View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73

20/07/2018, 8:06 AM
Move to Stoke set to be completed soon according to this: https://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/stoke-city-transfer-ince-chester-1805441

The James McClean saga rumbles on but it is hoped he will also be unveiled as a Stoke player by finalising a move from West Brom worth about £5m.

punkrocket
20/07/2018, 9:49 AM
He just loves playing in stripes

seanfhear
20/07/2018, 10:53 AM
Move to stone set to be completed soon according to this: https://www.stokesentinel.co.uk/sport/football/transfer-news/stoke-city-transfer-ince-chester-1805441So , they are going to Stone him , OMG !

20/07/2018, 11:27 AM
So , they are going to Stone him , OMG !

posted on my phone, missed that

20/07/2018, 11:41 AM
Bit of a strange move, jumping from one relegated team to another?

dr_peepee
20/07/2018, 2:02 PM
I think Stoke are trying to replicate Newcastle’s signing policy from a couple of years ago to go straight back up. There’s a more than decent wedge in it for him, I’d say

Colbert Report
21/07/2018, 3:10 PM
Very disappointed in his actions to secure this move to Stoke. You sign a contract, you should honour it.

25/08/2018, 2:28 PM
first goal for stoke today. too many pounced to blame him for the stoke bust up during the week without knowing the facts. best way to respond

liamoo11
25/08/2018, 6:13 PM
first goal for stoke today. too many pounced to blame him for the stoke bust up during the week without knowing the facts. best way to respond

what Are The facts?

27/08/2018, 8:49 AM
what Are The facts?

even Niall Quinn had a few words last week that assumed McClean was to blame and I doubt he knew what had actually happened.
I think this might suggest who the stoke manager doesn't blame anyway...
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/0826/987596-rowett-wants-more-james-mccleans-at-stoke/

02/10/2018, 6:49 PM
Named on the bench for Stoke

DeLorean
05/11/2018, 1:45 PM
Both the F.A. and Stoke City are investigating McClean's "uneducated cavemen" comments - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46095169

Meanwhile, Nemanja Matic explains his decision to stop wearing one - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46099843

Diggs246
05/11/2018, 2:00 PM
Both the F.A. and Stoke City are investigating McClean's "uneducated cavemen" comments - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46095169

Meanwhile, Nemanja Matic explains his decision to stop wearing one - https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/46099843

It will be fascinating to see the brits reaction to Matic

05/11/2018, 2:12 PM

From RTE:

After hearing of the investigation, McClean reacted strongly this afternoon.

He said the FA are treating him differently and ignore the abuse he receives at grounds in England.

He said on Instagram: "The FA are investigating me after Saturday's game, for what exactly?

"Yet week in week out for the past seven years I get constant sectarian abuse, death threats, objects being thrown, chanting which is heard loud and clear every week which my family, wife and kids have to listen to.

"They turn a blind eye and not a single word or condemnation of any sort.

"Huddesfield away last year while playing for West Brom where there was an incident with their fans which was on the game highlights, where the cameras clearly caught it, yet the FA when [a] complaint was made to them said there 'was not enough evidence'.

"If it was a person's skin colour or if it was anti-Muslim, someone's gender, there would be an uproar and it would be taken in a completely different way and dealt with in a different manner.

"But like in Neil Lennon's case in Scotland, because we are Irish catholics, they turn a blind eye and nothing is ever said and done."

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/1105/1008748-fa-and-stoke-investigating-mccleans-instagram-post/

Diggs246
05/11/2018, 2:21 PM
From RTE:

https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2018/1105/1008748-fa-and-stoke-investigating-mccleans-instagram-post/

I think James doesn't realise its his Bobby Sands quote is why he is been investigated

Olé Olé
05/11/2018, 2:22 PM
I do agree with what he's saying but he doesn't need to say it and he's making himself a lightning rod for the abuse and criticism. It's admirable in many respects but in other respects it's a bit silly.

Matic doesn't appear to have been receiving such vicious abuse and I think that's due to the way he is as a person, a bit more reserved and less divisive than James.

He's some character nonetheless.

Olé Olé
05/11/2018, 2:23 PM
I think James doesn't realise its his Bobby Sands quote is why he is been investigated

I'm sure he realises what he is and isn't being investigated for.

Diggs246
05/11/2018, 2:26 PM
I'm sure he realises what he is and isn't being investigated for.

His instagram post would argue differently, he hasn't referenced it

seanfhear
05/11/2018, 3:10 PM
I wonder would James be any good negotiating Brexit .

05/11/2018, 3:59 PM

BBC didn't mention the Bobby Sands quote, but did mention the 'uneducated cavemen' bit.

I don't see anything in that worth investigating, but don't think it's smart or necessary to be playing a 'discrimination against Irish Catholics' card either.

Diggs246
05/11/2018, 5:18 PM
BBC didn't mention the Bobby Sands quote, but did mention the 'uneducated cavemen' bit.

I don't see anything in that worth investigating, but don't think it's smart or necessary to be playing a 'discrimination against Irish Catholics' card either.

His mentioning of his religion is total ignorance. Im an atheist and my wife is a prod. We are just as Irish as him.

05/11/2018, 5:23 PM
His mentioning of his religion is total ignorance. Im an atheist and my wife is a prod. We are just as Irish as him.
He was hardly suggesting otherwise. It's pretty obvious the majority religion of his community is one of the reasons for the abuse he gets, and arguably why the FA turns a blind eye to it.

Diggs246
05/11/2018, 6:11 PM
He was hardly suggesting otherwise. It's pretty obvious the majority religion of his community is one of the reasons for the abuse he gets, and arguably why the FA turns a blind eye to it.

No fair enough. I regretted my post within a minute of posting it. But james needs to watch the content of his social media activity

The Fly
05/11/2018, 7:03 PM

It's not 'total ignorance', it's just relative to where he's from.

edit - Just saw Charlie's post.

05/11/2018, 8:16 PM
He's escaped with a warning. It seems the issue was the use of the c word which he subsequently obfuscated. There found no issue with the cavemen comment or quoting MP Bobby Sands obviously.

Fixer82
06/11/2018, 11:41 AM
He is bang on. Fair play to him for standing strong. Why should he keep his head down among the abuse he gets constantly? The uneducated ‘no surrender to the IRA’ cavemen brigade should be called out for what they are.

DeLorean
06/11/2018, 11:57 AM
Yeah, I'm not always fully on McClean's side but I'm really rooting for him here.

So, the F.A. have dealt with his initial rant. Will they have anything to say about his comments relating to their investigation? That would be far more interesting but I suspect they won't want to go near it.

06/11/2018, 1:32 PM
No fair enough. I regretted my post within a minute of posting it. But james needs to watch the content of his social media activity

Someone needs to tell him this! :)

07/11/2018, 10:58 AM
He is bang on. Fair play to him for standing strong. Why should he keep his head down among the abuse he gets constantly? The uneducated ‘no surrender to the IRA’ cavemen brigade should be called out for what they are.

You would think that the Brits had a monopoly on fallen soldiers.

No other country in the world does this. 3 long weeks every autumn when the UK goes all poppy, and insist that everyone complies. Foreign players should not be obliged to wear them, if they choose not to. It's not their culture, I'm sure many don't like it. Although McClean would be better off keeping his mouth shut about it every year. It's common knowledge by now why he refuses, he doesn't have to explain himself every year.

Olé Olé
07/11/2018, 11:24 AM
We should all be wearing poppies out of respect for the fallen also, after our antics when we mercilessly murdered British soliders during our War of Independence. Lest we forget.

07/11/2018, 11:42 AM
We should all be wearing poppies out of respect for the fallen also, after our antics when we mercilessly murdered British soliders during our War of Independence. Lest we forget.

What? Should we? Or is that sarcasm?

I don't feel any inclination to do so anyway. And if James doesn't, that should be up to him. The storm over wearing one or not is ridiculous.

All that said, there's still nothing smart or principled about wading into an online argument calling people cavemen and c**ts. It can only ever end badly for him, and he must know this.

Olé Olé
07/11/2018, 11:52 AM
What? Should we? Or is that sarcasm?

I don't feel any inclination to do so anyway. And if James doesn't, that should be up to him. The storm over wearing one or not is ridiculous.

All that said, there's still nothing smart or principled about wading into an online argument calling people cavemen and c**ts. It can only ever end badly for him, and he must know this.
I couldn't be more sarcastic.

mark12345
07/11/2018, 10:21 PM

"the majority religion of his community is one of the reasons for the abuse he gets."
So let me get this straight. James McClean has played for a few English clubs at this stage of his career. They thought nothing about his religion when they signed him in each case. Neither did it matter one iota to the fans at any of those clubs where James goes to pray on a Sunday. But it obviously does matter to those fans that James disrespects their military veterans by not observing the poppy ceremony. I love James's commitment to Ireland, and wish more were like him, but in all honesty James should have walked away from English football (to the continent I would suggest) when this became an issue a couple of years ago. His behavior is disrespectful to the people who pay his wages, and that is never a good situation to be in.

mark12345
07/11/2018, 10:26 PM

No other country in the world does this. 3 long weeks every autumn when the UK goes all poppy, and insist that everyone complies. Foreign players should not be obliged to wear them, if they choose not to. It's not their culture, I'm sure many don't like it. Although McClean would be better off keeping his mouth shut about it every year. It's common knowledge by now why he refuses, he doesn't have to explain himself every year.

Foreign players should respect the wishes of the fans that pay their wages. Really if they had the courage of their convictions (assuming this is so distasteful to them) they should never be playing in Britain in the first place. There are plenty of other places to go to play your football.

sbgawa
07/11/2018, 10:53 PM
Yeah the Muslims shouldn't wear their clothes burqua etc in England. There are plenty of other countries where they could do that and fit in.
Just like mcclean they shouldn't go to england

The Fly
07/11/2018, 11:14 PM

My own theory on it is that the growth in everything surrounding Remembrance Day is related to the incremental decline of the British polity and identity. It has become, to some degree, a kind of national British day.

08/11/2018, 12:33 AM
"the majority religion of his community is one of the reasons for the abuse he gets."
So let me get this straight. James McClean has played for a few English clubs at this stage of his career. They thought nothing about his religion when they signed him in each case. Neither did it matter one iota to the fans at any of those clubs where James goes to pray on a Sunday. But it obviously does matter to those fans that James disrespects their military veterans by not observing the poppy ceremony. I love James's commitment to Ireland, and wish more were like him, but in all honesty James should have walked away from English football (to the continent I would suggest) when this became an issue a couple of years ago. His behavior is disrespectful to the people who pay his wages, and that is never a good situation to be in.
That's a non sequitur. Just because people apparently didn't have a problem with McClean's religion before doesn't mean it doesn't inform their behaviour towards him now.

08/11/2018, 6:15 PM
Foreign players should respect the wishes of the fans that pay their wages. Really if they had the courage of their convictions (assuming this is so distasteful to them) they should never be playing in Britain in the first place. There are plenty of other places to go to play your football.

Such as? We are talking about Irish footballers here. Where else do they go if they want to make it? They can't go abroad as they can't/won't fit in, so have to go back to England asap.

This annual charade has nothing to do with religion. It's all about politics. Sport and politics should never mix, because eventually someone rebels when they're told what to do and how to behave.

mark12345
08/11/2018, 10:52 PM
Such as? We are talking about Irish footballers here. Where else do they go if they want to make it? They can't go abroad as they can't/won't fit in, so have to go back to England asap.

This annual charade has nothing to do with religion. It's all about politics. Sport and politics should never mix, because eventually someone rebels when they're told what to do and how to behave.

They can't go abroad as they can't / won't fit in? Why not? Where and why will they not fit in, wherever that may be?
They could do exactly what the Swedes, Danes, Norwegians do when heading to Holland, Belgium, German football etc.
So why is it that the Irish lads cannot fit in in any other country other than England?

And you're right, this has nothing to do with religion, and wrong when you say it is all about politics? It's not that complicated. It's all about the reverence the English fan feels for his forefathers who fought to save their country in two world wars. It was born and bred into them as kids and they hate to see anyone acting in a disrespectful manner towards that 'reverence'. There were other occupations of countries along the way, which obviously James saw first hand in his childhood. Again I say, James should have walked away from English football (to a different country) when this became an issue a couple of years ago.

09/11/2018, 4:04 PM
They can't go abroad as they can't / won't fit in? Why not? Where and why will they not fit in, wherever that may be?
They could do exactly what the Swedes, Danes, Norwegians do when heading to Holland, Belgium, German football etc.
So why is it that the Irish lads cannot fit in in any other country other than England?

And you're right, this has nothing to do with religion, and wrong when you say it is all about politics? It's all about the reverence the English fan feels for his forefathers who fought to save their country in two world wars. It was born and bred into them and they hate to see anyone acting in a disrespectful manner towards that 'reverence'. There were other occupations of countries along the way, which obviously James saw first hand. Again I say, James should have walked away from English football (to a different country) when this became an issue a couple of years ago.

I think the reasons why they don't fit in to a foreign culture are obvious. The other nationalities you mention are far more open to other cultures, their international careers are largely unaffected, and in some cases enhanced. Here, you basically have to play in England or for Celtic, otherwise you're out of sight and out of mind, as far as the national team is concerned.

The poppy is a political symbol. This is British culture, and if they believe that wearing that for 3 long weeks is commemorating something they had nothing to do with, honouring people they don't know and never met, that's their right. They should also respect that if you don't believe in someone else's political cause, you should not be forced to honour it.

Wearing the poppy used to be one day a year. Then it was a weekend, a whole week, and now it's an annual propaganda marathon for the British Army. The wearing of the poppy is a political symbol. McClean, as with other foreign players, should not be forced to honour the British Army, regardless who pays them.

mark12345
09/11/2018, 11:34 PM
I think the reasons why they don't fit in to a foreign culture are obvious. The other nationalities you mention are far more open to other cultures, their international careers are largely unaffected, and in some cases enhanced. Here, you basically have to play in England or for Celtic, otherwise you're out of sight and out of mind, as far as the national team is concerned.

The poppy is a political symbol. This is British culture, and if they believe that wearing that for 3 long weeks is commemorating something they had nothing to do with, honouring people they don't know and never met, that's their right. They should also respect that if you don't believe in someone else's political cause, you should not be forced to honour it.

Wearing the poppy used to be one day a year. Then it was a weekend, a whole week, and now it's an annual propaganda marathon for the British Army. The wearing of the poppy is a political symbol. McClean, as with other foreign players, should not be forced to honour the British Army, regardless who pays them.

No one is being forced to do anything in this situation. The English fans involved are taking it upon themselves to honour their fallen army members who died, as I say, defending the country during two world wars. They are doing this out of a sense of duty and respect to those who served their country. The fact that James, and the other foreign players you mention (which I haven't yet seen), do not join in in this display of respect, makes them outcasts. James isn't being forced to do anything. He is choosing not to join the ceremony, and the perception English fans have of him is never going to change because of this. Why go through the hassel of putting yourself at loggerheads with a whole country when you can play your football somewhere else.

The Fly
10/11/2018, 12:29 AM
No one is being forced to do anything in this situation. The English fans involved are taking it upon themselves to honour their fallen army members who died, as I say, defending the country during two world wars. They are doing this out of a sense of duty and respect to those who served their country.

It's none of our business I suppose, but why have these displays of remembrance grown to such an extent that they now resemble a festival? It continues to grow the further we move away from those events. It's very much a recent thing in football too.

Just a thought ~ As well as refusing to wear one James could also elect to wear the white poppy or this new(?) shamrock poppy.

The fact that James, and the other foreign players you mention (which I haven't yet seen), do not join in in this display of respect, makes them outcasts.

Nemanja Matić of Man United chose not to wear one.

James isn't being forced to do anything. He is choosing not to join the ceremony, and the perception English fans have of him is never going to change because of this. Why go through the hassel of putting yourself at loggerheads with a whole country when you can play your football somewhere else.

It's a question only he can answer. I wouldn't be surprised if he starts to fake an injury at this time of year from now on though.

10/11/2018, 8:41 AM
It's none of our business I suppose, but why have these displays of remembrance grown to such an extent that they now resemble a festival? It continues to grow the further we move away from those events. It's very much a recent thing in football too.
Totally. Every year it's as if there's a "I'll remember the fallen more than you!" competition.

When I first moved to the UK I wouldn't wear a poppy. Irish people just don't wear poppies was my thinking. But I'm married to to an English girl, her family is all English and many friends and colleagues were British. It was the Blair years and Anglo-Irish relations were good and life felt good before the financial crash. So for a few years I wore one, just as many Irish TV celebs and footballers did. But the political climate changed and you couldn't help but notice at the same time that football was going daft at poppy time of year, with Chelsea and Rangers making almost comically huge fuss over the size of their displays, and the biggest critics of non-wearers are from scumbag squaddie unionist types, the hard core Eurosceptic right and all that type so I just said stuff it, this doesn't feel right anymore so I stopped again about ten years ago.

Also, the white poppy isn't just a way of respecting the dead without supporting the Legion. It's also an explicit support for pacifism (and a specific pacifist movement / organisation?) as far as I know. I don't know about the shamrock poppy.

Gather round
10/11/2018, 9:48 AM
McClean was referred (as the 'footballer from Derry' not by name) on this week's BBC Radio show Moral Maze. The Panel was discussing basically whether as a nation/ society we should increase remembrance (so that the lost generation will be honored after they've all died), or alternatively scale it down (because given their deaths, we'll reach a point where there's no-one left alive that knew them, and anyway militarism is innappropriate).

It's not really about WW1 of course. There's a spike this year for the Centenary but the fetish season has been getting bigger since the Middle-Eastern wars 15 or 20 years ago. Brexit has accelerated this. England has become a giant, more ill-informed version of NI- and it's notable that even in the latter we didn't have a month of hysteria when I was at school in the 70s.

I wear a poppy every year, usually for a day or two. As a teenager I'd occasionally delay or forget, only to be reminded by my mother. Of course nowadays it's impossible to forget as everyone on TV etc. feels obliged to wear a giant one.

This is likely to continue awhile yet, although at some point you'd hope the poppied pizzas and onesies will fade away. Until that happens I doubt many public figures will be as brave as McClean or Matic.

10/11/2018, 11:25 AM
No one is being forced to do anything in this situation. The English fans involved are taking it upon themselves to honour their fallen army members who died, as I say, defending the country during two world wars. They are doing this out of a sense of duty and respect to those who served their country. The fact that James, and the other foreign players you mention (which I haven't yet seen), do not join in in this display of respect, makes them outcasts. James isn't being forced to do anything.

Oh I get why the Brits do it. They think that their soldiers lives were more important, than those from other countries in wars and conflicts. Like I said, no other country is as fanatical about wearing a poppy than they are. It's the forcing of other nationalities to comply with their cause that I have an issue with.

On Sky last week, a female journalist from South Africa had to face an inquisition from 3 English male counterparts about why she wouldn't wear it on their tv show. Basically it's not her culture and wearing it won't make them come home.

The next campaign that everyone has to toe the line about, is the shoelaces, even players from a socially conservative background, and with strong socially conservative beliefs.

But when a coach wears a ribbon about prisoners in his homeland, then the FA remind him that the football field is not the place to promote political causes. And they're right, it's not. But that applies to all causes, not just the ones they don't approve of.

mark12345
10/11/2018, 11:48 AM

Just a thought ~ As well as refusing to wear one James could also elect to wear the white poppy or this new(?) shamrock poppy.

Nemanja Matić of Man United chose not to wear one.

It's a question only he can answer. I wouldn't be surprised if he starts to fake an injury at this time of year from now on though.

Don't think the white poppy would work but fair play to you, you make some decent points - Fly. Didn't know that about Matic. Cheers.

mark12345
10/11/2018, 12:17 PM
Oh I get why the Brits do it. They think that their soldiers lives were more important, than those from other countries in wars and conflicts. Like I said, no other country is as fanatical about wearing a poppy than they are. It's the forcing of other nationalities to comply with their cause that I have an issue with.

On Sky last week, a female journalist from South Africa had to face an inquisition from 3 English male counterparts about why she wouldn't wear it on their tv show. Basically it's not her culture and wearing it won't make them come home.

The next campaign that everyone has to toe the line about, is the shoelaces, even players from a socially conservative background, and with strong socially conservative beliefs.

But when a coach wears a ribbon about prisoners in his homeland, then the FA remind him that the football field is not the place to promote political causes. And they're right, it's not. But that applies to all causes, not just the ones they don't approve of.

A couple of issues with what you say. Ok so you feel the British think the lives of their soldiers were more important than.........who exactly? Would you be talking perhaps about the lives of your mother and father and my mother and father who were allowed to have children (you and I) due to the bravery of those soldiers (British, French, Dutch, Norwegian etc etc and of course Irish soldiers) who defended our countries during the World Wars? I don't think the British public feel anyone's life is more important than another's, but they are just thankful to be living in a free society instead of the alternative. So before you criticize that ceremony (which was observed with impeccable silence at Cardiff City this morning to include Shane Duffy and Greg Cunningham) I would remember that humankind was saved and you and I have benefitted to the point that we live in a time when the toughest thing we do all day is exercise our fingers on a screen, while those lads back 75 years ago were up to their eyes in flying mortar shells, starvation and fear of torture).

On the subject of the football field not being the place to promote political causes. I would agree with you on that. However when the whole country has done this for three-quarters of a century and you or me (foreigners) are trying to tell them (in their own country) that they cannot observe the ceremony any longer - well that's a bit of a non starter I would say.

And regarding remembrance ceremonies across the world (they are done in America and Australia and France, and I'm sure many other countries) I am all for them in general. Why? Because we live in a time when many out there are trying to rewrite our history and tell us that things we know to be true never happened at all (case in point - not so long ago I was told on a message board that there was no such thing as Irish slavery).

10/11/2018, 1:53 PM
A couple of issues with what you say. Ok so you feel the British think the lives of their soldiers were more important than.........who exactly? Would you be talking perhaps about the lives of your mother and father and my mother and father who were allowed to have children (you and I) due to the bravery of those soldiers (British, French, Dutch, Norwegian etc etc and of course Irish soldiers) who defended our countries during the World Wars? I don't think the British public feel anyone's life is more important than another's, but they are just thankful to be living in a free society instead of the alternative. So before you criticize that ceremony (which was observed with impeccable silence at Cardiff City this morning to include Shane Duffy and Greg Cunningham) I would remember that humankind was saved and you and I have benefitted to the point that we live in a time when the toughest thing we do all day is exercise our fingers on a screen, while those lads back 75 years ago were up to their eyes in flying mortar shells, starvation and fear of torture).

On the subject of the football field not being the place to promote political causes. I would agree with you on that. However when the whole country has done this for three-quarters of a century and you or me (foreigners) are trying to tell them (in their own country) that they cannot observe the ceremony any longer - well that's a bit of a non starter I would say.

The idea of wearing the poppy for 3 whole weeks was not an idea a short time ago. Now it's universal in the UK. If people think wearing it is important, that's their business. But they've no right to tell those who don't or don't want to, such as McClean, to toe the line or face the consequences. He has his reasons for not wearing it, they should be respected.

Irish soldiers fought in those wars, we don't wear poppies to remember those who didn't make it back. Does that mean their lives were any less important than the Brits? No it doesn't.

Most of the world today lives in a free democratic country. Sometimes it was achieved through peaceful means, sometimes it wasn't. How is e.g. an African footballer in the EPL supposed to relate to the sacrifice of a British soldier? Forced to wear a poppy on his shirt? I don't think so.

irishfan86
10/11/2018, 10:43 PM
Most of the world today lives in a free democratic country.

This is objectively false:

“The number of countries designated by Freedom in the World as Free in 2013 stood at 88, representing 45 percent of the world’s 195 polities and 40 percent of the global population. The number of Free countries decreased by two from the previous year’s report.”

https://freedomhouse.org/report/overview-fact-sheet

That said, my view on the poppy is that it should be the choice of the individual on whether to wear it or not.

I think there was a way for McClean to decline to wear the poppy in a more diplomatic way but he’s not how he’s wired.

peadar1987
10/11/2018, 11:12 PM

And regarding remembrance ceremonies across the world (they are done in America and Australia and France, and I'm sure many other countries) I am all for them in general. Why? Because we live in a time when many out there are trying to rewrite our history and tell us that things we know to be true never happened at all (case in point - not so long ago I was told on a message board that there was no such thing as Irish slavery).

The Poppy isn't just about WW1 and WW2, it's explicitly stated to be for all British soldiers, in all wars.

That includes the ones who set up concentration camps in South Africa, butchered the Indians, and opened fire on peaceful protesters in Derry in 1972.