View Full Version : James McClean M Wrexham b.1989
25/06/2012, 9:25 AM
I'm beginning to agree with Stu. In fact given Delaney's protestations that the whole set up was professional (I don't mind his socialising tbh) from the start, Rowan's version of events flatly refutes this. There might be implications not just for Trap.
What exactly did McClean say? I can't access twitter at work.
DannyInvincible
25/06/2012, 2:14 PM
I'm beginning to agree with Stu. In fact given Delaney's protestations that the whole set up was professional (I don't mind his socialising tbh) from the start, Rowan's version of events flatly refutes this. There might be implications not just for Trap.
What exactly did McClean say? I can't access twitter at work.
McClean was quoted by Ciarán Ó Raghallaigh on Twitter and in the Sunday Mirror (https://twitter.com/Ciaran_O/status/216883176449130496). McClean is using Twitter again, but I don't think he stated anything on there in relation to his Euro 2012 experience.
26/06/2012, 6:43 PM
Maybe the players are under orders not to talk to the press/public?
SwanVsDalton
26/06/2012, 7:25 PM
McClean simply stated it was a shambles right? But does anyone knows if he was talking about the preparation etc or three heavy defeats? Big difference between the two.
I'm holding fire on judgement yet - McClean (sometimes unwisely) shoots from the hip and it's natural players would be annoyed after a very frustrating campaign.
DannyInvincible
26/06/2012, 7:52 PM
Ó Raghallaigh claims McClean was talking about the "whole experience", but those are Ó Raghallaigh's words.
27/06/2012, 12:51 PM
It was interesting that when O'Shea did a Sky like interview for RTE before the tournament (e.g. who spends longest in the shower, who is the comedian etc etc), for who is the least sociable, he immediately mentioned McLean. It was a settled squad, presumably the players all had their own mates, and it may have been difficult for an apparently shy or introvert McLean to mingle that well for 3 weeks and he didn't enjoy it. I would say it is much ado about nothing. Press digging for non-stories.
Looks like it's fail to prepare, over prepare to fail. Can't win.
27/07/2012, 4:03 PM
Colin Young of the Daily Mail takes a look at the progress of winger James McClean for Sunderland's website: http://www.safc.com/page/FeaturesDetail/0,,10281~2614188,00.html
27/07/2012, 4:16 PM
Oh dear, the old Good Friday Agreement chestnut again. And Conor Sammon's six months on the bench at the Brandywell appears to have made him into a Premier League striker. I know it was written a few months ago but the Shane Ferguson bit is also outdated. Poor guy.
Have been watching him this morning. Apart from the incorrect spelling of his name on his jersey, he's been more solid than I expected. He had a decent chance (very similar to a goal he scored last year) that the keeper blocked. A few stray passes but nothing shocking. I still expect him to struggle a good bit this season...
Anonymous 2nd half. On the few occasions he got the ball in attacking positions his touch and passing was below par but in fairness O'Neill had set the stalls out to defend.
18/08/2012, 4:23 PM
Did they really get his name wrong? That's shocking!! I'd like to see a picture of that.
Good result thought. I see Meyler came on late second half.
Saw a bit of the second half but not a great game.
O Neil will be happier than Wenger.
18/08/2012, 4:56 PM
Did they really get his name wrong? That's shocking!! I'd like to see a picture of that.
Good result thought. I see Meyler came on late second half.
Saw a bit of the second half but not a great game.
O Neil will be happier than Wenger.
Not if he sees your spelling
18/08/2012, 11:41 PM
Not if he sees your spelling
Oh, I never knew it was a double 'l' I really must go to specsavers!!
Murfinator
21/08/2012, 2:21 PM
Sunderland linked with Adam Johnson apparently, who'd be a possible replacement for McClean?
21/08/2012, 2:35 PM
How long did meyler play for? Enough to make an impression?
21/08/2012, 2:39 PM
Sunderland linked with Adam Johnson apparently, who'd be a possible replacement for McClean?
No, he'd probably alternate flanks with McClean with Larson probably moving into the centre.
How long did meyler play for? Enough to make an impression?
About 15 minutes I think? He made a big impression but he'll still be a sub next time out - Cattermole and Gardner played very well too.
Manblue
21/08/2012, 4:31 PM
Are you asked who would be? As in they are replacing both wingers? Or saying he could be a replacement?
As city fans found out, Johnson cant play left at all, hes one of those wingers who can only play on the wing he can cut onto his good foot (left foot)...put in one or two horrible performances for city on the left.
Although he may try him out there, Sunderlands midfield is very, very weak, could probably see Larsson moving central of a 5 man midfield in the long run, wouldn't see it as direct competition for the place.
Murfinator
24/08/2012, 10:00 PM
Johnson has signed now, will be interesting to see what that means for McCleans place. Most the Sunderland fans seem to want an attacking 3 of Johnson, Sess and McClean behind Fletcher but I don't know how MON will handle it.
Supreme feet
24/08/2012, 10:59 PM
Johnson has signed now, will be interesting to see what that means for McCleans place. Most the Sunderland fans seem to want an attacking 3 of Johnson, Sess and McClean behind Fletcher but I don't know how MON will handle it.
I've seen Johnson play on the right of a 4-2-3-1 a good few times for Man City and England, I assume it'll be him on the right, Sessegnon behind the striker, and McClean on the left. Sunderland have been playing with Larsson on the right of midfield, so I'd imagine he'll move into CM, which might be bad news for David Meyler, who'll go further down the pecking order.
Jimbob McClean scores for Sunderland...
Adam Johnson makes an early impact for his new club, swinging in a corner which James McClean heads in at the near post. Not the best start to Morecambe's attempts to reach the third round for just the second time. Happy days for the Black Cats.
another one for McClean...
Dominant Sunderland strengthen their grip on the game against Morecambe. James McClean fires home his second from inside the box and Morecambe's hopes of just a second appearance in the third round are fading fast.
James McClean finds the back of the net with a goal from just inside the area to the bottom left corner of the goal. Sunderland 2-0 Morecambe.
Manblue
29/08/2012, 9:39 AM
Mate as i said already, it will have very little impact on him,
Larsson moved to the middle (as predicted) and AJ played wide.
Only McClean can play himsel out of that team now.
DannyInvincible
31/08/2012, 3:36 PM
Just seeing James' goals against Morecambe from the other night now:
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xt4kv3_sunderland-2-0-morecambe_sport
Second one was well taken.
31/08/2012, 3:42 PM
So was the first one ;-)
DannyInvincible
03/09/2012, 10:21 AM
Trap hints that McClean is likely to be handed his first competitive start against Kazakhstan on Friday: http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/international/2012/0903/336029-trap-hints-mcclean-could-start-against-kazakhstan/
Giovanni Trapattoni has hinted that Sunderland star James McClean could be handed his first competitive start for the Republic of Ireland in their World Cup qualification clash in Kazakhstan on Friday.
Trapattoni was keen to emphasise a fresh start for the country after their dismal showing in Poland, with new players like McClean central to that aim.
However, the Italian did hand McClean a start as part of a three-man strikeforce during last month's 0-0 draw against Serbia, and could now start him in the same position in Friday's Group C opener.
"After his 90 minutes against Serbia, his position was clear," Trapattoni said.
"We tried to play him differently but after 20 minutes I changed his position. Maybe in Kazakhstan McClean will play up with the two strikers. That is not a problem for him.
"We have also other players who can play in that position.
"The position is different (to where he usually plays), but he can also play there. We will wait and see what the condition of the other players is but he could play there."
With Damien Duff now retired, McClean will want to seize on the opportunity should he start in Astana on Friday evening.
Wasn't it pretty evident that McClean became more effective when later moved out to the left wing against Serbia? Why not try McGeady in that position?
03/09/2012, 10:31 AM
I don't remember if he was more effective on the left, but he was less harmful out there than when he was a bit careless with the ball in midfield.
One of Trap's favourite lines is "We have also other players who can play in that position.'
Diarmo
07/09/2012, 6:41 PM
Pretty shocking tweet from McClean: Trap won't like that:
https://twitter.com/JMcC_23/status/244140142296698880
Delighted as a fan we got the the win.. Personal level #fuming #****injoke #embarrassing
rebelmusic
07/09/2012, 6:48 PM
Ha didn't last long up there. Saying all that, he tweeted what the whole country is thinking
Spudulika
07/09/2012, 7:12 PM
RTE are re-posting the now deleted tweet. Gotta love the British meeja, I mean, RTE.
Sullivinho
07/09/2012, 7:57 PM
Joey Barton and Charlie Sheen replying to him now, telling him to cop on and pipe down. #madstuffaltogether
Noelys Guitar
07/09/2012, 8:10 PM
Should be starting but what was that again that Cloughie used to say about footballers.........
Murfinator
07/09/2012, 8:17 PM
A very foolish decision to tweet that, whatever his feelings are he needs to cop himself on and keep quiet. Very unprofessional to say those things particularly when you're not playing as it'll be interpreted as an attack on your teammates and/or the management.
Conor Mortimer tweeted a screenshot: https://twitter.com/DarrenMagee1/status/244158821176582144/photo/1/large
07/09/2012, 11:28 PM
RTE are re-posting the now deleted tweet. Gotta love the British meeja, I mean, RTE.
BBC have something about it too. What's wrong with that? Do you not think it is newsworthy?
SwanVsDalton
07/09/2012, 11:54 PM
McClean's an idiot, no matte how understandable his feelings.
Spudulika
08/09/2012, 3:11 AM
BBC have something about it too. What's wrong with that? Do you not think it is newsworthy?
Personally no, it's in house. But for the Irish national broadcaster to jump in with Bill O'Herlihy sized feet is really red top stuff.
It's not in-house because James McClean posted it publicly.
Spudulika
08/09/2012, 4:02 AM
SKStu, and then took it down. I know RTE are battling for ratings, but a little bit of decency wouldn't go astray.
I hear you, I just dont think that this is all media driven. Some of the players obviously want us to know how they feel. This is no different to how Long reacted after Serbia but it was on social media instead of in front of a camera. Like the camera, the Internet doesn't allow you a second chance.
Spudulika
08/09/2012, 4:29 AM
Fair enough, my own feeling is that players have no right to behave like this, but McClean has shown poor judgement in the past as well as a certain amount of silliness when using social media. Its not a surprise that he was left on the bench, one of those who played wouldn't tweet it, but I do believe that RTE are driving a horse and carriage through public interest by willingly playing with relevancy and truth - not the first time they used a tweet to further an agenda.
Hibs4Ever
08/09/2012, 5:53 AM
McClean should close his twitter account permanently
Spudulika
08/09/2012, 6:19 AM
http://uk.eurosport.yahoo.com/news/mcclean-swears-trapattoni-twitter-201040206.html
This is when the spinning takes off and "communication" becomes an issue. His "F-word rant at Trappatoni", you would struggle to make this crap up, but this is what happens, and it's jumped on by the mouth breathers in the meeja. He's made himself look a right tool. At under-10's level you'd expect this, but a pro footballer? As Roy'd say "Get over it"
ArdeeBhoy
08/09/2012, 7:30 AM
Hmm, like anyone he's entitled to his opinion.
And due to technology, it's hard to keep a lid on it. Don't see the problem with this one;he only said as a fan, what the rest of us were thinking at the time.
If he loses his place so be it, but even someone as stubborn as Trap should take heed of the sentiment...
Murfinator
08/09/2012, 10:31 AM
I'd imagine McClean's intent with this tweet was to showcase that him as a player was feeling similarly upset and disappointed as the fans and used strong language to show his frustration. Probably something he thought would resonate well with the supporters.
It shouldn't be (but it will and has) be interpreted as an attack against Trap or as venting a the fact that he didn't get to play.
Spencer707
08/09/2012, 10:41 AM
He was just thinking what every fan was , were not in North Korea players should be able to speak their mind and not be shot down
08/09/2012, 11:50 AM
He's issued an apology: https://www.twitter.com/JMcC_23/status/244397485295034368
i apologise for my tweet last night, it was
stupid, disrespectful and i let my frustration
get the better of me which still aint an excuse
ArdeeBhoy
08/09/2012, 11:55 AM
Fair play. The impetuousness of youth.
Or stupidity? You decide...
08/09/2012, 1:46 PM
Apparently his account has been deleted...
Edit: Yeah, it's gone.
swinfordfc
08/09/2012, 4:36 PM
I hope he starts on Tuesday and then he destroy Oman - then he gets his chance against Germany but is that wishful thinking?
Qwerty
08/09/2012, 5:05 PM
McClean should be sent home, he is being disrespectful not just to the manager but to his team mates. We have got the weakest group of players I can remember for many a long year and they act like prima donnas. Kevin 'Only my family knows which club I play for' Foley, Darron 'I love being a Man U reserve team player' Gibson - what a sad group of muppets. This campiagn was Gibson's chance and he didn't have the bottle.
It's about representing Ireland not about yourselves. It is an honour to be called up to represent your country but no, it's all about 'me me me'.
The players we have are second rate, Trapp rightly emphasizes a system over individuals and picks the players he thinks will best fit into that system.
We don't have anything like the resources of England who will qualify the for World Cup but as everyone knows haven't a snowballs chance in hell of winning it. We're not making any progress in the UK / Ireland in producing players technically as good as the continent, until that happens we will have to put up with 2nd rate football regardless of who is manager.
In some respects I don't blame the players, they are so embedded in their alternate universe they don't see how stupidly they are behaving. Joe Cole is on 100k a week for LFC, sanity does not prevail in football.
08/09/2012, 5:08 PM
What system was on show last night? I didn't see one.