View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
theworm2345
20/02/2012, 6:02 PM
Piece I wrote for Goal about why McClean's call-up doesn't mean he'll be playing any time soon:
I've lost all respect for you.
AlaskaFox
20/02/2012, 6:22 PM
I've lost all respect for you.
You had some before now?
dantheman
20/02/2012, 7:56 PM
"Break a leg" Ah that's nice, wishing him good luck.
Your man who posted that has deleted his account.
That's unfortunate..
the bear
20/02/2012, 10:08 PM
had a funny feeling mccleans call up was coming. anyone think its traps way of keeping him grounded? i reckon he knows what hes doing, paul green is thrown in their to keep mcclean from getting a big head too
21/02/2012, 12:05 AM
I think that's closer to the mark. Things have been moving fast for McClean since he broke into the first team with a bullet.
All of a sudden he's supposed to be the man to carry the hopes of his club and country.
Green has been playing well for Derby since he returned from injury but I thought we were past needing him.
Olé Olé
21/02/2012, 3:03 AM
Last I looked, Trap doesn't call players up for the craic.
the bear
21/02/2012, 9:16 AM
not for the craic its for the benefit of the squad, gently breaking a rising star in without stepping on anyones toes, maybe he feared ill will from squad members if he was thrown right in. do you think he will get game time? i do
as for green do you honestly think he's in the running for a place on plane, i doubt he will get on for czech match
Olé Olé
21/02/2012, 9:32 AM
I'm not sure whether he feared any ill will by not calling him up because, as he stated in the most recent press conference, he didn't call up McClean initially so as to preserve the continuity of the current group.
Yeah, he surely will get a run. I think it's as simple as this: if he performs well against the Czechs and is well received by the group then Stephen Hunt will be warned that his place on the plane to Poland is not certain. Whether Trap is actually willing to drop Hunt, I'm not sure. But I think there's more function to calling up McClean than bedding in.
the bear
21/02/2012, 9:55 AM
i wouldn't like to see hunt dropped but i also hope mcclean can come in and make an impact, there could be a few tough decisions for trap come the summer. whats your view on teh reasonng behind the late call up
Olé Olé
21/02/2012, 10:19 AM
I can't be quite sure. All we can do at the moment is speculate. But there was definitely a reason for it. Maybe to keep everyone guessing about whether McClean will be considered for the squad for the actual Euro's, the Spaniards, Croats and Italians included.
ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2012, 10:34 AM
Things have been moving fast for McClean since he broke into the first team with a bullet.
All of a sudden he's supposed to be the man to carry the hopes of his club and country.
At least he didn't have some 'kind soul' send him one...
DannyInvincible
21/02/2012, 2:34 PM
Video interview with McClean about his call-up at the Brandywell last night: http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17107746
DannyInvincible
21/02/2012, 2:59 PM
MEP for Foyle, Colum Eastwood, has congratulated McClean on senior call-up: http://www.sdlp.ie/index.php/newsroom_media/newsarticle/eastwood_congratulates_james_mcclean_on_call-up_to_irish_squad/
SDLP Foyle MLA, Colum Eastwood, has congratulated James McClean on his call up to the Irish squad for the forthcoming friendly against the Czech Republic. Mr Eastwood said that James was a credit to himself, his family and to Derry City and would undoubtedly prove his worth at international level for Ireland.
Mr Eastwood said: ‘I am delighted that James McClean has been called up to the Irish squad, well deserved after his performances for Sunderland over the last number of months.
‘James now has the opportunity to show off his abilities at international level, abilities which Derry City FC fans know well.
‘This will hopefully mark the beginning of a long and successful career for Ireland.
‘All of Derry wishes him well in the coming friendly match and hope this may be the lead in to call up for the Republic squad for the Euro 2012 championships in Poland and the Ukraine.’
third policeman
21/02/2012, 4:04 PM
i wouldn't like to see hunt dropped but i also hope mcclean can come in and make an impact, there could be a few tough decisions for trap come the summer. whats your view on teh reasonng behind the late call up
Personally I would be happy to see McCleanand Pilkington in ahead of Hunt on grounds of sheer ability. Hunt is a likeable bloke, he's committed and enthusiastic but painfully limited. If we had room in the squad for a mascot Hunt would be in contention, but he should not be playing international football ahead of players who clearly have more to offer and are performing more consistently.
21/02/2012, 4:55 PM
Personally I would be happy to see McCleanand Pilkington in ahead of Hunt on grounds of sheer ability. Hunt is a likeable bloke, he's committed and enthusiastic but painfully limited. If we had room in the squad for a mascot Hunt would be in contention, but he should not be playing international football ahead of players who clearly have more to offer and are performing more consistently.
from what i have seen of him i think mcclean could offer a lot particularly as an impact sub.
however, no one can know that he or pilkington (has he even declared for us?) will actually offer more than hunt does at international level.
the bear
21/02/2012, 5:55 PM
hunt is a very good player, who has been very good for us and in the premierleague over a number of seasons. admittedly he is not on a very good run of form at the minute, but i would only leave him out as a last resort. i think he is a very effective player and better technically than a lot give him credit for. an numerous occasions his introduction has swung games in our favour.
mcclean needs to be in the squad but i think theres room for both of them.(ie. coleman goes as full back cover also)
pilkington has been no better than ive seen hunt play and hasn't even declared for us. (last i heard he said hed think about it if we asked him). how you would consider bringing him instead of hunt is beyond me
Sullivinho
21/02/2012, 5:57 PM
The McClean vs Hunt scenario is interesting, not least because Hunt's aces (workrate, aggression, harrying etc.) are matched, nay exceeded by his challenger. Factor in the quality of season they're having respectively and Stephen may ultimately be more indebted than most to Trap's loyalty/familiarity with the system.
ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2012, 7:49 PM
Hunt's only 'very good' as an impact player...though like him personally, can totally see why he's not seen as a 'serious' international. System or no system.
McClean's inexperienced but that's part of his appeal. He seems fearless and full of beans. And maybe certain dissenters have added to his current desire to impress.
Pilkington & Hoolahan should also be integrated if possible. As Duffer & Hunt won't have so much to offer come the next qualifiers.
Fixer82
21/02/2012, 8:02 PM
Hunt's only 'very good' as an impact player...though like him personally, can totally see why he's not seen as a 'serious' international. System or no system.
I think Hunt is seen as a serious international.
In the last campaign (for WC 2010) he was the set piece taker that delivered much moreso than McGeady or Duff and played a big part in big results
ArdeeBhoy
21/02/2012, 8:50 PM
No complaints generally, preferred Hunt to Duff & McGeady for years...
But some on here think they're 'irreplaceable'...
co. down green
21/02/2012, 9:34 PM
MEP for Foyle, Colum Eastwood, has congratulated McClean on senior call-up: http://www.sdlp.ie/index.php/newsroom_media/newsarticle/eastwood_congratulates_james_mcclean_on_call-up_to_irish_squad/
Colum Eastwood @columeastwood
Congratulations to James McClean. He'll be a great asset to the Ireland squad
The Mayor of Belfast also welcomed McClean's call-up
Niall Ó Donnghaile @NiallSF
@YouBoysInGreen Great news for @JMcC_23 looking forward to him running out for Éire! #coybig #ÉireAbú
As did the other SDLP MLA for Foyle
Mark H Durkan @MarkHDurkan
@JMcC_23 Well done James- Everybody in Derry is very proud of you.Do well for Ireland but take it easy v Everton in the cup!
Meanwhile another MLA questions the IFA mopery over the eligibility issue
Daithí McKay @daithimckay
Will IFA stop interfering with northerners who want to play for higher ranked Irish team now that theyre trying 2 adopt a Japanese player?
Pettiness is IFA undermining players who have already made their choice not to play for them
DannyInvincible
21/02/2012, 10:09 PM
Careful now!
the bear
21/02/2012, 10:49 PM
Hunt's only 'very good' as an impact player
thats a very important part of a tournament squad in my opinion
gastric
22/02/2012, 12:52 AM
Colum Eastwood @columeastwood
Congratulations to James McClean. He'll be a great asset to the Ireland squad
The Mayor of Belfast also welcomed McClean's call-up
Niall Ó Donnghaile @NiallSF
@YouBoysInGreen Great news for @JMcC_23 looking forward to him running out for Éire! #coybig #ÉireAbú
As did the other SDLP MLA for Foyle
Mark H Durkan @MarkHDurkan
@JMcC_23 Well done James- Everybody in Derry is very proud of you.Do well for Ireland but take it easy v Everton in the cup!
Will IFA stop interfering with northerners who want to play for higher ranked Irish team now that theyre trying 2 adopt a Japanese player?
Pettiness is IFA undermining players who have already made their choice not to play for them
Interesting who is happy and who's not, party wise. It certainly is along Nationalist / Unionist lines which highlights the whole essence of the debate!
DannyInvincible
22/02/2012, 2:11 AM
'Time to come clean on why you hate James McClean' by Ciarán Ó Raghallaigh: http://ciarano.tumblr.com/post/18047679059/time-to-come-clean-on-why-you-hate-james-mcclean
The bottom line however is that there is no country, state or nation called the Republic of Ireland. Just a football team.
Ireland is the name of the nation and state McClean calls his own. It’s on the front cover of his passport.
The Republic of Ireland is merely descriptive in legal and constitutional terms, but in footballing terms it aims to separate the team that purports to represent the six counties alone from that which doesn’t.
Of course, it represents the entire 32 counties - or more specifically, everyone in those counties who want it to represent them.
This is not an antagonistic claim. This is not intended to wind up any genuine fans of Michael O’Neill’s team. It is merely a fact.
By his very birthright, McClean is as entitled to play for the Republic as Robbie Keane or Shay Given. There is no magic dust sprinkled on his passport - it’s a simple right, enshrined in law.
The constant streams of abuse, thankfully shrugged off with surprising maturity by the player involved, will do more long term bad than good.
That’s the only unspeakable sin taking place.
Deckydee
22/02/2012, 7:34 AM
'Time to come clean on why you hate James McClean' by Ciarán Ó Raghallaigh: http://ciarano.tumblr.com/post/180476059/time-to-come-clean-on-why-you-hate-james-mcclean
Interesting article but I think the link is down
ArdeeBhoy
22/02/2012, 8:42 AM
Clearly all these commentators don't agree with certain contributors that McClean's selection is just about football...
DannyInvincible
22/02/2012, 9:52 AM
Interesting article but I think the link is down
Should work again now.
third policeman
22/02/2012, 11:30 AM
thats a very important part of a tournament squad in my opinion
I know he has a devoted fan base, but what exactly is his impact?. I can recall a few decent deliveries, but all too often he only succeeds in confounding defences by running very fast in a straight line and taking the ball out of play. This does on occasion create a surge of excitement and a mistaken anticipation that something extraordinary might happen, but alas it rarely does. He brings energy withour purpose, and momentum without direction.
22/02/2012, 11:32 AM
Italy at home in 2009 - came on, won a couple of quick free kicks, including the one he delivered for the goal.
Both games against Bulgaria - he supplied (and won at least one of) the free kicks that led to our goals.
Wales 2007 - came on and set up Doyle immediately to put us in the lead.
That's just off the top of my head.
ArdeeBhoy
22/02/2012, 12:37 PM
He has been good for us in that respect. Start with McClean and bring Hunty on for the last 20 or 30 would be my preferred option.
AlaskaFox
22/02/2012, 2:47 PM
How could people start anyone other than McGeady and Duffer? Both are international quality players. McClean may be too, but I'd say it'll be in the WC Qualifiers that we see that.
22/02/2012, 4:00 PM
McClean is Spartacus.
22/02/2012, 4:32 PM
McClean is Spartacus.
I am Spartacus.
the bear
22/02/2012, 5:07 PM
He has been good for us in that respect. Start with McClean and bring Hunty on for the last 20 or 30 would be my preferred option.
so who are you dropping duff or mcgeady???
ArdeeBhoy
22/02/2012, 9:00 PM
How could people start anyone other than McGeady and Duffer? Both are international quality players.
Quite easily. They might be international quality but sometimes just a better player comes along.
So happy to see either dropped/rested/injured.
Liam Brady on RTE last night said he thought McClean was a certainty to make the Euros squad. He said he hasnt been talking to Gio but interesting view all the same.
23/02/2012, 1:22 PM
Only those inside the inner circle can call him Gio.
third policeman
23/02/2012, 2:48 PM
Italy at home in 2009 - came on, won a couple of quick free kicks, including the one he delivered for the goal.
Both games against Bulgaria - he supplied (and won at least one of) the free kicks that led to our goals.
Wales 2007 - came on and set up Doyle immediately to put us in the lead.
That's just off the top of my head.
We;re going back a bit here. He undoubtedly had a purple patch when he first emerged as Premiership / International player and defenders were still confounded by his radically direct approach, but he's not been that effective in a long while.
Deckydee
24/02/2012, 11:06 AM
Hmmmm.....
http://www.derryjournal.com/sport/football/derry-city/james_is_flying_high_at_brandywell_1_2792575
Disappointment
But there has also been disappointment for the affable local man, who has been capped for N. Ireland at Under-21 level.
Having performed well at that level, he felt he had a chance of a call-up to the senior squad for recent Carling Nations Cup ties which were staged at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin.
“I honestly felt that not just me, but a few of the players at Derry City would have been good enough to be called into the squad after so many senior players had dropped out.
“However, the manager opted to select players from Irish League clubs instead. Personally, I believed that Gerard Doherty, Shane and Patrick McEleney, or even myself, had a chance of getting called up as we had been playing well with Derry at the time but we were not considered.”
Would he be happy to represent N. Ireland with so many other players from the North-West area opting to represent the Republic?
“International recognition is very important to most players. I thoroughly enjoyed playing for the Under-21s and, therefore, any call-up to the senior squad would be considered an honour.
“Yes, I was disappointed that a few of our own players didn’t get called up for recent squads, but I’m not breaking my heart or anything like that.
“I just felt that with the controversy surrounding other local players who have opted for the Republic, one of us at the Brandywell may have had a squeak of getting in, but that didn’t happen.
“However, my focus is with Derry City and I can’t afford to dwell on international disappointments. I’m totally committed to my home town club and, just like the rest of the lads, I want to be involved in any success we can achieve this season.”
Nice find Deckydee, that article is littered with irony.
24/02/2012, 11:34 AM
Nice find Deckydee, that article is littered with irony.
How so?
Murfinator
24/02/2012, 2:16 PM
How could people start anyone other than McGeady and Duffer?.
Insanity is the only legitimate reason I can think of.
Predator
24/02/2012, 5:36 PM
McClean is careful with his words regarding the IFA team. He gives what I call a diplomatic answer. Northerners can spot this straight away. :)
He said: "International recognition is very important to most players." when asked would he like to play for Northern Ireland around the time of the CNC. (He also mentions the McEleney brothers and Gerard Doherty, all of whom have been part of FAI squads in the past.)
When one contrasts this with his stated feelings upon getting "international recognition" for "[his] country", the aforementioned diplomacy becomes clear.
"To make my debut – be it against the Czech Republic or at another time – would be a dream come true, and that’s all I’m focused on."
So, like ifk, I'd like to know where the irony lies.
Trap putting in the hours today...
There are potentially eight Republic of Ireland players in action at The Hawthorns, which is why Giovanni Trapattoni is there, I suppose. Anyway, one of them, James McClean, has missed a good chance from a Seb Larsson cross. The Baggies still lead 1-0, and are still creating chances - James Morrison just tested Simon Mignolet with a low shot.
theworm2345
25/02/2012, 2:43 PM
Trap putting in the hours today...
There are potentially eight Republic of Ireland players in action at The Hawthorns, which is why Giovanni Trapattoni is there, I suppose. Anyway, one of them, James McClean, has missed a good chance from a Seb Larsson cross. The Baggies still lead 1-0, and are still creating chances - James Morrison just tested Simon Mignolet with a low shot.
Maybe McClean got stage fright, just got beat by Morrison with a header at the backpost for WBA's 2nd.
25/02/2012, 2:57 PM
I may or may not have jinxed him by selecting him for my fantasy football this week
seanfhear
25/02/2012, 5:34 PM
Sunderland seem to have got a bit of a spanking from WBA today.
Roy Hodgson for England so.
25/02/2012, 7:30 PM
Mick McCarthy was sacked after a similar scoreline!!
Time for O'Neil to go!!