View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48

total hoofball
23/06/2022, 12:56 PM
He is circling the wagons for sure but I dont think there was much there to indicate he could leave. He might be deflecting responsibility of UCDs form like a manager that fears that a sacking is near hand. The persecution of UCD by refs is bordering on conspiracy theory rhetoric. Refs are consistent with all teams, often consistently bad. I'd hate to have to do a post match interview when incidents are fresh in the mind as ye could say anything in that moment. Myler looked quite calm there imo.
Myler and his assistant O'Connor in the Shels match at Tolka spent as much time hounding the 4th official on the sidelines over completely nothing things rather than watching the match and coaching their team. I must say Kevin Doherty and Daire Doyle were not much better in the previous match

I know management is a tough gig but if managers and coaching staff of part-time teams are under crazy levels of pressure and badger the 4th official over every single stupid little thing going on in the match I don't think it's the role for them

23/06/2022, 4:14 PM
Interesting signing
Didn't play as his side lost 6-1 in the Champions League preliminary round away to Viking Reykjavik. Came on as a sub in their last league game.

I'd love to know how these sort of moves come about. Completely random one

The Bowler
23/06/2022, 6:52 PM
Myler and his assistant O'Connor in the Shels match at Tolka spent as much time hounding the 4th official on the sidelines over completely nothing things rather than watching the match and coaching their team. I must say Kevin Doherty and Daire Doyle were not much better in the previous match

I know management is a tough gig but if managers and coaching staff of part-time teams are under crazy levels of pressure and badger the 4th official over every single stupid little thing going on in the match I don't think it's the role for them

Of all the clubs in all the leagues in all the world, UCD Managers are under practically zero pressure from either their limited fan base or their board (unless that is the board member wants you to play his son 😀.....remember the Collie ONeill debacle ). In fact, in the bigger scheme of things, they genuinely don't care which division they are in. Sometimes, you just get people who can't cope themselves, and their only mechanism is to lash out because they don't have what it takes. And when your own players have no respect for you, you may as well take it all out on the officials. Yes, I know.....I'm Myler bashing again

The Bowler
24/06/2022, 6:44 PM
Hearing word here in The Bowl this evening that Liam Kerrigan is heading to Italy, to Serie B side Como. Also hearing another player walked this week. WTF is going on. Best of luck to LK, what a move to an amazing part of the world. Beats cold nights in Derry or Tallaght !

Jd2793
25/06/2022, 12:23 PM
Hearing word here in The Bowl this evening that Liam Kerrigan is heading to Italy, to Serie B side Como. Also hearing another player walked this week. WTF is going on. Best of luck to LK, what a move to an amazing part of the world. Beats cold nights in Derry or Tallaght !

eoin farrell signed with wexford , not that he featured much this season anyway with ye.

25/06/2022, 1:35 PM

Derry reporter Eric White has tweeted that about Kerrigan. Interesting move for him. Glad he's not gone down the league's in England, wouldn't suit him

joey B
25/06/2022, 1:40 PM
Pretty spectacular place to play your football,hopefully he develops well there….

Jd2793
25/06/2022, 2:05 PM
Derry reporter Eric White has tweeted that about Kerrigan. Interesting move for him. Glad he's not gone down the league's in England, wouldn't suit him

of all players i think uk would suit kerrigan a lot better tbh. hes well able physically.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
25/06/2022, 2:30 PM
of all players i think uk would suit kerrigan a lot better tbh. hes well able physically.

Agreed - assume they noticed him in the under 21 game a couple of weeks ago

The Bowler
25/06/2022, 3:54 PM
eoin farrell signed with wexford , not that he featured much this season anyway with ye.

I guess that accounts for his departure, as it does for the other players who walked, although there's plenty more to the story than lads not getting game time. Farrell is an excellent young player, and I hope he does well at Wexford. Think Wexford are going to muscle their way into the playoffs and be stronger again next season.

Jd2793
25/06/2022, 4:24 PM
I guess that accounts for his departure, as it does for the other players who walked, although there's plenty more to the story than lads not getting game time. Farrell is an excellent young player, and I hope he does well at Wexford. Think Wexford are going to muscle their way into the playoffs and be stronger again next season.

wexford are decent tbh, better than treaty anyway. they should make the play offs. will we see more outgoings from ucd? awful time to be losing players, had a few new lads on the bench last night.

The Bowler
25/06/2022, 4:59 PM
wexford are decent tbh, better than treaty anyway. they should make the play offs. will we see more outgoings from ucd? awful time to be losing players, had a few new lads on the bench last night.

I've heard of 5 players who have walked out and obviously Kerrigan and Whelan were always expected to go. The lads who have left probably have a hundred or more appearances between them. TBH the next departure I expect is the manager.

25/06/2022, 7:18 PM
After us losing to Wexford last nite after the high of our draw against Cork I wonder is Gary Cronin under pressure again as I wasnt expecting that result at all tbh! Wexford have some squad in fairness to them!

joey B
25/06/2022, 7:22 PM
After us losing to Wexford last nite after the high of our draw against Cork I wonder is Gary Cronin under pressure again as I wasnt expecting that result at all tbh! Wexford have some squad in fairness to them!

Are Longford not alright? Seem to be exactly where they’re suppose to be with the 3 above tipped to be the best sides in the division before the season,be harsh to be under pressure only 20 odd games into the job….

25/06/2022, 7:30 PM
Are Longford not alright? Seem to be exactly where they’re suppose to be with the 3 above tipped to be the best sides in the division before the season,be harsh to be under pressure only 20 odd games into the job….

I know for a fact that it was an unpopular appt with our fans considering his history with Bray. We are extremely inconsistent this season we havent an end product to finish games off Joey B. Davy O Sullivan was a man machine and only reason we got promoted 2 yrs ago was cos Shels were cocky in their playoff!

25/06/2022, 7:42 PM
People were underwhelmed with the appointment alright but I would say he's doing an OK job. Getting into the play offs would be the expectation and I'm sure he'll manage that. We don't have the money to do much more.

The Bowler
25/06/2022, 9:54 PM
I know for a fact that it was an unpopular appt with our fans considering his history with Bray. We are extremely inconsistent this season we havent an end product to finish games off Joey B. Davy O Sullivan was a man machine and only reason we got promoted 2 yrs ago was cos Shels were cocky in their playoff! By account of a Bray player during Cronins tenure at the Carlisle Grounds, his behaviour was the right up there with what he ever experienced in a career that has seen him under some of the leagues elder lemons who weren't shy !. By all accounts over stepped on a weekly basis. But LOI just isn't progressive in terms of the types of people that make it as managers. A bit like life in general in Ireland, if you are truly ambitious to over achieve, you tend to get out of the country if the business you are in is small and insular. Stuck in the dark ages in many respects.

joey B
25/06/2022, 11:26 PM
Was having a look at Como and they seem to be owned by an Indonesian company,are/were filming a documentary and have Dennis Wise involved!!!

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=pfbid0377FBfi2CHQbe7tKtzkPFxJ 6wauJHB3m9iWviGBQV1km5d5vemzfg9wKnfnpRCFErl&id=110805877071768&m_entstream_source=video_home&player_suborigin=entry_point&player_format=permalink

Jd2793
26/06/2022, 11:36 AM
cork in for jack doherty. would love to see that happen he is quality at fd level

26/06/2022, 4:20 PM
cork in for jack doherty. would love to see that happen he is quality at fd level

Class player for us in his short spell with ourselves.

oriel
26/06/2022, 4:37 PM
So everyone agrees, defo not a pen!

The 1988 FAI Cup Final ? I don't even think the Dundalk players looked for a penalty, it was an incredible decision.

Larry Wyse !

Actually that was a perfect balance in MF with 3 there, Wyse on right, Martin Murray in the middle and Barry Kehoe on the left, wasn't a great final if I recall but some coolness from John Clearly slotting that away in front of 100k Derry fans in the Phibs end !

joey B
27/06/2022, 10:50 AM
Shane Keegan appointed Cobh manager…

http://cobhramblers.ie/first-team-manager-confirmed/

A N Mouse
27/06/2022, 11:29 AM
The 1988 FAI Cup Final ? I don't even think the Dundalk players looked for a penalty, it was an incredible decision.

Larry Wyse !

Actually that was a perfect balance in MF with 3 there, Wyse on right, Martin Murray in the middle and Barry Kehoe on the left, wasn't a great final if I recall but some coolness from John Clearly slotting that away in front of 100k Derry fans in the Phibs end !

I had convinced myself it was MacArdle was ref, but was Spillane. JFC why would you complain about a ref nowadays when we don't have to put up with Spillane or Wallace - MacArdle was one of the better ones, if that says much.

That day there were a couple of stonewall penalty shouts denied. Think that one was to make up for not giving Dundalk a very early one, then in my mind, at least, late on at other end was like Suarez vs Ghana, fecking still disgusted :D

The league cup final following season almost made up for it though.

27/06/2022, 2:53 PM

Larry Wyse !

My 1st cup final as I wasnt allowed go the previous year, though didnt miss much. I remember people shouting at the ref politely where to go, thinking it was a free out, then realised it was penalty given, and were 'great refereeing'! and then people asking had they missed something off the ball. As the saying goes ye win some ye lose some. I will never forget that wall of red and white of the Derry end!!

mackend6
27/06/2022, 3:41 PM
I see Daragh Lenihan off to Boro.

Was he playing tight back, or on the right of a back 3 for Blackburn?

If right back, it could be a good move for James Brown to get more game time.

27/06/2022, 7:04 PM
For those that were listenin to LOI late nite the other nite it was mentioned that Shane Keegan was linked to the Cobh job! I imagine that Shane Keegan wont be on LOI late nite any more. I always find him interesting!

joey B
29/06/2022, 2:41 PM
Louis Britton signs for Cork,bad for Waterford and probably not go down well….

joey B
29/06/2022, 2:45 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/BroadcastMoose/status/1541926508993855491

Liam Kerrigan will have an interesting coach at Como ;)

Jd2793
29/06/2022, 3:53 PM

a move to uk might not have been bad after all.

29/06/2022, 3:55 PM
Louis Britton signs for Cork,bad for Waterford and probably not go down well….

This is great craic. Seeing a handful of Waterford fans in meltdown over the lack of loyalty from a lad who spent a couple of months there on loan.

29/06/2022, 6:55 PM
He probably should have stayed away from the farewell tweet but it is very funny.

total hoofball
29/06/2022, 6:59 PM
This is great craic. Seeing a handful of Waterford fans in meltdown over the lack of loyalty from a lad who spent a couple of months there on loan.
The meltdowns on twitter are almost as funny as when Dylan Watts left Bohs mid-season after his loan to sign for Shamrock Rovers

The Bowler
29/06/2022, 7:34 PM

Christ on a bike, it's only Mark Bircham. That sort of at least explains how Kerrigan ended up at Como, presumably Bircham had some exposure to Kerrigan during his time in Ireland

Jack B
29/06/2022, 9:29 PM
Darragh Burns is off to MK Dons by the looks of things.

bluemovie
29/06/2022, 11:28 PM
Christ on a bike, it's only Mark Bircham. That sort of at least explains how Kerrigan ended up at Como, presumably Bircham had some exposure to Kerrigan during his time in Ireland

Not so much exposure as sheer intense horroer! Kerrigan tore us a new one both times we played UCD last year. Bircham was in charge when we tried four different lef backs on him in the cup and then he was an observer at the playoff a few days after his sacking when LK destroyed us again. Not sure if Bircham's tweet necessarily means he's coaching at Como now, but we'll see.

30/06/2022, 9:50 AM
Class player for us in his short spell with ourselves.

He barely kicked a ball for us, spent most of his two spells in the stands

D24Saint
30/06/2022, 6:23 PM

So looks like Burns out , Billy Stedman in.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Billy_Stedman

30/06/2022, 9:31 PM

Oh well. Better that than Rovers I suppose. Hoped we’d keep him for the season, but I suppose better to get some cash rather than lose him for nothing at the end of the season.

2 Year Contract
01/07/2022, 12:17 AM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/darragh-burns-agrees-terms-mk-27369503

An initial fee of 200k plus future add ons is brilliant money for Burns considering he’s out of contract in November. Pats also linked with Harry Brockbank most recently of El Paso Locomotive and a former Bolton teammate of Eoin Doyle's

D24Saint
01/07/2022, 6:14 PM
Have the yellow tie on standby, signing alert in Inchicore. The Saints have signed ex Bolton ace Harry Brockbank and Dutch midfielder Thijs Timmermans. I think the SEI will struggle to make up songs for them pair.

01/07/2022, 7:55 PM
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/darragh-burns-agrees-terms-mk-27369503

An initial fee of 200k plus future add ons is brilliant money for Burns considering he’s out of contract in November. Pats also linked with Harry Brockbank most recently of El Paso Locomotive and a former Bolton teammate of Eoin Doyle's

Well he'd have been right at home in Dundalk with The Railway men!

sidcon
02/07/2022, 10:04 AM
Bohs sign Declan Mc David from Dundee,

Strong rumours Dawson Devoy going to MK Don's but no official bid for him yet

joey B
02/07/2022, 2:17 PM
Galway sign Mark Russell ,was at us for a couple of seasons,decent player for the First Division….

culloty82
02/07/2022, 2:53 PM
Kerry U19 player Daniel Okwute is currently on trial at Blackpool:

https://twitter.com/KerryFC/status/1543237393473495040

02/07/2022, 6:39 PM
Galway sign Mark Russell ,was at us for a couple of seasons,decent player for the First Division….

Joey B Where did ye resign MR from? Names familar all rite!

RealJohn91
02/07/2022, 7:36 PM
Joey B Where did ye resign MR from? Names familar all rite!
Could you not just Google that in the same time it took to ask?

D24Saint
02/07/2022, 7:40 PM
Could you not just Google that in the same time it took to ask?

Would that not defeat the purpose of foot.ie.

joey B
03/07/2022, 11:04 AM
James Finnerty on loan to Galway from Bohs.....

03/07/2022, 11:25 AM

52 week contracts in the first division!

Olander
03/07/2022, 12:49 PM
52 week contracts in the first division!
Please tell me you're taking the píss.

If you actually think Galway United are offering players 52 week contracts in the First Division, then you're completely off your rocker.