View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48

sbgawa
19/07/2022, 3:03 PM
Promise off to Fleetwood looks done. Another release clause deal apparently.

any idea how much, Fleetwood cant be a big opportunity for Promise you would think

Glen Of Aherlow
19/07/2022, 3:04 PM
we're now basically a feeder league for League One in England

Asterix
19/07/2022, 3:07 PM
any idea how much, Fleetwood cant be a big opportunity for Promise you would think

five figure

D24Saint
19/07/2022, 3:16 PM
Adam O’Reillys loan from Preston has been extended until the end of the season.

Glen Of Aherlow
19/07/2022, 3:21 PM
Adam O’Reillys loan from Preston has been extended until the end of the season.

Great news

Jd2793
19/07/2022, 3:43 PM
any idea on a fee for kerrigan?

ontheotherhand
19/07/2022, 4:00 PM
Devoy had one as well. There was a lot of them involved in moves during the winter window too.

A release clause of 140k? That's not bad really unless he was on a long term deal. When announced it was just for 2022 I thought? You'd know better but hasn't he struggled a bit this year? Could be wrong on both counts.

So Devoy, McGinty and Mandroiu had clauses from this window maybe? Sligo fans?

Did any of them have long term deals? I think that's our main problem to be honest. Until clubs offer players the security of multi year deals they are going to want release clauses so they can go get them elsewhere, particularly with our season lining up as it does with the English window. Although I suppose you could argue that there should absolutely not be any release clauses in shorter term deals. Again though the short term deal dictates the market value and 140k for Devoy isn't bad if he was able to leave in a free in 6 months. So as long as the clause is close to market value I don't have an issue. Promise is worth more than a five figure sum though. Again you'd know better but he has seemed far more dangerous than Devoy this season from what I've seen. Mandroius clause was a joke all the same. Nowhere close to his market value even with an expiring contract.

Jack B
19/07/2022, 4:03 PM
I like that we've signed O'Reilly up for the rest of the season but I think I must be the only Pats fan that isn't completely convinced by him. He brings incredible energy to midfield that I'm not sure any midfielder in the league can match but his quality on the ball is inconsistent at best and semi-often causes problems, even beyond the obvious recent one against Dundalk. Great player to have in the squad but I don't think he has the quality you'd want from a midfielder in a team with the expectations we have.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/07/2022, 4:15 PM
A release clause of 140k? That's not bad really unless he was on a long term deal. When announced it was just for 2022 I thought? You'd know better but hasn't he struggled a bit this year? Could be wrong on both counts.

So Devoy, McGinty and Mandroiu had clauses from this window maybe? Sligo fans?

Did any of them have long term deals? I think that's our main problem to be honest. Until clubs offer players the security of multi year deals they are going to want release clauses so they can go get them elsewhere, particularly with our season lining up as it does with the English window. Although I suppose you could argue that there should absolutely not be any release clauses in shorter term deals. Again though the short term deal dictates the market value and 140k for Devoy isn't bad if he was able to leave in a free in 6 months. So as long as the clause is close to market value I don't have an issue. Promise is worth more than a five figure sum though. Again you'd know better but he has seemed far more dangerous than Devoy this season from what I've seen. Mandroius clause was a joke all the same. Nowhere close to his market value even with an expiring contract.

McGinty is out of contract in November and is 23 next month so would have gotten nothing for him. Contract signed 2 years ago. No release clause that I’ve heard of.

Johnny Kenny signed a new contract in November with a release clause and was gone in January when the fee was met

John Mahon signed one in December and same issue

ontheotherhand
19/07/2022, 4:20 PM
McGinty is out of contract in November and is 23 next month so would have gotten nothing for him. Contract signed 2 years ago. No release clause that I’ve heard of.

Johnny Kenny signed a new contract in November with a release clause and was gone in January when the fee was met

John Mahon signed one in December and same issue

Kenny went for 150k? Were you unhappy with that? Or was it worth getting him on a pro deal and getting his goals plus the 150k versus losing him on a free earlier or later?

I wonder what the release clauses do for add ons. Do they remove our ability to include sell on fees and appearance fees or are those things baked in to any offer? You'd hope so.

19/07/2022, 4:46 PM
I think 150-200k for a punt from a League 1 club is decent enough actually, given LoI transfers can be very hit and miss. Especially with players on short contracts.

30k for the reigning champions' top scorer is a really bad indictment though. Not entirely sure who on, but on someone.

ontheotherhand
19/07/2022, 5:02 PM
I think 150-200k for a punt from a League 1 club is decent enough actually, given LoI transfers can be very hit and miss. Especially with players on short contracts.

30k for the reigning champions' top scorer is a really bad indictment though. Not entirely sure who on, but on someone.

Yeah that's my take as well. IF Burton's analysis is fairly well used over there and they look at the track record of players who have done well after moving, anything over 100k isn't that bad if a short term contract is involved. Devoy and Kenny also weren't at the top club here when they went so if League 1 clubs look at our champions as mid table teams then they aren't going to risk half a million or close to it for a player who is doing well at Bohs or Sligo, particularly if they can get him for free in 6 months. So the release clauses match the valuation. Extend the contracts and the release clauses will go up maybe.

Mandroius was bad but as I said earlier, we needed him last year and we got him for free essentially so losing him for free isn't terrible. If it was happening to us all the time I'd be worried but it looks like Lyons will go for north of 200k at least and others have gone for more.

total hoofball
19/07/2022, 6:06 PM
Josh Giurgi winger former Norwich Under 23 and ROI underage international has signed for Shels until the end of the season

Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/07/2022, 6:24 PM
Kenny went for 150k? Were you unhappy with that? Or was it worth getting him on a pro deal and getting his goals plus the 150k versus losing him on a free earlier or later?

I wonder what the release clauses do for add ons. Do they remove our ability to include sell on fees and appearance fees or are those things baked in to any offer? You'd hope so.

He signed a pro deal at the start of the season to the end of 2022. Then signed another contract to the end of 2024 at the end of last season. He didn’t have to sign that but did to ensure the club got some decentish money for him.

There are add ons also.

It was pretty obvious early on he wasn’t going to be with us for too long so glad that we weren’t shafted totally on it. As already said the agents are calling all the shots these days

The Bowler
19/07/2022, 7:55 PM
Promise Omochere 3 year deal at Fleetwood. Don't think I've ever seen a window where the league has lost so much talent. League will be the worse for it, hard pressed to name the remaining top young talent, seems like it's all been snapped up

19/07/2022, 8:05 PM
Half a million a year coming into the league wouldn't be the worst thing in the world.

But yeah, question is can the league keep replenishing that quickly.

Calcio Jack
19/07/2022, 8:13 PM
Promise Omochere 3 year deal at Fleetwood. Don't think I've ever seen a window where the league has lost so much talent. League will be the worse for it, hard pressed to name the remaining top young talent, seems like it's all been snapped up

Remaining top young talent’s name is Justin Ferizai

19/07/2022, 8:30 PM
Jamie Mullins another top prospect.

19/07/2022, 8:51 PM
Adam Murphy at Pats. Remember the name. Sam Curtis too.

sbgawa
19/07/2022, 9:33 PM
Generally release clauses are exactly that a full release for a fee, no add ons etc. Rovers have done well in transfers over the last few years to the tune of 4 million + but mandroiu was signed as a replacement for Jack Byrne who went to Cyprus, he scored 15 goals plenty of assists and we won the league so tbh I can see what the club did and can't fault them. As long as it doesn't become the norm its not to bad, the one that got away as such.

Shinkicker
20/07/2022, 6:52 AM
The reason we see so much talent leaving is because the talent there. Pre brexit these lads would have been more or less kidnapped at 14 or 15 taken to England and we would not have seen them again. We are getting the chance to see their talent when it's young eg. Devoy and Mullins(who is still there but surely will go soon) at Bohs and numerous others at other clubs. I just hope like the Italians lately who have signed a few, we don't go back to losing our lads at 14 or 15 and never see what they have to offer. It has been fantastic to see this talent in recent years.

Stav
20/07/2022, 9:06 AM
Hopefully the younger players will stay at home but if not will go to Europe where they will get better coaching etc in the academies. Maybe a greater percentage of them will stay in the game.

kksaints
20/07/2022, 9:06 AM
We've signed Barry Cotter on loan from Rovers. Surprised at this tbh. He's mainly a left back I thought and we have Breslin and Bermo who were both fairly solid when played there.

Asterix
20/07/2022, 9:16 AM
He only played left back for rovers when players were injured. He right footed.

Jd2793
20/07/2022, 9:22 AM
yeh hes a right full, hes better than scott but i dont think hes at the level of other rovers players atm. no where near andy lyons.

Glen Of Aherlow
20/07/2022, 9:32 AM
We've signed Barry Cotter on loan from Rovers. Surprised at this tbh. He's mainly a left back I thought and we have Breslin and Bermo who were both fairly solid when played there.

With Sam Curtis injured and Scott gone he might be in there as back up to Brockbank , with the option of using him on the left if necessary as well

20/07/2022, 9:41 AM
Hopefully the younger players will stay at home but if not will go to Europe where they will get better coaching etc in the academies. Maybe a greater percentage of them will stay in the game.
The days of English academies lagging the continent are gone. Look at the calibre of players they're producing these days. Still, keeping our players at home until they finish their education seems like the best outcome from several perspectives: the players, league, and national team will all benefit, as will the kids who don't make it as pros.

ger121
20/07/2022, 12:38 PM
I see Lambo has a thread on Twitter regarding the current market for LOI players and the need for clubs to work together to prevent low release clauses.

RealJohn91
20/07/2022, 1:05 PM
I see Lambo has a thread on Twitter regarding the current market for LOI players and the need for clubs to work together to prevent low release clauses.
Good to see fans of other clubs completely ignoring his legitimate point that's also affecting their teams just cause they don't like him

Kiki Balboa
20/07/2022, 2:57 PM

Is Lyons not leaving now?

LOI101
20/07/2022, 3:13 PM
Good to see fans of other clubs completely ignoring his legitimate point that's also affecting their teams just cause they don't like him

I see his point but don't think he offers a realistic solution. If all clubs agreed to prevent low release clauses, any player with ambitions of going over the water would just sign a one year deal and leave for nothing at the end of the year. What is a low release clause anyway? How much is it? In my mind the value of the release clause should have some relationship to the value of the player's contract. Why should a player sign a contract with a higher release clause that would be multiples of the what the club think the player is worth when they're sitting down to negotiate his wages?

I see the problem for the clubs but I'd be firmly on the side of players here. Would be interesting to see what the PFAI would think of such a proposal.

ontheotherhand
20/07/2022, 3:26 PM

Maybe he has a point but it'd be easier to take him seriously if he wasn't constantly talking about bohs turning a profit John. Why not give players better deals?

He should be just as worried about constantly losing players to a team within your own league for nothing to be honest. At least you got something for Devoy and Omochere. You should be the ones getting 200k+ for Lyons if that goes through.

Kiki Balboa
20/07/2022, 3:27 PM
I see his point but don't think he offers a realistic solution. If all clubs agreed to prevent low release clauses, any player with ambitions of going over the water would just sign a one year deal and leave for nothing at the end of the year. What is a low release clause anyway? How much is it? In my mind the value of the release clause should have some relationship to the value of the player's contract. Why should a player sign a contract with a higher release clause that would be multiples of the what the club think the player is worth when they're sitting down to negotiate his wages?

I see the problem for the clubs but I'd be firmly on the side of players here. Would be interesting to see what the PFAI would think of such a proposal.

One year contracts would put a lot of risk onto the player. If Mandriou (for example) didnt perform last year, maybe he would then be out of contract and taking a big drop in his next contract. Having a low-release clause solves that problem... They have longer security (with a contract in LOI), and still can leave anytime to England.

No issue with clubs working together to end it.

kksaints
20/07/2022, 3:28 PM
What Lambert is suggesting sounds like a form of cartel. I doubt the players or the competition authority would be massively happy with it.

RealJohn91
20/07/2022, 3:41 PM
Maybe he has a point but it'd be easier to take him seriously if he wasn't constantly talking about bohs turning a profit John. Why not give players better deals?
Bohs are spending seven figures on their playing budget this season for the first time since 2010. We're offering and paying players very good deals.

LOI101
20/07/2022, 3:43 PM
Bohs are spending seven figures on their playing budget this season for the first time since 2010. We're offering and paying players very good deals.

Are Bohs still part-time?

ontheotherhand
20/07/2022, 3:46 PM
Might want to give that a bit of time then. If you're offering better you should see more players staying and better fees if/when they leave. Should have done it after you finished second imop as you may have gone on to challenge but Lambert has had his other priorities.

RealJohn91
20/07/2022, 4:02 PM
Should have done it after you finished second imop as you may have gone on to challenge but Lambert has had his other priorities.
Yeah I really hope he improves his tactical knowledge and gets his recruitment sorted finally so we can push on, 🙄.

Jaysus will the narrative he has any impact on the playing side of our club ever end? Gas thing is with the success he's had in raising the profile of the club and the increase in revenue he's probably being headhunted by clubs all around Europe.

Only part of the club that's operating at the highest level it can is the commercial part and that's all down to him and his team but I guess his priorities are elsewhere...

ontheotherhand
20/07/2022, 4:06 PM
Yeah I really hope he improves his tactical knowledge and gets his recruitment sorted finally so we can push on, .

Jaysus will the narrative he has any impact on the playing side of our club ever end? Gas thing is with the success he's had in raising the profile of the club and the increase in revenue he's probably being headhunted by clubs all around Europe.

Only part of the club that's operating at the highest level it can is the commercial part and that's all down to him and his team but I guess his priorities are elsewhere...

He doesn't have a say in the playing budget? Why is he talking about clubs banding together to change how football contracts work then?

joey B
20/07/2022, 5:15 PM
https://bohemianfc.com/?p=18389

Interesting from Bohs who are ending their exclusivity agreement with Kevin’s and moving to an affiliate model with different clubs….

Jack B
20/07/2022, 6:31 PM

Fans of his own club are doing a good enough job of that to be fair.

culloty82
20/07/2022, 6:33 PM
https://bohemianfc.com/?p=18389

Interesting from Bohs who are ending their exclusivity agreement with Kevin’s and moving to an affiliate model with different clubs….

That would seem trickier to manage for Dublin clubs than those in rural areas in terms of geographic affiliation, though Shamrock Rovers would have things notably easier in that regard now?

sbgawa
20/07/2022, 8:52 PM
Lambert is doing his usual deflection (bit like his letter condemning Rovers fans for throwing flares etc after a crap showing in the last derby in Dalymount) I still think someone in the Rovers set up should have sent a letter out condemning Bohs fans for throwing flares after we beat them in Tallaght but purely for the wind up.
Bohs have lost Promise and Devoy with buy out clauses, Lyons for nothing, ditto Danny but rather than admit his own failings and Longs poor management he starts talking about it as an insurmountable one for the whole league.
He gave 008 a 4 year contract , enough said.
Rovers had one low buyout , Danny which was understandable as we were desperate to replace Jack who had gone to Cyprus.
15 goals and a league later i'm happy enough and good luck to Danny
Sligo sold Kenny but with a decent buyout and add ons reportedly.

I'm surprised to see one of the commissariat suggesting measures to keep the working mans opportunities to better himself but maybe he is turnig into a smoked salmon socialist.

sbgawa
20/07/2022, 9:00 PM
Yeah I really hope he improves his tactical knowledge and gets his recruitment sorted finally so we can push on, .

Are you deluded ? no professional club is going to want someone who spouts Palestinian and every right on cause under the sun. that plays well with the hipsters but not professional set ups. When was the last time you saw Dortmund playing in a bob marley shirt or a bus seat;)

redobit
20/07/2022, 9:49 PM
That's bad news for Rovers alright. Where are we going to find a replacement for the ageing Mannus.. 😳

The Shamrock fan entitlement, still alive and well. He was never gonna sign for another LOI club. He wanted a shot at the UK and loved Sligo so always said he'd stay till he got the move. He was true his word.

sbgawa
20/07/2022, 10:07 PM
The Shamrock fan entitlement, still alive and well. He was never gonna sign for another LOI club. He wanted a shot at the UK and loved Sligo so always said he'd stay till he got the move. He was true his word.

Its hardly entitlement to look at players at other clubs and want to sign them, thats kind of being a fan really.
Problem is there is a dearth of decent goalkeepers available.
Rovers may have to go doen the road of looking for a loanee from the UK to find a replacement for Manus IF he is retiring.
Looking at him this season id be happy if he kept going compared to what is available

20/07/2022, 10:13 PM
No issue with buy out clauses, Lambert is just looking to cover the fact they lost Mandriou and Lyons to us for free and they delivered us titles and cash. Boo hoo.

The Mandriou buy out was ridiculous but as others have stated Rovers made a business decision that paid off.

My view is that this is now a young man’s league and we’re all the better for it. So what if Promise, McGinty and Lyons go, just means more opportunities for other players.

Clubs need to adjust to the new reality and IMO most clubs are, just because Bohs can’t win anything and can’t hold on the their players is not everyone else’s problem.

My only gripe is that I wanted us to sign Promise and McGinty but you know what, that’s football and we’ll find other players.

sbgawa
20/07/2022, 10:23 PM
Still can't get over the comisariet looking to limit workers options, next they will be looking for a maximum wage. The revolution is coming.

ontheotherhand
20/07/2022, 10:41 PM
Yep but it's not just deflection I don't think. He's a savvy operator in fairness and he knows the podcasts have been full of comments by fans about players leaving. It's an attempt to get in the news cycle. If the clubs did band together he'd look like a leader and if they don't he looks like his progressive ideas are being ignored by greedy clubs like Rovers etc. In reality nothing will happen that wouldn't have organically happened either way but right now he has bohs in the paper.

He's smart enough to know that those better deals John mentioned above are what will drive higher transfer fees. It's funny that so many of the players leaving on the "cheap" have actually been at bohs. Maybe they just learn to have an escape route planned?

sbgawa
20/07/2022, 11:01 PM
Maybe there is a club out there looking for a ceo to run the club who's team has never won a bottle top and the manager allows its bests players to leave for nothing or next to nothing but I doubt it.