View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48

12/01/2022, 11:04 PM
Exactly. An email even once a month or every two months with updates on any relevant changes to UEFA/FIFA regulations would be very useful to the clubs. Of course the possibility exists that the FAI didn't pick up on it either.

Brusher
12/01/2022, 11:16 PM
Well maybe it's just something else Irish football in general can learn from....

sbgawa
13/01/2022, 7:48 AM
Talk of Weso coming back to Shelbourne. Wes Hoolahan homecoming would give Duff’s reign at Shelbourne that extra kick (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-ie/sport/football/wes-hoolahan-homecoming-would-give-duffs-reign-at-shelbourne-that-extra-kick/ar-AASJ9L1?ocid=entnewsntp)
That would be fantastic to see. He made the league two team of the year last season so he is still a player.
I used to love the casual class of Stephen McPhail when he played for Rovers, it was always obvious he was a step above everyone else on the pitch except for the obvious age factor slowing him down. Seeing Wes strolling around lighting the place up would be a treat.

LOI101
13/01/2022, 11:33 AM
That's all well and good, PS, but the clubs are barely businesses. Most of them have turnover smaller than the average Spar and are run by an odd lot of volunteers. Providing a little support on relevant rule changes is an obvious and useful service the FAI could easily provide that would reduce duplication of effort within clubs and avoid situations like this.

The Drogheda chairman is CEO of another business. I'd expect him to be able to keep up with regulatory/legislative changes as Poor Student said. The same should apply to many clubs that are owned/ran by successful business people. Fan owned/ran clubs are obviously different.

It'd be no harm for the FAI to send an email with updates but how do we make sure clubs read it.

13/01/2022, 11:43 AM
It'd be no harm for the FAI to send an email with updates but how do we make sure clubs read it.
Well it's their fault if they don't read them.

Professional bodies will send out news updates about legislative changes - Chartered Accountants, Tax Institutes, even the Revenue Commissioners - even though the people subscribing to them are often successful business people. I think it does make sense for the FAI to have something similar - I presume comms from FIFA come through the FAI and that FIFA don't be e-mailing every little club going.

13/01/2022, 11:58 AM
Yes completely agree. If the clubs don't read the emails then that's on them. Especially if they're told in advance that this is how the rule changes will be briefed out.

13/01/2022, 1:35 PM
The Drogheda chairman is CEO of another business. I'd expect him to be able to keep up with regulatory/legislative changes as Poor Student said. The same should apply to many clubs that are owned/ran by successful business people. Fan owned/ran clubs are obviously different.

Hoey probably missed the email during one of his rolling of eyes sessions at big bad Dundalk FC's managerial recruitment or every time he saw our shirt sponsor...he has in the past gotten sidetracked on the important issues at home while glancing up the M1 for the chance at a sideswipe. Not the first Drogheda chairman/ceo to do so though I could never decide whether it was more amusing or like a pesky fly that wont buzz off tbh.

sbgawa
13/01/2022, 1:57 PM
Hoey makes me laugh to be honest, he goes on podcasts and tries to talk big picture future of the game stuff but he is always having a dig at other clubs and trying to level people down to his level. Talks a good game but talk is cheap.
I listened to him being interviewed last year (i think on LOI central) and he was all "best thing for the LOI would be a big 16 team league" .....or put another way Drogs might not get relegated..........Academies shouldn't be allowed recruit players from outside their areas ........or put another way ...Dundalk keep getting the best young lads in Louth or else they are off to Dublin.
They weren't even the best examples just the ones i can remember.

That might have been the podcast where he was talking about signing Messi and giving him all the streaming reciepts...

13/01/2022, 4:12 PM
Hoey probably missed the email during one of his rolling of eyes sessions at big bad Dundalk FC's managerial recruitment or every time he saw our shirt sponsor...he has in the past gotten sidetracked on the important issues at home while glancing up the M1 for the chance at a sideswipe. Not the first Drogheda chairman/ceo to do so though I could never decide whether it was more amusing or like a pesky fly that wont buzz off tbh.

It would appear you're not beyond a sneaky glance back down the M1 at him, Nesta! :D

13/01/2022, 6:25 PM
It would appear you're not beyond a sneaky glance back down the M1 at him, Nesta! :D

Well it would be akin to ignoring the fly that crashlands in to yer summer socially distanced beergarden pint - it gets an initial ffs then a typically Irish well done chuckle for diving head first in to a pint before being dispatched with a flick!

13/01/2022, 6:46 PM
Talk of Weso coming back to Shelbourne. Wes Hoolahan homecoming would give Duff’s reign at Shelbourne that extra kick (msn.com) (https://www.msn.com/en-ie/sport/football/wes-hoolahan-homecoming-would-give-duffs-reign-at-shelbourne-that-extra-kick/ar-AASJ9L1?ocid=entnewsntp)
That would be fantastic to see. He made the league two team of the year last season so he is still a player.
I used to love the casual class of Stephen McPhail when he played for Rovers, it was always obvious he was a step above everyone else on the pitch except for the obvious age factor slowing him down. Seeing Wes strolling around lighting the place up would be a treat.

Could offer something in the dressingroom and some guile on the pitch but surely it would be very limited even for an evergreen player like Hoolahan - not sure how it reflects on the league when players come back when they should really call it a day. That said I'll never forget how much he stood out for Shels and didnt look out of place among the Deportivo players in Landsdowne, so if there is some yards left in the legs why not, especially if coaching is added to the role.

13/01/2022, 6:52 PM
In fairness, he played half an hour for Cambridge as they beat Newcastle in the FA Cup last week, so he's not completely shot yet.

13/01/2022, 7:07 PM
Dan McDonnell had a story earlier that Sligo had almost completed a deal for Padraig Amond to come back to them but they pulled the plug at the last minute. No reason given. Maybe they had second thoughts about committing to a presumably large contract.

13/01/2022, 7:59 PM
In fairness, he played half an hour for Cambridge as they beat Newcastle in the FA Cup last week, so he's not completely shot yet.

Yeah saw that on the BBC feed live but thought ANYone but Newcastle and thatd be a good jog about for him!;)

2 Year Contract
14/01/2022, 8:26 AM
Swansea U23s have loaned out goalkeeper Lewis Webb to shels and midfielder Dan Williams to Dundalk.

They must’ve been happy with the standard and experience that Cameron Evans got while on loan at Waterford last year

2 Year Contract
14/01/2022, 9:03 AM
Shels have also signed Sean McSweeney from Treaty. Not often you see a premier division side sign a striker that only scored 6 goals in the first division last season but there you go

boynemunich
14/01/2022, 9:36 AM
What's the story with UCD ? Have they many signed on yet for the season ? It's all very quiet on their social media I'm not even sure they are in pre-season yet.

14/01/2022, 9:43 AM
Shels have also signed Sean McSweeney from Treaty. Not often you see a premier division side sign a striker that only scored 6 goals in the first division last season but there you go

Pat Hoban had 5 and 9 for Mervue prior to signing for Dundalk so ye never know but 10 goals in 3 seasons in the 1st division so it'll be interesting to see what they have. Not much out there but maybe he has been signed for the specialist Graham Cummins defensive striker like role!

14/01/2022, 9:54 AM
What's the story with UCD ? Have they many signed on yet for the season ? It's all very quiet on their social media I'm not even sure they are in pre-season yet.
Colleges leagues will be on, so we'll be in training still. We don't really have a pre-season. (Or a social media presence for that matter... :rolleyes:)

joey B
14/01/2022, 2:50 PM
Bastien Hery signed for Harps,obviously been a while since he’s done anything but Horgan has been known to get a bit out of players that have been written off….

14/01/2022, 3:06 PM
Bastien Hery signed for Harps,obviously been a while since he’s done anything but Horgan has been known to get a bit out of players that have been written off….

He’s certainly fallen from grace in a big way hasn’t he ? A year ago it was generally considered that Bohs had pulled a rabbit out of the hat in beating Pats to his signature. Not beyond the bounds of possibility that Ollie could get him playing again though.

D24Saint
14/01/2022, 3:22 PM

I wouldn’t say Ollie suffers fools. He will either put a shift in or get a root up the backside.

joey B
14/01/2022, 3:45 PM
He’s certainly fallen from grace in a big way hasn’t he ? A year ago it was generally considered that Bohs had pulled a rabbit out of the hat in beating Pats to his signature. Not beyond the bounds of possibility that Ollie could get him playing again though.

Yeah maybe him and Long didn’t hit it off who knows! The consensus seems to be he’s lost a step but I’d say there’s a player in there still….

sbgawa
14/01/2022, 3:49 PM
Yeah maybe him and Long didn’t hit it off who knows! The consensus seems to be he’s lost a step but I’d say there’s a player in there still….

Great signing for Harps.
Ollie is a better man manager than 006, if there is still a player in there he will get it out

14/01/2022, 5:40 PM
How many chances does Hery need, has he done much since landing Caulfield on his ars€? Thought he might make carve out something with Linfield, seems to start ok and then stops bothering.

total hoofball
14/01/2022, 5:50 PM
I remember him playing as more of an attacking midfielder against Shels in the 1st game between the sides at Tolka last season and he looked a decent player

14/01/2022, 6:14 PM
Enda Curran signed for Treaty.

da bishop
14/01/2022, 6:53 PM
Enda Curran signed for Treaty.

Rumour has it he wont be the only ex Galway player signing this week,wonder will the Treaty consider a name change given the amount of ex Galway players signed at present ..is it now 7 ,maybe Tribe Utd.Tbf Curran could turn out to be a decent addition however looking at that squad throws up a thought ..what happened to recruitment within the midwest?

14/01/2022, 7:20 PM
Friday night and I’m getting itchy feet to get back down to Richmond again. Gonna be a long month.

sulywaterfordfc
14/01/2022, 8:20 PM
Waterford announced Morris’s backroom team today.

Former defender David Breen returns to the club as a coach, local and highly rated coach Gary Hunt rejoins the club having previously managed the 19s to title success. Dirk Heinin returns as goalkeeper coach, Shane Nolan returns as analyst, Richy and Michael Walsh continue as kit-persons, Derek ONeill will be the physio and Joey O’Brien and Jamie Dalton will lead strength and conditioning training.

Gone quiet on the player front though.

DCWA
14/01/2022, 8:41 PM

Awful for Derry as well, no interest at all, and by all accounts the same at Linfield in a division he should have looked a rolls royce player.

Olly would need to be some motivator to get much from him.

joey B
14/01/2022, 10:10 PM
Awful for Derry as well, no interest at all, and by all accounts the same at Linfield in a division he should have looked a rolls royce player.

Olly would need to be some motivator to get much from him.

Hasn’t played well in quite a while it seems,but we’re firmly in the punt game so we’ll have to hope he shows something!

oriel
15/01/2022, 11:46 AM

Its obv not his style, but in my view Hery needs to get 'stuck in' more on play, any recent games I saw him in, he was almost waiting for the ball, did nothing that night we beat Linfield 6-0 either, games just seemed to bypass him.

Still very much worth a punt as he has talent, probably his confidence has slipped, no better than man that Ollie for that........

Jack B
15/01/2022, 2:40 PM
Waterford lads have any opinion on Adam O'Reilly? We've been linked with him this morning.

joey B
15/01/2022, 2:45 PM
Regan Donelon signed with us ,last at Sligo.

redobit
15/01/2022, 4:26 PM
Regan Donelon signed with us ,last at Sligo.

Wish him well. A good Rovers servant over the years. Good signing for Harps if they can keep him fit and injury free, a very big if though.

mcgonigle
15/01/2022, 10:12 PM
Its obv not his style, but in my view Hery needs to get 'stuck in' more on play, any recent games I saw him in, he was almost waiting for the ball, did nothing that night we beat Linfield 6-0 either, games just seemed to bypass him.

Still very much worth a punt as he has talent, probably his confidence has slipped, no better than man that Ollie for that........

I never bought the hype. I remember when he burst on the scene there were plenty of Dundalk supporters wanted him signed. Anytime I saw him it was tidy but all backwards and sideways, certainly didn't like to mix it

Jd2793
16/01/2022, 9:17 AM
any word on UCD signings or outgoings (other than doyle) ? or will the squad be the same as last seasons?

16/01/2022, 9:41 AM
I had thought Kerrigan was due to move on, but maybe it'll be the summer.

I'll be quite happy if we have half a season having only lost Doyle! (And Weir, who left before the end of last season technically)

Presume at this stage the majority of the shopping is done? Five weeks until the first match of the season and clubs presumably in pre-season.

In terms of the European places, which seem the tightest, Dundalk had made some decent signings but then stopped before it became a decent squad really. Amond for Sligo probably would have kept them at last year's level but they seem to be missing a striker still. Doyle at Pat's is the coup of pre-season, probably more than Byrne to Rovers. And Bohs need a forward too - and actually Georgie Kelly is still available technically. Fair to say only Pat's haven't weakened?

Jd2793
16/01/2022, 9:56 AM
thanks STU, hard to find out much on UCD until we see a friendly team sheet or something. is kerrigan finished his course or were u expecting him to leave on a normal transfer? himself and whelan were standouts in FD last year liked the look of brennan and keaney anytime i saw them too. are any due to be finishing up in the summer with their courses?

16/01/2022, 10:58 AM
Whelan finishes in the summer. I thought Kerrigan was finished his course (he was linked with both Rovers) but maybe he's staying on till the summer. Keaney joined at the same time as Kerrigan but I think he's club captain this year so it looks like he's staying on. Evan Osam is our longest-serving player but he's a med student so that'd tie in. Mark Dignam, Luke Boore and Evan Farrell are the only three left from the Youth League game against Molde.

We're playing Cork on Tuesday apparently, so should know more then. Agree the lack of info is a pain in the wotsit alright.

oriel
16/01/2022, 11:02 AM

I'll be quite happy if we have half a season having only lost Doyle! (And Weir, who left before the end of last season technically)

Presume at this stage the majority of the shopping is done? Five weeks until the first match of the season and clubs presumably in pre-season.

In terms of the European places, which seem the tightest, Dundalk had made some decent signings but then stopped before it became a decent squad really. Amond for Sligo probably would have kept them at last year's level but they seem to be missing a striker still. Doyle at Pat's is the coup of pre-season, probably more than Byrne to Rovers. And Bohs need a forward too - and actually Georgie Kelly is still available technically. Fair to say only Pat's haven't weakened?

Dundalk still have at least two more players to come, one of which is expected to be Mark Connolly.

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/2902821/dunfermline-transfer-news-john-hughes-dundee-united-defender-mark-connolly-ireland-dundalk/

16/01/2022, 12:11 PM
Player coming from Scottish second tier loan spell isn't hugely exciting on paper, is it?

I thought he was older than 30 tbf, there's probably something left in the tank.

oriel
16/01/2022, 12:36 PM
Player coming from Scottish second tier loan spell isn't hugely exciting on paper, is it?

I thought he was older than 30 tbf, there's probably something left in the tank.

Probably not, but he is contracted with Dundee Utd (SPL) to June 2022, but I take your point. Although they are joint bottom of second tier he does look to be one of their better performers still, played yesterday.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
16/01/2022, 12:43 PM
Whelan finishes in the summer. I thought Kerrigan was finished his course (he was linked with both Rovers) but maybe he's staying on till the summer. Keaney joined at the same time as Kerrigan but I think he's club captain this year so it looks like he's staying on. Evan Osam is our longest-serving player but he's a med student so that'd tie in. Mark Dignam, Luke Boore and Evan Farrell are the only three left from the Youth League game against Molde.

We're playing Cork on Tuesday apparently, so should know more then. Agree the lack of info is a pain in the wotsit alright.

I’d heard Kerrigan was still there till July alright

D24Saint
16/01/2022, 1:18 PM

I try not to put too much stock in what players have previously done. Some come with big expectations and are rubbish and some with no fanfare and are hidden gems. It’s best to judge a player on what they do for your club.

16/01/2022, 2:52 PM
I try not to put too much stock in what players have previously done. Some come with big expectations and are rubbish and some with no fanfare and are hidden gems. It’s best to judge a player on what they do for your club.

Obviously final judgement will be based on how a player performs after they arrive. Gary Twigg would be a player who definitely came in and exceeded his previous history. But a big part of football transfers is literally putting stock in a player's past performances and using that to predict their effectiveness. That's why Pats big incoming striker is coming in so hyped. Should Mark Connolly easily nullify Doyle when the sides me I'll raise a metaphorical glass and a wry shrug of my shoulders for you. :)

ontheotherhand
16/01/2022, 2:53 PM

Derry are stronger....

How would you rate Whelan and Kerrigan stu against the likes of Kelly, O'Neill, Farrugia etc? I haven't seen them much.

16/01/2022, 3:16 PM
Derry are definitely stronger - I was only looking at the battle for third though, and I think it'll be Rovers/Derry 1/2 this year.

Hard to rate those players as they're different styles to an extent. I think they can both go as far as the guys you mention. But Whelan and Kerrigan can both run at the heart of a defence and cause panic in a way the others couldn't (I guess I'm distinguishing between Farrugia running at a full-back to get to the byline, and the other two running at the centre-half to get in on goal). If they can do that at a higher level, that's a great ability to have.

oriel
16/01/2022, 3:51 PM

I think that's fair, just look at the example of Alfie Lewis for you last year, what a player he was, but did anyone really hear of him before?

For the league next season, I would think its almost a given that Rovers unless they collapse in form will win it again, and I don't see anyone coming close to challenge Derry for runners up.

3rd spot seems to be the one up for grabs, Sligo appear to be a fair bit weaker than last season and up front will be their challenge, Bohs lost a good few and will more than likely lose Georgie, Shels too early for them, for me its between Dundalk and Pats, and Pats with more settled look and strong end to 2021 will be favs for now. Both clubs have new managers mind.

Will be very interesting to see how Derry kick on with their host of quality signings and first full season with Higgins, still think they need something more up front, but they should be more than comfortable in 2nd.