View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
DannyInvincible
28/02/2013, 8:18 AM
Not disagreeing with you on that point, but where are the quotes/who are the sources?
gastric
28/02/2013, 8:41 AM
The reason why I am expressing concern is O'Neill has more understanding of McClean than possibly any other manager in football and I hope that if there is any issue between them that it gets resolved asap.
DannyInvincible
28/02/2013, 9:17 AM
Agree with you completely, but O'Neill will know McClean's background and how he thinks, and I'd imagine McClean would hold a mutual respect for O'Neill in return. Hence, I don't think a dispute between the two is likely, nor do I feel any disagreement would be allowed to run too deeply. For that reason, and until there's something more concrete than what "coaching staff have noted", allegedly, I'm content enough to see the story as an attempt to blow things slightly out of proportion.
SwanVsDalton
28/02/2013, 9:19 AM
I've never heard of McClean being aloof, have to say. Quiet and shy sure but not aloof. Always would be concerns with McClean that he'd struggle to integrate though. He's very much a homebird. Hence why he's always back in Derry and partly why best mate Eugene Ferry was shipped off to Sunderland.
Possible this kind of inwardness could be construed as aloofness or at least hinder his relationships with teammates.
28/02/2013, 9:29 AM
You got me thinking here. Having friends from Currane (and one of the denizens here has a mother from Ballycroy) I have always called it Mullranny.
But I've seen it written as Mallaranny and a quick look at Google Maps will show both.
Here's what the official word is on it...
http://www.logainm.ie/Viewer.aspx?text=mullrany&streets=yes
Sorry for going off-topic but I had never read it like that before and if you search either the recommendation is Mulranny, but the wiki page spells it the way you did it in the content, but the title is "Mulranny". From what I remember the signposts are the same way as I spelt it. Its the Mulranny Park hotel too!
Anyway, Ronaldo wasn't liked anywhere but it didn't really matter did it? I think McClean just isn't good enough and if they sell him in the summer it will be because of that. Any aloofness or whatever else he was at last year, wouldn't have been negated because of his performances.
28/02/2013, 9:31 AM
Possible this kind of inwardness could be construed as aloofness or at least hinder his relationships with teammates.
Very much so. I think a lot of Irish lads have that, you can see it in GAA clubs abroad as well, comes across as a bit aloof or ignorant or don't make an effort to engage in conversation, but a lot of the time its a quiteness/awkwardness/shyness.
ArdeeBhoy
28/02/2013, 9:56 AM
Ha ha.
http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/wolfe-tones-invite-james-mcclean-row-dup-man-gregory-campbell-to-concert-29093937.html
Crosby87
28/02/2013, 11:41 AM
If you look on wiki one of their genres is "Pan-Celticism". Never heard that one before. What kind of music do you play? Oh, you know, Pan Celticism. We also have a crepe restaurant with that name.
And in accordance with an earlier conversation last year, would that be Celtisism as in Celtic the Celtic Cross or Celtic the Boston Celtics? I never know the answer to these.
28/02/2013, 12:00 PM
As in Celtic Cross.
28/02/2013, 12:47 PM
If it originated in Eire its the "k", otherwise its the "C"
I await CD or tets to come out and provide the exception to this :D
28/02/2013, 12:52 PM
Belfast Celtic, Cork Celtic.
DannyInvincible
28/02/2013, 11:27 PM
"Why is Celtic pronounced Seltic rather than Keltic, as it is in every other context?": http://www.thecelticwiki.com/page/Celtic+-+Pronunciation
From the Guardian:
A tricky one this. Ed Mortimer started us off. "The answer is simple," he said. "We are wrong to pronounce the word Keltic. It's one of those words where the pronunciation has changed for some reason in one context but not in others. Following the general rule that 'c' followed by 'e' or 'i' is pronounced as an 's', we have Seltik, as in the football club. The same pronunciation used to apply to the adjective describing the ancient inhabitants of the western fringes of Europe, including parts of modern-day Scotland, England, Ireland, Wales, France and Spain. The 's' pronunciation still applies in French, Breton and Galician - but for some reason English has changed to the keltic variant. Put simply, the football club pronunciation is the right one."
Graeme Gardiner offered an alternative view. "Celtic were founded in 1888 to benefit the Irish immigrant population of Glasgow's east end. The name Celtic was chosen to reflect the common roots of the Scots and Irish, who were on the receiving end of considerable sectarian prejudice. Unfortunately the name wasn't used much outside academic circles and was simply mispronounced by the local population. Of course the de facto pronunciation among the faithful is Sellick."
However, the truth, if it is to be had, seemed to be that both pronunciations are ostensibly correct, with Keltic having become the more accepted usage only in the last 30 years. Celtic, having been formed in the last century, naturally retained the Seltic pronunciation. This from the Medieval Scotland website, which a number of readers kindly pointed out:
"The reason the Boston Celtics and Glasgow Celtic and all those other sports teams founded around 1900 (give or take a couple decades) pronounce their names Seltic is not because they were founded by ignorant folk who didn't know any better, but because they spoke English and did know the proper pronunciation of the English word 'Celtic'.
"So what happened? Well, any number of things might explain why the in-crowd pronunciation shifted to Keltic (such as the German influence on Celtic studies, which was strong in the 19th- and early 20th-centuries) but the upshot is that it is now fashionable - almost obligatory - in certain circles to pronounce the word with a K sound rather than the original S sound. In fact, in certain circles (both in and out of academia) it is something of a litmus test - if you don't use the K sound, it will be assumed you are not knowledgeable about things Celtic. But the one and only reason Keltic is now one of the correct pronunciations of the word is because that is how many educated people pronounce it. That is the only logic in the Keltic pronunciation's favour. The standard rules of English, the rules of language, long use and practice, all argue in favour of Seltic, not Keltic. But it still remains that Seltic is a long-established, traditional pronunciation of the word in English. There is absolutely nothing wrong with pronouncing Celtic as Seltic."
Wiki:
The pronunciation of the initial c in the English words Celt and Celtic in their various meanings can be realised either as /k/ or /s/ (that is, either hard or soft). Both can be justified philologically and both are "correct" in English prescriptive usage.
Although the word originated in an early Continental Celtic language, it came to English via Greek (Keltoi), where it is spelled with a kappa; thus /k/ is the original pronunciation. This was borrowed into Latin (Celtae), where it was likewise pronounced with /k/. However in the transition from Classical Latin to Vulgar Latin and early Romance, this sound shifted to /tʃ/, a process known as palatalisation, and in French further to /s/. Under French influence, the practice c representing /s/, when used before the vowels "i" and "e," in words of Latin origin became established in English, as for example celestial, cilia, and Cicero. Thus /s/ is the inherited pronunciation in English for these words.
Until the mid-20th century, Celtic was usually pronounced with /s/ in English except by academics, but the pronunciation with /k/ has been gaining ground recently. Following the usage of philologists, /k/ is now almost invariably used with reference to Celtic culture even in non-academic contexts.
However, the /s/ pronunciation remains the most recognised form when it occurs in the names of sports teams, most notably Celtic Football Club and the Boston Celtics basketball team.
gastric
01/03/2013, 12:16 AM
Thanks Danny, this one always baffled me.
01/03/2013, 9:08 AM
I thought K would have something do with Irish or Irish Gaelic, hence my initial post.
No Offence Danny but that seems to be mainly opinion based what you posted there.
DannyInvincible
01/03/2013, 12:45 PM
O' Neill supposedly getting tired of McClean's behaviour and has fined him two weeks wages. Interesting article as while it is probably a beat up, if O'Neill is getting upset by McClean's behaviour, IMO he should not be punished for the actions of some idiot politician. However, if he is not getting on with his team mates, that's another issue.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mcclean-future-in-doubt-after-wolfe-tones-tweet-earns-fine-29099880.html
Transpires McClean wasn't even fined and deleted his Twitter voluntarily: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2013/03/01/3789589/james-mcclean-has-not-been-fined-insists-sunderland-boss
The former Derry City winger has voluntarily come off Twitter and the Black Cats' boss insists that the player has not been fined for his behaviour
Sunderland manager Martin O'Neill has dismissed reports that James McClean was fined by the club after a politician criticised the player's taste in music.
The 23-year-old winger was subject to criticism from Gregory Campbell, a Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) Member of Parliament (MP) after expressing his enjoyment of the Irish folk band The Wolfe Tones, on Twitter.
Reports emerged that McClean had subsequently been forced off the social networking site and fined by the club, with suggestions that there were issues with the player's attitude both on and off the pitch.
However, O'Neill has quashed the reports, stressing that the player was training well, and insisted that McClean had not been fined by the club.
"I'll deal with things internally, but he hasn't been fined," O’Neill told the Evening Chronicle. "James has voluntarily come off Twitter and I think he now feels that concentrating totally on football issues is the most important thing for him."
He continued: "Sometimes when you are tweeting you might feel as if you're speaking to three or four friends, but this is for public consumption.
"I think he realises the best thing is to leave things alone and concentrate on footballing issues. That's very important in a game which can be excellent for you, but if you take your eye off the ball, you can disappear very, very quickly," added the Black Cats' boss.
O'Neill also stated James was training well, so I'd hazard a guess the rest of that Independent piece is a load of overblown nonsense as well then.
DannyInvincible
01/03/2013, 12:46 PM
I thought K would have something do with Irish or Irish Gaelic, hence my initial post.
No Offence Danny but that seems to be mainly opinion based what you posted there.
Fair point. Don't shoot the messenger. :)
ArdeeBhoy
01/03/2013, 1:02 PM
Belfast Celtic, Cork Celtic.
Grrr. You forgot the mighty Ardee Celtic...
:(
DannyInvincible
01/03/2013, 1:15 PM
My letter made the Journal's website: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/letters/campbell-mcclean-and-the-wolfe-tones-1-4843307
Not sure if it's in today's published edition. No sign of it on the Belfast Telegraph website, from what I can make out. I don't think the Irish News publish their letters online and I can't find websites for the Ballycroy Bugle and the Mullarany Mail. I must be spelling that wrong or something...
01/03/2013, 1:33 PM
What of elected public representatives then? Of course, Campbell used to carry a gun himself and was a strong advocate of a shoot-to-kill policy back in the mid-1980s. Whether or not his views have softened somewhat since then, his contemporary dialogue is still tainted with a deep sense of bitterness and antagonism that only serves to further fuel local division.
Why did you get rid of this bit? Or did the journal remove it, if they did you should have shown proof of the piece you provided earlier, that way they couldn't or shouldn't remove it.
DannyInvincible
01/03/2013, 1:40 PM
The Journal removed that section, annoyingly. Also telling that they saw fit to edit in "[Mr]" ahead of every mention of Campbell's name, lest he'd catch wind and take offence of my frightful irreverence. :rolleyes: Are they scared he'll sue them or something? My comments were based on the video in which Campbell is interviewed posted up-thread. I e-mailed it to them as it was posted here, and still have the e-mail. What do you mean by "show proof"? How and to whom?
01/03/2013, 1:52 PM
Well by writing something like that they could be done for libel I'd imagine, its a fairly strong "fact" to put in the public domain for a newspaper, and if you didn't provide proof or something they probably felt they couldn't and/or shouldn't publish that bit, either way it would be fairly divisive I'd imagine.
DannyInvincible
01/03/2013, 1:58 PM
Well by writing something like that they could be done for libel I'd imagine, its a fairly strong "fact" to put in the public domain for a newspaper, and if you didn't provide proof or something they probably felt they couldn't and/or shouldn't publish that bit, either way it would be fairly divisive I'd imagine.
Ah, I get what you mean. I should have e-mailed them the video too then. I will do so now; they might return it to its original state.
Campbell does have history here: http://www.newsletter.co.uk/news/local/justice-has-been-done-in-facebook-threat-case-1-2804930
GREGORY Campbell has said he is pleased “justice has been done” following the conviction of a man who posted “menacing” comments about him on Facebook.
Unemployed chef Daryl O’Donnell wrote on the social networking site that Mr Campbell “should get a bullet in his head” for comments the East Londonderry DUP MP made following the publication of the Saville Report last June into the Bloody Sunday killings.
He appeared before Londonderry Magistrates’ Court on Wednesday charged with the offence on June 20 last year. District Judge Barney McElholm found him guilty.
O’Donnell said his post was in response to Mr Campbell’s claims that the Saville Report had cost too much money.
But the MP argued that there are members of the nationalist community who would try to “re-write history” and that he would not apologise for the comments he made following the report.
Mr Campbell said yesterday: “I’m pleased that the justice system has worked in this instance and it would be good if it would work in a whole series of other instances.”
Explaining the background to the case, Mr Campbell said: “When the Saville Report was issued, I made it very clear that the families of the people who died in Bloody Sunday had received closure because they had filed their position and been vindicated.
“I made the point that while they had received closure, there were thousands of others who hadn’t. People had been campaigning for many years for someone to apologise for their murders.
“There was murder and violence before Bloody Sunday carried out by the IRA. My view was there are some people in the republican community who want to re-write history.
“They want to say that Bloody Sunday started the Troubles.
“I was very clear that that was not the case. But there were a number of people who didn’t like the truth being told.”
O’Donnell, from Belvedere Park in Londonderry, will be sentenced on July 29 following the preparation of a pre-sentence report.
In the comment, which the 31-year-old denied was menacing or threatening, he wrote: “He’s a dirty Orange lying b...... and should get a bullet in the head. At least he would have got it for something.”
Mr Campbell was alerted to the comment by his constituents.
When asked if he feared for his life when he read it, Mr Campbell told the News Letter: “People took to Facebook and began to vilify me. I don’t have any problem with people taking issue with something I say. If it’s controversial, people will have something to say. It’s fair game.
“But in this debate, people crossed the line. You can’t simply threaten to murder someone and that’s what this post indicated.”
Mr Campbell, who did not attend Wednesday’s hearing, said there was a lesson to be learned from this court case.
“People who put things on social networking sites should be careful and clear that the message they’re putting up could be used against them in a court of law.”
wonder88
01/03/2013, 8:05 PM
I see that the Indo piece was taken from the Daily Telegraph, either that piece is correct or Martin O Neill is not telling the truth. I would believe O Neill ahead of the Telegraph anyday, especially when the story concerns an Irishman from a nationalist background. Has the Irish Indo soccer corespondent made any comment on this story, he was unhappy that McClean did not wear a poppy last year, so it would be interesting to find out where he stands on this "story" in his paper.
gastric
01/03/2013, 9:27 PM
Don't always get the chance to clarify my points on here, but here goes. When I posted the original article I mentioned it was probably a beat up and from subsequent comments this has proved to be. McClean did not deserve sanction for his comments on twitter and as Danny has previously mentioned he has become an easy victim of his own infamy.
I would disagree with Paul about his ability as he changed the game last weekend when he came on. Johnson was so predictible in his play running into space and then hoofing it into the box and really not giving his forwards much opportunity. When our James replaced him, his directness lead to Sunderland's goal and his general play showed how dangerous he can be. In the dying seconds he blasted over, when with a bit of luck, he could have scored an equaliser. O'Neill could only have been impressed by his 15 minute cameo.
What concerned me, as I am a worrier, was that if he is not getting on with his team, that O'Neill would let him go to help team harmony, a fact that would be so detrimental for McClean. If the article is what it seems to be, my concerns are probably misplaced however!
DannyInvincible
02/03/2013, 6:33 AM
"Journey from footballer to political football not in McClean's interest": http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2013/0302/1224330697521.html
Sunderland winger should forget Twitter and focus on his football career, writes MICHAEL WALKER
On an ordinary weekday at the back end of the last century, an extraordinary man of that time sat in his armchair in Glasnevin, north Dublin, and talked of an Irish life that began in 1923. It was a privilege to meet Con Martin; it was shaking hands with history. Yesterday in Sunderland, meanwhile, Martin O’Neill sat back and discussed, with some wariness, and perhaps weariness, James McClean.
McClean is back in the headlines in the week that Con Martin’s death one month short of his 90th birthday also, rightly, made news. Martin’s passing was momentous; McClean’s Twitter-tweeting was apparently frivolous, but
. . . maybe not. What connects the two men is the game they play, who they have played it for, and Irish identity.
More than 60 years on from Con Martin’s pivotal presence in an escalating dispute between the Belfast-based Irish Football Association (IFA) and the Dublin-based Football Association of Ireland (FAI), the identity issue remains – and it remains contentious.
The reaction to James McClean’s recent tweet concerning a Wolfe Tones song has been stronger than the 23-year-old from Derry anticipated, though it did not require much foresight to think the DUP might not appreciate it. They haven’t, just in case you’ve missed it, building on a dislike of McClean that springs from his movement from the sporting jurisdiction of IFA to FAI.
There is very little McClean could ever do to win over the constituency represented by Gregory Campbell.
Strident sense
The prospect of him wanting to is equally thin. McClean has previously and continues to display the belligerent self-righteousness of many a young man. He would appear to have a strident sense of his Derry self and plenty would say fair play to him for that. And by the way, was Wolfe Tone himself not rather loud on the topic of self-determination?
The problem for McClean and Sunderland is that they are in England and his current newsworthiness is Irish and literally unsporting. McClean is fortunate that in O’Neill he has a manager who knows the geography of the issue. O’Neill said yesterday that the player has not been fined two weeks’ wages – but even the manager’s empathy may have been tested by the repetition of McClean’s darts into broadcast.
The message to the player from his manager was to “clear his head” of non-football matters and concentrate on rediscovering the form of 12 months ago. O’Neill, as he said, wants McClean to consider why Pablo Zabaleta marked him more closely this season than last and what the winger is going to do about that.
Sunderland need McClean to be a nuisance to the opposition, not to Sunderland.
So the young man is off Twitter until the end of the season at least. But that’s been said before and there would hardly be shock were McClean to reappear on the medium in the near future. He may have shown naivety in not expecting such a broadside response, although having received death threats in the past and endured the Poppy-day furore, he should know already what he means to some people.
Political football
Deep down there must also be some personal awareness that in the journey from footballer to political football, McClean loses part of the reason Sunderland want him in the first place. This is a moment when McClean’s career can go either way.
It was the same, only different, for Con Martin. Martin’s incredible ability saw him make his Eire – as they were known – debut in June 1946 as a goalkeeper. Five months later he made his Ireland – as Northern Ireland were then known – debut in Scotland at left back.
At the time he had left Drumcondra for Glentoran and found digs at the top of Belfast’s Shankill Road. It was an imaginative choice for a Dublin Catholic.
Martin was not alone in playing for both Irelands. The kits were the same and often so were the personnel. In 1932 a united Ireland team was all but agreed – Wolfe Tone would have been delighted – only for IFA and FAI bureaucracy to break down. But team-swapping continued. Until the late 1940s this was the way of things.
As Martin said: “When I went there [Glentoran] I was asked to play for Northern Ireland and I did and I enjoyed it. There was no conflict between the IFA and the FAI.
All played
“I can remember playing for Northern Ireland at Windsor Park on a Saturday and the south of Ireland on a Monday at Dalymount Park. Players like Peter Farrell, Bud Aherne, Tommy Eglington, they all did that. Jackie Vernon, Davie Cochrane, Billy McMillan, they all played for the south.”
In April 1949 Eire left the Commonwealth as a consequence of the Republic of Ireland Act and six months later, at Goodison Park, the team representing the Republic of Ireland became the first from outside the UK to beat England on English soil.
Con Martin, playing now at centre-half, scored the first in that historic, symbolic 2-0 win.
“We were the first foreign team to beat England at home, though we weren’t put down as a foreign team,” Martin recalled. “But that established the Republic of Ireland at international level.”
Growing self-confidence within the FAI meant that the following March, when the IFA called for Martin again, and Manchester United’s Johnny Carey, there was tension. Now at Aston Villa, where he alternated between goalkeeper, defence and midfield, Martin went to play for “Northern” Ireland on the weekend Villa were playing Man United. Matt Busby did not allow Carey to go.
Next day
United won 6-0 and as Martin explained: “The next day the Villa chairman called me into his office and showed me a lot of letters from people in the South calling me Judas for playing for the North.
“Villa were getting threatening letters saying they wouldn’t be welcome in the South if I kept playing for the North. That was when the director of Aston Villa asked me to refuse to play for Northern Ireland ever again.”
Martin agreed, reluctantly. Others did the same. “I was very sorry; that was the turning point.” Martin sadly recalled that he stayed in touch with the people he lived with on the Shankill Road until the late 1960s when they advised him that it was best for them if he ceased contact.
The times were changing. But as Con Martin’s past and James McClean’s present prove, just not that much.
DannyInvincible
03/03/2013, 10:49 AM
Was McClean roundly booed yesterday by his own club's supporters or is this more overblown nonsense?: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2287083/Sunderland-fans-boo-James-McClean-Twitter-farce.html
And the moment [McClean] stepped on to the Stadium of Light pitch to replace £5.5million striker Danny Graham, jeers and boos rang round the Wearside ground.
McClean’s first touch resulted in more boos and the abuse continued as he struggled to make an impact and help his side to a vital victory after three consecutive defeats.
McClean was presented with several opportunities to provide crosses for top scorer Steven Fletcher, and one chance to shoot at Mark Schwarzer, but he squandered possession.
The unhappy reception followed McClean’s latest run-in on Twitter earlier in the week which forced the 23-year-old to delete his account, under advice from his manager and the club.
And why are they still repoting that O'Neill forced him off Twitter?
gastric
03/03/2013, 10:17 PM
Was McClean roundly booed yesterday by his own club's supporters or is this more overblown nonsense?: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2287083/Sunderland-fans-boo-James-McClean-Twitter-farce.html
And why are they still repoting that O'Neill forced him off Twitter?
He has become an easy target for such rags, particularly when the team are not playing well. Have they commented on last week's performance when he nearly got Sunderland a draw in 15 minutes of football? Probably not. McClean has a lot to offer Sunderland and I am sure O'Neill sees that.
DannyInvincible
04/03/2013, 7:51 AM
He appears to have split opinion on the Sunderland forum: http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=764480
Sympathy is evident, as is condemnation of the boo-boys, who were a minority, from what I can make out. He's also subject to criticism himself on the basis of both his ability and personality, however, whilst others are in acknowledgement of his talent and utility.
gastric
04/03/2013, 9:00 AM
The Indo gives its opinion.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mcclean-playing-a-dangerous-game-29106459.html
05/03/2013, 12:58 AM
He appears to have split opinion on the Sunderland forum: http://www.readytogo.net/smb/showthread.php?t=764480
Sympathy is evident, as is condemnation of the boo-boys, who were a minority, from what I can make out. He's also subject to criticism himself on the basis of both his ability and personality, however, whilst others are in acknowledgement of his talent and utility.
Wow that's a long thread, 860 posts since Feb 13, in comparison I think there are about 70 posts in this thread since the same date.
If I have a spare week I might read the thread, seems to be a very busy forum there, but even so he is attracting a lot of interest
I can't see a longer thread there, the next biggest I saw was only about 250 posts.
05/03/2013, 1:13 AM
Maybe James was trying to get more twitter followers than Rihanna?
gastric
22/03/2013, 2:05 AM
The hotel didn't have colouring in books, so James did this instead!
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/james-mcclean-back-on-twitter-colouring-in-his-football-boots-29146119.html
wonder88
22/03/2013, 1:05 PM
I think he did well against Poland, so it is no surprise that Trap is going to start him. He is a bit different to the normal type of wide player you find in the English premier league these days, so he will always be an asset to a manager who has enough self-confidence to not worry too much what the media and public consenceses is this week. I hope he does well tonight and help us get a draw, which would keep us in hunt for qualification. There is enough about him that can cause the best defences problems.
Fixer82
22/03/2013, 1:55 PM
I hope he does well tonight and help us get a draw, which would keep us in hunt for qualification.
Get us a win ya mean!?
22/03/2013, 2:02 PM
An away draw would certainly keep us in the hunt, i.e. at least until we meet Austria next tuesday.
Bungle
22/03/2013, 2:03 PM
I think he did well against Poland, so it is no surprise that Trap is going to start him. He is a bit different to the normal type of wide player you find in the English premier league these days, so he will always be an asset to a manager who has enough self-confidence to not worry too much what the media and public consenceses is this week. I hope he does well tonight and help us get a draw, which would keep us in hunt for qualification. There is enough about him that can cause the best defences problems.
I agree totally. I think while in many ways he's quite predictable, he is dangerous enough with it to cause any defender problems.
peadar1987
22/03/2013, 4:20 PM
I agree totally. I think while in many ways he's quite predictable, he is dangerous enough with it to cause any defender problems.
We had a player called Richard Myles in our team a few years ago. All he did was run really fast in a straight line and cut the ball in from the end-line. We called it "the Myler", and even though you knew exactly what he was going to do, it was absolutely devastating!
NeverFeltBetter
30/03/2013, 1:56 PM
Fairly dire today, though nearly the whole Sunderland team was. He tried to run at the United defence at times, but lads like Rafael, who can match his pace, dealt with him no problem. Seems like a real flash in the pan type player at club level now.
DeLorean
30/03/2013, 6:05 PM
He was poor enough alright but, as you say, Sunderland were generally awful. They didn't look remotely like a team fighting for their lives. I think McClean was one of the few who looked committed at least. I can't see Sunderland staying up now, especially without Fletcher and Cattermole. It will be interesting to see what becomes of McClean and O'Shea if they do go down, if anything.
DannyInvincible
30/03/2013, 8:39 PM
Sunderland have just "parted company" with Martin O'Neill: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21985808
You have to wonder why now exactly? Losing 1-0 to league-leading Manchester United, albeit at home, isn't exactly a "final straw" type event. It reminds me of Wolves sacking McCarthy at a relatively late stage of the season previously. Sunderland are surely doomed to relegation now. I hope this doesn't affect McClean negatively. I'd imagine O'Neill had a good understanding of him that a new manager will be unlikely to possess.
Sullivinho
30/03/2013, 9:02 PM
Sunderland have just "parted company" with Martin O'Neill
Call him up, John!
30/03/2013, 10:19 PM
Sunderland have just "parted company" with Martin O'Neill: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/21985808
You have to wonder why now exactly? Losing 1-0 to league-leading Manchester United, albeit at home, isn't exactly a "final straw" type event. It reminds me of Wolves sacking McCarthy at a relatively late stage of the season previously. Sunderland are surely doomed to relegation now. I hope this doesn't affect McClean negatively. I'd imagine O'Neill had a good understanding of him that a new manager will be unlikely to possess.
Aye, I reckon they'll be going down faster than the price of a Rolf Harris painting.
30/03/2013, 10:26 PM
They were real relegation candidates under O'Neill, in my opinion. They have a horrible run in. They probably decided that a new manager could do no worse than he would have.
NeverFeltBetter
30/03/2013, 11:03 PM
Might be hoping for something like what happened at Southampton too. If they did go down, little chance that anyone in the top tier of England would want either McClean or O'Shea based on their current form. O'Shea is in the latter part of his career anyway, but McClean really looks like a Championship level player.
31/03/2013, 9:51 AM
i think mcclean is a confidence player. He did well with Ireland over the last 2 games.
I fear for him tho i dont think any other premiership team would gamble on him. Perhaps bruce if hull got promoted.
02/04/2013, 4:44 PM
Ellis Short has clearly been made aware of the fact Martin O'Neill's teams tend to peak by Ferburary and crash thereafter.
02/04/2013, 4:55 PM
Ellis Short has clearly been made aware of the fact Martin O'Neill's teams tend to peak by Ferburary and crash thereafter.
I suppose that's a 'fact', if you don't at all consider his 4 seasons in the top division with Leicester (which also included 3 league cup finals)
and two of his seasons at Villa*
*unless you apply a very biased flexible interpretation to what defines the last 1/3 of the season. :D
02/04/2013, 5:33 PM
I suppose that's a 'fact', if you don't at all consider his 4 seasons in the top division with Leicester (which also included 3 league cup finals)
and two of his seasons at Villa*
*unless you apply a very biased flexible interpretation to what defines the last 1/3 of the season. :D
:) :)
ArdeeBhoy
02/04/2013, 6:31 PM
McClean getting flak all over Facebook (& doubtless other social media) for being 'disloyal' from some Sunderland fans (& others;mainly Eng.'loyalists'), in contrast to his club's latest manager.
As in the latter should be allowed his opinions, as opposed to James's on, erm, Irish nationalism.
Not the same thing I know.
02/04/2013, 6:53 PM
Could Sunderland become the first side to be relegated due to a lack of Supporting Our Troops?