View Full Version : 2022 Season, Arrivals and Departures
Jd2793
08/01/2022, 7:46 PM
Not so sure its a good move.
Doubt he'll get into the first team much this season? No reserves league in Scotland which means he will be in the youth teams. Would develop his game more with another season or two of senior football in LOI
He'll be with the B team. 5 year deal is a pretty big commitment from Celtic and a great deal for Kenny, no lad can pass that up. hopefully theyve a good path set up for him to make the first team fold in next 2 years. The right loan move next season is key
08/01/2022, 7:48 PM
Doubt he'll get into the first team much this season? No reserves league in Scotland which means he will be in the youth teams. Would develop his game more with another season or two of senior football in LOI
Celtic B are in the Lowland League (fifth tier)
Not a great standard, but there's some men there to give you a good root up the hole during games
Jd2793
08/01/2022, 7:52 PM
it'll either be the b team or a loan move which theres been some talk about. hope it works out for him , amazing opportunity after 1 season in LOI.
joey B
08/01/2022, 8:01 PM
Hard to turn down a 5 year deal at a massive club like Celtic,from what little I’ve seen of him he’s well able to look after himself and doesn’t come across as meek like you can see with some young players of that age,that’ll stand him in good stead I think….
08/01/2022, 8:32 PM
There was chat of a loan move until June. Hopefully it's with a Championship or League One side in Scotland to settle him in gently and he hits the ground running from there.
08/01/2022, 9:15 PM
Former Town and Galway defender Joe Gorman is getting a warm welcome from fans of his new club, Portadown. Apparently they're not impressed at some anti orangeman sentiments he posted on social media previously.
total hoofball
09/01/2022, 8:49 AM
You would think all clubs these days would be doing full social media background checks before signing any player. Based one of his tweets you don't have to be a member of the woke cancel culture brigade to understand why alot of Portadown fans would be furious
oriel
09/01/2022, 11:15 AM
Kenny might find it tough but as other said its a great deal for himself, even if doesn't work out, he's fully funded to 2027 and still a decent age and would be in demand if he wanted back to LOI then.
I don't think Michael Duffy played a single minute for Celtic first team, he was on loan for a lot / most his time, there was a small fee Dundalk had to pay to get him, but just shows the fine margins he couldn't make it over there, and exploded onto the scene at home.
Jd2793
09/01/2022, 11:48 AM
duffy moved at 21 aswell tbf kenny has time on his side in that comparison. When you are 21 you need to be pretty close to making the standard at celtic , not much time to for celtic to wait around on you to improve
09/01/2022, 11:51 AM
I don't think Michael Duffy played a single minute for Celtic first team, he was on loan for a lot / most his time, there was a small fee Dundalk had to pay to get him, but just shows the fine margins he couldn't make it over there, and exploded onto the scene at home.
With respect, that doesn't show fine margins for success in Scotland so much as it shows the gulf in standard between the two leagues.
09/01/2022, 1:45 PM
Ah I think its fair to suggest there there is some luck involved too and in that way fine margins, changes of managers, the specifics mangers want in players etc. getting buried by clubs signing lots of young players hoping for he next Messi and not thriving in that environment. Duffy and McGrath were at similar enough ability in their respective positions - McGrath probably had patchier form tbh. That there are few enough players regularly establishing themselves shows the gulf between the leagues too but Scales has stepped up now too and Kenny certainly has the potential to do likewise though it does seems as if Celtic are just not fully confident so hedging their bets.
Galway Sign Spanish Striker
https://galwayunitedfc.ie/manu-dimas-signs-for-galway-united/
09/01/2022, 5:10 PM
In defence of Johnny Kenny his dad played with the head of Celtics academy at Sligo Rovers Willie McStay when they won the FAI Cup. I am sure that JK Snr had his homework done with Celtic. Just hope that JK jnr gets some game time even if it is on loan to a lower league club to get a feel for it.
09/01/2022, 5:25 PM
"..and the results, I'm a striker.."
I love absolutely everything about that press release.
D24Saint
09/01/2022, 5:43 PM
In defence of Johnny Kenny his dad played with the head of Celtics academy at Sligo Rovers Willie McStay when they won the FAI Cup. I am sure that JK Snr had his homework done with Celtic. Just hope that JK jnr gets some game time even if it is on loan to a lower league club to get a feel for it.
Is he not his agent to boot ?
2 Year Contract
09/01/2022, 8:39 PM
Is he not his agent to boot ?
I thought I had read somewhere that Gary Rogers was Johnny Kenny's agent
09/01/2022, 10:30 PM
It's unusual that Celtic would give a project/prospect signing a 5 year contract which is suggestive that some strong potential is seen in him. In terms of a centre forward option Celtic have Kyogo, Daizen Maeda just signed, Giakoumakis who has been injured/unfit and not convincing thus far and Ajeti who will definitely be gotten rid of. Injuries have seen Celtic have to use Moffat and Dawson from the U20s/Bs on the bench. He could easily push into contention for 3rd/4th choice if he's capable of playing at that level. As Pineapple has pointed out the B team play in the Scottish 5th flight which at its upper end might be LOI 1st Div level and at its lower end LSL so he won't meet defenders of a better quality than he's used to facing. The B team do play an identical tactical game to the seniors (4-3-3 high press short passing with inverted full backs) so he could slot in there to get used to the system.
10/01/2022, 12:14 AM
As Pineapple has pointed out the B team play in the Scottish 5th flight which at its upper end might be LOI 1st Div level and at its lower end LSL so he won't meet defenders of a better quality than he's used to facing. The B team do play an identical tactical game to the seniors (4-3-3 high press short passing with inverted full backs) so he could slot in there to get used to the system.
We should look for LoI clubs to play in the Scottish league cup including their top flights B teams. Im sure we'd do well as a league and without any messing!
D24Saint
10/01/2022, 9:19 AM
The results in the Irn Bru cup was a bit of a mixed bag. It was a great novelty though. A competitive match between Bohs and Sutton United for example.
JC_GUFC
10/01/2022, 1:32 PM
With new Spanish arrivals at Galway and Harps does anyone remember any decent Spanish players to play in the League of Ireland?
10/01/2022, 1:36 PM
Yael Haro was at Drogheda and UCD at the start of the 10s.
So in answer to your question - no.
da bishop
10/01/2022, 3:20 PM
With new Spanish arrivals at Galway and Harps does anyone remember any decent Spanish players to play in the League of Ireland?
Cant remember one and tbh Galway will need a lot more than a spanish arrival to get promoted.
sbgawa
10/01/2022, 3:24 PM
Cant remember one and tbh Galway will need a lot more than a spanish arrival to get promoted.
Spanish Armada?
JC_GUFC
10/01/2022, 5:09 PM
That's why we got two!
EatYerGreens
11/01/2022, 12:11 AM
We should look for LoI clubs to play in the Scottish league cup including their top flights B teams. Im sure we'd do well as a league and without any messing!
But why ?
Big costs, almost no visiitng fans, a pain in the hole re scheduling. What's the upside ?
There's a reaosn why the Irn Bru/Tunnocks experiment didn't last long. Let's be honest - No-one on either side of the water wants to watch Drogheda play Elgin City.
D24Saint
11/01/2022, 9:26 AM
But why ?
Big costs, almost no visiitng fans, a pain in the hole re scheduling. What's the upside ?
There's a reaosn why the Irn Bru/Tunnocks experiment didn't last long. Let's be honest - No-one on either side of the water wants to watch Drogheda play Elgin City.
Their was an extra travel expenses for clubs I think it was £4000-5000. It was decent novelty for clubs that didn't qualify for Europe.
11/01/2022, 10:21 AM
But why ?
I was being flippant but obviously did make that clear, I do think there was some potential for this if it had been done better though,
11/01/2022, 10:36 AM
I appreciate you probably didn’t watch the press conference or read the detailed press release. This is a project originated by the Pakistani Government as part of a strategy to raise the standard of their game. The number of people who will be involved is small - 4 coaches now, and about 20 Pakistani players over 3 years. St Pats were approached because these kids would have a better chance of doing well by starting in an Irish club rather than an English one and the standard of our academy is known to be very high. It’s a honour for St Pats to be asked to do this, it will help us build links with the Pakistani community here (most of whom live in our catchment) and if we end up finding a player who can go on to have a good career, all the better. It’s basically a good news story and to try and turn it into a story about a tiny number of flights is, frankly, petty in the extreme.
I have to say I’m very surprised because over the years I’ve found you to be one of the most sensible and balanced posters on this forum. But I really feel you’ve got the wrong end of the stick here.
For as log a there isnt an alternative for flights to put this project 0n planes so be it, flights have to be taken as the are. But thats the least if the issues of concern on it. Player Drain, which wee as have suffered from endlessly. takig kids from a 3rd wordl sitution with a hope to selll the on to clubs. Seems more on the line of exploitation that soccer sport development depending in the rest of how this ssystem will be implimented.
11/01/2022, 10:51 AM
Actually, from the wiki article on the competition -
This season no clubs from Northern Ireland, Wales, Republic of Ireland or England entered the competition to reduce unnecessary travel during the COVID-19 pandemic
The competition wasn't held at all last year for the same reason.
2 Year Contract
11/01/2022, 11:45 AM
Interesting article on Drogheda getting stung for no compensation fee for James Brown despite continuing to pay him through the off season, due to a new rule change.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/the-drogs-feel-out-of-pocket-as-brown-joins-blackburn-for-free-41227978.html
Have to agree with Conor Hoey, it is mad that if he had signed for Pats (or any LOI club), they would’ve had to pay a compensation fee but Blackburn don’t
Interesting article on Drogheda getting stung for no compensation fee for James Brown despite continuing to pay him through the off season, due to a new rule change.
https://www.independent.ie/regionals/louth/sport/soccer/the-drogs-feel-out-of-pocket-as-brown-joins-blackburn-for-free-41227978.html
Have to agree with Conor Hoey, it is mad that if he had signed for Pats (or any LOI club), they would’ve had to pay a compensation fee but Blackburn don’t
Seems very naiive of Hoey to expect Blackburn to agree to a sell on clause when they have no obligation to do so potentially gifting tens of thousands of pounds if it goes well, they haven’t been in the PL for some time now and seem to operate on a small budget by Championship standards so not likely to be their style, all a bit of a desperate feel to it.
2 Year Contract
11/01/2022, 2:05 PM
Seems very naiive of Hoey to expect Blackburn to agree to a sell on clause when they have no obligation to do so potentially gifting tens of thousands of pounds if it goes well, they haven’t been in the PL for some time now and seem to operate on a small budget by Championship standards so not likely to be their style, all a bit of a desperate feel to it.
Yeah I don’t know what he was expecting there, it’s not Blackburn’s fault the rule changed and they’re not a charity. I agree with him in the sense of the rule being a bit unfair that if a LOI club has to pay and foreign clubs (with more money in most cases) don’t.
I see Drogs have also lost Killian Phillips to Crystal Palace now too, but in his case they’ll get a transfer fee and also add ons as he was under contract for 2022 already. 2.5 year deal with palace
11/01/2022, 2:29 PM
Any business has to be cognisant of legislative or regulatory changes which impact the industry or sector within which it operates. It is absolutely not Blackburn's problem that Drogheda were unaware of these changes and it's decent enough of them to offer a friendly albeit they're not much of a draw these days.
11/01/2022, 2:34 PM
It'll be interesting to see whether, as someone mentioned earlier in the thread, UK clubs filling gaps in their u23s with cheap Irish players becomes a regular occurrence due to Brexit. Signs of it happening already in this window. For the players I think doing a year or two over there on ok money, knowing that they'll still be young enough to come back to LOI if need be, would be fairly low risk for them.
Kiki Balboa
11/01/2022, 2:47 PM
For a squad that finished just about in mid-table, Drogheda have attracted a fair amount of interest..
11/01/2022, 3:05 PM
It'll be interesting to see whether, as someone mentioned earlier jn the thread, UK clubs filling gaps in their u23s with cheap Irish players becomes a regular occurrence due to Brexit. Signs of it happening already in this window. For the players I think doing a year or two over there on ok money, knowing that they'll still be young enough to come back to LOI if need be, would be fairly low risk for them.
It was interesting to see Man U signed McShane and Brighton signed Dicker to player coach on the U23 side. It's a phenomenon I hadn't noticed before.
total hoofball
11/01/2022, 5:00 PM
For a squad that finished just about in mid-table, Drogheda have attracted a fair amount of interest..
They are like the new UCD this season, have a half decent season and they get cleaned out as they are the team highest in the table who are easy pickings due to budget limitations by not having their players locked into multi-year contracts on full-time wages
joey B
11/01/2022, 5:10 PM
They are like the new UCD this season, have a half decent season and they get cleaned out as they are the team highest in the table who are easy pickings due to budget limitations by not having their players locked into multi-year contracts on full-time wages
Pretty much the same as us….
11/01/2022, 6:00 PM
Yeah, but cross-channel interest? You wouldn't have looked at a newly-promoted side who did well but not spectacularly and said they'd attract that much cross-channel attention. It's rare at UCD too. Best of luck to the guys obviously, though there doesn't seem to be a Liam Scales or a Johnny Kenny there I think?
Brusher
11/01/2022, 10:41 PM
Just in relation to the supposed new ruling that saw Drogheda screwed,where was the FAI as the governing body in all of this ? Surely they should have their "finger on the pulse" when it comes to UEFA/FIFA making significant changes that sees smaller nation's clubs being short changed.
12/01/2022, 6:32 AM
What would the FAI be able to do about it?
I still don't get why an LOI club would have to pay but not a club in the UK?
12/01/2022, 9:32 AM
What would the FAI be able to do about it?
I think the point was about making clubs aware of the change in the rules. You could argue they should be up to speed themselves but it wouldn't take much effort from the FAI to send an email around given the importance of the changes.
12/01/2022, 11:19 AM
Fair enough. I read the post as giving out that the FAI had allowed this to happen, but yeah, an update mail would be reasonable alright.
Brusher
12/01/2022, 11:57 AM
As the parent body of football in the country, they should be keeping clubs up to date with every amendment to any rules handed down by UEFA/FIFA.
total hoofball
12/01/2022, 12:33 PM
Yeah, but cross-channel interest? You wouldn't have looked at a newly-promoted side who did well but not spectacularly and said they'd attract that much cross-channel attention. It's rare at UCD too. Best of luck to the guys obviously, though there doesn't seem to be a Liam Scales or a Johnny Kenny there I think?
3 players out of my count the 10 who definitely departed Drogheda have gone to UK so not a totally crazy amount. I think alot more players now are willing try UK first in their early/mid 20s before signing full-time for the top LOI teams and it seems so many LOI players have agents these days so more contacts available that can lead to trials at the likes of Blackburn
I don't know much about Phillips who I've heard is a promising young player the other two Brown and O'Reilly were at Shels and I wouldn't have ever considered them anywhere good enough for pro-teams in the UK but then they had Heary and Morris as their managers at Shels which may have been their problem fair play to them for achieving good moves over there
Straightstory
12/01/2022, 6:53 PM
Having seen (almost) all of Drogheda's games last season (and the season before) Brown is by far the best of the bunch. Can't see any of the others making much of an impression anywhere else. (AND I think Brown stood out in the league a lot more than Liam Scales).
ontheotherhand
12/01/2022, 10:05 PM
Sure no Rovers players stand out in the league.
12/01/2022, 10:15 PM
Just in relation to the supposed new ruling that saw Drogheda screwed,where was the FAI as the governing body in all of this ? Surely they should have their "finger on the pulse" when it comes to UEFA/FIFA making significant changes that sees smaller nation's clubs being short changed.
It's incumbent on a business to be aware of any legislative or regulatory changes that impact them. If there was a legislative or regulatory change at European level in an industry it would not be up to the national regulator/body (where applicable) to inform a business under its supervision that change had taken place, it would be up to that business to be aware of it. Only where the FAI changes a rule themselves should they be obliged to notify a club.
12/01/2022, 10:26 PM
That's all well and good, PS, but the clubs are barely businesses. Most of them have turnover smaller than the average Spar and are run by an odd lot of volunteers. Providing a little support on relevant rule changes is an obvious and useful service the FAI could easily provide that would reduce duplication of effort within clubs and avoid situations like this.