View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
backstothewall
06/01/2012, 4:29 PM
Fair play to him for settling the matter almost immediately after O'Neill's comments.
Imagine if Noel King said he was calling up to Newcastle to see Shane Ferguson and how he's getting on and keeping in touch.
Never mind Noel King. Trap should head to St. James' Park ASAP.
bwagner
06/01/2012, 5:06 PM
im lost here lads, is Shane Ferguson gona declare for us?
06/01/2012, 5:46 PM
I am pretty sure the original eligibilty thread was a 100 pager and included the premature claims of victory by the IFA, gleefully recorded by local media subsequently proved to be rather embarasing as the FAI also claimed victory , think the current one was started to use as a reference point
Also there was a close to 100 pager for CAS/Daniel Kearns in the summer of 2010.
Though the length could be more explained by filler posts, to fill in the time while waiting.
I think we could almost extract enough good lines for a 10 verse song, in the same vein as Joxer goes to Stuttgart.
Call it, The Day the IFA rode into FIFA-Strasse.
06/01/2012, 5:49 PM
Not that we know but we could ask him just to be sure, I think we are allowed to call 3 times.
Olé Olé
06/01/2012, 5:53 PM
No, he settled the matter recently that he was sticking with the North. But my point was that people from IFA and supporters constantly wheel out this tired old line that the FAI have "poached" some underage players from them. There have recently been some media stories (Anton Rodgers, James McClean) which have demonstrated fairly glaringly that the North are more partial to the bit of "poaching". McClean clearly switched allegiances. O'Neill clearly comes out and says he's considering McClean and wants a chat.
But this conduct has, in the past, seemingly been qualified by people such as Armstrong putting forward a mad notion that the players born in the North are "their" players, when this is not always the case.
ArdeeBhoy
06/01/2012, 6:10 PM
It's 'never' the case surely?
Olé Olé
06/01/2012, 6:29 PM
It's 'never' the case surely?
Well, is a player that commits wholeheartedly to the IFA "their" player? I suppose the player is not a possession etc. in which case 'never' is correct.
theworm2345
07/01/2012, 12:54 AM
He spelled "barrage" incorrectly. I don't think he's cut out for us.
And cue. The youth of today.
To the tune of the Martin Jol song (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JsgMSipE2h0):
James McClean, James McClean, James McClean
He can't spell, who gives a hell
James McClean
ArdeeBhoy
07/01/2012, 3:44 AM
@ OO, exactly.
Anyone born on the island etc.
Is eligible for both.
And Worm, that ditty is even worse than most Ireland songs....
07/01/2012, 3:46 AM
Maybe we should just give them back their players. I mean they do own them after all.
theworm2345
07/01/2012, 5:05 AM
And Worm, that ditty is even worse than most Ireland songs....
You do realize I wasn't serious?
freewheel30
07/01/2012, 9:08 AM
Great that McClean's nipped it in the bud - his football could have suffered if the story continued to run.
Micheál Ó Néill probably reckoned without McClean being so decisive, and would have been hoping for more mileage out of the whole thing. It's now become a bit of a bad start to O'Neill's tenure in one sense.
08/01/2012, 2:29 PM
Strachan on ITV just said he's very excited to see McClean: "a young player, can score goals"
08/01/2012, 3:42 PM
Hit the crossbar in the first half and just won the free kick from which Larsson scored the opening goal. He also had an opportunity to head in the box but missed by inches. He has an Andy Keogh-like tendency to get in the box that I think Trapattoni will like a lot.
ArdeeBhoy
08/01/2012, 3:47 PM
But hopefully not the Keogh-like quality of contriving to miss easy chances...
theworm2345
08/01/2012, 3:49 PM
Goal McClean, Larsson whips an inswinger in from the left corner, McClean runs in, flicks the ball across goal and past the keeper.
08/01/2012, 3:49 PM
I think he just answered that himself. Terrific header, second Sunderland goal.
08/01/2012, 3:50 PM
na hÉireann
agus bródúil !
Olé Olé
08/01/2012, 4:02 PM
My excitement from the City game has been justified, even if it is only championship opposition.
That point about getting into the box is spot on. O'Neill stated during the week that he was really impressed with how good McClean's work ethic was and how capable he was of tracking back. Again, something Trap will appreciate. It'll be interesting to see how Hunt and Duff get on for the rest of the season. I can't see much chance of him making the Euros though. Trap had 3 wingers for the Estonia games (Duff, Hunt, McGeady) and Lawrence and Treacy (as well as Keogh) seem liked by Trap. But playing premiership football may stand in his favour. Injuries to one of the 3 favoured wingers look like the most conceivable route to the squad.
the bear
08/01/2012, 4:10 PM
if hes keeps playing like this and scoring goals of course he can and will make the squad. he's very impressive but still very raw. i've watched him a few times now and he's been sunderlands stand out performer each time. he's only gonna get better with experience of playing at top level. reminds me of bale with his direct running into the space behind defenders, its very very hard to defend against. his touch and final ball have been very unpredictable, thats the kind of thing that will improve with confidence you gain from playing in these games so i would have very high hopes for him
ArdeeBhoy
08/01/2012, 4:26 PM
He's better that Duff in terms of energy and hunger already.
Hunt was anonymous yesterday, but still a great impact player, even v.likes of Spain as they so rarely come up v.something like him.
McGeady's OK, but nothing spectacular. Like said up thread, not massively disappointed if one of Duff or him miss out at McClean's expense.
08/01/2012, 6:02 PM
Signed for £350,000 by Steve Bruce. You would not get him for that now that's for sure.
You would have to be sticking another zero on the end of that for starters.
If he carries on playing like this there is no stopping him.
Top rated on Sky Sports, followed by JOSH, I think that was the same the previous match. [edit - indeed it was]
Carrigaline
08/01/2012, 6:39 PM
He's better that Duff in terms of energy and hunger already.Oh come on, let's not get ahead of ourselves. Duff is one of the hardest working players in the Irish team, I don't know how anyone can question his work rate or effort.
I think McClean made all the right noises in his interview. It sounds like he's just interested in trying to string a few games together at his club and play his way into Trap's thoughts. None of this "if you don't play me, I'll fúck off" entitlement mentality that seems to prevade in some players.
Sullivinho
08/01/2012, 7:11 PM
Savage engine on the fella, gets around the pitch like it's a modest back yard. Something else that may make Trap's 'pro' column.
09/01/2012, 12:27 PM
He's better that Duff in terms of energy and hunger already.
Hunt was anonymous yesterday, but still a great impact player, even v.likes of Spain as they so rarely come up v.something like him.
McGeady's OK, but nothing spectacular. Like said up thread, not massively disappointed if one of Duff or him miss out at McClean's expense.
so after a couple of decent performances McClean is now to displace seasoned internationals who have proved themselves over many campaigns??
short memory. some of duffs performances for us in the last campaign were excellent. the only threat to his place in the Euros starting xi is injury. also, his actions and comments over the years would point to him being one of the most "hungry" players I have ever seen involved with us.
ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2012, 12:34 PM
Well all internationals give up eventually...
Duff's not irreplaceable you know. And acknowledge his service over the years but If someone else turns out to be better between now and then, why not pick them??
09/01/2012, 12:36 PM
If someone else turns out to be better between now and then, why not pick them??
we have one friendly between now and squad selection. very unlikely he will prove himself than any of our players at international level in time
ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2012, 12:49 PM
Erm, club football which is these players 'bread and butter'.
Not saying he will, but If (and a massive If) he was to excel with Sunderland, then he should be in the squad. As should Pilkington.
09/01/2012, 12:55 PM
Erm, club football which is these players 'bread and butter'.
Not saying he will, but If (and a massive If) he was to excel with Sunderland, then he should be in the squad. As should Pilkington.
has to prove he can do it at international level before he can take over from the two players you mention.
pilkington has not 100% signed up to us. he is inconsistent at best this season in anycase
ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2012, 12:57 PM
Well they won't get the chance if they don't play...
Both those two are in currently in better form than Messrs.Doyle, Duff and Hunt. Go figure...
09/01/2012, 12:59 PM
Both those two are in currently in better form than Messrs.Doyle, Duff and Hunt. Go figure...
mc clean has shown decent form over a massive two games.
pilkington has shown patch form at best and is not even confirmed declared for us
09/01/2012, 1:16 PM
I think Duff's value to the team has changed. No longer can he skin people like he used to, but he is a superb out ball who rarely loses the ball easily and buys us time on the ball when we're struggling. He can draw free kicks like no one else can.
He also has the capacity to deliver a great final ball - wasn't it his floated ball that teed up Robbie's late missed header against Slovakia?
ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2012, 1:28 PM
According to Wiki, Trapattoni & Tardelli are keeping an eye on Pilkington.
Euro 2012 will be Duff's last big hurrah and if there are obviously better candidates like JMcC & AP, then they should go instead...
Though I agree it's currently a big 'If'.
09/01/2012, 1:29 PM
I think Duff's value to the team has changed. No longer can he skin people like he used to
imo this is due to Duff being played out of position on the right by Trap. tends to cut in to get onto his stronger foot than go outside his opponent like he used to.
his tracking back is great also
09/01/2012, 1:33 PM
How many times have we watched Duff over the last few years acting as a back up at RB.
One of my very favourite performances from him was the game v Cyprus in Croker. He spent the game marshalling McShane making sure that he didn't do anything stupid and if he did Damo was there to mop up.
The idea of not bringing a fit Duff on the basis of McClean's recent good run or in the event of Pilko's declaration is almost insane.
09/01/2012, 1:45 PM
The idea of not bringing a fit Duff on the basis of McClean's recent good run or in the event of Pilko's declaration is almost insane.
Duff is a key player for us so probably best not to risk injury. It's only the Euros after all. Maybe Given, Dunne and Keane should stay at home as well. Don't want those boys injured with the WC qualifiers coming up.
09/01/2012, 1:47 PM
According to Wiki, Trapattoni & Tardelli are keeping an eye on Pilkington.
Euro 2012 will be Duff's last big hurrah and if there are obviously better candidates like JMcC & AP, then they should go instead...
Though I agree it's currently a big 'If'.
I think the point is that it doesn't seem to be obvious to anyone except you.
Sullivinho
09/01/2012, 1:49 PM
I saw someone on a Sunderland board receiving multiple agreement that James' value has rocketed to an estimated 18million already and someone else seriously raise the possibility of a raid from Man Utd among others.
The kneejerk reaction here is kitten tame in comparison.
ArdeeBhoy
09/01/2012, 2:03 PM
I think the point is that it doesn't seem to be obvious to anyone except you.
Except I used the word 'if'. Or is that too hard to comprehend?
I maintain also that Duff is not the attacking force of winger he once was, wing-back maybe, and IF there are better wingers like JMcC & AP, they should be CONSIDERED.
Though not necessarily selected, as too many people on here would be upset.
09/01/2012, 2:13 PM
If Duff is still breathing, he will be there at the Finals.
Hunt is having a difficult time this season, though.
Carrigaline
09/01/2012, 4:08 PM
Agreed. Firstly, it's just ridiculous that folks are talking about dropping the best winger that this country has ever produced in favour of a kid who has only ever started two Premier League games in his career. Secondly, I think the intricacies of international football management are just lost on some people. If we were to just play the players in form, then we would probably have a different starting 11 each time we played. We tried that chopping and changing of tactics and players under Staunton and it was a disaster, there was no discipline, structure or continuity in the team. Even when you treat world class players like that, you will get the same outcome as Maradonna showed at Argentina.
McClean looks like a very good prospect, but let's not put the cart before horse on this. Let's see him consistently produce decent form and he will get his chance.
... would point to him being one of the most "hungry" players I have ever seen involved with us.
Andy Reid is one of the most hungry players I have ever seen involved with us.
(someone had to say it)
09/01/2012, 5:21 PM
Yes but they are saving themselves for 'the big one'. :)
09/01/2012, 5:50 PM
I saw someone on a Sunderland board receiving multiple agreement that James' value has rocketed to an estimated 18million already and someone else seriously raise the possibility of a raid from Man Utd among others.
The kneejerk reaction here is kitten tame in comparison.
However if he continues to play well get goals and top ratings such figures are not unrealistic nor is the Man U raid
especially with the recent friction with Rooney etc....
Are we to believe all Sunderland are mugs? If he was shyte they would be the first to say so.
Anyway, he has gone up to £24 million now. I think the £1 billion valuation was probably a joke.
Just saw him compared to a young Rooney on a Sunderland forum.
But he has only played a handful of games so it all wild speculation.
09/01/2012, 7:09 PM
Just out of interest, what was the general opinion of McClean on the LOI forum last season? Is his recent success something of a surprise or was he the new messiah all along but barstoolers would never know yada yada yada?
honestly Stutts, he was one of the few players last season who every league fan agreed should be playing at a far higher level than LOI. He was the stand out performer in a very good Derry team. I only saw highlights of his performances/goals on MNS so will leave it to the Derry fans for more detailed critiques. I am surprised with how quickly he has adapted and also, more importantly, how quickly he has filled out.
Suffice to say, he was the new messiah for a lot of league fans.
gastric
09/01/2012, 8:53 PM
Can't believe this debate. Duffer will go and be one of our stand out perfprmers in what will be probably his swan song tournament.
the bear
09/01/2012, 9:04 PM
http://backpagefootball.com/premier-league/one-2-watch-james-mcclean/
article about mccleans emergence, contains audio interview with trap about him
09/01/2012, 11:44 PM
It looks like it's a LOI landslide over the barstoolers ignorance on McClean.
Bruce did well to get to the head of the long queue and sign him for Sunderland.
MON will take all the glory though.
Carrigaline
09/01/2012, 11:56 PM
Apparently Trap will give McClean his chance in the friendly against the Czech Republic.
http://www.irishcentral.com/sport/Trapattoni-to-reward-McCleans-switch-with-Ireland-cap-136902538.html