View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures
10/06/2022, 11:55 AM
Ye just dont associate that with UCD, it would be unusual for kids really, to turn on the manager. Do you think a change could happen? It could see an improvement if its a bit of a reach to save the season.
Jd2793
10/06/2022, 1:32 PM
Bohs sign john osullivan after he was released from accrington. is he not a wide player? thought bohs have plenty of them. will be interesting to see where hes used.
Jd2793
10/06/2022, 1:32 PM
That historical fearlessness came from players being trusted to play football at UCD, but even last season the style was incredibly direct, a brand of anti-football that is alien to the culture there. Looks like players simply aren't trusted to play football. Since Ian Ryan left its been awful to watch, I think he provided some sort of foil to Mylers lack of trust in players to keep it on the deck, but then OConner arrived and the pair of them make Ollie Horgans Harps look like Chelsea by comparison !
ryan is twice the coach meyler is
The Bowler
10/06/2022, 1:43 PM
Ye just dont associate that with UCD, it would be unusual for kids really, to turn on the manager. Do you think a change could happen? It could see an improvement if its a bit of a reach to save the season. Don't see any chance of a change, simply because he's an insider appointment, so that would require the board to say they were wrong. But I think UCD need to protect their own brand here as well, players will soon stop picking UCD as their college of choise if it has a smell off it.
The Bowler
10/06/2022, 1:49 PM
ryan is twice the coach meyler is He is for sure, considerably more than twice. The irony is that UCD will be looking up the table at Wexford next year.
placid casual
10/06/2022, 2:14 PM
With Kenny re-inacting his dead man walking routine last seen at Rovers, would bohs be a good next destination for him. Small club, no ambition, same as dundalk when he took them over.He could work his magic on them and turn bohs into a successful football team, not just a home for bees and twirly moustaches.
sbgawa
10/06/2022, 2:40 PM
With Kenny re-inacting his dead man walking routine last seen at Rovers, would bohs be a good next destination for him. Small club, no ambition, same as dundalk when he took them over.He could work his magic on them and turn bohs into a successful football team, not just a home for bees and twirly moustaches.
The Bees have to live somewhere, i cant believe the ongoing casual disregard for them on this forum.:eek:
On the other hand has anyone ever met a fella with a Twirly moustache that wasn't a self important ****?
joey B
10/06/2022, 3:10 PM
https://bohemianfc.com/?p=18278
Bohs sign John OSullivan from Accrington Stanley.
sbgawa
10/06/2022, 3:26 PM
https://bohemianfc.com/?p=18278
Bohs sign John OSullivan from Accrington Stanley.
Accrington Stanley................Who are theeeeey
Egggsackly
Onapointoforder
12/06/2022, 9:05 PM
I thought Myler was well regarded as the main man. There is a wee bit of irony in Ryan being the footballing influence as he was quite fond of the hoof and safe way when at Dundalk.
Was Ryan at Dundalk ?????????
Jd2793
12/06/2022, 9:17 PM
Fairly sure the arrangement with both Whelan and Kerrigan was that they would be effectively allowed to leave mid season without a fee, otherwise they would have walked end of last season. Just some compensation due in both cases. Others leaving UCD and not just lads who are done in college, strong rumours of players walking in the mid season break. All not well at UCD is the word and nothing to do with league position.
spill the beans then who else is on the way? sounds pretty worrying if true. any word on a destination for kerrigan
sbgawa
13/06/2022, 5:49 AM
Well the word on the street was kerrigan and whelan were on their way to Rovers but that seems to have gone quiet
13/06/2022, 8:43 AM
Yup. I think under Gill in the famous last minute promotion in Station Rd.
Jd2793
13/06/2022, 10:40 AM
Well the word on the street was kerrigan and whelan were on their way to Rovers but that seems to have gone quiet
expected whelan to rovers alright. seemed to be more talk about derry for kerrigan, very little about both now. whelan obviously injured but kerrigan stock is only going up. very impressive with the u21s
oriel
13/06/2022, 10:45 AM
Are we not getting mixed up with John Ryan ? Early 00's, and same cup of cup hatrick for Bray in 1990 CF?
Onapointoforder
13/06/2022, 12:34 PM
Yup. I think under Gill in the famous last minute promotion in Station Rd. That certainly wasn’t Ian Ryan…
13/06/2022, 2:36 PM
He was still playing then; was technically a player with us for the 2015 season
13/06/2022, 6:27 PM
That certainly wasn’t Ian Ryan…
Unless there is two Ian Ryans, we definitely had an Ian Ryan(Im sure its the one and same) play with us mid to late 2000s, I thought was 2008 but in and around then. Also had a stint with Rovers. No mix up with John Ryan thats for sure!!!
I hate resorting to looking things up but I started to doubt...
'Ian made his competitive debut for the Lilywhites away to Shelbourne on 7 March 2008 and played a central role in the club lifting the First Division title at the end of the season. However, during the close season, manager John Gill was replaced by Sean Connor and Ian was among a reft of players who were released'.
https://www.extratime.com/player/557/ian_ryan/ (https://www.extratime.com/player/557/ian_ryan/)
The Bowler
13/06/2022, 6:36 PM
spill the beans then who else is on the way? sounds pretty worrying if true. any word on a destination for kerrigan The persistent rumour was either Lincoln or Rovers for Kerrigan and Whelan. Re the lads who have walked, to be fair to them, up to them to spill the beans, but they obviously felt strongly enough to walk away from having their fees and accommodation paid. God love their parents! Will be brushed under the carpet and the secretive world of UCD football will move on as it always has done.
Jd2793
13/06/2022, 6:42 PM
The persistent rumour was either Lincoln or Rovers for Kerrigan and Whelan. Re the lads who have walked, to be fair to them, up to them to spill the beans, but they obviously felt strongly enough to walk away from having their fees and accommodation paid. God love their parents! Will be brushed under the carpet and the secretive world of UCD football will move on as it always has done.
fair enough. suppose we'll find out come team sheet time friday
13/06/2022, 7:06 PM
Yeah he left Longford Town to go to Dundalk for 2008 season!
13/06/2022, 7:07 PM
Are we not getting mixed up with John Ryan ? Early 00's, and same cup of cup hatrick for Bray in 1990 CF?
Completely different people Oriel.
Onapointoforder
13/06/2022, 10:50 PM
Unless there is two Ian Ryans, we definitely had an Ian Ryan(Im sure its the one and same) play with us mid to late 2000s, I thought was 2008 but in and around then. Also had a stint with Rovers. No mix up with John Ryan thats for sure!!!
I hate resorting to looking things up but I started to doubt...
'Ian made his competitive debut for the Lilywhites away to Shelbourne on 7 March 2008 and played a central role in the club lifting the First Division title at the end of the season. However, during the close season, manager John Gill was replaced by Sean Connor and Ian was among a reft of players who were released'.
https://www.extratime.com/player/557/ian_ryan/ (https://www.extratime.com/player/557/ian_ryan/) apologies, you’re right - thought when you made reference to him in first place, you were talking about a manager
sbgawa
14/06/2022, 7:27 AM
Getting nervous now, given the importance of winning the first round and guaranteeing 3 more rounds i'm ****tng myself it will be Poznan.
Not saying we will def beat the others but it would be nice to have a tie that was very winnabe
14/06/2022, 9:20 AM
Getting nervous now, given the importance of winning the first round and guaranteeing 3 more rounds i'm ****tng myself it will be Poznan.
Not saying we will def beat the others but it would be nice to have a tie that was very winnabe
While of course Id want to be in the draw, I am not missing the dread of getting the nightmare draw. Its a horrible pot bar Hibs, which would be a nice trip to go on also.
D24Saint
14/06/2022, 9:24 AM
While of course Id want to be in the draw, I am not missing the dread of getting the nightmare draw. Its a horrible pot bar Hibs, which would be a nice trip to go on also.
Its a great spot to visit but the game would come with its own challenges. How certain players react to the conditions of above 30c and how much it would take out of them.
14/06/2022, 9:32 AM
Its a great spot to visit but the game would come with its own challenges. How certain players react to the conditions of above 30c and how much it would take out of them.
True, we suffered badly in Cyprus and after hot weather training. Still Rovers are capable of keeping the ball and conserve energy, will have learnt from last year too. Where the legs 1st/2nd could have a baring.
joey B
14/06/2022, 2:24 PM
Danny Searle appointed Waterford head coach,a familiar route for Waterford…
14/06/2022, 3:10 PM
That's a pretty underwhelming appointment for them. A non-league manager from England, who last took Aldershot to 15th in the conference..
sbgawa
14/06/2022, 3:29 PM
Danny Searle appointed Waterford head coach,a familiar route for Waterford…
Seriously un feckin believable, how do you not leave it with the boys who have done such a job since Morris left.
When do Waterford stop shooting themselves in the head
14/06/2022, 3:49 PM
Good piece on RTE about Lido Lotefa, seen sticking on the U21 game in Italy. A really sound and grounded young lad when at Oriel. Not sure if there is a past player thread but maybe not so long since his transfer from Dundalk dont think its been posted already.
https://www.rte.ie/player/movie/lido-lotefa-that-something-special/287400488374
14/06/2022, 8:10 PM
Yeah saw piece online about Lido Nesta. What on earth are Waterford playing at ?Surely to God we will overtake them in the table!
15/06/2022, 3:08 AM
Seriously un feckin believable, how do you not leave it with the boys who have done such a job since Morris left.
When do Waterford stop shooting themselves in the head
Essex lads sticking together! Braintree nearly relegated out of the National League so 8th tier?? Waterford fans cant be happy with that when a good job was being done by the interim lads. Its a wait and see but odds are on a falling out when the side goes backwards again.
The Bowler
15/06/2022, 8:27 AM
Essex lads sticking together! Braintree nearly relegated out of the National League so 8th tier?? Waterford fans cant be happy with that when a good job was being done by the interim lads. Its a wait and see but odds are on a falling out when the side goes backwards again. The definition of stupidity...when you keep doing the same thing over and over again and keep getting the same crappy outcome
RealJohn91
15/06/2022, 1:27 PM
Josh Kerr, a defender who had a spell on loan at Derry a few years ago signed for Bohs.
The definition of stupidity...when you keep doing the same thing over and over again and keep getting the same crappy outcome
Might prove me wrong but I remember him as a mediocre midfielder at Fourth Division level in England. As mentioned above jobs for the boys.
Anyhow the reason I’m here, do Shamrock Rovers get a cut of Southampton’s £12m+ they are paying for Gavin Bazunu?
15/06/2022, 6:16 PM
Anyhow the reason I’m here, do Shamrock Rovers get a cut of Southampton’s £12m+ they are paying for Gavin Bazunu?
Apparently 15%, but as of yet, that's unconfirmed.
15/06/2022, 6:39 PM
About €2m + what other clauses have been met already, nice money on top of a European run. The Project has its 1st major success. The new project is sustaining this sort of level semi regularly at least. At this rate Rovers could buy their own ground rather relying on the SDCC stadium bailout project!!
ontheotherhand
15/06/2022, 6:51 PM
Ah Nesta, we have a racehorse to feed here.
I was hoping for a bigger deal but obviously we'd all have taken the 3m+ we look to be getting over the course of the entire deal when he left for City first. I don't know how many Bazunu's we can realistically produce as he is potentially world class but this is the blueprint for future negotiations. There are some really talented groups coming through, particularly at the younger ages where the kids have been in the Academy for longer.
It's great to see Robinson, Bradley, McPhail and the others involved getting to see the pay off already. And great for Gavin obviously.
sbgawa
15/06/2022, 7:19 PM
Talbot out for the season for bohs.
Won't get the chance to wear a dublin bus seat
15/06/2022, 7:43 PM
Ah Nesta, we have a racehorse to feed here.
I was hoping for a bigger deal but obviously we'd all have taken the 3m+ we look to be getting over the course of the entire deal when he left for City first. I don't know how many Bazunu's we can realistically produce as he is potentially world class but this is the blueprint for future negotiations. There are some really talented groups coming through, particularly at the younger ages where the kids have been in the Academy for longer.
It's great to see Robinson, Bradley, McPhail and the others involved getting to see the pay off already. And great for Gavin obviously.
The City buy back clause could be an interesting one especially if Bazunu himself or Rovers required as part of their clauses have another add on. It'd be a much smaller percentage but on a larger transfer fee. A total guess but going on other similar type arrangements the buy-back could be in the 35mil mark if Bazunu keeps hitting his targets and could be a bargain for Man City down the line.
RealJohn91
15/06/2022, 8:03 PM
Talbot out for the season for bohs.
Won't get the chance to wear a dublin bus seat
Would've taken him some effort to wear it as a keeper too
I thought this was a really interesting article (paywalled) in The Athletic with English based scouts commenting on what the attitude is towards players in Scotland. https://theathletic.com/3346810/2022/06/15/premier-league-efl-scottish-premiership-transfers/
I'd love to read the equivalent of the Scottish clubs scouting the LOI. There's clearly been an uptick in Scottish interest in the Irish market but I'd love to actually see what are the pros and cons they see in the market.
I'm not sure if it's something that's actually tracked anywhere but I'd like to see a (estimated) history of annual income from transfer fees to the LOI. Between Doherty (to Spurs), Bazunu, Johnny Kenny, Alex Murphy and co. it's been millions coming into the LOI in recent years.
It feels like it was closer to a 5 figure sum prior to covid/brexit, but it's more likely I just wasn't following things as closely then.
Kiki Balboa
15/06/2022, 10:37 PM
I thought this was a really interesting article (paywalled) in The Athletic with English based scouts commenting on what the attitude is towards players in Scotland. https://theathletic.com/3346810/2022/06/15/premier-league-efl-scottish-premiership-transfers/
I'd love to read the equivalent of the Scottish clubs scouting the LOI. There's clearly been an uptick in Scottish interest in the Irish market but I'd love to actually see what are the pros and cons they see in the market.
I'm not sure if it's something that's actually tracked anywhere but I'd like to see a (estimated) history of annual income from transfer fees to the LOI. Between Doherty (to Spurs), Bazunu, Johnny Kenny, Alex Murphy and co. it's been millions coming into the LOI in recent years.
It feels like it was closer to a 5 figure sum prior to covid/brexit, but it's more likely I just wasn't following things as closely then.
Many reasons why (Brxit/ more 'foreigners' in English youth teams/ league improvement here)
But also important is that the players are not leaving from DDSL clubs. LOI clubs are in a much better position to get the proper fees for our talents
placid casual
16/06/2022, 7:47 AM
Hopefully the shameful days of the "white slavery" trade perpetuated by those in ddsl clubs is coming to an end. In my honest option those people are as guilty as that gob€hite Delaney for the woes of Irish football.
sbgawa
16/06/2022, 8:29 AM
Many reasons why (Brxit/ more 'foreigners' in English youth teams/ league improvement here)
But also important is that the players are not leaving from DDSL clubs. LOI clubs are in a much better position to get the proper fees for our talents
The best thing to come out of Brexit is that you don't have DDSL clubs sending kids over at 15 years old for 5k fees (or less) even though they know they aren't good enough.
Seeing the likes of Kevins and others trumpeting their "success" of kids going over to play for League 1 and 2 academy's was a disgrace.
These kids 95% + of them then come back with no education worth talking about and branded as failures.
Thanks to Brexit these kids are staying here and only the best will go at 18 with an education and for a fee.
Kiki Balboa
16/06/2022, 10:07 AM
Two lads return from Drogheda to Lincoln. Big losses. Will put Drogheda right in the relegation battle.
Also, Dundalk need to tie up their loan signings. Will be a fight for Europe if they leave.
Jd2793
16/06/2022, 10:25 AM
those 2 lads are a massive loss. great loan move by drogs that has them in a great position to avoid the play offs at mid stage of the season