View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures
The Dundalk squad from 2021 were probably the second best team in the league but were a shambles due to Mangt changes and off Field stuff.
They almost snuck 4th place by stringing a few wins together and had a theoretical chance of 4th on the final day.
Take out Duffy (McEleny who missed a chunk of the season and Patching ditto) and if they retain most of the rest and add a few like Massey / Mountney , Darragh Burns that is a team that can challenge. Duffy is a huge loss but the core of a really god team is there
Why would you be adding Daragh Burns ? Still under contract at Pats from what I’ve read. The two I’d be most concerned about losing are Forrestor and Lee Desmond. Keep them and at least we have something to work with.
sbgawa
01/12/2021, 1:27 PM
Why would you be adding Daragh Burns ? Still under contract at Pats from what I’ve read. The two I’d be most concerned about losing are Forrestor and Lee Desmond. Keep them and at least we have something to work with.
More just as an example tbh ive no idea of his contract but i see him as a younger version of Duffy who DFC need to replace.
The current DFC team minus the 3 lads (Duff / McEl, Patch) + Forrester (to use your example) ,+ Burns looks like a title challenging squad to me.
A settled Rovers + JB have enough to be considered favs but if we lose Mandroiu in Jan as rumoured to Celtic that wont help
joey B
01/12/2021, 1:29 PM
https://www.the42.ie/odonnell-dundalk-st-pats-5616727-Dec2021/?utm_source=twitter_short
Clancy talking to Pats now,just need Vinny to sign with Drogheda now and the perfect merry go round is complete!!
01/12/2021, 1:40 PM
The current DFC team minus the 3 lads (Duff / McEl, Patch) + Forrester (to use your example) ,+ Burns looks like a title challenging squad to me.
Is it really that good?
They've no keeper. I presume all the foreign lads - Nattested, Zahibo, Han, Ben Amar, maybe Jurkovskis - are going to leave, for cost and/or crapness reasons. McMillan and Gartland (who's 35 and coming back from a bad injury) are on the PFAI list, although that rarely means too much in fairness. But you're left with (going off wiki) -
GK - none
DF - Boyle, Leahy, Cleary, Dummigan
MF - Stanton, Sloggett (but was he not linked with Derry too?), Murray, Kelly
FW - Hoban, Junior
Plus some youth players who are probably hit and miss like youth players everywhere. And that's assuming that all the above can still fit into a world without an 80k/week wage bill (or whatever it was)
So you've a decent 2-11, but no keeper and no strength in depth at all. Adding Forrester/Burns will help a bit, but there's still 5/6 players to be added.
One thing for certain is that it's going to be an interesting pre-season, and we're only three days into it!
Kiki Balboa
01/12/2021, 1:40 PM
I am enjoying the crazy conspiracies of Pats fans on Twitter.
sbgawa
01/12/2021, 1:54 PM
Is it really that good?
They've no keeper. I presume all the foreign lads - Nattested, Zahibo, Han, Ben Amar, maybe Jurkovskis - are going to leave, for cost and/or crapness reasons. McMillan and Gartland (who's 35 and coming back from a bad injury) are on the PFAI list, although that rarely means too much in fairness. But you're left with (going off wiki) -
GK - none
DF - Boyle, Leahy, Cleary, Dummigan
MF - Stanton, Sloggett (but was he not linked with Derry too?), Murray, Kelly
FW - Hoban, Junior
Plus some youth players who are probably hit and miss like youth players everywhere. And that's assuming that all the above can still fit into a world without an 80k/week wage bill (or whatever it was)
So you've a decent 2-11, but no keeper and no strength in depth at all. Adding Forrester/Burns will help a bit, but there's still 5/6 players to be added.
One thing for certain is that it's going to be an interesting pre-season, and we're only three days into it!
Kind of funny me talking up Dundalk but i just think the core is there and SOD will add to it.
Other than jurkovskis none of the others are a loss and maybe add Murphy from Waterford as GK...admittedly strength in dept is an issue but the likes of Massey at Drogs cant be expensive and id be shocked if he doesn't end up at DFC.
Your right though its going to be interesting.
Any insight into Whelan to Rovers ?? Andy Myler was very complementary to Rovers in an interview i heard a couple of months ago "only club in Ireland doing things properly in terms of Whelan" so sounds hopeful that UCD would see Rovers as the preferred route with timing the issue
01/12/2021, 1:59 PM
Yeah I mean when you lay it out like that, it's not a bad spine - although only Boyle is actually in contract and any of the others could move still. Lot of work to be done though, and it seems easier to have stayed at Pat's, added one or two players, and gone on a Euro run. Even let someone else do the rebuild and move at a more opportune time. I get the Dundalk link, for sure, but from a cold calculating career view it seems a step backwards.
Whelan (so I've heard anyway!) is with us till the summer and then moving on. Rovers sound likely, but you never know. Someone in England may come in of course. Not sure about Kerrigan - possibly back to Sligo, but Rovers could be an option there too.
I mean, that's pretty much the definition of a huge rebuild job.
If Peak6 have left no debt, then yeah, 1500-1800 at a game probably gives Dundalk a mid-table budget. But compared to a club on the up, going into Europe and presumably with a bigger budget next year, it does still seem like a downwards step in purely footballing terms.
SOD obviously sees a better opportunity of winning a league title in the next few years with Dundalk than Pats, besides re-build or not, both clubs have the same amount of players under contract, very few, now admittedly Pats are the stronger not just for winning for the cup, but for comfortably finishing second in the league, however all will depend on players staying / going.
Dundalk got over 3k at the last league game, so proves there is still a good support core, albeit a huge lift that day with the takeover announced a few days before.
Also a good core of players will remain, however SOD will want to put his stamp on it and re-build that's for sure, but overall its a good appointment and I expect this will work out quite successful too in time.
01/12/2021, 2:01 PM
Kiki beat you to it - but at least had the good grace to include a "not entirely serious" smiley! :)
He may have said it but I will bet he was just being nice. It is a bigger job than St Pats - how you want to define 'bigger job' is a debate in itself. As for people saying there are no 'big clubs' in Ireland thats rubbish, its relative and Linfield are huge!!
Even if we do appoint O'Donnell, there is no guarantee it will work, it takes the right blend of minds and maybe Matthews was a key part of that. Pats could find that Clancy is a more astute coach again. It certain livens up some rivalry for next season.
01/12/2021, 2:01 PM
SOD obviously sees a better opportunity of winning a league title in the next few years with Dundalk than Pats, besides re-build or not, both clubs have the same amount of players under contract, very few, now admittedly Pats are the stronger not just for winning for the cup, but for comfortably finishing second in the league, however all will depend on players staying / going.
Dundalk got over 3k at the last league game, so proves there is still a good support core, albeit a huge lift that day with the takeover announced a few days before.
Also a good core of players will remain, however SOD will want to put his stamp on it and re-build that's for sure, but overall its a good appointment and I expect this will work out quite successful too in time.
SOD could come to UCD and have the same chance of a league title tbh.
3k at the last league game is decent, but let's see how it holds up if there's another season of mid-table. LoI history tells us how these things tend to go!
But certainly Dundalk fans have to be happy with the appointment; that's for sure.
joey B
01/12/2021, 2:09 PM
Clancy to Pats a done deal with Kevin Doherty taking over in Drogheda,a fun couple of days that …..
He may have said it but I will bet he was just being nice. It is a bigger job than St Pats - how you want to define 'bigger job' is a debate in itself. As for people saying there are no 'big clubs' in Ireland thats rubbish, its relative and Linfield are huge!!
Even if we do appoint O'Donnell, there is no guarantee it will work, it takes the right blend of minds and maybe Matthews was a key part of that. Pats could find that Clancy is a more astute coach again. It certain livens up some rivalry for next season.
Dundalks first visit to Richmond should be fun alright :p
From my point of view I’m a bit disgusted with O’Donnell, especially if he was stalling on signing a new contract (or did sign one and wants away regardless) but that’s life. He’s welcome to go on his way, and I can only wish himself and Dundalk all the very worst for next season. What will be much more concerning is if he manages to take some of our best players, which can’t be ruled out.
2 Year Contract
01/12/2021, 2:18 PM
Yeah what are the bets the magic LOI fixture super computer ends up pulling that fixture on opening night? Looking forward to the fun and games of next season already!
sbgawa
01/12/2021, 2:36 PM
Not many places to hide in Inchicore unless you sit in the dug out.
Id say his ears will be burning
I am enjoying the crazy conspiracies of Pats fans on Twitter.
If it’s getting Dodge wound up, it’s all good.
Tim Clancy to Pats is a great move. Manager of the year for me built a decent team who just ran out of steam towards the end and could have squeaked Europe. Stephen Bradley retained his title, Liam Buckley got Sligo back into Europe and Stephen O’Donnell who ran Rovers the closest and won the cup , all credit.
Much better than the much-vaunted Ollie Horgan who had a top 7 budget at least and still only scraped out of the relegation play off spot.
2 Year Contract
01/12/2021, 2:49 PM
Tim Clancy to Pats is a great move. Manager of the year for me built a decent team who just ran out of steam towards the end and could have squeaked Europe. Stephen Bradley retained his title, Liam Buckley got Sligo back into Europe and Stephen O’Donnell who ran Rovers the closest and won the cup , all credit.
If those are somehow O’Donnell's achievements this year then you should be listing Kev Doherty, Glen Cronin and John Russell rather than Clancy/Bradley/Buckley seen as Pats manager up to now has been the great Alan Matthews ;)
01/12/2021, 2:51 PM
From my point of view I’m a bit disgusted with O’Donnell, especially if he was stalling on signing a new contract (or did sign one and wants away regardless) but that’s life. He’s welcome to go on his way, and I can only wish himself and Dundalk all the very worst for next season. What will be much more concerning is if he manages to take some of our best players, which can’t be ruled out.
That is a far bigger concern than 1 or 2 off the coaching staff. If players have delayed re-signing for St Pats due to some insider knowledge and O'Donnell in their ear I will be honest, i wont care a bit if it benefits Dundalk but I will be very understanding of anger by Pats fans. It would put Neale Fenn in the halfpenny place for manipulation. Benson, Forrester, Murray, with Hoban as the main attacking threat for Dundalk next season is appealing!!! Stanton/Sloggett holding in midfield, add a keeper to the defenders we want to retain, Dummigan, Leahy, Cleary, Garts maybe, Mayowa, Boyle, Kelly and Amar for adding width + others - it wouldnt be a bad place for a squad to be in a rebuilding phase. I'd take it all considered and easily take all the abuse from St Pats fans that could come.
Jack B
01/12/2021, 2:51 PM
SOD to Dundalk and Clancy to Pats is my early call.
When you're good you're good.
joey B
01/12/2021, 3:06 PM
It will be interesting now to see which players end up where,Clancy and O’Donnell will I’m sure be attempting to take a few with them!
patsdad
01/12/2021, 3:29 PM
Anyone who thinks Chris Forrester will be leaving St Pats again doesn't know very much about Chris Forrester.
Yossarian
01/12/2021, 3:44 PM
Anyone who thinks Chris Forrester will be leaving St Pats again doesn't know very much about Chris Forrester.
I agree, I wouldn’t expect him to leave Pats. I believe Benson, Lewis and Smith are on the radar for Dundalk but who knows what’ll happen. Pats have acted quickly to get a good manager in and I’d expect he’s already trying to get the current squad signed up again.
sbgawa
01/12/2021, 3:49 PM
You could be right and you certainly know more about Forrester then me but he spent a year underachieving at PAts before SOD got him motivated.
Jd2793
01/12/2021, 4:06 PM
I agree, I wouldn’t expect him to leave Pats. I believe Benson, Lewis and Smith are on the radar for Dundalk but who knows what’ll happen. Pats have acted quickly to get a good manager in and I’d expect he’s already trying to get the current squad signed up again.
Dont understand why Benson would go back to Dundalk. He was brilliant in the final but IMO his Dundalk career ran its course. He needed a fresh start dont see why hed go back but stranger things have happened. Id feel same with regards to massey and mountney, ye won the lot and had a great time, move on and try do it somewhere else. Lots of these lads stagnated/went back in their final year at dundalk too.
01/12/2021, 4:11 PM
Forrester will not be following SOD if the stories going around are true.
Would certainly hope Forrestor doesn’t go. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Benson leave, nor Smith really. Lewis will be back to England I would imagine. Though if he’s short on offers you never know. Quality player.
01/12/2021, 4:24 PM
Dont understand why Benson would go back to Dundalk. He was brilliant in the final but IMO his Dundalk career ran its course.
Didn't he leave Dundalk for work reasons?
Would probably make him that but unlikely to go back you'd have thought
sbgawa
01/12/2021, 4:31 PM
Didn't he leave Dundalk for work reasons?
Would probably make him that but unlikely to go back you'd have thought
My memory was he was one of the original not happy with Vinny guys
Yossarian
01/12/2021, 4:42 PM
My memory was he was one of the original not happy with Vinny guys
Benson left Dundalk after a run in with Perth towards the end of the 2019 season.
total hoofball
01/12/2021, 5:03 PM
I definitely heard Benson left Dundalk partly due to Pats training schedule being more accommodating to working a job in Dublin. He has a masters degree in actuarial science and got 600 points in his leaving you would think he would be one of the few LOI players who could continue with full-time football into his mid-thirties with that level of academic background to fall back on so going back to Dundalk couldn't be ruled out
Kiki Balboa
01/12/2021, 7:54 PM
Considering Dundalk only changed ownership 2 weeks ago, and that it was even unlikely that these owners would be the ones to take charge in the weeks leading up to the sale.... I really do not get the theories going around regarding O'Donnell and Pats.
placid casual
01/12/2021, 8:25 PM
My estimation of SOD has fallen through the floor if the rumours of what's happened are even vaguely true..
He had agreed to a 2 year extension Pats but then didn't sign any pats players for the upcoming season, but now he's going to dundalk he can now have his pick of the Pats side.😳
That has a bang of bad karma off it.
Yossarian
01/12/2021, 8:41 PM
Do people really think O’Donnell signed a contract extension in September but then decided he wasn’t hanging around but would pretend like he would just so he could control the contract situation of the players he liked so he could take them to his next club. Does no one remember that up until 3 weeks ago Dundalk we’re owned by the Marx brothers and no decent manager would dream of coming here. This is some next level conspiracy stuff.
mcgonigle
01/12/2021, 8:50 PM
My estimation of SOD has fallen through the floor
He'll be gutted to hear that
01/12/2021, 9:03 PM
This SOD debacle reminds me of the SK debacle close to 20 yrs ago now when he walked out on us to go to Bohs! He had originally agreed a verbal extension with the committee and club threatened to bring him to court but alas it didnt happen.
Think SOD is rather foolish in going to Dundalk -he should be more concentrating on getting his badges instead of being impatient and walking out of St Pats.
patsdad
01/12/2021, 9:05 PM
Do people really think O’Donnell signed a contract extension in September but then decided he wasn’t hanging around but would pretend like he would just so he could control the contract situation of the players he liked so he could take them to his next club. Does no one remember that up until 3 weeks ago Dundalk we’re owned by the Marx brothers and no decent manager would dream of coming here. This is some next level conspiracy stuff.
Those in the know say that’s exactly what happened. The sale of Dundalk may only have been finalised three weeks ago but everyone knew it was in train. Do you not think it’s significant there has been no announcement of an appointment by Dundalk. They could be leaving themselves very exposed legally.
01/12/2021, 9:06 PM
My estimation of SOD has fallen through the floor if the rumours of what's happened are even vaguely true..
He had agreed to a 2 year extension Pats but then didn't sign any pats players for the upcoming season, but now he's going to dundalk he can now have his pick of the Pats side.
That has a bang of bad karma off it.
Ah now PC, that happened the instant he signed for Dundalk as a player, the rest is now bonus territory for you!
I am enjoying the way stories and rumours have grown legs in hours, like they are on flipping speed. Forrester leaving Pats is never a high likelihood but doubt on a whole lot has certainly set in in Inchicore. Even if O'Donnell changes is mind on changing his mind on St Pats or Dundalk, the reaction from a lot of Pats fans on social media, some very well known, are going to drive a final decision if it isnt a done deal - and it isnt until its confirmed! A lot of hissy fits and foot stamping for rumours. One thing we do know about those returning to Dundalk under the ownership change is that they keep things very close to the chest so why the over reaction to as yet just some journo musings?
Its not as if Dundalk didnt have the top asset, the manager, pinched due to John Delaney hedging his bets, keeping his options open at the time. We also had a key players transfer, a former captain, manipulated in to happening which had a bang of bad karma off it too! People move on, as do clubs and supporters, maybe with the odd psychological scar but thats the game!
01/12/2021, 9:13 PM
Those in the know say that’s exactly what happened. The sale of Dundalk May only have been finalised three weeks ago but everyone knew it was in train. Do you not think it’s significant there has been no announcement of an appointment by Dundalk. They could be leaving themselves very exposed legally.
Those in the know are also going to be driving an agenda for their own ends, doesnt make anything of what they say true. Anyway where was Alan Matthews for example in all this? Surely he'd have been asking what the story was on talks with players. If S'OD has duped everyone at St Pats then people at St Pats were asleep at the wheel! They will have to do plenty of deflecting of responsibility so throwing a few good scéals covering asses early on is a tactic, followed by the pointing of fingers no doubt!
patsdad
01/12/2021, 9:27 PM
Those in the know are also going to be driving an agenda for their own ends, doesnt make anything of what they say true. Anyway where was Alan Matthews for example in all this? Surely he'd have been asking what the story was on talks with players. If S'OD has duped everyone at St Pats then people at St Pats were asleep at the wheel! They will have to do plenty of deflecting of responsibility so throwing a few good scéals covering asses early on is a tactic, followed by the pointing of fingers no doubt!
As I said, if and when Dundalk make an announcement it will get interesting. Let’s see what happens.
Kiki Balboa
02/12/2021, 7:09 AM
To think the SOD was singularly in charge of St. Pats renewal of player contracts, and he postponed it for months in hoping that Dundalk would have new owners who would want him and give significant backing to, and his aim is to sign all of Pats players.... its all so fanciful...It would barely make sense if it was just one Pats player, nevermind the whole team. That is a hell of a lot of risk for O'Donnell if it didnt work out, and moving parts for someone to orchestrate (esp since Dundalk only recently have new owners, and who were not always guaranteed to take over the club until about a week before it happened).
Dundalk went out and got the manager, and it seems Pats were caught flat-footed in how they were running the club, and lost a manager to a team who they deem as beneath them, and now they realize they are in a vulnerable position regarding players. They are making conspiracies just to deal with it.
Did they just hand over the whole running of the club to O'Donnell? Dont they have a full time DOF in Ger O'Brien? When did the board try to start contract renewals of the players only to be stopped by SOD?
Dundalk are probably taking their time to announce, because behind the scenes Pats are probably kicking up a fuss, and Dundalk are doing their due diligence. Does not mean their is a legitimate (or illegitimate) gripe.
Jack B
02/12/2021, 8:23 AM
SOD being quite conniving and Pats being naive in their handling of issues such as players' contracts and beyond are not mutually exclusive.
Bunny Kelly
02/12/2021, 8:39 AM
So either SOD was being sneaky & not renewing contracts or he took his eye of the ball & didn't have things sorted for key players?
In fairness it is somewhat tricky as you probably don't know their budget for the following season until late in the season but Europe had looked likely for a while out. At LOI level the manager is going to be responsible for how the budget is spent so kind of hard to be too harsh on the board unless they were slow giving SOD a ballpark figure to work with for next season
2 Year Contract
02/12/2021, 9:33 AM
Dont they have a full time DOF in Ger O'Brien?
Ger is director of football for the academy and has nothing to do with the first team matters
oriel
02/12/2021, 10:15 AM
Interesting to read comments about SOD here leaving while it seems not in contract, and was it the right / wrong thing to do, there was very little sympathy for DFC when SK left while under an actual signed contract at the end of 2018. DFC didn't even get a cent from FAI in compensation, although to be fair they did pay when Higgins left some months after.
SOD was free to leave simple as, if Pats had any concerns about his contract they could easily have had it checked and re-validated well before or after the cup final, they didn't.
Any complaint seems pointless in any case now, as they have already moved to replace him and are moving on, and I`m sure Clancy will sign up who he wants from their existing squad, then again they also will have a choice to do that of course or wait to see if there are other offers from any other clubs. That's the risk you take with contracts running out, Dundalk will lose more, Cleary is probably one, and for zero fee.
Kiki Balboa
02/12/2021, 10:35 AM
Most recent LOI Central with Dan McDonnell gives a much more reasonable timeline to the events, than the rumors being sent around.
The online fair outcome here is that Dundalk, Pat's and Drogheda start next year on -40 points.
boynemunich
02/12/2021, 11:10 AM
Looking like Kev Doherty and Daire Doyle as assistant for Drogs. Daire could entice a few of Longfords better players, I'd take Dervin anyways and Steacy if required. Grimes also looked a very good player when I saw him this year (I think it was Grimes anyways).
02/12/2021, 12:29 PM
Would have been Grimes yeah. They're all more than capable of being good signings for ye. Dervin has a job with An Post locally though as far as I know and we'd be due some compensation for him. Possibly would be due something for Grimes too, I think it's payable for players 23 and under? Though he's 24 in March by the looks of things so we wouldn't be due anything at that point anyway.
Jd2793
02/12/2021, 1:15 PM
Jimmy corcoran signed with cork , any wexford lads with an opinion of him? only really saw him 2 or 3 times this season and wasnt overly impressed at any stage. In saying that if hes in any way decent with his distribution and under a cross i'd be happy.
Bunny Kelly
02/12/2021, 1:42 PM
Jimmy corcoran signed with cork , any wexford lads with an opinion of him? only really saw him 2 or 3 times this season and wasnt overly impressed at any stage. In saying that if hes in any way decent with his distribution and under a cross i'd be happy.
While technically not a 'Wexford lad', I do head along to a few of their games, was curious to see him given his underage pedigree but never really convinced me, especially under a high ball, I'd have expected Cork to have someone stronger as their starter.
How did Harrington look at the end of the season?
Jd2793
02/12/2021, 2:14 PM
While technically not a 'Wexford lad', I do head along to a few of their games, was curious to see him given his underage pedigree but never really convinced me, especially under a high ball, I'd have expected Cork to have someone stronger as their starter.
How did Harrington look at the end of the season?
harrington was fine but played in 4 dead rubbers and wasnt really challenged in many of them bar a penalty and 1v1 against ucd. I'll have to reserve judgement, Im not sure theres a player in corcoran tbh , GK could be a problem area for us next season.