View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48

joey B
18/11/2021, 8:10 PM
Any reliable talk as to what Dundalk are doing manager wise? Heard a whisper tonight that seems unlikely.

Listened to a bit of James Rodgers on Between the stripes and it won’t be Vinny Perth from what he was saying…..

18/11/2021, 8:47 PM
Yeah that's partly what I've heard. The other part that was more surprising was that I heard he could be coming back here. We'll see if there's any truth in it.

DCSIL
19/11/2021, 7:27 AM
Jack Byrne return to Shamrock Rovers confirmed.

Kiki Balboa
19/11/2021, 9:39 AM
Yeah that's partly what I've heard. The other part that was more surprising was that I heard he could be coming back here. We'll see if there's any truth in it.

I think that would be a good move for Perth, even for himself just to get out of Dundalk.

joey B
21/11/2021, 12:47 PM
Adam Foley left Harps and Drogheda the destination for him apparently…

DCSIL
23/11/2021, 6:56 AM
Will Patching back at Derry

boynemunich
23/11/2021, 4:06 PM
Dinny has officially left Drogheda. Probably the first of many to leave but I hope I'm wrong. I still think he can do a job in the premier, he got a handful of goals this season with very few minutes.

With no source whatsoever other than their proximity to Drogheda and depending on our outgoings I think we will look at signing Ryan Brennan, Adam Foley and Keith Ward. If Odumosu goes I reckon he could be replaced with Steacy who was decent for Longford by all accounts.

pateen
25/11/2021, 1:54 PM
Serious ambitions coming from Derry. Goalkeeper Maher now signed as well

joey B
25/11/2021, 3:14 PM
Alot of interest in Drogheda’s squad across the water it seems …

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/drogheda-united-face-exodus-as-cross-channel-clubs-eye-up-four-promising-stars-41088367.html

2 Year Contract
25/11/2021, 7:58 PM
Alot of interest in Drogheda’s squad across the water it seems …

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/drogheda-united-face-exodus-as-cross-channel-clubs-eye-up-four-promising-stars-41088367.html

Even if the moves across the water don’t materialise it looks very unlikely they’ll be at Drogheda next year given the interest in them within the league. They’ll be very difficult for Drogheda to replace next year with the small budget they have to work off

D24Saint
25/11/2021, 9:17 PM
Serious ambitions coming from Derry. Goalkeeper Maher now signed as well

He is a talented lad but still reckon he is too small to be a top keeper.

26/11/2021, 7:15 PM
He is a talented lad but still reckon he is too small to be a top keeper.

Read in paper earlier that Derry will have 3 GKs in their squad next season so BM will ave his work cut out it seems!

26/11/2021, 11:59 PM
Read in paper earlier that Derry will have 3 GKs in their squad next season so BM will ave his work cut out it seems!

Flash flush gits, our billionaires didnt think keepers were needed!

joey B
27/11/2021, 5:06 PM
Sean Boyd signed for Shels.

ger121
27/11/2021, 10:28 PM
Sean Boyd signed for Shels.

Is that a surprise? It was to me.

joey B
27/11/2021, 10:45 PM
Is that a surprise? It was to me.

It’s no surprise to me that he’s not back at Harps,he was training to be an electrician and traveling 3 times a week to Donegal apparently so hard to keep up that for too long I’d imagine,it worked out for both parties, he wasn’t on alot of money but he was in the premier division and obviously got good exposure towards the end of the season with some good goals.

I’m a bit surprised Shels were in for him,just got the impression they were after higher profile players ,he’ll probably not be first choice but a decent option of the bench,Drogheda were the team I thought he’d end up at but Shels is a great move for him and best of luck to him,he deserves it after the horrible injury he got ….

total hoofball
28/11/2021, 1:24 PM
Boyd broke into Shamrock Rovers first team with a big impact in 2016 coinciding at same time Duff joined the Rovers coaching staff so it's not a surprise Duff has signed him

sbgawa
28/11/2021, 2:10 PM
Sean Boyd has had shocking luck with injuries but he seems to have got himself fit at Harps and could have a great season at Shels

28/11/2021, 9:48 PM
Sean Boyd is a top lad, and a very decent footballer. One thing he lacks is pace. But can easily manage 8-10 goals a season. He deserves a decent shot after a miserable couple of years.

total hoofball
29/11/2021, 9:36 AM
Jack Moylan apparently jumping from Bohs to Shels

Philosophizer
29/11/2021, 11:13 AM
Jack Moylan apparently jumping from Bohs to Shels

Strange one that. I thought Bohs would have liked to have kept him. Saw him for Wexford and he was a class above. Could do well with Shels.

sbgawa
29/11/2021, 11:28 AM
The "Duff" effect, expect to see more young guns heading that direction.
Shels have an ok budget i reckon or Duff wouldnt have taken the reins but will need to Pad out the squad with young pros in the same way Pats and Bohs do.

Kiki Balboa
29/11/2021, 12:47 PM
Has Stephen O'Donnell been offered a contract at St. Pats? His contract runs out this year. Supposed to Dundalks number one target. It seem crazy that St. Pats have not sorted out this way beofre the season finished.

Is he technically out of job today, with no contract sorted ?

oriel
29/11/2021, 3:16 PM
Has Stephen O'Donnell been offered a contract at St. Pats? His contract runs out this year. Supposed to Dundalks number one target. It seem crazy that St. Pats have not sorted out this way beofre the season finished.

Is he technically out of job today, with no contract sorted ?

When I first heard about the interest last week, I assumed he was under contract, seems he isn't as per below link? Not sure does this still mean Dundalk will have to pay compensation as it could only take Pats to offer more that his current contract, then that might kick in, then again he does need to agree to leave and join Dundalk first, but it would appear something is happening.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/dundalk-target-st-pats-fai-cup-hero-stephen-odonnell-41097898.html

Bucket
29/11/2021, 3:31 PM
I think you're using the U23 player compensation rules there but it would be different for a manager. If he's out of contract he can go anywhere, whether Pat's offer him a new one or not, if he doesn't sign it, he's not committed to it.

Kiki Balboa
29/11/2021, 3:37 PM
It seems like a very strange position that Pats got themselves into by not sorting this out months ago.

sbgawa
29/11/2021, 3:55 PM
To be fair to Pats everyone is assuming that Pats didn't offer him a new contract to sign.
I would say its more likely that given how unexpectedly well Pats have done this year and that it has been obvious for months Pats would finish at least 2nd that there is a contract there and SOD has been sitting on it to see what options he has at seasons end.
I wouldn't hold that against him either there is little loyalty in football in either direction.

29/11/2021, 3:56 PM
Heard earlier that reason why Bohs Anto Breslin didnt play in cup final yesterday is that Keith Long didnt want him for next season. I was very surprised by his omision. Wonder who he will go to now?

29/11/2021, 3:58 PM
Supposed to be going to Pats according to a report in the Indo a couple of weeks ago.

sbgawa
29/11/2021, 4:00 PM
Got that the wrong way round Martinho , 007 didn't play him because he is leaving to join Pats by his own choice.
Poor man management imo , Dundalk played Sean Hoare against Rovers even though it was mooted he was leaving to join us and he scored in the final.
Players have to look after themselves in a short career in a low paying league like ours.
Not playing them because they are going elsewhere is just chopping off your nose to spite your face

joey B
29/11/2021, 5:14 PM
https://www.pfai.ie/transfer-list

PFAI list out today….

Jack B
29/11/2021, 10:31 PM
SOD to Dundalk and Clancy to Pats is my early call.

Kiki Balboa
30/11/2021, 7:35 AM

I know he just won the cup, but how would Pats fans rate SOD? From the outside he looks to have done an incredible job.... From what I read, contract negotiations seem to have only started recently with him. If thats the case, I cant understand why he was not offered a new deal in like May or something.

Mind I think Clancy would be a great fit for Pats too, if he is giving time.

boynemunich
30/11/2021, 8:01 AM

I think that's the case also. All has been very quiet in Drogheda since the season ended and Clancy is destined to move on eventually. I think he's loyal enough to not go to Dundalk however but will jump at any of the other clubs. If he does stay in Drogheda its looking like he could end up with a poor squad and he might not be as attractive this time next year so I reckon he's keen to go asap. As long as he doesn't go to Dundalk Drogheda fans can have no complaints.

Yossarian
30/11/2021, 8:41 AM
I think that's the case also. All has been very quiet in Drogheda since the season ended and Clancy is destined to move on eventually. I think he's loyal enough to not go to Dundalk however but will jump at any of the other clubs. If he does stay in Drogheda its looking like he could end up with a poor squad and he might not be as attractive this time next year so I reckon he's keen to go asap. As long as he doesn't go to Dundalk Drogheda fans can have no complaints.

If O’Donnell doesn’t go to Dundalk then it’ll be Clancy. Loyalty is all well and good but he’d be moving from a part time team to a full time team with a bigger budget.
Personally I’d be happy with either of those as manager.

D24Saint
30/11/2021, 9:04 AM
I know he just won the cup, but how would Pats fans rate SOD? From the outside he looks to have done an incredible job.... From what I read, contract negotiations seem to have only started recently with him. If thats the case, I cant understand why he was not offered a new deal in like May or something.

Mind I think Clancy would be a great fit for Pats too, if he is giving time.

There is a couple of scenarios that could play out. I was very sceptical when SOD first took over but he was done a great job with help from Alan Matthews who to a large degree is a unsung hero. I hope SOD doesn’t think that he brought the club as far a he can. He could be of that opinion. I think this season is a good as any reasonable fan could hope for. I cant see us challenging for a league title in the near future. I’d hate to see a new team and coach next year but what will be will be.

sidewayspasser
30/11/2021, 9:21 AM
Does SOD have his Pro badges by now, or would whoever signs him also have to sign someone else to tick the box for that?

D24Saint
30/11/2021, 9:24 AM
Does SOD have his Pro badges by now, or would whoever signs him also have to sign someone else to tick the box for that?

Doesn’t have them afaik that’s how Alan Mattews got involved.

30/11/2021, 11:44 AM
Shane McEleney signing for Derry. That's a weird one.

joey B
30/11/2021, 11:51 AM
Shane McEleney signing for Derry. That's a weird one.

Big loss for us,been great since he came in,didn’t expect youse to be in for him but maybe Patrick being back played a part….

DCWA
30/11/2021, 11:54 AM
He certainly looks a better player than when he left us a fair while ago now and as said above seems to have been good for Harps so I am happy enough with that, solid back up and decent fella to have about the place.

Philosophizer
30/11/2021, 12:51 PM
He certainly looks a better player than when he left us a fair while ago now and as said above seems to have been good for Harps so I am happy enough with that, solid back up and decent fella to have about the place.
Another local lad back in the fray. That's at least 3 local lads they've signed in the last few weeks. That can only help building the connection with the fans too.

Jack B
30/11/2021, 4:22 PM
I just pray we don't take the **** with getting the bulk of the squad signed up again. Most of them are out of contract and I've literally heard several of them say that they want to stay, so the sooner we act the better. It's been a long time since we finished a season and I was more worried about who we could keep rather than bring in, makes a refreshing change for now.

30/11/2021, 4:45 PM
Presumably you'll be signing no-one until there's a manager confirmed though?

Jack B
30/11/2021, 5:00 PM
Presumably you'll be signing no-one until there's a manager confirmed though?

Tell that to Anto Breslin!

Should know what the story is with SOD by the end of the week anyway so in either case there'll be time to sort things, more so just meant not leaving it til the middle of pre-season with numerous players like we have done previously and giving other teams ample time to pounce.

oriel
30/11/2021, 6:45 PM
Although it could yet happen, I would be somewhat underwhelmed by Clancy if he came to Dundalk.

However its clear O'Donnell is no 1 target, and DFC appear to have made a counter offer to him, as it looked like he was all set to remain at Pats this am.

Would imagine he will make his choice over the coming days, as heard DFC want this sorted well before Friday.

30/11/2021, 6:51 PM
There is a couple of scenarios that could play out. I was very sceptical when SOD first took over but he was done a great job with help from Alan Matthews who to a large degree is a unsung hero. I hope SOD doesn’t think that he brought the club as far a he can. He could be of that opinion. I think this season is a good as any reasonable fan could hope for. I cant see us challenging for a league title in the near future. I’d hate to see a new team and coach next year but what will be will be.

Always had a kind of dislike for Matthews if I’m honest, maybe not entirely rational. Hard to know how much is down to him. I always thought of him as a long ball merchant, but that’s d3finitely not us this year. Wouldn’t like to see him take over if SO’D does go. Hope fully he won’t. Clancy an interesting suggestion if we do end up in the market, but still a bit of an unknown quantity for me.

DCSIL
30/11/2021, 7:34 PM
Vinny Perth has left Dundalk.

If Longford could afford him would be a bit of a coup for them.

30/11/2021, 7:38 PM
Perth surely a decent shout to replace Clancy at Drogheda?

30/11/2021, 7:50 PM
Vinny Perth has left Dundalk.

If Longford could afford him would be a bit of a coup for them.

We've been taking our time to announce who's got the job, applications closed a few weeks ago. I posted earlier in the thread that someone told me that they heard he was coming here. Not someone I hear from too often and they would know VP. I wouldn't expect them to be in regular contact but who knows? Haven't seen or heard of any other names.