View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48

sbgawa
01/01/2022, 2:23 PM
I see Doyle starts today for Bolton, anyone know how that effects the deal to Pats, can he still move in the Jan window, or does this mean they have to wait until July?

Maybe if they can work something out with his current contract, he should be ok to leave, but not sure how contracts like that work.

He can still move. Liam scales played for rovers until a couple of days before the window closed before moving to Celtic

01/01/2022, 2:58 PM
He's scored too. 5 in 21 now. He'll surely go to town against the likes of UCD/Drogheda/Harps/Shels

patsdad
01/01/2022, 3:00 PM
Doyle will leave Bolton in the coming week. The replacement they signed isn’t in the squad today, maybe it can’t be registered until Monday or Tuesday.

In other St Pats news, Ronan Coughlan has signed a new deal. I’m a bit surprised at that on his form in the second half of last season, especially given the attackers now signed. In fairness, he was decent in the first half and the club statement suggests he was never properly fit when he came back from injury.

I guess he’ll be handy as a squad player.

sulywaterfordfc
01/01/2022, 3:16 PM
We’ve announced today the following players from last season are under contract for 2022.

— Eddie Nolan
– George Forrest
– Jeremie Milambo
– Niall O’Keeffe
– Junior Quitirna
– Phoenix Patterson
– Cian Kavanagh
– Ronaldo Green

An front three of Junior, Phoenix and Kavanagh could be lethal. O’Keeffe and Nolan are two important ones. O’Keeffe is one of the young players to lookout for.

total hoofball
01/01/2022, 3:31 PM
Denzil Fernandes signed for Treaty from Shels.
Could be a really great signing for Treaty if he can avoid injury. Between the mess of 2020 and his injury riddled 2021 season Denzil couldn't catch much of a break to get going at Shels

Jd2793
01/01/2022, 3:46 PM
surprised pats kept onto coughlan, theyve a whole load of forwards now.

patsdad
01/01/2022, 4:07 PM
surprised pats kept onto coughlan, theyve a whole load of forwards now.

Last season Coughlan sometimes played behind the front 3, as indeed did Billy King. With so many options wide and upfront, but only 3 experienced midfielders in Lennon, Forrester and McCormack, that may be the role Pats have in mind.

01/01/2022, 4:35 PM
We have kept on Shane Elworthy on our books for another season. Its his fifth season with us. Nice to ave some good news for a change with us!

oriel
01/01/2022, 5:01 PM
I presume you chided these podcasters for talking about something that was, according to you, well and truly in the past even a couple of weeks ago? :D

Ha - give you that one kid, but not my work, just found it funny when listening to it out for my dog walk !

01/01/2022, 5:13 PM
Dan Cleary (Dundalk to St Johnstone) confirmed now

oriel
01/01/2022, 7:20 PM
Dan Cleary (Dundalk to St Johnstone) confirmed now

Good move for him, even in the ridiculous circus of p6 last year and before he stood out, always said this is the career move most LOI players should be looking for, SPL.

PL is closed shop and Championship is higher standard than prob 4-6 euro leagues at this stage.

sbgawa
01/01/2022, 7:45 PM
Saints have lost 8 on the spin and look like relegation fodder

oriel
01/01/2022, 7:46 PM
Hoban's League Two record - 65 games, 7 goals

Doyle's League Two record - 132 games, 57 goals, which includes being second top scorer in the division last season. Even his Championship record - 57 games, 10 goals - is better than Hoban's L2 record.

Time well tell, for sure, but I think those stats more than compensate for three extra years. 33 is hardly past it.

No, but if reports are correct, giving a 3 year contract for someone who will obviously be 36 in 3 years time and on big wages is a bit of a risk in my view, as said before there wouldnt be any English clubs offering this, same to any other player same age not just him. Good player, don't get wrong, scored today, decent standard, but 3 years, no way, I wouldn't pay it.

oriel
01/01/2022, 7:52 PM
Funny, on the stats I was surprised to see that Hoban has only 5 goals in 23 European games. That's really poor.

Agree the three-year deal is a bit of a risk, but (assuming the money involved isn't mad stuff) it seems a risk worth taking as it does seem to give Pat's the edge over Dundalk/Bohs in what we should probably start calling the race for third.

I was thinking about this earlier, then remembered, forgot about Sligo, so its really 4 going for 3rd place next season, but unless Dundalk recruit better quality this month, I can't see us getting any higher than 4th. Then again, I suppose that would be a huge improvement on the car crash of 2021.

01/01/2022, 7:54 PM
Yeah, sorry Sligo fans! Ye should be in there too alright.

Still a ways to go till we can start the 2022 predictions thread though.

oriel
01/01/2022, 7:57 PM
I completely forgot too !!!!!!!!

And they were solid in 3rd last season too, even after taking the summer off !

oriel
01/01/2022, 8:01 PM
Saints have lost 8 on the spin and look like relegation fodder

Maybe but SPL is still a far better standard than LOI, fully pro league (and stadia), plus not sure St Mirren were doing that well when Jamie McG moved over.

patsdad
01/01/2022, 8:22 PM
The only thing that can be said with any certainty is that Shamrock Rovers will be there or thereabouts. Derry and Pats appear to be investing in significantly strengthening their squads, Sligo seem to be at about the same level as last year, Bohs a little weaker. Dundalk are well off the pace on the basis of what has been signed so far but there's still time and, presumably, money. But you can't tell how new squads will gell. Pats were comfortably the second best team in 2021 whereas most people had them pegged for 4th-5th at the start of the season.

oriel
01/01/2022, 8:50 PM
The only thing that can be said with any certainty is that Shamrock Rovers will be there or thereabouts. Derry and Pats appear to be investing in significantly strengthening their squads, Sligo seem to be at about the same level as last year, Bohs a little weaker. Dundalk are well off the pace on the basis of what has been signed so far but there's still time and, presumably, money. But you can't tell how new squads will gell. Pats were comfortably the second best team in 2021 whereas most people had them pegged for 4th-5th at the start of the season.

We'll do the predictions thing later, but seems already Rovers odds on then Derry for second, 3rd spot up for grabs, Pats at the minute in good shape, but Sligo have decent squad (still) Bohs too, and Dundalk have 5-6 more to join, a lot will depend on that quality.

However I would see Rovers out front, Derry next, and the rest a fair good bit back.

Fair point on Pats last season, I actually thought getting second more impressive than winning the cup, fans love the day out of course and the trophy (nothing quite like it) but coming second shows great consistency.

For those of an older persuasion the great Jim McLaughlin DFC teams, two runners up in 80 and 81 either side of league titles were almost equally as impressive, as meant you were still 'at it'. Cork City to be fair probably on same context possibly deserved more than a single league title during Caulfield era only to come up against SK, but it didn't take anything away from their quality, 3 runners up in a row then a (well deserved) title in 2017 was very impressive.

Jd2793
01/01/2022, 8:52 PM
dundalk wont be near top 3 anyway. a good bit back in 5th or 6th next season

01/01/2022, 9:26 PM
Surprised at that, there’s probably 5-10 other centre backs in the league I’d have down as being better than him.

Edit: Just noticed that Hamilton aren’t currently in the SPL, makes sense as a transfer so

Not a step up in standard, but he's got a full time deal and probably a last shot as a full time professional with a semi-decent wage.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/01/2022, 10:58 PM
Andre Wright gone to Telford. Didn’t make a huge impact with us.

Jd2793
01/01/2022, 11:35 PM
Andre Wright gone to Telford. Didn’t make a huge impact with us.

was in a good situation at bohs with how they play. hes technically very limited, hard to see him jumping up any levels in UK.

oriel
02/01/2022, 11:34 AM
dundalk wont be near top 3 anyway. a good bit back in 5th or 6th next season

On current players onboard I would think 4th will be the highest. Finished 6th last year and that was by doing almost nothing from May to August.

Jack B
02/01/2022, 12:53 PM
Will be interesting to see how it has taken shape come the start of the season. We were comfortably enough second best last season but this time last year folk were worried about relegation. I think Dundalk will end up looking strong personally, not like they couldn't field a decent side right now anyway.

Think we might be reliant on some loans coming good like Jaros and Lewis did. I'd say even with Doyle signing we're maybe 4 players short of being properly in the mix.

sulywaterfordfc
02/01/2022, 1:14 PM
We’ve announced today the following players from last season are under contract for 2022.

— Eddie Nolan
– George Forrest
– Jeremie Milambo
– Niall O’Keeffe
– Junior Quitirna
– Phoenix Patterson
– Cian Kavanagh
– Ronaldo Green

An front three of Junior, Phoenix and Kavanagh could be lethal. O’Keeffe and Nolan are two important ones. O’Keeffe is one of the young players to lookout for.

Our first new signings have been added to the squad officially.

- Killian Cantwell - Athlone. Former Blues U19 also.
- Yassine En-Neyah - Shels. Don’t know anything about him, reaction from Shels indicate they seem to rate him.

total hoofball
02/01/2022, 1:49 PM
En-Neyah joined us late in the season made 6 starts/4 subs got 1 goal was playing central attacking or out wide. I thought he looked tidy but wouldn't have been convinced he was at the level for Premier Division, a full season full-time under Morris again it's a good move for him

2 Year Contract
02/01/2022, 4:36 PM
Blackburn manager Tony Mowbray has confirmed James Brown will sign for their U23 squad. I get that it can be hard to turn these things down for 18/19 year old lads that have aspirations of breaking into a first team but for Brown who is already 23 years old it’s a bad move in my books

https://twitter.com/richsharpe89/status/1477687366513209346?s=21

D24Saint
02/01/2022, 5:26 PM
Blackburn manager Tony Mowbray has confirmed James Brown will sign for their U23 squad. I get that it can be hard to turn these things down for 18/19 year old lads that have aspirations of breaking into a first team but for Brown who is already 23 years old it’s a bad move in my books

https://twitter.com/richsharpe89/status/1477687366513209346?s=21

umm bit strange that one. More or less being told that he is only back up. I know they are a huge club but shows a lack of ambition for Brown himself.

Jd2793
02/01/2022, 5:46 PM
i assume hes been promised something better than u23 football once this season ends. probably just want him to get more games into him. the jump from LOI to CH is pretty big infairness. Any word on the length of the deal? the money must have been good either way, hard to turn it down.

sulywaterfordfc
02/01/2022, 5:51 PM
First two players out of contract from last season have put pen to paper on new deals.

- Paul Martin
- Shane Griffin

Great news to retain these two lads. Martin showed a lot of promise when he debuted for Brian Murphy last year. Griffin has played a bug role for the first team in recent. Really happy with the news, both came from the 19s too. We’re starting to build a strong core. Things finally starting to take shape.

2 Year Contract
02/01/2022, 7:15 PM
the jump from LOI to CH is pretty big infairness. Any word on the length of the deal? the money must have been good either way, hard to turn it down.

That may be so but playing 23s football wouldn’t be the ideal way of closing that gap for him. Pretty much all of the players that come to the LOI from England talk about the LOI being a big step up from 23s football in England. Yes each academy has 2 or 3 good players that will break into the first team as well as the odd injured pro regaining fitness but on the whole, a lot of the players at that level will drop down to divisions far below the standard of LOI. A move to League One would’ve been a better fit for Brown IMO as there’s always a huge amount of midweek games in that division, coupled with players missing through covid etc he would’ve been a lot more likely to succeed in England

2 Year Contract
02/01/2022, 7:17 PM
First two players out of contract from last season have put pen to paper on new deals.

- Paul Martin
- Shane Griffin

Great news to retain these two lads. Martin showed a lot of promise when he debuted for Brian Murphy last year. Griffin has played a bug role for the first team in recent. Really happy with the news, both came from the 19s too. We’re starting to build a strong core. Things finally starting to take shape.

Junior Quitirna and Phoenix Patterson are 2 huge re-signings for Waterford. Cian Kavanagh up front could be a very good striker in the first divisions too and he’s still only 18. Keeping the likes of Griffin and a few of there other better players from last year's squad should help make them one of the favourites for promotion this year

Jd2793
02/01/2022, 7:24 PM
That may be so but playing 23s football wouldn’t be the ideal way of closing that gap for him. Pretty much all of the players that come to the LOI from England talk about the LOI being a big step up from 23s football in England. Yes each academy has 2 or 3 good players that will break into the first team as well as the odd injured pro regaining fitness but on the whole, a lot of the players at that level will drop down to divisions far below the standard of LOI. A move to League One would’ve been a better fit for Brown IMO as there’s always a huge amount of midweek games in that division, coupled with players missing through covid etc he would’ve been a lot more likely to succeed in England

he'll have been promised first team squad involvement regardless IMO. hes not going there to play u23s for 6 mths. Im not sure hes even at that level tbh but we'll soon find out. Top of the CH is really heavy on quality.

02/01/2022, 7:39 PM
If they thought he was a decent prospect for the first team they wouldn't ask him to go on trial first as they'd know all about him. Blackburn are flying they could go up this year and if they do they won't be using players like Brown.

Jd2793
02/01/2022, 7:47 PM
If they thought he was a decent prospect for the first team they wouldn't ask him to go on trial first as they'd know all about him. Blackburn are flying they could go up this year and if they do they won't be using players like Brown.

hes 23 , hes about 4 years too old to be a prospect. ultimately its a deal that will have suited him to best in his view so good luck to him. hope hes making good money at least.

02/01/2022, 7:56 PM
Pretty much all of the players that come to the LOI from England talk about the LOI being a big step up from 23s football in England.

Pretty much every player that comes to every league talks up the place where they're playing. I wouldn't read too much into that as proof of anything other than surprising levels of common sense in footballers. It's probably fairly true in this case but I wouldn't begrudge any player here a Championship contract of any description either. He's backing himself and best of luck to him. If it doesn't work out there he can always try dropping down a tier or two there or come back.

Jack B
02/01/2022, 8:28 PM
From what I read through glancing through Twitter, Blackburn are also in the market for a starting right back, which doesn't say much for any first team promises Brown may have gotten. Just seems an odd move given his age but all the best to him, he's a good player and will probably carve out a good career for himself whether it's at Blackburn or not.

D24Saint
02/01/2022, 8:40 PM
One perk to signing at any level for Blackburn is getting on the football league merry go round. There are plenty of big clubs in league 1 & 2 that will look at signing someone from Blackburn as a coo.

sulywaterfordfc
02/01/2022, 8:46 PM
Junior Quitirna and Phoenix Patterson are 2 huge re-signings for Waterford. Cian Kavanagh up front could be a very good striker in the first divisions too and he’s still only 18. Keeping the likes of Griffin and a few of there other better players from last year's squad should help make them one of the favourites for promotion this year

Potentially the two best players in the division attacking wise. If Kavanagh’s in the right frame of mind he has bags of potential for his age too. Junior and Patterson were part of 8 players whom ended last season under contract for this year. Had we signed them on short term deals in the summer I’d say there would of had no hope of retaining either. We’ve a good core squad albeit small so far. Things seems to be looking good

sbgawa
02/01/2022, 8:59 PM
On current players onboard I would think 4th will be the highest. Finished 6th last year and that was by doing almost nothing from May to August.
With the exception of Duffy and mceleney (of whom mcl who played very few games) is cleary dumigan the only two that would be classed as losses, Benson etc signings look positive. On their day Dfc were the second best team in the division last year, they have enough now to challenge imo. Rovers won last year taking 28 points from losing or drawing positions. We need to improve, if jack is fit I think we can if not I can't see us getting so many late winners again ( dogs that chase cars etc). Derry when you ass mcclean as expected look really strong but I think the league looks really competitive next year.

Jd2793
02/01/2022, 9:06 PM
With the exception of Duffy and mceleney (of whom mcl who played very few games) is cleary dumigan the only two that would be classed as losses, Benson etc signings look positive. On their day Dfc were the second best team in the division last year, they have enough now to challenge imo. Rovers won last year taking 28 points from losing or drawing positions. We need to improve, if jack is fit I think we can if not I can't see us getting so many late winners again ( dogs that chase cars etc). Derry when you ass mcclean as expected look really strong but I think the league looks really competitive next year.

wouldnt fancy relying on benson to get through a season without injuries especially when he'll be playing on that pitch every 2 weeks. Duffy is still one of the top players in the league, they wont get near the same production from John martin. Byrne is a game changer for Rovers, id have expected a tighter race if he didnt re-sign. He's so good its hard to see anyone getting near them. ye probably need to look at getting in a wing back and a gk though. Cotter was good but hes normally a right sided player isnt he? The left sided players ye have are hammered from injuries seem hard to rely on but if they can stay fit ye'll be ok. Thought Mannus dropped off a good bit last season, time catches up on them all.

02/01/2022, 9:40 PM
With the exception of Duffy and mceleney (of whom mcl who played very few games) is cleary dumigan the only two that would be classed as losses, Benson etc signings look positive. On their day Dfc were the second best team in the division last year, they have enough now to challenge imo.
Not sure you can really say Dundalk were the second best team in the league on their day last season - they finished sixth for a reason and never launched any sort of European challenge. They took points off Rovers, true, but upping your game in one-off matches won't hack it in the league.

Patching and Stanton look like losses too.

I think their continuing habit of resigning old players (Benson, Mountney, Ward in this case) isn't a great idea. The squad is just getting older. They've no keeper (though neither do Pat's I think?) and a fairly thin squad I think (assuming all the foreigners are gone). They've a ways to go yet to get a decent squad, albeit there's still time.

Byrne is a huge signing for Rovers and they're a competent forward (Whelan?) away from taking the **** this year. Derry have consolidated well though I'll believe McClean when I see it. I think there's a big gap then. I wonder is it too early to deem it the weakest league ever? :)

joey B
02/01/2022, 10:06 PM
Sonni Nattestad Signed and released by Norwegian club FK Jerv within a couple of hours today,apparently failed to turn up as a key witness in a rape trial in Norway,wild recruitment from Dundalk last season…..

https://mobile.twitter.com/FKJerv/status/1477761797696409615

2 Year Contract
02/01/2022, 10:14 PM
They've no keeper (though neither do Pat's I think?) and a fairly thin squad I think (assuming all the foreigners are gone). They've a ways to go yet to get a decent squad, albeit there's still time.

Dundalk have signed Peter Cherrie back (thankfully ;)) who in my opinion was probably the second worst keeper in the league last season out of the ones that played more than a couple of games, Abibi being the worst.

Pats only keeper on the books at the moment is Josh Keeley who’s come through the 19s and made his debut against Harps in November. He’s a good prospect and I’d imagine could potentially be promoted from third choice keeper to second choice this year, depending on the experience of the first choice keeper as it’s obviously a risk having a young keeper let alone 2 of them. It looks like Pats first choice keeper will come in from the UK again, fingers crossed he'll be even half as good as Jaros was last year who will reportedly be loaned out again by Liverpool to a club in Germany, Holland or England this time.

As you say there’s still a lot of signings due in to a lot of clubs

03/01/2022, 8:35 AM
Well I wasn't counting Cherrie for exactly the reason you gave alright. I'm presuming both clubs have backup keepers now, but no first choice.

(Cherrie is another example of Dundalk's strange habit of signing former players actually)

D24Saint
03/01/2022, 9:43 AM
https://www.dublinlive.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/dundalk-sign-double-winning-captain-22629799

New contract for Brian Gartland at Dundalk.

El-Pietro
03/01/2022, 12:57 PM
Barry Coffey returns to Cork City on loan until summer. Hes out of contract with Celtic when the loan ends so would assume we would look to sign him permanently at that point.

2 Year Contract
03/01/2022, 1:46 PM
Barry Coffey returns to Cork City on loan until summer. Hes out of contract with Celtic when the loan ends so would assume we would look to sign him permanently at that point.

Good signing. His 5 goals in 12 games is very impressive for a midfielder

03/01/2022, 1:54 PM
Gary Cronin has appointed James Keddy as his no 2 with us. He follows him from Bray Wanderers.

https://ltfc.ie/2022/01/first-team-staff-appointments/

I know all about JK as a player but what is he like as a coach more importantly?