View Full Version : Cork AUL 2012/13
20/12/2012, 3:26 PM
Lads there's a thread elsewhere in Junior League dedicated to talking about the above,keep it out of this thread please.
BobblePark
20/12/2012, 3:44 PM
We've dragged this out a bit so I'll make a final couple of points and then I'll clear off:
1) I used the word cheat because it is appropiate in these circumstances.
2) If we had lost and I had come on here complaining about an illegal player some would have accused me of sour grapes which is why I came on after winning. I'm just making the point that our club was made aware of a player who wasn't eligible. We have no intention of doing anymore as there would be no gain but maybe for the good of the game all teams will apply the rules.
As for Bobblepark's comment I totally agree with you and I am assuming your comment about payment of players/managers is not aimed at Clonmel Celtic.
Good luck and enjoy your Christmas
Not at all pointed at Clonmel Celtic. ( I've played down there in the past and had to have a shower in a room over a pub once so i doubt your paying players:curl: )
But it does go on would you not agree. My point is that thats cheating thats pretty much going on in the open and nothing is being done about it.
a player signing 13 instead of 14 days before a game is trivial in comparison. It could even be done unintentionaly.
1fortheTeam
20/12/2012, 4:44 PM
well not much going on its xmas time so i wish everyone a good one from me and my buddy zico;).
The Boar
20/12/2012, 8:55 PM
Cork refs robbing cork teams has being going on for years..it goes on at all levels including schoolboys...they should be ashamed of themselves for doing it...a good cork ref once told me that there are always fai reps at big games and week refs try to show them that they are not biost and by trying to do that they actually end up favouring the away team more so than not...but when you travel away in the fai junior and the intermediate cup you also get robbed...no wonder it was donkeys since a cork team won the fai junior when even our own refs are robbing us...
That is the truest comment made on this matter I was at the match in the farm last Sunday but my laptop has been down so didn't get a chance to read comments on the game til now. Cork refs are never fair to their own you go to any other county and they will always be fair to their own so yes Cork will never win FAI or any major Cup until Cork Refs wake up, and as for the AUL the Chairman Ted O'Mahony was there I'd like to know what he thought of the shocking decisions the ref made. I was disappointed with the Killumney goalkeeper getting himself sent off for mouthing I understood his frustration but getting sent off when you know there is extra time coming was a bit thoughtless. I also couldn't understand why the Killumney manager didn't bring on their sub goalie he used to play with them last year instead of putting a midfielder into goal a lad that was having a stormer, and then made the change after Clonmel scored the 3rd goal, but it was a great game to watch and a great team performance by Killumney they were unlucky at the end of extra time not to score I don't know how the ball stayed out of the net, the Clonmel player did well clearing it off the line.
oldlegs
21/12/2012, 10:25 AM
Merry x mass to all and a Happy new year . See ye all in jan .
hotspur
21/12/2012, 11:25 AM
That is the truest comment made on this matter I was at the match in the farm last Sunday but my laptop has been down so didn't get a chance to read comments on the game til now. Cork refs are never fair to their own you go to any other county and they will always be fair to their own so yes Cork will never win FAI or any major Cup until Cork Refs wake up, and as for the AUL the Chairman Ted O'Mahony was there I'd like to know what he thought of the shocking decisions the ref made. I was disappointed with the Killumney goalkeeper getting himself sent off for mouthing I understood his frustration but getting sent off when you know there is extra time coming was a bit thoughtless. I also couldn't understand why the Killumney manager didn't bring on their sub goalie he used to play with them last year instead of putting a midfielder into goal a lad that was having a stormer, and then made the change after Clonmel scored the 3rd goal, but it was a great game to watch and a great team performance by Killumney they were unlucky at the end of extra time not to score I don't know how the ball stayed out of the net, the Clonmel player did well clearing it off the line.
Are you honestly saying that the reason a Cork team will never win an fai is because of yere refs,ah come on now,Avondale seem to be doing ok in fai intermediate,or do they play all their games away,ridiculous comment,if your good enough you'll win it.
1fortheTeam
21/12/2012, 11:38 AM
Are you honestly saying that the reason a Cork team will never win an fai is because of yere refs,ah come on now,Avondale seem to be doing ok in fai intermediate,or do they play all their games away,ridiculous comment,if your good enough you'll win it.avondale are not hiding behind what they truly are and they are a fantastic team.cork refs are under pressure and like to look good to the away teams that a fact.
hotspur
21/12/2012, 1:04 PM
avondale are not hiding behind what they truly are and they are a fantastic team.cork refs are under pressure and like to look good to the away teams that a fact.
Happens in all counties not just Cork,but to blame them is nothing short of ludicrous in all fairness.and what do you mean by Avondale are not hiding behind what they reall are??
The Boar
21/12/2012, 1:47 PM
Are you honestly saying that the reason a Cork team will never win an fai is because of yere refs,ah come on now,Avondale seem to be doing ok in fai intermediate,or do they play all their games away,ridiculous comment,if your good enough you'll win it.
Not really what I meant Cork teams are good enough to win FAI but as everyone knows a little bit of luck helps to and when your own refs are more worried about seeming fair to the opposition than concentrating on making correct and fair decisions to the teams during the match, they are always going to make calls against their own to make themselves as they think look fair to the opposition, they must loose that attitude in order to be fair to their own teams too. Just my opinion.
1fortheTeam
21/12/2012, 1:47 PM
Happens in all counties not just Cork,but to blame them is nothing short of ludicrous in all fairness.and what do you mean by Avondale are not hiding behind what they reall are??we have been warned not to talk on that matter here so on that note happy xmas to you from me and and all here in the cork aul :cool:.
thebooboys
21/12/2012, 3:18 PM
Not really what I meant Cork teams are good enough to win FAI but as everyone knows a little bit of luck helps to and when your own refs are more worried about seeming fair to the opposition than concentrating on making correct and fair decisions to the teams during the match, they are always going to make calls against their own to make themselves as they think look fair to the opposition, they must loose that attitude in order to be fair to their own teams too. Just my opinion.
Boar, have to say I disagree. Cork teams haven't won an FAI in donkey's years & it's not soley down to Refs, irrespective of what may have happened in that Killumney game
hotspur
21/12/2012, 5:13 PM
we have been warned not to talk on that matter here so on that note happy xmas to you from me and and all here in the cork aul :cool:.
And to you and yours too pal,
schoolboygodno9
21/12/2012, 5:15 PM
A cork team will never win the fai because the standard isnt good enough as u have senior level teams at junior level in other counties as there no senior league if people think otherwise there codding themselves regardless of refs pitches etc
1fortheTeam
21/12/2012, 5:24 PM
A cork team will never win the fai because the standard isnt good enough as u have senior level teams at junior level in other counties as there no senior league if people think otherwise there codding themselves regardless of refs pitches etcid say spot on god9.
tricksey
21/12/2012, 5:44 PM
A cork team will never win the fai because the standard isnt good enough as u have senior level teams at junior level in other counties as there no senior league if people think otherwise there codding themselves regardless of refs pitches etc
That doesn't mean teams won't set out to win it !
No point in entering it otherwise
schoolboygodno9
21/12/2012, 6:40 PM
That doesn't mean teams won't set out to win it !
No point in entering it otherwise
enter away nothing like a good cup run but can you see any team in the prem at the moment that would get next or near it when was the last time a cork team got past the quarters , hopefully tricksey pearse will prove me wrong and go further than any team for a long time
tricksey
21/12/2012, 7:01 PM
enter away nothing like a good cup run but can you see any team in the prem at the moment that would get next or near it when was the last time a cork team got past the quarters , hopefully tricksey pearse will prove me wrong and go further than any team for a long time
Hopefully schoolboy a fairy tale cup run haha.
On a serious note tho I no were (cork) are at a disadvantage with our senior league but Dublin also have a senior league and there teams seem to have No problom in competing for the fai junior cup.
I wonder down here do we just feel sorry for ourselves too much if we're not good enough and blame everything but ourselves just a thought.
our_ball_ref
21/12/2012, 7:14 PM
Congratulations to Killumney United FC on winning team of the month for November!! Well deserved to be fair..
tricksey
21/12/2012, 7:18 PM
Fair play to ye our ball
schoolboygodno9
21/12/2012, 7:18 PM
ya but look at the size of dublin compared to here player wise its probably 4 to 1 they all cant play senior ,plus the pikes st micheals and waterford teams are as good as most senior league teams we played tramore afc last year down in waterford we couldnt get the ball off them for long periods we could have been 7 down at half time and theres no team in the prem that can play like that believe me at the end of the day the only chance of a national cup coming to cork is the intermediate cup or cork city under 19s win something , im not putting down the aul or anything but the standard is just not there wholesale a few players good enough to play senior msl with the top sides but thats it
our_ball_ref
21/12/2012, 7:20 PM
I think Dublin just have a much bigger population so it doesn't affect them as much, plus the GAA down here is always going to be the number 1 sport, I can imagine how many teams get excellent players while the GAA is is finished but soon as it starts again there straight out the door, I know a few teams who struggle with it and Castleview could gain as much as 6-7 players when Vincent's finish up every year, now imagine they had them all year?? Killumney had Michael shields out for a bit but Cork are back now so he's with them again.. Don't think it affects Dublin teams as much... This isn't an excuse either I personally think no team in cork are good enough to win the FAI at the moment and prob wont be for a long time!! Hope pearse show is all that we are wrong tho!!
tricksey
21/12/2012, 7:30 PM
I agree with the size difference and the gaa dilemma.
Don't forget park are still in there aswell hopefully we both get a bit of luck on our way
thebooboys
21/12/2012, 7:36 PM
Kinsale got to last 8 a few years back and we got to last 16 in 2009/2010, knocked out by St Peters and Pike in FAI & MJL that year
The Boar
21/12/2012, 8:19 PM
Boar, have to say I disagree. Cork teams haven't won an FAI in donkey's years & it's not soley down to Refs, irrespective of what may have happened in that Killumney game
Never meant to apply that it was all down to the refs that Cork teams aren't winning FAI that would be stupid in order to win an FAI Cup it takes commitment, dedication and a lot of hard along with talented players, and yes we do have teams in Cork that can do that, it's a pity to read such negativity on here, imagine not entering these competitions, even worse is entering them and not thinking that you can have a decent go at them, come on lads show a small bit of positivism on here or we might as well not take part at all, ye are not showing our clubs, teams or players much enthusiasm or future for Cork soccer
The Boar
21/12/2012, 8:21 PM
Congratulations to Killumney United FC on winning team of the month for November!! Well deserved to be fair..
Didn't know Killumney got November team of the month well done to them, I agree well deserved...
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to all of you from everyone at Kilreen Celtic. Best of luck in the new year lads.
oldlegs
28/12/2012, 9:36 AM
Best of luck to Innishvilla Sunday week do the Parish proud nearly tempted to go watch ye might book a weekend away for myself and the wife :) wonder how that would go down with her .
tricksey
30/12/2012, 1:14 PM
Anyone with news over the Christmas lads ? Heard blarney streets chairman in charge until the end of the season.
Hope all clubs have a great start to the new year
1fortheTeam
31/12/2012, 9:19 AM
Anyone with news over the Christmas lads ? Heard blarney streets chairman in charge until the end of the season.
Hope all clubs have a great start to the new yeari hear the lad forde staying at blackstone thats great news for them .i wish the hill and horse well for the rest of the season and hope their hard work pays off.
IWasOnside
31/12/2012, 5:18 PM
Eric Shinkwin, Brian O'Sullivan and Toodlom are Grattan United players. More to follow...
schoolboygodno9
02/01/2013, 8:55 AM
Has fleming played for two clubs already mayfield and everton ?
six-yard-box
02/01/2013, 2:35 PM
Has fleming played for two clubs already mayfield and everton ?
didnt kick a ball for mayfield this season
1fortheTeam
02/01/2013, 4:27 PM
douglas hall v the glen a this friday should be a cracker.
thebooboys
02/01/2013, 7:21 PM
was there many games about during the break or did teams just use the gap to recharge the batteries?
We drew with Dunmanway on carrig astro 2 days ago
IWasOnside
02/01/2013, 8:57 PM
Eric Fleming also to gratton beat luck to Brian Sullivan going back their
Not true.
mardyke
02/01/2013, 9:21 PM
Whose managing Grattan now lads.
tricksey
03/01/2013, 12:39 AM
didnt kick a ball for mayfield this season
If he signed with mayfield he doesn't have to play and it still counts as a club
corkey121
03/01/2013, 6:41 AM
Douglas Hall (msl junior) beat Park utd (Aul prem) 3-0 up on theyre astro pitch, one sided i heard.
schoolboygodno9
03/01/2013, 1:42 PM
Anyone know anything bout strand what there like we have them on sat
IWasOnside
03/01/2013, 4:44 PM
Whose managing Grattan now lads.
Pat Caulfield
Leftside
03/01/2013, 9:09 PM
Leeside 3 Leeview 2 tonight. Good workout before we get back to the competitive games this weekend.
nononsense
03/01/2013, 10:16 PM
If he signed with mayfield he doesn't have to play and it still counts as a club
Incorrect. A player can sign for 3 clubs but can only play for two. If he signed for Mayfield, but didnt play for them, he can play for a third club.
Radiostar
03/01/2013, 11:46 PM
I don't think that's right Nononsense! But I could be wrong.
1fortheTeam
04/01/2013, 1:34 PM
glen celtic and douglas hall game off weekend lads what do ye think.its on the plastic hubba so its on id say.
corkgaffer
04/01/2013, 4:49 PM
Leeside 3 Leeview 2 tonight. Good workout before we get back to the competitive games this weekend.
Was an enjoyable game for all concerned. Leeview look hungry and will give most teams visiting Mayfield or hosting them a very difficult time with their mobility. I wouldn't read too much into their league form or current position to date. They seem to be making the right appointments in terms of coaching personell and have a decent squad with 2 or 3 for every position. A fine example of a club riding out the first few difficult season after starting up and now progressing well. Theres always a lot of talk about the big premier clubs and their achievements but there are times when we should all look at and appreciate the achievements and thankless hard work being done every week in the lower leagues by managers and players alike. Well done to all concerned
tricksey
04/01/2013, 6:15 PM
Castleview v pearse off tommorrow
Leftside
04/01/2013, 8:51 PM
Douglas Hall 0 Glen Celtic 1. First time I've seen both teams this season. Very good physical game. Hav to say that Mark Nolan is a class act, they tried to batter him but he kept going and controlled the midfield. Steve Barry for the Hall and Barry Donovan for the Glen look dangerous evertytime they got the ball. Either team would be in with a shout for the AOH If we weren't still in it. LOL
1fortheTeam
04/01/2013, 9:12 PM
Douglas Hall 0 Glen Celtic 1. First time I've seen both teams this season. Very good physical game. Hav to say that Mark Nolan is a class act, they tried to batter him but he kept going and controlled the midfield. Steve Barry for the Hall and Barry Donovan for the Glen look dangerous evertytime they got the ball. Either team would be in with a shout for the AOH If we weren't still in it. LOL
the glen showed tonite just how good they are in fairness to them despite the ref doing all he could to wreck the game in favor of the hall all nite .douglas are a good team great win by the glen.nolan for me is the top player in cork at the moment and what a player peters is he will realy learn from the players in that team .shambo and barry o d would grace any team. vinnie and calvin mc awsome brendon long class in goal well done glen cel A.
nononsense
04/01/2013, 9:27 PM
I don't think that's right Nononsense! But I could be wrong.
F.A.I. rule book, rule 32, section 3, ''Players may be registered for a maximum of 3 clubs during the current season. During this period the player is only eligible to play in official matches for 2 clubs.''
Could I also point out rule 10 in the same rule book which states the F.A.I. rules supersede divisonal rule books. So whatever it says in the Cork A.U.L. rule book, or any divisional rule book, the F.A.I. rule book overrules it.
The Boar
04/01/2013, 10:29 PM
Happy New Year to all its great that games are back on hope the weather is kind to us for the weekend now good luck to everyone for the remainder of the season and here's to some great games.:)