View Full Version : Stephen Kenny

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23] 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71

sbgawa
06/09/2021, 1:53 PM
Reading so many posts on here, and football in Ireland seems to begin and end with the senior national team. LOI fans with an axe to grind against non LOI fans who they deem too critical, and Liverpool/Man United fans baying for blood because there is no **** up on the continent at a major tournament on the horizon.

Personally, I fall between 2 stools, LOI match goer and follow a team across the water closely also. Having to preface my post with this information is pretty stupid but maybe it gives some context anyway.

My 2 cents are as follows:

We need to forget about qualifying for any major tournament for probably the next 8-12 years. Fans, the FAI etc.. may cry treason, but we need to stop tying all of our eggs up in one basket with the national team. I don't think Stephen Kenny is the standard of manager we should be looking to if we were hoping to be successful in the short or medium term, but thats neither here nor there. People's solution seems to be throwing a million euro at another semi big name, who will hopefully cobble together a squad who will provide a spirited effort and more than likely come up short.

If we are to move forward we simply need to look at the bigger picture for Irish football. Every ounce of investment/resources we have need to be funnelled into development at grass roots in this country. Very simplistic to say our league needs looking at, but if we are to have a model that is sustainable and under our own control then we need some creative solutions about how the game can be developed here properly. We simply need a functioning league where our best young talent play senior league football week in week out. We need to seek the investment to keep them in Ireland (rather than being shipped to England where we roll the dice and hope they develop them for us), but we also need to obviously make it a viable option financially. Private sector investment is the only way to go. Allow our league to become somewhat sustainable in time by attracting proper transfer fees for our best players because there is genuine perception that we develop some quality.

This 100%
One of the very few things the FAI got right was the formation of the underage National Leagues.
The structure is there and some money invested in full time coaches would make the difference.
For anyone who wants to see reason for hope i would urge you to pop along to an underage game in the National Leagues and see the way we are playing football there.
The wave of immigration that has manifested itself in Athletics is coming through also in football.
i would say the under 14 and 15 leagues are the best ones to look at as the older 17's and 19's have transitioned through the move to "total football" rather then being indoctrinated since early days.
We will be better then we are now (low bar indeed) over the next few years as the talent comes on stream

06/09/2021, 1:54 PM
2011-09-06 Russia 0, Ireland 0 A heroic performance of epic proportions. But we were abysmal.

2011-11-11 Estonia 0, Ireland 4 (playoff) An excellent performance against a team who were beaten as if they were adopted in the 60s (I was adopted in the 80s), and were happy to commit hari kari.

2013-03-22 Sweden 0, Ireland 0 - Hmmkay, good one.

2014-10-14 Germany 1, Ireland 1 - Resolute in defence and went all guns blazing for the final 5 mins. Traditional away performance, untraditional away result.

2015-11-16 Bosnia 1, Ireland 1 (playoff) - "imitates Gorilla Monsoon voice" would you schtop? is your name Bobby Heenan?

2016-11-12 Austria 0, Ireland 1 - absolutely. A very good performance. A very good result.

2017-10-09 Wales 0, Ireland 1 (eliminated Wales) - absolutely. I think this is probably the best traditional Irish performance away from home that I've seen. And it was Wales who fancied themselves to do us. And we got the result to boot.

2019-06-07 Denmark 1, Ireland 1 - get off the stage.

Wales
Austria
Portugal
Estonia
Germany / Serbia

06/09/2021, 1:57 PM
Reading so many posts on here, and football in Ireland seems to begin and end with the senior national team. LOI fans with an axe to grind against non LOI fans who they deem too critical, and Liverpool/Man United fans baying for blood because there is no **** up on the continent at a major tournament on the horizon.

But I digress, in terms of Stephen Kenny, its neither here nor there as to whether he stays or goes. Makes very little difference unless we are tackling the bigger issues facing Irish football, things like contact hours the best young players get in this country (which is a disgrace by the way). But these smaller issues at lower levels (and there are enough of them to add up to huge issues for the game further down the line) are not sexy enough, nor would your casual fan give a flying f*ck when he just wants to book his flight to Euro 2024 so he can take videos of himself drinking cans in some town square where the game is an afterthought.

A great post, and rubber-stamped with sbgawa also. I can trace my interest in English football declining to exact the time my interest in coaching underage at home began.

brine3
06/09/2021, 2:08 PM
Wales
Austria
Portugal
Estonia
Germany / Serbia

So you are ranking a loss away to Portugal ahead of a draw away against the World Champions three months after they won the World Cup.

Now, if we had absolutely played Portugal off the park and lost unluckily, then fair enough. But we didn't. It was backs to the wall stuff. 28% possession. "Traditional Irish" as you refer to it. I mean, I certainly wasn't sitting there with 30 minutes to go thinking, yeah, we're gonna close this match out, no bother.

06/09/2021, 2:18 PM
I agree wholeheartedly with the posts about the problem starting with domestic football structures. Those structures here are geared to send players to an English system that has changed remarkably in the past couple of decades and started to produce fantastic players for England ... and left us completely behind. That's why we went to Euro 2016 with an ancient team, and that's why we've been on a hiding to nothing since.

That doesn't excuse Kenny. His results are completely unacceptable, even accounting for the challenges he's faced. The only thing keeping him in the job is the FAI's finances (thanks, Delaney!).

06/09/2021, 2:21 PM
So you are ranking a loss away to Portugal ahead of a draw away against the World Champions three months after they won the World Cup.

Now, if we had absolutely played Portugal off the park and lost unluckily, then fair enough. But we didn't. It was backs to the wall stuff. 28% possession. "Traditional Irish" as you refer to it. I mean, I certainly wasn't sitting there with 30 minutes to go thinking, yeah, we're gonna close this match out, no bother.

The post after your original refers to performances not results. That's the context - the manager referred to performances himself. We played more football in the 45 mins against Portugal, than we did against Germany, Russia and Denmark combined.
I never said anything about playing anyone off the park. Portugal away was very reminiscent of Amsterdam 2000. It was very similar to what happened to us against Azerbaijan. And it's with the players that were utilised too. Germany away off the top of the head: John O'Shea, Darren Randolph, Jon Walters, Aiden McGeady, Wes Hoolahan, Robbie Brady, Glenn Whelan perhaps?

As for closing the match out - I wouldn't think that's a statement anyone has associated with many Irish senior teams over the past 15 years, so I've no idea why you'd mention that.

06/09/2021, 2:22 PM
That doesn't excuse Kenny. His results are completely unacceptable, even accounting for the challenges he's faced. The only thing keeping him in the job is the FAI's finances (thanks, Delaney!).

The reason he's in the job is the FAI's finances and Euro 2020.

06/09/2021, 3:01 PM
Stephen Kenny may have just kept himself in a job to 2022.
The final thirty seconds of the interview I've just heard will probably sway anyone on the fence onto his side.

"that kind of near-sightedness does not create anything. you might beat teams that you should beat, but you'll never beat the teams you should be striving to beat"

He can say that for as long as he likes. What's near sightedness in terms of timespan in international football? 16 games is definitely coming to the medium term. Would it be fair to say the average career of an international manager is 25-30 games? He and others can bang all the drums he likes but until he starts fashioning results evrryhting else is just soundbites.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
06/09/2021, 3:14 PM
Randolph hasn't played for us in a year. He was left out of the current squad precisely because he hasn't been getting game time at club level. McClean was Stoke's Player of the Year in 2019/20. This yeah, he's been released and has had to drop down a division. You seem to think 30+ players exist in a stasis; they really don't.

Yes, Mick lost to Switzerland with that starting three. A 2-goal defeat, which is more than any competitive defeat Kenny has suffered (so far...) He also drew 0-0 in Georgia, who are better than Luxembourg, but not by a huge amount. The signs have been there for a long time that we were getting closer and closer to results like of late. Our scoring rate has fallen off a cliff pretty much since Keane retired. You really can't get away with attacking line-ups of Parrott/Idah/Connolly at international level.

Some players lose form, some players gain form and some players remain at the same standard. As I've said, both McCarthy and Kenny had pluses and minuses but the standard of the squad has remained broadly the same.

Mick's only defeat was away to Switzerland who made the Euro quarter finals only losing to Spain on penalties. He drew away to Denmark, European championship semi finalists and then we battered them at home and were very unlucky to draw. This is the level we were at when Kenny took over. McCarthy had the same issues with a very poor squad and attackers who didn't score goals. It's a clear fact to state that Kenny has taken us backwards and by a long way.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
06/09/2021, 3:21 PM
Stephen Kenny may have just kept himself in a job to 2022.
The final thirty seconds of the interview I've just heard will probably sway anyone on the fence onto his side.

"that kind of near-sightedness does not create anything. you might beat teams that you should beat, but you'll never beat the teams you should be striving to beat"

Under Kenny we haven't beaten anyone but Andorra. His embarrassing claims that the team is making progress are laughable. Steve Staunton was at similar craic back in his day.

Strongbow10
06/09/2021, 3:27 PM
He can say that for as long as he likes. What's near sightedness in terms of timespan in international football? 16 games is definitely coming to the medium term. Would it be fair to say the average career of an international manager is 25-30 games? He and others can bang all the drums he likes but until he starts fashioning results everyhting else is just soundbites.

Talk of imposing a certain style of football starts from the ground up. Its not the job of a senior international manager who will have a group of senior pros for no more than 2 weeks at a time max.

Always thought talk of "getting it down and playing" was a load of PR rubbish to be honest. The idea that MON/Trap/whoever actively told players not to be positive and pass to each other is bullsh*t.

What happened in the last week is symptomatic of this, we can epouse this positive football argument all we want, but when you have players of a certain level you will have days when they play out of their skin (Portugal), and days when they let you down (Azerbaijan). Consistent high levels of performance are not possible, its really that simple. Hence managers use tactics to negate opposition, mitigate risk etc... in order to maximise the point total. Its not rocket science.

Kenny telling people he didn't enjoy watching the national team, and was seeking to encourage good football is naive, and pandering to the crowd who want to be entertained but also want to go to major tournaments.

Our philosophy at senior level was to cobble together the best XI we could and eek every last drop out of them, there was no joined up thinking with domestic football, our underage setup or the like. Its a case of dipping into the talent pool we sent to England. Changing the philosophy would involve making huge changes at underage level which in time funnell into senior set up, so we are not as top heavy (i.e hiring a semi big name manager on huge money whose only job is getting us to Euros whilst the future of the next generation looks bleak).

Hopefully in time, the rising tide will lift all the boats (youth and senior), and as previous posters put it, the underage national leagues are a huge step forward.

06/09/2021, 3:36 PM
Some players lose form, some players gain form and some players remain at the same standard.
And, which you're still not addressing, some players get old and drop down a division or drop to the bench because they're not as good as they were. That's nothing to do with form.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
06/09/2021, 3:56 PM
And, which you're still not addressing, some players get old and drop down a division or drop to the bench because they're not as good as they were. That's nothing to do with form.

I am addressing it. Some players got older and dropped to the bench, some players improved and got into starting positions, some players remained at the same level. When you weigh all of that up, Kenny has a slightly stronger squad than McCarthy. A big example of that is McCarthy had an over the hill Whelan while Kenny has a youthful Cullen who stepped up the levels.

Like, it's clear you're a big defender of Kenny but the squad strength argument fails because of the record of his predecessor with a squad of similar strength.

Colbert Report
06/09/2021, 4:29 PM
I am addressing it. Some players got older and dropped to the bench, some players improved and got into starting positions, some players remained at the same level. When you weigh all of that up, Kenny has a slightly stronger squad than McCarthy. A big example of that is McCarthy had an over the hill Whelan while Kenny has a youthful Cullen who stepped up the levels.

Like, it's clear you're a big defender of Kenny but the squad strength argument fails because of the record of his predecessor with a squad of similar strength.

Whelan's final appearance for Ireland was up there with Paul McGrath vs Italy and Richard Dunne vs Russia.

backstothewall
06/09/2021, 5:09 PM
Whelan's final appearance for Ireland was up there with Paul McGrath vs Italy and Richard Dunne vs Russia.

You're going to have to remind me because I literally can't remember anything about it. That alone has me doubting the veracity of the claim but I've been wrong before.

brine3
06/09/2021, 5:11 PM
The post after your original refers to performances not results. That's the context - the manager referred to performances himself. We played more football in the 45 mins against Portugal, than we did against Germany, Russia and Denmark combined.
I never said anything about playing anyone off the park. Portugal away was very reminiscent of Amsterdam 2000. It was very similar to what happened to us against Azerbaijan. And it's with the players that were utilised too. Germany away off the top of the head: John O'Shea, Darren Randolph, Jon Walters, Aiden McGeady, Wes Hoolahan, Robbie Brady, Glenn Whelan perhaps?

As for closing the match out - I wouldn't think that's a statement anyone has associated with many Irish senior teams over the past 15 years, so I've no idea why you'd mention that.

I see, so 28% ball possession Vs Portugal is a better performance than 35% Vs Germany.

We were the same old heroic Ireland against Portugal. Backs to the wall. I'm not seeing the progression.

06/09/2021, 5:20 PM
It's because when we broke we looked good, there's a bit of hoodwinking or people genuinely can't see it. I do believe there's a narrative at play now for those wanting Kenny regardless.

brine3
06/09/2021, 5:25 PM
Portugal away was very reminiscent of Amsterdam 2000

It was not. I was at that match. We were all over them. They were lucky we only scored the two.

brine3
06/09/2021, 5:28 PM
It's because when we broke we looked good, there's a bit of hoodwinking or people genuinely can't see it. I do believe there's a narrative at play now for those wanting Kenny regardless.

We we had a few decent counterattacks. But we've always been good for that, save the final few months of MON, final few months of Trap. But those managers had us breaking well in the beginning of their tenure as well. I mean one of the greatest performances ever was Paris 2009. Under Trap, whose football I generally couldn't stand.

liamoo11
06/09/2021, 5:28 PM
Cascarino on matt cooper( what an ape cooper is) saying we should play Duffy up front cause we need a major change in how we play. On that basis I hope Kenny gets to stay for the euro qualifiers to turn things around

06/09/2021, 5:47 PM
Was this it kingdom? https://www.facebook.com/341867628578/posts/10158682647803579/

He sounded very desperate and defensive I thought mostly. First minute sounding very much like he's always sounded. We haven't played that great at all on the whole. It's the sound of a man under an awful lot of pressure brought upon by himself. I'd be worried for him there he didn't explode and end up with heart problems . :D I feel sorry for him now cos he generally comes across as a really nice guy. But when you start to feel sorry for someone it's usually not a good sign.

Listened again.you really can't come out saying things like we've had the best performance in ten years and lose 3 games , the 3 he keeps going on about. It just sounds so desperate. Great performances provide great nights and great results. He can't come out disregarding the ten years before him when he can't even get a win!

Trequartista20
06/09/2021, 6:44 PM
If we fail to win against Serbia we're mathematically out of the running having failed to win a single match.

I think it would then be an appropriate juncture to accept the inevitable - the experiment simply isn't working - we need to admit our mistakes, cut our losses and move on.

The warning signs were there very early on with Kenny, and things haven't really improved since then. We look uncertain from a defensive point of view, powderpuff in attack and, most damning of all, lacking in any discernable playing style and personality as a team. Fifteen matches in and I'm still at a complete loss as to quite what Kenny is setting his team out to do. And his lack of progression and improvement is exactly why Kenny needs to be given his cards, it's as if he's simply incapable of learning from his mistakes and the poor performances and terrible results his management has yielded thus far.

We've gone from being a very competitive side under the previous incumbent, one that lost only one match in the last qualifying campaign, our only defeat in the ten matches McCarthy presided over, to looking like desperate Pot 5/6 no-hopers.

Setting aside the scrappy friendly win over the part-timers of Andorra we're winless in the other 14, scoring only 6 goals. We're enormously frustrating to watch, the Kenny apologists are wont to claim we're a more enjoyable proposition to watch under his tenure, well it's an objective thing I suppose, but I just don't see it.

Ian Barraclough took charge of the north more recently than Kenny took up his position with us, and, with arguably lesser resources, they've won 3 of their last 4. And yes, COVID affects everyone including the north (pathetic to use that as an excuse as if we're at a disadvantage to other nations - we're not) and he's had to incorporate a lot of younger, more inexperienced players, too, in Ballard, Lewis, Thompson, McCann, McAlmont, Lavery, etc. He's simply got on with it and the slow but steady improvement in both performance and results is evident.

Enough's enough for many of us, I think.

06/09/2021, 7:09 PM
But I digress, in terms of Stephen Kenny, its neither here nor there as to whether he stays or goes. Makes very little difference unless we are tackling the bigger issues facing Irish football, things like contact hours the best young players get in this country (which is a disgrace by the way).
I wouldn't really agree with this part of your post.

Certainly, there are issues with domestic football and underage football and and you've mentioned those, but it's always important that the senior manager is getting the best they can out of the players at their disposal.

Kenny's performance isn't the only important challenge to be faced, it may not even be the most important one, but it's still important.

06/09/2021, 7:31 PM
It was not. I was at that match. We were all over them. They were lucky we only scored the two.

agree. was at that match too. just after their 1st goal kilbane should have put us 3 - 1 up. quinn hit the post and side netting. probably the best away performance ever for me. certainly up there with paris 09.
i think peoples memories of the match are coloured by the last 15 mins or so when holland were on top but for most of the match we were superb

06/09/2021, 8:03 PM

I'm clearly not a bit defender of Kenny; I've been criticising him here. Don't be bringing stuff up I haven't been saying please.

I simply don't agree with you that Kenny has a stronger squad, particularly in the attacking positions which is where our problems are. They're appalling, we're struggling to score, and you can't win games if you can't score.

But you've made your mind up, so I think it's best to let it go there.

06/09/2021, 8:18 PM
Kenny has more options than McCarthy did, whether or not they're better options is open to debate

BOOMSHAKALAKA
06/09/2021, 9:11 PM
I'm clearly not a bit defender of Kenny; I've been criticising him here. Don't be bringing stuff up I haven't been saying please.

I simply don't agree with you that Kenny has a stronger squad, particularly in the attacking positions which is where our problems are. They're appalling, we're struggling to score, and you can't win games if you can't score.

But you've made your mind up, so I think it's best to let it go there.

I've made my mind up in terms of squad similarity. I've backed that up pretty comprehensively at this stage. McCarthy had the same issues as Kenny. That's the failure in this excuse for Kenny. His record compared with he predecessor is appalling.

liamoo11
06/09/2021, 9:55 PM
If he stays until end of the euro campaign I think he would have to qualify for that tournament to keep the job given all the leeway he has been given in this camp

CraftyToePoke
07/09/2021, 1:05 PM
I think it worth a mention in terms of replacing SK the paucity of options among former players. It would be less of a conversation had we guys doing well in management IMO, but as it stands its very much

A stick with him
B get some busted flush from the UK merry go round where the likes of Paul Cook are being mentioned, which is incredible to me, but there we are.
C some career mercenary short term guy from the worldwide merry go round
D Jim Goodwin

Is it not unreasonable to think some of, lets just say the 2002 WC era squad, now be at a stage in their managerial careers to be suitable for the national job ? None are. Keane tried and Staunton was never a manager pre / post or indeed during his time as manager. Kinsella had a rattle at it too, but I think that's about it.

England has a gem in Southgate, NI have McCann, O'Neill & a handful more. Wales particularly from that time saw Giggs / Speed / Coleman & now Page do well. I am sure the Scots have a few around too, they usually do anyway. We have coaches, some respected ones too, and some not in our system anymore & you can say Hughton O'Driscoll & McDermott but I am on particularly about lads who grew up & lived here & that's where the trail goes dead.

The topic of player development is everywhere at the moment, but the lack of capable managers who's aspiration it would be to manage their country is just as pronounced.

07/09/2021, 1:16 PM
Is it not unreasonable to think some of, lets just say the 2002 WC era squad, now be at a stage in their managerial careers to be suitable for the national job ? None are.
Well - Lee Carsley and Stephen Reid were in that squad...

But yeah, it's a good point in fairness. I don't know why that is. You can't even blame the lack of a properly-supported domestic league for it too much given the likes of Hughes and Giggs went straight in at the national team and did reasonably well. (I mean, it'd help if there was a proper domestic football industry for guys to come back to and cut their teeth in club management, including European level, if they wanted. But it's not the be-all-and-end-all)

07/09/2021, 1:23 PM
I'm not really sure what the correlation is? Is it somehow suggesting we can't replace Kenny because Irish managers would be cheaper? Or are we being nationalistic and only looking for an Irish manager to develop the players ? It's not really that big of an issue if our national team manager isn't (or is) Irish. All that matters is they do a good job with what they have available

CraftyToePoke
07/09/2021, 1:24 PM
Well - Lee Carsley and Stephen Reid were in that squad...

Yes, the were also who I meant by respected coaches now sadly outside our system. And coaches, not managers.

I notice we have no shortage of ex player talking heads on the various broadcast outlets happy to throw rocks / shout encouragement from a safe distance though :)

07/09/2021, 1:25 PM
I'm not really sure what the correlation is? Is it somehow suggesting we can't replace Kenny because Irish managers would be cheaper? Or are we being nationalistic and only looking for an Irish manager to develop the players ? It's not really that big of an issue if our national team manager isn't (or is) Irish. All that matters is they do a good job with what they have available

It's asking the question as to whether there's a structural deficiency within Irish football around developing our own coaches.

We can hire foreign coaches if we want (there was a lad called Charlton did well for us), but our structure would unquestionably be better if we were producing our own coaches to give us extra options. And it's not.

07/09/2021, 1:27 PM
Yes, the were also who I meant by respected coaches now sadly outside our system. And coaches, not managers.

I notice we have no shortage of ex player talking heads on the various broadcast outlets happy to throw rocks / shout encouragement from a safe distance though :)

Indeed. it's almost like this is a safer option ! You cant be wrong commenting from the sidelines. "Hurlers on the ditch" I believe is the phrase from our GAA brethern.

CraftyToePoke
07/09/2021, 1:29 PM
It's asking the question as to whether there's a structural deficiency within Irish football around developing our own coaches.

We can hire foreign coaches if we want (there was a lad called Charlton did well for us), but our structure would unquestionably be better if we were producing our own coaches to give us extra options. And it's not.

Exactly, yes. They head to the UK young, they play there, the often stay there post retirement also. This key resource is no more in our grasp than elite player development is.

07/09/2021, 2:01 PM
Indeed. it's almost like this is a safer option ! You cant be wrong commenting from the sidelines. "Hurlers on the ditch" I believe is the phrase from our GAA brethern.
It's not that it's safer. There's money in it. There's very little money in coaching/managing here, so lads who move back here after their playing careers have fewer options.

07/09/2021, 2:01 PM
B get some busted flush from the UK merry go round where the likes of Paul Cook are being mentioned, which is incredible to me, but there we are.
I wouldn't describe Cook as a busted flush at all. 2 League Two Titles and a League One title, its only at Ipswich he has struggled.

I don't see what Kenny has done that compares favourably to Cook or some other League One managers.

If anybody (outside Irish football at least) was looking for a new manager right now and compared Cook and Kenny, they'd take Cook in an instant.

07/09/2021, 2:19 PM

Ya i get that but has there been any deficiency in say Rugby? Most of the coaches that have managed successful provinces and successful Irish teams have come from outside the country. I see now you mean it as a more broad issue in the game in Ireland rather than related to stephen kenny or a new manager. There is definitely an issue, supply/demand, money, intelligence, brain drain pretty much like any other industry, and its worth considering as a general broader topic of football in Ireland.

07/09/2021, 2:38 PM
I wouldn't describe Cook as a busted flush at all. 2 League Two Titles and a League One title, its only at Ipswich he has struggled.

I don't see what Kenny has done that compares favourably to Cook or some other League One managers.

If anybody (outside Irish football at least) was looking for a new manager right now and compared Cook and Kenny, they'd take Cook in an instant.

Paul cook doesn't roll off the tongue in China.

Fixer82
07/09/2021, 2:39 PM
Paul cook doesn't roll off the tongue in China.

Great drummer though

07/09/2021, 2:50 PM
Ya i get that but has there been any deficiency in say Rugby? Most of the coaches that have managed successful provinces and successful Irish teams have come from outside the country. I see now you mean it as a more broad issue in the game in Ireland rather than related to stephen kenny or a new manager. There is definitely an issue, supply/demand, money, intelligence, brain drain pretty much like any other industry, and its worth considering as a general broader topic of football in Ireland.
I don't think you can compare rugby really. Rugby isn't really a global game, and the IRFU do have money whereas the FAI are quite poor relatively speaking.

The IRFU aren't in danger of losing a coach to London Scottish or to some Chinese team. The FAI really are competing with clubs of that level. So it's more important that we try develop our own coaches, as they're more likely to want to touch the job with a barge pole.

07/09/2021, 3:06 PM
But thats your comparison, they dont have to yet they are still getting external coaches, and it doesnt matter, if no competition it makes sense to develop their own. It hasn't hindered their ability or level that's the point.

BOOMSHAKALAKA
07/09/2021, 3:07 PM
I think it worth a mention in terms of replacing SK the paucity of options among former players. It would be less of a conversation had we guys doing well in management IMO, but as it stands its very much

A stick with him
D Jim Goodwin

Is it not unreasonable to think some of, lets just say the 2002 WC era squad, now be at a stage in their managerial careers to be suitable for the national job ? None are. Keane tried and Staunton was never a manager pre / post or indeed during his time as manager. Kinsella had a rattle at it too, but I think that's about it.

England has a gem in Southgate, NI have McCann, O'Neill & a handful more. Wales particularly from that time saw Giggs / Speed / Coleman & now Page do well. I am sure the Scots have a few around too, they usually do anyway. We have coaches, some respected ones too, and some not in our system anymore & you can say Hughton O'Driscoll & McDermott but I am on particularly about lads who grew up & lived here & that's where the trail goes dead.

The topic of player development is everywhere at the moment, but the lack of capable managers who's aspiration it would be to manage their country is just as pronounced.

Anthony Barry is another option but could be tainted from him role currently. Houghton is another option. At least he's shown previously that he's competent. We might have to seek a lesser known individual who's gaining a good reputation. Whatever we go with, it's got to be better than option A.

08/09/2021, 11:05 AM
Is there any interest in revisiting the poll from earlier in the year - https://foot.ie/threads/265641-Poll-Stephen-Kenny-vote-of-confidence
This would be a new poll, with the missing options noted in the thread included

CraftyToePoke
08/09/2021, 11:08 AM
Is there any interest in revisiting the poll from earlier in the year - https://foot.ie/threads/265641-Poll-Stephen-Kenny-vote-of-confidence

Yeah, why not.

08/09/2021, 11:09 AM
I don't think you can compare rugby really. Rugby isn't really a global game, and the IRFU do have money whereas the FAI are quite poor relatively speaking.

The IRFU aren't in danger of losing a coach to London Scottish or to some Chinese team. The FAI really are competing with clubs of that level. So it's more important that we try develop our own coaches, as they're more likely to want to touch the job with a barge pole.

What is required to be a coach of a professional outfit in rugby - certificate wise?

08/09/2021, 11:33 AM

A stick with him
D Jim Goodwin

Only just seeing this gem of a post now.

I'd qualify what you'd say a small bit regarding B & C. Sometimes there are gems waiting to be unearthed. Sometimes those who you wouldn't think would work in a specific situation, does work. I know this will be laughed at, and I'm not suggesting he should be headhunted, but Bielsa's appointment, firstly with Chile, and secondly with Leeds, were both inspired choices. Particularly in Chile, that was the absolute right crazy person, at the right crazy time, with the right unashamedly crazy bunch of players. And his cv was not sparkling up until then, sure being argentina manager means you're certainly high-profile, but he wasn't a success elsewhere.

I've no problem with the FAI looking outside the box for a manager.

A Kelly - we know.
Kiely - successful goalkeeping coach - haven't noticed much comments on his appointment since, and the improvement in Bazunu. Couldn't possibly be related.
Cunningham - has coached some underage teams in Dublin apparently (think he was involved with the Pats 17s maybe?).
Duff, Robbie, Carsley, Reid, we all are aware of them. But that's it.

I think at some point the FAI need to get some credit. If you look at the English FA and their underage staff, they have a lot of solid former pros, but few superstars. When myself and Peter met at the bosnia game in George's Park, I went walkies after the game as I'd time to kill. I saw an England 17s session (sure I wrote about it here) where they had a rake of coaches involved. There were a few recognisable faces (michael Appleton was one), Chopra, but they were more the reserved workmanlike pros involved. They have a lot of that going on. Similarly the FAI have done a relatively good job insofar as they sometimes appoint a famous ex-pro, but a lot the coaches are home-grown, on FAI courses, and quite a few have been through the League of Ireland.
That's why the talk around Kenny is important. We must be one of the only countries in UEFA, where being born, reared and lived in your own country is a deterrent for employment with the senior national team. You've really made a good point there CTP, and it's vital that people are at the very least aware of this. Coach progression is a huge thing, both in aspiration and practice, in mentality but also employment. When you've a majority of coaches being home-based, the first sight of one of them being dumped upon and the language around it, is not great.

08/09/2021, 11:35 AM
I think I read somewhere that St Michael's alone has "produced" 14 current or recent Irish pro rugby players. Overall the schools' system does a large part of the IRFU's development job for it. That's a real advantage. Schools' coaches (who'd also be teachers) are paid for by the schools. At pro level I'm not sure of the coach credentials but many would be ex-players or ex-schools coaches I'd say.

08/09/2021, 11:54 AM
I think I read somewhere that St Michael's alone has "produced" 14 current or recent Irish pro rugby players. Overall the schools' system does a large part of the IRFU's development job for it. That's a real advantage. Schools' coaches (who'd also be teachers) are paid for by the schools. At pro level I'm not sure of the coach credentials but many would be ex-players or ex-schools coaches I'd say.

Yep, hugely so. It has just morphed the old GAA school system really.

And in thinking about it - Kidney, Cullen and O'Gara have all done well in their respective head-coach positions compared to the "foreigners".

08/09/2021, 11:57 AM

Seconded