View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 [43] 44 45 46 47 48

SeanDrog
27/07/2022, 6:47 PM
Bohs sign James Clarke from Drogheda. He looked decent anytime he played against us but what's he like overall Drogheda fans?

I always liked Clarke but feel he is still in development and may turn out a great player. He can have great matches and be a bit lost in others - surprised tbh that a fee was paid for him (great potential, developing but still a bit to go). Sorry to see him go as I’d of liked to see him fully develop with us. Until this season he was. A bench player but got his chance this year alongside Deegan as a starter.

He has a great skill at running at a defence and beating 1-2 men.

All the best to him - great career ahead of him

joey B
27/07/2022, 7:20 PM
Sligo Rovers sign Fabrice Hartmann on loan from RB Leipzig until next July,a 21 year old winger!

27/07/2022, 7:36 PM
Two Bundesliga players on loan here at the same time has to be a first?!

Jack B
27/07/2022, 8:32 PM
Hope we'll be sending a high court case Alfie Lewis' way.

mcgonigle
27/07/2022, 9:32 PM

Can you repurpose any of your O'Donnell banners? That would be economical and good for the environment

sbgawa
27/07/2022, 9:48 PM

I can understand your beef with SOD but what did alfie Lewis do besides leave for more money?

ger121
27/07/2022, 10:06 PM
Two Bundesliga players on loan here at the same time has to be a first?!

I was about to say the same thing. Germany with so many divisions and teams could be a very good source for loan signings for LOI clubs.

Jack B
27/07/2022, 10:06 PM
Can you repurpose any of your O'Donnell banners? That would be economical and good for the environment

Unfortunately we don't have an Environmental Officer for me to verify this.

I can understand your beef with SOD but what did alfie Lewis do besides leave for more money?

Haha it was said in jest, it's obviously just the nature of the game. Shame though as I loved Alfie at Pats.

mcgonigle
27/07/2022, 10:32 PM

Tinpot club....

D24Saint
27/07/2022, 10:39 PM

Not very environmental to burn him in effigy, it’s our favourite pastime in Inchicore. I won’t pander to the green party and give it up.

ontheotherhand
27/07/2022, 10:46 PM
I suppose the upside to our league becoming a bit more visible to other countries is that we might get in a few quality loans. Any team looking to get first team minutes into a player at the start of their season could look to our teams who are mid-season. Get a few bangers in for Europe......

28/07/2022, 2:42 AM
Happy to hear we're trying to fill the gap in defence with Pico out.
Think the two fingers thing from Cleary was in regard to him believing Bradley snubbed him when he was on loan with us prior to joining dundalk. We seem determined to recreate the dundalk back 4 it seems...

Cleary was on trial at Rovers not on loan and was getting little traction when Dundalk backed him and offered a contract. The two fingers thing was to do with that. Im sure he will forgive and forget for a kitchen sink or 5. Connolly to Derry then, Dundalk did their bit to get him back but cant compete with Derry and Rovers financially - great for the player!

Happy with the lads coming in. Its a shame we couldnt keep the form defender while adding the likes of Lewis to the squad - I may have given us a chance at a run at Rovers then. Even the best of defender was signed he'd have to bed in, so its disruptive. Id love to see Mayowa get game time. Mountney and Gartland would almost feel like new signings - Id not write either off as done just yet.

Know nothing about Hauge, how quickly will McCourt bed in to one of the meanest defences? Connolly was big part of that but it took him most of the 1st round of games to find his feet and trust lads about him - hope its the same for his new club!

Good to see the St Pats connection with O'Donnell being put to further good use and bearing fruit with the Lewis signing. How is that court case going by the way?

Glen Of Aherlow
28/07/2022, 8:35 AM

Haha it was said in jest, it's obviously just the nature of the game. Shame though as I loved Alfie at Pats.

I'd have been gutted about it at one stage but we're pretty well stocked in midfield now with Timmermans in , Jamie Lennon back and Adam O'Reilly signed up to the end of the season.

oriel
28/07/2022, 10:39 AM
Happy to hear we're trying to fill the gap in defence with Pico out.
Think the two fingers thing from Cleary was in regard to him believing Bradley snubbed him when he was on loan with us prior to joining dundalk. We seem determined to recreate the dundalk back 4 it seems...

Massey might still be available ?

joey B
28/07/2022, 10:44 AM
Jesse Devers who left us recently joined Icelandic second division side ÍF Magni Grenevík …

thebronze14
28/07/2022, 12:25 PM
Jesse Devers who left us recently joined Icelandic second division side ÍF Magni Grenevík …

That's a fairly leftfield one!!

28/07/2022, 12:38 PM
At first glance at the pic of Simon Power in this RTE report I thought Rovers had managed to pinch Dan Kelly. There is a passing resemblance I think.

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2022/0727/1312536-dundalk-sign-mccourt-as-connolly-departs-club/

Hard to know whether its fans in denial that are saying that Connolly has not signed for Dundalk due to his club looking for a pretty hefty transfer fee but he wants to stay at Oriel. If that is the case and the numbers mentioned are anywhere close then Derry are happy to splash the cash. Could be money well spent if an experienced head, like Connolly, can help sort Derry's sketchy form (I dont think they were particularly defensive issues more leadership and cohesion issues?) it'd be worth if it is the difference between putting in a title challenge and qualifying for Europe or not, though a hefty chunk of an ECL 1st round win prizemoney would be needed to balance the books.

The player plenty of options including a loan extension albeit Dundee Utd wanted an increased contribution to his wages and not insurmountable figures imo (considering the rumour mill tends to exaggerate how much a player is paid) and with future option clauses. Id be surprised if Dundalk just wouldnt budge on the playing budget for an important player, who again could have had a significant influence on getting a European spot. His value to us wasnt just his defending and as much in his range of passing and how he brought the likes of Hoban in to a game, playing to Hoban's strengths. He is understandably going wherever he is getting his big pay day, especially if he is transferred so possibly this could be his last contract if its multi year deal. Linfield were mentioned as being interested also and after an 8 goal hammering they need something!

Hopefully the lads coming in plug the gaps left in the squad by Williams injury/recall and Connolly. I hadnt paid much attention to McCourt prior but S O'D obviously rates him and so far he has shown to have a good eye for the type of players he wants. Lewis is obviously rated highly by St Pats fans and hopefully he has even kicked on from last season. Hauge, will be interesting to see in action.

patsdad
28/07/2022, 1:02 PM
As regards Alfie Lewis, yes we would have loved it if he had stayed on after the cup final, but he didn’t and we got Adam O’Reilly who has been outstanding. We also recently signed a Dutch holding midfielder Thijs Timmerman who made his debut against NS Mura last week, and we have Chris Forrester and Jamie Lennon so we’re more than fine for midfielders now. And as regards whether he has kicked on since leaving us, he only managed two appearances for Plymouth and they were willing to let him go permanently just 8 months after signing him so it doesn’t seem very likely. It’s a shame as he had a lot of potential. If he has injury issues I’m not sure that going to Dundalk and the
notorious pitch is the best move, but I wish him the best.

DCWA
28/07/2022, 1:16 PM
Matt Smith surplus to requirements at Derry. Back to Pat’s the likely outcome?

Has been l, bar a few moments, very underwhelming for us.

culloty82
28/07/2022, 1:53 PM
Sounds like some sensible contractual agreements for a change - Ferizaj has accepted a 16-month extension at Shamrock Rovers, by which stage he should have firmly established himself in the first team, and the Tallaght club can ask for a considerably better fee:

https://punditarena.com/football/ronan-calvert/justin-ferizaj-contract-extension-shamrock-rovers/

28/07/2022, 2:11 PM
As regards Alfie Lewis, yes we would have loved it if he had stayed on after the cup final, but he didn’t and we got Adam O’Reilly who has been outstanding. We also recently signed a Dutch holding midfielder Thijs Timmerman who made his debut against NS Mura last week, and we have Chris Forrester and Jamie Lennon so we’re more than fine for midfielders now. And as regards whether he has kicked on since leaving us, he only managed two appearances for Plymouth and they were willing to let him go permanently just 8 months after signing him so it doesn’t seem very likely. It’s a shame as he had a lot of potential. If he has injury issues I’m not sure that going to Dundalk and the
notorious pitch is the best move, but I wish him the best.

Was there a suggestion that St Pats were interested or that Dundalk pulled off some sort of coup by signing Lewis? Go chew on a lemon though as there isnt hint of bitterness lingering at all:D

patsdad
28/07/2022, 2:21 PM
Ooh… sorry if I touched a nerve. Just giving my thoughts on Alfie to continue the conversation you started. Kinda thought that was the idea of threads. He’s a player who did well for us while here and I’d love to see him get his career back on track.

DCSIL
28/07/2022, 2:36 PM

I move for a bad court thingy.

28/07/2022, 2:46 PM
Ooh… sorry if I touched a nerve. Just giving my thoughts on Alfie to continue the conversation you started. Kinda thought that was the idea of threads. He’s a player who did well for us while here and I’d love to see him get his career back on track.

Yes, of course thats all you were doing! Fair play though, you didnt take the bait quite as much as usual. Any thoughts on the court case, still a slam dunk?

Calcio Jack
28/07/2022, 3:02 PM
As expected, Cleary now confirmed

sbgawa
28/07/2022, 3:30 PM
Great signing with Pico looking like out for a while. Hopefully lyons stays put now, great to see the club playing hardball but it's only the 28th.
If we'd beaten ludogrets I'd say lyons might have definitely been off

Yossarian
28/07/2022, 3:58 PM
It’s a good signing and I’d have been happy to have Cleary back in Oriel. Just be prepared for the inevitable brain farts he will have.

On Alfie Lewis signing for us, I think most Dundalk fans are happy as we needed strengthening in midfield. He did well under O’Donnell last year so hopefully that can be replicated. Maybe O’Donnell just knows how to get the best out of him.

exiled_gufc_fan
28/07/2022, 4:41 PM
Adam Thomas joins Galway United on loan from Shels till end of season

joey B
28/07/2022, 5:34 PM
Yoyo Mahdy left Harps now aswell….

joey B
28/07/2022, 5:41 PM
Mark Connolly confirmed by Derry….

28/07/2022, 7:07 PM
Matt Smith surplus to requirements at Derry. Back to Pat’s the likely outcome?

Has been l, bar a few moments, very underwhelming for us.

Shels, apparently.

He's had a poor time with us, but when Higgins insists in playing him out of position, what else would you expect?
It's pointless for us to hold onto him.

Guitd
28/07/2022, 7:33 PM
Are Harps clearing out and giving up also heard Bastian Hery gone
Finn Harps can confirm the departures of Erol Alkan, Yoyo Mahdy, Jesse Devers and Gerard Doherty.

The club want to thank the players for their efforts and wish them all the best in the future.

#UTH 🔵⚪️

joey B
28/07/2022, 8:35 PM
Finn Harps can confirm the departures of Erol Alkan, Yoyo Mahdy, Jesse Devers and Gerard Doherty.

The club want to thank the players for their efforts and wish them all the best in the future.

#UTH ��⚪️

We've signed players and players are leaving like alot of other clubs seem to be doing........

28/07/2022, 9:12 PM

#UTH ⚪️

No harm clearing some wages to make room for others.

Jd2793
28/07/2022, 9:16 PM
No harm clearing some wages to make room for others.

any sign of a new keeper?

total hoofball
28/07/2022, 9:30 PM
Shels, apparently.

He's had a poor time with us, but when Higgins insists in playing him out of position, what else would you expect?
Smith is now confirmed to Shels on loan. If he regains his form from last season he will be a much needed creative boost for us

DCWA
28/07/2022, 9:56 PM
Shels, apparently.

Yeah 100% agree probably hasn’t had a fair crack virtually no opportunity in his preferred position and I did think he was improving recently in general however he was regardless of that still pretty underwhelming.

28/07/2022, 10:16 PM
any sign of a new keeper?

Probably find out before kick-off tomorrow, knowing Ollie.

The Bowler
28/07/2022, 11:04 PM
Adam Verdon from UCD to Longford. Another unexpected departure from UCD. That is 6 walkouts from lads not yet finished college. No fans no questions ! Myler out

Jd2793
28/07/2022, 11:10 PM
Surprised at that one. Wonder will there be more

The Bowler
28/07/2022, 11:21 PM
Surprised at that one. Wonder will there be more The big issue is that the players walking are all a fair way from finishing college, so damage will be next 2-3 seasons not necessarily this season, not that it's going all that well this season, saved by Harps ! I hear they are in for another massive shock with 2 more younger players who are regular starters who won't be there next season, for the same reasons all the other lads have walked, possibly even 3 players. . But it's a bizarre set up in UCD, so normal rules don't apply, normal accountability doesn't apply, and nobody asking the hard questions, so what will be will be. Its a hard station supporting this lot, believe me.

29/07/2022, 12:32 AM
Town have also signed Mark Hanratty from Dundalk.

Calcio Jack
29/07/2022, 8:09 AM
The big issue is that the players walking are all a fair way from finishing college, so damage will be next 2-3 seasons not necessarily this season, not that it's going all that well this season, saved by Harps ! I hear they are in for another massive shock with 2 more younger players who are regular starters who won't be there next season, for the same reasons all the other lads have walked, possibly even 3 players. . But it's a bizarre set up in UCD, so normal rules don't apply, normal accountability doesn't apply, and nobody asking the hard questions, so what will be will be. Its a hard station supporting this lot, believe me.

By leaving before completing their degree ; do they lose their scholarship ?

29/07/2022, 8:51 AM
Gary Boylan in at Harps from Galway.

The Bowler
29/07/2022, 9:49 AM
By leaving before completing their degree ; do they lose their scholarship ? I would have thought so for sure

joey B
29/07/2022, 10:31 AM
Sligo signed Robbie Burton on loan from Dinamo Zagreb,Welsh midfielder previously at Arsenal….

29/07/2022, 11:14 AM
I would have thought so for sure
Didn't Farrugia sign for Rovers on the basis that they would be covering the costs his scholarship would have covered?

29/07/2022, 11:21 AM
Cian Kavanagh signs for Derry from Waterford.
https://www.derrycityfc.net/2022/07/welcome-cian-kavanagh/

Any thoughts on him?

Olander
29/07/2022, 11:30 AM
Cian Kavanagh signs for Derry from Waterford.
https://www.derrycityfc.net/2022/07/welcome-cian-kavanagh/

Any thoughts on him?
Another underwhelming signing for Derry City.

Graydon, now Kavanagh, surely Derry can aim higher than that with the backing they have? If you signed Junior or Phoenix Patterson off Waterford, then that would make sense, but Kavanagh is nothing special.

Admittedly I've only really seen him when we faced Waterford this season, but what struck me most about Kavanagh is how immobile he is. He's still a young player, but he looks unfit and he has no excuse to be, as they're a full time outfit like us and Cork City. We beat Waterford at home a few weeks ago and he could barely run.

joey B
29/07/2022, 11:42 AM
Waterford losing another striker,they might struggle in the playoffs,they’re like a metaphor for our league,bags of potential but always manage to mess it up….