View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

04/02/2012, 3:21 PM
GGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL LLLLLLLLLLL!!!!

Could not see it very well though worst stream ever and it was snowing.

04/02/2012, 3:22 PM
I was about to say he was having his quietest game so far for Sunderland, then he goes and does that. The replays didn't show just how much he was involved there - ran half the length of the pitch with 2 one-twos. Great finish too - Bale-esque.

seanfhear
04/02/2012, 3:34 PM
Yep, poor defending, McClean bursts in to the box, cuts inside a defender, and slips it under Mignolet for the goal.Er ! , Does'nt Mignolet play for Sunderland !

theworm2345
04/02/2012, 3:36 PM
Er ! , Does'nt Mignolet play for Sunderland !
Yes, the colors of the teams, the fact that I'm flipping between three matches, don't have the sound on, and my general tiredness are to blame. Second time I've done that with Mignolet though.

Sullivinho
04/02/2012, 4:17 PM
GGGGGGGGGGOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAL LLLLLLLLLLL!!!!

Could not see it very well though worst stream ever and it was snowing.

Ah, that was snow? I thought I was on an exceptionally bad stream.

Did McClean look like he wanted to score or was he put up to it? Again, poor stream.

04/02/2012, 4:29 PM
Ah, that was snow? I thought I was on an exceptionally bad stream.

Did McClean look like he wanted to score or was he put up to it? Again, poor stream.

Yes it was snow and a terrible stream pretty unmatchable because you could not see the ball,
yellow on green an white on a poor stream with snow just makes it invisible. I was struggling to find
the player with the ball never mind identify him, however they did show a close up of McClean
putting in a low shot past the keeper, definitely wanted to score.
He was also doing some celebration looked like he was making some sort of illuminati symbol.

04/02/2012, 7:44 PM
how did meyler play?

04/02/2012, 9:20 PM
http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/james-mcclean-v-stoke/

Sullivinho
04/02/2012, 9:21 PM
how did meyler play?

Tony Pulis (http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11701/7485007/Pulis-furious-with-Meyler) was well impressed with Meyler, or whatever his name is. :D

Got about and kept it simple from what I could see. Finished the game with two good knees which was fabulous. One of them games where you'd struggle to pick a MotM really, although Sky gave it to McClean.

Paddy the Dog
04/02/2012, 10:26 PM
http://www.101greatgoals.com/gvideos/james-mcclean-v-stoke/

Now that's what I call composure.

DannyInvincible
06/02/2012, 12:06 AM
McClean is now eligible to represent the FAI, according to an IFA source via OWC.

The paperwork is through, expect him to be called up later this month.

IFA source:

"...McClean is now eligible to play for the Republic. Its disappointing but we wish him well."

ArdeeBhoy
06/02/2012, 12:28 AM
Somebody needs to tell Colin Murray. He referred to McClean as 'Northern Irish earlier on MOTD2.

Clearly he's unaware of this and other threads on here. Maybe someone should tweet him...

Predator
06/02/2012, 9:17 AM
Somebody needs to tell Colin Murray. He referred to McClean as 'Northern Irish earlier on MOTD2.

Clearly he's unaware of this and other threads on here. Maybe someone should tweet him...
McClean's reading your posts AB:

"Colin murray get it right will you its #irish (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23irish)"

dantheman
06/02/2012, 12:00 PM
Colin Murray is one stupid bog Irish Paddy...

ArdeeBhoy
06/02/2012, 12:08 PM
McClean's reading your posts AB:

"Colin murray get it right will you its #irish (https://twitter.com/#%21/search?q=%23irish)"

Ha ha, would love it if he ventured onto this or his other threads. Maybe someone should Tweet it to him...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/16909171 btw.

Not Brazil
06/02/2012, 7:57 PM
http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=james%20mcclean%20northern%20ireland&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CC4QqQIwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.joe.ie%2Ffootball%2Ffootball-news%2Fjames-mcclean-hey-colin-murray-dont-call-me-northern-irish-0020541-1&ei=Hz0wT4aTMov48QPTq_31Dg&usg=AFQjCNFtYhnhrCMJ3aCoKx6j50eYfVNQMQ

Laughed at this.

The Author should have read it over.

Funny too that James is getting all upset about being called Northern Irish - considering he represented Northern Ireland.

DannyInvincible
06/02/2012, 8:32 PM
Is identifying as Northern Irish a prerequisite to representing NI? I dunno. Just putting it out there. Mark McCadden, I think it was, pointed out on Twitter that Murray would hardly refer to Patrick Vieira as Senegalese or Owen Hargreaves as Canadian, or Welsh even, given he played for Wales at under-age level. Of course, Vieira didn't actually represent Senegal at any level.

Would Niall McGinn identify as Northern Irish, for example? Do you identify as Northern Irish, NB? Don't you always make an issue of pointing out you're simply Irish as well?

06/02/2012, 8:35 PM
And here was me thinking that you could play for the IFA and still identify yourself solely as being Irish.

Not Brazil
06/02/2012, 8:50 PM
Do you identify as Northern Irish, NB? Don't you always make an issue of pointing out you're simply Irish as well?

I identify as Northern Irish, British and Irish.

I am all of the above.

Not Brazil
06/02/2012, 9:00 PM
And here was me thinking that you could play for the IFA and still identify yourself solely as being Irish.

Of course you can.

DannyInvincible
06/02/2012, 9:06 PM
Of course you can.

So what's funny about McClean highlighting this? :confused:

The Fly
06/02/2012, 9:06 PM

...in descending order of significance. ;)

Not Brazil
06/02/2012, 9:36 PM
So what's funny about McClean highlighting this? :confused:

I just find it amusing that someone who was born in Northern Ireland, and played International football for Northern Ireland (by virtue of British Citizenship), gets upset when a football presenter calls him Northern Irish.

In the same way I find it amusing when some Northern Ireland fans ie. supporters of the Irish Football Association's representive teams, get extremely exercised when they are called Irish.

Funniest of all are those who pretend Northern Ireland doesn't exist - they crease me.

Not Brazil
06/02/2012, 9:37 PM
...in descending order of significance. ;)

That depends who I'm talking to.;)

SwanVsDalton
06/02/2012, 9:58 PM
James McClean from the Free Republic of Creggan was my understanding.

Olé Olé
06/02/2012, 10:12 PM
I just find it amusing that someone who was born in Northern Ireland, and played International football for Northern Ireland (by virtue of British Citizenship), gets upset when a football presenter calls him Northern Irish.

I wouldn't read too much into his tweet, it seems he was merely serving to correct Murray, who should have known better given that it's part of his job to be aware of the international background of the players he discusses.

I think it would take a lot more than that to "upset" James McClean.

Fixer82
06/02/2012, 10:13 PM

In the same way I find it amusing when some Northern Ireland fans ie. supporters of the Irish Football Association's representive teams, get extremely exercised when they are called Irish.

Funniest of all are those who pretend Northern Ireland doesn't exist - they crease me.

Jaysus you're easily amused!

Not Brazil
06/02/2012, 10:38 PM
I wouldn't read too much into his tweet, it seems he was merely serving to correct Murray, who should have known better given that it's part of his job to be aware of the international background of the players he discusses.

I think it would take a lot more than that to "upset" James McClean.

Colin Murray will love the reaction from McClean.

French Toasht
06/02/2012, 11:44 PM

I'd imagine the only reason he represented NI was due to a crisis of confidence and a belief that at 22 and still playing in the LOI his opportunity to represent his country had passed him. Due to his enhanced chances of representing NI in international football he took that option. That makes him a careerist, not Northern Irish.

And like Danny said would you say Niall McGinn considers himself Northern Irish or just a player who wasn't good enough to represent his own country so seized his chance at international football at the hands of whoever was offering it?

Predator
07/02/2012, 12:22 AM
Can I regale you with an anecdote, if I may?

I know a man who once hit Colin Murray with a shoe. And with good reason.

Sullivinho
07/02/2012, 12:28 AM
Can I regale you with an anecdote, if I may?

I know a man who once hit Colin Murray with a shoe. And with good reason.

Served him right for calling that Iraqi gentleman a Syrian.

ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2012, 1:07 AM
Served him right for calling that Iraqi gentleman a Syrian.
Beat me to it...

Colin Murray will love the reaction from McClean.
You sure?
Colin, like most 'expert pundits', seems to inhabit his own particular TV bubble based on his random witterings, so is probably oblivious. But at least he shouldn't make that mistake again..

http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=james%20mcclean%20northern%20ireland&source=web&cd=1&sqi=2&ved=0CC4QqQIwAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.joe.ie%2Ffootball%2Ffootball-news%2Fjames-mcclean-hey-colin-murray-dont-call-me-northern-irish-0020541-1&ei=Hz0wT4aTMov48QPTq_31Dg&usg=AFQjCNFtYhnhrCMJ3aCoKx6j50eYfVNQMQ

Laughed at this.

The Author should have read it over.

Funny too that James is getting all upset about being called Northern Irish - considering he represented Northern Ireland.

It's more laughable as there's no such country, just the odd mediocre sports team to remind us. As plenty are happy to remind us, it's part of, er, Britain.

So if James had called himself as CM describes, he's admitting he's, er, British. Which he obviously isn't.

I am all of the above.
Ah, that whole chestnut. So you and about 300 other people in the North then...

Sullivinho
07/02/2012, 1:27 AM

If it didn't, my observation that Ireland looks like a koala in profile wouldn't make sense at all.

It'd be missing two thirds of it's furry head!

07/02/2012, 3:20 AM

I am all of the above.

"Right lads, split into three groups, the Northern Irish, the British and the Irish for 5 a side" :p

DannyInvincible
07/02/2012, 2:16 PM

We know identity matters are issues of contention in NI and we've already established that identifying as Northern Irish is not a prerequisite to representing the IFA, so I still don't see the funny side of a player correcting an ignorant/provocative presenter over his error/jibe. I didn't see Murray make his comment so delete as necessary.

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 5:47 PM
We know identity matters are issues of contention in NI and we've already established that identifying as Northern Irish is not a prerequisite to representing the IFA, so I still don't see the funny side of a player correcting an ignorant/provocative presenter over his error/jibe. I didn't see Murray make his comment so delete as necessary.

As long as James has got it off his chest, that's all that matters.

Snigger.

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 5:52 PM
So if James had called himself as CM describes, he's admitting he's, er, British. Which he obviously isn't.

He, legitimately, chooses not to identify as British, but I can assure you young James is a British Citizen, by virtue of his birth in the City of Londonderry in the United Kingdom - it's going to be the UK City Of Culture, don't you know.:D

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 5:56 PM
It's more laughable as there's no such country, just the odd mediocre sports team to remind us. As plenty are happy to remind us, it's part of, er, Britain.

That "plenty" are obviously a bit slow.

Northern Ireland is patently not part of, er, Britain.

It is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and, er, Northern Ireland.

Olé Olé
07/02/2012, 6:13 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/16928753

Slightly misleading headline in this article if one were to believe the word that O'Neill asked McClean to reconsider with which association his international allegiance lay. The general sentiment of his comments and the fact that he is, to a degree, urging Trap to pick McClean seems to demonstrate that O'Neill was most likely erring on the side of ambivalence if he did indeed request McClean to rethink his decision. Big 'if'.

Predator
07/02/2012, 6:26 PM
O'Neill didn't ask McClean to reconsider his decision. If you read Martin's words, he stresses that it is not his place to interfere in McClean's personal ambitions internationally. He understands, and respects, the principle of personal choice.

Olé Olé
07/02/2012, 6:49 PM
O'Neill didn't ask McClean to reconsider his decision. If you read Martin's words, he stresses that it is not his place to interfere in McClean's personal ambitions internationally. He understands, and respects, the principle of personal choice.

I was only framing O'Neill's quotes from today in the context of a prior assertion that was made in this thread and in quarters of the media that O'Neill had asked McClean to reconsider his position.

If you read my words, I didn't say he did ask McClean to reconsider his position. That's why I used "the word" (as a slang-like synonym for rumour or speculation) and "if" twice. I'm aware of O'Neill's position.

Predator
07/02/2012, 6:55 PM
I didn't say he did ask McClean to reconsider his position. That's why I used "the word" (as a slang-like synonym for rumour or speculation) and "if" twice. I even emphasised the 'if'.I know, I know, but there is no need to afford the hearsay any credence when O'Neill's words speak for themselves. :)

Predator
07/02/2012, 9:38 PM
I was only framing O'Neill's quotes from today in the context of a prior assertion that was made in this thread and in quarters of the media that O'Neill had asked McClean to reconsider his position.

If you read my words, I didn't say he did ask McClean to reconsider his position. That's why I used "the word" (as a slang-like synonym for rumour or speculation) and "if" twice. I'm aware of O'Neill's position.For the record, I wasn't having a go at you.

Olé Olé
07/02/2012, 9:56 PM
For the record, I wasn't having a go at you.

I know that, fair enough. I agree with the point you made, I just thought you took me up wrong.

ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2012, 10:03 PM
He, legitimately, chooses not to identify as British, but I can assure you young James is a British Citizen, by virtue of his birth in the City of Londonderry in the United Kingdom - it's going to be the UK City Of Culture, don't you know.
Well he can revoke it, didn't you know? As for Derry being 'City Of Culture', that's just a sop to boost tourism.

That "plenty" are obviously a bit slow.

Northern Ireland is patently not part of, er, Britain.

It is part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and, er, Northern Ireland.
Really. Those plenty (who are currently the majority, or hadn't you noticed?) are very keen to emphasise their 'Britishness' which is up to them I suppose.
Presumably you haven't seen all those flags and various other 'cultural icons' reminding everyone of this...

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 10:19 PM
Well he can revoke it, didn't you know.

Of course - I educated you previously in that regard.

You were to get back to me once you ascertained the consequences of such action.

I've yet to meet anyone born in Northern Ireland who has revoked their British Citizenship - maybe the "campaign" you were blathering on about, once the full horror of British Citizenship dawned on you, will start a flood of forms landing in the inbox of the Home Office.:D

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 10:23 PM
Really. Those plenty (who are currently the majority, or hadn't you noticed?) are very keen to emphasise their 'Britishness' which is up to them I suppose.
Presumably you haven't seen all those flags and various other 'cultural icons' reminding everyone of this...

Yes, really.

Don't confuse British Citizenship (Nationality) with the geographical entity of Britain.

Of course I have seen numerous flags and emblems that "remind everyone" that Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom - for example, my National Flag, the Union Flag.

More research needed AB.

ArdeeBhoy
07/02/2012, 10:37 PM
Of course - I educated you previously in that regard.

You were to get back to me once you ascertained the consequences of such action.

I've yet to meet anyone born in Northern Ireland who has revoked their British Citizenship - maybe the "campaign" you were blathering on about, once the full horror of British Citizenship dawned on you, will start a flood of forms landing in the inbox of the Home Office.
Did you? I think not. And what 'consequences'?

As for not meeting people like this, well they're hardly going to bump into you, unless you're paying a lot of clandestine visits to nationalist areas? The demographic of those who hang about Windsor is hardly going to fit into this, is it?

Anyway, rightly or wrongly, the vast majority who are bothered, considered their passport as evidence of citizenship. Even if doesn't fit a certain extremely pedantic definition...

Yes, really.

Don't confuse British Citizenship (Nationality) with the geographical entity of Britain.

Of course I have seen numerous flags and emblems that "remind everyone" that Northern Ireland is part of the United Kingdom - for example, my National Flag, the Union Flag.

More research needed AB.
I've done my research. The biggest political bloc in the North, see themselves as exclusively British, but if you choose to ignore that, more fool you.
Even the most diehard republican would admit that.

And am well aware of Britain's unsavoury colonial past.

As for the Uj, that's only one flag anyway;there's only limited explanation or relevance for the Scottish (Saltire & Lion Rampant, FFS), English, Israeli or Dutch flags. And even the Stars & Stripes...

Certain Scots & Americans would take great umbrage at such dubious association.

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 11:06 PM
I've done my research. The biggest political bloc in the North, see themselves as exclusively British, but if you choose to ignore that, more fool you.

Whoosh.

Not Brazil
07/02/2012, 11:16 PM
As for not meeting people like this, well they're hardly going to bump into you, unless you're paying a lot of clandestine visits to nationalist areas? The demographic of those who hang about Windsor is hardly going to fit into this

I "bump into" people from a Nationalist/Republican background every day in my working life.

Many of my work colleagues are Nationalists/Republicans.

I am employed by a Nationalist, and my most recent previous employer would be a high profile Nationalist/Republican.

My work takes me into staunchly Nationalist/Repubilan households regularly.

I socialise with Nationalist/Republicans friends regularly.

I play golf every week with Nationalists.

There's Nationalists on the playing payroll at Windsor Park.

In fact, I couldn't envisage a day in my life where I don't "bump into" Nationalists/Republicans in Northern Ireland.

Not one of them has "revoked" their British Citizenship.

I wonder why?:D