View Full Version : Cork AUL Premier & Premier A 2014/15
Kick-off
28/05/2015, 2:35 PM
I remember was it not last year or year before a referee was physically abused I don't care if you do a 2 day course or 22 year course a lot of responsibility comes down to discipline within the team and management and of course committee I understand players get frustrated but some grief some refs get is going over board people threatening refs to meet them at half time and at full time has happened for years
people give gene respect because he gained respect..Tully never got respect because he taught he was reffing schoolboys and couldn't disagree with him. Its like of gene who should be having a chat with rest of the refs and show them simple things matter when it comes to reffing like showing players and staff respect.but their is a rift between cork referee association in cork so looks like we will have to deal with this for another couple years..
Horse24
28/05/2015, 5:01 PM
You both make excellent points and its part of what I'm saying. It's us versus them and it shouldn't be. I don't know if they do u11s first anymore. Should you have the power to fine after two days training? What are they judged on? Shouldn't we get a say on that? We don't know. Maybe they are told not to engage, but the best refs do engage? We can't play without an official but is that enough reason to hand over nearly fifty quid. Use the captains more-punish the lines more- who knows what the answer is? Does the red get a fair hearing when he isn't there? Nobody knows cos nobody asked!
rooster
28/05/2015, 5:34 PM
Eddie foley is responsible for over seeing the refs and linesmen at AUL games !! Wonder what his view on referees is
Pass pass pass
28/05/2015, 5:53 PM
They dont dish out the fines tho. The league decides that. The top referees make huge blunders and they are professional. I get what your getting at. Maybe a club and refs seminar. Its never going to happen tho because its too easy for fellas to come on here and have a moan.
sorryburnsy
28/05/2015, 6:24 PM
Referees in local leagues have a hard task trying to get every call right when doing the game by themselves,we see it week in week out officials in the top leagues in Europe making mistakes and there is 3 of them on the pitch plus a fourth official to make calls. It's a joke that someone is considered qualified as a ref after a two day course the new recruits should be made to go on a work experience type situation with the top and experienced referees to see how they handle certain situations for a least a few weeks.
The aul is classed as a secondary league to the msl and certain referees buy into this believing they are too good to ref in the league. Maybe they should be a promotion/relagation type situation introduced for refs in the league with a pay structure the premier/premier a refs get 45 euro a game, first/second division 35 euro and third division 28 euro,it would encourage the refs to strive for the bigger pay for the bigger games. Ivan is right something needs to be said at the agm.
sorryburnsy
28/05/2015, 6:36 PM
Next year will see fewer of the top referees in the aul there is an elite panel being made up for the msl that will see those officials do the senior league only and they'll be exempt from being rotated around the various leagues as was previously done. The likes of chalky, Thomas long, mark Barry, Keith Callanan are on the panel as well as anyone on the league of Ireland panel like Dave keeler and ken Hennessy. More ex players should be encouraged to enter the refereeing ranks, I think too many refs nowadays havent played the game and threat it like a job, we need more of the likes of minty,chalkie,tony Thompson,Thomas long, gene Stephens refereeing guys that you can approach and get an explanation about decisions without being treated like a child.
offside Ref
28/05/2015, 7:44 PM
The AUL Premier League play-off between Grattan United A and Glenthorn Celtic A will take place in O’Neill Park on Wednesday, 3 June 2015 at 6.45 p.m.
Referee: Gene Stephens.
Linesmen Tony Thompson and Paul O’Sullivan. There ye go lads thats a good line up of men in charge and thank god they assigned linesmen. Lets hope its a good game. It always is I suppose between these two.
matchsticks
28/05/2015, 8:00 PM
The AUL Premier League play-off between Grattan United A and Glenthorn Celtic A will take place in O’Neill Park on Wednesday, 3 June 2015 at 6.45 p.m.
Linesmen Tony Thompson and Paul O’Sullivan. There ye go lads thats a good line up of men in charge and thank god they assigned linesmen. Lets hope its a good game. It always is I suppose between these two.
Ya your right there. Should be no bother to gene. Especially with linesman. May the best team win :)
Radiostar
28/05/2015, 9:23 PM
Pity it couldn't have been played on a better quality pitch, to decide the premier champions.
1fortheTeam
28/05/2015, 10:13 PM
That's easy for you to say standing on the line I never said he wasn't a top ref. I said he's not able to get up and down anymore. I'm not picking this info from thin air. Your just afraid to criticise any ref on here in case your team next year gets any disadvantage. We all can't agree on here that's what opinions are aboutlisten kid i just say its a tough job they get 1 chance no replay to make a call .im not worried about refs with me or againts me .you can have your opinion that dont make it right geno is right for this big game .
1fortheTeam
28/05/2015, 10:15 PM
Great post!!! what great about that
1fortheTeam
28/05/2015, 10:17 PM
What about Jon Hayes and Johnpaul Nagle taken over Pearse Celtic talks of Kelvin Connally be joining in coming weeks?if so the team to beat next year .
getinthegame
29/05/2015, 12:07 AM
Only one man to ref that game gene Stephens the best ref in the aul,threats players like adults and with respect and I think most teams admire him for that,standard of refs is brutal witnessed a certain Mr murphy a few weeks ago and he was absolutely brutal,unfit,poor decisions and bad attitude,2 refs that I taught were very good when I saw them this year were Liam Murphy and Owen harte.
Agree here with you gene the best man to that game he a fair ref with both teams and talks to players and manager's politely
long-ball
29/05/2015, 7:18 AM
Grattan at home place is like a golf course shouldn't be played there at all.
Kick-off
29/05/2015, 3:58 PM
if so the team to beat next year .
not surprised their is a change happening out their seem to be stuck in 2nd gear with aidan being manager never seemed to get over that final hurdle.saying that think lad has good record 2 semi finals of aoh last 3 years if im not mistaken.
Kick-off
29/05/2015, 3:58 PM
Grattan at home place is like a golf course shouldn't be played there at all.
only pitch in cork you must take a Honda 50 up the hill to take a corner lol
long-ball
29/05/2015, 9:26 PM
only pitch in cork you must take a Honda 50 up the hill to take a corner lol
Lol that place is like a war patch haha
killer"B"
29/05/2015, 10:43 PM
not surprised their is a change happening out their seem to be stuck in 2nd gear with aidan being manager never seemed to get over that final hurdle.saying that think lad has good record 2 semi finals of aoh last 3 years if im not mistaken.
semi finals mean nothing unless you kick on and win it .......
killer"B"
01/06/2015, 9:48 AM
AUL PREMIER PLAY-OFF
The AUL Premier play-off between Grattan United and Glenthorn Celticwill take place at O'Neill Park on Wednesday, 3rd June at 6.45pm.
Referee: Gene Stephens
Linesmen: Tony Thompson and Paul O'Sullivan.
strikeforce
02/06/2015, 7:58 AM
Surely deserved a better playing surface than either of the clubs have.
Barthez
02/06/2015, 1:40 PM
Surely deserved a better playing surface than either of the clubs have.
Should defenetly put this game on in neutral venue . The farm would of been ideal . Glen thorn are up against it now with the crowd the gratten will have waiting for them. I fancy grattan to win.
1for I'm sure will be up there with the famous biro ! Or the famous partner In crime ! ... Hoping next season will be stronger as being honest I'm sure people realise it's a pretty poor prem this season.
1fortheTeam
02/06/2015, 4:32 PM
Surely deserved a better playing surface than either of the clubs have.true kid but whats unfair here is the knocking of both sides for going long ball so if all the experts are right they wont need a good pitch.leagues dont lie this game is being contested by the 2 best teams over the season.hope its a cracker.
strikeforce
02/06/2015, 5:47 PM
Should defenetly put this game on in neutral venue . The farm would of been ideal . Glen thorn are up against it now with the crowd the gratten will have waiting for them. I fancy grattan to win.
1for I'm sure will be up there with the famous biro ! Or the famous partner In crime ! ... Hoping next season will be stronger as being honest I'm sure people realise it's a pretty poor prem this season.
Glenthorn will have a fair amount of support to, so I wouldn't worry to much about that one. 50/50 game in my opinion. This game could go anyway and which ever team has the most appetite for it will win it.
killer"B"
02/06/2015, 9:03 PM
well the two competeing this year where also competeing last in prem A so that says it all id fancy Glenthorn to shade it tomorrow night
matchsticks
03/06/2015, 12:19 PM
MANAGER WANTED.
Applications are invited for the position of Premier Team Manager of Greenwood FC playing in the Cork AUL.
For further information please contact Norma @ 083 3312319
Word on the street is that Gary Kellagher is taking them over
rooster
03/06/2015, 1:23 PM
im pretty sure both Grattan and Glenthorn wont give two hoots what you think Barthez , they both went about there business in the correct manner and got points where no one gave them a chance, they both deserve to be where they are tonight and may the best team win !!!
Kick-off
03/06/2015, 3:06 PM
Word on the street is that Gary Kellagher is taking them over
not sure who that lad is who was he involved with before..
Kick-off
03/06/2015, 3:09 PM
Glenthorn by 2 or 3 tonight for me.. Have much the better overall squad. Heard in work today Shinkwin is definately out and I don't think the other defenders are up to containing Forde and McCarthy.
hard not to disagree with ya dextor for me glenthorn will win game convincently Brendan long deserves a prem medal I hope I will have another one for him next year lol tap tap
Barthez
03/06/2015, 4:47 PM
im pretty sure both Grattan and Glenthorn wont give two hoots what you think Barthez , they both went about there business in the correct manner and got points where no one gave them a chance, they both deserve to be where they are tonight and may the best team win !!! Of course they won't. Just a matter of opinion. All I'm saying is there has been better premier standards in recent seasons. Best of luck to grattan hope they win it ...
matchsticks
03/06/2015, 5:27 PM
not sure who that lad is who was he involved with before..
Casement seniors last year
sorryburnsy
03/06/2015, 7:47 PM
Congratulations to grattan on winning the premier league tonight,wasn't the greatest of games but they took their chances when glenthorn failed to take theirs.keith Harris on goal for grattan pulled off a few brilliant saves on the night.back to back leagues a fantastic achievement for them. Also a word of consolation for glenthorn they can look back on the season with satisfaction to finish runners up in their first season back in the premier league and runners up in the the mossie linnane as well I'm sure they'll be stronger next season.
littleman
03/06/2015, 8:05 PM
Congratulations to all above in O'Neill Park . :)
offside Ref
03/06/2015, 8:11 PM
Well lads its all over and after all the park talk on here Grattan won the league they were the better team all year round and it showed. Also a big well done two glenthorn tgey were also great this year and last but its just unlucky they came runner up to a better more experienced team but credit were credit is due good by over and out for another year !!!!!
long-ball
03/06/2015, 11:16 PM
Well lads its all over and after all the park talk on here Grattan won the league they were the better team all year round and it showed. Also a big well done two glenthorn tgey were also great this year and last but its just unlucky they came runner up to a better more experienced team but credit were credit is due good by over and out for another year !!!!!
Fair play to them but for a team that won the leauge tonight to draw to a team last week with 9 men that shows a lot lol.. Again fair play grattan
1fortheTeam
03/06/2015, 11:17 PM
Congratulations to all above in O'Neill Park . :)well deserved great win tonite ...........glenthorn will be back good side
Barthez
04/06/2015, 12:38 AM
Well done to all involved in grattan in recent weeks. True club men
KrocBoy
04/06/2015, 12:56 AM
Fair play to them but for a team that won the leauge tonight to draw to a team last week with 9 men that shows a lot lol.. Again fair play grattan
And they lost 3-2 at home to a 10 man coachford after being 2-0 up at halftime and they drew 1-1 away to greenwood!!
This league has been a disgrace I think they should hand the trophy over to killreen the sexiest footballing team in the league by far:o
matchsticks
04/06/2015, 8:12 AM
And they lost 3-2 at home to a 10 man coachford after being 2-0 up at halftime and they drew 1-1 away to greenwood!!
This league has been a disgrace I think they should hand the trophy over to killreen the sexiest footballing team in the league by far:o
Ah stop
long-ball
04/06/2015, 9:51 AM
Why should they hand it over to kilreen they did noting. Park are the best team around ther in to many cups that's why the couldn't win the leauge a lot a catching up they had to do but it all came back on them .
Barthez
04/06/2015, 12:04 PM
Why should they hand it over to kilreen they did noting. Park are the best team around ther in to many cups that's why the couldn't win the leauge a lot a catching up they had to do but it all came back on them .
cringe !
Glenbuck
04/06/2015, 5:31 PM
I came away from O Neill Park tonight with one thing on my mind. Fair play to Grattan and commiserations to Glenthorn but last nights events showed me everything that is different from the Aul and the MSL. The decision to play a premier lge play off on that pitch last night was nothing short of an insult to both sets of players, management and the watching Cork football public. Surely after a long hard season which resulted in both teams getting to the top of the lge they deserved a better ending. Again fair play to Grattan.
strikeforce
04/06/2015, 8:11 PM
Fair play to grattan last night. Took their chances while glenthorn didn't and they had many. Pitch was terrible and as someone else said that's the difference between the aul and msl. The cross was the place for that game. Again well done to grattan and to glenthorn a deserved pat on the back. Grattan will strengthen but can glenthorn hold on to their top men. I hope nipper and liam persuade them to and add 2 or 3 more. Both clubs heading in the right direction.
Just my opinion
04/06/2015, 8:39 PM
I came away from O Neill Park tonight with one thing on my mind. Fair play to Grattan and commiserations to Glenthorn but last nights events showed me everything that is different from the Aul and the MSL. The decision to play a premier lge play off on that pitch last night was nothing short of an insult to both sets of players, management and the watching Cork football public. Surely after a long hard season which resulted in both teams getting to the top of the lge they deserved a better ending. Again fair play to Grattan.
Great post!
long-ball
05/06/2015, 9:41 AM
Eoin sweeny is after walking from greenwood any truth in that ?
Luckbox
05/06/2015, 11:18 AM
Surely by saying that it was an insult to play the playoff in O Neill Pk people are insulting Grattan whose home pitch it is? The problem isnt that the playoff was played on that pitch, the problem is that games are being played on these surfaces all season? Whether the game was a home game for Grattan or Glenthorn the pitch was going to be poor, the standard of pitches for a lot of the Premier and Premier A teams just arent good enough, thats where the problem lies.
killer"B"
05/06/2015, 5:50 PM
AUL ROLL OF HONOUR FOR SEASON 2014-15 (http://www.corkaul.com/2015/06/blog-post.html)
HERE IS THE FINAL AUL ROLL OF HONOUR FOR SEASON 2014-15
AOH Cup: Park United (Carrigtwohill Utd)
Linnane Cup: Kilreen Celtic (Glenthorn Celtic)
County Cup: St John Boscos (Buttevant)
City Challenge Cup: Fairview (Glen Celtic B)
St Michael’s Cup: Strand United (Fairview)
Saxone Cup: CFC Banteer (Crescent Ath)
President’s Cup: Pearse Celtic B (Carrigaline United)
Corinthians Cup: UCC A (Lakewood)
Premier: Grattan United (Glenthorn Celtic)
Premier A: Village United (Carrigtwohill United)
AUL 1: Kanturk (Rylane Celtic)
AUL 1A: Knockraha (St John Bosco’s A )
AUL 2: Crescent Ath (Rathcoole Rovers)
AUL 2A: Knocknaheeny Celtic (Glen Celtic B)
AUL 3: Waterloo C (Macroom B)
AUL 3A: Carrigtwohill Utd (Corkbeg)
AUL 3B: Tower FC (Innishvilla B)
Glenbuck
05/06/2015, 6:23 PM
Surely by saying that it was an insult to play the playoff in O Neill Pk people are insulting Grattan whose home pitch it is? The problem isnt that the playoff was played on that pitch, the problem is that games are being played on these surfaces all season? Whether the game was a home game for Grattan or Glenthorn the pitch was going to be poor, the standard of pitches for a lot of the Premier and Premier A teams just arent good enough, thats where the problem lies.Read my post again. My point is that such an important game deserved a better pitch. All the slog for the season to get where these two teams ended up was not easy but to end like this was poor.
Barthez
06/06/2015, 4:21 AM
Read my post again. My point is that such an important game deserved a better pitch. All the slog for the season to get where these two teams ended up was not easy but to end like this was poor.
the game should of been played in the farm,turners cross or even the mardyke would of been great. I compleatly agree ... Surely with all the cash Apple dished to them they could of re laid the pitch for them or something. The aul would really need a kick up the back side for decisions like that but none the less grattan were the best team all year ... In my opinion the best of a bad bunch but can't take anything away from the champions who will be fighting the Retain it next year . Well done
long-ball
06/06/2015, 8:27 AM
Read my post again. My point is that such an important game deserved a better pitch. All the slog for the season to get where these two teams ended up was not easy but to end like this was poor.
The cross was the right place lad grattans pitch is like a pitch and putt course holes every where and the horses on the pitch in all and one of the biggest games of the year played on it fair play to the aul again.
Glenbuck
07/06/2015, 12:59 PM
the game should of been played in the farm,turners cross or even the mardyke would of been great. I compleatly agree ... Surely with all the cash Apple dished to them they could of re laid the pitch for them or something. The aul would really need a kick up the back side for decisions like that but none the less grattan were the best team all year ... In my opinion the best of a bad bunch but can't take anything away from the champions who will be fighting the Retain it next year . Well done I think you are being led astray by the Apple issue. That pitch is only leased by Grattan from City council. Any moneys from the development would have gone to council. Grattan are like any other team in city. Being kept going by local fundraising and the hard work of club officers.