View Full Version : Cork AUL Premier & Premier A 2014/15
1fortheTeam
11/05/2015, 10:13 PM
He couldn't be hounding yet if he hasn't approached me hahaha loli dont need to hound you sure you be in my gaff for a cuppa .
Chiefscout
12/05/2015, 9:36 AM
i dont think so lad .on another note im blarney street manager for the new season looking forward to it .
Congrats mr c
DNG2424
12/05/2015, 1:23 PM
the cork aul needs to invest a bit of time and money in this squad and give them the best chance to win an oscar traynor !!!
What money?
get in the hole
12/05/2015, 1:52 PM
What money?
Thought that was a strange comment too. What money can they invest? They pay for travel, food, pitches etc. not sure what else they can invest into it? As regards to time, again not too sure what can be done. Lads train twice a week and play at the weekends so it's almost impossible to put time into it. There is the makings of a good squad in the aul but no matter who is at the helm no 2 men will have the same opinions on players. In my opinion Micky picked some very average players in his team but who's to say these guys didn't play an absolute blinder when Micky was watching whatever club. It's a thankless job really considering how many different opinions are around. It takes an unbelievable amount of luck too to get anywhere in that competition. Wasn't made any easier for Micky after losing some talented players, Chris akighbe, Gary comerford, the lad calla with killumney (not sure where he is) even Darren lynch up with michaels. Hard to replace that caliber of player.
rooster
12/05/2015, 2:32 PM
http://foot.ie/images/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by DNG2424 http://foot.ie/images/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1818503#post1818503)
What money?
Thought that was a strange comment too. What money can they invest? They pay for travel, food, pitches etc. not sure what else they can invest into it? As regards to time, again not too sure what can be done. Lads train twice a week and play at the weekends so it's almost impossible to put time into it. There is the makings of a good squad in the aul but no matter who is at the helm no 2 men will have the same opinions on players. In my opinion Micky picked some very average players in his team but who's to say these guys didn't play an absolute blinder when Micky was watching whatever club. It's a thankless job really considering how many different opinions are around. It takes an unbelievable amount of luck too to get anywhere in that competition. Wasn't made any easier for Micky after losing some talented players, Chris akighbe, Gary comerford, the lad calla with killumney (not sure where he is) even Darren lynch up with michaels. Hard to replace that caliber of player.
stop lads the aul team played a few challenge games out in CIT, v u19s hardly bank breaking money !!! a weekend or 2 leading up to the group stages would do wonders for that team , most of those players kick lumps out of each other week in week out and are then expected to gel over night !!! Went down to kerry to see them this year and they looked like a sunday pub team coming off the bus !! management decked out in aul tops but noting for the players !!
SecondBall
12/05/2015, 2:39 PM
From speaking to people who have been in and around the AUL team lately, and this is just my opinion based off what I've been told, it's more of a case that the players seemingly don't really want to turn up and train, therefore that's obviously going to filter onto the pitch. If the AUL really want to make this team as good as it can be, everyone needs to work together on it, jig fixtures to suit, get players in who actually want to be there.
When it becomes a chore or a burden and not enjoyable, that's when problems arise and issues come to a head..
I agree with get in the hole 110%, there is the makings of a fine side indeed, just maybe needs building from the bottom up, fresh start and take it from there. Try get someone in who has no previous history with the side, no agenda etc., see how that works. Plus, you need to pick the best eleven, not the best eleven names. Again, just my opinion I'm sure some will agree some will disagree.
oldlegs
12/05/2015, 3:19 PM
Dexter Id say go back to your lab !!!! I have no interest in any form of management in the next few years !!! Plenty of good men out their for the job .
get in the hole
12/05/2015, 4:05 PM
That's a good point second ball. I know of a few very good players who in my own opinion should have been on the team and were really hoping to be involved but weren't picked. Surely these lads who want it would be better than these "names" who are only showing up because they got pestered into it. Maybe every club who has players who want to be involved should be asked to forward names to the manager and then he could pick his side from that list. Basically any club manager who thinks he has a player who could make a difference at Oscar level should ask that player and then forward the name if interest is there. I think a big problem is that a few fellas think it's the cool thing to do to be telling their buddies that they have been asked to play but F that I've better things to do. That spreads then and other lads do the same. At least if players were asked by their club if they want to be forwarded to a shortlist of prospective players then you would see who really wants it and it would get rid of the whole getting chased by mick walsh side of it. Some of these guys say no to mick because they love to tell people they're being chased by Micky Walsh to play on the Oscar traynor side.
SecondBall
12/05/2015, 4:33 PM
That's a good point second ball. I know of a few very good players who in my own opinion should have been on the team and were really hoping to be involved but weren't picked. Surely these lads who want it would be better than these "names" who are only showing up because they got pestered into it. Maybe every club who has players who want to be involved should be asked to forward names to the manager and then he could pick his side from that list. Basically any club manager who thinks he has a player who could make a difference at Oscar level should ask that player and then forward the name if interest is there. I think a big problem is that a few fellas think it's the cool thing to do to be telling their buddies that they have been asked to play but F that I've better things to do. That spreads then and other lads do the same. At least if players were asked by their club if they want to be forwarded to a shortlist of prospective players then you would see who really wants it and it would get rid of the whole getting chased by mick walsh side of it. Some of these guys say no to mick because they love to tell people they're being chased by Micky Walsh to play on the Oscar traynor side.
People who feel proud to be there rather than it be their god given right are the ones who will perform..also very true some fantastic players have been lost by going senior. But for me, that's part and parcel of the real top quality AUL players who fancy it and have the time. For me, I remember when Wayne Hogan and Jonathan Murphy were senior with Casement they looked like they belonged there, same for so many others who went senior and for whatever reason - work/family/location - couldn't stay up there. That attraction of senior league will always be there.
As for the Oscar team, each club should be allowed nominate 5 players, and then let the management team decide who they feel should be invited to be looked at. That could pay off...
get in the hole
12/05/2015, 5:03 PM
But would that be feasible considering how many teams are in the aul? I just think it should be strictly lads who want to be involved and show an interest so having 5 from each club wouldn't neccassarily work. A club may have 5 good enough but only 1 who really wants to play and then he changes his mind because his buddies are saying how stupid it is. There are guys out there who would be proud to represent the aul and who are good enough. Having them get their club to put them forward would be a good start in my eyes.
As for your comment about senior football. There are plenty of guys who prefer aul to senior who could easily play that level. Just the same as there are a frightening amount of so called "senior" players around who would struggle in prem A. I know some amount of guys who are just delighted to walk around telling people they play senior as it automatically puts them on a pedestal in their own eyes. Give them a ball then and they don't know what to do with it.
SecondBall
12/05/2015, 5:25 PM
But would that be feasible considering how many teams are in the aul? I just think it should be strictly lads who want to be involved and show an interest so having 5 from each club wouldn't neccassarily work. A club may have 5 good enough but only 1 who really wants to play and then he changes his mind because his buddies are saying how stupid it is. There are guys out there who would be proud to represent the aul and who are good enough. Having them get their club to put them forward would be a good start in my eyes.
As for your comment about senior football. There are plenty of guys who prefer aul to senior who could easily play that level. Just the same as there are a frightening amount of so called "senior" players around who would struggle in prem A. I know some amount of guys who are just delighted to walk around telling people they play senior as it automatically puts them on a pedestal in their own eyes. Give them a ball then and they don't know what to do with it.
Totally feasible, each club (A teams only) asks all their lads has anyone interest, if people show their hands, you throw them down...it's not like there'd be 300 players out at trials, the mngt team would get each clubs "nominees" some clubs may decide to leave it off entirely, they can then pick the 30 or so they want to bring in for a look. Wouldn't be hard at all to do, and each club wouldn't need to choose five at all, if nobody shows hands, nobody shows. At least then the powers that be in charge of the team will know "well, Player A from this team didn't put himself forward, why should I waste my time watching him". In my defense, i did say may work haha
long-ball
12/05/2015, 8:01 PM
Any results from tonight
1fortheTeam
13/05/2015, 9:27 AM
Dexter Id say go back to your lab !!!! I have no interest in any form of management in the next few years !!! Plenty of good men out their for the job .only one man to fix that job overthehill.mellors would have no agenda only football.
Horse24
13/05/2015, 12:20 PM
only one man to fix that job ..blackstone gaffer overthehill.mellors would have no agenda only football.
We made no comment on the Blarney Street managers job, and would expect the same courtesy.
1fortheTeam
13/05/2015, 3:26 PM
We made no comment on the Blarney Street managers job, and would expect the same courtesy.
relax bud opinion is opinion .i just edited your club name ther for you ,,my opinion of you gaffer is mine .
sorryburnsy
13/05/2015, 3:36 PM
Ivan you should take it as a compliment that Derek is being linked with the job, it shows he must be doing something right with Blackstone Rovers, I also understand your point of view as well ye obviously dont want to lose him to the aul job or any other job at that. Any truth Mickey Walsh went for the blarney street job??????? Congratulations on your reappointment paulie best of luck for the forthcoming season. Best wishes to carrigtwohill in the aoh cup final their lucky to have one of the most genuine, honest men in football in charge of them mickey deasy.
Kick-off
13/05/2015, 3:40 PM
Best man was appointed for blarney at job hands down best man manger around..you know your doing something right when players are approaching you to sign for your team lol
overthehill
13/05/2015, 7:58 PM
You spot on there Kick off! The street will be back in the mix next season big time!
overthehill
13/05/2015, 8:01 PM
Just to put this rumour to bed, I have had nor will have any communication regarding the aul job. Have work in progress in my present position and will be giving 100% to that for the coming season!
sorryburnsy
13/05/2015, 8:22 PM
Fair play Derek for staying loyal to Blackstone,huge strides made on and off the pitch this season.long may the progression contuine,Ivan will sleep well tonight.
sorryburnsy
13/05/2015, 8:25 PM
Derek who you think would be in with a shout for the aul job should it become vacant??any young promising managers in the league???
killer"B"
13/05/2015, 8:47 PM
Derek who you think would be in with a shout for the aul job should it become vacant??any young promising managers in the league???
it is vacant as we speak
overthehill
13/05/2015, 9:03 PM
There are some fine managers in our league but therein lies the problem, all are giving 100% to their clubs and would rather strive to achieve improvement and success over a long season than spend weeks watching games and trying to put a balanced team together after a couple of challenge games for the aul. For me, the candidate must be free from club commitments, be given a 2 or 3 yr term regardless of results in the first year, and any players chosen for the squad MUST give full respect to the HONOUR of representing their league or them or their clubs be punished. In my day players were proud to be called up for AUL Trials, now it seems a burden for some. Different times. I would hope that Mickey Walsh stays on but if he goes back to club management you cant do both jobs!
Just my opinion
13/05/2015, 9:14 PM
There are some fine managers in our league but therein lies the problem, all are giving 100% to their clubs and would rather strive to achieve improvement and success over a long season than spend weeks watching games and trying to put a balanced team together after a couple of challenge games for the aul. For me, the candidate must be free from club commitments, be given a 2 or 3 yr term regardless of results in the first year, and any players chosen for the squad MUST give full respect to the HONOUR of representing their league or them or their clubs be punished. In my day players were proud to be called up for AUL Trials, now it seems a burden for some. Different times. I would hope that Mickey Walsh stays on but if he goes back to club management you cant do both jobs!
I think it'd be very wrong to punish a club in a situation like that. Or even the player who may work shift work or have a young family and already train twice with his club and have a match also. I agree and times have changed and for the worse I'm afraid. Be hard to find a good manager that hasn't a club id imagine but I agree with your point. Is it def that Mickey Walsh is gone and heading back to Coachford??
killer"B"
13/05/2015, 9:49 PM
I think it'd be very wrong to punish a club in a situation like that. Or even the player who may work shift work or have a young family and already train twice with his club and have a match also. I agree and times have changed and for the worse I'm afraid. Be hard to find a good manager that hasn't a club id imagine but I agree with your point. Is it def that Mickey Walsh is gone and heading back to Coachford??
He's gone from his aul manager role
get in the hole
13/05/2015, 10:11 PM
He's gone from his aul manager role
Heard awhile back that he was going back down to coachford next year but also heard he was falling in with rockmount. Personally I think there's absolutely no truth in either story
1fortheTeam
14/05/2015, 10:22 PM
Heard awhile back that he was going back down to coachford next year but also heard he was falling in with rockmount. Personally I think there's absolutely no truth in either story i fancy carrig in aoh cup v park. 1 nil ,respects to park fine outfit finals are hard to call dont matter if its a good game or not .
killer"B"
14/05/2015, 11:37 PM
AUL RESULTS
Tuesday 12th May:
Premier League: Blarney St Ath 6 Glen Celtic 1; Coachford 1 Kilreen Celtic 5.
AUL 2: Leeview Ath 2 Rathcoole Rovers 1; Blackpool Celtic v CFC Banteer (off).
AUL 2A: Park Utd 2 Glenthorn Celtic 0.
Thursday 14th May:
AUL 2A: Knocknaheeny Celtic 4 Glen Celtic 2.
AUL 3B: Bweeng Celtic 2 Strand Utd 3; Waterloo 3 Coachford 1.
killer"B"
15/05/2015, 5:09 AM
CORK AUL FIXTURES
Friday 15th May Ko. 7.30pm
AOH Cup Final
Carrigtwohill Utd A v Park Utd A, Turners Cross, D.Deady, G.Stepens, D.O’Mahony, Paul O’Sullivan
Saturday 16th May, Ko 2.00pm
City Challenge Cup Semi Final
Glen Celtic B v Crescent Ath, Glen Pk, John.Thompson
Premier League
Glentorn Celtic v Pearse Celtic, Glenthorn Pk, G.Stephens
Greenwood v Kilreen Celtic, Leaghanamore, D.O’Mahony
AUL 3A
Temple Utd v St John Boscos, Temple Pk, B.O’Regan
AUL 3B
Innishvilla v Los Zarcos, Knocknacurra, Innishannon, Tony Thompson
Tower FC v Coachford, Killowen, R.Crean
Sunday 17th May Ko 10.45 am
City Challenge Cup Semi Final
Fairview v Lakewood Ath, Fairfield, D.Cronin
Premier A League
Innishvilla v Springfield, Knocknacurra , Innishannon, E.Harte
AUL 2
Ballinhassig v Newmarket Town, Gortnaglough, Liam Murphy
Monday 18th May Ko 7.00pm
Premier League
Park Utd A v Grattan Utd, Brigown, G.Stephens
the owl
15/05/2015, 6:52 AM
Best of luck to Carrig tonight in the AOH. Really hope they do it. Huge night for the club.
long-ball
15/05/2015, 10:00 AM
I think park are a good thing tonight 4-0 best of luck to park.
Pass pass pass
15/05/2015, 2:44 PM
I think park are a good thing tonight 4-0 best of luck to park.
Best of luck to both sides tonight. Park win handy for me aswell in the usual bad final.
get in the hole
15/05/2015, 3:30 PM
Never know in a final but an easy win for park I would think. Should have far too much for carig
Best of luck to carrig tonight.2 1 win for carrig i think.hope dan leaves game flow
Radiostar
15/05/2015, 5:55 PM
If the game is tight, I'd fancy Carrig!
matchsticks
15/05/2015, 6:35 PM
Would like to see the underdog win tonight. Think carrig have a great chance. il go park on penalties though
Leftside
15/05/2015, 6:36 PM
Some crowd at the AOH. Fair play to both teams for having such support. Some LOI teams wouldn't have this crowd.
Leftside
15/05/2015, 6:44 PM
All Park at the minute. 3 good chances & just hit the bar from a corner. Still 0-0. Carrig looking nervous and need to settle. Good game so far.
Leftside
15/05/2015, 6:51 PM
1-0 park. Carrigtwohill defender tried to clear the ball but drove it off Cahill. He took the ball past the defender and slotted home
Leftside
15/05/2015, 6:57 PM
2-0 park. Good cross from the left to Colin Stack who had a tap in from 3 yards.
injurytime
15/05/2015, 6:59 PM
All park so far hope it isn't a 4 or 5 nil win
injurytime
15/05/2015, 7:00 PM
Looks like parks experience is showing all park not long left to the half park wingers looking more dangerous as the game goes on..
Leftside
15/05/2015, 7:05 PM
3-0. 10 to play in first half. Poor defending, ball not cleared. Played straight to Willie O'Brien to tap home.
Leftside
15/05/2015, 7:09 PM
4-0. Cahill again.
long-ball
15/05/2015, 7:22 PM
Lads by the looks of things if carrig stayed there till next week they still wouldn't score
injurytime
15/05/2015, 7:35 PM
Most one sided final I have witnessed so far are carrig that bad or are park that good..
Leftside
15/05/2015, 7:35 PM
Carrig have started the second half a lot better than they played in the first. They've got the ball out of the air and on the deck & are trying to play a bit. Parks pace on the counter is frightening.
Leftside
15/05/2015, 7:38 PM
Carrig scored. Free kick pumped into the box flicked onto Delea who scored with a decent finish.
Leftside
15/05/2015, 7:41 PM
5-1. Cahill Hat Trick
injurytime
15/05/2015, 7:49 PM
It's literally like a training game for park