View Full Version : Stephen Kenny
seanfhear
04/04/2023, 10:22 PM
He'd be England manager right now if he hadn't left BrightonMaybe yeah, good point.
05/04/2023, 6:12 AM
Don't see people like Potter or Rodgers having any interest in the Irish job. Firstly, it takes quite a while to demonstrate that you're making significant progress (6 competitive wins on the trot could take a year rather than a month) and as well as that, I'm not sure how much international success (with a team in Ireland's league at least) is considered evidence that you can cut the mustard in the EPL (any more evidence that already exists about Potter and Rodgers).
Potter's already been offered (and declined) the Leicester job; he'll get another gig out of the FAI's price range. And he'll want that to rebuild his reputation. Rodgers will get more money than the FAI are offering too. Plus we can't really afford to sack Kenny, which we'd have to do.
05/04/2023, 8:40 PM
Potter's already been offered (and declined) the Leicester job; he'll get another gig out of the FAI's price range. And he'll want that to rebuild his reputation. Rodgers will get more money than the FAI are offering too. Plus we can't really afford to sack Kenny, which we'd have to do.
Oh I know they are both miles outside of what the FAI can afford, but even if more money were not an issue, I don't think it's a job that would suit them right now.
ontheotherhand
05/04/2023, 10:50 PM
People who think Rogers or Potter are realistic targets are delightfully optimistic about the current state of the FAI and Irish football in general. Fair play.
Hopefully the emergence of Evan Ferguson will help us become more competitive under Kenny or whoever comes next. We still need someone to supply him but maybe that's Smallbone or Moran who seems to be making the bench at Brighton here and there. For me, a large part of our problem is having no proper frontman or at least nobody who can be relied upon consistently. We've had false dawns / bright patches when one of our many erratic strikers has hit a bit of form (Robinson, Obafemi, Parrot) but nobody has really taken over the mantle from McGoldrick, let alone Keane. Both different players obviously but they offered something up front that we have been lacking. They knew how to play international football and lead the line. The team knew what they could do and we could play to their strengths.
I remember being really excited about the idea of Kenny trying to play a bit of football and having Aaron Connolly, Obafemi and Idah all playing around McGoldrick.....that completely fell apart. At least the 3 young lads are all back on the right road but now Evan has leapfrogged them all. We could still use a bit of experience up there with him I think. At the moment he comes across as the more intelligent and mature of the bunch and he's 18.
06/04/2023, 7:04 AM
Oh I know they are both miles outside of what the FAI can afford, but even if more money were not an issue, I don't think it's a job that would suit them right now.
Yep - it's kind of bizarre that we're even discussing it tbh. For lots of reasons!
Yard of Pace
06/04/2023, 1:45 PM
Alright let's get more realistic:
Terry Connor.
Knows the lads, the set-up, is now 60, perfect age, can call on Mick for advice....
06/04/2023, 2:19 PM
Managerial career: 13 games and no wins.
Is he one of those who's much better suited to being a coach rather than a manager?
CraftyToePoke
06/04/2023, 2:38 PM
Managerial career: 13 games and no wins.
Is he one of those who's much better suited to being a coach rather than a manager?
Maybe get the sarcasm radar serviced there Pineapplers ?
06/04/2023, 3:28 PM
Was it? It can be hard to tell at times on here!
06/04/2023, 3:32 PM
I dunno. It sounds like the budget for a new manager is about two bushels of wheat and an ice-cream every other month. We might need the next manager to be independently wealthy.
seanfhear
06/04/2023, 3:37 PM
I dunno. It sounds like the budget for a new manager is about two bushels of wheat and an ice-cream every other month. We might need the next manager to be independently wealthy.George Soros ? !
06/04/2023, 4:24 PM
Maybe not quite that independently wealthy. Are we still paying Robbie Keane? ;)
Razors left peg
06/04/2023, 5:21 PM
I dunno. It sounds like the budget for a new manager is about two bushels of wheat and an ice-cream every other month. We might need the next manager to be independently wealthy.
I hear Steve Staunton has done quite well for himself
ontheotherhand
06/04/2023, 5:50 PM
Maybe not quite that independently wealthy. Are we still paying Robbie Keane? ;)
That's hard to read even as a joke.
Fixer82
09/04/2023, 10:15 AM
Good to see him at the Dublin derby.
Wonder what he made of Graham Burke and Jack Byrne’s contributions
Eirambler
09/04/2023, 11:33 AM
I think the door is closing on League of Ireland involvement in the senior squad for the foreseeable to be honest. There's just too much depth coming through at a higher level. Other than a keeper coming in as third choice cover or a few players coming in to train with the squad for experience, I can't see anyone from the domestic league being anywhere near the senior team anytime soon.
Are Jack Byrne's two cameo appearances in the Nations League the only competitive League of Ireland appearances for the senior team since the 1980s?
elatedscum
09/04/2023, 1:16 PM
The outlier is perhaps a really really talented kid. Like if Ferguson hadn’t had a British passport, he’d have been in LOI until after his 18th birthday. So he feasibly could be playing LOI now before signing for Brighton in July (or having signed in January).
Obviously Ferguson may not have developed as quickly in LoI and it’d be a lot harder to justify calling him up.
But theoretically if a 17 year old Evan scored 30 goals for Bohs or Rovers last season - I could imagine people wanting a call up.
Right now, Ferizaj and Curtis followed by maybe McManus are the high profile examples of lads who have stayed around like that. But there’s a gulf in class between them and Evan.
ontheotherhand
09/04/2023, 4:44 PM
Byrne is getting close to the levels he hit before and would be useful if he can get there again imop. Plenty will disagree but there's nobody like him in the team. Smallbone maybe the closest? How has Ronan been doing in the states? Moran maybe? Our set pieces would at least improve with Byrne. They were terrible v France. I'd like to have someone like that in the squad for teams who will sit in against us. He'd be well able to play against Gibraltar etc. I don't think Burke is anywhere close even if he was brilliant on Friday. He's a joy to watch at LoI level but I was surprised he got a call up even at his peak.
I'd say Kenny was more interested in Farrugia though to be honest. He's still only 23 and is looking like he could go play at a higher level now.
Overall I'd be shocked if we see a LoI call up in the near future.
Eirambler
09/04/2023, 5:39 PM
The outlier is perhaps a really really talented kid. Like if Ferguson hadn’t had a British passport, he’d have been in LOI until after his 18th birthday. So he feasibly could be playing LOI now before signing for Brighton in July (or having signed in January).
Obviously Ferguson may not have developed as quickly in LoI and it’d be a lot harder to justify calling him up.
But theoretically if a 17 year old Evan scored 30 goals for Bohs or Rovers last season - I could imagine people wanting a call up.
Right now, Ferizaj and Curtis followed by maybe McManus are the high profile examples of lads who have stayed around like that. But there’s a gulf in class between them and Evan.
Fair point. As an aside, I wonder would Ferguson have stayed around if he hadn't been able to go to England? Or would he have gone to continental Europe? Staying at home for a couple of years and getting first team experience might help some players, but someone at his level needed to leave Ireland at 16 to fulfill his potential to be honest.
Eirambler
09/04/2023, 5:42 PM
Byrne is getting close to the levels he hit before and would be useful if he can get there again imop. Plenty will disagree but there's nobody like him in the team. Smallbone maybe the closest? How has Ronan been doing in the states? Moran maybe? Our set pieces would at least improve with Byrne. They were terrible v France. I'd like to have someone like that in the squad for teams who will sit in against us. He'd be well able to play against Gibraltar etc. I don't think Burke is anywhere close even if he was brilliant on Friday. He's a joy to watch at LoI level but I was surprised he got a call up even at his peak.
I'd say Kenny was more interested in Farrugia though to be honest. He's still only 23 and is looking like he could go play at a higher level now.
Overall I'd be shocked if we see a LoI call up in the near future.
I'd call up Mandroiu or Azaz before Byrne at this point to be honest. Smallbone well ahead of all of them at the moment though and Moran will be an interesting one to watch in that position.
09/04/2023, 6:04 PM
Fair point. As an aside, I wonder would Ferguson have stayed around if he hadn't been able to go to England? Or would he have gone to continental Europe? Staying at home for a couple of years and getting first team experience might help some players, but someone at his level needed to leave Ireland at 16 to fulfill his potential to be honest.
Ferguson would have been off to Germany or Italy for sure. Plenty of clubs from continent starting to look at LOI players more and more.
Jack Byrne is probably the only realistic LOI callup for the foreseeable, as he is definitely starting to find form again. He's still the kind of player we really lack in an Ireland jersey too. A bit of creativity in unlocking defences is sorely lacking.
Chris Forrester might have been an option a couple of years ago, and probably should have got a cap when he was doing well at Peterborough, but Hoolahan was still an option then in a similar role, so it's understandable why he didn't. His time is probably passed now though as he turned 30 in December past. A pity though, as he's very much in the camp of 'what could have been'.
I'd call up Mandroiu or Azaz before Byrne at this point to be honest. Smallbone well ahead of all of them at the moment though and Moran will be an interesting one to watch in that position.
Whatever about Azaz, as I don't know an awful lot about him if I'm being honest, but Mandriou couldn't lace Byrnes boots when they're both on form. I don't see Mandriou going beyond a lower level Championship player.
ontheotherhand
09/04/2023, 6:07 PM
Danny and Jack are different players. Haven't seen much of Azaz but he looks promising. Really hoping Smallbone can deliver and yeah Moran getting into the Brighton squad is really encouraging. Zefi seems to be on the right track. Someone needs to be able to feed Ferguson. If we can get him service we are off to the races.
third policeman
10/04/2023, 10:25 AM
Danny and Jack are different players. Haven't seen much of Azaz but he looks promising. Really hoping Smallbone can deliver and yeah Moran getting into the Brighton squad is really encouraging. Zefi seems to be on the right track. Someone needs to be able to feed Ferguson. If we can get him service we are off to the races.
Connell is another player with the potential to raise the quality of our midfield options.
11/04/2023, 1:22 PM
Honorary Post of the Month Award for legitimate use of 'bushels' in a post.
11/04/2023, 1:31 PM
If we're talking about Bohs McManus, then not a hope after what I saw on Friday when he came on. Looked like a lost puppy (not that it was easy to come into a side that was being bullied all over the pitch) but his lack of movement off the ball when Bohs needed something extra was a worry. A blip of course possibly.
Ferizaj didn't seem to do much, albeit he was only on a short while. Watts, Byrne & Burke's movement and touch was a joy to watch (that was hard to write).
And in reply to Nigel, without getting into it, I don't think a call-up for Forrester now would be in anyone's interests, not even the lad himself.
Interesting look at the creativity in the LOI context. Jack Byrne at the elite level, going on this dataset.
Eirambler
11/04/2023, 6:34 PM
It's a shame Byrne never built out his all round game beyond the creative side of it. Probably easier said than done but he could have been some player if he had.
ontheotherhand
11/04/2023, 6:43 PM
It's a shame Byrne never built out his all round game beyond the creative side of it. Probably easier said than done but he could have been some player if he had.
He works really hard for the team as well these days. Puts in a serious shift in terms of pressing and regularly fills in to track men back. Even throws in a tackle when needed. I don't think he gets enough credit for his off the ball work out of possession to be honest. Obviously his primary job is to be in space to receive the ball and move us forward so that's what he spends most of his time doing but he's not out there just swanning around either. Never going to have the physicality to do much more defensively though.
Jd2793
12/04/2023, 8:06 AM
Interesting look at the creativity in the LOI context. Jack Byrne at the elite level, going on this dataset.
no doubt hes elite in loi terms but im pretty sure that data also counts corners so it'll be skewed a bit as he takes all rovers set pieces. he'd probably come out as the best without them counted anyway
Fixer82
12/04/2023, 12:47 PM
no doubt hes elite in loi terms but im pretty sure that data also counts corners so it'll be skewed a bit as he takes all rovers set pieces. he'd probably come out as the best without them counted anyway
I’m sure some of those other players take all set pieces and corners for their teams too
Fixer82
12/04/2023, 12:48 PM
I honestly think certain players just don’t like being away from home. Keith Fahey comes to mind. Keith Treacy probably another who didn’t enjoy being away from Dublin
12/04/2023, 12:58 PM
Both left home really young too
I honestly think certain players just don’t like being away from home. Keith Fahey comes to mind. Keith Treacy probably another who didn’t enjoy being away from Dublin
Certainly think it was an issue for Chris Forrestor too. It wasn’t lack of talent prevented him doing more in the UK. On a selfish level, I’m delighted to have him back at Pats. It took him a while to find his feet again when he returned.
Yard of Pace
12/04/2023, 7:45 PM
Certainly think it was an issue for Chris Forrestor too. It wasn’t lack of talent prevented him doing more in the UK. On a selfish level, I’m delighted to have him back at Pats. It took him a while to find his feet again when he returned.
From what I was told by an ex Pats stalwart, basic malnutrition and the result of having a body that struggled with the rigours of even a training session is most likely what stopped Chrissy kicking on.
He said he had so much talent but was dead at the end of a basic training session because he'd barely eaten a square meal in his life. Kinda sad, really. The guy loved him but implied this would always stand in his way.
Razors left peg
22/04/2023, 4:56 PM
Hes at the Preston Blackburn game today. Parrott ,Cannon and Szmodics all starting
third policeman
22/04/2023, 6:28 PM
Hes at the Preston Blackburn game today. Parrott ,Cannon and Szmodics all starting
Szmodics scores.
Razors left peg
22/04/2023, 8:04 PM
Szmodics scores.
Szmodics played as a striker all game, I don't watch Blackburn enough to know if that's a regular thing. The goal was excellent finish
No normally plays as an attacking midfielder but Sam Gallagher was missing tonight who normally plays CF.
Colbert Report
16/06/2023, 8:40 PM
How much longer does Kenny have left on his contract, and how much to buy him out?
16/06/2023, 9:08 PM
End of the campaign I think?
punkrocket
16/06/2023, 9:57 PM
So, tonight then?
Did laugh at this, but probably November at the earliest unless they wanna sack him or have a clause that allows them to get out. I know managers are contracted till the end of tournaments but there's normally something in contracts that they leave at the end of qualifiers if we don't qualify.
At this stage O'Shea finishing the campaign out as caretaker has more positives than Kenny seeing it out as manager.
weldoninhio
16/06/2023, 11:48 PM
Apparently we’re paying him peanuts that no other manager would take. **** him right off and see how he goes. He’ll be lucky to get back to LOI.
weldoninhio
16/06/2023, 11:49 PM
Or will we get the same Greece are an up and coming team………..
Razors left peg
16/06/2023, 11:54 PM
One of the worst parts about all this is the cnuts who almost celebrate us losing just so they can say they were right on the internet
weldoninhio
17/06/2023, 12:02 AM
One of the worst parts about all this is the cnuts who almost celebrate us losing just so they can say they were right on the internet
Must hurt backing a fcuking donkey. How many years and pots are we behind now. Will we get 4th pot?? Us and San Marino??
But blame everyone else
youngirish
17/06/2023, 6:52 AM
It has been obvious to anyone with even the most limited knowledge of football that Kenny has been well out of his depth since as far back as the Luxembourg defeat and the LOI fan boys who consistently backed him are the reason this disaster has dragged on for as long as it has. Our team has now sank to its lowest point in living memory. It will be years before we recover.
The excuse that we have no money to replace him is only used by this same LOI fan base in the vain hope that we all buy into the fact we can't get somebody better for 540K a year and that we stick with their man in perpetuity. These fanatics then cling onto the insane notion that somehow Kenny will turn a corner despite all evidence to the contrary and they loudly shout down any dissenting voices when we go down to a fighting heroic defeat against France or achieve a narrow victory to Lithuania as proof that, if we stick with their man, tournament qualification is just around the corner. No sequence of bad results will change their minds, they are the worst type of zealots that cannot see the wood for the trees. They are the flat earthers, climate change deniers, Trump supporters and religious fanatics of the football world, not capable of critical thinking. No matter how much evidence they are presented with that is contrary to their beliefs they will dismiss it as untrue and shout down the dissenting voices.
We should never have a LOI manager or any of the LOI players near our International team again after this disaster. It is a basket case league suffering from years of non investment and anybody in it with even a modicum of talent would leave very quickly for better shores.
Regarding the Kenny fan boys a suggestion. Instead of still being on this site defending your previous comments how about you start posting some apologies for the disaster you have helped to unleash on our International team that has ruined the enjoyment of the true fans, those fans that had no agenda and just pointed out what has been obvious for years now, Kenny is a joke, is well out of his depth and has dragged the team into depths that even Stan would never have sank to.
MancIrishWolf
17/06/2023, 7:15 AM
Time for this gibbering wreck to go. He exudes anxiety, evidently can’t motivate the players in critical games and his parochial over-reliance on his ex Under-21 / LOI favourites is severely damaging the future of this team fulfilling their true potential.
Can’t blame Cannon whatsoever for turning us down. Players need to feel loved. There are countless tales of Clough and Ferguson courting players (even sleeping on couches) to ensure they get their man. Yet we discard his talents at the expense of Idah and Parrot to remain in the U21’s, despite quite obviously proving in the same team as the latter his movement, awareness and clinical finishing his far superior (something that the over-inflated ego Andrews, for whom the saying “the hollowest bells ring loudest” is perfectly designed for, witnessed in the flesh this season).
We have an abundance of young kids with great potential in the lower age groups, along with players like Connell, Azaz, Taylor, McNulty, Ebolese, Manning, McNamara emerging as fine young professionals. They need to be guided by a forward thinking manager, with modern coaching methods, who have experienced the big occasions either as part of a management team, or a player. Potential candidates could be…
Kieran McKenna has great youth and coaching experience who has transformed Ipswich this season with an attractive, attacking style.
Mark Kennedy has made Lincoln defensively sound after being Wolves U21 boss and should know a thing about attacking and the big match day experience for Ireland and Liverpool.
Paddy McCarthy has done a brilliant job underage with Palace, who have some of the best young talent in the PL.
Beyond that, the Championship has a load of promising managers if we weren’t going to opt for an Irish manager like Mark Robins has done an amazing job with Coventry, with Ryan Lowe and Liam Rosenior also looking good.
17/06/2023, 9:37 AM
Regarding the Kenny fan boys a suggestion. Instead of still being on this site defending your previous comments how about you start posting some apologies for the disaster you have helped to unleash on our International team that has ruined the enjoyment of the true fans, those fans that had no agenda and just pointed out what has been obvious for years now, Kenny is a joke, is well out of his depth and has dragged the team into depths that even Stan would never have sank to.
I've obviously come from a LOI background and have been Kenny out for a long time (as have LOADS of others) but the weird, petulant, hysterical bile of your post is mind-blowing.
You're obviously hurting a great deal after last night and, maybe (hopefully), you were 'tired and emotional' writing that diatribe but to see a presumably grown man lashing out and blaming internet posters on an obscure website for the plight of the Irish football team would be hilarious if it wasn't so tragic.
I can't even comprehend the depth and quantity of wrong turns an adult would have to take in life to be so invested in their football team that a wave of hostility and fury follows a fairly predictable disappointment.
This is a barely average team with a markedly less than average manager. The true fans, not the borderline deranged making the unwise decision to live vicariously through Adam Idah's not quite 1-goal-in-9 career, should recognise that too and consider that, in addition to Kenny's limitations, this might be more of a contributary factor to our malaise than a handful of lads with an admitedly baffling loyalty to a manager who has largely been flailing since Day 1 and is listing ever more over time.
third policeman
17/06/2023, 10:26 AM
So, we're effectively out of contention after 2 games. Of course there are many extenuating factors and no-one is going to judge Kenny exclusively on the basis of two games (one decent performance and one disorganised and clueless one), BUT it serves absolutely no purpose to persist with a manager who has demonstrated an abject incapacity to get the best out of our playing resources or provide any evidence of tactical coherence or progress. If the FAI allows this dismal spectacle to continue, it will be a fundamental dereliction of duty. The sad thing is that last night was not a surprise. In our heart of hearts, we already knew the most likely outcome of last night's game because we have been here before. The sense of fatalism was only reinforced by the frankly boneheaded selection of Idah to play alongside Ferguson. No-one other than Kenny (motivated by irrational loyalty to "one of his" players), could possibly have imagined that this combination was ever going to gel. The maverick selections and omissions are really only side-issues to a much more basic inadequacy - there is no discernible template, tactical approach or philosophy underpinning our game. It's apparent in the leaden pace, the absence of movement, the inability to retain possession......... Northern Ireland were unlucky not to get a point from Denmark last night. With a much weaker team and a smaller pool of players O'Neil has consistently managed to produce a brand of football that is fluent, positive and attractive. Of course the players must take some responsibility, but it looks like they are being sent out to play with virtually no direction and expected to get on with it. We're not world beaters, but we can do better than this, but not with Kenny