;
Straightstory
25/08/2022, 9:49 AM
herron is decent, harps should be trying to get him in;
I don't think Herron should have been sacked for what he did. An apology and maybe a suspension for a few matches would have been sufficient. (Although I imagine his relationship with Larne supporters may have been somewhat 'damaged'). There is a vast amount of hypocrisy on display here: There are plenty of elected representatives on this country who were ACTUAL members (in some cases leaders) of the IRA or cheer leaders for the IRA who are never expected to apologise for their beliefs and actions; in fact, they do quite the opposite by resolutely defending the 'armed struggle.' But by suggesting that Herron should sign for Harps are you implying that expressions of sectarianism (in this case support for the IRA) are more acceptable in the South? How much would you be bothered, for example, if a Harps player wore a UVF T-shirt, got sacked by Harps, and was then snapped up by Linfield?
Asterix
29/08/2022, 3:06 PM
Andy Lyons to Blackpool in January confirmed.
sbgawa
29/08/2022, 3:18 PM
Well hopefully they upped their offer from the last one we turned down, i guess they must have tbf.
Love the line "joined us to play as a full time professional with European opportunities"
Could be just a statement of fact but i feel like someone is having a little dig at our neighbours :) nothing wrong with a bit of banter :)
In fairness to him he deserves the opportunity and credit to him for not throwing his toys out of the pram when the club were saying no to Blackpool like the St Pats goalie did instead he has knuckled down scored more goals and Blackpool have come back in.
Dont know who his agent is but whoever he is he has done well by his client and the club.
29/08/2022, 3:28 PM
The undisclosed fee is significant with the potential for additional performance-based benefits accruing subject to Shamrock Rovers F.C. over the term.
ger121
29/08/2022, 3:37 PM
The undisclosed fee is significant with the potential for additional performance-based benefits accruing subject to Shamrock Rovers F.C. over the term.
Half a million doing the rounds on social media, so must be true. I seem to remember figures of £250,000-£300,000 the last time it was rejected but who knows how accurate they even were.
29/08/2022, 4:09 PM
£300k plus add ons according to Dan McDonnell.
SPXcyan
29/08/2022, 4:14 PM
He has talent, deserves his chance over there, the transfer reminds me of when Enda Stevens was a Rovers player before his move, a grand ol' group stage experience before the move will do him just as good.
29/08/2022, 4:44 PM
£300k isnt miles off the €500k that's doing the rounds with currency exchange rates + add-ons.
Philosophizer
29/08/2022, 7:01 PM
Fair play to Rovers for consistently (bar the Mandreiu sale) getting decent fees for players these days.
I'd love it if they could have gotten 500K as the fee. It would be great to start setting that as the precedent. It's a nice benchmark figure that I think we should be demanding for the top LOI talents.
sulywaterfordfc
31/08/2022, 2:31 PM
Alex Baptiste signed for Waterford today as a free agent.
He last played with Bolton and has been on the lookout for a new club after he turned down a player coaching role.
Not sure what he offers, but we’ve a paper thin squad with about 15 senior players. The match day squads have been filled out by the 19s all season. If he offers anything it’ll be his experience among a very young squad.
Jack B
31/08/2022, 3:36 PM
That's a blast from the past, I have vague memories of him playing for Blackpool back in their Premier League days. God knows how much he has left in the tank but he's been playing somewhat regularly still at a decent level of late so at least there's that
sulywaterfordfc
31/08/2022, 6:32 PM
That's a blast from the past, I have vague memories of him playing for Blackpool back in their Premier League days. God knows how much he has left in the tank but he's been playing somewhat regularly still at a decent level of late so at least there's that
It’s hard to know what he has in the tank, his experience on the training pitch id imagine will definitely benefit the young squad. Especially with Murphy and Nolan out injured. Seen a few Bolton and other English club fans have an opinion that he’d still get a game in league 2, here’s hoping he adds quality to the squad.
These signings can really go two ways, you’ve got the impact Murphy/Nolan have had and then there’s the Greg Halford type. On paper looks a signing but in reality he came over with an ego thought he’d p**s the league instead he made a show of himself.
sulywaterfordfc
31/08/2022, 6:35 PM
It’s hard to know what he has in the tank, his experience on the training pitch id imagine will definitely benefit the young squad. Especially with Murphy and Nolan out injured. Seen a few Bolton and other English club fans have an opinion that he’d still get a game in league 2, here’s hoping he adds quality to the squad.
These signings can really go two ways, you’ve got the impact Murphy/Nolan have had and then there’s the Greg Halford type. On paper looks a signing but in reality he came over with an ego thought he’d p**s the league instead he made a show of himself.
Speaking of Halford, he scored a beauty of an own goal in his most recent match for Hashtag Utd.
31/08/2022, 8:02 PM
Yeah spot on Jack B he would have played under Ian Holloway at Blackpool around 2010 or so!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/09/2022, 10:10 AM
Great player. Assume just a complete falling out with Clancy when he doesn’t even have anything to say about him and it’s just Bermo and Kelleher quoted
https://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=9231
joey B
01/09/2022, 11:44 AM
https://mobile.twitter.com/McDonnellDan/status/1565289445179498503
UCD’s John Ryan heading to Sassuolo in Serie A….
01/09/2022, 12:22 PM
That's a mad one
Glen Of Aherlow
01/09/2022, 12:28 PM
Great player. Assume just a complete falling out with Clancy when he doesn’t even have anything to say about him and it’s just Bermo and Kelleher quoted
https://www.stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=9231
Sad to see it end up like it is at the moment in Bermo's last season , seems a bit shabby from Clancy.
If he was up for it could easily see Bermo doing a job for someone else for another season , be hard to have to see him in someone else's colours though
joey B
01/09/2022, 12:42 PM
That's a mad one
Is he any good?
01/09/2022, 12:48 PM
Sad to see it end up like it is at the moment in Bermo's last season , seems a bit shabby from Clancy.
If he was up for it could easily see Bermo doing a job for someone else for another season , be hard to have to see him in someone else's colours though
Agree with all that. Obviously we don’t know what has gone on between them, but it seems poor from Clancy. I think Ian said in the interview he’d probably retire, though I’d definitely say he could play on.
Jack B
01/09/2022, 1:01 PM
It's a shame how his final season has gone but it's not as though that's what will be remembered anyway. Record appearance holder with several cups to boot will have him go down as a legend of the club, he's a great fella and professional too. Could definitely still do a job somewhere if his (few, granted) performances this season are anything to go off, though it'd definitely be weird seeing him play for anyone else.
01/09/2022, 1:09 PM
Is he any good?
He hasn't really stood out like. Dan McDonnell says he's played "sporadically" and that's correct. Very roughly, started one-third of our games, came on as a sub in one-third, didn't play at all in the other one-third.
Obviously with UCD, you're going to have lots of young players and while as a team they may struggle, there'd be some decent prospects there still. But it's not one I would have expected!
ger121
01/09/2022, 1:12 PM
PS - What sort of fee do you think UCD might get?
01/09/2022, 1:21 PM
No idea. Dan McDonnell says he's signing "a one year deal with the option of another. He is moving for a small undisclosed fee with the potential for significant add-ons." So that sounds fairly nominal up front.
01/09/2022, 1:29 PM
He hasn't really stood out like. Dan McDonnell says he's played "sporadically" and that's correct. Very roughly, started one-third of our games, came on as a sub in one-third, didn't play at all in the other one-third.
Obviously with UCD, you're going to have lots of young players and while as a team they may struggle, there'd be some decent prospects there still. But it's not one I would have expected!
There has to be some agent or rep doing a great job for his player, doesnt sound like he was extensively scouted or someone like Dan would have known. Unless the scout is internal to UCD with connections to Italy or has been on a radar before senior football.
01/09/2022, 1:59 PM
He's played for Ireland u19s apparently? They could have seen him then.
Another 2 short term signings for Waterford announced today. Timi Sobowale who is the brother of first team player Tunmise and also Raul Uche, a Spanish striker who last played in Canada.
sbgawa
01/09/2022, 2:53 PM
Is he on loan from Rovers Stu or signed to you guys?
I saw him playing for Rovers (admittedly only a couple of times) and thought he was very good, was disappointed when he left.
Rovers just tweeted "it would be disappointing if we didn't get involved in transfer deadline" day so i assume we have a new signing :) .......Robbie Keane to make sure he doesnt take the bohs manager job maybe
Edit: i should have waited a few minutes Victor Serdeniuk from the Ukrainian second division.
Seems a bit random but apparently he has been in training for a few weeks so he must have impressed.
Maybe we will get some Ukrainian supporters now.
01/09/2022, 3:08 PM
Not sure. I know the likes of Dylan Duffy, Tommy Lonergan, etc, were announced as new signings at the start of the season (with no mention of loans) but Ryan wasn't announced at all at the time. I think he might have joined quite late in pre-season or even after the season started, in which case he could be a loan and there might be a kick-back for Rovers in the fee as well. But don't really know.
The Bowler
21/09/2022, 7:08 AM
Not sure. I know the likes of Dylan Duffy, Tommy Lonergan, etc, were announced as new signings at the start of the season (with no mention of loans) but Ryan wasn't announced at all at the time. I think he might have joined quite late in pre-season or even after the season started, in which case he could be a loan and there might be a kick-back for Rovers in the fee as well. But don't really know. Something weird going on at UCD, apparently the top 3 u19 players (albeit it's a poor team) have been told they are being sent to the LSL team in January. So Myler must be readying another bunch of Rovers players to come in and top up his already heavily non UCD student squad for next season.
RealJohn91
30/09/2022, 10:40 AM
Cummins is some spoofer isn't he? Not a single mention that for better or worse most of the Bohs squad is under contract for next season already. Those who aren't won't exactly have clubs queuing up to sign them outside someone like Burt either after their performances this season. https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40972271.html
30/09/2022, 12:35 PM
Cummins is some spoofer isn't he? Not a single mention that for better or worse most of the Bohs squad is under contract for next season already. Those who aren't won't exactly have clubs queuing up to sign them outside someone like Burt either after their performances this season. https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/soccer/arid-40972271.html
For someone who played the game he seems to totally hate everything about it
ger121
30/09/2022, 1:47 PM
Bitter ex-pro working in media. Now there is something you don?t see very often.
placid casual
30/09/2022, 3:30 PM
Whatever about bitter ex pros working in the media, there's a surfeit of bitter ex loi managers in the modern Irish media currently, clogging up the airwaves with their grievances.
total hoofball
01/10/2022, 7:55 AM
Most players out of contract at end of season by now would be starting to test the waters what is out there for them and there is nothing against the rules about it by the player or any other prospective club, not exactly groundbreaking advice from Cummins on that one
sulywaterfordfc
01/10/2022, 2:57 PM
Supposedly Junior and Phoenix are signed up for the Blues for next season and possibly for the next two years.
I?d be shocked if either are playing football in this country next year.
2 Year Contract
02/10/2022, 10:27 AM
Supposedly Junior and Phoenix are signed up for the Blues for next season and possibly for the next two years.
I?d be shocked if either are playing football in this country next year.
I’d imagine the new owner could send them over to Fleetwood Town. A decent opportunity for both
ger121
02/10/2022, 10:45 AM
I’d imagine the new owner could send them over to Fleetwood Town. A decent opportunity for both
Fleetwood would,would Fleetwood.
sbgawa
07/10/2022, 9:40 PM
Collie o neill joining Rovers as the new senior womans team manager for next season.
Serious statement of intent to take the womans game seriously
The Bowler
07/10/2022, 9:55 PM
Collie o neill joining Rovers as the new senior womans team manager for next season.
Serious statement of intent to take the womans game seriously Lucky ladies, getting one of the best there
ger121
20/10/2022, 11:27 AM
Bucko had signed back with the club for next season. 3 year contract. Badly needed someone to bang a few heads together off the pitch and get stuck in on it.
Shinkicker
20/10/2022, 1:51 PM
Bucko had signed back with the club for next season. 3 year contract. Badly needed someone to bang a few heads together off the pitch and get stuck in on it.
This is hopefully the start of some good signings. He was sorely missed this year. He'll put some bite, boot and bollo* into the team, but Bohs need more high end signings to replace the snowflakes who want to leave and the ones who just aren't good enough.
Promise, Georgie, Dawson, Ross, Rob and Bucko were not replaced by players of equal quality and it showed all season.
ontheotherhand
20/10/2022, 3:28 PM
That's a good resigning for bohs. I hate him.