View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 [63] 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

johnnyc
28/08/2016, 3:01 PM
Was a strange decision alright. Hope he's not injured...?

28/08/2016, 7:36 PM
I think it was just tactical, just to try something else.

Jonathan Leko replaced McClean after 65 minutes in the hope he would inject some pace and penetration to West Brom's game which had failed to get out of first gear.

Anyhow he went off injured after 5 mins apparently so it didn't work too well.

I think McClean had a half chance early on but Guzan smothered it

Darren Fletcher's neat pass found the on-rushing McClean but Guzan smothered his six yard effort with the keeper relatively untroubled during a non-event of a first half.

KrisLetang
28/08/2016, 8:20 PM
It was a non event.

TheOneWhoKnocks
28/08/2016, 9:18 PM
KrisLetang

Crosby

DeLorean
30/08/2016, 9:12 AM
I see West Brom have signed Nacer Chadli from Spurs for £13m no less. McClean could have probably done without the extra competition.

18/10/2016, 9:58 AM
from football365: http://www.football365.com/news/the-premier-leagues-most-defensive-attackers

James McClean (West Brom)
The Baggies have not lost a game started by the Irishman this season and that’s due in no small part to the industry of a player who finally looks like the perfect exponent of Pulisball – covering every inch of the touchline and tracking the opposition full-back like a particularly hungry Bear Grylls. Nacer Chadli might get all the headlines but McClean is tackling even more than Claudio Yacob, and there is a man who likes a tackle. Oh and he’s not done anything daft for aaaaaaages.

18/10/2016, 3:52 PM
Nice to read but I have to say he was given a tough time by the Georgians who seemed to get by him at will. He is also inclined to jump in and sell himself a bit too easily on occasions in his enthusiasm. The recent goals and near goals are a bonus. Not someone who I'd expect to have a Robbiesque eye for being in the right position in the box. I think he should be kept away from the frees though.

22/10/2016, 11:58 PM
nasty cut on his leg after today's game: https://www.instagram.com/p/BL4IaXTjnh_/
(warning - it's graphic)

23/10/2016, 1:30 AM
nasty cut on his leg after today's game: https://www.instagram.com/p/BL4IaXTjnh_/
(warning - it's graphic)

Yea those tattoos are horrible!!

DeLorean
30/12/2016, 10:26 AM
New, improved deal at West Brom. (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2016/1230/841812-james-mcclean/)

Fixer82
30/01/2017, 7:55 AM
Celebrating his brother's horror tackle online. Saying Sean Maguire should remove his tampon.
I like James but he should be banned from the Internet.

DeLorean
30/01/2017, 8:24 AM
Got involved with some idiot about the Bloody Sunday anniversary too. Pretty obvious you're going to draw a reaction by posting that kind of stuff.

SwanVsDalton
30/01/2017, 1:07 PM
Celebrating his brother's horror tackle online. Saying Sean Maguire should remove his tampon.
I like James but he should be banned from the Internet.

To be fair to James here, far as I can tell some guy said his brother tackles like him, he responded in kind and then went on to post that he'd need to teach his brother how to tackle. Which isn't the worst ever...(as an aside, I read an article on Balls.ie which really seemed to want to make this a bigger thing than it was, particularly James' involvement).

I completely agree that he should stay 10 miles from social media at all times, but if the only lesson here is 'McClean shouldn't get involved in social media' then that ship has sailed, sunk and been picked over by scavangers five times over.

TheOneWhoKnocks
30/01/2017, 2:06 PM
Why do some people get so upset about him commemorating Bloody Sunday?

Is this how some working class English people process their guilt and shame over what happened?

I understand he shouldn't be posting stuff like that, but it's a two-way street. Remembrance Day shouldn't be politicised the way it has and used as a weapon to attack other people's beliefs.

Fixer82
30/01/2017, 4:24 PM
Shane Duffy got involved too.
It was a friendly. By all accounts, Maguire would have been severely injured had he not pulled out at last minute.
Maguire is an u-21 international.
Why are Duffy and McClean getting involved when they could possibly be international team-mates in a few years?

Silly stuff.

30/01/2017, 7:33 PM
Duffy was just commenting on his mate's picture and didn't say anything bad from what I saw.

Fixer82
31/01/2017, 2:36 AM
Patrick McClean comes out the worst of the. But James shows little class too. As I said, silly stuff

31/01/2017, 10:00 PM
http://www.derryjournal.com/news/james-mcclean-helps-derry-toddler-waiting-on-heart-transplant-1-7800240

James letting himself down again.

10/02/2017, 7:50 PM
He really is as thick as two planks.

http://extra.ie/sport/soccernews/james-mcclean-cork-city-row

TheOneWhoKnocks
10/02/2017, 8:05 PM
It's just a bit of harmless banter.

I've seen far worse on my own timeline from people who are educated enough to know better.

10/02/2017, 10:37 PM
So many like the McCleans want to jump on back of Dundalk's success and use Dundalk (powerful ammo) in order to put one over on a rival.

DeLorean
11/02/2017, 7:17 AM
I'm with Os on this one, he comes across like an idiot with this kind of stuff, a macho idiot at that, which is the worst kind. He's obviously a decent guy as well so I think it's disappointing that he can't grow up a bit, as he claims he has. But yeah, it is fairly harmless in the greater scheme of things.

DannyInvincible
17/02/2017, 12:48 AM
I just came across this article from December on 'These Football Times' about McClean (via a link from a very good piece on the same site about Paddy McCourt (http://thesefootballtimes.co/2017/02/13/paddy-mccourt-the-derry-pele-who-couldve-become-a-legend/) published a few days ago): http://thesefootballtimes.co/2016/12/13/james-mcclean-and-a-lifelong-indifference-to-political-conventions/

It's a decent read, so I thought it worth a post.

But controversy will always follow McClean wherever he goes because of who he is and where he comes from, all the while looming a shadow over what has in the last 12 months been a blooming and rejuvenated playing career, at the very least in the green jersey of Martin O’Neill’s international side.

McClean has become an integral member of O’Neill’s starting line-up, scoring three times in Ireland’s six World Cup qualifiers this year, including what could prove to be a decisive 1-0 victory away to Austria, on top of stamina-fuelled performances of grit and determination at Euro 2016 against Italy and France having been benched for O’Neill’s opening two group games.

Indeed it was O’Neill, a Derry man, who gave McClean his Premier League debut at Sunderland, and O’Neill’s possible future successor in Dundalk manager Stephen Kenny who plotted his rise from vicarious and bony Derry City winger to Premier League regular, from 2008 to 2011 in the League of Ireland. “I’ve always said how much I hold Stephen in a high regard,” said McClean. “At the end of the day he’s the guy who gave me my break in football. I was a skinny, raw 18-year-old when he gave me my debut. He showed that he had that faith and that trust in me. I’ve always felt that I needed to repay that faith and I think I have. In football terms, he is like a father-figure. Some players need to be verbally abused to get fired-up but Stephen’s man-management is the one thing about him.”

McClean’s playing career began with an unnerving sense of expectation alongside promise when he was included in Giovanni Trapattoni’s squad for Euro 2012, the Italian bringing the young player on for his tournament debut when 3-0 down to champions Spain in the 76th minute in a desperate response to public pleas to utilise the winger’s evident talent, the 22-year-old having gone unused versus Croatia in their opening-day defeat in an aging squad in desperate need of fresh legs, new ideas and young tenacity.

Later making his disapproval of Trapattoni’s decision public, McClean has since been one of the foremost rising stars of O’Neill’s new-look Irish setup who have now risen to 23rd in the FIFA world rankings alongside an extremely strong chance of qualifying for a first World Cup since 2002, sitting atop Group D with 10 points from a possible 12 after four games.

It appears now, at last, heading towards the latter stages of his 20s, that the roughness of youth and political upheaval that moulded what we defined James McClean to be is now being replaced by a more measured, astute and capable football player who could, having represented Northern Ireland at underage level, be the first man from Derry to represent the Republic at a World Cup.

Once a promising 22-year-old starlet, his political viewpoints against English football’s established conventions means his legacy will not be forged on the field of play as he nears closer to reaching his 30s.

While the expectation pinned to his future promise following an explosive start at Derry and Sunderland may have petered low in recent seasons, a rejuvenation in the green jersey throughout 2016 means McClean’s legacy to Irish football could be representing a respected, football-playing Martin O’Neill side at two major tournaments as well as an unprecedented duty towards his community of Creggan and maintaining the beliefs and dignity of his people.

Forever bringing us back to a lingering memory of that skinny, brash 18-year-old piling down wings in the empty vastness of the Brandywell in Derry City, the engravement on McLean’s gravestone after he has passed won’t read his Premier League appearances or goal tally, but rather those words which he wrote to Dave Whelan two years ago: “In life, if you’re a man you should stand up for what you believe in.”

TheOneWhoKnocks
17/02/2017, 1:20 AM
It's crazy that he hasn't started a league game in over three months.

DannyInvincible
17/02/2017, 2:00 AM
West Brom's assistant manager Dave Kemp explained the other week why he hasn't started in so long: https://www.balls.ie/football/james-mcclean-6-358762

James was suspended for West Brom's game against Leicester in the first week of last November after having picked up his fifth booking of the season during West Brom's game against Manchester City the previous week. Unfortunately, he hasn't managed to regain his starting place since with Nacer Chadli and particularly Matt Phillips doing very well instead in similar attacking positions/roles for the team.

You miss a game and the team plays well, someone takes your position, that's football. It's a good thing.

If you were losing every week you'd be making changes, but the team is playing well week in week out at the moment.

He must bide his time like everyone does. We've got a good group of lads here, very professional, train well.

James' absence has unfortunately coincided with an upsurge in West Brom's form and the philosophy of Pulis seems to be: "Don't fix it if it ain't broke."

That's unlucky for James on a personal level, and I hope he can win his starting place back, but it's fair enough reasoning. Not that crazy really.

DannyInvincible
17/02/2017, 9:03 PM
Came across this on Balls.ie (https://www.balls.ie/football/darren-fletcher-james-mcclean-fitness-359266). Darren Fletcher was interviewed about his team-mates and mentioned James at 1m53s and 3m55s:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n5YowohJySM

In response to, "Who never stops running?":

James McClean. Probably the fittest guy I've ever come across in football, and that's, you know, I've played with a lot fit players. I used to think of myself back in the day as one of the most fittest box-to-boxes, but I think James would blow me out the water. Speed and unbelievable endurance; he really is a freak and another one who works incredibly hard at it.

High praise.

In response to, "Who flies into tackles in training?":

Yeah, you've got two; James McClean and Callum McManaman. Red cards waiting to happen, especially in training. Both of them used to play in the same team at Wigan so we used to say I don't know how they stayed with 10 men on the pitch. I think Uwe Rossler could only trust to play one of them at a time because he didn't want to go down to nine men. But yeah, there's some wild challenges from the Scouser and the Irishman.

Maybe not so high praise... Although it is indicative of James' drive and tenacity.

TheOneWhoKnocks
04/03/2017, 4:51 PM
Hasn't started a league game in four months.

DeLorean
11/03/2017, 11:12 AM
West Brom seemed to do some music themed match programme covers. Smiths fans will appreciate this one featuring our James.

http://www.expressandstar.com/wpmvc/wp/wp-content/uploads/2016/12/Cover3.jpg

11/03/2017, 2:14 PM
He starts v Everton today. Head to head with Coleman.

DannyInvincible
11/03/2017, 4:10 PM
Good to see him back in the starting line-up - it's been a few months - although West Brom lost the game 3-0. James came off after 75 minutes with West Brom 2-0 down at that point. It'llll be interesting to see if he manages to keep his place once Matt Phillips returns from injury.

Marc Wilson was on the bench, but didn't feature.

DannyInvincible
18/03/2017, 4:58 PM
James played the full 90 minutes for West Brom today as they beat Arsenal 3-1. He also got an assist for the third goal.

18/03/2017, 6:15 PM
He played really well, but it was only against Arsenal.

DeLorean
22/03/2017, 9:41 AM
I can feel a red card coming on.

He's always a risk but you would have to worry about his mental state a little bit this week. He posted a heartfelt tribute to Martin McGuinness on Instagram too and ended up responding to some girl by saying "beat it you fat ugly dump truck #whale".

Seems he was close enough to McGuinness too. Really can't understand why he doesn't just post his message and run for the hills, it's beyond idiotic that he gets involved with those who are inevitably going to throw sh!t at him. He obviously enjoys it though which is the sad thing.

22/03/2017, 11:16 AM
That's just the way some Derry 'wans' communicate, it's an ethnic thing.

SwanVsDalton
22/03/2017, 11:37 AM

I know Iceland is fond of whales but there's no need to be that sore about it.

DannyInvincible
22/03/2017, 11:55 AM

In Derry, "fat ugly dump-truck" is a compliment.

DannyInvincible
22/03/2017, 11:59 AM
He's always a risk but you would have to worry about his mental state a little bit this week.

He'll be OK. If he plays, as expected, he'll give his absolute all for his friends, grieving community, city and country. Martin will be well aware that this will have been a difficult week for him and will be keeping an eye on a player he is already very close to anyway. Martin will know best and if James plays, we'll know it's because Martin senses he's in the right frame of mind to do so.

DeLorean
22/03/2017, 12:11 PM
Yeah, I'd have no question marks over his application, but it's been a heavy week for him mentally. I don't think it's been the best preparation for such a big game, lots of big distractions and mental fatigue. Even for O'Neill, it'll be difficult to judge that one fully but hopefully he'll be fine.

22/03/2017, 12:32 PM
There's no better time to play James if you ask me. He'll be all out for a hat-trick to dedicate to McBride and McGuinness against Wales.

23/03/2017, 12:14 PM
If I caught my teenage brothers or sisters calling people that on Facebook, they would get a clip around the ear.
You should treat your older siblings with more respect

23/03/2017, 7:42 PM
Against Wales tomorrow night, McClean will swap his usual No 11 jersey for the No 5 that McBride wore with distinction for the Candystripes.

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/martin-oneill-backs-james-mcclean-10086474

I recommend using a computer with an i7 processor or above for visiting the Daily Mirror

Olé Olé
23/03/2017, 8:28 PM
Not going to delve too much into this but there are times when you sit there and think "Christ man, you're earning tens of thousands a week, loved by so many of your fellow countrymen and have forged a career that the 99.999% can only dream of. Why bother?"

DannyInvincible
23/03/2017, 9:30 PM
Contrary to what had been widely reported in the media, McClean wasn't actually exempted from training today for Ryan McBride's funeral. It was yesterday that he was permitted to travel to Derry to express his condolences to the family.

23/03/2017, 11:14 PM
I'm actually surprised given that both funerals were today that he didn't go up today instead.

DannyInvincible
23/03/2017, 11:18 PM
I'd imagine today's training session was regarded as the most important of the week by the management team given the fact it's the day before the actual game. Allowing James to visit Derry yesterday was probably agreed as a compromise so as to ensure he wouldn't miss today's session.

24/03/2017, 11:42 AM
Well I figured that. But given the confluence of events coupled with the fact that he would have been around the squad a lot. I don't put too much stall in the idea that a regular squad/team member would have missed that much by being absent given the circumstances. Anyway sure, what can ya do.

DannyInvincible
28/03/2017, 11:38 AM
'James McClean relishing his key role in Ireland's World Cup qualifying campaign': http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/james-mcclean-relishing-his-key-role-in-ireland-s-world-cup-qualifying-campaign-1-7887469

JAMES McCLEAN believes he’s matured enough to become a ‘key player’ in Martin O’Neill’s Ireland squad after enhancing his reputation with yet another man of the match display against Wales last Friday night.

McClean, who turns 28 next month, has certainly earned his place in the team having started all five qualifiers and currently leads Ireland’s scoring charts with three goals, including that precious winner in Vienna against Austria. In fact he's played all but the final five minutes of that game in Austria during the opening five qualifiers.

“I’ve been around for the squad for five years and I feel I’ve got enough experience to make myself a key player,” said the Derry man.

“You can only do that by putting in the work for your club and taking that into internationals. I’m not a young lad anymore. I’m thankful to be getting the opportunity.”

The West Brom winger reckons Ireland can capitalise on their ‘very strong position’ in Group D and finish the job during the second half of the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying campaign which kicks-off at home to Austria on June 11th.

He was influential in the scoreless draw with Wales at the Aviva - a result which left the ‘Boys in Green’ in second place, level with leaders, Serbia on 11 points.

And having already played Serbia in Belgrade and Austria in Vienna, McClean believes Ireland can go into the second half of the campaign with real confidence.

“In the grand scheme of things it was a good point for us,” said McClean.

“We’re still undefeated, we’re joint top of the group. We’ve played Serbia and Austria away and drew with Wales who haven’t gained any ground on us and we’ve got most of our remaining games at home.

“So the onus is on us to really kick on in the second half of the campaign and hopefully we can do that. I’m very confident we can but talk is cheap. We need to put that into action.”

The West Brom winger, who wore the No.5 shirt in memory of his good friend and former Derry City teammate - the late Ryan McBride, was in inspired form on the night and set the tone with a robust tackle on Real Madrid superstar, Gareth Bale after just four minutes.

He felt Ireland shackled the Welsh danger man superbly on the night but admitted it would have been difficult to take if Bale had of clinched the win when his stunning second half strike shaved the post.

Indeed, Bale should have been handed his marching orders for a nasty challenge on John O’Shea minutes before Ireland skipper, Seamus Coleman sustained a broken leg following a horrendous tackle from Neil Taylor.

“That’s just my game anyway, whether it was Gareth Bale or whoever,” McClean said of his tackle.

“I wanted to put 110 per cent into the game, that’s the bare minimum. That’s what I’m paid to do and honoured to do.

“Bale was quiet enough but it just goes to show the class of the man. He had a quiet game but almost won the game with two bits of magic. It just goes to show you can never switch off, but I thought we were very good in containing him.

“We could have been a lot better on the ball ourselves. I thought Wales were a much better side on the ball but given the injuries we had, and the big players we had missing, I felt we did very well. It was a workmanlike performance.

"It was definitely a game which lacked quality. It was like a derby type game. Neither team wanted to lose and cancelled each other out. It was a bit dirty, a bit gritty.

“On another night we could’ve won it if luck was on our side but it wasn’t to be. We’re still in a very strong position and looking forward to doing our bit in the second half of the campaign.

28/03/2017, 12:39 PM
Danny, as a rule of thumb, if you're quoting more than a paragraph, then the link is enough

28/03/2017, 2:55 PM
I'd be against posting full articles altogether. If you find a good article you should want to see it supported by getting clicked.

28/03/2017, 4:23 PM
Still all to play for, our home games will be no push over though.