View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 [38] 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73

AlaskaFox
13/02/2013, 3:20 PM
Yeah, this time he should definitely stay away from it...
Just block the eejits.

I don't think twitter allows you to block yourself.

13/02/2013, 3:55 PM
Yeah, this time he should definitely stay away from it...
Just block the eejit.

fixed... ;)

ArdeeBhoy
13/02/2013, 4:56 PM
Means?

DannyInvincible
25/02/2013, 10:31 AM
The tiresome Gregory Campbell has a go at McClean and calls for a Sunderland investigation over a tweet about a Wolfe Tones song: http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/local-national/northern-ireland/james-mcclean-in-new-row-over-wolfe-tones-song-tweet-29092150.html

A DUP MP has told Sunderland player James McClean to stick to football after the controversial winger revealed his favourite song is a Republican folk song.

A post on the Twitter account of the Londonderry-born Sunderland and Republic of Ireland player professed his love for The Broad Black Brimmer — written by Noel Nagle of the Wolfe Tones.

East Londonderry MP Gregory Campbell said if McClean continues with his “contentious” comments, Kilrea-born club manager Martin O'Neill should tell him to pack his bags. The tweet appeared on his account on Friday.

McClean wrote: “On flight for the maras (tomorrow’s) game. Only one thing for it —headphones in, Wolfe Tones on! What’s everyone’s fave song? Broad Black Brimmer edges mine.”

The song tells of a boy whose father is killed while fighting for the IRA, with the title referring to the wide-brimmed hat worn by many of the group's members in the 1920s during the War of Independence and civil war.

One verse refers to “a holster that’s been empty many a day... (but not for long), and when men claim Ireland’s freedom, the one they’ll choose to lead them, will wear the broad black brimmer of the IRA.”

Last night Mr Campbell called on the Premier League side to investigate the latest comments.

“As someone playing football at a professional level for Sunderland, McClean should be an example to young people,” he said.

“It is obviously up to his manager... to decide what course of action to take now.

“Three simple words should suffice — stick to football. If he doesn't heed this then a final three words should be given — pack your bags.”

The 23-year-old’s comments on Twitter have previously prompted Martin O’Neill to ban him from the site.

Earlier this month McClean said he was unaffected by the abuse he receives and it would “only make (him) play better”.

McClean and Sunderland football club were unavailable for comment last night.

ArdeeBhoy
25/02/2013, 10:32 AM
Bah, beat me to it...
Here's another link anyways.

http://balls.ie/football/dup-mp-gregory-campbell-slams-james-mcclean-for-liking-the-wolfe-tones/

ArdeeBhoy
25/02/2013, 10:33 AM
I don't think twitter allows you to block yourself.

Good that you explained that in this context.

25/02/2013, 11:00 AM
Earlier this month McClean said he was unaffected by the abuse he receives and it would “only make (him) play better”.
We have yet to see that the abuse he receives actually makes McClean play better:)

Probably there are quite a few here who completely share Campbell's 'Save Ulster from McClean' campaign and his opinions about McClean's pre-match musical preferences. It's always good to know who your bedfellows are.:D
Is Campbell is facing a BNP (or like minded) campaign, infringing on his corner of the right wing reactionary meathead market?

DannyInvincible
25/02/2013, 11:45 AM
I suppose it's to be expected; McClean responds: https://twitter.com/mcclean23/status/305987078846545920

Accordin to gregory campbell i shouldnt be allowed to listen to wolftones ha.. someone give greg a tissue and a big hug from me #poorweeguy

25/02/2013, 12:22 PM
wonder what Campbell made of Meyler and O'Dea's mentions of Wolfe Tones songs over the weekend, or Shane Duffy's support of McClean this morning?

25/02/2013, 12:50 PM
All I can think is the Wolfe Tones must be having a great laugh, not least when counting their monies.

DannyInvincible
25/02/2013, 1:15 PM
wonder what Campbell made of Meyler and O'Dea's mentions of Wolfe Tones songs over the weekend, or Shane Duffy's support of McClean this morning?

Sure, Duffy's old news and there's little mileage to be gained from badgering southerners...

ArdeeBhoy
25/02/2013, 1:35 PM
Let the people sing...
http://balls.ie/football/the-wolfe-tones-hit-back-at-gregory-campbell-on-twitter/

Sullivinho
25/02/2013, 1:48 PM
Musicians, rebels, tweeters, legends. But first and foremost..

http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/wolfetones.jpg

Ireland's answer to Black Sabbath.

dcfc_1928
25/02/2013, 7:16 PM
And his Twitter account is gone.......again.

DannyInvincible
26/02/2013, 9:43 AM
Musicians, rebels, tweeters, legends. But first and foremost..

http://ballsdot.wpengine.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/wolfetones.jpg

Ireland's answer to Black Sabbath.

James has been invited by the band to appear on-stage with them in April: http://www.sunderlandecho.com/news/crime/sunderland-star-james-mcclean-in-ira-twitter-row-1-5445957

Someone from the band tweeted McClean asking him if he would appear on stage with them in April, to which he replied: “would actually be amazing thanks”.

East Londonderry MP Gregory Campbell hit at what he said was the player’s “latest gaffe”.

He said: “He has previously engaged in totally inappropriate Twitter exchanges with Northern Ireland fans, then he was the only player out of 22 on the pitch last November who declined to wear a poppy on his football top for Remembrance Day.

“As someone playing football at a professional level for Sunderland, McClean should be an example to young people. This song’s lyrics are openly pro IRA, which is steeped in a desire to use the gun and terrorism. Young people should be taught the folly of terrorism. IRA terrorism in Northern Ireland and across the British Isles has claimed thousands of lives.”

The MP said promotion of songs like Broad Black Brimmer was “utterly inappropriate” adding: “Three simple words should suffice: stick to football. If he doesn’t heed this, then a final three words should be given: pack your bags.”

From where does this notion arise that footballers (private individuals performing their profession with no contractual duty or obligation to members of the public) ought to be examples for our society's young? What of elected public representatives then?... Of course, Gregory used to carry a gun himself and was a strong advocate of a shoot-to-kill policy, at least back in the mid-80s (see from 4:00):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NciY4S9YVW8

26/02/2013, 9:49 AM
DI, why don't you write to the journal, write to him or whatever and bring this up?

Not Brazil
26/02/2013, 10:30 AM
The irony of Gregory giving off about McClean's taste in "Rebel" music - two days after fans of his beloved Glasgow Rangers were, once again, in the headlines pertaining to their choice of "party tunes".

Oh, and somebody should ban McClean from Twitter.

DannyInvincible
26/02/2013, 10:36 AM
I dunno how he gets back on it, time and time again. His account is deleted (presumably upon the instruction of O'Neill/Sunderland) every time a media story erupts, but he'll inevitably be in the news again a few weeks later, having returned to the site.

Edit: That's not to say that James is primarily to blame for the media/mock-outraged politicians making a meal of his every tweet, especially the innocuous ones.

DannyInvincible
26/02/2013, 10:47 AM
What chants/songs were Rangers fans actually engaging in last Saturday? I've been aware of the media storm since but I didn't hear what was sung myself nor am I sure if it's been clarified. 'The Billy Boys'?

Not Brazil
26/02/2013, 10:56 AM
What chants/songs were Rangers fans actually engaging in last Saturday? I've been aware of the media storm since but I didn't hear what was sung myself nor am I sure if it's been clarified. 'The Billy Boys'?

Not sure.

Read elsewhere, from a Rangers fan, that they included "Three Cheers for the Red, White & Blue" (which includes a reference to the UVF) and "Here Lies A Soldier" (A UVF song).

26/02/2013, 11:09 AM
ESPN were broadcasting the game, and apologised to their viewers for any offence caused (ironically enough, via twitter): https://twitter.com/ESPNUK/status/305311611030216704

Sincere apologies if you heard some inappropriate chanting/language from our microphones. Rangers have just issued the following statement..
Rangers did apologise on their account for the chanting

26/02/2013, 11:12 AM
Not sure.

Read elsewhere, from a Rangers fan, that they included "Three Cheers for the Red, White & Blue" (which includes a reference to the UVF) and "Here Lies A Soldier" (A UVF song).

Funny, do the wolfe tones not have a version of that?

26/02/2013, 11:37 AM
When a publicly elected figure choses to use the media to launch a crazed bigoted attack on McClean, then the public figure should be censured and banned from media access. Instead some reckon it's McClean who should be banned for professing his favourite Wolfe Tone ballad.

There is a case for his club to expect McClean to act appropriately according to the club's ethos and conversations between him and his friends be kept private, away from the attention of trolls, crazed bigots and the general low standard of intelligentsia that pervades football.

Crosby87
26/02/2013, 11:41 AM
Why is there a Canadian flag in this video at one point? Is it Skstu?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=IF5h8OdRfOc

DannyInvincible
26/02/2013, 11:44 AM
The Orange Order have lodges all over the world (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_Order#Throughout_the_world).

ArdeeBhoy
26/02/2013, 12:20 PM

Doubtful. Maybe they would argue it's their attempt at 'inclusivity'...

26/02/2013, 12:40 PM
Inclusive in an exclusive manner :)

26/02/2013, 12:56 PM
The Orange Order have lodges all over the world (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_Order#Throughout_the_world).

Gotta love wikipedia, 10 minutes later I somehow got onto reading about the Slaughter on Eighth Avenue.

Paddy Garcia
26/02/2013, 1:53 PM
Gotta love wikipedia, 10 minutes later I somehow got onto reading about the Slaughter on Eighth Avenue.

I thought Trap had a hard job - but the re-branding of Orangeism - well there lies a challenge....

ArdeeBhoy
26/02/2013, 1:54 PM
Oh and FYI, no such club as 'Glasgow Rangers' or even 'Rangers' FC, btw. One never existed and the other died.

Just 'The Rangers' or 'Sevco 5088'. Alternative names on a postcard...

26/02/2013, 5:36 PM

i wish :(

(i think ive told people here this before but theres a reason i moved to a city called Regina in an area known as Windsor Park just off Prince Of Wales Drive.)

God, it doesnt get any less embarrassing to admit...

Colbert Report
27/02/2013, 3:44 AM
Looks like I'll be going to train in Regina for the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Stu. Just how small of a town is Regina? I've only been there once, and it was only for a weekend.

27/02/2013, 3:54 AM
Ha! No way! It's about 210,000 big and has probably come a long way from when you were here. 2nd fastest growing city in Canada behind Saskatoon/Shelbyville ;) It's a good city. How long is your training for? Well have to meet up for pints when you get here. Don't forget that grand you owe me................ ;)

Colbert Report
27/02/2013, 3:59 AM
210k? Christ, that is small. Six months of training at their depot, no idea when I'll be sent there, probably later this year though, hopefully after the summer is over.

Do you play football there? Is the standard half decent?

gastric
27/02/2013, 7:01 AM
What's this thread, a dating service? :D

DannyInvincible
27/02/2013, 10:16 AM
James appears to have deleted his Twitter account again after a "brief but frank" meeting with Martin O'Neill: http://balls.ie/football/james-mcclean-banned-from-twitter-by-sunderland/#sthash.aNu5SXpy.dpuf

James McClean’s return to Twitter has been a short-lived one. After an innocent tweet about his favourite Wolfe Tones song inspired an angsty response from the DUP MP Gregory Campbell, Martin O’Neill met with McClean Monday, and by all accounts, told him to shut down the account.

Via the Daily Mail (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2284965/Sunderlands-James-McClean-removed-Twitter-sectarian-row.html):

The move to delete his account is understood to have been made on club advice, and after a brief but frank meeting with manager Martin O’Neill on Monday.

It comes after the Republic of Ireland star professed his love for song The Broad Black Brimmer by The Wolfe Tones prior to Sunderland’s game against West Bromwich Albion at the weekend.

McClean had tweeted about Campbell’s comments by saying: “Accordin to gregory campbell i shouldnt be allowed to listen to wolftones ha.. someone give greg a tissue and a big hug from me”. McClean returned to Twitter in January after quitting in the wake of his tweet from Astana and the row over his decision not to wear a poppy, but to us, this seems like a ridiculous crackdown on personal expression. Is it really sectarian to state your favourite Wolfe Tones song is ‘Broad Black Brimmer’? Does this offend people in 2013? Or could it be that Campbell, also a Derry man, knew that McClean is lightning rod for controversy and picked up on a throwaway tweet to get himself more headlines and galvinise his constituency?

When James decided to return to the site whilst on international duty for the Poland game, O'Neill had the following to say:

Is he maturing? No. He has gone back on Twitter, even against advice of the club. I have to say maybe he will look out for himself then.

27/02/2013, 1:47 PM
What's this thread, a dating service? :D

i should be so lucky! swit swoo.

DannyInvincible
27/02/2013, 2:02 PM
DI, why don't you write to the journal, write to him or whatever and bring this up?

Done. :)

Sent this off to the Derry Journal/Irish News yesterday:

In light of Gregory Campbell's recent mock-outraged condemnation of James McClean's taste in Irish rebel music and his subsequent demand that McClean act as an example for our youth, I must ask: from where does this notion arise that footballers - private individuals performing their profession with no contractual duty or obligation to members of the public - ought to be examples for our society's young?

What of elected public representatives then? Of course, Campbell used to carry a gun himself and was a strong advocate of a shoot-to-kill policy back in the mid-1980s. Whether or not his views have softened somewhat since then, his contemporary dialogue is still tainted with a deep sense of bitterness and antagonism that only serves to further fuel local division.

It is telling that Campbell saw fit only to be "offended" by McClean's tweet about his favourite Wolfe Tones song. Fellow Irish internationals, David Meyler and Darren O'Dea, also tweeted about their admiration of the Wolfe Tones on the same day, but I suppose there is little mileage to be had for Campbell in attacking Cork or Dublin footballers of lesser "media notoriety".

There is also a rich irony in this episode; perhaps more fitting targets for Campbell's criticism this week would have been the fans of his beloved Glasgow Rangers who, once again, provoked negative headlines after engaging in the singing of pro-UVF chants during their club's game at Berwick Rangers broadcast live on television last Saturday. The only reason McClean was making headlines again was because of Campbell's needless cherry-picking.

Somewhat inspired by NB's observation, in fact. I hope he doesn't mind.

This is a good read: http://www.goal.com/en-ie/news/3942/ireland/2013/02/27/3784255/wolfe-tones-issue-shows-mcclean-cast-again-in-role-of

27/02/2013, 2:17 PM
You should send it to the Bellylaugh as well.

27/02/2013, 2:22 PM
Ya, send where it does only get one-sided coverage. The Ballycroy Bugle too.

27/02/2013, 3:28 PM
Ya, send where it does only get one-sided coverage. The Ballycroy Bugle too.

And the Mullarany Mail.

ArdeeBhoy
27/02/2013, 4:53 PM

Actually, they've been surprisingly 'even-handed' when it comes to comments on their articles and are now derided by most unionists/loyalists for being so...

27/02/2013, 5:58 PM
And the Mullarany Mail.

That's a really annoying mistake to make, how did you possibly include that superfluous "a" there?

27/02/2013, 6:24 PM
That's a really annoying mistake to make, how did you possibly include that superfluous "a" there?

You got me thinking here. Having friends from Currane (and one of the denizens here has a mother from Ballycroy) I have always called it Mullranny.

But I've seen it written as Mallaranny and a quick look at Google Maps will show both.

Here's what the official word is on it...

http://www.logainm.ie/Viewer.aspx?text=mullrany&streets=yes

DannyInvincible
27/02/2013, 10:30 PM

Done.

The Ballycroy Bugle too.

Done.

And the Mullarany Mail.

...Wait.

gastric
27/02/2013, 10:55 PM
i should be so lucky! swit swoo.

Remember Stu, the Mounties always get their man!

gastric
27/02/2013, 10:57 PM

Beautiful part of the world, God's own country!

gastric
28/02/2013, 7:11 AM
O' Neill supposedly getting tired of McClean's behaviour and has fined him two weeks wages. Interesting article as while it is probably a beat up, if O'Neill is getting upset by McClean's behaviour, IMO he should not be punished for the actions of some idiot politician. However, if he is not getting on with his team mates, that's another issue.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/mcclean-future-in-doubt-after-wolfe-tones-tweet-earns-fine-29099880.html

DannyInvincible
28/02/2013, 7:41 AM
He's being punished for breaching the club's social networking site rules. He shouldn't be on Twitter at all, as far as Sunderland are concerned, irrespective what he's tweeting or who's feigning outrage.

More info on the following would be welcome, although it does sound like an unsubstantiated attempt to sensationalise his reticent personal nature:

It is understood that McClean has annoyed team-mates with his attitude in training and is in danger of becoming ostracised.

Coaching staff have noted his aloofness and O'Neill is wary of rifts growing. Unless there is a marked improvement between now and the end of the season, McClean is likely to be sold in the summer.

gastric
28/02/2013, 8:15 AM
He's being punished for breaching the club's social networking site rules. He shouldn't be on Twitter at all, as far as Sunderland are concerned, irrespective what he's tweeting or who's feigning outrage.

More info on the following would be welcome, although it does sound like an unsubstantiated attempt to sensationalise his reticent personal nature:

Granted he is being punished for breaking team rules, but if O'Neill is getting frustrated by McClean because of his relationship, or lack of, with his team mates then there is certainly room for concern.